Looking for Answers about GE Energy Star Tri-Temp Free-Standing Water Dispenser with Integrated Chilled Compartment?

Customer questions and answers for
GE Energy Star Tri-Temp Free-Standing Water Dispenser with Integrated Chilled Compartment

The GE Water Dispenser is equipped with a spill-reducing water-release valve and tri-temperature water dispensers that offer hot, cold and room-temperature choices. The hot-water button features a turn-and-push design that stops the flow of water when released. Hold non-perishable items in the convenient chilled-storage area.
Customer questions and answers:
22 Questions
 | 
39 Answers
Overall rating:
2.744 out of 5
2.7
out of
5

Customer questions and answers for GE Energy Star Tri-Temp Free-Standing Water Dispenser with Integrated Chilled Compartment

Question

I have water bottles delivered that need to be punctured by the dispenser when they go on. Does this have that Water Guard feature ?

Asked by
jules
about Energy Star Tri-Temp Free-Standing Water Dispenser with Integrated Chilled Compartment on
May 26, 2011
-2points
0out of 2found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
May 27, 2011
Hi, This is Kim with GE. Thank you for your interest in our GE model number PXCR33KSS. The units have a probe on them that puncture the bottle when placed on top of the unit. Just peel off the protective sticker first and then place the bottle on top of the dispenser. I appreciate your buying GE. If other questions come up, please let us know.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Torreon
December 6, 2011
What is a water guard feature? If you mean does the water overflow when installed? NO!! it does not.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Does the water dispense very fast?

Asked by
dana
about Energy Star Tri-Temp Free-Standing Water Dispenser with Integrated Chilled Compartment on
January 16, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
January 17, 2012
Hello Dana,

Thank you for your interest in the GE Energy Star Tri-Temp Free-Standing Water Dispenser with Integrated Chilled Compartment model # PXCR33KSS.

There isn't an avgerage time and it is not very fast.

Should you have any additional questions, please let us know.

Donna with GE
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Frank
March 20, 2012
No
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Are the dispensing tubes and hot water storage tank made out of metal?

Asked by
Susan
Boston, MA
about Energy Star Tri-Temp Free-Standing Water Dispenser with Integrated Chilled Compartment on
January 15, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
January 17, 2012
Hello Susan,

Thank you for your inquiry on the GE Energy Star Tri-Temp Free-Standing Water Dispenser model # PXCR33KSS. This is donna with GE and I will be happy to help.

The dispensing tubes and hot water storage tank made out of stainless steel.

Have a great day! Thank you for considering GE!
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Frank
March 20, 2012
yes
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

IS there supposed to be something inside to penetrate the gallon when i place it ontop and if it doesnt where can i buy one

Asked by
Chela
Elko, Nevada
about Energy Star Tri-Temp Free-Standing Water Dispenser with Integrated Chilled Compartment on
January 14, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
January 14, 2012
Hi – this is Cindy from GE and I’ll be happy to help you with this. There is a valve probe built into the water dispenser. All you need to do when ready to put a water bottle onto the dispenser is peel off the label from the top cover of the bottle (if there is one – not all bottle caps have this label). Then place the bottle on the top of the dispenser aligning the probe to the center of the water bottle cap. Press down until the probe penetrates the bottle cap – this will allow the bottle to rest on the support collar. So there’s nothing extra you need to purchase. Thanks so much for your question . . .
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Mikeinohio
March 27, 2012
yes it has a device to puncture the water bottle
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

I like HOT tea, whats the hot water temp range?

Asked by
Nan
Manassas VA
about Energy Star Tri-Temp Free-Standing Water Dispenser with Integrated Chilled Compartment on
October 15, 2011
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
October 16, 2011
Hello Nan,

This is Donna from GE and I will be happy to assist you with your question on the GE Tri-Temp Free-Standing Water Dispenser with Integrated Chilled Compartment model # PXCR33KSS.

The Hot water temperature (degrees F) is approximately 194F . The Cold water is approximately 41F.

I hope this helps.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Kibbles
November 2, 2011
I'm sorry to report that you will not be satisfied with the temp. I have to microwave my tea after filling it from the dispenser to get a good brewing temp. I do not know the exact temp.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Torreon
December 6, 2011
The water temp on this model runs in the 190 bracket which is very hot and great for making a fast cup of tea.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Frank
March 20, 2012
Very nice, almost boiling hot.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Mikeinohio
March 27, 2012
Hot water temp i got is 160. Very nice when i want to make a cup of tea
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Where can I buy a replacement part? (water release valve)

Asked by
bea
about Energy Star Tri-Temp Free-Standing Water Dispenser with Integrated Chilled Compartment on
September 29, 2011
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
September 30, 2011
Hi this is Sheree from GE and I will be glad to assist you with GE Profile™ ENERGY STAR® qualified hot and cold free-standing water dispenser model # PXCF22RBS. While we have limited parts availability for the water coolers, I would still suggest checking with the Home Depot parts department at 1-877-650-2121 for pricing and availability. Thanks for your interest in GE!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Torreon
December 6, 2011
I would imagine that it could be purchased from GE. Give them a call and ask. Have your model & serial number handy.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Mikeinohio
March 27, 2012
Replacement parts manual comes with the cooler. They come from GE
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Does this leave finger prints?

Asked by
Roxanne
Orlando
about Energy Star Tri-Temp Free-Standing Water Dispenser with Integrated Chilled Compartment on
August 26, 2011
Does the stainless steel leave finger prints?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
August 26, 2011
Hello Roxanne,

This is Donna from GE and I will be happy to assist you with your question on GE Water Dispenser
model PXCR33KSS.

The finish is stainless steel and can show fingerprints until wiped off and cleaned.

Should you have any other question, please let us know.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Kibbles
November 2, 2011
Yes, it does smudge, but it is easy to clean those and it doesn't smudge as easily as other stainless products out there. It's harder to remove any water stains, however. My problem with the unit is in its engineering.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Torreon
December 6, 2011
Just about anything you touch will leave fingerprints. If your hands are clean and not greasy you should be fine touching it.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Mikeinohio
March 27, 2012
Like any smooth serface yes it will. Just wipe it with a wet cloth. It's that easy
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

my dispensr is leaking

Asked by
rose
pasadena, tx
about Energy Star Tri-Temp Free-Standing Water Dispenser with Integrated Chilled Compartment on
August 21, 2011
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
August 22, 2011
Hello Rose,

This is Michelle with GE. I am very sorry to hear that your dispenser is leaking and will be happy to help you.

First, please make sure that the leak is not caused by a problem with the bottle such as a hole or crack. If this is the cause, we must recommend replacing the bottle.

If the unit itself is leaking, the water dispenser must be replaced. This model # PXCR33KSS has a one-year replacement warranty. Please refer to the warranty section of the owner's manual for warranty details.

Thank you for contacting GE and please let us know if you have any other questions.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
luisnewyork6
New York
October 22, 2011
My dispenser (the Unit), is leaking also what do I do if the 1 year warranty is passed?
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Mikeinohio
March 27, 2012
There is a smooth ring on top where you put the water jug, make sure it is not cut or damaged. If so call GE. The number is in your booklet
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Does the dispenser require a specific type or size of bottle? Does it come with a bottle when purchased?

Asked by
upgal
Michigan
about Energy Star Tri-Temp Free-Standing Water Dispenser with Integrated Chilled Compartment on
August 20, 2011
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
August 21, 2011
Hello,

This is Donna from GE and I will be happy to help you with your question on model PXCR33KSS.

The water dispenser uses a 3 - 5 gallon water bottle. GE does not provide a water bottle. Please contact your local Home Depot store or a local water bottle distributor to purchase water bottles and filtered / spring water delivery.

I hope this helps.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Torreon
December 6, 2011
I believe this model can use either 3 or 5 gallon bottles.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Mikeinohio
March 27, 2012
Water bottle is the size of most you seen anywhere. It does not come with a bottle but they are at Home Depot
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Lost probe that punctures bottle. Can it be purchased?

Asked by
Audlover
Jersey
about Energy Star Tri-Temp Free-Standing Water Dispenser with Integrated Chilled Compartment on
April 2, 2012
Hi,
I lost probe that punctures the bottle while replacing. Can be ordered as replacement part?
If yes, please provide part# and where to order. I can't find part# in owner's manual.

Thanks
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
April 2, 2012
Hello,

Thank you for your inquiry on the GE Energy Star Tri-Temp Free-Standing Water Dispenser with Integrated Chilled Compartment model # PXCR33KS.

The part number for the Separator collar with probe is # WS28X10048. Please contact the Home Depot Parts department at 1-877-650-2121 or the GE Parts department.

I hope this helps.

Donna with GE
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

water bottle

Asked by
michael
about Energy Star Tri-Temp Free-Standing Water Dispenser with Integrated Chilled Compartment on
April 14, 2012
as water comes out of my water bottle it starts to collapse. is there something that should be done to let air enter when water comes out.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
April 15, 2012
Hello Michael.

This is Donna with GE and I am happy to help with your question on the GE Energy Star Tri-Temp Free-Standing Water Dispenser with Integrated Chilled Compartment model # PXCR33KSS.

It is very unusual to have the water bottle collaspe as the water is dispensed.

1. It may have a faulty pressure relief valve. The pressure relief valve bleeds a balancing amount of air into the bottle. This keeps the pressure inside the bottle equal to the pressure outside it. If the pressure relief valve fails (or the relief air line becomes blocked), taking out more water only leads to the creation of a vacuum inside the bottle. This difference in pressure between the inside and outside the bottle will cause the bottle to collapse as the exterior pressure crushes the bottle.
If the water cooler is under waranty, then please return it to the retailer for an exchange or contact warranty service.

2. Stacking heavy items on top of a water cooler bottle will add weight (external pressure) to the bottom of the bottle that the bottom was not designed to carry. This additional weight, along with the pressures the bottle was designed to withstand, may cause the bottle to collapse.

3. It may be a fualty water bottle. The bottle may have been formed with a defect or damaged in handling before installation, but a weak point in the bottle may lead to its failure under normal operating conditions.

I hope this helps!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

There is no button to turn off the cooler. How to turn off the cooler?

Asked by
Jason
about Energy Star Tri-Temp Free-Standing Water Dispenser with Integrated Chilled Compartment on
May 13, 2012
I don't drink cold water and I don't like the noise from the cooler. Is there anyway to turn off the cooling function from inside the dispenser (like unplug some wire or something) without damaging the unit?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
May 13, 2012
Hello Jason,

Thank you for your inquiry on the GE Energy Star Tri-Temp Free-Standing Water Dispenser with Integrated Chilled Compartment model # PXCR33KSS.

There is not a way to turn this off. Our products are designed, tested and manufactured to specific specifications. Based on these specifications we offer a warranty on the product. Any modification to a product may void the warranty.

Should you have any additional questions please let us know.

Donna with GE
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

After dispensing for a while, my water bottle starts to collapse in in like a suction, why?

Asked by
frustrated
about Energy Star Tri-Temp Free-Standing Water Dispenser with Integrated Chilled Compartment on
May 17, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
May 17, 2012
Hello Frustrated,

This is Donna with GE and I am happy to adress your concerns with the GE Free-Standing Water Dispenser model # PXCR33KSS.

Yes, it can cause a mess when the plastic water bottle collapses. There are 3 reasons why a water bottle collapses.

1. The Water Cooler Bottle Should Not Be Used As a Shelf - Stacking heavy items on top of a water cooler bottle will add weight (external pressure) to the bottom of the bottle that the bottom was not designed to carry. This additional weight, along with the pressures the bottle was designed to withstand, may cause the bottle to collapse.

2. The Pressure Relief Valve Failed - The most common reason for a water cooler bottle to collapse is a faulty pressure relief valve. Check the maintenance section in the use and care manual.

3. Faulty Bottle - The bottle may have been formed with a defect or damaged in handling before installation, but a weak point in the bottle may lead to its failure under normal operating conditions.

I hope this helps!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

I have a summer home and a winter home, can this cooler be moved from one home to the other?

Asked by
grammy
lake, Mi
about Energy Star Tri-Temp Free-Standing Water Dispenser with Integrated Chilled Compartment on
May 26, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
May 27, 2012
Hello Grammy,

GE Energy Star Tri-Temp Free-Standing Water Dispenser with Integrated Chilled Compartment
Model # PXCR33KSS.

Yes, you can move it if you take the proper steps to prepare. The unit would first need to be defrosted and then the water tanks drained. This information is provided in the use and care manual. It is best to keep in the upright position when moving.

Donna with GE
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

My water dispenser is putting small particulates into the water when it comes out... Should I have cleaned it before using? Can I clean it now?

Asked by
Pat
Virginia
about Energy Star Tri-Temp Free-Standing Water Dispenser with Integrated Chilled Compartment on
June 1, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
June 1, 2012
Hi Pat,

This is Donna with GE and I will be happy to address your concerns with the GE Tri-Temp Free-Standing Water Dispenser model # PXCR33KSS.

Yes, the use and care manual does state to sanitize the dispenser water tanks prior to installing a full bottle of water for the first time.

When water particles are floating in the water, it is an indication that the water has a high mineral content. It is recommend to find a water source with lower hardness.

I hope this helps!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

what happens when the water is not cooling and the refrigerator cooler is not cooling

Asked by
boo
ocala, florida
about Energy Star Tri-Temp Free-Standing Water Dispenser with Integrated Chilled Compartment on
June 23, 2012
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
June 24, 2012
Hello Boo,

This is Donna with GE and I am happy to address your concerns with the GE Energy Star Tri-Temp Free-Standing Water Dispenser with Integrated Chilled Compartment model # PXCR33KSS.

If you care not getting cold water, please check one of the following.

* Check to make sure the plug is completely plugged into the outlet
* Check to make sure the circuit breaker is not tripped
* If all water in tank has been used, wait 30 minutes for water to cool
* Temperature Limiter is tripped: Set the hot and cold power switches on the back to 0 or Off position. Wait 5 minites, then set the switches to the On position. Unplug for 5 minutes if model does not have power switches the back. Then wait 30 minutes for water to cool.

If problem continues, then return to retailer with of purchase for exchange.

I hope this helps!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

WHAT FILTERS DO I USE FOR THE GE PROFILE WATER COOLING TOWER PRODUCT# 070113042?

Asked by
KATHY
OHS INSURANCE AGENCY INC.
about Energy Star Tri-Temp Free-Standing Water Dispenser with Integrated Chilled Compartment on
July 20, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
July 20, 2012
Hello Kathy,

Thank you for your inquiry on the GE Energy Star Tri-Temp Free-Standing Water Dispenser with Integrated Chilled Compartment model # PXCR33KSS.

This product does not require a filter. If the water has a high mineral content, then GE recommends to find a water source with lower hardness.

Should you have any additonal questions, please let us know.

Donna with GE
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

universal water bottle

Asked by
Ukap
about Energy Star Tri-Temp Free-Standing Water Dispenser with Integrated Chilled Compartment on
September 2, 2012
the universal water bottle I use does not fit. Where can I buy a replacement bottle that fits this dispenser exactly?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
September 3, 2012
Hello,

Thank you for your inquiry on the GE Energy Star Tri-Temp Free-Standing Water Dispenser
model # PXCR33KSS.

If you feel the "neck" of the bottle is too short or too long and does not appear to work on our dispenser, then please see below.

The bottle simply rests on the collar, the length of the neck has no bearing on the operation. If the water bottle in question has a seal, tsimply pierce the seal manually and then turn the bottle over until it rests on the collar. The neck of the bottle does not need to come in contact with the separator.

Glass water bottles can also be used. However, using glass may make the water dispenser top heavy and more prone to tipping. Make sure unit is secure and cannot fall over which would likely result in a broken bottle.

Replacment water bottles are available though Home Depot or please check your local Yellow Pages. Contact a local water bottle distributor to purchase water bottles.

Donna with GE
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

How do I stop the unit from freezing up? When this happens there is a huge block of ice that stops the unit from dispensing any water!

Asked by
Jlynne
Cincinnati OH
about Energy Star Tri-Temp Free-Standing Water Dispenser with Integrated Chilled Compartment on
October 14, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
October 15, 2012
Hello Jlynne,

If the Wter dispenser is freezing up, it may be do to low ambient temperature. The unit needs to be in room temperature environment.

Please consult the warranty page of your owner's manual for exact warranty coverage. The water dispensers have an exchange warranty for the length of time stated on your owner's manual.

Donna with GE
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

This product has been discontinued. Do you know of a replacement product for it?

Asked by
russell
about Energy Star Tri-Temp Free-Standing Water Dispenser with Integrated Chilled Compartment on
December 13, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
December 13, 2012
Hello Russell,

Thank you for your inquiry on the GE Smartwater hot/cold water dispensers.

There is not a replacement for this model. GE is no longer manufacturing the Smartwater dispenser.
I would recommend to check with a local Home Depot for available inventory.

Donna with GE
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
1 2 »