Looking for Answers about GE 5.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White?

Customer questions and answers for
GE 5.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White

Want it delivered to your home? Search Internet #203547584. This GE 5.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer gives you the extra freezer space you're looking for. A convenient storage basket helps you use the space efficiently and keeps frequently used items near the top for easy access. The front, external temperature dial helps you monitor and adjust the internal temperature without hassle.
Customer questions and answers:
99 Questions
 | 
146 Answers
Overall rating:
4.708 out of 5
4.7
out of
5

Customer questions and answers for GE 5.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White

Question

Does this model have a lock?

Asked by
Mntmeme
Yulee FL
about 5.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
May 26, 2011
+2points
4out of 6found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
May 27, 2011
Hi, This is Kim with GE. Thank you for your interest in our GE model FCM5SUWW freezer. This unit does not have a lock. The lock feature starts with our 9 cubic feet model. The model number for that unit is FCM9DTWH. I hope this helps and appreciate your buying GE. If other questions come up, please let us know.
+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
nored
ronkonkoma ny
May 28, 2011
no
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
appliance1
May 28, 2011
No lock. But if you are worried about the kids getting inside, it means you have a family and you would need a larger freezer anyway which usually comes with a lock.
+6points
8out of 10found this answer helpful.
Question

Interior dimensions including compressor hump

Asked by
Mike
MA
about 5.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
September 30, 2011
Chest freezers always have a portion of the interior taken up by the compressor. For this model, is the compressor bump in a corner, or does it occupy 1/2 of the floor space? I have seen both in other models, and can not find an interior picture of this model. I am looking to store large tall barrels inside and a compressor that is only in the corner is preferable to one where 1/2 of the interior space is lost.
+2points
3out of 4found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
October 3, 2011
Hello Mike,

This is Michelle with GE and I am happy to answer your question.

Here are the interior dimensions for this freezer model # FCM5SUWW:

Height: 28.8”
Width: 22”
Depth: 16-1/2"

Please note, however, that these dimensions are the maximum and do not include parts and molding that protrude inside the unit such as the "compressor hump". I can tell you, however, that the portion of the interior taken up by the compressor does not cover ½ of the floor space. It is located on the right side of the unit (facing the unit).

Thank you for your interest in this GE freezer. Please let us know if you have further questions.
+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
mdhunter2
Darlington, MD, USA
October 4, 2011
Mike, I took some measurements for you and the interior is about 23" across the front, about 15-1/2" from front to back and 28" from bottom to top. The compressor cage/cover is located on the bottom/right (as you're facing the front of the freezer) and doesn't take half of the bottom. The enclosure runs the length of the interior from front to back (15-1/2") and measures 9-1/2" high from the bottom and 7-1/2" front the interior/bottom right wall extending towards the center. You'll lose 7-1/2" of the 23" width. Hope this helps.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
mdhunter2
Darlington, MD, USA
October 4, 2011
To Michelle (From GE), I'm sorry if I tread all over your answer(s). I answered two of the questions with nearly identical answers. The question of weight was answered exactly and the question about the "compressor hump" I answered by dragging out a tape measure. My answer might have been a little more in-depth, if not quite exact on the measurements. My measurements were all interior measurements since exterior measurements really didn't apply to his particular question but nonetheless, I apologize if I grabbed some of your thunder by answering at all. Had I known a GE rep was answering I wouldn't have replied at all and left that to the pros. It's just that when I got the email asking me to write a review, these questions were there and I thought the general public could answer. Again, sincerest apologies. Don (mdhunter2)
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Does this freezer have an interior light?

Asked by
Dee
Iowa
about 5.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
November 10, 2011
GE 5.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White
Model # FCM5SUWW
Internet # 100598976
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
November 11, 2011
Hi Dee,

This is Sheree from GE and I will be glad to answer your question on GE 5.0 cu. ft. chest freezer in white model # FCM5SUWW. This unit provides great extra freezer storage but because of the small area it does not have an interior light. I hope this helps and thanks for your interest in our GE products!
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
omnichad
Edwardsville, IL
November 15, 2011
No.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Nikki
Bronx, NY, USA
November 15, 2011
No
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Does the chest freezer sku # 146360 have compartments or baskets with it?

Asked by
Meeka
Cobourg Ontario
about 5.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
November 13, 2011
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
November 14, 2011
Hello Meeka,

This is Donna with GE and I will be happy to help you with your question on the GE 5.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer model # FCM5SUWW.

This chest freezer model offers 1 basket inside. You can order an additional basket if you choose. The part number is # WR21X10208. Please contact the Home Depot Parts department at 1-877-650-2121 to order.

I hope this helps. Thank you for considering GE!
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
omnichad
Edwardsville, IL
November 15, 2011
It came with one narrow hanging basket. You can easily move it side to side. I would much rather have had an additional one.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Nikki
Bronx, NY, USA
November 15, 2011
It comes with one basket.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Upon delivery, will delivery man wait while we open box, inspect freezer and make sure it runs - since it is non-returnable???

Asked by
Johno
Sugar Land, Texas
about 5.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
November 20, 2011
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
November 23, 2011
Hello Valued Customer,
Thanks for your question and interest in this appliance. Our friendly delivery agents will be more than happy to wait until you’ve inspected the appliance. Also, please keep in mind any Major Appliance product damage must be reported within 48 hours of delivery by calling 1-800-455-3869.
After 48 hours, any product issues must be handled through your local The Home Depot store’s Special Services Desk. Be sure to bring a copy of your sales receipt with you.
Please keep in mind are currently offering free shipping on this item. A great buy!
If you have any additional questions or need assistance placing an online order, please feel free to contact our Appliance Hotline at 800-455-3869.
Thanks!
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
OldGuy
Chico, CA, USA
March 27, 2012
The delivery men removed it from the box, placed it where I wanted it, and asked if I wanted to plug it in and make sure it worked, which I did.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
mjm1224
Connecticut, USA
March 27, 2012
Yes. The delivery men will set up the freezer where you wan them to and plug it in to make sure it is operating correctly. They will also take all of the packaging material with them.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can this freezer be placed on a dolly so I can move it near a drain when I need to defrost it?

Asked by
SPM
Phoenixville, PA
about 5.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
November 21, 2011
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
OldGuy
Chico, CA, USA
March 27, 2012
Yes, it's very light and maneuverable.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Debby
March 27, 2012
Yes, the drainage spout is on the lower part of the freezer
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
GE Answers
November 21, 2011
Hello,

Thank you for your inquiry on the GE 5.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer model # FCM5SUWW.

GE would not recommend to use a dolly. Please use the following steps when relocating an upright or chest freezer:

1. Disconnect the power cord from the wall receptacle.
2. Remove the food, defrost and clean the freezer.
3. Use blankets to protect the freezer finish from scratches.
4. Place the freezer on its side for moving only if you have no other choice.
5. When transporting a freezer, keep it in an upright position. If transporting it in an upright position is not possible, lay it down on the compressor side of the unit being careful to secure the door preventing it from opening.
6. When the freezer is installed in new location, and if it has been transported on its side, set it right side up and allow the freezer to sit for the same amount of time that it was on its side. Do not plug the unit into the electrical receptacle without allowing this settling time. The unit can be damaged if it is plugged in prematurely.
7. If the unit was transported in an upright position there is no waiting time required.

I hope this helps.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Does this freezer require a 110 or 220 plug in?

Asked by
Little Feet
Oak Ridge, NC 27310
about 5.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
July 7, 2011
+14points
16out of 18found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
July 7, 2011
Hi, I'm Brenda with GE.

Thanks for your interest in this GE chest freezer.

This unit requires 110.

Please let us know if you have other questions, we're always happy to help.
+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Maverick
July 9, 2011
110V
+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
Question

outlet

Asked by
sk
texas
about 5.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
July 20, 2011
Would this unit plug into a typical wall outlet, or does it need some sort of special outlet?
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
July 21, 2011
Hello, this is Donna from GE and I will be happy to assist you.

Model FCM5SUWW has the following specifications.

The power cord of this appliance is equipped with a 3-prong (grounding) plug which mates with a standard 3-prong (grounding) wall outlet to minimize the possibility of electric shock hazard
from this appliance.

The freezer should always be plugged into its own individual electrical 15 amp outlet which has a voltage rating that matches the rating plate.

I hope this helps.
+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
BenS
July 23, 2011
It plugs into a normal 3-prong wall outlet. It would not fit into an older outlet with only two prongs.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can this freezer be situated on carpet?

Asked by
Karen
Corvallis. OR
about 5.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
July 31, 2011
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
August 1, 2011
Hello Karen,

This is Sheree from GE and I will be glad to assist you with your question on GE 5.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White Model # FCM5SUWW. As long as the carpet is flat and a shorter pile, you can install the freezer on it. Longer shag like carpets would not be appropriate.

Let us know if you have any other questions or concerns.

Thanks for your interest in GE!

Sheree

Let us know if you have any other questions or concerns.

Thanks for your interest in GE!

Sheree
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Bella
Brooklyn
August 3, 2011
yes
+7points
7out of 7found this answer helpful.
Question

Does it arrive assembled?

Asked by
Jamie
about 5.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
September 19, 2011
If I order it online, does it come assembled?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
September 20, 2011
Hello,
This is Alison from GE.

Yes, model number FCM5SUWW does come assembled. Packaging may need to be removed from the exterior and the storage basket before placing back inside the unit.

Please let us know if you have any further questions.

Alison
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
BigMike
PA
September 23, 2011
Yes.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Is this freezer manufactured in the usa?

Asked by
joekidd99
shirley ny
about 5.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
September 22, 2011
+5points
6out of 7found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
September 22, 2011
Hello,

This is Donna from GE and I will be happy to help you with your question on the GE 5.0 cu. ft. chest freezer model FCM5SUWW. The 5 and 7 cubic foot model freezers are made Internationally. The rest of the freezers are made in Minnesota.

Should you have further questions, please let us know.
+4points
5out of 6found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
BigMike
PA
September 23, 2011
Yes, GE Appliances is in Louisville, KY.
+4points
8out of 12found this answer helpful.
Question

what is the weight of this freezer?

Asked by
Eric
Montreal
about 5.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
October 2, 2011
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
October 3, 2011
Hello Eric,

This is Michelle with GE and I am happy to answer your question.

This freezer model # FCM5SUWW has an approximate shipping weight of 88 lbs. and a net weight with 79 lbs.

Thank you for your interest in our GE freezer. Please let us know if you have any other questions.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
mdhunter2
Darlington, MD, USA
October 4, 2011
Eric, it weighs 79lbs, 88lbs as packaged & shipped. Hope this helps.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

Does this freezer automatically restart if there is a power outage while you are out of town. Will it restart on its own and keep running ?

Asked by
Nervous Nellie
about 5.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
October 7, 2011
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
October 7, 2011
Hello,
This is Alison from GE.

If power is interrupted, model number FCM5SUWW will restart once power comes back on.

Please let us know if you have any further questions or concerns.

Alison
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Terri
Boothwyn, PA 19061, USA
October 24, 2011
Yes, it automatically restarts after a power outage. We had an outage a couple months ago and we had no problems with this freezer.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What is the average running power draw for this unit in watts @ 72 F. (#FCM5SUWW)

Asked by
Dr. Edward
about 5.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
October 20, 2011
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
mike
Philadelphia, PA, USA
October 25, 2011
not sure, but my electric bills don't seem to be higher.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
GE Answers
October 20, 2011
Hello Dr. Edward, This is Donna from GE and I will be happy to help you with your question on the freezer model FCM5SUWW.

A freezer or refrigerator should always be plugged into its own individual electrical outlet (115 volt, 60 hertz, single phase AC). The freezer should be on a dedicated circuit. This is recommended for best performance and to prevent overloading house wiring circuits. It could cause a possible fire hazard from overheating wires. All current freezers require a 15 amp fuse/breaker.
Note: volts x amps = wattage

Start-up amps and wattage are usually 3 times more than running amps or watts.

I would suggest to check the rating plate on the appliance. The running amps and volts are listed on all rating plates.

I hope this helps. should you have further questions, please let us know.
+2points
5out of 8found this answer helpful.
Question

Can this freezer be outside? I would plan to elevate it on 4x4s.

Asked by
Kathy
about 5.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
November 10, 2011
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
November 11, 2011
Hello Kathy,

My name is Sheree and I am from GE. This is s a great question which I will be glad to assist you with. To obtain efficient operation, a freezer should be installed properly. To do so follow these guidelines:

Place the freezer where the surrounding temperatures will not exceed 110 degrees F. or fall below 0 degrees F. In your area would it fall below 0 degrees F?

Position the freezer in a dry, well ventilated room. Do not install it in a closet. I think it would be hard to have it dry outside.

Be sure to install the freezer on a floor strong enough to support it fully loaded.

Place it solidly on the floor. If the floor is uneven, use shims to level the freezer.

Allow for a 3" air clearance on each side, and a 1" air clearance in the rear of the freezer.

I hope this helps and thanks for your interest in our GE products!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
omnichad
Edwardsville, IL
November 15, 2011
What kind of climate. You can't honestly expect to use this in extreme weather (> 80 or < 50).
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

I understand there is a dividing wall in this unit. Can it be removed?

Asked by
Rose
Fredericksburg, Ohio
about 5.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
November 13, 2011
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
November 14, 2011
Hello Rose,

Thank you for your inquiry on the GE chest freezer model FCM7SUWW. My name is Donna and I will be happy to help.

With the most current production of this model, there will be an letter A after the U and this is located on the rating plate. (FXCM7SUAWW) .

This model does offer 2 baskets inside and a divider. Yes, the divider can be removed. This was not an option on the earlier versions of this model.

I hope this helps. Thank you for considering GE!
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
omnichad
Edwardsville, IL
November 15, 2011
That's not true with the one I got. I would love to have had one. I think they changed this model.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What are the dimensions of this product ?

Asked by
dollarjill
about 5.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
November 14, 2011
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
tothebone
April 3, 2012
Assembled Depth (in.) : 22.00 in
Assembled Height (in.) : 33.25 in
Assembled Width (in.) : 28.31 in
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
GE Answers
November 14, 2011
Hello,

Thank you for you inquiry on the GE chest freezer model FCM5SUWW. My name is Donna and II will be happy to help.

Following are the external dimension.

Overall Height: 33.25"
Overall Depth: 22.0 "
Overall Width: 28.3125 "

Back Air Clearances: 3.0"
Side Air Clearances: 3.0"

Thank you for your interest in GE!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What are the dimentions for this freezer?

Asked by
leany
about 5.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
November 22, 2011
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
MPJP
Minneapolis, MN, USA
March 22, 2012
Assembled Depth (in.) : 22.00 in
Assembled Height (in.) : 33.25 in
Assembled Width (in.) : 28.31 in
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
GE Answers
November 23, 2011
Hello,

Thank you for your inquiory on the GE 5.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer model # FCM5SUWW. My name is Donna and I will be happy to help.

The external dimensions and clearances are below.

Overall Height: 33.25"
Overall Depth: 22.0 "
Overall Width: 28.312"
Back Air Clearances: 3.0"
Side Air Clearances: 3.0"

Thank you for choosing GE! Happy Holiday's!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What is the warranty on this 5 ft freezer?

Asked by
Beakster
Katy TX
about 5.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
November 26, 2011
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
MPJP
Minneapolis, MN, USA
March 22, 2012
Warranty Information : Limited 1-year entire appliance
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
GE Answers
November 26, 2011
Hello Beakster,

I'm Brenda with GE, I'm happy to assist you. This freezer has a 1 year warranty.

Please let us know if you have other questions, we're always glad to assist.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

How do you defrost this unit and how long does it take?

Asked by
Marinemom
Michigan
about 5.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
December 3, 2011
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
December 5, 2011
Hello Marinemom,

This is Donna with GE and I will be happy to help you with your question on the GE 5.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer model # FCM5SUWW.

In most climates, defrosting will be necessary only about twice a year. To have your freezer operate most efficiently, do not permit more than 1/2 ″ (13 mm) of frost to accumulate inside. To remove frost, scrape with a plastic or wood spatula or scraper. Do not use an ice pick or sharp-edgedinstrument as it may damage or scratch the freezer.

With the door/lid open, use pans of hot water to speed loosening of frost. Remove large pieces before they melt. On models without a defrost drain, place towels or newspapers on the
freezer bottom to catch the frost. The frost will loosen and fall. Remove towels and/or newspapers.

The length of time will depend on the amount of frost build up. The complete instructions are provided in the use and care manual.

I hope this helps.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
RoseyG
Riverview, FL, USA
March 13, 2012
depends on the amount of ice.
have to empty...unplug...and catch it when you can remove the ice in chunks...and then you can drain most the water out through the drain. DO NOT use anything metal to help scrape or loosen ice...I use a plastic spatula.
then you have to wait 24 hours again to get up to solid temp and refill with frozen food.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 »