Looking for Answers about GE 5.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White?

Customer questions and answers for
GE 5.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White

Want it delivered to your home? Search Internet #203547584. This GE 5.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer gives you the extra freezer space you're looking for. A convenient storage basket helps you use the space efficiently and keeps frequently used items near the top for easy access. The front, external temperature dial helps you monitor and adjust the internal temperature without hassle.
Customer questions and answers:
99 Questions
 | 
149 Answers
Overall rating:
4.688 out of 5
4.7
out of
5

Customer questions and answers for GE 5.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White

Question

Can this freezer be placed on a dolly so I can move it near a drain when I need to defrost it?

Asked by
SPM
Phoenixville, PA
about 5.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
November 21, 2011
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
November 21, 2011
Hello,

Thank you for your inquiry on the GE 5.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer model # FCM5SUWW.

GE would not recommend to use a dolly. Please use the following steps when relocating an upright or chest freezer:

1. Disconnect the power cord from the wall receptacle.
2. Remove the food, defrost and clean the freezer.
3. Use blankets to protect the freezer finish from scratches.
4. Place the freezer on its side for moving only if you have no other choice.
5. When transporting a freezer, keep it in an upright position. If transporting it in an upright position is not possible, lay it down on the compressor side of the unit being careful to secure the door preventing it from opening.
6. When the freezer is installed in new location, and if it has been transported on its side, set it right side up and allow the freezer to sit for the same amount of time that it was on its side. Do not plug the unit into the electrical receptacle without allowing this settling time. The unit can be damaged if it is plugged in prematurely.
7. If the unit was transported in an upright position there is no waiting time required.

I hope this helps.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
OldGuy
Chico, CA, USA
March 27, 2012
Yes, it's very light and maneuverable.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Debby
March 27, 2012
Yes, the drainage spout is on the lower part of the freezer
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Does this model have a lock?

Asked by
Mntmeme
Yulee FL
about 5.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
May 26, 2011
+2points
4out of 6found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
May 27, 2011
Hi, This is Kim with GE. Thank you for your interest in our GE model FCM5SUWW freezer. This unit does not have a lock. The lock feature starts with our 9 cubic feet model. The model number for that unit is FCM9DTWH. I hope this helps and appreciate your buying GE. If other questions come up, please let us know.
+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
nored
ronkonkoma ny
May 28, 2011
no
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
appliance1
May 28, 2011
No lock. But if you are worried about the kids getting inside, it means you have a family and you would need a larger freezer anyway which usually comes with a lock.
+6points
8out of 10found this answer helpful.
Question

Does this freezer have an interior light?

Asked by
Dee
Iowa
about 5.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
November 10, 2011
GE 5.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White
Model # FCM5SUWW
Internet # 100598976
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
November 11, 2011
Hi Dee,

This is Sheree from GE and I will be glad to answer your question on GE 5.0 cu. ft. chest freezer in white model # FCM5SUWW. This unit provides great extra freezer storage but because of the small area it does not have an interior light. I hope this helps and thanks for your interest in our GE products!
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
omnichad
Edwardsville, IL
November 15, 2011
No.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Nikki
Bronx, NY, USA
November 15, 2011
No
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Upon delivery, will delivery man wait while we open box, inspect freezer and make sure it runs - since it is non-returnable???

Asked by
Johno
Sugar Land, Texas
about 5.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
November 20, 2011
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
OldGuy
Chico, CA, USA
March 27, 2012
The delivery men removed it from the box, placed it where I wanted it, and asked if I wanted to plug it in and make sure it worked, which I did.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
mjm1224
Connecticut, USA
March 27, 2012
Yes. The delivery men will set up the freezer where you wan them to and plug it in to make sure it is operating correctly. They will also take all of the packaging material with them.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
November 23, 2011
Hello Valued Customer,
Thanks for your question and interest in this appliance. Our friendly delivery agents will be more than happy to wait until you’ve inspected the appliance. Also, please keep in mind any Major Appliance product damage must be reported within 48 hours of delivery by calling 1-800-455-3869.
After 48 hours, any product issues must be handled through your local The Home Depot store’s Special Services Desk. Be sure to bring a copy of your sales receipt with you.
Please keep in mind are currently offering free shipping on this item. A great buy!
If you have any additional questions or need assistance placing an online order, please feel free to contact our Appliance Hotline at 800-455-3869.
Thanks!
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Interior dimensions including compressor hump

Asked by
Mike
MA
about 5.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
September 30, 2011
Chest freezers always have a portion of the interior taken up by the compressor. For this model, is the compressor bump in a corner, or does it occupy 1/2 of the floor space? I have seen both in other models, and can not find an interior picture of this model. I am looking to store large tall barrels inside and a compressor that is only in the corner is preferable to one where 1/2 of the interior space is lost.
+2points
3out of 4found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
October 3, 2011
Hello Mike,

This is Michelle with GE and I am happy to answer your question.

Here are the interior dimensions for this freezer model # FCM5SUWW:

Height: 28.8”
Width: 22”
Depth: 16-1/2"

Please note, however, that these dimensions are the maximum and do not include parts and molding that protrude inside the unit such as the "compressor hump". I can tell you, however, that the portion of the interior taken up by the compressor does not cover ½ of the floor space. It is located on the right side of the unit (facing the unit).

Thank you for your interest in this GE freezer. Please let us know if you have further questions.
+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
mdhunter2
Darlington, MD, USA
October 4, 2011
Mike, I took some measurements for you and the interior is about 23" across the front, about 15-1/2" from front to back and 28" from bottom to top. The compressor cage/cover is located on the bottom/right (as you're facing the front of the freezer) and doesn't take half of the bottom. The enclosure runs the length of the interior from front to back (15-1/2") and measures 9-1/2" high from the bottom and 7-1/2" front the interior/bottom right wall extending towards the center. You'll lose 7-1/2" of the 23" width. Hope this helps.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
mdhunter2
Darlington, MD, USA
October 4, 2011
To Michelle (From GE), I'm sorry if I tread all over your answer(s). I answered two of the questions with nearly identical answers. The question of weight was answered exactly and the question about the "compressor hump" I answered by dragging out a tape measure. My answer might have been a little more in-depth, if not quite exact on the measurements. My measurements were all interior measurements since exterior measurements really didn't apply to his particular question but nonetheless, I apologize if I grabbed some of your thunder by answering at all. Had I known a GE rep was answering I wouldn't have replied at all and left that to the pros. It's just that when I got the email asking me to write a review, these questions were there and I thought the general public could answer. Again, sincerest apologies. Don (mdhunter2)
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Does the chest freezer sku # 146360 have compartments or baskets with it?

Asked by
Meeka
Cobourg Ontario
about 5.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
November 13, 2011
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
omnichad
Edwardsville, IL
November 15, 2011
It came with one narrow hanging basket. You can easily move it side to side. I would much rather have had an additional one.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Nikki
Bronx, NY, USA
November 15, 2011
It comes with one basket.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
GE Answers
November 14, 2011
Hello Meeka,

This is Donna with GE and I will be happy to help you with your question on the GE 5.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer model # FCM5SUWW.

This chest freezer model offers 1 basket inside. You can order an additional basket if you choose. The part number is # WR21X10208. Please contact the Home Depot Parts department at 1-877-650-2121 to order.

I hope this helps. Thank you for considering GE!
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

Can I order more baskets for this freezer?

Asked by
SPM
Phoenixville, PA
about 5.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
November 5, 2011
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
November 6, 2011
Hello,

This is Donna with GE and I will be happy to help you with your question on the GE chest freezer model FCM5SUWW.

Yes, if you want you can purchase an additional basket. The part number is WR21X10208.

Please contact the Home Depot parts department at 1-877-650-2121.

I hope this helps.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Dmazzei54
Brighton, MI
December 1, 2012
Yes. Contact GE directly.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What is the warranty on this 5 ft freezer?

Asked by
Beakster
Katy TX
about 5.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
November 26, 2011
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
MPJP
Minneapolis, MN, USA
March 22, 2012
Warranty Information : Limited 1-year entire appliance
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
GE Answers
November 26, 2011
Hello Beakster,

I'm Brenda with GE, I'm happy to assist you. This freezer has a 1 year warranty.

Please let us know if you have other questions, we're always glad to assist.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

There is a dial on the outside at the bottom center of the freezer. What is it for?

Asked by
carmen
FL
about 5.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
December 27, 2011
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
December 28, 2011
Hello Carmen,

This is Donna from GE and I will be happy to help you with your question on the GE 5.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer model # FCM5SUWW.

What you are seeing is the drain plug. The temperature dial is next to the swithces on the right side.

i hope this helps.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
MRaff
Takoma Park, MD
January 10, 2012
The dial is the temperature setting (1 to 7). It is set at 4 at the factory, and they suggest you begin there and see how it works for you. We have not moved it from the 4 setting, but we have also not used a thermometer to test accurately how cold it is. Everything we've put in freezes quickly, so I think it's OK for our use.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

what causes ice build up inside near seals at top opening?

Asked by
Sue
Lake Worth, FL
about 5.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
December 28, 2011
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
December 28, 2011
Hello Sue,

This is Donna with GE and I will be happy to help with your question on the chest freezer.

There is not a set frost pattern. Depending on the climate you live in, humidity and usage, your freezer may need defrosting only once or twice a year.

Manual Defrost model freezers must be defrosted manually. For best operation the freezer should be defrosted when the frost accumulation becomes 1/4 to 1/2 inch thick.

I would recommend to check and makesure it is sealing properly and you do not feel any air.

Should you have any additional questions, please let us know.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
MRaff
Takoma Park, MD
January 10, 2012
We've had ours for about a month, and there is no buildup of ice in it at all--none. Zero. Yet. I would wonder two things: first, there will eventually be ice build up. This is not a frost-free freezer, so you will get some. Maybe that's where it likely begins, since it's the closest to the opening and where the humid, warm air first would enter as you open and close the freezer over time. The other thing I would wonder is whether or not the seal is leaking, especially if the ice build up comes more often and quickly than you think it should. Just thinking, here. I have no real knowledge, especially since ours has not shown any ice build up yet.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

how much food will this freezer hold

Asked by
ranger 1
about 5.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
January 3, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
January 3, 2012
Hi, this is Sheree from GE and I will be glad to assist you with your question on our GE 5.0 cu. ft. chest freezer in white model # FCM5SUWW. This unit measures internally:

586 mm long
391 mm wide
700 mm high

The actual amount of food it would hold would depend on the sizes of the containers.

I hope this helps and thanks for your interest in our GE products!
-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
MRaff
Takoma Park, MD
January 10, 2012
We have a 3-door refrigerator with the freezer on the bottom. The freezer in our refrigerator is pretty roomy, but not enough for our needs. This chest freezer holds, I would estimate, about 4 times as much as the freezer drawer in our refrigerator. Way more than enough for two people.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

What is the Energy Efficiency Rating (EER) for this model freezer?

Asked by
JTFREEZE
BRONX
about 5.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
February 7, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
February 7, 2012
Hello,

Thank you for you inquiry on the GE Chest freezer model FCM5SUWW. This is Donna with GE and I am happy to help.

This freezer does not carry an Energy Star rating.

Kwh/Year: 240 $22 cost per year on a national average.

Should you have any additional questions please let us know.

Thank you for considering GE!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
jbt1030
Pownal, Vermont
February 21, 2012
the Estimated Operating Cost is $26.00 per year.
The Estimated Yearly Electricity Use is 240 kWh

Hope this helps!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

how much does this weigh? Can I carry it down the stairs by myself? I'm a 63 year old woman.

Asked by
jess
denver
about 5.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
February 21, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
February 22, 2012
Hello Jess,

Thank you for your inquiry on the GE 5.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer model # FCM5SUWW.

No, I would not recommend to try and carry this yourself down stairs for safety. It would be difficult to get your arms around the freezer and there would be a risk of drippoing it.

Approximate Shipping Weight: 88.0 lbs
Net Weight: 79.0 lbs

Overall Width: 28.3125

Have a good day!

Donna with GE
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Tammy
Houston
March 2, 2012
No, please get someone to help you!! You need at least two people to move it.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What is the amperage of this freezer. How many amps does it pull or can you tell me the wattage.

Asked by
Ricky
Jacksonville fl
about 5.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
February 28, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
February 29, 2012
Hello Ricky,

This is Donna with GE and I am happy to help with your question on the GE chest freezer model # FCM5SUWW.

All GE freezers require a 15 amp fuse/breaker. No larger size is necessary.

Volts x amps = wattage

The running amps and volts are listed on all rating plates. The rating plate on the chest freezer can be located in one of the following locations.
* Inner lid panel
* On the top rear wall of storage compartment
* On the back

If you are using an auxillary generator, there are some things to keep in mind. Refrigerators, freezers place a high demand upon the power source when cycling on. The running amperage is listed on the rating plate of the appliance. However, the start-up amperage could be as high as 3x the normal running amps. If the voltage is not stable tripping could occur during attempted start ups.

The generator size needed for a freezer is 3000 - 4500 Watts.

I hope this helps.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
RoseyG
Riverview, FL, USA
March 13, 2012
75 -115 watts depending on the cycle it is in...and that is at the "1" control setting.
Mine is set on '4' which is medium. It is very quiet most of the time...makes a gurgling sound when it is cycling. Barely notice it is there. I really am happy with it...I think you will be too.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Does this freezer require a 110 or 220 plug in?

Asked by
Little Feet
Oak Ridge, NC 27310
about 5.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
July 7, 2011
+14points
16out of 18found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
July 7, 2011
Hi, I'm Brenda with GE.

Thanks for your interest in this GE chest freezer.

This unit requires 110.

Please let us know if you have other questions, we're always happy to help.
+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Maverick
July 9, 2011
110V
+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
Question

Can this freezer be situated on carpet?

Asked by
Karen
Corvallis. OR
about 5.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
July 31, 2011
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
August 1, 2011
Hello Karen,

This is Sheree from GE and I will be glad to assist you with your question on GE 5.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White Model # FCM5SUWW. As long as the carpet is flat and a shorter pile, you can install the freezer on it. Longer shag like carpets would not be appropriate.

Let us know if you have any other questions or concerns.

Thanks for your interest in GE!

Sheree

Let us know if you have any other questions or concerns.

Thanks for your interest in GE!

Sheree
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Bella
Brooklyn
August 3, 2011
yes
+7points
7out of 7found this answer helpful.
Question

what is the weight of this freezer?

Asked by
Eric
Montreal
about 5.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
October 2, 2011
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
October 3, 2011
Hello Eric,

This is Michelle with GE and I am happy to answer your question.

This freezer model # FCM5SUWW has an approximate shipping weight of 88 lbs. and a net weight with 79 lbs.

Thank you for your interest in our GE freezer. Please let us know if you have any other questions.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
mdhunter2
Darlington, MD, USA
October 4, 2011
Eric, it weighs 79lbs, 88lbs as packaged & shipped. Hope this helps.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

Does it arrive assembled?

Asked by
Jamie
about 5.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
September 19, 2011
If I order it online, does it come assembled?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
BigMike
PA
September 23, 2011
Yes.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
GE Answers
September 20, 2011
Hello,
This is Alison from GE.

Yes, model number FCM5SUWW does come assembled. Packaging may need to be removed from the exterior and the storage basket before placing back inside the unit.

Please let us know if you have any further questions.

Alison
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

how long does this freezer last?

Asked by
cindy
about 5.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
May 20, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
May 20, 2012
Hello Cindy,

Thank you for your interest int eh GE 5.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer model # FCM5SUWW.

There is not a "life" built into our appliances. Product failure rate or life of a product information is not possible to determine. Frequency of use, environment, use and care,etc. all determine the life of a product.

Should you have any additional product questions, please let us know.

Donna with GE
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Pauline
Indianapolis
July 31, 2013
Based on my GE freezer, same model, it is less than two years old and just quit working. So, there is apparently a reason they only give a one year warranty on it. I certainly will not recommend a GE to anyone.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can this freezer be outside? I would plan to elevate it on 4x4s.

Asked by
Kathy
about 5.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
November 10, 2011
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
November 11, 2011
Hello Kathy,

My name is Sheree and I am from GE. This is s a great question which I will be glad to assist you with. To obtain efficient operation, a freezer should be installed properly. To do so follow these guidelines:

Place the freezer where the surrounding temperatures will not exceed 110 degrees F. or fall below 0 degrees F. In your area would it fall below 0 degrees F?

Position the freezer in a dry, well ventilated room. Do not install it in a closet. I think it would be hard to have it dry outside.

Be sure to install the freezer on a floor strong enough to support it fully loaded.

Place it solidly on the floor. If the floor is uneven, use shims to level the freezer.

Allow for a 3" air clearance on each side, and a 1" air clearance in the rear of the freezer.

I hope this helps and thanks for your interest in our GE products!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
omnichad
Edwardsville, IL
November 15, 2011
What kind of climate. You can't honestly expect to use this in extreme weather (> 80 or < 50).
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 »