Looking for Answers about TrafficMaster Allure 6 in. x 36 in. Cherry Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)?

Customer questions and answers for
TrafficMaster Allure 6 in. x 36 in. Cherry Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)

Use TrafficMaster Allure 6 in. x 36 in. Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring to add the warm, comfortable style of real wood to your interior living space. The highly durable, water-resistant flooring is great for use in basements, kitchens, bathrooms and high traffic areas. The floating floor installs over most existing surfaces including concrete, wood and vinyl. It offers a patented GripStrip design for simple installation.
Customer questions and answers:
29 Questions
 | 
143 Answers
Overall rating:
4.446 out of 5
4.4
out of
5

Customer questions and answers for TrafficMaster Allure 6 in. x 36 in. Cherry Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)

Question

Fireplace

Asked by
CourtO
about 6 in. x 36 in. Cherry Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case) on
September 21, 2014
I have a fireplace in my living room that the flooring would pretty much but right up to. I'm assuming i need to put ceramic tile down around it because it would be too hot. Any thoughts on how far away i should keep the vinyl flooring? How should i make the ceramic tile and vinyl join?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
pdeuel
Byram twp NJ
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
September 23, 2014
How far away from your fireplace opening is dependent on what your local fire codes are. you can use a strip called a T strip found in the rug department, comes in colors, I used walnut matched my flooring perfectly. HD carries it I believe
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Does molding need to be under cut to install this under wood trim?

Asked by
Smitty
about 6 in. x 36 in. Cherry Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case) on
September 14, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
gruffbear
Houston, TX
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
September 16, 2014
The flooring is supposed to be able to float a bit. I installed this flooring in two rooms that already had trim, so I left a small gap and installed shoe moulding onto the existing moulding. You could undercut the moulding, or take it up and install it a little higher after the floor is finished.
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
pdeuel
Byram twp NJ
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
September 15, 2014
yes , just like regular flooring, looks neater.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
radjohn1
Zephyrhills, FL, USA
September 16, 2014
I removed all the molding such as quarter round then reinstalled it but if there are door casings involved then yes it would be best to undercut them.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

If this floor is installed when it is above 70 degrees, will it hold up to minimal traffic when we encounter under 40 degree temperatures?

Asked by
mickybs
Grand Rapids Michigan
about 6 in. x 36 in. Cherry Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case) on
August 11, 2014
We have a 3 season porch. It will see most traffic in the spring, summer and fall when the temperature is warmer. However, our Michigan winters can get below 10 degrees F. sometimes. Will the floor lift and separate if the floor is exposed to low temperatures?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
pdeuel
Byram twp NJ
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
August 13, 2014
based on our floor in our summer home, we jacked the heat in the baseboards to 80 for the 24 hours before even though it had been up out of the unheated basement for two weeks, and left it in the 70's the day of install. I believe that once the adhesive edges are put together they cannot be taken apart. Cold temps should not bother it. ours looks to be one piece a very thick linoleum. That is why they say becareful putting edges together because the do not come apart nor can they be pulled apart. We have had it in now almost 5 years and I love it.,, clean with steam mop, and this year I put a product call Rejuvenate sold at HD, and it looks better than brand new...has a very nice shine now.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

I want to use the TrafficMASTER Model # 100779554 underlayment under Allure to ensure no moisture on a below grade concrete install. Is this ok?

Asked by
Mike
Delaware Beaches
about 6 in. x 36 in. Cherry Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case) on
June 17, 2014
I have a below grade basement that has no moisture issues. I have checked it in several locations, several months apart, no issues. I'd like to use the TrafficMASTER Model # 100779554 underlayment to help insulate the floor and to make sure moisture is not an issue (just in case). My concrete stays a a 65 degree temperature most of the year, and felt this underlayment would help and might also ensure seams on the Allure do not release due to temperature. Are there issues using this undelayment? Will it void the warranty?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
JosephHDATL
Atlanta GA
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
June 18, 2014
Hey Mike,

It looks like you've done your homework in terms of making sure the Allure planks won't separate due to moisture over time.

However, the underlayment you want to use by TrafficMaster is NOT recommended and rated for vinyl plank flooring. It is only rated for click-lock and laminate wood flooring.

Therefore, it would lead to issues with your Allure planks and it would lead to failure as well as voiding your warranty.

Cushioned underlayment is not recommended for any vinyl flooring, due to it being already cushioned resilient substrate.

Your best bet would be to install a simple moisture barrier, which is rated for your Allure. It is paper thin and allows no moisture to come through, if installed correctly.

One that I recommend is linked below:
http://www.homedepot.com/p/Roberts-...

Use it, and you'll have no problems with any moisture in your below grade floor.

Thanks,
Joseph
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Jaala
Arlington, Tx
June 26, 2014
I used an underlayment in my kitchen so that I didn't have to sand away residual mortar from the old tile. It works fine but is not necessary if you are laying the allure over flat ground. I installed it in my bathroom straight on top of the old laminate flooring. Hope this helps.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

the AC unit leaked onto the Allure floor, will I have mildew or mold problems now?

Asked by
Misty
Waco, TX
about 6 in. x 36 in. Cherry Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case) on
May 29, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
pdeuel
Byram twp NJ
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
May 29, 2014
I guess it depends on how much water and how long it was there before you noticed it. Is there mold/mildew there now? If so wipe up and re wipe with a bleach solution. If it is wet to the point of buckling the floor....then it is under it and that is worse.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

How to minimize the noise/sound to the unit below me if I install it on a second floor condo?

Asked by
JoanneD
Kirkland, WA
about 6 in. x 36 in. Cherry Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case) on
May 21, 2014
I am considering remodeling my rental unit with this floor in everyroom. The unit currently is carpet except vinyle in kitchen and bathroom (1980s). Will the downstairs neighbor notice any difference between this new vinyl floor vs. the old carpet? Currently you can hear the thumping noise if a 180 lb person walks above the unit but no other noise. Will this floor create high pitched "clickity" "Clackty" sound to units below it when tenants walk with shoes on ?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
DKS67
Pearl City, HI
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
May 25, 2014
The main issue seems to be more noise for the downstair renters and the answer is there will be noise with vinyl plank flooring but it shouldn't be a high pitch noise especially if you use a sound dampening underlayment. You install the underlayment before the vinyl planks. It will help with noise issues. It will lessen the "clicky/clacky" for sure but you may still here some noise. You will have to use an underlayment made for noise reduction rather than one for moisture. I still feel the vinyl planks are a great choice instead of carpet for your remodel in looks, air quality and will look good for years to come. It's a great product.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
HalsteadSupport
May 22, 2014
Thank you for your question. One of the advantages of using Allure is that its vinyl and softer to walk on than laminate, ceramic or wood. Certainly it is louder than carpet so there will be some noise.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

SEALING AGAINST A TUB

Asked by
mxdano
NY
about 6 in. x 36 in. Cherry Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case) on
May 14, 2014
I am installing in a bathroom, butting up to the tub. Can I -should I- caulk between the flooring and the tub, or is there a better way to seal it so splashed water from the tub/shower wont get under the flooring?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
DKS67
Pearl City, HI
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
May 25, 2014
Yes, use a good quality caulk and make sure seal is solid between tub and vinyl flooring so no water can get under flooring. Once this seal is good you can use a plastic/abs or wood (pine, red...) molding to cover seam. You should also caulk seams of the molding of your choice (DO Not Use MDF moldings for water can cause it to swell and fatigue easily). Finish with a good quality paint/poly and it should last you many years, trouble free.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
LauraG
Toms River, NJ
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
August 12, 2014
I caulked all of the edges in my bathroom (around toilet, tub, walls, etc) to make sure no water got underneath. I wanted a more finished look along the tub so I installed molding using an adhesive so as to cover the edge. It looks great and I don't have to worry about water getting underneath and ruining the floor. I hope this helps!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
pdeuel
Byram twp NJ
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
May 15, 2014
I don't believe so, caulking would be the best. A good silicone caulk. Also I would take the time to carefully scribe the plank(s) so you have a nice neat butting to the tub. Before applying caulk press seams with weight to make sure adhesive is fully bonded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

How does this flooring hold up with dogs??

Asked by
debbie
about 6 in. x 36 in. Cherry Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case) on
April 23, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
pdeuel
Byram twp NJ
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
April 24, 2014
Have not had any problem with it when my daughter brings her two dogs over. I have wooden chairs and table set up. While I had those little pads on the chairs the large footed like legs on the table did not and have scuffed the surface over the five years. I have since steam cleaned twice and swiffered then applied Floor Rejuvenator (sold at HD) on and it looks brand new. Please note this product is water base and needs several days to cure (not dry) cure so the flooring does not show marks. Wish I had put it on when we first laid the floor.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
MelissaK
North Collins, NY
April 30, 2014
We have two dogs and this flooring is amazing! Not a scratch!
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
DKS67
Pearl City, HI
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
April 25, 2014
I'm finishing a home that did 3/4 of their home w/these vinyl planks and they have 2 cats running free in the house 24 hours a day and the flooring is holding up excellent. It's going on 1 year already and the floors still look new w/no visible signs of wear. It's residential life time and should hold up to everyday use well, that includes your dogs. Things like water, dog hair, dog nails, and mishaps (urine or even food sauces, etc.) Don't seep in plank joints if they are tight. The joints are very good on these planks and lock firmly together. The only complaint I got from the home owner is that the planks have texture to them, eg. Grooves/shallow lines in them so debris can build up in them if u don't mop or sweep once a week. Other than that I highly recommend this product for price and quality which I feel is a great option if u have indoor pets =4.5 out of 5 stars.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

I will be transitioning from the hall in the Allure Cherry Planks to bathroom in Marble Allure. What do you cover the transition seam with?

Asked by
me123
kansas
about 6 in. x 36 in. Cherry Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case) on
April 20, 2014
Home Depot says Allure doesn't make a transition strip. What do I do?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
DKS67
Pearl City, HI
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
April 20, 2014
There r at least 3 options u can go with. 1st option is to buy a laminate covered transition strip that is in the wood/color style that u like best (it can be any brand but they all do the same job, to cover a seam), 2nd option is to use a metal carpet transition to cover seam which last longer than laminate pieces and they come in a few variety of color choices, and lastly since flooring is same brand and style no transition would be needed for it should click together and would be a cleaner "no bump" transition. It depends on your style and preferences. Hope this was helpful.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

How will this floor hold up to Cold weather in a travle trailer when in storage will the seams hold in freezing temps.

Asked by
Dirt
Janesville
about 6 in. x 36 in. Cherry Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case) on
March 20, 2014
Will glue hold in freezing temps or will it tend to separate.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
pdeuel
Byram twp NJ
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
March 22, 2014
This is just a guess, based on the box we have in storage in the basement, and five years on the heavily used floor in our home. I would think if you put it down when the flooring and trailer is warm (we turned up the heat to 75 in the room we were working in) those seams bond, were not able to pull apart one section that didn't go correctly# If you have time buy a box, put several pieces together # cut if you don't have box freezer) put them in the freezer and leave for awhile to see if they split apart. From what I see the adhesive is like roof shingles, once set and bonded, that's it. heat may take it apart but I don't think cold will. Just my guess, did you call MFG?
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
tomw
North Stratford NH 03590
March 23, 2014
I live in Northern Vt. I really like my Floor. I'm surprised the Allure people have
not answered this. They must have made temp checks.
The Inside of my house has been down to 40 degrees. At that time,
only 1 small area ( 2" by 6") started to lift and it was because the adhesive was only on 1
small side. This is a floating floor and If moldings are holding down the edges,
I believe when you reheat the inside, you should re-roll the whole warm floor before you start regular
traffic on it. .{ I feel 75% strongly about this} it Should be OK.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Do you need the roller (shown in the video) for installation or can you press down manually on the planks to get the same result?

Asked by
AJ123
Lecanto, FL
about 6 in. x 36 in. Cherry Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case) on
February 22, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
8 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Mark
February 24, 2014
I used a hand dolly and rolled it across the seam. This worked really well with a few boxes of the flooring material adding compression weight.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
tomw
North Stratford NH 03590
February 24, 2014
Not only do you need the Roller, but you should get one with an extended Handle so you can push down on those adhesive strips as hard as possible with both hands rolling with your weight to make sure they are in place as tightly as they can be, don't skimp on the pressure (roll in the direction of the connection) and if you make a mistake be careful taking them apart, other wise you may break one and if you do, discard it and put a brand new one in its place. you will be glad you got an extended roller.
sincerely tom w
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Richmond
February 24, 2014
A roller would certainly be easier on your hands and fingers, but it's not required in my opinion. We didn't use one, and aside from the sore fingers and knuckles from pushing down on the seams, it went in just fine.

We did "walk the lines" as well to be sure it was all down securely, but the glue is pretty determined to keep things together without much encouragement. Hope this helps! Good luck!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
pdeuel
Byram twp NJ
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
February 24, 2014
No, you can lean, press or walk on them. Biggest thing is bringing them up to temperature. Our were stored in basement, brought them upstairs for several weeks (basement was cold) and then cranked the heat in the Kitchen and DR where they were being installed. Open packages and lay out flat so they warm up. I really think heat/cold contributes to the problems some have talked about. Our seams have lasted 5 years, go through mop cleaning, now steam cleaning and no problems what so ever.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Mark
Alliance, OH
February 24, 2014
Honestly I can see no reason to NEED the roller in normal installs. Just my opinion,,, not needed.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Freddy
Texas, USA
February 24, 2014
I bought the roller, however after rolling a couple of sections we didn't see a difference so we continued installing the flooring without using the roller.
Manually pressing down the seams worked for my living room.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
MelissaK
North Collins, NY
April 30, 2014
We did not use the roller and it came out just fine.
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
radjohn1
Zephyrhills, FL, USA
March 5, 2014
It would probably be easier with the roller and they can be rented no need to purchase one but as for my self I walked mine down I weigh 215lbs, I first pressed it down then walked it down worked for me
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

If an animal pees on this & can't be cleaned right away due to health, will it seep between layers and ruin floor or ruin the top finish

Asked by
hello
about 6 in. x 36 in. Cherry Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case) on
February 15, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
pdeuel
Byram twp NJ
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
February 17, 2014
I am not sure how long "right away" is but I would say if put down correctly with seams tight a little "puppy" urine won't damage the seams or finish....ours is in the main entrance to the home and has lived through snow, dirt, wood ash, and wood chips, and is still fine. If you think your health issue will happen often over a period of time, I would finish the floor with a wood rejuvenator to help protect the top finish. If you are asking can you use it for a kennel floor, the answer is NO.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Mark
Alliance, OH
February 17, 2014
What I can say is that the material is all Vinyl. No wood fiber or anything like that. The seams fit VERY tightly and then it is a very solid and tight layer of glue or sticky material that is used to bind them together that seals the seam underneath. If you look at the pics of the material the two pieces fit together with a lip on the bottom of the one half and the upper lip that fits over top of the on the other half that seal.

I can't see where anything COULD get down under that but I guess it is possible.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Mickxxiii
Aurora, IL
April 15, 2014
My dogs have wet the floor plenty of times, and it cleans up easily. Didn't seep through and no odor remained.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
tomw
North Stratford NH 03590
February 24, 2014
(I have 3 cats and this did happen to me) if not cleaned up as quickly as possible it could do damage. Clean it and then make sure you have treated the whole floor with the allure cleaner. it is inexpensive and well worth the time.
tw
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
KenHDOC
Orange, Ca.
Home Improvement Profile: Other
February 17, 2014
Hi Hello, the installation instructions state, to clean the floor as quickly as possible.

It further states, failure to do so may result in damage to the floor. It does not stated like how many hours before damage is done.

This is on page 13 under care & maintenance of the installation guide located next to the product overview on the web product page.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

How do you get the odor out of the vinyl plank?

Asked by
George
Florida
about 6 in. x 36 in. Cherry Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case) on
January 14, 2014
I have installed this flooring in another home and loved it. Very durable and classy looking. But, the odor it emits is very strong
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
7 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
HalsteadSupport
January 20, 2014
thank you for supporting our product and I'm sorry to hear that. Make sure you ventilate the room and try mild soap and warm water. If it continues please call our Customer Service number for additional information at 866-843-8453
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Mickxxiii
Aurora, IL
April 15, 2014
The odor went away very quickly for me. It was only about a week and I had over 600sq ft installed.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
pdeuel
Byram twp NJ
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 23, 2014
I found the order disappeared in time. We did the dinning room (main entrance off deck) and the kitchen of our winterized summer home. Maybe you have a fresh batch of flooring and it has more order.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Rick
St. Louis, MO, USA
January 23, 2014
We had no problems with odor. At the beginning, you can "smell" the "new material" and it goes away very soon. We like to open windows to get fresh air in every day in the whole house, so maybe that has resolved the problem we never really had. Hope this helps.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
CaptK
January 23, 2014
Mine had very little to no odor that was gone in a week.
I have heard that some lots might have had a odor.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Richmond
January 28, 2014
Lots of airflow through the area... We have 4 kids who love to leave the doors to the outside open, so after a week or so, we hardly noticed any smell at all.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
wuff4u
Kalispell, MT 59901, USA
March 4, 2014
I also noticed the strong odor after installation. I think its time and temperature related. I recommended putting a heater in the room and run it for 24 hours. Keep ventilation going and keep window and doors open. Do not use the room for about a week? I have not been in the house since we installed it a month ago. If the odor is still there I will consider sealing the floor with something.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

what is the wear layer? aluminum oxide or urethane and what mil is it?

Asked by
nighteyes
about 6 in. x 36 in. Cherry Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case) on
December 27, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
tomw
North Stratford NH 03590
February 24, 2014
Don't know for sure the wear layer but if you use the Allure cleaner. $10 will go along way, and you won't have to worry about the wear layer.
Tom w
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
HalsteadSupport
January 10, 2014
Thank you for your question...our wear layer on this product is 4 mill. There is no aluminum oxide or Ceramic bead coating on this grip strip product. Please reasearch our Allure ULTRA which does have Ceramic bead coating and is a 20 mill product.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can this flooring be installed over ceramic tile without taking up the tile?

Asked by
barb
louisiana
about 6 in. x 36 in. Cherry Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case) on
June 20, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
TheWeed
Grand Lake, CO, USA
June 20, 2013
Yes, this can be installed over ceramic tile with the following stipulations:
1) The ceramic tile is still sound (adhering tightly to the subfloor).
2) The ceramic tile and grout is reasonably smooth and level. The variation should not be more than half the thickness of the new flooring or it can cause seam failure and flaws may show under the new stuff.

Remove any loose ceramic and grout and use a floor patch/leveling compound as needed.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
mich67
new lenox, Il
June 28, 2013
I believe so, as long as the tile is intact and level.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
deb0822
Marysville, WA, USA
June 27, 2013
Allure requires a solid surface. Most ceramic tile floors I've seen have varying degrees of dips for grout, etc. That's the real key to a good adhesion of product - a solid flat surface. If you'd be able to lay wood or laminate over the ceramic then you can use Allure. Allure is probably a bit more forgiving but it has a lap glue system. Conceivably, if a seam ended up located at a grout 'dip' it could affect long term adhesion. You might call the company......
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
mec0510
Marietta, GA, USA
October 1, 2013
Check the Installation Guide.

It states:
Because of allure’s flexibility the planks/tiles can
be installed over uneven sub-floors or existing floors
such as natural wood, concrete, vinyl, linoleum,
and even ceramic.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
PSILady
Kansas City, KS, USA
September 7, 2013
Yes Barb, this product can be placed over tile, and is a bit more forgiving in areas that are uneven. Has some flexibility to it, but it can show bend and crack marks...so use with caution...it's only forgiving to a point.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
CaptK
December 20, 2013
Yes, as long as the grout lines are not too deep.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can Allure be installed over hardwood floors that were refinished & are still "tacky" to the touch two months later?

Asked by
Jackie
Seattle
about 6 in. x 36 in. Cherry Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case) on
May 20, 2013
We had 1,200 feet of hardwood floors sanded and finished with two coats of Swedish finish. Apparently the first coat was not dry before the second coat was applied. For the past two months we have done everything to try to get the floors to dry with no luck. They are still 'tacky' to the touch. Our son-in-law feels terrible--he thought he was doing us a favor. We do not want the expense and mess of tearing up the floor and replacing it with hardwood because this is a rental home.
Thank you.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
TheWeed
Grand Lake, CO, USA
June 20, 2013
Yes. Be sure to have the first few sections straight, since you might not be able to shift the normally "floating" Allure flooring if it starts to stick to the tacky finish.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
bam1
Seminole, OK, USA
May 21, 2013
Was it Swedish chocolate? Did the finish require a topcoat that was not used? Either way if there is no solvent smell or varnish fumes I would put this flooring over it.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
deb0822
Marysville, WA, USA
June 27, 2013
I would probably contact Allure if I were you but I can't see why you couldn't use the product for your purposes. Though it's a vinyl flooring it floats. Unlike wood there's no need for it to expand & contract so 'sticking' to your wood flooring shouldn't be a problem.

I used the Cherry and it's absolutely gorgeous in my kitchen & laundry area and silent to walk on. Didn't realize it would be that quiet but my home is relatively small with a shift worker bedroom just off the kitchen so it's nice benefit of the product.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
tomw
North Stratford NH 03590
December 13, 2013
I would not because it is a floating floor and an un dry floor might make your installation difficult. I would work with
a completely dry floor. I think I would buff the floor with rags until you get the stickiness up then a light sanding again.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
HalsteadSupport
May 20, 2013
I am so sorry to hear about your situation. I would not recommend usign our prodcut over tacky floors. the product needs to be free floating and that would cause it to be "glued down". The product would eventually lift and seperate.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
radjohn1
Zephyrhills, FL, USA
March 5, 2014
I feel that it may be possible to overlay with this product my only concern would being able to keep hands clean so that the sticky doesn't get on the finish side of the product, or you might try using mineral spirits and steel wool to scrub down the floor first, that should take care of the tacky problem after it dries, if the floor still looks good and isn't tacky anymore than you might want to put a coat of good poly on it or go ahead and install the vinyl planks.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can this product be used over stairs?

Asked by
Rose
Newburyport, MA
about 6 in. x 36 in. Cherry Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case) on
April 27, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
TheWeed
Grand Lake, CO, USA
May 7, 2013
I wouldn't unless you could find a good way to finish the edge.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
HalsteadSupport
May 22, 2013
yes you can except it will void the warranty. you would have to glue it down using a good vinyl adhesive
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
tomw
North Stratford NH 03590
February 24, 2014
I do not reccomend it, for safety reasons
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
DIYer504
April 28, 2013
Yes, you can just purchase matching bull nose trim for finish.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
deb0822
Marysville, WA, USA
June 27, 2013
This is a floating floor system, much like most hard woods & laminates so you'd have to use a molding of some type to encase it. A better option, if you're looking at a vinyl, might be the self adhesive squares. The glue system on Allure is a lap type.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
BLB1
Salt Lake city
April 23, 2014
This is one of the great failures of Allure - that it has no stair treads. I want them too. If you put the Allure on the stair treads then you have to anchor it down some way (cant let it float) and you have to cover the edge with an aluminum or rubber strip nosing. The nails in the aluminum nosing would probably work to anchor down the allure. Home Depot only carries aluminum and only two colors - lame.

Other notes: I dont recommend cherry because of the deep grooves - go with the teak or bamboo - it is much easier to clean.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can you use an underlayment?

Asked by
Stacey
Missouri
about 6 in. x 36 in. Cherry Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case) on
March 5, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
DIYer504
March 6, 2013
Yes, you can but depending on the surface it may not be needed.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
PatG
March 6, 2013
I would not since it would then give and mess with the glue strips.
Also only apply on level floors.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
TheWeed
Grand Lake, CO, USA
May 7, 2013
You probably should use an underlayment unless your current floor is very smooth. Rough under surfaces can cause problems with surface wear spots and proper adhesion.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
bam1
Seminole, OK, USA
May 21, 2013
I would not. unless it is a solid underlayment. they say this needs an undefloor with less than 3/16" per 8'
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
deb0822
Marysville, WA, USA
June 27, 2013
The flooring is completely silent so there's no need for an underlayment unless you need to create an even installation base.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
HalsteadSupport
March 15, 2013
The only approved underlayment for Allure is a 6 mill poly and that is only needed over concrete when your moisture reading is above 6%
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Do you need to put down any type of cushioning material before floating the floor?

Asked by
canashar
Atlanta
about 6 in. x 36 in. Cherry Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case) on
February 25, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
11 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
18thfairway
KY
February 27, 2013
When placing over concrete, I highly recommend placing this product over roll foam pad such as that by Roberts and sold at Home Depot. I don't have the exact dimensions for the foam but it comes in rolls that are approx. 4' W x 50' L x 3/16" Thick and cost about $25.00 per roll.

This will make the floor much quieter and make for a smooth transition over any imperfections in the sub-floor. Although somewhat beneficial for same reasons, this is not as critical when installing over existing floors such as wood and vinyl.

Hope this helps. Good luck with your project.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
DIYer504
March 6, 2013
No, cushion material is needed the vinyl flooring planks have a decent amount of thickness.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Kristi
South Rockwood, Michgain
February 26, 2013
no you can put it over an existing floor as long as the floor is not peeling up in any areas. I laid mone over my existing linoleum floor.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Chucklezz
Fort Worth, TX, USA
February 26, 2013
No, you don't. I laid the flooring over linoleum in my bathrooms and directly over the concrete in my office and guest bedroom. However, you do need to make sure the concrete is level, for that I used concrete patch for small holes and self leveling compound for large uneven areas. Also, from what I understand, if you put cushioning material underneath vinyl planks it will cause problems.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Tonya
Arma, KS
March 5, 2013
No we did not put anything under it.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
PatG
March 6, 2013
No. In fact you don't want to. That would be a mistake with the glue strips.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
TheWeed
Grand Lake, CO, USA
May 7, 2013
No. It's much quieter than hard laminate flooring, too.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
Labmom
Nashville, TN
October 16, 2013
You do not need any cushioning material. I have had this put down over existing sheet vinyl and on sub-flooring and see no difference.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Asked by
Mickxxiii
Aurora, IL
April 15, 2014
I recommend putting down the foam underlay. It's helps with noise reduction and makes the floor a lot more comfortable to walk on. I didn't use it in one room and am thinking about pulling it up and putting down the underlay.
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 10
Asked by
deb0822
Marysville, WA, USA
June 27, 2013
NO - a good solid base is all it requires. The floor is silent. I hade no idea it would be but immediately noticed it. LOVE mine!
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 11
Asked by
HalsteadSupport
March 15, 2013
The only approved underlayment fornAllure is a 6 mill poly and that is only needed when installing over cement. Any cushion underlayment will void the warranty and cause the product to lift.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Question

i want to put this on my second floor, but i'm not sure what i do when i get to the end of the floor going to the 1st step. do i need bullnose?

Asked by
kathy
peckville, pa
about 6 in. x 36 in. Cherry Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case) on
February 1, 2013
i'm doing the second floor of my home. what do i do when i get to the end and start decending down the steps? is some kind of bullnose needed? can this be used on the steps? if so how do i finish off each step?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
HalsteadSupport
February 5, 2013
Yes, you would need a bullnose where the first step starts. You can either use a wood or laminate or Zamma has a program that has matching moldings to our flooring. You can do a search on homedepot.com or ask a flooring associate for details.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
18thfairway
KY
February 27, 2013
You are correct. Unfortunately, the manufacturer does not make a product such as the bullnose you suggest. I wanted to do the same installation on my steps but elected not to for this reason.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
DIYer504
March 6, 2013
You can bullnose the edge, just make sure that the bullnose material you'll be using will match with the vinyl floor plank for a clean finish look.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
TheWeed
Grand Lake, CO, USA
May 7, 2013
I would put a wood-toned flooring transition strip with the lowest possible profile.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
pdeuel
Byram twp NJ
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 23, 2014
Any kind of edging that you want to use, that matches the flooring... but you don't want to create a tripping hazard at the top of stairs.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
SQ79
Cleveland, OH, USA
March 4, 2014
I DID THIS IN MY UP HALLWAY.WHEN I GOT TO THE STAIRS I WENT BACK TO HOME DEPOT AND GOT A METAL EDGINGTHAT TACKS TO FLOOR /CARPET.IT LOOKS GOOD.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
1 2 »