Looking for Answers about GE 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White?

Customer questions and answers for
GE 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White

Want it delivered to your home? Search Internet #203547578. Stock up on frozen foods and store your extra grocery items in this GE 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer. Two storage baskets are conveniently located near the top of the unit to help you utilize space efficiently and keep frequently used frozen items accessible. The temperature dial is mounted on the front exterior panel for making quick adjustments.
Customer questions and answers:
93 Questions
 | 
217 Answers
Overall rating:
4.644 out of 5
4.6
out of
5

Customer questions and answers for GE 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White

Question

how many lbs of meat will this hold

Asked by
topdog
about 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
June 23, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Coiz
Northern, IL, USA
October 30, 2013
Mine fit 200 pounds of elk and another 75 pounds of halibut, depends on the packaging though.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
GE Answers
June 24, 2012
Hello Topdog,

Thank you for your inquiry on the GE 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer model # FCM7SUWW.

There are many factors that contribute to the volume of food that your freezer will hold including the physical size and shape of each item. In general, a freezer will hold 30 to 35 pounds per Cubic Foot.

The maximum amount of food that your freezer can freeze at one time is 3 pounds per Cubic Foot. After allowing 24 hours for that to freeze, you can then add another 3 pounds per Cubic Foot.

Example: In a 10 Cubic Foot Freezer, you can put 30 pounds of room temperature food without risking spoilage.

I hope this helps!

Donna with GE
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

Compressor is broken after 2 1/2 years

Asked by
Jen
Portland, OR
about 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
August 2, 2012
We have FCM7SUBWW model freezer and after 2 1/2 years the compressor is running hot and not getting cold enough to freeze anything. (The warranty is out, of course, and a compressor too expensive to bother fixing it.) Has anyone else had this same issue. Could something have caused this, or is this the normal life span?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
ACM
Scio, Oregon
September 7, 2013
This just happened to us as well. I'm not sure if I've had it more than three years, but totally unacceptable as far as I'm concerned! I won't buy another GE product again.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
riley20
September 22, 2012
I purchased this same freezer in March 2010 & it stopped running 2 wks ago. After reading your post it seems like the normal life span is about 21/2 years.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
GE Answers
August 3, 2012
Hello Jen,

This is Donna with GE and I am sorry to hear your are having a problem with your chest freezer.

Unfortunately this repair is beyond the level of assistance that we can offer over the web.

I recommend having it checked by an authorized GE service technician. Please see the link below for scheduling service.

http://genet.geappliances.com/ServiceNet/Dispatcher?REQUEST=CONSUMERFIRSTREQUEST&JSPID=SCHEDULE

You can also contact the GE Consumer Relations through tthe Contact Us page on the GE Appliance website.

Should you have any additional questions, please let us know.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Should the outside front panel get very hot to the touch after being plugged in for the 1st initial startup?

Asked by
Donna
Huffman, texas
about 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
July 3, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Pilot
Seattle
July 3, 2013
No. The unit should not ever get VERY hot. Warm is to be expected but not hot.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Light on front of unit is flickering

Asked by
Goldsmkm
Providence, RI
about 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
June 12, 2013
We've had this unit for about 2 1/2 years. The green light on the front recently started flickering. Any idea what this might indicate? The inside temperature is 5 degrees Fahrenheit.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
June 13, 2013
Hello,

This is Donna with GE and I will be happy to assist you with your chest freezer. I am glad it is cooling properly.

The green power light should be solid and not blinking.

The two buttons next to the green light located on the outside of the chest freezers are not functional controls. GE uses a common design for all its chest freezer controls.

Please see the link below for scheduling service

http://genet.geappliances.com/ServiceNet/Dispatcher?REQUEST=CONSUMERFIRSTREQUEST&JSPID=SCHEDULE
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

how long is the power cord and what side of the unit is it on?

Asked by
kev
about 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
September 2, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
tootie
Madera, CA, USA
April 30, 2013
the cord is on back lower left side. cord is about 4 feet
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
GE Answers
September 3, 2012
Hello Kev,

Thank you for your inquiry on the GE 7.0 cu. ft. chest freezer model # FCM7SUWW.

The power cord is 5 feet long. The cord, as you face the unit, is on the left lower corner.

Have a great day!

Donna with GE
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

After power loss, do you have to manually restart the freezer?

Asked by
rach3813
New Market, MN
about 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
April 20, 2013
In the event of power loss, once power is restored, is it necessary to manually restart this freezer? Or will the power automatically resume?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
tootie
Madera, CA, USA
April 30, 2013
no it restarts by its self once power is back on.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
bonefish101
Northern Virginia
April 22, 2013
No, the freezer restarts on its own with no problem.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

runs but does don't freeze, why?

Asked by
stu45419
about 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
January 2, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
bonefish101
Northern Virginia
April 22, 2013
It's either broken or you need to adjust the cold lower.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
GE Answers
January 2, 2013
Hello,

This is Donna with GE and I am sorry to hear about your issue with the GE chest freezer not freezing.

An accurate diagnosis will involve the use of an ohm or volt meter. Unfortunately this repair is beyond the level of assistance that we can offer over the web.

I recommend having it checked by an authorized GE service technician. Please see the link below for scheduling service.

http://genet.geappliances.com/ServiceNet/Dispatcher?REQUEST=CONSUMERFIRSTREQUEST&JSPID=SCHEDULE
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

I want to put my freezer in a room that is carpeted. Do I have to put anything down on the carpet first

Asked by
Patty
WIsconsin
about 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
September 12, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
September 13, 2012
Hello Patty,

Thank you for your inquiry on the GE 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer model # FCM7SUWW.

Yes, you can place a piece of plywood or vinyl underneath, There are low heat conditions from the freezer compressors.

To obtain efficient operation, a freezer should be installed properly. Follow these guidelines:

* Place the freezer where the surrounding temperatures will not exceed 110 degrees F. or fall below 0 degrees F.
* Position the freezer in a dry, well ventilated room. Do not install it in a closet.
* Be sure to install the freezer on a floor strong enough to support it fully loaded.
* Place it solidly on the floor. If the floor is uneven, use shims to level the freezer.
* Allow for a 3" air clearance on each side, and a 1" air clearance in the rear of the freezer.

Donna with GE
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
bonefish101
Northern Virginia
September 13, 2012
I have this freezer in my garage but would assume it would be fine on carpet. It sits on a styrofoam tray in the shipping container and I just left mine sitting on it when I unpacked. The freezer doesnt leak at all, unless of course, you are defrosting (which I havnt had to do at all yet). I wouldndt hesitate to stand it on carpet if that was the most convenient spot for it (although, you may just want to leave it on the shipping tray, it's pretty unobtrusive).
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What is the internal temperature range of the 7 cu ft GE chest freezer?

Asked by
Ron
about 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
August 13, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
August 14, 2012
Hello Ron,

Thnak you for your inquiry on the GE 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer model # FCM7SUWW.

The correct operating temperature of chest and upright freezers, including smaller, compact models is -5 to +5 degrees Fahrenheit. In order to take the temperature of solid food, place a thermometer between frozen packages or in some ice cream.

I hope this is helpful!

Donna with GE
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

how long is this freezer on sale

Asked by
mlt
plymouth
about 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
July 8, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
marsis
Olive Branch, MS
July 24, 2012
It was a only for the weekend during which I purchased it.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
July 14, 2012
Hello Valued Home Depot Customer,
Thanks for your question and interest in this item. Our online prices are periodically updated to reflect the current retail or sales price and are subject to change. We cannot accurately advise when or if an item will be discounted or go on sale. These prices are dictated from the manufacturer and we have no control over the fluctuation in price from one model to the next. You can however Sign up to receive special offers and promotions from The Home Depot. This will allow you to receive emails periodically concerning sales and promotions we are offering online. At the bottom of the web pages, you can enter your email address to start receiving these emails
I hope this helps!
If you have any additional questions or need assistance placing an online order, please contact our Online Customer Service department at 800-455-3869.
Thanks!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

what is involve in defrosting this freezer?How often?

Asked by
poppie60609
about 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
July 1, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Jonesz
Santa Cruz, CA
July 24, 2012
Can't answer for this one, just bought it a few weeks ago, but my other chest freezer only needed to be defrosted every year or so, depending on how often you open it. Also, the frost collects on the top, near the door, so it can be removed easily!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
GE Answers
July 5, 2012
Hello,
Thanks for contacting us. This is Alison with GE. I am happy to assist you with your inquiry regarding model FCM7SUWW.

In most climates, defrosting will be necessary only about twice a year.

To have your freezer operate most efficiently, do not permit more than 1/2 ″ (13 mm) of frost to accumulate on the shelves.

To remove frost, scrape with a plastic or wood spatula or scraper.

Do not use an ice pick or sharp-edged instrument as it may damage or scratch the freezer.

Do not use any electrical device in defrosting your freezer.

For Complete Defrosting:

Turn the temperature control to the Off position and unplug the freezer.

Remove all food and place it in corrugated boxes, insulated bags, picnic coolers, etc. Use towels and
newspapers for insulation as needed.

With the door/lid open, use pans of hot water to speed loosening of frost.

Remove large pieces of ice before they melt. Chest models have a defrost water drain
at the front.

Water may drip from the back flange of the lid cover during defrosting. This is normal.

Ice builds up in the lid insulation when the lid is open for adding or removing food, and melts during the defrosting operation.

Sponge excess water from the bottom of the freezer as it collects to prevent overflowing.

After defrosting, clean the inside of the freezer with warm water and baking soda solution—about a tablespoon of baking soda to a quart of water. Rinse thoroughly with water and wipe dry. Do not use cleaning powders or other abrasive cleaners.

An open box of baking soda in the freezer will absorb stale freezer odors. Change the box every three months.

Replace the drain plug inside the cabinet and the cap on the defrost drain. Fold over and dry the gasket on the hinge side of the lid.

Plug in the freezer. Return the temperature control to its previous position and return food to the freezer.

I hope this information is helpful.

Please let us know if you have any further questions or concerns.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Inside dimensions of floor space

Asked by
prudence
San Jose, Ca
about 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
July 20, 2012
The freezer has an equipment ledge on the bottom right. What is the measured width of the
freezer bottom up to the ledge and the width of the ledge?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Jonesz
Santa Cruz, CA
July 24, 2012
About 14" up from bottom, 7 1/2" wide
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
GE Answers
July 23, 2012
Hello,

This is Donna with GE and I am happy to help with your question on the chest freezer model FCM7SUWW.

Internal Dimensons: L x W x H = 586mm (23.07”) X 391mm (15.39”) X 700mm (27.56”)

Machine Compartment : 7.7”(W) x 15.2”(D) x 9.4”(H)

I hope this helps!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can it be covered over 3 or 4 sides with a tablecloth?Two more questions in text.

Asked by
jayjay
San Diego,Ca.
about 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
July 3, 2012
I have limited space & it may be in the front room.It would have adequate space around it for ventilation.WOULD A PLYWOOD PLATFORM PROTECT THE CARPETING?Also,I have a 2nd bathroom.If I put a sheet of plywood over over the new condition bathtub the freezer could sit there& should have enough room to breathe.Is it OK?Could I pull the plastic flimsy curtain shut?GE rep,are you there?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
ronsterlee
Attleboro, MA, USA
July 17, 2012
Both idea's would work I think. But be aware, the vent for the freezer is on the right side at the bottom.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Tangelo
Chicago
July 6, 2012
Hello this is Tangelo from the Home Depot Community!

The owners manual indicates, "allow 3″ on top, back and sides for proper air circulation".
1-800-GE-CARES

I hope this helps, if you have any more questions you can find me on our website at community.homedepot.com
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can leave the chest freezer in Outdoor patio?

Asked by
John
Claremont, CA
about 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
July 2, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
ronsterlee
Attleboro, MA, USA
July 17, 2012
I'm pretty confident this is for indoor use only.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Designing Woman
Atlanta, GA
July 3, 2012
Hello John and thank you for your question.

The GE 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer should be conveniently located for day-to-day use in a dry, well-ventilated room. It should not be directly exposed to the elements.

Do not install the freezer where the temperature will go below 0°F or above 110°F because it will not maintain proper operating temperatures.

Be sure to install your freezer on a floor strong enough to support it when it is fully loaded. The freezer must be solidly positioned on the floor if it is to function at its best. Shims may be used to accomplish this wherever the floor is too uneven.

If the place selected for the freezer is damp or moist, place 2 X 4’s under its entire length to assure adequate support.

Best wishes on your project.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

I live in Brandon Florida and the trmperture gets up to 95 degrees-will the freezer be on in garage

Asked by
tONY
bRANDON fLORIDA
about 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
July 10, 2012
THE UNIT IS A 7CUF CHEST FREEZER
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
jeannie
pa
July 17, 2012
I have mine on my porch, and it's well over that here on occasion. It's fine. I asked appliance salesmen not connected to this freezer, and they even said it would be.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
GE Answers
July 11, 2012
Hi Tony,

This is Donna with GE and I will be happy to address your concerns with the chest freezer.

To obtain efficient operation, a freezer should be installed properly. Follow these guidelines below.

* Place the freezer where the surrounding temperatures will not exceed 110 degrees F. or fall below 0 degrees F.
* Position the freezer in a dry, well ventilated room. Do not install it in a closet.
* Be sure to install the freezer on a floor strong enough to support it fully loaded.
* Place it solidly on the floor. If the floor is uneven, use shims to level the freezer.
* Allow for a 3" air clearance on each side, and a 1" air clearance in the rear of the freezer.

I hope this is helpful!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Freezer was plugged in 4 days ago 3 inches from the wall and is cold, but is not freezing the storage items. Please provide next steps.

Asked by
Machelle
Washington, DC
about 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
July 4, 2012
The freezer dial is turned on the coldest setting and the freezer is packed with food. We are not sure if the food items will be edible because they are cold but not frozen.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
bitteruser
July 11, 2012
I had the same experience. I had to get them to replace the unit. I don't think the motor ever turned on after my unit was delivered. Nothing changed no matter what setting I put the dial on. The frozen foods being in there was what cooled it initially, but the freezer was faulty. Try to get them to replace your unit.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
GE Answers
July 6, 2012
Hello,
Thanks for contacting us. I am sorry you are experiencing this issue with your GE freezer.

It is recommended to allow the freezer to operate 4 hours before placing food in it. However, if the food is not freezing after 4 days, I recommend contacting service.

Regarding safety tips on meats and poultry, and food freezing tips please contact the U. S. Department of Agriculture or your local county extension office.

If you wish to schedule service, please copy and paste the link below into your web browser.

http://genet.geappliances.com/ServiceNet/Dispatcher?REQUEST=CONSUMERFIRSTREQUEST&JSPID=SCHEDULE

I hope this information is helpful.

Please let us know if you have any further questions or concerns.

Alison_at_GE
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

does this have a looking door

Asked by
nick
about 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
July 8, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
ladyofthehouse
Oxford, MS
July 10, 2012
nope, unfortunately
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
sjlester
NC
July 10, 2012
No, the top is solid white.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

You didn't answer the question: Is there a discount if we pick up the freezer at the store?

Asked by
wonder
Salem, OR
about 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
June 30, 2011
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
HDassociate
July 7, 2012
The Home Depot does not typically offer discounts for items picked up in-store as opposed to ordering online (or when purchased online).
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
OregonBeaverFan
florida
July 9, 2011
free shipping
-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Sheila
Connecticut
July 6, 2011
Delivery on this product was free when ordered on line.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

How many amps does the freezer pull?

Asked by
Barb
about 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
June 22, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
skysurfer
June 29, 2012
tagged at 1.7 amps.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
GE Answers
June 22, 2012
Hello Barb,

Thank you for reaching out to us with your question on the GE 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer model # FCM7SUWW.

All current freezers require a 15 amp fuse/breaker (no larger size is necessary). Start-up amps and wattage are usually 3 times more than running amps or watts. The running amps and volts are listed on all rating plates.

* volts x amps = wattage

The freezer should always be plugged into its own individual dedicated electrical outlet (115 volt, 60 hertz, single phase AC).

If you are wanting the amperage for a generator, GE recommends the generator size be between
3000 - 4500 WATTS.

I hope this is helpful!

Donna with GE
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What are the internal dimensions?

Asked by
Rachel
about 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
June 26, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
skysurfer
June 29, 2012
31.5"w x 15" d x 27" h ( with a 9" h x 8" w step in the bottom right corner)
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
GE Answers
June 28, 2012
Hello,
This is Alison with GE. I am happy to assist you.

The interior dimensions for model FCM7SUW are listed below.

Product Interior Dimensions: 31.6” (W) x 15.2” (D) x 27.4” (H)

Please let us know if you have further questions.

Have a nice day!

Alison
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 »