Looking for Answers about Honda GCV190 21 in. Smart Drive Variable Speed Self-Propelled Deck Mower?

Customer questions and answers for
Honda GCV190 21 in. Smart Drive Variable Speed Self-Propelled Deck Mower

With Micro-Cut twin blades to produce a smooth cut and fine clippings, the Honda 21 in. GCV190 Smart Drive Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Mower helps you maintain a beautiful lawn. The mower features a 4-in-1 Versa mow system to provide leaf sh
Customer questions and answers:
52 Questions
 | 
122 Answers
Overall rating:
4.505 out of 5
4.5
out of
5

Customer questions and answers for Honda GCV190 21 in. Smart Drive Variable Speed Self-Propelled Deck Mower

Question

I have read that when the 190cc engine is warm/hot from running, it can be difficult to restart and may require multiple pulls. Is this true.?

Asked by
David
West Virginia
about GCV190 21 in. Smart Drive Variable Speed Self-Propelled Deck Mower on
August 27, 2012
Are there any recommedations short of allowing the engine to cool down?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Punchy
West Chester, PA
August 27, 2012
I have had mine for about 4 mowings, and have stopped to refuel each time. It restarted with no problem on first pull.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
KJ1211
Chesapeake, VA, USA
August 27, 2012
I have not had that problem with my Honda, just make sure the blade is not in high grass, that will make it more difficult to restart.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Honda
Honda National Office / Alpharetta, GA
August 28, 2012
In most cases, you'll need to put the choke ON when starting, even if the engine is fully warmed up. If the choke is not on, it can be difficult to start, especially when the engine or outside air temp is cold. -Robert@Honda
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
imnotperfect
Florida
August 28, 2012
I've had the mower a few months and not experienced such a problem. It started first time right out of the box and continues to do so even when hot. Make sure your gas is always fresh (no more than a couple months). Otherwise, it sounds like it might need to be checked by a small engine mechanic.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
LuckMan
Austin, TX
January 15, 2013
This is not true - the Honda 190 cc engine is used in all kinds of applications and is an extremely well engineered engine. I have never heard of or experienced this issue you are talking about outside of using gas with ethanol and not adding a conditioner - that can cause problems.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
HondaFan
Owensboro, KY, USA
April 12, 2013
I have a HRX217VKA that I purchased August of last year. The only time I can remember pulling it multiple times to start was the first use this spring, it took 3-4 pulls but has started on the first pull since even after mower and stopping. No issues with this.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Rear Wheel vs. Front Wheel Drive Mowers

Asked by
IA Mower
IA
about GCV190 21 in. Smart Drive Variable Speed Self-Propelled Deck Mower on
January 14, 2013
I understand that the Honda Mower HRX217VKA is rear wheel drive. What is the difference one will see in rear wheel drive mowers vs. front wheel drive ones? Although I would expect you to say rear wheel drive mowers are preferred, why is that?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
LuckMan
Austin, TX
January 15, 2013
Rear wheel drive works best on flat terrain in my experience, but hilly terrain is where a front wheel drive works best. Going up a hill with a rear drive mower causes you to have to push down on the handle to gain traction which can cause the front end to come off the ground - not good. Front wheel drives gain traction by lifting up on the handle to put more pressure on the front wheels - this is good for going up a hill without affecting the cut. For flat terrain, it's just a matter of preference. Hope this helps!
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
HondaFan
Owensboro, KY, USA
January 15, 2013
I was advised by a local mower shop to buy a front wheel drive because I have a yard with very steep hills. But I noticed online that some recommended rear wheel drive for hills also, so I borrowed my father in laws rear wheel (Toro) to mow my yard a few times and it did fine. So with that and the fact that rear wheels rated better for dependablility I went with the Honda. Glad I did because the Honda mows my hills like a champ! Seems to have more power and handles the hills even much better than the Toro did. It really is a great mower. My only concern is unlike my last Honda which is 21 years old and will still start on the first pull, when I got the new on out after setting for a month I had to pull on it several times to get it to start. But we will see if that straightens out after using it a few times this spring? As long as the Honda continues to start easly, it was a very smart purchase no regrets.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Honda
Honda National Office / Alpharetta, GA
January 15, 2013
Generally speaking, rear-wheel drive is easier to operate and more effective (best overall traction) in most situations. When turning any mower, the front wheels must be lifted, even if only a small bit, to allow the mower to turn/pivot on the rear wheels. When turning with a front-drive mower, drive traction is reduced, and more physical effort is required by the user to push the mower forward and continue cutting. In a rear-drive model, the mower will continue to self-propel, and only slight downward pressure on the handlebars is needed to make the front wheels lift and the mower can start turning.

For mowing on hills, you should never mow up and down the hill, but mow across. Mowing across the slope of the hill is safer, and rear-wheel drive mowers provide plenty of traction best overall control of the mower.

-Robert@Honda
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
imnotperfect
Florida
January 18, 2013
You can do an internet search and find the general differences between the two. I don't buy cheap lawn mowers. All the mowers I have owned were rear wheel drive. I think they are more reliable.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
jmaxi
March 9, 2013
in one word: control.
in five words: control and less force needed.
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
ace11golf
April 24, 2013
All I can say is with the power being behind the mower and pushing it forward, it gives me more control over the mower and doesn't tear up the grass as front well drive mowers have done to my lawns.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Questions about the Honda HRX2173VKA

Asked by
Roland
Shreveport, Louisiana
about GCV190 21 in. Smart Drive Variable Speed Self-Propelled Deck Mower on
May 20, 2013
First question, on the honda web site it lists the model as HRX217VKA, But in the home depot store the model number had a 3 on it.... why can't I find the hrx2173vka on the honda web site... and secondly, it has been suggested to me by various " dealers' that companies like honda and toro manufacture mowers that are of "slightly" lesser quality for big box stores like home depot, and thats why they can sell them a little bit cheaper than the dealer does... so my question to you is if I buy a honda mower from The Home Depot, is it exactly ( in every aspect ) the same as the mower that the "dealer" sells...to be candid, is it possible that the manufacturers may use some "cheaper" parts to reduce the cost. I don't mean to sound suspicious, but before I plunk down 6 or 7 hundred dollars for a new mower, I want to know I'm getting the Real Mccoy.... I appreciate your help with these questions and look forward to your reply...

Roland
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
LuckMan
Austin, TX
May 20, 2013
That sounds like a sales pitch to me, the additional designation doesn't appear to me to have anything to do with the main features like the GCV190 engine (this engine is ubiquitous and is used in all kinds of applications by Honda and is the best in the business), the twin blades, smart drive, 9 inch wheels and versamow. I really wouldn't worry about it, and if you are still, call Honda and ask them.

You really cannot go wrong with this mower unless your yard is an acre or more.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
HondaFan
Owensboro, KY, USA
May 21, 2013
I do not know the answer to this but I would think that the cost to have seperate production runs would outway the savings of using cheaper parts in the engine. The only thing I would suggest is looking them over very good at both locations and comparing model #'s. I do know that I purchased a commercial Honda mower in 1991 (HR195) and it still starts on the first pull today just to small for my current yard. Last fall I purchased a Honda HRX2173VKA which is on its way back from the Home Depot repair service? I am hoping that all it needed was a carborator modification and it will perform as my 1991 model has that is why I spent the extra money for the nexite deck, we will see? My new one had gotten where it was hard to start and that is unacceptable from a Honda, once I got it started it would run fine and start fine when warm but I had to pull, pull and pull when cold. I had read some peoples review that had the same issue and Honda had a carborator recall, Honda stated that mine should not have needed the recall based on the serial number, but I am hoping maybe that was it? Just hope it does not happen again, I will keep everyone updated... But I will tell you that Honda suggested that I take mine to the local Honda certified repair shop for a quicker repair, but the local Honda certified repair shop refused to honor the warranty service since I did not purchase from them, that kind of put me out. Good Luck...
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Honda
Honda National Office / Alpharetta, GA
May 21, 2013
Hi Roland:

The "3" character is what Honda calls a K-code, and is similar to a version number used in software. The HRX217VKA is currently at the K4 version, but in this case, there are no differences between the K3 and K4 for this model. It was changed so all the models in the HRX series were all to be designated as K4 models. You can confirm which K-code is on a specific model two ways: (1) On the outside of the box, there's a small white label/barcode with the full model name including the K-code. (2) On the mower itself, there's a data plate on the rear of the mower deck with the full model name and serial number. Honda often omits the K-code from websites, advertising, price cards, etc., as different K-codes of the same model are rarely sold at the same time. Typically, most stores will sell out of K3 models right about the time the newer K4 models start to arrive from the factory in Swepsonville, North Carolina (Honda has been building all our mowers there since 1983).

All Honda models sold in the USA are exactly the same; there are absolutely no differences between what you will see from Honda at Home Depot or at any other Honda Dealer. Honda does not make "Home Depot only" nor do we make any "dealer-only" models. No matter where you buy a Honda mower, as long as it is an authorized dealer (which includes all Home Depot stores) you get the exact same product, warranty and support from Honda.

Finally, it's possible you may see a model at a dealer but not at a Home Depot or vice-versa. Honda makes over a dozen different models, and both Home Depot and independent Honda dealers are free to buy any/all of the models they choose. For example, a dealer who specializes in working with commercial operators will probably stock the Honda HRC commercial mowers, but these are not normally stocked at most Home Depots. That said, both Home Depot and other Honda Dealers can special order any mower model you wish, even if it's not a mower they have on the showroom floor.

Sorry if that's a bit long-winded...just wanted to give you all the details and be informed. You ask some important questions, and I hope this will help you and other customers reading this too.

Thanks! -Robert@Honda
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
ace11golf
Louisville, KY
May 21, 2013
Independent dealers have high overhead and slim profit margins. Big stores can buy in bulk for cheaper rates and are able to pass that onto customers. I paid over $140 less at Home Depot for the exact Honda mower at a local mower shop. Couldn't tell you much about model numbers since I'm not at home. I was fed the same line by the local shop about big box stores and I proved them wrong. I have no regrets about purchasing this Honda mower. Best mower purchase I've ever made. Well worth the cost. Buy it at Home Depot and have it serviced at your local shop.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
RonS993
Chicago, Illinois
May 21, 2013
Ok, this doesn't apply exactly to the mower you are looking at, but here is the answer I found regarding the HRX217HZA I just purchased last week. The private lawn specialty dealer where I purchased the mower initially sold me a model that I discovered had a "K3" designation. The "K" number apparently refers to small, yet sometimes significant changes Honda incorporates in any particular model. The K3 model of this mower has electric start and the Honda "Cyclon" battery, but the mower engine DOES NOT recharge the battery. Never. A separate charger is supplied with the mower, and the battery lid easily unsnaps to recharge the battery as needed. 24 hours is recommended to completely recharge this battery. The Cyclon battery is supposed to be good for up to 300 starts between charges.

Now, the K4 series of this same mower, was apparently released in January of 2013, and it has a smaller, more conventional sized 12v lead-acid mower battery, and the mower engine has a charging circuit built in, which eliminates any need for external charging... so an external charger is not supplied. Access to the battery requires the removal of 3 screws... no big deal. Honda claims that if the battery should require charging, say for example after a storage season, that a simple hand start and running it for about an hour will bring the battery back up to full charge. The external charger is available as an option for around $20 from Honda.

That's the only difference I could find between the K3 and K4 models of this mower, and Robert@Honda confirmed this on this forum. This seems to be a significant design change to me, so I think Honda should have made this difference more evident to potential customers and their dealers. My dealer showed me his parts manuals, which clearly showed a misprint regarding the charging feature of the K4 mower. So he was confused about this design change too.

Since I don't believe the HRX217VKA has electric start, I don't know what changes (if any) might exist between the K3 and K4 models.

For my purposes, the K3 or K4 model of the HZA mower both have advantages, but since I didn't know if there might be some other additional upgrades other than the battery charge change, I opted to have my dealer exchange the K3 for a K4. I have read that both models (K3, K4) are sold through Home Depot, so it doesn't seem to be related to what type of store is selling the mower. Who knows, a K5 model may be available by now?

Hope this is somewhat helpful. I'm sure you'll enjoy any model of this mower, since they all seem to share a solid design. Good luck!

Regards,

Ron
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

How long will mower run on .25 gals (tank capacity)?

Asked by
Goldida
NC
about GCV190 21 in. Smart Drive Variable Speed Self-Propelled Deck Mower on
August 24, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Lawndude
Tampa, FL, USA
August 26, 2013
About 1 acre of lawn.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
HondaFan
Owensboro, KY, USA
August 26, 2013
I mow for 45-50 minutes or just under a half acre on very hilly terrain and I do have a little gas left in the tank... But I have to fill it up every time. Hope that helps...
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Punchy
West Chester, PA
August 26, 2013
I find that it depends on how hilly your yard is and how long the grass is. My yard is quite hilly, and with a week's growth to cut and mulch, I can't quite finish my half acre lot. I believe if my terrain was flat, it whould do the whole yard.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Honda
Honda National Office / Alpharetta, GA
August 26, 2013
H Goldida:

Honda doesn't have a published specification on run-times for mowers, since conditions of lawns and other factors (if self-propelled is engaged or not) can effect fuel consumption. Many customer report that under average conditions, a full tank of fuel will usually allow you to mow at least 1/3 of an acre or more of grass. Hope this helps, -Robert@Honda
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
LuckMan
Austin, TX
August 26, 2013
Good news! It will run twice as long as the one with the .125 gallon tank.
-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

Clippings Setting

Asked by
John
Lakeville, Mn
about GCV190 21 in. Smart Drive Variable Speed Self-Propelled Deck Mower on
May 29, 2013
I have this machine and love it. It has several settings for mulch or bagging and several in between. Why would you ever set it for in between--part bag and part mulch?
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
LuckMan
Austin, TX
May 30, 2013
If your grass is too tall, neither setting can work well at its extreme. I have found with taller grass that a mix of mulch and bag takes care of it without leaving clumps behind or filling the bag too quickly.
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Honda
Honda National Office / Alpharetta, GA
May 31, 2013
Mulching is great for feeding the lawn. Clippings act as a natural fertilizer. However, depending on how much you need to cut, the amount of the clippings on the lawn might not look so great, and you'd prefer to bag instead. The beauty of the VersaMow System is you can go any point in between and find that sweet spot where you can have mulching clipping left on the lawn but not so much that it leaves an unattractive finish. A bonus is the bag fills slower is need to be emptied less frequently.

Glad to hear you like the mower John. Thanks for being a Honda fan.

-Robert@Honda
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Punchy
West Chester, PA
May 31, 2013
I find that if you are mulching and the grass is wet or tall, when you open the setting one or two notches, it is less likely to clog and clump. A small portion of the grass will blow out the back. Similar when wou are mulching leaves.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
HondaBuck
Boise, ID, USA
June 11, 2013
I use the variable settings depending on length of grass. I don't want all clippings for mulch left on grass all,the time so it allows you that versatility. Getting rid of the clippings in garbage cans adds up so sometimes I use the variable settings. Try it you'll like it.
+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Question

New HRX2174VLA

Asked by
Scott
Anchorage, Alaska
about GCV190 21 in. Smart Drive Variable Speed Self-Propelled Deck Mower on
August 12, 2013
What is the difference between HRX217K4VLA and the HRX2174VLA?
I'm also trying to figure out when it was built - MAGA-2250082?
When it's warm it's difficult to start. Also the starter doesn't always engage.
Mower cuts great when it's running.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Lawndude
Tampa, FL, USA
August 13, 2013
The mower im using does not have a starter its a pull start. Not sure of the difference but the starting problem comes from one thing. Ethanol in gas. It is horrible on all the small engines. Use sta-bil or true fuel. If you do not use this additive in your lawn mower gas your mower will spend more time in the shop then on the lawn. I learned the hard way myself. Another tip would be to pour 1/2 oz of stabil right into tank of mower. It should get it started. Most carberator repairs are due to the ethanol in gas. Hope this helps and good luck.
 
Products related to my answer
 
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Honda
Honda National Office / Alpharetta, GA
August 13, 2013
Hi Scott:

They are all the same; the "K4" (sometimes just a "4", sometimes not shown at all) is a version number code. The most current version of the HRX217VLA is the K4. Not all marketing materials, stickers, or advertising include this number, but it is always on the data plate on the mower deck.

This model has the AutoChoke feature, and for it to work correctly, be sure the engine is kept running at least 3 minutes to fully warm up. It can be hard to restart an AutoChoke engine if you don't let it warm up completely.

The serial number you listed is for a unit that was wholesaled by Honda in March of 2013, and it was probably manufactured in late 2012. Still under warranty, so you should have it inspected and evaluated by a Honda Dealer. They can help troubleshoot any problems with the starter not engaging too. Ask the dealer to also register you as the owner and confirm warranty coverage. Here are some dealers in the Anchorage area:

Honda of Anchorage
4908 Old Seward Hwy
Anchorage, AK 99503-7422
(907) 279-9478

Alaska Specialty Equipment, LLC
6871 Old Seward Hwy
Anchorage, AK 99518-2274
(907) 341-2261

Hartley Motors, Inc.
Po Box 800
Palmer, AK 99645-0800
(907) 745-4868
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Lawndude
Tampa, FL, USA
August 13, 2013
It's new. Model is hrx2174vka. I did read others were having starting trouble when mower was hot. We have not had that issue. Biggest thing to help improve was stable.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
LuckMan
Austin, TX
August 13, 2013
If you are using gasoline with ethanol, you need to add a stabilizer you can get an auto parts store or don't use gas with ethanol in it - which is available in many areas. That is the probable source of hard starting because these engines are ubiquitous and used in many applications. There is literally nothing negative to be said about the engineering.

K is a version indicator, in this case you have the 4th version of the HRX217 model mower. I think the absence of the 'K' might mean it is older but functionally means nothing.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

How easy is it to adjust mower height?

Asked by
Sunny
Lakewood, CO
about GCV190 21 in. Smart Drive Variable Speed Self-Propelled Deck Mower on
September 11, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
HondaBuck
Boise, ID, USA
September 11, 2013
The mower height is very easy to adjust by simply pushing a lever and sliding forward or back to a very visible numbered slot. The rear numbers can be a little harder to see if its dark or shadowed. All four wheels can be done under 30 seconds.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
andyb1
Rome, NY, USA
September 11, 2013
very easy to adjust also height of cut is numbered
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
insidetech
Lake Worth, FL, USA
October 1, 2013
Very simple take about 30 sec. numbers on frame help..
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Higgi
Ocala, FL, USA
January 2, 2014
Each wheel has a tab to ajust to the desired level. If you can bend your knees, you are good to go.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

How does the discharge work?

Asked by
Mark
VA
about GCV190 21 in. Smart Drive Variable Speed Self-Propelled Deck Mower on
April 28, 2012
It looks like the discharge is in the rear, how does this work with the rear flap down?
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Honda
Honda National Office / Alpharetta, GA
April 30, 2012
There is an opening at the bottom of the rear door (flap). When the clippings are blown from the mower deck, they hit the rear flap and fall down out of the opening onto the ground. This method is designed to spread the clippings evenly and works quite nicely. -Robert@Honda
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
justaguy
Cincinnati, OH, USA
May 16, 2012
When the bag is disconnected, and the discharge cover is down (its connected by two springs to keep in closed) there is a space at the bottom of the flap (approximately 2 inches) between the body of the mower and the bottom of the safety flap where the clippings will discharge (straight down toward the groud in front of your feet).
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
LuckMan
Austin, TX
January 15, 2013
With the flap down, the grass is deposited just behind the blades just in front of your feet while you walk. There is a mulch lever that lets you set how much grass makes it to the flap and how much is mulched. You can set it to any setting between full mulch and full release.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Can the Honda be run on NON-Ethonal gas without damage? if not, why not

Asked by
Poacher
about GCV190 21 in. Smart Drive Variable Speed Self-Propelled Deck Mower on
June 5, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Honda
Honda National Office / Alpharetta, GA
June 5, 2012
Sure, it is absolutely okay to use automotive gasoline with zero ethanol in all Honda lawn mowers. It is also okay to use automotive gasoline fuels that contain up to 15% ethanol. 86 octane (usually regular unleaded) is all that's required. You don't need mid-grade or premium fuels with higher octane ratings.

DO NOT use automotive gasoline that contains MORE than 15% ethanol.

It's been our experience fuels containing ethanol have a shorter shelf-life, and can develop sludge or other solids that can cause a blockage in an engine's carburetor. If the mower isn't going to be used for more than 45 days, the fuel should be drained from the tank and carburetor (full procedure is in the owner's manual). Remaining fuel should be treated with a commercially-available stabilizer, or transferred to you car's fuel tank. Some of our customers report best results (no carburetor blockage issues) by using fuels that have zero ethanol, which can be purchased at many selected gas stations and marinas. -Robert@Honda
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
JudW
July 17, 2012
It actually runs better on non ethanol gas. If you use ethanol gas get the additive to help the gas not muck up when stored.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
LuckMan
Austin, TX
January 15, 2013
Non ethanol gas is the preferred type of fuel - ethanol causes damage over time.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What do we do if this mower is suddenly hard to start? Used to start first pull, now takes several and my wife can't start it now.

Asked by
Jim
about GCV190 21 in. Smart Drive Variable Speed Self-Propelled Deck Mower on
June 5, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Honda
Honda National Office / Alpharetta, GA
June 5, 2012
Jim, just to confirm, you have this exact model, HRX217VKA? If not, which model do you have?

Generally, "hard to start" often means an issue with the engine not getting enough fuel or too much air. Too little fuel can often mean there is an obstruction or blockage in the carburetor. This can happen if fuel is left untreated or stored too long, sometimes as little as 45 days. Sludge or debris can form and cause issues inside the carburetor. Sometimes a commercial fuel system cleaner can resolve this, and in difficult cases, the carburetor may require overhaul or replacement.

Too much air happens when the choke system is not working properly. This model has a very reliable AutoChoke feature, but it may need adjustment or repair.

Either way, you should contact a servicing Honda Dealer in your area and discuss inspection and repair options. If the inspection reveals a factory defect, Honda will generally pay for warranty repairs. You can located a dealer at this link:

http://powerequipment.honda.com/dealer-locator

-Robert@Honda
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
james
walden n.y.
June 26, 2012
Buy and replace the air filter, replace the spark plug, and change the mower oil and uses the right oil. Check your owner manual. You can find these parts at any Home depot.
Try these simple steps and if the problem doesnt go away seek a honda repair shop in your area.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
LuckMan
Austin, TX
January 15, 2013
My guess is you gummed it up with ethanol gas. You might try adding conditioner but if it is ethanol damaged it will have to have engine parts replaced.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is the 190 engine louder than the 160 version?

Asked by
Bub
Oregon
about GCV190 21 in. Smart Drive Variable Speed Self-Propelled Deck Mower on
March 7, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
jiml
Boonville, NC 27011, USA
March 8, 2012
not at all. Extremely quiet
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
LuckMan
Austin, TX
January 15, 2013
No it is not, that I can tell.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Honda
Honda National Office / Alpharetta, GA
March 8, 2012
For most lawn mowers, the blades make the most noise. While Honda does not publish noise levels, I did get some numbers from our engineering group; the 190cc HRX makes about 86 dB, while the 160cc HRR is 88 dB. The engines both turn about the same speed and have the same muffler, but use different blades and decks, so that's why the 2 dB difference. -robert@honda
+8points
9out of 10found this answer helpful.
Question

Ethanol Gas

Asked by
Anonymous
Houston,TX
about GCV190 21 in. Smart Drive Variable Speed Self-Propelled Deck Mower on
February 1, 2012
Can the mower or how well does the mower run on ethanol gas (10%)?
-2points
0out of 2found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Honda
Honda National Office / Alpharetta, GA
February 1, 2012
Hi Josh:

All Honda power equipment products should be run with regular unleaded automotive gasoline with a pump octane rating of 86 or higher; it may contain up to 10% ethanol (E10) or 5% methanol by volume. Higher concentrations of ethanol may cause starting and/or performance problems. It may also damage metal, rubber, and plastic parts of the fuel system.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
LuckMan
Austin, TX
January 15, 2013
Add conditioner with the gas or you will eventually have problems.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Gas shut offf valve

Asked by
murfe
USA - AR
about GCV190 21 in. Smart Drive Variable Speed Self-Propelled Deck Mower on
February 18, 2012
Does this Honda Mower have a "Gas Shut Off Valve In-line", so that I can shut the gas flow OFF and continue to run the mower until the carb. is empty. With ethenol gas this is a good practice to have.
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Honda
Honda National Office / Alpharetta, GA
February 20, 2012
Yes, all current-model Honda mowers have a fuel valve. It's on the left side of the engine, usually colored black with a grey knob. You are right about the ethenol; best to turn the fuel valve to OFF and allow the engine to run out of fuel. Great tip!
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
LuckMan
Austin, TX
January 15, 2013
Yes it does. However, regardless of what anyone says I would run either ethanol free gas or add conditioner to the gas - otherwise it is liable to screw things up. The alcohol content degrades engine parts very quickly - even Honda, Toyota, most car manufacturers say ethanol is harmful to regular engines.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

how good is the suction for the bagger on honda mowers?

Asked by
Anonymous
iowa
about GCV190 21 in. Smart Drive Variable Speed Self-Propelled Deck Mower on
March 12, 2012
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Honda
Honda National Office / Alpharetta, GA
March 12, 2012
The high-lift twin-blades, mower deck design and grass bag all work together for excellent suction; here are a few tips to get maximum performance:
• Always keep the blades sharp. This is a pretty easy DIY job with the right tools. Most homeowners can get by with a once-a-year sharpening.
• Keep the grass bag clean; this allows for maximum airflow and packs the most clippings and yard debris into the grass bag. A dirty/clogged bag won't move much air.
• If the mower has a throttle control, always keep it in the FAST position when mowing. Fast-spinning blades provide the maximum suction and best overall finish on the lawn.
Hope this helps, -robert@honda
+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
BoomerSooner
Oklahoma, USA
March 13, 2012
Really pretty good.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Differences

Asked by
Sam
Greenville SC
about GCV190 21 in. Smart Drive Variable Speed Self-Propelled Deck Mower on
March 15, 2012
Other than $100, what's the difference between the HRX217HYA and HRX217VKA?
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Honda
Honda National Office / Alpharetta, GA
March 15, 2012
The HYA has Roto-Stop (blades can be stopped while engine keeps running) and Cruise Control, a hydrostatic self-propel drive system.

The VKA is a zone-start model (blade and engine both stop at start at the same time) and Smart Drive, a gear-style self-propel drive system.

Both Cruise Control and Smart Drive let you set the self-propel speed where you want. Check out http://powerequipment.honda.com/lawn-mowers/hrx-series-lawn-mowers for full details. -Robert@Honda
+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
SPM427
Florida
May 1, 2012
I believe the only difference is the Roto-Stop blade stop system, which allows you to stop the blade without stopping the engine. That's the extra $100.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Deck Cleaning

Asked by
Sam
Greenville
about GCV190 21 in. Smart Drive Variable Speed Self-Propelled Deck Mower on
March 15, 2012
I Had a Toro Mower before with Deck cleaning Hose adapter. Do you just spray the deck to clean the the blades and/or does Honda has a mower with Deck cleaning Hose adapter?
+5points
5out of 5found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Honda
Honda National Office / Alpharetta, GA
March 15, 2012
Yes, you can spray under the deck with a water hose to clean it. There is no wash-out port on any Honda mower. -Robert@Honda
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Adam
Ohio
March 29, 2012
No Honda's don't have it, but the Nexite deck does not collect grass like the Aluminum decks-- Just make sure you tilt the Honda on the right side per the instructions
+3points
4out of 5found this answer helpful.
Question

Can this Honda Mower be purchased with Elect Starter?

Asked by
John
Dover, Delaware
about GCV190 21 in. Smart Drive Variable Speed Self-Propelled Deck Mower on
March 25, 2012
I would like to purchase a Honda walk behinf\d mower but would like the feature of Electric starter with the mower.
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Honda
Honda National Office / Alpharetta, GA
March 26, 2012
John, yes, the HRX is available with an electric start. The model is the HRX217HZA. Just search for that model name here on the Home Depot website
-Robert@Honda
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Adam
Ohio
March 29, 2012
Honda Makes electric start it's the next level up- $100 more. This model pulls so easy there is really no need for electric start though
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Question

How important is it to have the brake stop system. Which Honda has this?

Asked by
Drew
Athens, Georgia
about GCV190 21 in. Smart Drive Variable Speed Self-Propelled Deck Mower on
April 11, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Honda
Honda National Office / Alpharetta, GA
April 12, 2012
Having a Blade Brake Clutch/Roto-Stop is nice; you can let go of the controls and the blade stops, but the engine continues to run. This is great if you need to step away from the mower to clear the path, empty the grass, bag, etc.

The following Honda mowers come with Roto-Stop:
HRX217HYA
HRX217HZA
HRR216VYA

-Robert@Honda
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
reformedsceptic
April 21, 2012
I've used it on the other Honda mowers, and frankly liked the feature, but it wasn't worth the extra 100$ and losing the thumb drive control.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is the mower assembled when delivered?

Asked by
hairbrain79
MA
about GCV190 21 in. Smart Drive Variable Speed Self-Propelled Deck Mower on
April 18, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Honda
Honda National Office / Alpharetta, GA
April 18, 2012
The mower is fully assembled, except for the grass bag and frame, which snap together with no tools. You'll need to unfold the handlebars after removing it from the box, then just add gasoline and oil (oil bottle included in the box) and it's ready to mow. -Robert@Honda
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
SPM427
Florida
May 1, 2012
95% assembled. Just need to extend and lock in the handle, add oil and fuel, and go!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What is the total weight of model #hrx217vka

Asked by
dick
tyler,tx.
about GCV190 21 in. Smart Drive Variable Speed Self-Propelled Deck Mower on
April 26, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Honda
Honda National Office / Alpharetta, GA
April 27, 2012
The most current (as of 4/27/2012) VKA model is known as the K2VKA and it weighs in right at 88.6 lbs. dry, and 91.9 lbs. with a full tank of fuel and oil. -Robert@Honda
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Lawnman
April 28, 2012
Around 100 pounds
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
1 2 3 »