Looking for Answers about Char-Broil Big Easy 16,000 BTU Oilless Propane Gas Outdoor Turkey Fryer?

Customer questions and answers for
Char-Broil Big Easy 16,000 BTU Oilless Propane Gas Outdoor Turkey Fryer

Fry turkeys the safe and healthy way with the Char-Broil The Big Easy Propane Oil-Less Fryer. Since this fryer uses a 16,000 BTU burner, there is no oil to buy, pre-heat or dispose of, making your cooking preparation effortless. Cool-touch handles help protect your hands during operation, and a pull-out grease tray makes cleanup a snap. Cooks up to 16 lb. of turkey, 8 lb. roast, ribs and more.
Customer questions and answers:
42 Questions
 | 
223 Answers
Overall rating:
4.85 out of 5
4.8
out of
5

Customer questions and answers for Char-Broil Big Easy 16,000 BTU Oilless Propane Gas Outdoor Turkey Fryer

Question

Why does Char-Broil call this a oil-less fryer, when all this does is broil the turkey or other meats?

Asked by
Meat-Master
stroudsburg, pa
about Big Easy 16,000 BTU Oilless Propane Gas Outdoor Turkey Fryer on
December 22, 2011
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
10 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
aukj99
Killen, AL 35645, USA
December 27, 2011
It's true that this is more of a broiler than a fryer. However, the high heat cooking gives the skin a crispness that is typical of fryers. I suppose you could more aptly name it by the cooking style, but the name does indicate the taste and texture that this product yields.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
frymama
Benton, AR, USA
January 3, 2012
It uses infrared heat to fry the meat. I wondered about it myself, but it really works! I got one for Christmas and I will never go back to the regular turkey fryer.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Charbroil
December 23, 2011
The Char-Broil Big Easy Oil-less Turkey Fryer is able to call itself a fryer because it is able to provide all of the same flavors as a standard turkey fryer, but in less time, with less clean-up and while providing a much safer and healthier cooking experience. This Oil-less Turkey Fryer utilizes infrared technology to cook virtually anything.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Propshops
Joplin, MO, USA
December 29, 2011
In my opinion, this product is much safer than a oil fryer. The meat comes out nice and brown on the outside and so juicy on the inside. Just follow the directions in the manual and you would be very surprised in my opinion.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
lablady429
Adrian, MI 49221, USA
January 3, 2012
I think it is better than roasting in oven because it was cooked all the way around the chicken..It was a home grown fatty chicken which I cooked and it removed about 2 cups of fat but the meat was still moist and I am not a big fan of dry breast meat on chickens and turkeys.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
BillC
Jacksonville
December 23, 2011
It makes a bird as good as a oiled fryer, taste the same and is ten times easier to use. I will never use a oil cooker again.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
DavidSF6
Orlando, FL, USA
January 3, 2012
It does more than broil. The infrared heat penetrates the meat and fries and sears the outside keeping the interior hot and juicy. Turkey tastes like fried turkey without the oil taste.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
Dianne
Vero Beach, FL
January 3, 2012
Because the drippings from the meat go into a separate container, away from the meat, to keep the meat from sitting in the drippings, in which you can use for gravy.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Asked by
Diino
Louisiana, USA
January 3, 2012
I've fried quite a few turkeys and the turkeyc that come out of this "fryer" is essentially the same as the oil-fried turkeys minus the oil. The meat is juicy just like the oil-fried turkey. There is a difference in taste of course but the difference is slight IMO.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 10
Asked by
Hubbyloves2cook
January 3, 2012
Because it uses infrared heat to cook the meat causing it to cook much like frying does (without the fat). The moisture is sealed inside the cut of meat unlike many other cooking methods that dry out the meat when trying to cook a large cut all the way through. If you are cooking a turkey or other poultry it comes out much like a deep fried bird. The benefits of not using oil are numerous - cost (most fryers require up to ten gallons) disposal, safety, and health benefits...
+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Question

What is the cooking time in the Big Red compared to cooking in the oven?

Asked by
Foxy Lady
Spokane,m WA
about Big Easy 16,000 BTU Oilless Propane Gas Outdoor Turkey Fryer on
December 23, 2011
I just want to know the cooking time per pound.
0points
1out of 2found this question helpful.
Answer this question
7 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Hondo
December 27, 2011
About same time as a cooking bag but with nice even crispy brown skin and real juicy meat.. 10. min per pound on turkey's. I go with inside thigh temp. for doneness. ie: 165 to 170 Degrees.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
aukj99
Killen, AL 35645, USA
December 27, 2011
I think it depends on what you are cooking. Since it's namesake is concerning turkey, I'll assume that is what you are speaking of. If you brine the turkey in an iced down brine, I would plan on a good 10 minutes per pound. If you are starting at a room temp bird, it is closer to 7-8 minutes per pound (according to a friend of mine, since I brine my birds every time).
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
TTBF
December 26, 2011
10 mins/lb, about half the time it takes in an oven
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
kennyfl
December 27, 2011
The Big Easy takes about 10 min per lb, while the oven usually takes double. Plus, it will not heat up the house and will leave room for you to cook other dishes or pies. Buy the Big Easy...you will not regret the taste and ease!
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Charbroil
December 23, 2011
Foxy Lady,
A general guideline for cook time is 8-10 minutes per pound for turkey or chiken. Roasts and most other larger cuts of meat will take slightly longer. Cook times will vary depending on the outdoor weather conditions. With The Big Easy®, food is done once it reaches proper internal temperature. You will want to measure the internal temperature with the included meat thermometer (for larger cuts) or an instant-read food thermometer (for smaller cuts). You will also want to make sure that your meat selections are fully thawed before cooking.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
WildBill
Mobile, AL, USA
December 26, 2011
I cooked 4 turkeys for Christmas. Averaged 12 minutes per lb.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
JustMe
December 27, 2011
Our turkey was almost 16 lbs and it took about 2 1/2 hours.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

can you stuff the turkey ?

Asked by
Sal
about Big Easy 16,000 BTU Oilless Propane Gas Outdoor Turkey Fryer on
December 23, 2011
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Hondo
December 27, 2011
I cook with out stuffing. I make it on the side just for my guests safety. If it was just for me I would cook it with stuffing inside.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
measure2cut1
Ohio, USA
December 27, 2011
Char-Broil recommends not stuffing a turkey for this product so I didn't take the chance.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Propshops
Joplin, MO, USA
December 29, 2011
The manual says that you should not stuff your bird
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Romilin
December 29, 2011
Your not "supposed" to ever stuff a turkey. But im sure you can if you want but if you try make sure its up to temp inside.... Also you will have to secure the stuffing inside since you have to stand it up inside the cooker breas side up with its legs spread open (stuffing will fall out)........
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Charbroil
December 23, 2011
Sal,
We do not recommned stuffing your turkey prior to cooking in The Big Easy. To ensure that your turkey reaches a safe internal temperature you will want to cook it with an empty cavity, check it with a meat thermometer, and follow the USDA guidelines for safe internal temperatures.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
WildBill
Mobile, AL, USA
December 26, 2011
The USDA does not recommend stuffing the turkey
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Has anyone used this for anyting other than turkey

Asked by
Acwebb
La
about Big Easy 16,000 BTU Oilless Propane Gas Outdoor Turkey Fryer on
January 2, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
7 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Charbroil
January 3, 2012
Acwebb,

Most definitely! The Big Easy, model 10101480, is a versitile cooking machine. Here is just a small example of what you can do: Roasts, briskets, ribs, chicken, chicken wings, pork shoulder, tenderloins, baked potatoes or any of your favorite vegetables. The only limit is your culinary imagination. Check out http://live.charbroil.com/ for great recipes and advice from our forum users.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
sirking
Mobile, AL, USA
January 4, 2012
I have cooked beercan chickens(perfect), boston butt roast(perfect) rump roast(cooked a little too long), but the turkey breast came out perfecy at 8 minutes per lb.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
BeachGrillin
Panama City, FL, USA
January 11, 2012
We have cooked prime rib, pork roasts, baked potatoes, and chicken wings. It worked wonderfully for all of it. We have purchased a few different types of racks for use in the basket, which allows you to cook different sized meats. We also use a temperature probe for all the cooking to ensure we get it right,
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Jmatz
January 11, 2012
Yes, Prime Rib and a New York steak roast. Both were great
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
RanaLH
Kemah, TX, USA
January 12, 2012
Yes I cooked a Pork Loin and came out very tender
I also cooked Lamb and it was really good
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Boyka
Pensacola, FL
January 14, 2012
So far I used the oil-less fryer with a Turkey and Boston roast. I am very satisfied with the results the meat taste great.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
0000000000000
October 14, 2012
Ribs, chik quarters, brisket, loin, lamb leg, etc...
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can you use this as a smoker for somthing like a brisket?

Asked by
marohan
San antonio
about Big Easy 16,000 BTU Oilless Propane Gas Outdoor Turkey Fryer on
January 3, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Charbroil
January 3, 2012
marohan,

You can definitiely cook a brisket in The Big Easy, model 10101480, though you won't be able to smoke it in the traditional sense as there is no way to use wood chips in this model. If you are interested in a more traditional smoking experience whiile still maintaining the Infrared benefits of the Big Easy we do offer a couple of other Big Easy models that have built in smoker boxes. Model 11101625-A1 is out Electric Big Easy 2-in-1 Smoker and Roaster and model 12101550 is out Big Easy Smoker, Roaster, and Grill. You can check out both at www.charbroil.com.
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
gmann212
November 16, 2012
OH YEAH!!!! Just bought mine today and broke it in with a pork butt. Never had one so juicy and falling apart before and I've smoked a ton of these in the past.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
ibis
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
January 10, 2012
I am planing on cooking a brisket, although I do not expect it to come out like a real smoked one, but it should be very moist and juicy if cooked to the proper temp. Good luck!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
HeadCook
Etters, PA 17319, USA
August 14, 2012
No. The Big Easy is not designed to be a smoker. You need a charcoal grill where you can use different wood chips. You would be better off to buy a charcoal or gas type smoker for this.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
GranJan
Hot Springs National Park, AR 71913, USA
January 22, 2013
we love to cook a large pork loin in ours
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Has any one used fryer to cook a brisket?

Asked by
devildog12
kerrville
about Big Easy 16,000 BTU Oilless Propane Gas Outdoor Turkey Fryer on
January 5, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
THDCustomerService
Atlanta, GA
January 10, 2012
Hi Devildog12,

We would like to help you further on this question.

Please could you contact us at our Customer Service Hotline# 1-800-466-3337.

Thank you.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
gmann212
November 16, 2012
What up DEVILDOG, first of all let me say thx for your service, much respect for the corps. I just bought The Big Easy today and broke it in with a pork butt. I've smoked a ton of roasts in the past and this was the best yet, no joke. Easy too. Just turn it on and check the thermometer bout every other beer or so. Go buy one DD
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Tommy
Safety Harbor, FL, USA
April 4, 2012
Absolutely. Hang it in the basket with skewers.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
HeadCook
Etters, PA 17319, USA
August 14, 2012
Yes you can do a brisket in The Big Easy. Just use your meat thermaitor supplied with unit and cook meat until desired doneness.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
0000000000000
October 14, 2012
Yes, and it works. You will need to use skewers and put the gas halfway, otherwise it will cook too fast on the outside and too rare on the inside.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

can you fry wings and fries

Asked by
jackie
Doerun,Ga
about Big Easy 16,000 BTU Oilless Propane Gas Outdoor Turkey Fryer on
April 17, 2012
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Charbroil
April 18, 2012
Absolutely! Just about anything is possible in the Big Easy. I would recommend using one of the baskets or half racks to assist with this. Please follow this link to view the accessories that we currently have available... http://www.charbroil.com/grilling-smoking-accessories/the-big-easy-accessories.html?SID=f3m8jd0m6ll06s9h7qo8fq8og7
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
SinginCajun
Mississippi, USA
May 4, 2012
we have not done wings, but we did cook breast strips, they were excellent - just watch close, they cook fast, you can't insert the thermometer
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
zookeper
Salton City, CA, USA
October 9, 2012
I am not sure but is something else to try
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
HeadCook
Etters, PA 17319, USA
August 14, 2012
No you can't do wings or fries in the Big Easy. You need to use a fryer with oil to get even heat distribution. There best done in a oil type frier.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
0000000000000
October 14, 2012
Wings may work but you'll need to put them in skewers. Fries will NOT work and the heat is too intense and will simply burn the outside and not cook the inside. We've tried potato quarters and got mixed results -- i would not repeated for sure because some of the potatoes did not cook thoroughly.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
theorangeguy
Huntsville, AL
December 18, 2012
You can cook multiple things in the cooker, but you will have to get the additional inserts to accomidate different types of foods...the one it comes with is for chickens, turkey's etc...smaller food types will fall through the bottom of the insert the fryer comes with.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can it (infrared fryer) be converted to natural gas?

Asked by
Jaws
Montgomery, Alabama
about Big Easy 16,000 BTU Oilless Propane Gas Outdoor Turkey Fryer on
September 19, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
zookeper
Salton City, CA, USA
October 9, 2012
I don't think you can convert it, I would ask Charbroil about this.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Charbroil
September 19, 2012
The Big Easy Oil-Less Turkey Fryer is only designed to work with propane and cannot be safely converted to natural gas.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
grk57
Charter Township of Clinton, MI, USA
October 10, 2012
no
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
0000000000000
October 14, 2012
The conversion may be possible if you can change the regulator for a NG regulator.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
ezrizer
Covington, LA
December 29, 2012
I was able to successfully convert mine by removing the LP regulator and hose and re-plumbing for natural gas. I then enlarged the jet accordingly and it worked great.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

cookbook

Asked by
judy
caldwell, ks
about Big Easy 16,000 BTU Oilless Propane Gas Outdoor Turkey Fryer on
October 21, 2012
the cookbook was missing in my fryer - where do I get another one?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Charbroil
October 22, 2012
Please follow this link to the cooking guide... http://content.charbroil.com/content/Char-Broil/Knowledge/10101480%20Cooking%20Guide%20English.pdf
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
John
Charleston
November 23, 2012
Just go ton the user forum. Or go to HD and ask them for one. Sure they will open a box for one.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can you still inject the bird before cooking?

Asked by
Sandy
LaPorte, Texas
about Big Easy 16,000 BTU Oilless Propane Gas Outdoor Turkey Fryer on
November 7, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
7 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
gmann212
November 16, 2012
Sandy of course you can!!! You can put just about anything in The Big Easy that you would in a conventional smoker, gas, or charcoal grill. GO FOR IT!!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Andy
San Antonio, TX, USA
January 11, 2014
You can inject the bird before, during and after if you wish to do so. My recommendation is for you to experiment using chicken and decide what marinade and process you like first. Then after you decide what you like best you move to a Turkey or fish, ribs etc.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Charbroil
November 8, 2012
Absolutely! Please follow this link for more information on the Big Easy Oil-less Turkey Fryer... http://www.charbroil.com/catalog/product/view/id/9437/s/the-big-easy-tru-infrared-oil-less-turkey-fryer-12101480/category/120/
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Marem33
Fort Walton Beach, FL, USA
November 8, 2012
Yes. There is a drip pan in ours to catch drippings.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
NisUpstateNY
November 18, 2012
Absolutely!!! I injected it with a store bought brand but butter and seasonings would do the trick as well.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
cajunjake
Centerville, GA
November 23, 2012
Yes, in fact you should inject the Turkey (or chicken) one day prior to cooking to get a more seasoned bird!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
John
Charleston
November 23, 2012
Yes. Did it yesterday. Worked great. No limitation at all. Also brined.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is there a collection cup to capture the drippings to make gravy?

Asked by
boothette
Pennsylvania
about Big Easy 16,000 BTU Oilless Propane Gas Outdoor Turkey Fryer on
November 22, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
7 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Trish
Fayetteville, NC, USA
November 24, 2012
Yes, but it is in the form of a pull out tray. Our Charbroil came with an additional foil pan to insert within the tray. (Supposedly the tray itself is not safe for collecting the drippings without the insert) It worked very well. I had about half a stick of butter rubbed under the skin and the tray was only about half full when the turkey was complete.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
CEWR86
Locust Grove, GA, USA
November 27, 2012
Yes.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
bp4095
Florida, USA
December 11, 2012
Yes, collection cup is supplied with the Big Easy
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
cajunjake
Centerville, GA
November 23, 2012
Short answer is Yes. At the bottom of the fryer you will find a pull out drawer that collects the drippings - system works very well. The fryer comes with one aluminum pan that you insert in the drawer - to date, I have not been able to locate replacement pan's (aluminum pan is about 10 inch by 6 inch and about 2.5 inches deep) - I did notice that you can buy these online at various sites. I have been lining my lone aluminum pan with foil so that I can "recycle" this pan and this works well. For Thanksgiving I cooked a 14 lb turkey, which filled the pan halfway with drippings, which my wife used for her gravy - delicious!
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Reimy
Rochester Hills, Michigan
November 23, 2012
Yes there is a slide out tray at the bottom. Holds quite a bit of drippings.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Charbroil
November 23, 2012
Absolutely! The Big Easy does have a grease tray to catch all of the drippings. Please make sure to use the Easy-Out Drip Pans when using the Big Easy. Here is a link to the Easy-Out Drip Pans... http://www.charbroil.com/easy-out-drip-pans-5-for-the-big-easy.html
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
John
Charleston
November 23, 2012
Yes. Just use a food save try. Hd had then. About 4 dollars for pack of 5.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

The wire to ignite the broil to the white thing inside the broil does not connect am I doing something wrong?

Asked by
big red
about Big Easy 16,000 BTU Oilless Propane Gas Outdoor Turkey Fryer on
December 12, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Charbroil
December 14, 2012
The ignitor wire on the bottom of the Big Easy should connect to the ignitor and the other end should attach to electrode. Please reference page 14 of your product guide. For further information give us a call at 1-800-241-7548.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
jlb2012
lompoc, ca
January 17, 2013
We had the same problem with ours, my husband used electrical tape to connect it and it worked just fine, We have used it a couple times with no problem.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
StocksDoc
BLASHING.com
January 14, 2014
You need to connect it . . . that is one of the assembly instructions.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
theorangeguy
Huntsville, AL
December 18, 2012
Use a very small flat head screw driver and spread the teeth on the inside of the wire just enough to slide on. I had to do the same thing and it worked like a charm...
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

what is the difference between models 12101480 &10101480

Asked by
Buddy
Charleston
about Big Easy 16,000 BTU Oilless Propane Gas Outdoor Turkey Fryer on
December 19, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
CEWR86
Locust Grove, GA, USA
December 20, 2012
I really don't think there's a difference in the two models I have the 10101480 model. The 12101480 is just a later model, the only difference I see is the the Plate on the the outside saying Tru Infrared. My Plate just says Char-Broil Big Easy. It cooks wonderful, I am very pleased with it.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Charbroil
December 20, 2012
The main difference between the two Big Easy models is the year each was manufactured. Model 12101480 is the newer, 2012, model. There are a few aesthetic differences, such as the color of the legs and outer body. However, both models are be able to provide the same great flavors and a TRU-Infrared experience. Please follow this link for more information on model 12101480... http://www.charbroil.com/catalog/product/view/id/9437/s/the-big-easy-tru-infrared-oil-less-turkey-fryer-12101480/
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

if a twenty pound turkey fits in the big easy could you use the big easy to cook it

Asked by
catch all the fish
about Big Easy 16,000 BTU Oilless Propane Gas Outdoor Turkey Fryer on
December 24, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
cajunjake
Centerville, GA
December 26, 2012
The literature from the manufacturer recommends max turkey size of 16 lbs - I personally endorse this. In fact, I personally have cooked a 13 lb turkey in the Big Easy (prior owner of Fried Turkey Fryer WITH Oil) - not sure I personally would go any bigger than 13 lbs. I definitely would NOT recommend cooking a 20 lb turkey. Just because you can physically stuff a bigger turkey in the Big Easy does not mean you can OPTIMALLY "fry" a bigger bird in this fryer - you have to balance out the cooking time versus the "burn" factor - you want to have a thoroughly cooked turkey, without scorching up the outside - my wife hates a burnt up (on the outside) turkey! I believe a 20 lb turkey will turn out very dark (maybe even severly burnt) on the outside, but still be a little raw between the breast and thigh.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
jh665
Swansea, SC, USA
December 26, 2012
The instructions say about a 14 pound turkey but if the turkey fits and doesn't touch the sides of the cooker, it should be alright. Just cook according the per pound time.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
CEWR86
Locust Grove, GA, USA
December 26, 2012
I haven't tried a twenty lb. yet. But I was told by someone else that they cooked an eighteen lb with no problem.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
HeadCook
Etters, PA 17319, USA
December 26, 2012
If the turkey fits, you can cook it.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Charbroil
January 3, 2013
This Big Easy is only designed to fit a turkey up to 16 lbs. Due to size constraints a 20 lb turkey may not cook properly. Depending on ambient temperature, it should normally take about eight to ten minutes per pound to cook a turkey. Please follow this link for more information on this Big Easy model... http://www.charbroil.com/catalog/product/view/id/9437/s/the-big-easy-tru-infrared-oil-less-turkey-fryer-12101480/

For a larger turkey, I would recommend the Big Easy Smoker, Roaster & Grill (Model # 10101550). This model can cook a turkey up to 25 lbs. Here is a link for more information on the Big Easy Smoker, Roaster & Grill... http://www.charbroil.com/the-big-easy-smoker-roaster-grill.html
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
kj55
Riverside, CA, USA
January 14, 2013
haven't tried it... good question, it only reccommends a 16.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Should you adjust the heat dial for different cooking items, and what is the average settings for cooking?

Asked by
Hobo
Jacksonville, Fl
about Big Easy 16,000 BTU Oilless Propane Gas Outdoor Turkey Fryer on
December 29, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
SR1942
Florida
January 8, 2013
There is no way that I found to correlate temperature setting to control position. Nor does the documentation provide any guidance.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Busdriver58
Baton Rouge, LA, USA
February 13, 2013
Yes ! Different foods require different temps, and more or less time! don't be afraid to experiment !
A good starting point is on max, but keep a close eye on it. Also don't start foods with the lid on, as this will cause food to cook faster and burn! only use the lid at the end of cooking to brown!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Docter
Central Coast, California
December 30, 2012
No, no need to adjust the temperature. The MAX on the control knob is for a preset temperature for searing the meat and cooking throughout according to the minutes per pound called for in the manual.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Charbroil
December 31, 2012
When using the Big Easy Oil-less Turkey Fryer, make sure that the control knob is turned all the way to the on setting. This will allow for optimum gas flow and performance. Food normally takes about ten minutes per pound to cook completely. For cooking information and recipes visit http://live.charbroil.com/.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
kj55
Riverside, CA, USA
January 14, 2013
No dial - its just on. The lid is something that helps control the heat.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
GranJan
Hot Springs National Park, AR 71913, USA
January 22, 2013
we purchased a digital thermometer. just be careful to NOT over cook. Food continues to cook after removed.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

does the big easy have covers for the top? ours is falling apart!

Asked by
tomt
sarasota,fl
about Big Easy 16,000 BTU Oilless Propane Gas Outdoor Turkey Fryer on
January 18, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Freetime
Virginia, USA
January 21, 2014
Yes, I ordered a cover from Charbroil. It is grey and it fits perfectly
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
GranJan
Hot Springs National Park, AR 71913, USA
January 22, 2013
lots of accessories can be ordered on line including a cover.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Charbroil
January 22, 2013
The lid for this Big Easy is Model # 29101333. Please follow this link for more information... http://www.charbroil.com/storage-lid.html
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
CHAM4
New Orleans
May 25, 2013
Not 100% sure, but seach accessories from Home Depot or online. May find one.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
GarettPB
Kennesaw, GA
December 17, 2013
Yes! You can order them directly from the manufacturer's website, or, you can pick one up online at HomeDepot.com if they are in stock.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
JerseyDIYer
East Windsor, NJ, USA
February 5, 2014
Yes. You can purchase from Home Depot or order online.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

I THOUGHT LAST YEAR THIS CAME IN AN ELECTRIC PRODUCT. DID THAT CHANGE?

Asked by
JB
CAVE CITY, KY
about Big Easy 16,000 BTU Oilless Propane Gas Outdoor Turkey Fryer on
May 2, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
JodyMac
Tampa
February 18, 2014
I saw they still have it but it is called the "Roaster Smoker Big Easy" it comes in gas or electric.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
PatInPaint
May 2, 2013
Hello JB!

Several electric product are available including:

Butterball Electric Turkey Fryer, and
http://www.homedepot.com/p/Butterba...

Masterbuilt 30-inch Electric Smoker.
http://www.homedepot.com/p/Masterbu...

More options are available.

Go to HomeDepot.com and search for electric fryer and electric smoker.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Charbroil
May 3, 2013
JB - You are correct. There was an electric version of the Big Easy that released last year. It should be available again in June. Please follow this link for information... http://www.charbroil.com/the-big-easyr-2-in-1-electric-smoker-roaster.html
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
CHAM4
New Orleans
May 25, 2013
No. That did not change. There is an electric turkey fryer(Butter Ball), but it is not the Big Easy. Nor anything like it. It uses Oil.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Tommy
Jacksonville, NC, USA
January 14, 2014
The butter ball turkey fryer is electric. Same concept.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

How much propane is needed for 2-3 hours of frying a turkey?

Asked by
kaypo
arizona
about Big Easy 16,000 BTU Oilless Propane Gas Outdoor Turkey Fryer on
October 14, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
8 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Charbroil
October 15, 2013
Propane consumption can vary with weather conditions. However, a 20lb tank will easily do the job. Follow this link for more information on the Big Easy Oil-less Turkey Fryer... http://www.charbroil.com/the-big-easy-tru-infrared-oil-less-turkey-fryer-12101480.html
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Lovesthisfryer
Madison, Alabama
Home Improvement Profile: Other
November 29, 2013
Depends on the BTU rating of your fryer. It takes 1 lb of propane per hour per 15,000 BTU, so for example a 30,000 BTU burner would use 2 lbs of propane per hour.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Pokerface
Camano Island, Washington, USA
January 8, 2014
I have a 5 gallon propane bottle. I have cooked a 3 pound pork roast, a 16 pound turkey, a 3 pound rib roast, and a 3 pound chuck roast, and I still have propane left. Thats a total of 6 and a half hours of cooking. When you compare that to oil, you'll save a ton of money
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Debra
Twin Falls, Idaho
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
December 2, 2013
As first-time users, we started to panic when my husband announced that we had less than 1/4 left in our 20# tank on Thanksgiving morning. That was more than enough to cook our 13 pound turkey.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
GarettPB
Kennesaw, GA
December 17, 2013
Make sure your 20 lb tank is full before you start. Depending upon your altitude, the temperature of the oil when you start, the temperature of the turkey when you start, and the temperature of the air, the amount of gas you need can vary. The last thing you want to do is run out to the nearest gas refill station in the middle of cooking your bird.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Tommy
Jacksonville, NC, USA
January 14, 2014
No different than cooking on a gas grill. Not much at all.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
TEXCB
Fort Worth TX
January 14, 2014
I always start with a full tank. A full tank has fried 2 Turkeys and 3 Chickens so far with some still to spare.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
Biggamike
Austin, Tx
January 14, 2014
not sure on the exact amount but the standard size propane tank that you can buy at your local gas station will be more than enough. I've been using the same tank for a year.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is it safe to leave the pop out temp thermometer in (which is in many turkeys when you purchase) while cooking?

Asked by
Pops
MI
about Big Easy 16,000 BTU Oilless Propane Gas Outdoor Turkey Fryer on
November 25, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Hutch
November 25, 2013
Yes you can leave the pop out thermometer and provided meat thermometer in the turkey as well.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Python
Fairfax, virgina
November 29, 2013
Yes, unless you want to pull it out and use a traditional thermometer.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Marcia
Bedias, Texas
December 28, 2013
Yes, it is safe. I do not use it to determine the cooking time. I use the thermomter.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Freetime
Virginia, USA
January 21, 2014
Yes, not a problem. Left mine in and it worked perfectly
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Charbroil
November 25, 2013
This should be safe to leave in. However, when using the Big Easy Oil-less Turkey Fryer we recommend using an internal meat thermometer to know the exact temperature of the turkey.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Tommy
Jacksonville, NC, USA
January 14, 2014
I left it in the turkey I cooked with no issues. I did leave the turkey in longer to crisp the skin.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

does Home depot offers a warranty plan other than the manufacture?

Asked by
george
bham,al
about Big Easy 16,000 BTU Oilless Propane Gas Outdoor Turkey Fryer on
November 25, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
JodyMac
Tampa
February 18, 2014
Yes, and it is very inexpensive! I always buy from Home Depot because the extended warrantees are so cheap. I purchased one on each of my grills and we may never use them but I would hate to be without mine after having one!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Charbroil
November 26, 2013
Please contact your local Home Depot for information on this.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Debra
Twin Falls, Idaho
December 2, 2013
Yes! One of my customers bought three Big Easys yesterday, as Christmas gifts, and purchased the Home Depot extended warranty (which takes effect after the manufacturer's warranty expires) for all of them. The Extended Protection Plans are available for many products.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
GarettPB
Kennesaw, GA
December 17, 2013
Go to http://www.homedepot.com/c/The_Home_Depot_Protection_Plans for additional details or call 1-800-466-3337. Have your receipt ready when you call.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
« 1 2 3 »