Looking for Answers about Honda 21 in. Steel Deck Smart Drive Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower-DISCONTINUED?

Customer questions and answers for
Honda 21 in. Steel Deck Smart Drive Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower-DISCONTINUED

With an easy-starting Honda GCV160 engine, the 21in Smart Drive Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Mower is designed to provide quiet, efficient performance. The mower's Smart Drive system provides self-propelled operation at adjustable speeds while the 2 blades produce a smooth cut for fine mulch clippings.
Customer questions and answers:
102 Questions
 | 
276 Answers
Overall rating:
4.332 out of 5
4.3
out of
5

Customer questions and answers for Honda 21 in. Steel Deck Smart Drive Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower-DISCONTINUED

Question

I have the same problem with the same model that "Eddy" asks about on May 13, 2014. When I try to pull the mower backwards, the wheels lock up.

Asked by
Goalie1
Easton, PA
about 21 in. Steel Deck Smart Drive Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower-DISCONTINUED on
June 23, 2014
I made sure that I was not touching the controls, so nothing should have been engaged. I end up either having to pick the back of the mower up or dragging the back wheels through the grass. Will any authorized Honda dealer be able to check this out?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Impact88
Kentucky
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
June 24, 2014
The usual suspects here are 1) the drive cable is misadjusted or 2) the ratchet and cog arrangement on each rear wheel has become stuck. If you haven't changed the cable adjustment, and the transmission still disengages/engages properly, I'd take a look at those back wheel ratchets. This requires rear wheel removal, then cleaning the assemblies with a solvent ( brake cleaner, etc. ) and lubricating them so they move freely. Hope this helps; good luck.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Honda
Honda National Office / Alpharetta, GA
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
June 24, 2014
Goalie1; yes, you can take your mower to any servicing Honda dealer; here is a list of them in the Easton, PA area:

Hilltop Sales & Service, Inc.
158 Falcone Rd
Bangor, PA 18013-9290
(610) 588-4088

Warren's Honda
1230 Illicks Mill Rd
Bethlehem, PA 18017-3654
(610) 865-0071

Mayberry Sales and Service, Inc.
232 Main St
Port Murray, NJ 07865-4061
(908) 689-3310

Power Place, Inc.
297 Route 22 East
Whitehouse Station, NJ 08889
(908) 534-2837

Detlan Equipment, Inc.
141 E Main St
Silverdale, PA 18962-2032
(215) 257-5177

Canns-Bilco Distributors, Inc.
125 E Penn Ave
Alburtis, PA 18011-9571
(610) 820-0222

-Robert@Honda
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

I just purchased a Honda HRR2169VKA and would like to buy a set of replacement blades. Does Home Depot sell a Honda OEM set of blades?

Asked by
Marky
North Augusta SC
about 21 in. Steel Deck Smart Drive Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower-DISCONTINUED on
May 19, 2014
Can you buy the 2 blades as a set? I need a 72511-VL0-S00 (lower) and a 72531-VH7-000 (upper).
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Impact88
Kentucky
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
May 20, 2014
Yes. The blade set is listed by Home Depot as Model # 08720-VE2-001
Store SKU # 136418. This is a Honda OEM part, and is priced at $24.97, according to the web listing. It's also listed as an "in store" purchase only. Stores in my area do show it in stock, although that might not be the case in your location. Hope this helps.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Honda
Honda National Office / Alpharetta, GA
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
May 20, 2014
Hi Marky:

Yes, you want to buy the kit that contains both blades; it is part number 08720-VH7-000.

Search for SKU# 567010, or use this link:

http://www.homedepot.com/p/Honda-21-in-Microcut-Replacement-Twin-Blade-Set-for-Mowers-08720-VH7-000/202276601

-Robert@Honda
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Honda HRR2169VKA, will not roll backwards

Asked by
Eddy
Pascagoula MS
about 21 in. Steel Deck Smart Drive Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower-DISCONTINUED on
May 13, 2014
I have a Honda mdl # HRR2169VKA that I purchased last summer. I started having trouble pulling the mower backwards., the rear wheels will not turn going backwards. I removed the wheels, thinking something may have been in the gears, but did not find any thing. I can pick the rear of the mower off the ground and the wheels roll forward easy and you can hear them "click" as they did when it was new, but they are hard to roll in reverse.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Honda
Honda National Office / Alpharetta, GA
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
May 14, 2014
Hi Eddy:

Based on your model name, I'll guess it is less than 3 years old? If so, you probably have some factory warranty remaining, and if the problem is a defect, repairs are usually covered. Suggest you get it to a Servicing Honda Dealer for a full inspection and evaluation. Be sure to tell them you must approve any work before it is completed, in case the problem is not covered under warranty.

If you'd prefer to DIY, a shop manual is available from Honda directly on eBay and Amazon (free shipping) and it has detailed troubleshooting procedures for drive/rollback issues.

powerequipment.honda.com/dealer-locator

Search ebay / amazon for "HRR216VKA SHOP MANUAL" (Note: omit the "9" as it's just a version code)

-Robert@Honda
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Do this mower have a belt

Asked by
Rlbryant
about 21 in. Steel Deck Smart Drive Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower-DISCONTINUED on
August 23, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Eddy
Pascagoula MS
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
May 13, 2014
I have a Honda mdl # HRR2169VKA that I purchased last summer. I started having trouble pulling the mower backwards., the rear wheels will not turn going backwards. I removed the wheels, thinking something may have been in the gears, but did not find any thing. I can pick the rear of the mower off the ground and the wheels roll forward easy and you can hear them "click" as they did when it was new, but they are hard to roll in reverse.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
oreilly
Rockland Co New York
November 21, 2013
yes
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
FortMillMower
Fort Mill, SC, USA
August 25, 2013
Yes. The belt is used to Drive the wheels.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Mower
Goldsboro, NC
August 24, 2013
Yes, it do.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
bulldog
florence sc
August 24, 2013
Yes
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

I need a mulch plug for this mower...how can I order one and how much do they coat?

Asked by
john
fort walton bch florida
about 21 in. Steel Deck Smart Drive Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower-DISCONTINUED on
July 5, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Pelman
Kent, Washington
October 14, 2013
check the Toro parts website and have your model number of your mower available.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Honda
Honda National Office / Alpharetta, GA
July 8, 2013
John, a mulching plug for the mower isn't sold at Home Depot stores, but you can get one from a local Honda dealer. Here are two in the Ft. Walton area:

Stiles Outdoor Power Equipment, Inc.
92 Monahan Dr
Fort Walton Beach, FL 32547-3757
(850) 862-3156

The Tool Shack
4370 Gulf Breeze Pkwy
Gulf Breeze, FL 32563-9149
(850) 934-1700

Before you call, get the serial number off the back top of the mower deck. It is a 4-letter code with 7-numbers, like "MXXX-1234567" The dealer needs this number to get the correct plug (and can quote you a price) for your mower. See image attached for a sample serial number sticker.

-Robert@Honda
[IMG]http://i1277.photobucket.com/albums/y483/robertathonda/lmserialnumber_zps63822669.jpg[/IMG]
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

does this model come with a grass catcher included in the price

Asked by
Jackie
Lawrenceville, GA
about 21 in. Steel Deck Smart Drive Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower-DISCONTINUED on
October 5, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Pelman
Kent, Washington
October 14, 2013
yes, it is mounted of the back of the mower.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Honda
Honda National Office / Alpharetta, GA
October 7, 2013
Hi Jackie:

Yes, it does come with a grass bag when purchased new. Sometimes, Home Depot sells refurbishing models (discounted) that may not include a grass bag. All new models sold from the website are 100% new and include the grass bag. Here is a link to the most current version of this mower:

-Robert@Honda

http://www.homedepot.com/p/Honda-21-in-3-in-1-Variable-Speed-Self-Propelled-Gas-Mower-with-Auto-Choke-HRR216K9VKA/203709643#.UlKoFRD4KrI
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What is the closest model to the hrr2169vka that you currently sell?

Asked by
Kad
about 21 in. Steel Deck Smart Drive Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower-DISCONTINUED on
September 23, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Honda
Honda National Office / Alpharetta, GA
September 24, 2013
Hi Kad:

The "9" is what Honda calls a K-number, and is like a version number. Honda mower don't have model years, just the K-number goes up when the unit changes a bit. The HRR216VKA mower is currently at the K9 version. It is possible some stores may have slightly older version K8 units, but most have the K9 in stock. Here's a link to the most current K9 product:

-Robert@Honda
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Why does this make a really loud noise and have heavy vibration while using it?

Asked by
Charles
Missouri City, TX
about 21 in. Steel Deck Smart Drive Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower-DISCONTINUED on
August 5, 2013
I have a new HRR2169vka Honda lawnmower. From the first day of its use I have a really loud noise and heavy vibration. I have used a Honda lawnmower before but that had 10x lower vibration and sound.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
FortMillMower
Fort Mill, SC, USA
August 25, 2013
One thing - Your blade may be out of balance. Take the blade and or the mower to a repair shop, have the blade sharpened and balanced. That may help with the vibration. As far as the noise, its always on high with the auto throttle.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Honda
Honda National Office / Alpharetta, GA
August 6, 2013
Depending on how long you've had the mower, many Home Depot stores have a liberal return policy and will exchange for a new unit. Otherwise, they can provide repair services. You may also elect to take the mower to an Servicing Honda Dealer in your area. Factory defects are generally repaired under warranty. Here are the Honda Dealers I show for Missouri City, Texas area:

Southwest Mower Service Center, Inc.
1831 Highway 90 A
Missouri City, TX 77489-1103
(281) 499-0502

Lansdowne-Moody Co., L.P.
11810 S Sam Houston Pkwy W
Houston, TX 77031-2336
(713) 779-0707

Southwest Mower Ser Center, Inc.
4861 Willowbend Blvd
Houston, TX 77035-3527
(713) 729-7022

Lansdown Moody
8445 East Fwy
Houston, TX 77029-1698
(713) 672-8366

Brookside Equipment Sales, Inc.
11700 S Sam Houston Pkwy W
Houston, TX 77031-2330
(713) 541-3535

Batie's Ace Hardware
9525 Westheimer Rd
Houston, TX 77063-3366
(713)975-1660

Watsons Lawn Equipment, Inc.
12544 Westella Dr
Houston, TX 77077-3930
(281)497-5800

Ace at Waterside Estates
9825 S Mason Rd Ste 190
Richmond, TX 77406-5809
(281)762-2928
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Honda
Honda National Office / Alpharetta, GA
August 6, 2013
Sure does read like there is a problem. Most Home Depot stores offer a liberal return/replacement policy, so suggest you try that first. Next would be to take it to a servicing Honda Dealer for inspection and possible repair. You can find a local dealer in your area using this link:

http://powerequipment.honda.com/dealer-locator

-Robert@Honda
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Self Propel Stopped Working - Where's the Clutch Cable?

Asked by
Mad Max Diablo
Greensboro, NC
about 21 in. Steel Deck Smart Drive Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower-DISCONTINUED on
August 11, 2013
I've got a Model Number: HRR216K8VKA I purchased late last summer and out of the blue a week ago, in mid-stride, the self-propel function stopped working. I don't have the shop manual for it, just the generic specs and such that was included with the mower, but I'm trying to find out if there's a basic answer, or place to look, to solve this? I've seen some opinions online that it just requires adjusting the clutch cable, but without the shop manual, I have no idea where that even is. I'm maniacally inclined, not mechanically so - PLEASE HELP?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
FortMillMower
Fort Mill, SC, USA
August 25, 2013
Its under the mower and difficult to replace, unless you are really good at working on small engine items.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
bulldog
florence sc
August 12, 2013
To get to the clutch cable, you need to remove the housing underneath the mower (four screws). First, remove the grass plug if you have it installed. To get to one of the screws, you will need to raise one of the adjusters for cutting height. The cable connects to the transmission and then is routed through a hole in the handle and up to the paddles on top. If the cable is broken, I believe the number of a new cable is 54510-VL0 PO1. But the problem may be that the belt has come off a pulley. You would get to this the same way. Before you begin, unplug the sparkplug and then turn the mower on its side with the air filter up. Otherwise, oil will spill into the air filter and onto the ground.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Honda
Honda National Office / Alpharetta, GA
August 12, 2013
See the attached graphic for the adjustment procedure. If you continue to have self-propel problems, it sounds like the unit still has some warranty remaining, so you may wish to take it in for a full inspection and evaluation from one of these nearby Servicing Honda Dealers:

Weno Power Equipment
3000 N Main St
High Point, NC 27265-1939
(336) 869-2312

Honda of Winston-Salem
591 S Stratford Rd
Winston Salem, NC 27103-1806
(336) 765-0330

Clark Farm Supply Co.
4210 Summit Ave
Greensboro, NC 27405-3420
(336) 621-4371

Quality Equipment, LLC
2115 Stanley Dr
Burlington, NC 27215-6833
(336) 227-6207

Sedgefield Outdoor Equipment
5111 Mackay Rd
Jamestown, NC 27282-9789
(336) 854-5511

Alamance Outdoor Equipment
250 N Church St
Burlington, NC 27217-2614
(336)226-6113
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Why was the Model HRR216VKA discontinued? I recently purchased one and am wondering if I made a mistake.. Should I have bought a different Model?.

Asked by
Wally
Sterling Heights, Michigan
about 21 in. Steel Deck Smart Drive Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower-DISCONTINUED on
August 22, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
FortMillMower
Fort Mill, SC, USA
August 25, 2013
I love it. It runs great. Starts on the first pull and no other mower I have owned mulches as good as this one. Hope you got it on sale.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Mower
Goldsboro, NC
August 24, 2013
I am using my mower for the second season.

PRO: Easy to start- one or two pulls. Cuts very well, smoth running, and has enough power. Bag fills up well. Mulcher plug is very easy to attach, and remove.

CONS: Factory set speed is too fast, making it a gas hog. I installed a manual throttle to control speed. Seam in bag liner has separated. Oil fill tube is very small diameter - must fill slowly. Hard plastic drive control handle is hard on fingers; using gloves helps. Hard plastic wheels with thin rubber tread will jar your teeth and slide off a slope. Wheel resist - or even lock up - when you back up. Wrestling with this mower an hour is quite a workout!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
bulldog
florence sc
August 24, 2013
The problem with this mower is with the transmission/rear wheels. The rear wheels frequently lock and will not roll when trying to pull the mower backward. I had my transmission replaced when the mower was a few weeks old, but the problem persisted after the repair. The Honda engine, however, is really good.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Honda
Honda National Office / Alpharetta, GA
August 22, 2013
Hi Wally:

All Honda mowers have model names and version numbers (what Honda calls the K-code). In this case, the model is HRR216VKA, and the version is "K8." Last January, Honda updated this HRR216VKA and the most current version is the K9. Home Depot has a mix of both versions for sale, and the K8 is usually discounted a bit. You can tell which K-version is which by looking at the model ID sticker on the back of the mower deck. The K-code is the 7th character from the left on this sticker. The K-code is usually NOT on the box, carton, brochure, or other marketing materials on the mower, since it is rare to have both K8 and K9 for sale at the same time, but it does happen. FYI, the biggest change to the K9 version is the Clip Director, (see photo) which eliminates the need for a loose mulching plug. Just flip a lever to switch between Mulch or Bag. See the link below for the K9 version of this mower. Hope this helps, -Robert@Honda.
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

where can i find self propell belt

Asked by
belt
about 21 in. Steel Deck Smart Drive Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower-DISCONTINUED on
April 2, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
FortMillMower
Fort Mill, SC, USA
August 25, 2013
At a Honda Certified Dealer. There are lots of dealers. They may have to order it but it usually arrives the next day.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Honda
Honda National Office / Alpharetta, GA
April 2, 2013
Easy.

1. On the back of the mower deck, find the serial number plate. It is in the form of MXXX-1234567.
2. Call your local Honda dealer, give them the serial number, and they can look up and order the belt for you. The list price is $5.06 (actual retail price is set by the dealer).

You can find a local dealer by using this link: http://powerequipment.honda.com/dealer-locator

-Robert@Honda
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

is this honda mower a commercial mower?How many yards can you mower a day?

Asked by
kew
about 21 in. Steel Deck Smart Drive Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower-DISCONTINUED on
November 13, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Mower
Goldsboro, NC
August 24, 2013
Warranty info from Owners manual:

Private Residential use: 36 months (plus the one-year extended warranty)

Commercial use: 3 months
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
FortMillMower
Fort Mill, SC, USA
November 23, 2012
As many as You can. Or until your run out of gas. I saw a pro using one on my neighbors lawn, so he must trust it as well.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Ed
November 16, 2012
I understand it is not a commerical model.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Honda
Honda National Office / Alpharetta, GA
November 14, 2012
No, this is a residential mower. Honda offers a couple of commercial models, which may be special ordered from Home Depot. They are the HRC series. The HXA is a self-propelled model, and the PDA is a push model. Both have commercial features (handlebar supports, commercial grade engines, etc). Ask a HD associate abou the HRC216HXA or HRC216PDA. Here's a link to the Honda page:

http://powerequipment.honda.com/lawn-mowers/hrc-series-lawn-mowers

-Robert@honda
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

How many horse power is this mower

Asked by
td
mt.vernon
about 21 in. Steel Deck Smart Drive Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower-DISCONTINUED on
October 16, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Mower
Goldsboro, NC
August 24, 2013
The 160 CC engine is identical to the one on my previous Sears Craftsman mower. It was 5 HP. Apparently the industry standard now is to not claim horsepower.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Ed
NC
November 17, 2012
The engine ,Model CGV160, on this mower has 160cc displacement. My previous mower had a near identical Honda engine (160cc). It was labeled as 5 HP.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Honda
Honda National Office / Alpharetta, GA
October 17, 2012
Most mower companies, including Honda, stopped publishing horsepower specs a few years ago, because there are far too many different ways to measure horsepower. It was confusing for shoppers, operators and retails sales staff.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Stuartfl
Stuart, FL, USA
October 17, 2012
160cc is roughly 5 hp. Around 4.8 rounded up
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Is it better to use synthetic oil or regular oil for model # HRR2169VKA

Asked by
pfsteeler
Springfield, MA
about 21 in. Steel Deck Smart Drive Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower-DISCONTINUED on
August 6, 2013
I have a HRR2169VKA and am going to be doing my first oil change and was wondering if I should us synthetic oil or regular oil? I have heard that synthetic oil is better for cars is this also true for lawn mowers? I know that I have to use SAE 10W-30 oil but just wanted to know if synthetic is better, I want my mower to last as long as possible
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Mower
Goldsboro, NC
August 24, 2013
I use the SAE 10W-30 Honda supplied oil and recommends. I change oil each summer. Think it is a waste of money to buy synthetic oil for a mower.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
bulldog
florence sc
August 24, 2013
Either synthetic or conventional oil is perfectly OK
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Honda
Honda National Office / Alpharetta, GA
August 6, 2013
Hi pfsteeler:

Honda certifies all lawn mower engines with SAE 10W-30 petroleum oil, so it is the official recommendation. That said, you may use SAE 10W-30 synthetic oil if you wish, provided you change it per the intervals in the Maintenance Schedule for your mower. -Robert@Honda
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Why the uneven cut? HRR2169VKA

Asked by
mlbsys
Chicago
about 21 in. Steel Deck Smart Drive Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower-DISCONTINUED on
August 3, 2013
I purchased the HRR2169VKA new from Home Depot. The mower starts easily. I noticed that every time I cut the lawn it cuts unevenly - there are streaks of uncut grass no matter even if I go over that section. I have tried to raise and lower the deck and make sure that each wheel is set to the same setting. My neighbor also bought the exact same model on same day and has the same uneven cut issue, so I know it's not just my mower. Having a dual blade mower, I would've thought that this would not occur. I never had this issue with any of the craftsman or toro mowers I owned for many years. Please give me some ideas that could help solve my uneven cutting problem. My yard is basically flat, and again I've never had this problem with any other mowers. The lawnmower is new therefore the blades are brand-new as well. Ive tried with the bag and in mulch mode with the selector switch properly positioned in each case. In both cases bad cuts. Thank you.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Mower
Goldsboro, NC
August 24, 2013
Compared to the Sears Craftsman I previously owned, this Honda mower cuts pretty even. Only uneven cut was when one wheel height adjustment slipped out of position.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
mlbsys
August 5, 2013
Robert, I did call today, 8/5/2013 and spoke with Russell. He said he really didn't hear of this before and recommended I bring it in for service. Unlikely that my neighbor and I have lawn mowers needing service as brand new.... Don't you think? I tried customer service again, this time spoke with Theresa, she said from time to time customers do report the uneven cutting and nothing can be done if mower in spec. It's hard to imaging that a $400 mower can't do the one job it's intended to do!?
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Honda
Honda National Office / Alpharetta, GA
August 5, 2013
Hi Mlbsys: Please give Honda Customer Relations a call; they have a number of tips they can share with you after learning about more about your lawn and mowing efforts so far; 770-497-6400. -Robert@Honda
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

I purchased self-propelled mower hrr216VKA 10/13/2012 after 4-5 hours of use smart drive does not work.

Asked by
BB
Panama City Florida
about 21 in. Steel Deck Smart Drive Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower-DISCONTINUED on
April 7, 2013
I called the local honda warranty repair shop and they said would be 3weeks or longer before they can look at it. HELP!!
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
bulldog
florence sc
August 24, 2013
My first repair when I return my mower to Home Depot took 8 weeks.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Honda
Honda National Office / Alpharetta, GA
April 8, 2013
HI BB:

Sorry to hear of the delay in getting your mower serviced. Spring is the absolute most busy time of the year for many mower shops. Dealers usually hire extra staff, but the service workload and sheer number of mowers in for repairs can be incredible. You may wish to try another Honda dealer who may not be quite a busy; here are the ones we have listed in the Panama City area:

Gulf Marine
1884 N Cove Blvd
Panama City, FL 32405-5434
(850) 215-7500

Beard Equipment Company
4625 N Highway 231
Panama City, FL 32404-9753
(850) 769-4844

Beach Mower Inc.
604 Gardenia St
Panama City Beach, FL 32407-3206
(850) 249-8765

-Robert@Honda
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

WHAT CAUSES MOWER TO ALL OF A SUDDEN BE HARD TO PULL START.

Asked by
JJ
MARINGOUIN LA
about 21 in. Steel Deck Smart Drive Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower-DISCONTINUED on
June 13, 2013
FIST FEW TIMES OF USE EASY FOR ME TO START. NOW I CAN'T START IT AT ALL THERE IS SO MUCH TENSION ON THE CORD IT PULLS SO HARD OUT OF MY HAND IT HURT TWO FINGERS REALLY BAD.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
bulldog
florence sc
August 24, 2013
Are you depressing the bail/lever fully when trying to crank the mower? If so, unplug the sparkplug and see if you can turn the blades with the lever on the handlebar depressed (against the handlebar). If you can turn the blades freely, you probably have a problem with the starter recoil.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Honda
Honda National Office / Alpharetta, GA
June 14, 2013
Hi JJ:

Sorry to hear of the trouble; you may wish to call your local store and see about an exchange. Home Depot can often do this if you just recently bought the mower. If you've the mower a while, you may still take it to Home Depot for repairs, or to the closest Honda Power Equipment dealer for a complete inspection and troubleshooting:

Gn Gonzales
666 Chippewa St
Baton Rouge, LA 70805-7690
(225) 387-5328

Quality Equipment Company, Inc.
3018 Ne Evangeline Trwy
Lafayette, LA 70507-3425
(337) 233-8645

K&D Rent-All & Hardware, Inc.
9550 Old Hammond Hwy
Baton Rouge, LA 70809-1420
(225) 926-6242

Hi-Crop Equipment Co., Inc.
2407 Jane St
New Iberia, LA 70563-1043
(337) 365-6667
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is the HRR216VKA model the same as the HRR216"X"VKA?

Asked by
Rick
Minneapolis MN
about 21 in. Steel Deck Smart Drive Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower-DISCONTINUED on
July 8, 2013
HI I see some talk here about an "8" model, vs a "9" whne referenceing the same general PN noted above, but at Acme Tools, they have a HRR216VKA on sale. Is this model the same tas the HRR216"9" I am seeing referenced many places, or am I missing something? Rick
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
bulldog
florence sc
August 24, 2013
Same mower, I believe
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Honda
Honda National Office / Alpharetta, GA
July 8, 2013
In the full model name, the 8 or 9 is what Honda calls the K-number, and it's is similar to a version number in software. The most current version of the HRR216VKA is the K-9. The only way to absolutely confirm which version is which is to look at the serial number sticker on the mower's deck or on the barcode sticker on the outside of an unopened carton. The K-number appears after HRR216 and before the VKA characters.

The K-9 has a number of improvement over the (now discontinued) K-8 version, including the Clip Director control.

-Robert@Honda
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Mine has stopped functioning properly.....

Asked by
OnlyForever
Marietta, GA
about 21 in. Steel Deck Smart Drive Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower-DISCONTINUED on
June 1, 2013
I bought this in March last year (2012) and got the extra year of warranty. I think it was into late summer/early Fall last year I started to notice/feel a slight murmur in the engine when I was running it every 10 seconds or so accompanied by a light plume of black smoke coming from the exhaust. There were also times when it would take 10-15 pulls to get it started and the engine would sound like it was in overdrive, ie very high revs per second. This year I have changed the oil again and keep the filter clean but over the last few weeks it has gotten to where it will only stay running for a few minutes and once it is put on the grass it stops altogether. I thought it might be the spark plug so tried a new one in it and it started fine but then got slower and slower until eventually it stopped. Just yesterday while looking at the carburetor assembly I did notice a thin wire (coupled to a thicker one) just above where the fuel lines/shut off switch are, the one with a spring in the middle, had come unattached. I managed to reattach it but mower acted the same. What is going on? I paid the higher price for a Honda knowing their reliable reputation after my previous Lawn Boy died after six years, and now just a year later I'm having troubles already. I even called J&J Mower here in Atlanta, one of the local service centers for Honda mowers, and pretty much got into an argument with the owner who was saying if it was "a running problem...." it would not be covered by the warranty! What?!!! If it's not functioning as it should whatever's wrong with it should be covered under warranty, right?
I haven't tried a BRAND NEW filter in it yet so may try that before giving in and taking it somewhere. Anyone else had similar issues or can offer advice? Thanks.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
OnlyForever
Marietta, GA
June 6, 2013
Thanks for the answers everybody. I noticed the other day when I was just running it on the driveway after a minute or so when it started to slow down if I removed the filter housing cover and pulled the edge of the filter away to let more air in the mower suddenly came back to what sounded like full power. I had already ordered a new filter which arrived yesterday and it seems to have fixed the problem. Also bought a $2 can of carburetor cleaner from Walmart and sprayed some of that on. So fingers crossed the filter is what was causing the problem and I will have no more trouble. I'm still surprised that the one that came with the mower only lasted 14 months and that's with me tapping it out after every use. The ones on my previous mowers lasted far longer.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Bobby
Horn Lake, MS, USA
June 4, 2013
Had the same problem. Ended up putting Lucas Oil fuel additive in the tank and gas can. Got it started and let it run roughly for a few minutes and then all of a sudden it took off. I was told the same thing about the warranty not covering fuel problems. Hope this helps. Bob
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
jspro
Louisburg, KS 66053, USA
June 4, 2013
I have to agree with you, take this mower back to Home depot and see if they will take care of you. They know repeat consumers are more reliable because they know you'll come back.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Honda
Honda National Office / Alpharetta, GA
June 4, 2013
The best thing to do is to have a Honda dealer inspect, evaluate and diagnose the problem. It must be accurately determined if the issue is a genuine factory defect, like a broken governor spring, binding throttle control, etc. that are generally covered under warranty. Or, as an example, improper fuel storage, where untreated fuel gums up the carburetor. Improper fuel storage is not a factory defect, so is not covered by warranty.

Honda dealers have extensive training and experience to spot defects and are best qualified to determine if a problem and repair is covered under warranty or not. That said, Honda Customer Relations is there to help if there's more discussion needed. If you are not getting the results expected from your dealer, please contact Honda Customer Relations for help: 770-497-6400. -Robert@Honda
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
SJNass
Indiana, USA
June 4, 2013
I would contact Honda Power Equipment that sounds like it should be a warranty issue to me, a defect is a defect. I just bought mine last summer and they had to replace the transmission last summer. It is a poorly designed mower not something I expected from Honda. I really wish I had gone back to a Toro after my Lawnboy only lasted 4 yrs and that was after I spent $150 the summer before getting it repaired. This Honda I feel beats me to death and have not had this with other mowers.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

i recently purchased a Honda lawn mower, model HRR216VKA. The product description on Home Depot's website indicated it had a side discharge.

Asked by
Paul
about 21 in. Steel Deck Smart Drive Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower-DISCONTINUED on
May 26, 2013
Consumer Reports review of a similar model #HRR2169VKA also mentioned a discharge mode. When I opened the box, I did not find a side discharge opening nor a description of it in the owner's manual. What's the explanation?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Colony
North Eastern Oregon
May 28, 2013
It is a rear discharge only. It can also mulch very efficiently. I now have 2 of these. They are the best mower I have ever used. Just do not run them out of fuel -- or it takes 2 people to restart.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
pedal2go
Olney, MD, USA
May 28, 2013
Rear discharge only. Bad information. Rear bagging or mulch only.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Honda
Honda National Office / Alpharetta, GA
May 28, 2013
The HRR216"9"VKA has a built-in REAR-discharge design. Earlier versions of that model (HRR216"8"VKA) offered an option SIDE-discharge feature, but it required the purchase of a special side-discharge chute.

All current models of Honda HRR and HRX mowers now use REAR-discharge. The no-frills, HRS models do offer a side-discharge, but they don't have the features and benefits found on HRR and HRX models.

-Robert@Honda
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 »