Looking for Answers about Char-Broil Big Easy 16,000 BTU Oilless Propane Gas Outdoor Turkey Fryer?

Customer questions and answers for
Big Easy 16,000 BTU Oilless Propane Gas Outdoor Turkey Fryer

Fry turkeys the safe and healthy way with the Char-Broil The Big Easy Propane Oil-Less Fryer. Since this fryer uses a 16,000 BTU burner, there is no oil to buy, pre-heat or dispose of, making your cooking preparation effortless. Cool-touch handles help protect your hands during operation, and a pull-out grease tray makes cleanup a snap. Cooks up to 16 lb. of turkey, 8 lb. roast, ribs and more.
Customer questions and answers:
49 Questions
 | 
235 Answers
Overall rating:
4.829 out of 5
4.8
out of
5
(585 Reviews)585

Customer questions and answers for Char-Broil Big Easy 16,000 BTU Oilless Propane Gas Outdoor Turkey Fryer

Question

Is this product available in a natural gas version?

Asked by
Greg
about Big Easy 16,000 BTU Oilless Propane Gas Outdoor Turkey Fryer on
November 23, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Charbroil
November 25, 2014
The Big Easy Oil-less Turkey Fryer can only be used with a 20 pound propane tank. It cannot be converted to natural gas.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

How do you cook chicken wings?

Asked by
Bubba
about Big Easy 16,000 BTU Oilless Propane Gas Outdoor Turkey Fryer on
January 31, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
February 2, 2015
Hi Bubba,

This item is designed for large items such as a turkey, you cannot safely cook chicken wings in this fryer.

Mike
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

IS THERE A DIFFERENCE BETWEN THE 12101480 MODEL (HOME DEPOT) AND THE 14101480 MODEL?

Asked by
1212
MASS
about Big Easy 16,000 BTU Oilless Propane Gas Outdoor Turkey Fryer on
December 4, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Charbroil
December 5, 2013
The main difference between the two is the year of manufacture. Model 12101480 is a 2012 and Model 14101480 is a newer 2014. Both of these Big Easy Oil-less Turkey Fryers can provide tons of flavor and ease without having any of the mess or hazards of oil. Follow this link for more information on the Big Easy Oil-less Turkey Fryer... http://www.charbroil.com/the-big-easy-tru-infrared-oil-less-turkey-fryer-12101480.html
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Why are you out of stock and why can't I get on a waiting list to order??

Asked by
wahmonty
about Big Easy 16,000 BTU Oilless Propane Gas Outdoor Turkey Fryer on
April 25, 2015
Why are you out of stock and why can't I get on a list to order?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Larry
Sun Prairie, WI.
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
April 27, 2015
That is a question for home depot to find an answer.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

i s unit available

Asked by
mcwh
about Big Easy 16,000 BTU Oilless Propane Gas Outdoor Turkey Fryer on
December 17, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
THDSUPPORT
December 18, 2014
Thank you for your recent inquiry with The Home Depot. Unfortunately, this item is discontinued and is no longer in stock or available to be purchased. The item will remain on the website for customer reference, and the description will be updated with “DISCONTINUED” if it has not been already. We may have an alternate item that would suit your needs. For any other questions, please call us at HomeDepot.com Customer Service 800-430-3376. Thank you for shopping Home Depot.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

cookbook

Asked by
judy
caldwell, ks
about Big Easy 16,000 BTU Oilless Propane Gas Outdoor Turkey Fryer on
October 21, 2012
the cookbook was missing in my fryer - where do I get another one?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Charbroil
October 22, 2012
Please follow this link to the cooking guide... http://content.charbroil.com/content/Char-Broil/Knowledge/10101480%20Cooking%20Guide%20English.pdf
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
John
Charleston
November 23, 2012
Just go ton the user forum. Or go to HD and ask them for one. Sure they will open a box for one.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

what is the difference between models 12101480 &10101480

Asked by
Buddy
Charleston
about Big Easy 16,000 BTU Oilless Propane Gas Outdoor Turkey Fryer on
December 19, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Charbroil
December 20, 2012
The main difference between the two Big Easy models is the year each was manufactured. Model 12101480 is the newer, 2012, model. There are a few aesthetic differences, such as the color of the legs and outer body. However, both models are be able to provide the same great flavors and a TRU-Infrared experience. Please follow this link for more information on model 12101480... http://www.charbroil.com/catalog/product/view/id/9437/s/the-big-easy-tru-infrared-oil-less-turkey-fryer-12101480/
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
CEWR86
Locust Grove, GA, USA
December 20, 2012
I really don't think there's a difference in the two models I have the 10101480 model. The 12101480 is just a later model, the only difference I see is the the Plate on the the outside saying Tru Infrared. My Plate just says Char-Broil Big Easy. It cooks wonderful, I am very pleased with it.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

how to cook a brisket in the big easy oilless fryer?

Asked by
Williams7914
houston tx
about Big Easy 16,000 BTU Oilless Propane Gas Outdoor Turkey Fryer on
December 23, 2013
has anyone ever tried cooking a brisket in the big easy fryer? I know you can do different meats but I was curious if it turned out good and how long does it take?

Thanks
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
StocksDoc
BLASHING.com
January 14, 2014
I have done it once and it turned out under-cooked . . so be sure to cook for 15-minutes per pound. You never have to worry about it not being juicy.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Charbroil
December 27, 2013
Cooking a brisket in the Big Easy is definitely something you can do! You will be surprised at how well it will turn out with the natural juices locked in. Expect about 30 minutes per pound, but if it's colder in your area, it may take longer. Good luck to you and Happy Grilling!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Hello...does this have a place to add wood chips for smoke flavor,and how well would it work for a rack of pork spare ribs?

Asked by
Goober
Iowa
about Big Easy 16,000 BTU Oilless Propane Gas Outdoor Turkey Fryer on
September 18, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Charbroil
September 22, 2014
This Big Easy is not able to support wood chips or wood chunks.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Larry
Sun Prairie, WI.
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
November 23, 2014
Not sure, a thin layer of soaked wood chips wrapped in tin foil with holes poked in the top may work, the heat is from the sides not the bottom so I would try it and see if the bottom gets hot enough to provide enough smoke and last long enough to permeate the meat. The temperature is hotter than a smoker. Use of smoke chips would probably darken the inside of the cooker, not sure how that would affect it, good luck, it's s great little cooker, Larry
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

How do you clean the inside of the fryer? Can you wash it?

Asked by
Ricci
about Big Easy 16,000 BTU Oilless Propane Gas Outdoor Turkey Fryer on
November 22, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GrillinInTexas
Dallas, Texas
December 10, 2014
I burn off any excess grease and food debris. Once it cools down, I take a small brush and knock off any of the burnt on food and dump the debris in the trash and put the unit away for the next time. If you want to you can wipe a real light coat of vegetable oil on the inside before you store it away. I wouldn't wash it though, if you wash it you are taking away the seasoning of the pan, think of it like a cast iron skillet.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Larry
Sun Prairie, WI.
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
November 23, 2014
They recommend using a brush on the bottom, then wipe it out, mine hasn't gotten that dirty, if you brush and wipe it after each use it stays pretty clean, it's kind of like a grill, doesn't need to be spotless. The basket and racks need to be cleaned well, I spray them with cooking spray before using, that helps clean up tremendously. You'll love it, good luck, Larry
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can a remote Thermometer be used and will it be accurate? or will it damage the lead on the probe

Asked by
cooker
Carrollton TX
about Big Easy 16,000 BTU Oilless Propane Gas Outdoor Turkey Fryer on
November 14, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Charbroil
November 18, 2014
A remote meat thermometer can definitely be used with food in the Big Easy. Accuracy and durability will depend on the thermometer used.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Larry
Sun Prairie, WI.
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
November 23, 2014
I think so, you would have to figure out a way to support the wire to the probe, especially if it is not a stainless/metal covered wire, I think a plain soft covered wire would be damaged if it touched the housing and/or the cover. If you support it clear of any contact I think it would work and be accurate. Good luck, it's a great little cooker, Larry
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Could you send me the instructions on this product please?

Asked by
jj
about Big Easy 16,000 BTU Oilless Propane Gas Outdoor Turkey Fryer on
October 19, 2011
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Donn
Hawaii, USA
December 6, 2011
Go to the Char Broil website. Not much to the instructions. This thing is so easy to put together. Char Broil did a great job in arranging parts and limiting the amount of time to put this together. All you need is a phillips screw driver.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Charbroil
October 21, 2011
We can definitely help you out. Both the cooking guide and assembly manual are available for free online. Just click the link provided or copy it into your web browser to access them both. http://bit.ly/psZH3V.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
BillC
Jacksonville
December 23, 2011
They are on the manufacturers website.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can it be converted to use with Natural Gas?

Asked by
David
cartersville, ga
about Big Easy 16,000 BTU Oilless Propane Gas Outdoor Turkey Fryer on
November 6, 2011
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Donn
Hawaii, USA
December 6, 2011
You will need to contact Char Broil for this info.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Charbroil
November 9, 2011
The Big Easy is only designed to work with a 40 pound propane tank. I apologize, but it cannot be converted to natural gas.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
BillC
Jacksonville
December 23, 2011
I wouldn't.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Is model 1480 electric or gas

Asked by
Lou
about Big Easy 16,000 BTU Oilless Propane Gas Outdoor Turkey Fryer on
December 1, 2011
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Donn
Hawaii, USA
December 6, 2011
Gas
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Charbroil
December 1, 2011
Lou,

The Big Easy Infrared Turkey fryer, Model 10101480, is gas and uses a standard 20lb propane (LP) tank..
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
BillC
Jacksonville
December 23, 2011
propane
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can you brew in this model as other traditional turkey fryers are sometimes used?

Asked by
momgonz
suburban Chicago
about Big Easy 16,000 BTU Oilless Propane Gas Outdoor Turkey Fryer on
November 26, 2011
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
gmann212
November 16, 2012
no
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Donn
Hawaii, USA
December 6, 2011
I don't think so, as there is a hole in the bottom of the inner barrel to drain excess oil.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Charbroil
November 28, 2011
momgonz,

Unfortunately this unit cannot be used for brewing. However, it is great for turkeys, chickens, roasts, ribs, and so much more.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

does Home depot offers a warranty plan other than the manufacture?

Asked by
george
bham,al
about Big Easy 16,000 BTU Oilless Propane Gas Outdoor Turkey Fryer on
November 25, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GarettPB
Kennesaw, GA
December 17, 2013
Go to http://www.homedepot.com/c/The_Home_Depot_Protection_Plans for additional details or call 1-800-466-3337. Have your receipt ready when you call.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Charbroil
November 26, 2013
Please contact your local Home Depot for information on this.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
JodyMac
Tampa
February 18, 2014
Yes, and it is very inexpensive! I always buy from Home Depot because the extended warrantees are so cheap. I purchased one on each of my grills and we may never use them but I would hate to be without mine after having one!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Debra
Twin Falls, Idaho
December 2, 2013
Yes! One of my customers bought three Big Easys yesterday, as Christmas gifts, and purchased the Home Depot extended warranty (which takes effect after the manufacturer's warranty expires) for all of them. The Extended Protection Plans are available for many products.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Has any one used fryer to cook a brisket?

Asked by
devildog12
kerrville
about Big Easy 16,000 BTU Oilless Propane Gas Outdoor Turkey Fryer on
January 5, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
gmann212
November 16, 2012
What up DEVILDOG, first of all let me say thx for your service, much respect for the corps. I just bought The Big Easy today and broke it in with a pork butt. I've smoked a ton of roasts in the past and this was the best yet, no joke. Easy too. Just turn it on and check the thermometer bout every other beer or so. Go buy one DD
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Tommy
Safety Harbor, FL, USA
April 4, 2012
Absolutely. Hang it in the basket with skewers.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
HeadCook
Etters, PA 17319, USA
August 14, 2012
Yes you can do a brisket in The Big Easy. Just use your meat thermaitor supplied with unit and cook meat until desired doneness.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
0000000000000
October 14, 2012
Yes, and it works. You will need to use skewers and put the gas halfway, otherwise it will cook too fast on the outside and too rare on the inside.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Sushma
Atlanta, GA
January 10, 2012
Hi Devildog12,

We would like to help you further on this question.

Please could you contact us at our Customer Service Hotline# 1-800-466-3337.

Thank you.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

can you cook chicken wings and fish?

Asked by
bobo
about Big Easy 16,000 BTU Oilless Propane Gas Outdoor Turkey Fryer on
November 15, 2011
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Donn
Hawaii, USA
December 6, 2011
They have special rack to cook chicken wings. In fact thier website has a receipt for chicken wings.
Fish may be difficult as the heat may be too high for fish.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Charbroil
November 16, 2011
Absolutely! Just about anything is possible in the Big Easy. Please take a look at the Big Easy Leg Rack (model # 2248975P). This accessory was designed specifically for cooking chicken wings. You can follow this link to view the Big Easy Cooking Guide... http://www.charbroil.com/Support/article.aspx?articleid=1811
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
BillC
Jacksonville
December 23, 2011
I have never tried it. I know they sell a wing/leg attachment, so I would say yes on that one. As far as fish, I believe it would but is would be a trial and error process.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
GranJan
Hot Springs National Park, AR 71913, USA
January 22, 2013
you can order a bracket to do chicken wings..don't know about fish
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
JodyMac
Tampa
February 18, 2014
Yes. They turn out so beautiful. The good thing is it keeps fish odor out of the house! But seriously, you will use it once and never try any other way to grill fish!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

The wire to ignite the broil to the white thing inside the broil does not connect am I doing something wrong?

Asked by
big red
about Big Easy 16,000 BTU Oilless Propane Gas Outdoor Turkey Fryer on
December 12, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Charbroil
December 14, 2012
The ignitor wire on the bottom of the Big Easy should connect to the ignitor and the other end should attach to electrode. Please reference page 14 of your product guide. For further information give us a call at 1-800-241-7548.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
jlb2012
lompoc, ca
January 17, 2013
We had the same problem with ours, my husband used electrical tape to connect it and it worked just fine, We have used it a couple times with no problem.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
theorangeguy
Huntsville, AL
December 18, 2012
Use a very small flat head screw driver and spread the teeth on the inside of the wire just enough to slide on. I had to do the same thing and it worked like a charm...
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
StocksDoc
BLASHING.com
January 14, 2014
You need to connect it . . . that is one of the assembly instructions.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
GrillinInTexas
Dallas, Texas
December 10, 2014
When I assembled mine the wire was really tough to get on. Don't force it or you might break it. I used a small screwdriver to gently open the blades on the fitting so that it was a little bit easier to get on without being loose.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

How does it compare to fried turkey?(taste)

Asked by
jj
about Big Easy 16,000 BTU Oilless Propane Gas Outdoor Turkey Fryer on
October 19, 2011
+9points
9out of 9found this question helpful.
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Donn
Hawaii, USA
December 6, 2011
I thought the taste was the same. I put a wire thermometer into the breast so I did not have to remove the turkey to take the temp reading. If you do not have a wired thermometer, it is so easy to remove the turkey, check the temp and replace the bird.
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Charbroil
October 24, 2011
Tastes great and healthier too. With its 100% Infrared heat circling the cooker and evenly penetrating your meats The Big Easy seals in the natural juices. This will give you a turkey that is moist on the inside and crispy on the outside without the risk, hassle or added fat and calories of oil. The great part is with the aluminum drip pans you can collect your drippings to make delicious homeade gravy. You also have the option to use dry rubs and seasonings on the outside of the turkey. Neither of which is an option with traditional oil fryers.
+7points
7out of 7found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
BillC
Jacksonville
December 23, 2011
Having used both, I prefer the taste of the oil-less. It has a fried bird consistancy and flavor without all of the grease.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
0000000000000
October 14, 2012
Lighter and less fat. Tastes more like roasted than fried.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
jh665
Swansea, SC, USA
December 26, 2012
I have had both a fried turkey and a Big Easy turkey and in my opinion, the Big Easy turkey was much moister and had a better taste. My son cooked the turkey at Thanksgiving and we liked it so much that we bought a cooker for ourselves. Now we have a turkey fryer and an infared cooker and I imagine we won't be using the fryer for turkey anymore.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
1 2 3 »