Looking for Answers about RIDGID 13 in. Thickness Planer?

Customer questions and answers for
RIDGID 13 in. Thickness Planer

The RIDGID 15-amp13 in. Corded Planer features a 3-blade cutter head with quick-changing, dual-edge blades that are reversible and self-aligning for a smooth surface with minimal blemishes after cutting. The multiple depth features help you achieve your desired depth, and the 13 in. wide feed capacity is great for planing large stock.
Customer questions and answers:
12 Questions
 | 
34 Answers
Overall rating:
3.75 out of 5
3.8
out of
5

Customer questions and answers for RIDGID 13 in. Thickness Planer

Question

r4331

Asked by
ernie
heflin, la
about 13 in. Thickness Planer on
November 9, 2012
What kind of gaurntee comes with planer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
8 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
LagoSul
Georgia
November 11, 2012
Lifetime guarantee, however, you will probably need it. I bought this planer and within the first month several parts broke or fell off. I chose not to use the guarantee and returned the planer for a refund. I figured if that much goes wrong this early in my useage, I will be without the use of it more than I will have it operational. The quality on this particular model, at least the machine I had, was very lacking. Several of the parts were not tightened properly from the factory and vibrated loose, and one of the cutting blades broke.
I was very disappointed with this product.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
RIDGID
November 12, 2012
All new RIDGID wood working power tool purchases through the authorized retail distributor Home Depot, come with a standard 3-year warranty. The Lifetime Service Agreement (LSA) coverage currently offered by RIDGID has to be obtained for the tool purchased, if the customer wishes to have that coverage.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Cutworm
SC
November 27, 2012
If you follow the instructions it's eligible for the Ridgid LSA. Otherwise it is 3 years.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Steve
December 2, 2012
There seems to be a lifetime repair/replace warranty from ridgid. I was told it may be taken to HD repair shops.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Bigdaddy
February 8, 2013
really bad, if it tears up your out of luck! Don't buy it!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
ArkansasJoe
Cabot, AR, USA
April 7, 2013
Life time with registration.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
Rusty
Clearwater, FL, USA
July 9, 2013
It's a lifetime repair warranty for defects. It does need to be brought to a Ridgid repair center if it exceeds Home Depots return policy
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
Tgoodie
Scottsdale, AZ, USA
February 11, 2014
You can register with Home Depot for a life time service guarantee. Make sure you keep your receipt and original UPC code - you will need that to register. You can register by mail or on-line.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Does planer come with stand

Asked by
jim
about 13 in. Thickness Planer on
September 12, 2012
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
RIDGID
September 17, 2012
No, the R4331 does not include a work stand for the planer.

Thank you
RIDGID Support
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
TimGS
Merrimack, NH
September 25, 2012
Though this planer does not come with a stand it is worth purchasing. I have planed numerous cherry boards and have been very happy with the smooth finish. Dewalt makes a relatively inexpensive planer stand DW3750 that can be modified (4-Holes) for use with the Ridgid R4330 planer.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Cutworm
SC
November 27, 2012
No.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
DJH1978
Idaho, USA
November 30, 2012
The Ridgid planer does not come with a stand but does include an excellent warrrenty.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
BROCKSFARM
Jefferson, GA, USA
April 1, 2013
NO, YOU CAN PURCHASE THE STAND SEPARTELY.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
ArkansasJoe
Cabot, AR, USA
April 7, 2013
no
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

how much is the cost for 3 new planer blades

Asked by
cam
ontariocanada
about 13 in. Thickness Planer on
November 27, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Cutworm
SC
November 27, 2012
They are $29.99 US dollars at my local Home Depot for a set of 3 reversible blades.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Kidsabc
Wisconsin, USA
January 26, 2013
Around $30 from your local HD store. You can also order them online from several locations.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
ArkansasJoe
Cabot, AR, USA
April 7, 2013
go to www.homedepot.com and find out.
-1point
1out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
WEATHERB
SCOTTSBORO,AL
February 10, 2014
$30 PLUS TAX
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

how do I get an update from a two blade to a three blade on my planer

Asked by
Dan
lambertville Mi
about 13 in. Thickness Planer on
March 22, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
HDAnswerman
March 28, 2013
Hi Dan,

The only way to upgrade to three blades is to purchase a new planer. To my knowledge, no retro kits are available.

Mike,
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
ArkansasJoe
Cabot, AR, USA
April 7, 2013
See your old two blade planer and buy a new three blade planer
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
WEATHERB
SCOTTSBORO,AL
February 10, 2014
MOPRE THAN LIKELY YOU WILL HAVE TO GET ANOTHER PLANER.CHANGING FROM 2 TO 3 BLADE MEANS GETTING NEW CUTTERHEAD AND A LOT OF HEADSCRATCHING TO CHANGE.CHEAPER TO GET NEW ONE AT LESS THAN $400.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What is the H.P. rating

Asked by
woodworker
Newton, NH
about 13 in. Thickness Planer on
April 30, 2013
How many Horse Power is the motor?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
LagoSul
Georgia
May 1, 2013
Not sure of the HP rating. I had this planer about 1 month and 2 different parts broke during that time, so I returned it to the store instead of fixing a broken 1 month old machine. I bought the Dewalt planer (same size and price) and have been very satisfied. One of the parts that broke was one of the cutting blades, which came undone and ruined one of my pieces of wood I was working with. Apparently it wasn't tightened properly at the factory and vibrated loose. Even with the lifetime warranty, I didn't think it was worth the hassle for a brand new machine.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
jes2013
Georgia, USA
May 2, 2013
I couldn't find the HP rating, though it is a 15 amp motor and has handled some heavy duty work I've put through it. i.e. 2"x12"x10' cherry and maple without any problem.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
WEATHERB
SCOTTSBORO,AL
February 10, 2014
RATED 15 AMPS WHICH IS THE LOWEST AMPERAGE FOR A DECENT TOOL.P=IXE..P=15X120=1800 WATTS.1 HP =746 WATTS.THEREFORE1800/746=2.41 HP WHICH WILL PROBABLY BE ADVERTISED AT 2 1/2 HP.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Why is the user manual link for the previous model R4330 which is considerably different?

Asked by
gulfcoastguy
about 13 in. Thickness Planer on
June 29, 2012
Current model is R4331 and has a carriage lock which the previous model didn't. There are other differences as well.
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
RIDGID
July 3, 2012
We are working on getting this corrected. I have uploaded a copy of the correct manual.

Thank you
RIDGID Support.
+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
WEATHERB
SCOTTSBORO,AL
February 10, 2014
THERE ARE LINKS FOR SEVERAL DIFFERENT MODELS.WHICH DO YOU HAVE?
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Where is the planer made?

Asked by
captain scuba
about 13 in. Thickness Planer on
September 4, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
RIDGID
September 13, 2013
The RIDGID R4331 planer is made in China.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
SOLTC
Plainview, NY
January 29, 2014
China
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

I NEED THE SERIAL NUMBER FOR THIS PRODUCT.

Asked by
SNOWQUEEN
SOUTH CAROLINA
about 13 in. Thickness Planer on
October 13, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
RIDGID
October 14, 2013
The RIDGID R4331 planers serial number data label is located on top of the units grey colored motor housing.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Chuck
Riverside, CA
October 23, 2013
It is on the in-feed side on a tag on top of the motor housing.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Why is this product discontinued in Tucson Home depot stores

Asked by
Junie
Tucson
about 13 in. Thickness Planer on
December 28, 2012
I tried to purchase this from the Thatcher store (they have 4) for the price in Tucson. They said they couldn't do it as it is not discontinued at there store?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
RIDGID
January 2, 2013
It is up to the distributor,Home Depot, what the pricing would be so you need to contact them for the answer to this question.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

If the planer requires 3 knifes, why does the replacement blade package only contain 2 blades?

Asked by
woodbutcher
cincinnati, oh
about 13 in. Thickness Planer on
March 26, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
RIDGID
March 28, 2014
It sounds like these may be the incorrect items. The R4331 replacement blades are not sold in a package/set, they are sold individually under part #089170109104, through RIDGID Master parts distributor. They can be reached at 800-873-2160.

Thank you
RIDGID
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Does this modle(R4331) have a brushless motor?

Asked by
Walla279
St Paul, MN
about 13 in. Thickness Planer on
March 14, 2014
I looked at a bunch of thickness planers and most of them do not seem to specify, one of them however commented about easy access to the brushes. Also is it a more or less common feature for newer thickness planers in general to have a brushed or brush-less system?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
MARV
Hershey, Nebraska, USA
April 1, 2014
No this item is NOT brushless. It has access for the brushes and you can get replacements for it.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Are carbide blades available?

Asked by
patrick
Dallas, tx
about 13 in. Thickness Planer on
April 6, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
THDCustomerSupport
Kennesaw, GA
April 7, 2014
Thank you for your recent inquiry with The Home Depot. I believe it would be best to reach out to the manufacturer for assistance. The manufacturer is RIDGID and their customer service department can be reached at 1-800-4-RIDGID.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
1 of 1