Looking for Answers about TrafficMaster Allure 6 in. x 36 in. Cherry Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)?

Customer questions and answers for
TrafficMaster Allure 6 in. x 36 in. Cherry Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)

Use TrafficMASTER Allure 6 in. x 36 in. Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring to add the warm, comfortable style of real wood to your interior living space. This highly durable, water-resistant flooring is great for use in basements, kitchens, bathrooms and high traffic areas. The floating floor installs over most existing surfaces including concrete, wood and vinyl with no floor preparation or adhesives required. It offers a patented GripStrip design for simple installation.
Customer questions and answers:
40 Questions
 | 
192 Answers
Overall rating:
4.382 out of 5
4.4
out of
5

Customer questions and answers for TrafficMaster Allure 6 in. x 36 in. Cherry Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)

Question

Commercial Use

Asked by
OBXDesigner
Kill Devil Hills, NC
about 6 in. x 36 in. Cherry Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case) on
May 20, 2015
Is this product approved for commercial use?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
HalsteadExpert
May 20, 2015
Thank you for your interest in the TrafficMaster Allure resilient vinyl plank flooring in Cherry. This product is not recommended for commercial use. We recommend TrafficMaster Allure Contract in Oregon Cherry available at http://www.homedepot.com/p/TrafficMASTER-Allure-Contract-6-in-x-36-in-Oregon-Cherry-Resilient-Vinyl-Plank-Flooring-24-sq-ft-case-938115/204610570 .
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Installed over vinyl tile?

Asked by
xandtrek
Las Cruces, NM
about 6 in. x 36 in. Cherry Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case) on
May 8, 2015
I want to install this flooring over old, embossed, 12"x12" vinyl tile that is really well stuck down on the floor (not sure what is underneath that).

Should I put some leveler into the embossing? Or put down an underlayment? Or is it thick enough to just float over without transfer of the embossing and seams of the tile?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
HalsteadExpert
May 9, 2015
Thank you for your interest in the TrafficMaster Allure resilient vinyl plank flooring in Cherry. Any gaps or embossing over 1/4 in. must filled in with a floor leveler.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

what is the material and installation warranty for this product

Asked by
robin
about 6 in. x 36 in. Cherry Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case) on
April 21, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
HalsteadExpert
April 21, 2015
Thank you for your interest in the TrafficMaster Allure Resilient Vinyl plank flooring in Cherry. The product carries a 25-year residential warranty. There is no warranty for the installation.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

How soon after installing the vinyl planks can I place furniture on it ? Heavy furniture, couch, love seat, tv, ect. ?

Asked by
TerriP
Louisville, KY
about 6 in. x 36 in. Cherry Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case) on
April 15, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
HalsteadExpert
April 15, 2015
Thank you for your interest in the TrafficMaster Allure Resilient Vinyl plank flooring in Cherry. You floor is ready for immediate use after you have installed.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
L8rgator
WI
April 21, 2015
Immediately
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

How much does a case weigh?

Asked by
Leewhy
Peoria AZ
about 6 in. x 36 in. Cherry Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case) on
April 2, 2015
what are the dimensions and weight of a case?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
HalsteadExpert
April 2, 2015
Thank you for your interest in Allure Cherry Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring. 1 case of this flooring weighs 37 lbs, is 38 inches long, 7.6 inches wide, and 2.6 inches high.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

How long of runs can this be put?

Asked by
DanP
Aberdeen, WA
about 6 in. x 36 in. Cherry Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case) on
February 22, 2015
Can this flooring do a run of 51 feet and still be fine?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
HalsteadExpert
February 24, 2015
Thank you for your interest in the TrafficMaster Allure Cherry Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring. 50' x 30' (1500 sq.ft.) is the maximum before you will need to use transition strips. Also doorways less than 4' need a transition too.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can I store the planks I just bought in my garage where temperature in the winter night may be very low?

Asked by
Allie
about 6 in. x 36 in. Cherry Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case) on
November 30, 2014
I bought 40 cases during promotion, but will not be able to install it after a month or so. Can I store the planks I just bought in my garage where temperature in the winter night may be very low?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
HalsteadExpert
December 5, 2014
Thank you for your interest in the Allure Cherry Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring. We recommend the flooring should not be subjected to environments where the temperature is allowed to go below
55F or above 85F.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Bobby
Sparta, GA 31087, USA
December 1, 2014
I suggest getting a pallet to store them on as well as some insulated old blankets or cardboard boxes to keep them protected from the cold temperatures. There is adhesive on the edges and the cold weather could deteriorate it for future holding between pieces.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Marty
Alger , Mi.
December 6, 2014
no
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Robert
January 13, 2015
It is suggested you contact the manufacturer for storage suggestions and comments. My recommendation is to store them in the house and keep them lying flat on a dry, level surface.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Homeowner
Livingston texas
December 3, 2014
Hello Allie,
The instructions to the planks say no high heat and no freezing. This might void the warranty.
I too bought too many not knowing how many extra I might need for in the future. I have stored mine in the garage and under a pier and beam house in good moisture protection packaging during freezing and very hot summer temperatures. I had no problem with the installation, but knew I was taking a risk. It has survived two winters with temps into the 20s and 2 summers with temps into the high 90s without consequence, but know that the instructions say not to do so and therefore, you have no guarantees that the glue will operate as intended when installed. Nor do you have any assurances your planks will survive as mine did. The vinyl planks themselves, remained pliable and did not get brittle.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
mmedwith
Utica, Michigan
April 10, 2015
Yes but you'll need to warm them up before you use them. I'd recommend against it because they get brittle.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

on the home depot online specs it has no next to waterproof i thought this product was water resistant

Asked by
robin
about 6 in. x 36 in. Cherry Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case) on
November 21, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Bobby
Sparta, GA 31087, USA
November 30, 2014
We installed our floor over 2 years ago. We have had some instances where we spilled water accidently and we have no issues.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
HalsteadExpert
December 5, 2014
Thank you for your interest in the Allure Cherry Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring. Allure is water resistant and will withstand holding water for short periods of time if the product is installed properly. allure is not flood proof! allure is not meant as water proofing material nor a solution for moisture.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
TomT
Brockton, Ma
November 29, 2014
water resistant is not the same as waterproof. It's like the difference between driving through a puddle and driving into a lake.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Marty
Alger , Mi.
December 6, 2014
It is waterproof
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Robert
January 13, 2015
Yes, it is my understanding they are waterproof, mold proof, and mildew resistant.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Homeowner
Livingston texas
December 3, 2014
It is water resilient in that all four sides of the plank are sealed to the adjacent planks with a glue. The glue is not a miracle product. It prevents water from easily leaking through. It is possible that water setting on it for a while will eventually leak through. And don't forget, if you don't walk on it or press it or roll on it to improve the adhesive seal, the adhesive material may have gaps which will also leak water more easily in those locations. Therefore, no, it is not water proof. The only vinyl material that is waterproof is vinyl flooring. I don't know if you can also add a silicon caulking on the interior of each one but suspect that would be a mess as well as prevent the easy removal of future planks if repairs are needed. So don't pour water on the floor. Mop with a damp mop and wipe up immediately. Wipe up spills immediately.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

how long do you let the finished installation set or can you walk over it immediately after done laying

Asked by
robin
about 6 in. x 36 in. Cherry Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case) on
November 21, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Rick
St. Louis, MO, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
November 30, 2014
We walked over it right after the installation and put the furniture right away.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Bobby
Sparta, GA 31087, USA
November 30, 2014
No need to wait with this type of flooring. You may begin walking and placing your kitchen table and chairs on it when you are done. Enjoy!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
HalsteadExpert
December 5, 2014
Thank you for your interest in the Allure Cherry Vinyl Plank Flooring. You can walk on your new flooring right after install. No set time is required.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
TomT
Brockton, Ma
November 29, 2014
Immediately-in fact, the more it's walked on, the better the adhesive will set.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Marty
Alger , Mi.
December 6, 2014
Immediately
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Homeowner
Livingston texas
December 3, 2014
THey recommend you roll over it with a roller. I actually just stepped heavily and often to get the glue to adhere on advice of another contractor and that worked. Make sure to step on each one in all locations of the glue to get good adhesion if you don't use a roller. Install at optimum temps to ensure good adhesion.. You can walk on it immediately, but know that for the first few rows, they may travel until you have enough installed (heavy weight to keep them from moving) to to keep them in the place you want.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

do you need a 1/4" expansion gap along parameter of walls

Asked by
robin
about 6 in. x 36 in. Cherry Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case) on
November 21, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
HalsteadExpert
December 5, 2014
Thank you for your interest in the Cherry Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring. The 1/4" gap is required for expansion.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
HDAnswerman
November 24, 2014
Hi Robin,

Yes, you will need a 1/4 inch expansion gap, if do not leave the gap the floor will buckle when it expands.

Mike
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
TomT
Brockton, Ma
November 29, 2014
No, and you also do not need any special underlay like laminate does.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Homeowner
Livingston texas
December 3, 2014
Yes.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

do you need a moisture barrier if installing over concrete

Asked by
robin
about 6 in. x 36 in. Cherry Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case) on
November 21, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
HalsteadExpert
December 5, 2014
Thank you for your interest in the Allure Cherry Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring. Thank you for your interest in the Alpine Elm Resilient Plank Flooring. We recommend that concrete needs to be treated with a floor sealer that seals the concrete or a moisture/vapor barrier (6 mil poly) is installed. Please refer to the 'Approved Subfloors' section of the Instruction Manual for more information.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
KenHDOC
Orange, Ca.
Home Improvement Profile: Other
November 24, 2014
Hi Robin, you can install this product over concrete. However you may need to seal or use a moisture barrier.

Check out page 8 of installation guide. This explains when you will need a sealant or moisture barrier, depending on the condition of your concrete floor.

http://www.homedepot.com/catalog/pd...
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Fireplace

Asked by
CourtO
about 6 in. x 36 in. Cherry Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case) on
September 21, 2014
I have a fireplace in my living room that the flooring would pretty much but right up to. I'm assuming i need to put ceramic tile down around it because it would be too hot. Any thoughts on how far away i should keep the vinyl flooring? How should i make the ceramic tile and vinyl join?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
pdeuel
Byram twp NJ
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
September 23, 2014
How far away from your fireplace opening is dependent on what your local fire codes are. you can use a strip called a T strip found in the rug department, comes in colors, I used walnut matched my flooring perfectly. HD carries it I believe
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
IUfans
Lafayette, IN
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
November 20, 2014
I can't answer how far on the tile, however, we have an approx 1/2 inch stone hearth and my husband was able to make the cuts so close with a standard utility knife that there were only a couple of gaps, which I filled in with red caulk. I'm particular about such things (thanks, Dad) but I'm very happy with the results. Hope this helps!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Does molding need to be under cut to install this under wood trim?

Asked by
Smitty
about 6 in. x 36 in. Cherry Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case) on
September 14, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
pdeuel
Byram twp NJ
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
September 15, 2014
yes , just like regular flooring, looks neater.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
radjohn1
Zephyrhills, FL, USA
September 16, 2014
I removed all the molding such as quarter round then reinstalled it but if there are door casings involved then yes it would be best to undercut them.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
gruffbear
Houston, TX
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
September 16, 2014
The flooring is supposed to be able to float a bit. I installed this flooring in two rooms that already had trim, so I left a small gap and installed shoe moulding onto the existing moulding. You could undercut the moulding, or take it up and install it a little higher after the floor is finished.
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
YukonBill
Homer, Alaska
October 28, 2014
The easiest way to deal with that issue is remove any molding and trim before installing the floor. Reinstall the molding or trim above the new floor with finish nails. This will give it a more "pro" look.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
TomT
Brockton, Ma
November 29, 2014
All flooring should run under the molding, either by installing first, or undercutting or replacing the existing molding.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
IUfans
Lafayette, IN
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
November 20, 2014
We replaced carpet so had a bit of a gap. After installation of the flooring, we installed a quarter round trim piece to the wood molding, dropping it to the floor level and it worked great. This could be done as well if you place the plank just up to the existing trim, which would be easier yet :). Hope this helps!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

If this floor is installed when it is above 70 degrees, will it hold up to minimal traffic when we encounter under 40 degree temperatures?

Asked by
mickybs
Grand Rapids Michigan
about 6 in. x 36 in. Cherry Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case) on
August 11, 2014
We have a 3 season porch. It will see most traffic in the spring, summer and fall when the temperature is warmer. However, our Michigan winters can get below 10 degrees F. sometimes. Will the floor lift and separate if the floor is exposed to low temperatures?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
pdeuel
Byram twp NJ
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
August 13, 2014
based on our floor in our summer home, we jacked the heat in the baseboards to 80 for the 24 hours before even though it had been up out of the unheated basement for two weeks, and left it in the 70's the day of install. I believe that once the adhesive edges are put together they cannot be taken apart. Cold temps should not bother it. ours looks to be one piece a very thick linoleum. That is why they say becareful putting edges together because the do not come apart nor can they be pulled apart. We have had it in now almost 5 years and I love it.,, clean with steam mop, and this year I put a product call Rejuvenate sold at HD, and it looks better than brand new...has a very nice shine now.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
HalsteadExpert
December 12, 2014
Thank you for your interest in Allure Cherry Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring. This product should be installed in temperature controlled rooms only. After installation, the temperatures must remain between 55 and 85 degrees Fahrenheit.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Homeowner
Livingston texas
December 3, 2014
I found that unless it is installed in "average" temperatures, you get gaps in the cold season and expansion in the summer. Therefore, depending on what your "normal" household temperatures might be, anticipate a gap for contraction when the temps reach that level. So, if you are installing at 90 degree temps, visible gaps will occur during temps of 60 degrees and possibly at 70 degrees. For optimum smooth appearance, install at the normal temps you will be using the rooms. I installed mine at about 50-65 degrees and actually placed some of the planks near a space heater during installation to acclimatize. and allow the glue to really adhere. I feared I may experience buckling when temps reach 80s and above, but I did not. On the other hand, in the locations where installation temps were 70 I get considerable gaps from shrinking when the temps drop to 50s when we are gone in the winter. They return to normal in the summer and when the house is heated.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

I want to use the TrafficMASTER Model # 100779554 underlayment under Allure to ensure no moisture on a below grade concrete install. Is this ok?

Asked by
Mike
Delaware Beaches
about 6 in. x 36 in. Cherry Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case) on
June 17, 2014
I have a below grade basement that has no moisture issues. I have checked it in several locations, several months apart, no issues. I'd like to use the TrafficMASTER Model # 100779554 underlayment to help insulate the floor and to make sure moisture is not an issue (just in case). My concrete stays a a 65 degree temperature most of the year, and felt this underlayment would help and might also ensure seams on the Allure do not release due to temperature. Are there issues using this undelayment? Will it void the warranty?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
JosephHDATL
Atlanta GA
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
June 18, 2014
Hey Mike,

It looks like you've done your homework in terms of making sure the Allure planks won't separate due to moisture over time.

However, the underlayment you want to use by TrafficMaster is NOT recommended and rated for vinyl plank flooring. It is only rated for click-lock and laminate wood flooring.

Therefore, it would lead to issues with your Allure planks and it would lead to failure as well as voiding your warranty.

Cushioned underlayment is not recommended for any vinyl flooring, due to it being already cushioned resilient substrate.

Your best bet would be to install a simple moisture barrier, which is rated for your Allure. It is paper thin and allows no moisture to come through, if installed correctly.

One that I recommend is linked below:
http://www.homedepot.com/p/Roberts-...

Use it, and you'll have no problems with any moisture in your below grade floor.

Thanks,
Joseph
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Jaala
Arlington, Tx
June 26, 2014
I used an underlayment in my kitchen so that I didn't have to sand away residual mortar from the old tile. It works fine but is not necessary if you are laying the allure over flat ground. I installed it in my bathroom straight on top of the old laminate flooring. Hope this helps.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

the AC unit leaked onto the Allure floor, will I have mildew or mold problems now?

Asked by
Misty
Waco, TX
about 6 in. x 36 in. Cherry Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case) on
May 29, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
pdeuel
Byram twp NJ
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
May 29, 2014
I guess it depends on how much water and how long it was there before you noticed it. Is there mold/mildew there now? If so wipe up and re wipe with a bleach solution. If it is wet to the point of buckling the floor....then it is under it and that is worse.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
YukonBill
Homer, Alaska
October 28, 2014
You should not have any issues. The product is vinyl so it will not absorb water. Be careful to dry out any drywall or wood framing and molding nearby to prevent issues there.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
TomT
Brockton, Ma
November 29, 2014
As long as moisture does not get under the floor, like around the edges. Allure itself is water resistant and should not have any issues with getting wet.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

How to minimize the noise/sound to the unit below me if I install it on a second floor condo?

Asked by
Joanne
Kirkland, WA
about 6 in. x 36 in. Cherry Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case) on
May 21, 2014
I am considering remodeling my rental unit with this floor in everyroom. The unit currently is carpet except vinyle in kitchen and bathroom (1980s). Will the downstairs neighbor notice any difference between this new vinyl floor vs. the old carpet? Currently you can hear the thumping noise if a 180 lb person walks above the unit but no other noise. Will this floor create high pitched "clickity" "Clackty" sound to units below it when tenants walk with shoes on ?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
DKS67
Pearl City, HI
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
May 25, 2014
The main issue seems to be more noise for the downstair renters and the answer is there will be noise with vinyl plank flooring but it shouldn't be a high pitch noise especially if you use a sound dampening underlayment. You install the underlayment before the vinyl planks. It will help with noise issues. It will lessen the "clicky/clacky" for sure but you may still here some noise. You will have to use an underlayment made for noise reduction rather than one for moisture. I still feel the vinyl planks are a great choice instead of carpet for your remodel in looks, air quality and will look good for years to come. It's a great product.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
HalsteadExpert
May 22, 2014
Thank you for your question. One of the advantages of using Allure is that its vinyl and softer to walk on than laminate, ceramic or wood. Certainly it is louder than carpet so there will be some noise.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

SEALING AGAINST A TUB

Asked by
mxdano
NY
about 6 in. x 36 in. Cherry Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case) on
May 14, 2014
I am installing in a bathroom, butting up to the tub. Can I -should I- caulk between the flooring and the tub, or is there a better way to seal it so splashed water from the tub/shower wont get under the flooring?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
DKS67
Pearl City, HI
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
May 25, 2014
Yes, use a good quality caulk and make sure seal is solid between tub and vinyl flooring so no water can get under flooring. Once this seal is good you can use a plastic/abs or wood (pine, red...) molding to cover seam. You should also caulk seams of the molding of your choice (DO Not Use MDF moldings for water can cause it to swell and fatigue easily). Finish with a good quality paint/poly and it should last you many years, trouble free.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
LauraG
Toms River, NJ
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
August 12, 2014
I caulked all of the edges in my bathroom (around toilet, tub, walls, etc) to make sure no water got underneath. I wanted a more finished look along the tub so I installed molding using an adhesive so as to cover the edge. It looks great and I don't have to worry about water getting underneath and ruining the floor. I hope this helps!
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
straitscuba
Port Angeles WA
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
January 2, 2015
I used clear bathroom silicone sealant for mine. That said I have always used some kind of color matching caulking in the past. I am using this as a transition to get rid of the carpet until I make my mind up on tile so I used the silicone that I already had in the box rather than buying a new tube of caulking. I think the clear silicone came out looking good.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
pdeuel
Byram twp NJ
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
May 15, 2014
I don't believe so, caulking would be the best. A good silicone caulk. Also I would take the time to carefully scribe the plank(s) so you have a nice neat butting to the tub. Before applying caulk press seams with weight to make sure adhesive is fully bonded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

How does this flooring hold up with dogs??

Asked by
debbie
about 6 in. x 36 in. Cherry Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case) on
April 23, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
pdeuel
Byram twp NJ
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
April 24, 2014
Have not had any problem with it when my daughter brings her two dogs over. I have wooden chairs and table set up. While I had those little pads on the chairs the large footed like legs on the table did not and have scuffed the surface over the five years. I have since steam cleaned twice and swiffered then applied Floor Rejuvenator (sold at HD) on and it looks brand new. Please note this product is water base and needs several days to cure (not dry) cure so the flooring does not show marks. Wish I had put it on when we first laid the floor.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
MelissaK
North Collins, NY
April 30, 2014
We have two dogs and this flooring is amazing! Not a scratch!
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
DKS67
Pearl City, HI
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
April 25, 2014
I'm finishing a home that did 3/4 of their home w/these vinyl planks and they have 2 cats running free in the house 24 hours a day and the flooring is holding up excellent. It's going on 1 year already and the floors still look new w/no visible signs of wear. It's residential life time and should hold up to everyday use well, that includes your dogs. Things like water, dog hair, dog nails, and mishaps (urine or even food sauces, etc.) Don't seep in plank joints if they are tight. The joints are very good on these planks and lock firmly together. The only complaint I got from the home owner is that the planks have texture to them, eg. Grooves/shallow lines in them so debris can build up in them if u don't mop or sweep once a week. Other than that I highly recommend this product for price and quality which I feel is a great option if u have indoor pets =4.5 out of 5 stars.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
HalsteadExpert
March 6, 2015
Thank for your interest in Allure Cherry Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring. This flooring has a 4 mil wear layer to protect against scratches. Pets nails should be clipped to avoid damage on your floor.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

I will be transitioning from the hall in the Allure Cherry Planks to bathroom in Marble Allure. What do you cover the transition seam with?

Asked by
me123
kansas
about 6 in. x 36 in. Cherry Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case) on
April 20, 2014
Home Depot says Allure doesn't make a transition strip. What do I do?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
DKS67
Pearl City, HI
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
April 20, 2014
There r at least 3 options u can go with. 1st option is to buy a laminate covered transition strip that is in the wood/color style that u like best (it can be any brand but they all do the same job, to cover a seam), 2nd option is to use a metal carpet transition to cover seam which last longer than laminate pieces and they come in a few variety of color choices, and lastly since flooring is same brand and style no transition would be needed for it should click together and would be a cleaner "no bump" transition. It depends on your style and preferences. Hope this was helpful.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
HalsteadExpert
March 6, 2015
Thank you for your interest in Allure Cherry Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring. Allure does make transition strips, they can be found here: http://www.homedepot.com/p/Allure-UnderTransition-8-Pack-AL66710/202627728.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
IUfans
Lafayette, IN
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
November 20, 2014
http://www.homedepot.com/s/cherry%2520transition%2520strips?NCNI-5

If the link doesn't work, just search cherry transition strips on Home Depot. We used this to transition from the cherry planks to a vinyl flooring in the dining area and we haven't had any problems in the 17 months since installation. We used Model number 015623570/internet number 203528524. Hope this helps!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
1 2 »