Looking for Answers about GE 5.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White?

Customer questions and answers for
5.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White

Want it delivered to your home? Search Internet #203547584. This GE 5.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer gives you the extra freezer space you're looking for. A convenient storage basket helps you use the space efficiently and keeps frequently used items near the top for easy access. The front, external temperature dial helps you monitor and adjust the internal temperature without hassle.
Customer questions and answers:
102 Questions
 | 
156 Answers
Overall rating:
4.685 out of 5
4.7
out of
5
(540 Reviews)540

Customer questions and answers for GE 5.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White

Question

Interior dimensions including compressor hump

Asked by
Mike
MA
about 5.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
September 30, 2011
Chest freezers always have a portion of the interior taken up by the compressor. For this model, is the compressor bump in a corner, or does it occupy 1/2 of the floor space? I have seen both in other models, and can not find an interior picture of this model. I am looking to store large tall barrels inside and a compressor that is only in the corner is preferable to one where 1/2 of the interior space is lost.
+2points
3out of 4found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
mdhunter2
Darlington, MD, USA
October 4, 2011
To Michelle (From GE), I'm sorry if I tread all over your answer(s). I answered two of the questions with nearly identical answers. The question of weight was answered exactly and the question about the "compressor hump" I answered by dragging out a tape measure. My answer might have been a little more in-depth, if not quite exact on the measurements. My measurements were all interior measurements since exterior measurements really didn't apply to his particular question but nonetheless, I apologize if I grabbed some of your thunder by answering at all. Had I known a GE rep was answering I wouldn't have replied at all and left that to the pros. It's just that when I got the email asking me to write a review, these questions were there and I thought the general public could answer. Again, sincerest apologies. Don (mdhunter2)
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
mdhunter2
Darlington, MD, USA
October 4, 2011
Mike, I took some measurements for you and the interior is about 23" across the front, about 15-1/2" from front to back and 28" from bottom to top. The compressor cage/cover is located on the bottom/right (as you're facing the front of the freezer) and doesn't take half of the bottom. The enclosure runs the length of the interior from front to back (15-1/2") and measures 9-1/2" high from the bottom and 7-1/2" front the interior/bottom right wall extending towards the center. You'll lose 7-1/2" of the 23" width. Hope this helps.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
GE Answers
October 3, 2011
Hello Mike,

This is Michelle with GE and I am happy to answer your question.

Here are the interior dimensions for this freezer model # FCM5SUWW:

Height: 28.8”
Width: 22”
Depth: 16-1/2"

Please note, however, that these dimensions are the maximum and do not include parts and molding that protrude inside the unit such as the "compressor hump". I can tell you, however, that the portion of the interior taken up by the compressor does not cover ½ of the floor space. It is located on the right side of the unit (facing the unit).

Thank you for your interest in this GE freezer. Please let us know if you have further questions.
+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
Question

Upon delivery, will delivery man wait while we open box, inspect freezer and make sure it runs - since it is non-returnable???

Asked by
Johno
Sugar Land, Texas
about 5.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
November 20, 2011
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
mjm1224
Connecticut, USA
March 27, 2012
Yes. The delivery men will set up the freezer where you wan them to and plug it in to make sure it is operating correctly. They will also take all of the packaging material with them.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
OldGuy
Chico, CA, USA
March 27, 2012
The delivery men removed it from the box, placed it where I wanted it, and asked if I wanted to plug it in and make sure it worked, which I did.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
November 23, 2011
Hello Valued Customer,
Thanks for your question and interest in this appliance. Our friendly delivery agents will be more than happy to wait until you’ve inspected the appliance. Also, please keep in mind any Major Appliance product damage must be reported within 48 hours of delivery by calling 1-800-455-3869.
After 48 hours, any product issues must be handled through your local The Home Depot store’s Special Services Desk. Be sure to bring a copy of your sales receipt with you.
Please keep in mind are currently offering free shipping on this item. A great buy!
If you have any additional questions or need assistance placing an online order, please feel free to contact our Appliance Hotline at 800-455-3869.
Thanks!
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Can this freezer be placed on a dolly so I can move it near a drain when I need to defrost it?

Asked by
SPM
Phoenixville, PA
about 5.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
November 21, 2011
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Debby
March 27, 2012
Yes, the drainage spout is on the lower part of the freezer
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
OldGuy
Chico, CA, USA
March 27, 2012
Yes, it's very light and maneuverable.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
GE Answers
November 21, 2011
Hello,

Thank you for your inquiry on the GE 5.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer model # FCM5SUWW.

GE would not recommend to use a dolly. Please use the following steps when relocating an upright or chest freezer:

1. Disconnect the power cord from the wall receptacle.
2. Remove the food, defrost and clean the freezer.
3. Use blankets to protect the freezer finish from scratches.
4. Place the freezer on its side for moving only if you have no other choice.
5. When transporting a freezer, keep it in an upright position. If transporting it in an upright position is not possible, lay it down on the compressor side of the unit being careful to secure the door preventing it from opening.
6. When the freezer is installed in new location, and if it has been transported on its side, set it right side up and allow the freezer to sit for the same amount of time that it was on its side. Do not plug the unit into the electrical receptacle without allowing this settling time. The unit can be damaged if it is plugged in prematurely.
7. If the unit was transported in an upright position there is no waiting time required.

I hope this helps.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Does this freezer have an interior light?

Asked by
Dee
Iowa
about 5.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
November 10, 2011
GE 5.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White
Model # FCM5SUWW
Internet # 100598976
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Nikki
Bronx, NY, USA
November 15, 2011
No
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
omnichad
Edwardsville, IL
November 15, 2011
No.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
GE Answers
November 11, 2011
Hi Dee,

This is Sheree from GE and I will be glad to answer your question on GE 5.0 cu. ft. chest freezer in white model # FCM5SUWW. This unit provides great extra freezer storage but because of the small area it does not have an interior light. I hope this helps and thanks for your interest in our GE products!
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Question

Does this model have a lock?

Asked by
Mntmeme
Yulee FL
about 5.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
May 26, 2011
+2points
4out of 6found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
appliance1
May 28, 2011
No lock. But if you are worried about the kids getting inside, it means you have a family and you would need a larger freezer anyway which usually comes with a lock.
+6points
8out of 10found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
nored
ronkonkoma ny
May 28, 2011
no
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
GE Answers
May 27, 2011
Hi, This is Kim with GE. Thank you for your interest in our GE model FCM5SUWW freezer. This unit does not have a lock. The lock feature starts with our 9 cubic feet model. The model number for that unit is FCM9DTWH. I hope this helps and appreciate your buying GE. If other questions come up, please let us know.
+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
Question

Does the chest freezer sku # 146360 have compartments or baskets with it?

Asked by
Meeka
Cobourg Ontario
about 5.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
November 13, 2011
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Nikki
Bronx, NY, USA
November 15, 2011
It comes with one basket.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
omnichad
Edwardsville, IL
November 15, 2011
It came with one narrow hanging basket. You can easily move it side to side. I would much rather have had an additional one.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
GE Answers
November 14, 2011
Hello Meeka,

This is Donna with GE and I will be happy to help you with your question on the GE 5.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer model # FCM5SUWW.

This chest freezer model offers 1 basket inside. You can order an additional basket if you choose. The part number is # WR21X10208. Please contact the Home Depot Parts department at 1-877-650-2121 to order.

I hope this helps. Thank you for considering GE!
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

outlet

Asked by
sk
texas
about 5.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
July 20, 2011
Would this unit plug into a typical wall outlet, or does it need some sort of special outlet?
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
BenS
July 23, 2011
It plugs into a normal 3-prong wall outlet. It would not fit into an older outlet with only two prongs.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
GE Answers
July 21, 2011
Hello, this is Donna from GE and I will be happy to assist you.

Model FCM5SUWW has the following specifications.

The power cord of this appliance is equipped with a 3-prong (grounding) plug which mates with a standard 3-prong (grounding) wall outlet to minimize the possibility of electric shock hazard
from this appliance.

The freezer should always be plugged into its own individual electrical 15 amp outlet which has a voltage rating that matches the rating plate.

I hope this helps.
+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Question

After 24 hours freezer is only mildly cold.

Asked by
Josh
Calabasas, CA
about 5.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
March 19, 2012
Everything is closed, appears to be sealed, and working the way it's supposed to. Definitely hasn't reached near below freezing. Do I need to return this freezer? Is there something more I can do? (It also hasn't frozen the breast milk that we stored in it at the beginning of the day, it's now late evening.)
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
LNB7
Statesville, NC, USA
March 20, 2012
Call them and ask. Mine was freezing within hours. I have not touched the default temp settings. If yours is not freezing within a few hours, I would call customer service and see if they have any suggestions before sending it back. It may be something simple.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
GE Answers
March 20, 2012
Hello Josh,

This is Donna with GE. I am sorry to hear you are experiencing a problem with your new chest freezer.

This is unusal. I would check to see where the temperature control is set. I would turn it to 7.

When a large amount of food is placed in the freezer, it will transfer its warmth to the freezer, which will cause the compressor to run more as the freezer cools down the food. There is an established maximum of food that your freezer is designed to freeze at one time - approximately 3 pounds per cubic foot capacity. After allowing 24 hours to freeze, you may add another 3 pounds per cubic foot capacity.

If items are still not frozen after 24 hours, then yes, I would recommend to return the freezer. If you decide to have service, please see the following link to schedule.

http://genet.geappliances.com/ServiceNet/Dispatcher?REQUEST=CONSUMERFIRSTREQUEST&JSPID=SCHEDULE
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What, if any, guraranty or warranty comes with, or is available for, this freezer?

Asked by
bjones
San Diego
about 5.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
August 31, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
LovingMaine
Maine
September 11, 2012
I think there is a 1 year - but double check. We usually buy the extended warranties but at $189 I didn't think it was worth it this time. Usually they offer the extended. I find usually it is really worth it. Just bought a 3 year for an 800 gas generator.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
GE Answers
August 31, 2012
Hello,

Thank you for your interest in the GE Chest Freezer model # FCM5SUWW.

Parts Warranty Limited: 1-year entire appliance
Labor Warranty Limited: 1-year entire appliance

I hope this helps!

Donna
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is this freezer manufactured in the usa?

Asked by
joekidd99
shirley ny
about 5.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
September 22, 2011
+5points
6out of 7found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
BigMike
PA
September 23, 2011
Yes, GE Appliances is in Louisville, KY.
+4points
8out of 12found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
GE Answers
September 22, 2011
Hello,

This is Donna from GE and I will be happy to help you with your question on the GE 5.0 cu. ft. chest freezer model FCM5SUWW. The 5 and 7 cubic foot model freezers are made Internationally. The rest of the freezers are made in Minnesota.

Should you have further questions, please let us know.
+4points
5out of 6found this answer helpful.
Question

how much food will this freezer hold

Asked by
ranger 1
about 5.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
January 3, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
MRaff
Takoma Park, MD
January 10, 2012
We have a 3-door refrigerator with the freezer on the bottom. The freezer in our refrigerator is pretty roomy, but not enough for our needs. This chest freezer holds, I would estimate, about 4 times as much as the freezer drawer in our refrigerator. Way more than enough for two people.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
GE Answers
January 3, 2012
Hi, this is Sheree from GE and I will be glad to assist you with your question on our GE 5.0 cu. ft. chest freezer in white model # FCM5SUWW. This unit measures internally:

586 mm long
391 mm wide
700 mm high

The actual amount of food it would hold would depend on the sizes of the containers.

I hope this helps and thanks for your interest in our GE products!
-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

can this unit be adjusted to store liquids at 40 degrees

Asked by
steve
denver
about 5.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
May 8, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
BenWal
Denver, CO
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
October 28, 2014
For all unauthorized uses of the machine other than for freezing within the temperature range of the freezer you should inquire of the manufacturer. Any unauthorized use would be your liability.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
GE Answers
May 9, 2012
Hello Steve,

Thank you for your inquiry on the GE 5.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer model # FCM5SUWW.

The operating temperature of chest and upright freezers is -5 to +5 degrees. No, it is not possible to adjust the temperature to 40 degrees.

Should you have any additional questions, please let us know.

Have a good day!

Donna with GE
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What type warrenty does this freezer come with?

Asked by
oscar
about 5.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
January 6, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
January 8, 2012
Hi Oscar,

I'm Brenda with GE. I'm happy to answer your question.

This freezer comes with a 1 year warranty.

Please let us knkow if you have further questions, we're always glad to help.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
GE Answers
January 8, 2012
Hello Oscar,

This is Donna with GE and I will be happy to help.

GE Chest freezer model FCM5SUWW has the following warranty.

Parts Warranty: Limited 1-year entire appliance
Labor Warranty: Limited 1-year entire appliance

Thank you for choosing GE! Have a nice day!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What are the Exterior Dimensions?

Asked by
Capt Salty
Palm Beach Gardens, FL
about 5.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
January 7, 2012
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
January 8, 2012
Hi Capt Salty,

I'm Brenda with GE and I'm happy to answer your questiion. The dimensions of the freezer are as follows:

Width: 28 5/16"
Height: 33 1/4"
Depth: 22"

Should you have further questions, do not hesitate letting us know. We're always glad to assist.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
GE Answers
January 8, 2012
Hello Capt Salty,

Thank you for your inquiry on the GE 5.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer model # FCM5SUWW. My name
is Donna and I am happy to help.

Fopllowing are the exterior dimensions and air clearances.

Overall Height: 33.25"
Overall Depth: 22.0"
Overall Width: 28.3125"
Back Air Clearances: 3.0"
Side Air Clearances: 3.0"

Thank you for considering GE!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can this freezer be converted to a frig by changing the thermostat?

Asked by
goodtimes
Fort Lauderdale
about 5.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
May 31, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Alex
July 27, 2012
It can. You just need a thermostat to turn it on and off when the temperature needs to go up or down. Do a quick search on google and you'll find lots of info.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
GE Answers
May 31, 2012
Hello,

Thank you for your inquiry on the GE 5.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer model # FCM5SUWW.

GE can not recommend any modifications. Our products are designed, tested and manufactured to specific specifications. Based on these specifications we offer a warranty on the product. Any modification to a product may void the warranty.

Have a great day!

Donna with GE
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

DOESTHE OUTSIDE OF THE FREEZER SUPPOSE TO GET HOT

Asked by
ROSCOE
about 5.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
July 10, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Annie20
Florida, USA
September 28, 2012
The exterior of mine was also very warm, particularly on one side. I keep my freezer in a hot garage which doesn't help. I put a small fan on it for air movement and now the sides are much cooler, even in a hot garage.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
GE Answers
July 11, 2012
Hello Roscoe,

Thank you for your inquiry on the GE 5.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer model # FCM5SUWW.

Yes, it is common for both chest and upright freezers to feel warm (sometimes hot) on the sides.
All current chest freezers have the condenser wrapped around the outside of the case. The outside white surface is actually acting as the condenser to remove heat from the inside. If the compressor is not running, the sides may feel cool at times - this is normal. Walls can be up to 30 degrees Fahrenheit warmer than the environment in which it is installed.

It is important to allow proper air circulation around freezers. For Chest freezers, allow 3" on all sides and 1" between back and wall.

I hope this helps!

Donna with GE
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is the green light on the front suppose to come on when plugged in?

Asked by
Jim
Boise Idaho
about 5.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
November 6, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
DancinDan
Chandler, AZ
November 13, 2012
Yes, that shows that there is electrial power going to the freezer.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
GE Answers
November 7, 2012
Hello Jim,

Thank you for your inquiry on the GE Chest Freezer model # FCM5SUWW.

Yes, the green light should be solid and not off or blinking. If the light is not on or blinking then service woudl be needed.

Please see the link below for scheduling service.

http://genet.geappliances.com/ServiceNet/Dispatcher?REQUEST=CONSUMERFIRSTREQUEST&JSPID=SCHEDULE

Donna with GE
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Question for owners of this unit :)

Asked by
Alex
about 5.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
July 27, 2012
Has anyone tested this unit with a kill a watt meter or anything else to see what the actual starting watts are? GE just says 15amps but I don't believe them. I want to convert it to a fridge with a thermostat but am not sure if my inverter can supply enough starting watts. Anyone???? Please!!
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
July 28, 2012
Hello Alex,

Thank you for your inquiry on the GE chest freezer.

Refrigerators and freezers place a high demand upon the power source when cycling on. The running amperage is listed on the rating plate of the appliance. However, the start-up amperage could be as high as 3x the normal running amps. If the voltage is not stable tripping could occur during attempted start ups.

When using a generator, the generator size should be between 3000-4500 watts.

GE cannot recommend to modify the freezer. Each brand of our products is designed, tested and manufactured to specific specifications. Based on these specifications we offer a warranty on the product. Any modification to a product may void the warranty.

Should you have further questions, please let us know.

Donna with GE
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
GE Answers
July 28, 2012
Hello Alex,

Thank you for your inquiry on the GE Chest freezer.

GE cannot recommend any modification. Each brand of our products is designed, tested and manufactured to specific specifications. Based on these specifications we offer a warranty on the product. Any modification to a product may void the warranty.

Refrigerators and freezers place a high demand upon the power source when cycling on. The running amperage is listed on the rating plate of the appliance. However, the start-up amperage could be as high as 3x the normal running amps. If the voltage is not stable tripping could occur during attempted start ups.

If a generator is used the generator size should be between 3000-4500 watts.

Should you have any additional questions, please let us know.

Donna with GE
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

I just purchsed GE 5 Cu ft chest freezer yesterday, the freezer is cold but green light on for a while then off, is that normal?

Asked by
joanne
mesa,az
about 5.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
April 28, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
BenWal
Denver, CO
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
October 28, 2014
NO. This is a power ON light or lamp and should be on all the time. If it is intermittent then call a service tech to check wiring to the lamp. You can get names of authorized repair centers from the manufacture of the freezer, and sometimes you can ask the store or location from which you bought the freezer about authorized repair, but as long as the freezer is under warranty contact the manufacturer.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
GE Answers
April 28, 2013
Hello Joanne,

Thank you for choosing the GE Chest freezer.

The green power light should be solid and not blinking. The two buttons next to the green light located on the outside of the chest freezers are not functional controls. GE uses a common design for all its chest freezer controls.

If the green light does not continue to stay on continuously, then please contact warranty service.

The link below is for scheduling service.

http://genet.geappliances.com/ServiceNet/Dispatcher?REQUEST=CONSUMERFIRSTREQUEST&JSPID=SCHEDULE

I hope this helps!

Donna with GE
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What is the average running power draw for this unit in watts @ 72 F. (#FCM5SUWW)

Asked by
Dr. Edward
about 5.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
October 20, 2011
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
mike
Philadelphia, PA, USA
October 25, 2011
not sure, but my electric bills don't seem to be higher.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
GE Answers
October 20, 2011
Hello Dr. Edward, This is Donna from GE and I will be happy to help you with your question on the freezer model FCM5SUWW.

A freezer or refrigerator should always be plugged into its own individual electrical outlet (115 volt, 60 hertz, single phase AC). The freezer should be on a dedicated circuit. This is recommended for best performance and to prevent overloading house wiring circuits. It could cause a possible fire hazard from overheating wires. All current freezers require a 15 amp fuse/breaker.
Note: volts x amps = wattage

Start-up amps and wattage are usually 3 times more than running amps or watts.

I would suggest to check the rating plate on the appliance. The running amps and volts are listed on all rating plates.

I hope this helps. should you have further questions, please let us know.
+2points
5out of 8found this answer helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 »