Looking for Answers about TrafficMaster Allure 6 in. x 36 in. Cherry Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft./Case)?

Customer questions and answers for
TrafficMaster Allure 6 in. x 36 in. Cherry Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft./Case)

Add a warm, comfortable finishing touch to your interior living space with the Trafficmaster Allure 6 in. x 36 in. Resilient Vinyl-Plank Flooring. This water-resistant flooring is ideal for use in high-moisture residential areas such as basements, kitchens and bathrooms. The flooring is quiet under foot and installs directly over your old floor.
Customer questions and answers:
20 Questions
 | 
123 Answers
Overall rating:
4.448 out of 5
4.4
out of
5

Customer questions and answers for TrafficMaster Allure 6 in. x 36 in. Cherry Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft./Case)

Question

How will this floor hold up to Cold weather in a travle trailer when in storage will the seams hold in freezing temps.

Asked by
Dirt
Janesville
about 6 in. x 36 in. Cherry Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft./Case) on
March 20, 2014
Will glue hold in freezing temps or will it tend to separate.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
pdeuel
Byram twp NJ
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
March 22, 2014
This is just a guess, based on the box we have in storage in the basement, and five years on the heavily used floor in our home. I would think if you put it down when the flooring and trailer is warm (we turned up the heat to 75 in the room we were working in) those seams bond, were not able to pull apart one section that didn't go correctly# If you have time buy a box, put several pieces together # cut if you don't have box freezer) put them in the freezer and leave for awhile to see if they split apart. From what I see the adhesive is like roof shingles, once set and bonded, that's it. heat may take it apart but I don't think cold will. Just my guess, did you call MFG?
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
tomw
North Stratford NH 03590
March 23, 2014
I live in Northern Vt. I really like my Floor. I'm surprised the Allure people have
not answered this. They must have made temp checks.
The Inside of my house has been down to 40 degrees. At that time,
only 1 small area ( 2" by 6") started to lift and it was because the adhesive was only on 1
small side. This is a floating floor and If moldings are holding down the edges,
I believe when you reheat the inside, you should re-roll the whole warm floor before you start regular
traffic on it. .{ I feel 75% strongly about this} it Should be OK.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Do you need the roller (shown in the video) for installation or can you press down manually on the planks to get the same result?

Asked by
AJ123
Lecanto, FL
about 6 in. x 36 in. Cherry Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft./Case) on
February 22, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
7 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Mark
February 24, 2014
I used a hand dolly and rolled it across the seam. This worked really well with a few boxes of the flooring material adding compression weight.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
tomw
North Stratford NH 03590
February 24, 2014
Not only do you need the Roller, but you should get one with an extended Handle so you can push down on those adhesive strips as hard as possible with both hands rolling with your weight to make sure they are in place as tightly as they can be, don't skimp on the pressure (roll in the direction of the connection) and if you make a mistake be careful taking them apart, other wise you may break one and if you do, discard it and put a brand new one in its place. you will be glad you got an extended roller.
sincerely tom w
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Richmond
February 24, 2014
A roller would certainly be easier on your hands and fingers, but it's not required in my opinion. We didn't use one, and aside from the sore fingers and knuckles from pushing down on the seams, it went in just fine.

We did "walk the lines" as well to be sure it was all down securely, but the glue is pretty determined to keep things together without much encouragement. Hope this helps! Good luck!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
pdeuel
Byram twp NJ
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
February 24, 2014
No, you can lean, press or walk on them. Biggest thing is bringing them up to temperature. Our were stored in basement, brought them upstairs for several weeks (basement was cold) and then cranked the heat in the Kitchen and DR where they were being installed. Open packages and lay out flat so they warm up. I really think heat/cold contributes to the problems some have talked about. Our seams have lasted 5 years, go through mop cleaning, now steam cleaning and no problems what so ever.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Mark
Alliance, OH
February 24, 2014
Honestly I can see no reason to NEED the roller in normal installs. Just my opinion,,, not needed.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Freddy
Texas, USA
February 24, 2014
I bought the roller, however after rolling a couple of sections we didn't see a difference so we continued installing the flooring without using the roller.
Manually pressing down the seams worked for my living room.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
radjohn1
Zephyrhills, FL, USA
March 5, 2014
It would probably be easier with the roller and they can be rented no need to purchase one but as for my self I walked mine down I weigh 215lbs, I first pressed it down then walked it down worked for me
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

If an animal pees on this & can't be cleaned right away due to health, will it seep between layers and ruin floor or ruin the top finish

Asked by
hello
about 6 in. x 36 in. Cherry Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft./Case) on
February 15, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
KenHDOC
Orange, Ca.
Home Improvement Profile: Other
February 17, 2014
Hi Hello, the installation instructions state, to clean the floor as quickly as possible.

It further states, failure to do so may result in damage to the floor. It does not stated like how many hours before damage is done.

This is on page 13 under care & maintenance of the installation guide located next to the product overview on the web product page.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
pdeuel
Byram twp NJ
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
February 17, 2014
I am not sure how long "right away" is but I would say if put down correctly with seams tight a little "puppy" urine won't damage the seams or finish....ours is in the main entrance to the home and has lived through snow, dirt, wood ash, and wood chips, and is still fine. If you think your health issue will happen often over a period of time, I would finish the floor with a wood rejuvenator to help protect the top finish. If you are asking can you use it for a kennel floor, the answer is NO.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Mark
Alliance, OH
February 17, 2014
What I can say is that the material is all Vinyl. No wood fiber or anything like that. The seams fit VERY tightly and then it is a very solid and tight layer of glue or sticky material that is used to bind them together that seals the seam underneath. If you look at the pics of the material the two pieces fit together with a lip on the bottom of the one half and the upper lip that fits over top of the on the other half that seal.

I can't see where anything COULD get down under that but I guess it is possible.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
tomw
North Stratford NH 03590
February 24, 2014
(I have 3 cats and this did happen to me) if not cleaned up as quickly as possible it could do damage. Clean it and then make sure you have treated the whole floor with the allure cleaner. it is inexpensive and well worth the time.
tw
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Mickxxiii
Aurora, IL
April 15, 2014
My dogs have wet the floor plenty of times, and it cleans up easily. Didn't seep through and no odor remained.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

How do you get the odor out of the vinyl plank?

Asked by
George
Florida
about 6 in. x 36 in. Cherry Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft./Case) on
January 14, 2014
I have installed this flooring in another home and loved it. Very durable and classy looking. But, the odor it emits is very strong
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
7 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
HalsteadSupport
January 20, 2014
thank you for supporting our product and I'm sorry to hear that. Make sure you ventilate the room and try mild soap and warm water. If it continues please call our Customer Service number for additional information at 866-843-8453
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
pdeuel
Byram twp NJ
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 23, 2014
I found the order disappeared in time. We did the dinning room (main entrance off deck) and the kitchen of our winterized summer home. Maybe you have a fresh batch of flooring and it has more order.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Rick
St. Louis, MO, USA
January 23, 2014
We had no problems with odor. At the beginning, you can "smell" the "new material" and it goes away very soon. We like to open windows to get fresh air in every day in the whole house, so maybe that has resolved the problem we never really had. Hope this helps.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
CaptK
January 23, 2014
Mine had very little to no odor that was gone in a week.
I have heard that some lots might have had a odor.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Richmond
January 28, 2014
Lots of airflow through the area... We have 4 kids who love to leave the doors to the outside open, so after a week or so, we hardly noticed any smell at all.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
wuff4u
Kalispell, MT 59901, USA
March 4, 2014
I also noticed the strong odor after installation. I think its time and temperature related. I recommended putting a heater in the room and run it for 24 hours. Keep ventilation going and keep window and doors open. Do not use the room for about a week? I have not been in the house since we installed it a month ago. If the odor is still there I will consider sealing the floor with something.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
Mickxxiii
Aurora, IL
April 15, 2014
The odor went away very quickly for me. It was only about a week and I had over 600sq ft installed.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

what is the wear layer? aluminum oxide or urethane and what mil is it?

Asked by
nighteyes
about 6 in. x 36 in. Cherry Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft./Case) on
December 27, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
HalsteadSupport
January 10, 2014
Thank you for your question...our wear layer on this product is 4 mill. There is no aluminum oxide or Ceramic bead coating on this grip strip product. Please reasearch our Allure ULTRA which does have Ceramic bead coating and is a 20 mill product.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
tomw
North Stratford NH 03590
February 24, 2014
Don't know for sure the wear layer but if you use the Allure cleaner. $10 will go along way, and you won't have to worry about the wear layer.
Tom w
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can this flooring be installed over ceramic tile without taking up the tile?

Asked by
barb
louisiana
about 6 in. x 36 in. Cherry Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft./Case) on
June 20, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
TheWeed
Grand Lake, CO, USA
June 20, 2013
Yes, this can be installed over ceramic tile with the following stipulations:
1) The ceramic tile is still sound (adhering tightly to the subfloor).
2) The ceramic tile and grout is reasonably smooth and level. The variation should not be more than half the thickness of the new flooring or it can cause seam failure and flaws may show under the new stuff.

Remove any loose ceramic and grout and use a floor patch/leveling compound as needed.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
deb0822
Marysville, WA, USA
June 27, 2013
Allure requires a solid surface. Most ceramic tile floors I've seen have varying degrees of dips for grout, etc. That's the real key to a good adhesion of product - a solid flat surface. If you'd be able to lay wood or laminate over the ceramic then you can use Allure. Allure is probably a bit more forgiving but it has a lap glue system. Conceivably, if a seam ended up located at a grout 'dip' it could affect long term adhesion. You might call the company......
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
mich67
new lenox, Il
June 28, 2013
I believe so, as long as the tile is intact and level.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
PSILady
Kansas City, KS, USA
September 7, 2013
Yes Barb, this product can be placed over tile, and is a bit more forgiving in areas that are uneven. Has some flexibility to it, but it can show bend and crack marks...so use with caution...it's only forgiving to a point.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
mec0510
Marietta, GA, USA
October 1, 2013
Check the Installation Guide.

It states:
Because of allure’s flexibility the planks/tiles can
be installed over uneven sub-floors or existing floors
such as natural wood, concrete, vinyl, linoleum,
and even ceramic.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
CaptK
December 20, 2013
Yes, as long as the grout lines are not too deep.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can Allure be installed over hardwood floors that were refinished & are still "tacky" to the touch two months later?

Asked by
Jackie
Seattle
about 6 in. x 36 in. Cherry Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft./Case) on
May 20, 2013
We had 1,200 feet of hardwood floors sanded and finished with two coats of Swedish finish. Apparently the first coat was not dry before the second coat was applied. For the past two months we have done everything to try to get the floors to dry with no luck. They are still 'tacky' to the touch. Our son-in-law feels terrible--he thought he was doing us a favor. We do not want the expense and mess of tearing up the floor and replacing it with hardwood because this is a rental home.
Thank you.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
HalsteadSupport
May 20, 2013
I am so sorry to hear about your situation. I would not recommend usign our prodcut over tacky floors. the product needs to be free floating and that would cause it to be "glued down". The product would eventually lift and seperate.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
bam1
Seminole, OK, USA
May 21, 2013
Was it Swedish chocolate? Did the finish require a topcoat that was not used? Either way if there is no solvent smell or varnish fumes I would put this flooring over it.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
TheWeed
Grand Lake, CO, USA
June 20, 2013
Yes. Be sure to have the first few sections straight, since you might not be able to shift the normally "floating" Allure flooring if it starts to stick to the tacky finish.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
deb0822
Marysville, WA, USA
June 27, 2013
I would probably contact Allure if I were you but I can't see why you couldn't use the product for your purposes. Though it's a vinyl flooring it floats. Unlike wood there's no need for it to expand & contract so 'sticking' to your wood flooring shouldn't be a problem.

I used the Cherry and it's absolutely gorgeous in my kitchen & laundry area and silent to walk on. Didn't realize it would be that quiet but my home is relatively small with a shift worker bedroom just off the kitchen so it's nice benefit of the product.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
tomw
North Stratford NH 03590
December 13, 2013
I would not because it is a floating floor and an un dry floor might make your installation difficult. I would work with
a completely dry floor. I think I would buff the floor with rags until you get the stickiness up then a light sanding again.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
radjohn1
Zephyrhills, FL, USA
March 5, 2014
I feel that it may be possible to overlay with this product my only concern would being able to keep hands clean so that the sticky doesn't get on the finish side of the product, or you might try using mineral spirits and steel wool to scrub down the floor first, that should take care of the tacky problem after it dries, if the floor still looks good and isn't tacky anymore than you might want to put a coat of good poly on it or go ahead and install the vinyl planks.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can this product be used over stairs?

Asked by
Rose
Newburyport, MA
about 6 in. x 36 in. Cherry Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft./Case) on
April 27, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
DIYer504
April 28, 2013
Yes, you can just purchase matching bull nose trim for finish.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
TheWeed
Grand Lake, CO, USA
May 7, 2013
I wouldn't unless you could find a good way to finish the edge.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
HalsteadSupport
May 22, 2013
yes you can except it will void the warranty. you would have to glue it down using a good vinyl adhesive
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
deb0822
Marysville, WA, USA
June 27, 2013
This is a floating floor system, much like most hard woods & laminates so you'd have to use a molding of some type to encase it. A better option, if you're looking at a vinyl, might be the self adhesive squares. The glue system on Allure is a lap type.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
tomw
North Stratford NH 03590
February 24, 2014
I do not reccomend it, for safety reasons
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Can you use an underlayment?

Asked by
Stacey
Missouri
about 6 in. x 36 in. Cherry Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft./Case) on
March 5, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
PatG
March 6, 2013
I would not since it would then give and mess with the glue strips.
Also only apply on level floors.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
DIYer504
March 6, 2013
Yes, you can but depending on the surface it may not be needed.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
HalsteadSupport
March 15, 2013
The only approved underlayment for Allure is a 6 mill poly and that is only needed over concrete when your moisture reading is above 6%
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
TheWeed
Grand Lake, CO, USA
May 7, 2013
You probably should use an underlayment unless your current floor is very smooth. Rough under surfaces can cause problems with surface wear spots and proper adhesion.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
bam1
Seminole, OK, USA
May 21, 2013
I would not. unless it is a solid underlayment. they say this needs an undefloor with less than 3/16" per 8'
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
deb0822
Marysville, WA, USA
June 27, 2013
The flooring is completely silent so there's no need for an underlayment unless you need to create an even installation base.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Do you need to put down any type of cushioning material before floating the floor?

Asked by
canashar
Atlanta
about 6 in. x 36 in. Cherry Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft./Case) on
February 25, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
11 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Kristi
South Rockwood, Michgain
February 26, 2013
no you can put it over an existing floor as long as the floor is not peeling up in any areas. I laid mone over my existing linoleum floor.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Chucklezz
Fort Worth, TX, USA
February 26, 2013
No, you don't. I laid the flooring over linoleum in my bathrooms and directly over the concrete in my office and guest bedroom. However, you do need to make sure the concrete is level, for that I used concrete patch for small holes and self leveling compound for large uneven areas. Also, from what I understand, if you put cushioning material underneath vinyl planks it will cause problems.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
18thfairway
KY
February 27, 2013
When placing over concrete, I highly recommend placing this product over roll foam pad such as that by Roberts and sold at Home Depot. I don't have the exact dimensions for the foam but it comes in rolls that are approx. 4' W x 50' L x 3/16" Thick and cost about $25.00 per roll.

This will make the floor much quieter and make for a smooth transition over any imperfections in the sub-floor. Although somewhat beneficial for same reasons, this is not as critical when installing over existing floors such as wood and vinyl.

Hope this helps. Good luck with your project.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Tonya
Arma, KS
March 5, 2013
No we did not put anything under it.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
PatG
March 6, 2013
No. In fact you don't want to. That would be a mistake with the glue strips.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
DIYer504
March 6, 2013
No, cushion material is needed the vinyl flooring planks have a decent amount of thickness.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
HalsteadSupport
March 15, 2013
The only approved underlayment fornAllure is a 6 mill poly and that is only needed when installing over cement. Any cushion underlayment will void the warranty and cause the product to lift.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
TheWeed
Grand Lake, CO, USA
May 7, 2013
No. It's much quieter than hard laminate flooring, too.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Asked by
deb0822
Marysville, WA, USA
June 27, 2013
NO - a good solid base is all it requires. The floor is silent. I hade no idea it would be but immediately noticed it. LOVE mine!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 10
Asked by
Labmom
Nashville, TN
October 16, 2013
You do not need any cushioning material. I have had this put down over existing sheet vinyl and on sub-flooring and see no difference.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 11
Asked by
Mickxxiii
Aurora, IL
April 15, 2014
I recommend putting down the foam underlay. It's helps with noise reduction and makes the floor a lot more comfortable to walk on. I didn't use it in one room and am thinking about pulling it up and putting down the underlay.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

i want to put this on my second floor, but i'm not sure what i do when i get to the end of the floor going to the 1st step. do i need bullnose?

Asked by
kathy
peckville, pa
about 6 in. x 36 in. Cherry Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft./Case) on
February 1, 2013
i'm doing the second floor of my home. what do i do when i get to the end and start decending down the steps? is some kind of bullnose needed? can this be used on the steps? if so how do i finish off each step?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
HalsteadSupport
February 5, 2013
Yes, you would need a bullnose where the first step starts. You can either use a wood or laminate or Zamma has a program that has matching moldings to our flooring. You can do a search on homedepot.com or ask a flooring associate for details.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
18thfairway
KY
February 27, 2013
You are correct. Unfortunately, the manufacturer does not make a product such as the bullnose you suggest. I wanted to do the same installation on my steps but elected not to for this reason.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
DIYer504
March 6, 2013
You can bullnose the edge, just make sure that the bullnose material you'll be using will match with the vinyl floor plank for a clean finish look.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
TheWeed
Grand Lake, CO, USA
May 7, 2013
I would put a wood-toned flooring transition strip with the lowest possible profile.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
pdeuel
Byram twp NJ
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 23, 2014
Any kind of edging that you want to use, that matches the flooring... but you don't want to create a tripping hazard at the top of stairs.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
SQ79
Cleveland, OH, USA
March 4, 2014
I DID THIS IN MY UP HALLWAY.WHEN I GOT TO THE STAIRS I WENT BACK TO HOME DEPOT AND GOT A METAL EDGINGTHAT TACKS TO FLOOR /CARPET.IT LOOKS GOOD.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Do we need to put water barrier plastic on top of ply board before laying floor

Asked by
Honey Bunny
Epps,La.
about 6 in. x 36 in. Cherry Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft./Case) on
January 31, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
John
Allenstown, NH, USA
January 31, 2013
I don't think you will need it. It might add an extra seal for the room below. I didn't put one down.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
PatG
January 31, 2013
I don't think so, but it would not hurt to. I probably would not if it's in a non wet area.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
HalsteadSupport
February 7, 2013
No, the only time you would need a 6 mill poly is over cement
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Kristi
South Rockwood, Michgain
February 22, 2013
no you dont, this will go over any existing type of floor, it is water resistant.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
DIYer504
March 6, 2013
No, vapor barrier isn't needed for this product.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
TheWeed
Grand Lake, CO, USA
May 7, 2013
No, but you may want to seal around the outside edges if you're installing it in an area that could have a leak. The product itself is waterproof, but if water seeped under the edges due to an appliance leak, you could have complications.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

what can I do to repair seams that have pulled apart?

Asked by
Seamless near Seattle
Eastern WA state
about 6 in. x 36 in. Cherry Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft./Case) on
January 10, 2013
We installed this flooring in our basement about 18 mos ago. There are now several places where the seams are lifting. We push them back down and the next day they have lifted again. During installation the instructions mentioned a special tape made with contact cement. I couldn't find it at our local store. Does it exist? Does it work? Where can I buy it? How do I install it?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
7 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
18thfairway
KY
January 11, 2013
I too, am experiencing the same issue with this product. So is a friend. This is a disappointment.

One area where I have this issue is in a closet so I experimented with some high-grade brown caulk. I am watching it to see how it performs.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
HalsteadSupport
January 16, 2013
I am sorry to hear about you issues. you can call our Customer Service number and get all the information you need. We can send you some additional adhesive too.

1-866-843-8453
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
DIYer504
March 6, 2013
You may try heating the glue at the seam with a blow dryer to allow the glue to become tacking again. This may work for you. For the glue for the seams you can log onto homedepot.com and the product can be delivered directly to your front door.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
TheWeed
Grand Lake, CO, USA
May 7, 2013
Adhesive caulk can be applied to the loose spot, Set a heavy object on it afterward.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
tomw
North Stratford NH 03590
February 24, 2014
great Question and Allure should prepare us for this better ( i could not find the tape or glue either hope they address this again after my answer.), It only has happened twice for me and in both cases it was because the edge molding was nailed down to hard on the flooring. I raised the molding, put a little
wood glue under the flooring near the wall and replaced the molding softly but firmly just over the flooring.
{I also believe they don't emphasize the need for pressure and tightness when placing each panel down as much as they could.}
Tom w But I love this floor!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
pdeuel
Byram twp NJ
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
March 22, 2014
Try an iron on hot enough to melt the adhesive and reset.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
gruffbear
Houston, TX
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
March 22, 2014
The tape doesn't appear to be available in stores, but it's sold online:

http://www.homedepot.com/p/Allure-75-ft-2-Sided-Tape-for-Allure-Flooring-AL66700/202627730
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can the vinyl laminate plank flooring be installed over uneven plywood?

Asked by
New to home repair
Houston, TX
about 6 in. x 36 in. Cherry Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft./Case) on
November 29, 2012
My floors upstairs have some rough areas and some of the borders are not completely flat where the sides meet. Do I need to even these areas out or add an underlayment before installing the vinyl planks?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
7 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
AskMrJay
November 30, 2012
The Allure style flooring is relatively forgiving when it comes to un-level surfaces, but it sounds like your subfloor might be a bit much for it. If you have sections that are uneven to a point that exceeds 1/8" inch, then you will not want to continue the installation. However since you already know your subflooring is in bad shape before putting the flooring down, I recommend you fix it now and not cover it with the flooring.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Bobby
Sparta, GA 31087, USA
November 30, 2012
It all depends upon how "uneven" the flooring is. We did it and used extra adhesive on the floor-to-plank, otherwise it could possibly pop-up after time. The planks are very flexible and can bend up to a point to make it work but if the floor is too much out of whack you would need to redo your surface in the bad spots. We completed the flooring about two months ago and the extra adhesive we used did the trick and we have no issues.

Good luck!
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
HalsteadSupport
November 30, 2012
You can not use an underlayment with this product other than a 6 mill poly over cement. Yes, i would smooth out the areas that are rough. You could feel it under the flooring or it could cause the flooring to lift at some point. I hope that helps!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
PatG
January 31, 2013
I would not put in over an uneven floor
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
18thfairway
KY
February 27, 2013
Yes, the flatter and more even the sub-floor, the better. Also, make sure you correct any loose nails or screws.

After you do the leveling, you may want to also consider using a roll foam product that will make smoother transitions between the sub-floor sheets. I used a product by Roberts that I found at Home Depot. It comes in rolls that are approx. 4' x 50' x 3/16" and cost about $25.00 per roll. Installing this product will also make the new floor more quiet.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
DIYer504
March 6, 2013
The product is pretty forgiving but if you have very obvious uneven ness in your floors you may want to even them out as best you can before installing this product.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
TheWeed
Grand Lake, CO, USA
May 7, 2013
You have to install this over a smooth surface or risk failing seams. Variation of less than half the thickness of the product won't be a problem, but more than that can cause failing seams and surface blemishes. Use a floor-leveling compound to fill in uneven spots or install a 1/4" underlayment.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can I use a steam vac to clean this flooring?

Asked by
catdlong
Ringgold, GA
about 6 in. x 36 in. Cherry Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft./Case) on
November 16, 2012
We installed this flooring about a year ago. I love the way it looks. The only problem is that dust really shows.. I'm constantly sweeping and moping.
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
7 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
AskMrJay
November 16, 2012
Hey there catdlong,

Unfortunately, steam mops are not meant to be used with this particular flooring, as it can cause the glue holding the planks together to fail.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Bobby
Sparta, GA 31087, USA
November 30, 2012
No. Do not steam vac. The directions for cleaning clearly suggest that you do not use a steam vac.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
DIYer504
March 6, 2013
No, a steam vac with heat up the glue that holds the seams together and potentially damage the intergrity of the vinyl planking system. To clean simple use a mild detergent and luke warm water mix. Don't saturate the floor with the solution though.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
TheWeed
Grand Lake, CO, USA
May 7, 2013
The product is waterproof, so you probably could use a steam vac as long as your seams are tight. Microfiber mops work great on this. I keep a vacuum near to get the little piles up afterward.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
girliegirl
KY
July 16, 2013
I asked the salesman in the store and he said no steam because it loosens the adhesive.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
pdeuel
Byram twp NJ
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 23, 2014
I have used a Shark steam mop for five years and have had no problems. Occasionally spot scrubbing with sponge scrubby side. We did this year start using a floor rejuvenator (polymere floor product) that I absolutely love the look of. Had used it on old wood floors in log cabin and on cabinets and a dresser, my daughter used it on her old kitchen flooring as a finish brightner. It is wonderful, hold us well in walking areas, and washes with steam mop, still retaining shine through 5-6 washes now. Makes this flooring look better than new since new is very matt and this has a glossy finish.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
HalsteadSupport
November 30, 2012
We do not recommend using a steam mop on our flooring as it could heat up the adhesive and cause the flooring to lift. Try using Armstrongs Once and Done, it does a good job on our flooring
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Can I put a sealant on the floor, like poly urethane

Asked by
Pleased
about 6 in. x 36 in. Cherry Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft./Case) on
November 13, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
8 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
John
Allenstown, NH, USA
November 14, 2012
The floor is made to float over what ever you install it on. I would not suggest sealing this product. The finish is durable the way it is out of the box.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Bobby
Sparta, GA 31087, USA
November 14, 2012
There is no need to. What we did is we used an adhesive for the edges/corners and certain other areas that we felt needed it. Otherwise no sealant is needed for this product.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
DIYer504
November 14, 2012
With the great quality of the product, there is no need for the use of polyurethane to be added to its already strong durability.
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
PatG
November 21, 2012
I would not
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
HalsteadSupport
November 29, 2012
No, you can not use any poly urethane on our flooring. You can take a look in your local HD and see if they carry the high gloss Allure cleaner and polisher. that will give the flooring a higher gloss look.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
18thfairway
KY
February 27, 2013
No the vinyl material will not absorb that urethane and there is no need to seal the planks.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
TheWeed
Grand Lake, CO, USA
May 7, 2013
No.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
pdeuel
Byram twp NJ
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
February 19, 2014
Poly no, I did use a floor rejuvenator ( sold at HomeDepot) after 6 years of heavy use in our summer homes DR and kitchen area. Main side door that everyone uses and gets all the mud, snow, wood chip debris from bringing the wood, etc. It had gotten dull (not really shinny to start with) and small scratches under chairs and table legs. Swept, dusted and steam cleaned the floor twice, used the rejuvenator per directions (like putting on liquid wax) and WOW, it is beautiful. Put two coats in DR area under chairs/table legs (added new felt pads to all legs) As this product is water base, the longer you let the floor dry/cure the less marks you get moving furniture around. I love the floor even more than when we put it down. Water/steam wash, been months still have not re done. Just for this poster info....used poly on my wood parquet floors in my old log cabin and it did not hold up at all in traffic areas, switched to this stuff and they looked refinished.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

can this flooring be installed over laminate plank flooring

Asked by
Chris
Tuckerton NJ
about 6 in. x 36 in. Cherry Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft./Case) on
October 16, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Bobby
Sparta, GA 31087, USA
October 16, 2012
If your current flooring is level and in decent shape then yes I would install over it. However, if there are imperfections in the laminate flooring then you would need to remove. If the laminate flooring is level just make sure you give it a good cleaning prior to installing the new flooring.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
DIYer504
November 3, 2012
This flooring is a type of plank and I do recommend that the previous plank flooring be removed by using a blowdryer or a heat gun before placing down this product. Now, if your flooring is the traditional sheet vinyl then this product may be laid directly on top after the surface and been cleaned thoroughly.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
HalsteadSupport
November 19, 2012
Yes, as long as the product is not lifting in any place.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
PatG
November 21, 2012
Yes, definitely. It's a floating floor also.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
TheWeed
Grand Lake, CO, USA
May 7, 2013
Yes.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

how do you clean the flooring

Asked by
johnny
about 6 in. x 36 in. Cherry Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft./Case) on
October 12, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
18thfairway
KY
October 12, 2012
For initial/heavy cleaning after our remodel, we used a shop vac with wide nozzle/brush attachment and then a light-duty damp mop (Swiffer) with disposable cleaning pad. For routine cleaning you may dust mop and/or occasionally use the Swiffer damp mop.

BTW, we have gotten a lot of compliments on this floor installed in our basement.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Bobby
Sparta, GA 31087, USA
October 13, 2012
We bought PLEDGE liquid for vinyl or tile. Do a section at a time and the results were great. It left a nice sheen and glow which enhanced the flooring.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
DIYer504
November 3, 2012
The flooring may be cleaned by using a mild cleaning solution.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
HalsteadSupport
November 19, 2012
I recommend using either water and vinegar or Armstrongs Once and Done. The Allure One Step is another option but not for every week.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Tonya
Arma, KS
March 5, 2013
They sell the cleaner right there next to the flooring that is made for it.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
TheWeed
Grand Lake, CO, USA
May 7, 2013
A microfiber dust mopping, followed by a wet mop (or wet towel in small areas) gets everything up. We usually just use water.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can this product be used with electric radiant flooring?

Asked by
Crystal
about 6 in. x 36 in. Cherry Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft./Case) on
September 18, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
AskMrJay
September 20, 2012
Hi there Crystal,

In short, yes. To give you the best answer, I've taken an excerpt directly from the Allure Installation manual:

"Subfloors should have operational for at least 3 weeks prior to installation to drive out
moisture and calibrate temperature settings. All radiant heat floors should be turned off 3 days prior to installation and remain off for at least 6 days after installation to allow the adhesive to fully cure.
Maximum operating temperature should never exceed 85°F. Radiant heat components must be a
minimum of 1/2” separated from Allure. This is the only type of radiant heat that is approved."

Hope this helps answer your question!~
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
HalsteadSupport
October 2, 2012
Ywes, as long as the radiant heat is 1/2" below the floor and does not exceed 85 degrees
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
DIYer504
November 3, 2012
This product should not be used with radiant heating since the adhesive that holds it together may be affected.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
TheWeed
Grand Lake, CO, USA
May 7, 2013
We've had a little trouble with this product where direct sunlight hits it. I'd be hesitant to install it over radiant flooring. Get the snap together, rather than the adhesive product by this manufacturer if you do.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can this product be installed over existing vinyl or does the old have to be removed first?

Asked by
hkennamer
Moseley, VA
about 6 in. x 36 in. Cherry Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft./Case) on
July 23, 2012
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
10 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
HalsteadSupport
July 31, 2012
as long as your flooring is flat and not lifting in any areas you can install over your existing floor, that is one of the major advantages of installing Allure
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
18thfairway
KY
August 7, 2012
I installed it over old concrete but a friend uses it in his rental properties in kitchen, entries and baths and installs it over the old vinyl or wood floor. Of course, there are many variables to this and you will raise the height of the floor which will affect transitions in doorways, where it meets other floor coverings, etc.

We also suggest that you try to first correct as many imperfections as possible such as loose or high nails under the old vinyl and squeaking sub-floors.

Hope this helps.....good luck!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
arose
August 13, 2012
yes. As long as the flooring is relatively smooth, it should work fine.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
kyleoharo
Eldersburg
September 1, 2012
Yes. Awesome stuff.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Bobby
Sparta, GA 31087, USA
September 18, 2012
Depends. That was one question we kept going over but eventually we did it over the existing vinyl floor. As long as you do not lay it over multiple flooring you will be fine. As a precaution we did use adhesive for the corners and some areas before placing the planks.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
DIYer504
November 3, 2012
This product may be installed over exisitng vinyl flooring that has been cleaned thoroughly first.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
PatG
November 21, 2012
It would do fine over vinyl. I would not waste my time removing the old floor.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
Tonya
Arma, KS
March 5, 2013
The instructions state you can put it over the old but mine was coming up in several places so I removed all of it.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Asked by
TheWeed
Grand Lake, CO, USA
May 7, 2013
You have to install this over a smooth surface or risk failing seams. Variation of less than half the thickness of the product won't be a problem, but more than that can cause failing seams and surface blemishes. Use a floor-leveling compound to fill in uneven spots or install a 1/4" underlayment. As long as your old vinyl isn't brittle, you can lay right over the top.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 10
Asked by
deb0822
Marysville, WA, USA
June 27, 2013
I installed over existing sheet vinyl as all it requires is a flat base. If I'd had rips/tears in the vinyl I would have removed it. It looks awesome, is completely silent & I'm so happy I went with this product.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
1 of 1