Looking for Answers about GE Profile Spacemaker II 1.0 cu. ft. Countertop Microwave in Stainless Steel?

Customer questions and answers for
Profile Spacemaker II 1.0 cu. ft. Countertop Microwave in Stainless Steel

The GE Profile Spacemaker II 1.0 cu. ft. Countertop Microwave provides 800 watts of cooking power and a 1.0 cu. ft. capacity to accommodate small dishes. This microwave also offers a turntable on/off feature to accommodate oversized dishes that may not fully rotate and help ensure even cooking results. The sensor cooking controls automatically adjust the time and power for exceptional results, and the kitchen timer can be used as a minute timer to help you keep track of cooking times.
Customer questions and answers:
42 Questions
 | 
49 Answers
Overall rating:
3.063 out of 5
3.1
out of
5

Customer questions and answers for GE Profile Spacemaker II 1.0 cu. ft. Countertop Microwave in Stainless Steel

Question

does this microwave have a trim kit

Asked by
mich
about Profile Spacemaker II 1.0 cu. ft. Countertop Microwave in Stainless Steel on
July 25, 2011
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Josh
Michigan, USA
October 23, 2011
Yes, I think it was around home depot. The appliance department at the home depot store was able to order and ship directly to me.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
GE Answers
July 25, 2011
Hi, I'm Brenda with GE.

Thanks for your interest in this GE microwave. This model does not come with a trim kit but there is one is available for in the wall installation and the part number is JX827. There is also a hanging kit available for hanging underneath the cabinets and the part number is #JXA019K.

I hope this is helpful. Should you have other questions, do not hesitate letting us know. We're always happy to help.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

does this model replace pem31sm1ss

Asked by
dog lover
ct
about Profile Spacemaker II 1.0 cu. ft. Countertop Microwave in Stainless Steel on
October 16, 2011
i have the old model built in and the trim kit. i need to be sure it will fit exactly as the old one did. the old one works fine but the interior paint is chipping off into our food!!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
October 16, 2011
Hello,

This is Donna fromn GE and I will be happy to assist you with your question on the GE Profile Spacemaker II 1.0 cu. ft. Countertop Microwave in Stainless Steel model PEM31SMSS.

Yes, this is still the current model and the trim kit required is the same, JX827SMSS.

I hope this helps!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Josh
Michigan, USA
October 23, 2011
The old trim kit will fit the microwave but all of the screws don't match up and I remember correctly, the ventilation was different... I opted to replace the trim kit as well.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

My JEM31WF01 stopped heating. No longer made. Looking at the PEM31SMSS as a replacement. Will my existing trim kit work??

Asked by
David
Miami
about Profile Spacemaker II 1.0 cu. ft. Countertop Microwave in Stainless Steel on
December 4, 2011
I am planning on spray painting the white trim with a nickel spray to match. I am not happy with the reviews on this product so far.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
December 5, 2011
Hello David,

This is Donna with GE and I will be happy to help you with you GE Profile Spacemaker II 1.0 cu. ft. Countertop Microwave in Stainless Steel Model # PEM31SMSS.

The new trim kit would need to be used as screw hole locations have changed and cosmetics.

The trim kit for model PEM31SMSS is JX827SMSS. I requires following cut-out opening.
Height: 15±1⁄16″
Width: 247⁄8″±1⁄16″

This is the same cut-out for your currnt model JEM31WF.

I hope this helps. Thnak you for considering GE!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
wesos
Iowa, USA
March 19, 2012
Don't plan on using the old trim kit. However, the old undercabinet mounting kit was reusable, but had to drill new holes in new shell to access threaded holes that more closely matched the old hole pattern. Fit in under the cabinet just like the original one.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

I need to replace my GE Spacemaker II microwave (model JEM31SF) and want to know what other microwaves are the same size.

Asked by
DK
miami
about Profile Spacemaker II 1.0 cu. ft. Countertop Microwave in Stainless Steel on
January 7, 2012
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Bryan
Charlotte, NC, USA
January 24, 2012
DK

There are none....that is why the spacemakers are so expensive.....
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
GE Answers
January 8, 2012
Hello DK,

This is Donna with GE and I will be happy to help you with your question on the GE Profile Spacemaker II 1.0 cu. ft. Countertop Microwave in Stainless Steel Model # PEM31SMSS. This is a great model.

Following are the dimensions of your current 1.0 cubic ft model JEM31SF. If you have this built-in with trim kit JX827SS the cut-out opening would be different than external dimensions.
Height: 11 3/16"
Width: 23 25/32"
Depth: 12 9/32" excluding handle

PEM31SMSS: Trim kit, JX827SMSS. The new trim kit would need to be used as screw hole locations have changed and cosmetics.

Height: 11.1875"
Width: 23.78125"
Depth: 12.28125"

Thank you for choosing GE!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What has GE done to fix the flaking, peeling or bubbling coating problem inside the PEM31SMSS microwave oven cavity?

Asked by
Chuck
about Profile Spacemaker II 1.0 cu. ft. Countertop Microwave in Stainless Steel on
December 15, 2012
We bought a GE Profile Spacemaker II PEM31SM3SS 3 years ago. The coating in the cavity above the turntable is bubbled. I found several reviews for this model describing the same problem. What has GE done to fix this problem?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
December 16, 2012
Hello Chuck,

This is Donna with GE and I am sorry to hear you are having this issue with your microwave. I will be happy to address your concerns.

If the coating is actively flaking or peeling anywhere inside the oven cavity including under the turntable, discontinue the use of the microwave. The microwave is not repairable.

For assistance with replacement, please contact GE Consumer Relations on the GE Appliance website Contact Us page.
-3points
0out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Magee2
Northern Catskill Mountains
February 19, 2013
Same thing happened to the first one I bought. GE Answer team said their is no fix. It will cause arcing. I tossed it and replaced it with the same model as their are only two on the market that will mount under a cabinet. The second choice is also GE's Monogram, more expensive model. My original unit had a 2" x 2" bubble on the ceiling. Too much metal exposed.

I will be diligent in keeping the ceiling of the replacement clean with a mild cleaning product such as Basic H. I do feel GE should address this problem.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Replacement for GE Spacemaker 2 Microwave JEM31J Color Black 1.4KW?

Asked by
Sue
about Profile Spacemaker II 1.0 cu. ft. Countertop Microwave in Stainless Steel on
May 12, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
May 13, 2013
Hello Sue,

Thank you for your interest in the GE Profile Spacemaker II Countertop Microwave model # PEM31SMSS.

Yes, this would make a great replacment model. If it is built-in, please see the trim cut-out opening changes.

The optional 27" Built-In Kit for PEM31SMSS is JX827SMSS and following are the cut-out opening requirements.

Height: 15 +/- 1/16"
Width: 24 7/8" +/- 16"

Built-In kit for JEM31J is JX9H Cut-Out:
Height: 14 15/16" Min.
Width: 24 13/16" Min.

I hope this is helpful!

Donna with GE
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
GE Answers
May 13, 2013
Hello Sue,

Thank you for your interest in the GE Profile Spacemaker II 1.0 cu. ft. Countertop Microwave in model # PEM31.

Yes, this the replacement model for JEM31J.

Should you have additional questions, please let us know. We are always happy to help!

Donna with GE
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What is the replacement model for the GE Spacemaker II jem31bf01, under cabinet. We currently have black but would like stainless.

Asked by
JennR
about Profile Spacemaker II 1.0 cu. ft. Countertop Microwave in Stainless Steel on
June 8, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Lester
Gainesville, FL, USA
June 10, 2013
I'm afraid I don't have that answer. H.D. has a 1-800 number that probably can answer it for you. Good luck with your research.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
GE Answers
June 10, 2013
Hello JennR,

Thank you for your interest in the GE Profile Spacemaker II Microwave.

Yes, the Stainless Steel model # PEM31SMSS woudl be the repleacement for model JEM31BF.

None of the installation kits are totally interchangeable. GE recommends to use the new mounting system and hardware that is designed for the specific microwave. There may be mounting screw location changes for these models.

Thank you for choosing GE!

Donna with GE
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

SKU #847079

Asked by
Bob
San Carlos, ca
about Profile Spacemaker II 1.0 cu. ft. Countertop Microwave in Stainless Steel on
May 8, 2011
Looks like this is available at my local San Carlos Store, is this correct.

Bob
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
THDcustomerservice
Atlanta, GA
May 10, 2011
Hi Bob, thank you for your question. If your store does not stock this item, they are able to place a special order for you. You can find your local store information by going to: http://www.homedepot.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/StoreFinderView?langId=-1&storeId=10051&catalogId=10053
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

I'm looking to replace ge spacemaker 2 sensor with a fitted tray (not turntable); which model replaces; is there a different brand with a fitted tray?

Asked by
debi
about Profile Spacemaker II 1.0 cu. ft. Countertop Microwave in Stainless Steel on
June 21, 2011
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
June 22, 2011
Hi Debi. This is Jill with GE. Good morning and thank you for inquiring about our microwaves. I am happy to help. Although we do not have information for other brands, I can tell you that GE no longer offers a microwave without a turntable. (Home Depot will be glad to help with inquiries about other brands.) However, many models, such as the PEM31SMSS, do offer a turntable on/off feature, which allows you the option to run the microwave with or without activating the turntable. This benefit allows you the flexibility of adding rectangular shaped dishes when cooking. I hope this helps. Please contact us anytime. Have a nice day!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What are the dimensions? Particularly the breadth...Preferred size 22". Thx

Asked by
BJ
Texas
about Profile Spacemaker II 1.0 cu. ft. Countertop Microwave in Stainless Steel on
October 23, 2011
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
October 24, 2011
Hello BJ,

This is Donna with GE with GE and I will be happy to assist you with your question on the GE Profile Spacemaker II 1.0 cu. ft. Countertop Microwave in Stainless Steel Model # PEM31SMSS.

Following are the external dimensions.

Overall Depth: 12.28125"
Overall Height: 11.1875"
Overall Width: 23.78125"

If building it in to a cabinet with a trim kit, then you would follow the cut out opening for the trim kit JX827SMSS. Following is the cabinet cut-out.

Width: 24-7/8 ± 1/16
Height: 15 ± 1/16
Depth: 18" MIN. receptacle in cabinet 16" MIN. receptacle outside cabinet

I hope this helps. Thank you for considering GE!
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

I need a microwave that is 19" or less left to right with at least 1000 watts and stainless front. Any models?

Asked by
Elaine
Dallas TX
about Profile Spacemaker II 1.0 cu. ft. Countertop Microwave in Stainless Steel on
November 9, 2011
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
November 9, 2011
Hello Elaine,

Thank you for your interest in GE microwaves. I am happy to help.

The most narrow stainless model we have is the JES1142SP which is 21/1/4" in width. Countertop microwaves cannot be enclosed. If recessing a microwave into a cabinet without a trim kit you will need the following clearances:
3" right side
3" left side
3" above
1" rear
3" from front edge of shelf to microwave to prevent tipping risk

You may want to look into another location for the microwave or a compact model, provided you have the recommended air clearances.

Please let us know if you have any further questions.

Happy Shopping!
Nikki from GE
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

what model replaces PEM31Dm3ww

Asked by
Monica
Cypress, tx
about Profile Spacemaker II 1.0 cu. ft. Countertop Microwave in Stainless Steel on
December 7, 2011
Do you still sell the microwave model PEM31Dm3ww? If not, what model replaces it? I need to make sure that I can install it as a built in. So will it come with the trim kit? or is that to purchase separately? What is the avg cost for the microwave and trim kit?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
December 8, 2011
Hello Monica,

This is Donna with GE and I will be happy to help you with your question GE Profile Spacemaker II countertop microwave.

Yes, model PEM31DMWW is still a current model The optional 27" built-in trim kit is JX827DM and is sold separately. The new trim kit would need to be used as screw hole locations have changed and cosmetics.

Please check with your local Home Depot for pricing.

I hope this helps. Thank you for choosing GE!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

I have an old 1985 microwave EM31E 001. What current model has the closest dimensions to this model? Thank you.

Asked by
Louise
NC
about Profile Spacemaker II 1.0 cu. ft. Countertop Microwave in Stainless Steel on
March 5, 2012
I need a new microwave that isn't over 12.5 inches deep.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
March 6, 2012
Hello Louise,

Thank you for you inquiry on the GE Profile Spacemaker II 1.0 cu. ft. Countertop Microwave in Stainless Steel Model # PEM31SMS.

Yes, this would be the closest replacement model to your older Spacemkaer II microwave.

The overall depth of model PEM31SM is 12.28125" . Following are the trim kits for built-in installation or a undercounter hanging kit.

Built-In Trim Kit: JX827SMSS
Undercabinet Hanging Kit: 4-A019-4

Your current model Jem31E was 10 13/16" in overall depth. The Built-In Trim Kit is required was JX8.

I hope this helps.

Donna with GE
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

I'm looking to replace Model # JEM31SA 002 What new model will replace this. my existing unit is 12.25 deep x 10.5 heigh x 24 wide.

Asked by
Stove44
Denver, CO
about Profile Spacemaker II 1.0 cu. ft. Countertop Microwave in Stainless Steel on
April 12, 2012
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
April 12, 2012
Hello,

Thank you for contacting us and for choosing GE. I am happy to help.

The replacement for your old model is the PEM31SM. If this is built in with a trim kit, the dimensions are the same so your cutout does not require modification but you will need to replace the trim kit as well.

Ask your Home Depot salesperson how to order the kit.

Please let us know if you have any further questions.

Sincerely,
Nikki from GE
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

I am looking to replace my GE Profile Spacesaver II JEM31BF001. It hangs under my cabinets. Do I need to purchase a new mounting kit?

Asked by
Dave B
Georgetown, Ma
about Profile Spacemaker II 1.0 cu. ft. Countertop Microwave in Stainless Steel on
April 22, 2012
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
April 22, 2012
Hello Dave B,

Thank you for your interest in the GE Profile Spacemaker II Countertop Microwave model # PEM31SMSS.

Yes, using the hanging kit saves valuable counter space by suspending the microwave from the underside of a cabinet

Undercabinet Hanging Kit 04-A019-04 is the same kit required for both models, PEM31SM and JEM31BF. You should be able to use your current hanign kit.

I hope this helps. Thank you for choosing GE!

Donna with GE
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What replaces GE profile sensor microwave oven JE1360wb 001

Asked by
mckenna
santa rosa
about Profile Spacemaker II 1.0 cu. ft. Countertop Microwave in Stainless Steel on
May 4, 2012
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
May 6, 2012
Hello Mckenna,

Thank you for your interest in GE microwaves.

There is not a direct replacement for model JE1360WB. You may want to consider models JES2051 or GE Profile PEM31.

Should you have any additional questions, please let us know.

Thank you for choosing GE!i
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can the PEM31SMSS model be mounted in a cabinet with only the bottom of the microwave exposed? If not, which model do I need?

Asked by
6 pages
Emporia, KS
about Profile Spacemaker II 1.0 cu. ft. Countertop Microwave in Stainless Steel on
June 5, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
June 6, 2012
Hello,

Thank you for your inquiry on the GE Spacemaker model PEM31SMSS.

If installing in a cabinet, the optional 27" Built-In Kit JX827SMSS is required.

Cutout Opening:
Height: 15 +/- 1/16"
Width: 24 1/8" +/- 1/8"

If a trim kit is not used, then 3" around all sides, top and back are needed for airflow.

Should you have any additional questions, please let us know.

Donna with GE
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Does this undermount also ? Does it replace thejem31sfoo1 ?

Asked by
V
New jersey
about Profile Spacemaker II 1.0 cu. ft. Countertop Microwave in Stainless Steel on
July 10, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
July 11, 2012
Hello V,

Thank you for you interest in the GE Profile Spacemaker II 1.0 cu. ft. Countertop Microwave in Stainless Steel Model # PEM31SMSS.

Yes, this is the replacement model for JEM31SF. It does offer the option to hang or mount underneath a cabinet. The Undercabinet Hanging Kit is part # JXA019K.

Please contact the Home Depot Parts department at 1-877-650-2121.

Thank you for considering GE!

Donna with GE
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

I have a GE Monogram Spacemaker II Sensor ZEM200SF001 (it is trimmed out into my cabinet) that is broken. Will this model fit the same way?

Asked by
Janine
Chapel Hill NC
about Profile Spacemaker II 1.0 cu. ft. Countertop Microwave in Stainless Steel on
August 29, 2012
I am trying to figure out if we can swap it out for the old one.
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
September 1, 2012
Hello Janine,

Thank you for your interest in GE Spacemaker II microwaves.

Yes, it should be fine to use the existing trim kit. Model # PEM31SMSS requires the trim kit JX827SMSS and so did model ZEM200SF. Following are the cabinet cut-out dimensions.

Height: 15 ± 1⁄16
Width: 24 7⁄8 ± 1⁄16

Min. depth with receptacle outside cutout – 16
Min. depth with receptacle inside cutout – 18

Donna with GE
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

I need to replace a pem31sm1ss microwave and possibly the trim kit and anything else I need to mount it. What do i need?

Asked by
TC
Tuscaloosa
about Profile Spacemaker II 1.0 cu. ft. Countertop Microwave in Stainless Steel on
September 12, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
September 13, 2012
Hello TC,

This is Donna with GE and I am happy to help.

GE Profile Spacemaker II model # PEM31SMSS is a current model. The trim kit for a built-in cabinet installation is JX827SMSS.

There is also an optional hainging kit if you just want to hang it from a cabinet, JXA019K.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
1 2 3 »