Looking for Answers about Char-Broil Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner?

Customer questions and answers for
Char-Broil Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner

The Char-Broil Gourmet 3-Burner Gas Infrared Grill offers a wide temperature range so that you can perform intense searing at the cooking surface as well as slow and low barbecuing and rotisserie cooking. This grill features 680 total sq. in. of cooking surface. Its 3 stainless steel burners sear in flavor to help keep foods moist and juicy.
Customer questions and answers:
86 Questions
 | 
238 Answers
Overall rating:
3.994 out of 5
4
out of
5

Customer questions and answers for Char-Broil Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner

Question

Does meat cooked on this grill have a "grilled" taste or does it taste like it was baked in the oven?

Asked by
MJ
about Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner on
August 13, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
SouthJersey1953
Mullica Hill, NJ
August 14, 2013
It definitely has a grilled taste. The InfraRed seals in the juices so your meat doesn't dry out. The 'drippings' fall down into the pan and smokes instead of flaming up like the conventional grills. You get a lot of smoke which really enhances the flavor.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Wesley
Cincinnati, OH
August 14, 2013
The taste you get in your food will vary with a little on how you use your grill. If you set it at a low temperature and cook for a long time on, say, a piece of foil, then yes, it might taste a little bit more like the food came from an oven than from a grill.

If, however, you use this grill to its full capability and use all 700 degrees on the grates to achieve a nice sear on meats, this will taste not just 'like' it came from a grill - it will taste exactly like it.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Charbroil
August 14, 2013
Food cooked on this Char-Broil Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Grill definitely has a grilled taste and is on average 30 to 50% juicier than food cooked on standard convection style gas grills. Along with delicious flavors, this Char-Broil Gourmet Grill also offers a wide range of temperatures and tons of control. Follow this link for more information on TRU-Infrared grilling... http://www.charbroil.com/why-tru-infrared-grill
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
NewEnglander
September 10, 2013
I was worried about this too, but rest assured it has a great grilled taste. It also leaves very nice grill lines on your meat (if you care about the esthetics).
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Brokendog58
Pasco, Florida
October 8, 2013
definitely grilled. you can sear the meat or veggies and slow cook if desired.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Skip4124
DE
August 21, 2013
Most times it has a grilled taste. The way it is made it is very easy to add Chips.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Does it come with a cover?

Asked by
Brendan
about Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner on
August 15, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GrillGirl
August 15, 2013
No, you have to purchase it.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Charbroil
August 16, 2013
This Char-Broil Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Grill does not come with a grill cover. The grill cover must be purchased separately. For this grill I would recommend the 65" Rip-Stop Grill Cover. This is Model # 8049197. Follow this link for more information... http://www.charbroil.com/grilling-smoking-accessories/grill-covers/65-inch-rip-stop-grill-cover-8049197.html
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
dantheman
August 28, 2013
no cover included
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
NewEnglander
September 10, 2013
No. We bought one via Amazon that works great.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Skip4124
August 21, 2013
No it doesn't
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
KyleA90
Madison, IN
April 15, 2014
Brendan,

No, it does not come with a cover, but there are an array of options to choose from at a great price!

Hope this helps!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

I read in one of the reviews that the Grill Has a self cleaning feature. What???

Asked by
apg
slidell, louisiana
about Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner on
August 21, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
SouthJersey1953
Mullica Hill, NJ
August 22, 2013
Not true. However, it is extremely easy to clean. The grates and pan come out easily for simple cleaning.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
esteban
Baltimore, MD, USA
August 22, 2013
It works like a self cleaning oven. You turn the temperature on high and it burns off the grease and food debris.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Skip4124
DE
August 22, 2013
Not really. You can put it on high so that it is easier to clean. Of all the grills I have owned this is the easiest to clean by far.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Charbroil
August 22, 2013
This Char-Broil Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Grill does not have the self cleaning feature. However, it can utilize the burnoff technique. This is where the grill is turned to high for about 20 minutes and burns off any food or grease. Any remaining food particles can then be wiped off. Follow this link for more information this grill... http://www.charbroil.com/char-broil-gourmet-t-36d-17657.html
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Momof4
California, USA
August 22, 2013
Sone models do. Works like a self-cleaning oven on extrene heat. I wash my grills in warm soapy water but to clean the bottom pan the theory is that the debris burns off. It does that to a certain degree when cooking. If the model does not have a timer for the clean cycle be sure you set a timer for the recommended time.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
NewEnglander
September 10, 2013
Yep, it is just like your oven's self-clean.

This baby will crank up the gas and heat up all the various drippings and such so that they cook off. It is excellent. After I let it cool down, I follow up with a brief scrapping to clear any leftovers.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Cooking grids... cast iron vs porcelain coated cast iron

Asked by
Svetlana
about Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner on
June 25, 2014
Hello. I am new to grilling and have many questions, but main for now is which is better for cooking, just cast iron or Porcelain-Coated Cast Iron . TIA
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Jeff
Frederick, MD
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
June 26, 2014
Porcelain coated are very remarkable. It's like a no stick pan, coat with spray and your food won't stick. Advantages of cast iron with holding the temp with a non stick feature. Cleans up very easily too.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Remarkable
Columbus, Ohio
June 26, 2014
I have had grills with each type of grid. I don't really see any difference in the cooking but the maintenance on the porcelain grids is a little higher because you can't use the steel wire cleaners on them.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
ChristineInFlorida
Northeast Florida
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
June 26, 2014
I've had positive experiences with porcelain cast iron. The most important one is they don't rust . My 3 yr old grill is outside kept under a cover and even with Florida humidity, the grids have zero rust. I do have rust on the black painted shelf and have had to replace the metal pan that fits entirely over the burners. While food will still stick to porcelain coated grates, especially if you don't oil them, I can soak them in soapy water and use a scrub brush to remove everything and they look glossy again.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Charbroil
June 26, 2014
The porcelain coating helps by adding an extra layer of protection to the cooking grates. This will keep food from sticking and also help to prevent rust.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Brad
Nashville, TN, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
June 26, 2014
Most grill grate's are cast iron. The porcelain coating protects the iron and makes cooking and cleaning easier. A needed option and most come with the porcelain coating. I would not want a grill that did not have the porcelain coating.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
BenC
Franklinton, NC
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
June 29, 2014
My smoker has the cast iron and they tend to rust quickly. Unless after cooking and letting them cool you clean and coat in oil. Even covered they will rust. I have never had the rust issue on my porcelain grates
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Will the "clean" feature clean the grates for you instead of washing them?

Asked by
Rose
California
about Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner on
November 7, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Fehringer1
Broken Arrow, OK
November 8, 2012
It does a fairly good job of cleaning them. But you still however need to pull the grates and pan and clean them out now and then. The grill it's self is the best one I have ever used!
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Sdf20
Madison
November 9, 2012
It will turn anything left on the grates to ash. I usually use the clean function and then wipe the grates down with a dry towel. Every so often you just have to bite the bullet and clean the grates thoroughly.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
grillpronow
Florida
November 10, 2012
in a word ... "kinda"
No substitute for elbow grease
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Charbroil
November 8, 2012
The clean function on this grill will burn off food and grease particles to reduce everything to ash so that cleanup is that much easier. I would still recommend using a brush and grill cleaner to make sure that the cooking grates are completely clean. Please follow this link for more information on cleaning this model... http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=e8jtZ62hukA
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
CDog
Orange, CA, USA
November 11, 2012
No. The clean feature just runs the burners at full blast so the grill gets as hot as possible and burns away anything it can. However, you still need to use a grill brush and cleaner to clean the grates. The nice thing about this grill is that all drips/food particles fall into the u-shaped infrared pan that is above the burners and that is easy to clean versus a traditional grill where everything just drops around the burners.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Corey
California, USA
November 8, 2012
In my experience with this grill it only gets them very very hot, but does not self-clean them like a self-cleaning oven will. While it does make scraping them off easier, my personal opinion is that it is a waste of propane.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

On the guide surrounding the dials, what does the criss-cross one stand for?

Asked by
patti
about Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner on
May 28, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
grillpronow
Florida
May 29, 2013
SEAR - its in the manual
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Charbroil
May 29, 2013
This is the sear setting on your grill. Please reference the Cook Guide on the right side shelf.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Regulator123
Idaho, USA
June 25, 2013
I believe it is "sear". When cooking a steak If you turn it up to sear and let the grill get really hot then put your steak on for a couple minutes then flip it over. Then you turn it down to finish cooking. This sears the outside of the steak really fast causing the juices to stay in the meat.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
SouthJersey1953
Mullica Hill, NJ
August 10, 2013
Look at the decal on the right side of the grill (front of the right side shelf).
It explains what ALL of the symbols mean... (the criss-cross means sear)
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
HarleyJohn
May 29, 2013
I believe it's "SEAR". Basically the dial goes from the hottest setting to the lowest temps just like all grills. The symbols represent grilling, searing, rotisserie, etc.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

can you get this grill in a Natural gas option

Asked by
john
long island
about Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner on
June 8, 2013
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Warren
Irving, TX, USA
June 10, 2013
Yes, you have to buy the converter kit, and it is easy to install. The pipe fitting didn't fit my gas connection, so I had to buy some extra pieces from Home Depot (I think it cost under $10), but otherwise it was easy to install.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
SouthJersey1953
Mullica Hill, NJ
August 10, 2013
Yes. on the Home Depot page that describes the grill there is a link to the owners manual. See the box that says "Info & Guides" Download the manual and read the section on converting to natural gas.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
smiley
florida
Home Improvement Profile: Other
July 14, 2014
sure
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Charbroil
June 11, 2013
This Char-Broil Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Grill can be converted to natural gas. A natural gas conversion kit is needed to convert this grill. Please use Model # 4584625. Follow this link for more information... http://www.charbroil.com/red-natural-gas-conversion-kit.html
+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Skip4124
DE
August 21, 2013
The liturature that came with mine mentioned a natural gas feature.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

what is the loose chain on side of grill for?

Asked by
james
about Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner on
July 6, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Smiley
Florida
July 14, 2014
It is a match holder which is explained in your instruction manual, try reading the manual it has allot of great info from maintenance to great cooking tips. if you lost the manual you can get another one from their web site
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Charbroil
July 7, 2014
The chain on the side of the grill is to help with match-lighting the grill. Please reference the product guide for your grill for more information.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
lovenovas
July 8, 2014
match holder if your ignition switch goes out.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Christopher
Lubbock TX.
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 15, 2014
For holding a match if your electric start fails, a redundancy just in case you are not where you can go get a battery or something else goes wrong and you need to use the grill.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Anonymous
Corona, Ca
July 31, 2014
To hold a match to lite the grill if the igniter does not work.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What is the difference between RED Tru Infrared and just TRU Infrared?

Asked by
25JC
about Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner on
July 25, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Charbroil
July 25, 2012
A TRU-Infrared grill means that this grill generates a minimum of 65% infrared heat across the entire cooking surface. TRU-Infrared grills will cause your food to be juicier, provide a more even cooking surface and faster cook times. The RED (now called the Gourmet) TRU-Infrared is an example of one of these grills. For more information and to view more TRU-Infrared grills please follow these links... http://www.charbroil.com/tru_infrared, http://www.charbroil.com/grills/tru-infrared-grills.html
-1point
1out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Billy
New York, NY, USA
January 30, 2013
The grates are very different. Very hard to clean in the tru design. The red type is super as it is much simpler. KISS
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
smiley
florida
Home Improvement Profile: Other
July 14, 2014
one has the word red and the other doesn't
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Warren
Irving, TX, USA
June 11, 2013
I think it was just a name change
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

is this type of grill better than a standard gas grill built be weber

Asked by
greg
massillon, ohio
about Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner on
March 12, 2013
-2points
0out of 2found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
smiley
florida
Home Improvement Profile: Other
July 14, 2014
big time better weber is over rated and has slipped majorly over the years they ain't what they used to be (weber)
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Fehringer1
Broken Arrow, OK
March 12, 2013
It certainly is!! I have had both and this one cooks all my dishes perfectly! I have had many grills over the years and this grill beats them all hands down!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Charbroil
March 13, 2013
The Char-Broil Gourmet TRU-Infrared Grill stands far above any standard grill. This grill utilizes TRU-Infrared technology to provide high temperatures, more control, even heating and juicy flavors. Follow this link for more information on this grill... http://www.charbroil.com/char-broil-gourmet-t-36d-17656.html
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Skip4124
DE
August 21, 2013
I have had both and I like this Charbroil better.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

The biggest drawback I hear is that the grill gets too hot and cannot cook vegetables or fish well. Can anyone comment on cooking low heat food?

Asked by
Austin
Chicago
about Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner on
June 21, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Regulator123
Idaho, USA
June 25, 2013
This grill does cook pretty hot, but I have not had much problem cooling it down. I was slow cooking some ribs once and wanted it cooler than I could get it so I propped the door up about a inch or so. this allowed some air in and cooled down the grill. I hope this helps.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Momof4
California, USA
June 21, 2013
We have cooked corn on the cob, wrapped in heavy duty aluminum foil, on the upper rack with great results. I suspect that fish wrapped in foil would also do well up there. Have not tried fish or veges on the lower grills yet. However, if you only turn on one burner, I think you might have more control. So far I have not experienced the grills getting too hot. Have not burned anything so far.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Charbroil
June 24, 2013
This Char-Broil Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Grill does have the ability to reach higher temperatures than a standard convection style gas grill. However, the low and slow style of grilling is still easily achievable. I would recommend only using one burner to grill instead of all three. TRU-Infrared grilling allows for juicier flavors, a wider range of temperatures and more control than standard convection grills. Follow this link for more information... http://www.charbroil.com/why-tru-infrared-grill
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Skip4124
DE
August 21, 2013
Try not using all the burners. I have done fish and vegies using only one burner and put my fish/veg basket on opposite side.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

if i buy this grill in store is it assembled

Asked by
eli746
Whitman Mass
about Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner on
February 18, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Herb
Lutz, FL
June 23, 2014
Yes it was.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
smiley
florida
Home Improvement Profile: Other
July 14, 2014
yes either option is available
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Charbroil
February 19, 2014
Please contact your local Home Depot for assembly information.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
NomoreCharbroil
Nashville
March 11, 2014
Yes, it can be bought either in the box or fully assembled. if you do get the fully assembled, remove the grills and grates and anything else in the fire box before you move it or haul it home.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

how do you preserve the writing around the control knobs and on the side shelf?

Asked by
scooter
Canfield, Ohio
about Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner on
May 12, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
ChristineInFlorida
Northeast Florida
May 13, 2014
All I can think is maybe put some high temperature clear paint over the writing. Good for up to 500 degrees. It's inexpensive. Type this in your search engine: Dupli-Color DE1636 Ceramic Clear Engine Paint - 12 oz
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Brad
Nashville, TN, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
June 10, 2014
Interesting. I have not had that problem but my grill is still fairly new. Firstly, I would not clean with anything harsh. No steel wool and/or scratch pad and no harsh oven cleaners etc. I use an old cotton hand towel and stainless steel cleaner. When I get things a little dirtier, I will use "Dawn" dish detergent and the same cotton towel/rag. That should do it. Clean often rather that wait until it is really dirty and stuff is hard to get off.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
smiley
florida
July 14, 2014
Check the manual or check their web site or ask a home depot pro. I have seen several ways. but you have to choose what is best for your needs
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Charbroil
May 13, 2014
To best preserve the writing on the control panel we recommend only using warm soapy water or nonabrasive grill cleaners. Follow this link for more information on this grill... http://www.charbroil.com/char-broil-gourmet-t-36d-463251713.html
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Am a newbie to Gas grill.Bought this three burner Gas grill .Would like to know how to season or prep the grill for using.

Asked by
linisan
CA
about Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner on
July 1, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Smiley
Florida
July 14, 2014
Read and follow the directions that clearly lay it out on that subject. it's really easy enjoy
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
smiley
florida
Home Improvement Profile: Other
July 14, 2014
check with the owners manual
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Charbroil
July 1, 2014
To best season the grill we recommend using canola oil. Apply canola oil to the cooking grates and turn the grill to high for about fifteen to twenty minutes. Seasoning the cooking grates will add a protective layer that will keep help to keep food from sticking and prevent rust.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Christopher
Lubbock TX.
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 15, 2014
The cook surface is powder coated and needs no seasoning, the IR reflector (the pan in the bottom) needs a 30 minute burn in at medium temp after that it is ready for food. Make sure to use polished edge tools not cheap stamped tools to preserve the powder coat (treat it like you would a Teflon pan.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

How do you connect the propane tank to the char broil red gas grill?

Asked by
Jim D.
about Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner on
September 17, 2011
+4points
4out of 4found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
TomC
September 20, 2011
should be a hose with regulator coming from the right side of the burners. rest the tank in the circle indentation at the bottom of the grill, screw the hose in (taking care not to kink or overly stretch the hose)
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Charbroil
November 14, 2011
Jim D.,

First you will want to make sure your LP cylinder is properly secured inside the grill cart. The tank will sit in the tank retaining indention in the middle of the cart and be secured with the tank screw at the rear of the cart. You will want to make sure the collar of the tank is facing the rear and that the tank valve is facing the front of the cart. The regulator for your grill will be on the right hand side. You will want to make sure that all of your control knobs are in the off position and that the LP cylinder is also off. You will then remove the protective cap from the LP cylinder. Next hold regulator and insert nipple into LP cylinder valve. Hand-tighten the coupling nut, holding regulator in a straight line with LP cylinder valve so as not to cross-thread the connection. Finally, turn the coupling nut clockwise and tighten to a full stop. The regulator will seal on the back-check feature in the LP cylinder valve, resulting in some resistance. An additional one-half to three-quarters turn is required to complete the connection. Tighten by hand only – do not use tools. If you have access to your assembly manual this information will be located on pages 5 and 6.
+8points
8out of 8found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
jhunz
Houston
December 24, 2011
The tank sits in the bottom of the grill cabinet and is connected with a hose that includes a regulator.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

Does this have a self cleaner

Asked by
Jack
Toms River NJ
about Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner on
January 22, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Charbroil
January 23, 2012
This grill is not self cleaning. However, it can utilitze the burn off technique and is farely simple to maintain and clean. Please watch the video provided for more information.
Video Answer:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
GiantsFan
San Jose
January 31, 2012
It has a cleaning setting...the burners are on full throttle. But I wouldn't call it a "self cleaner". You still have to scrape the grill with a grill brush to get all of the residue off.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
HappyGriller
January 31, 2012
It has a clean setting, that will burn off residuals in about 10 minutes, then you brush it off and oil the burners.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

How to connect this grill to a gas line?

Asked by
Gas grilled in Illinois
Chicago, IL
about Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner on
March 23, 2012
We purchased this grill with a propane tank and we are moving into a residence with a gas line connected to our natural gas in our house
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Charbroil
March 24, 2012
This grill can be safely converted to natural gas. Please look at the Char-Broil Red Natural Gas Conversion Kit. This is model number 4584625P.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
GrillinGuy
Spokane, WA, USA
May 27, 2013
Consulant your grill owners manual or call the factory support 800 number, but mine came as a propane/natural gas convertable model. All I had to do was remove each of the burners propane orfices, the propane regulator assembly, and the bezels assembly under each of the control knobs. Once this was done; install the new bezels under the knobs (the natural gas ones have a different stop position for the knobs) and install the flexible 10' natural gas line. The kit for doing all this includes the female part of the gas line quick connection to your house supply line. and the wrench for removing the orfices. Took about 1/2 hour.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Pete
New Hampshire
May 28, 2013
You need to buy the natural gas conversion kit.

http://www.charbroil.com/grilling-smoking-accessories/natural-gas-conversion-kits.html
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

When buying the Char-Broil TRU-Infrared 3-Burner Gas Grill from Home Depot's website, what model # is sold? Is that the same as what's sold in stores?

Asked by
Greg
about Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner on
May 4, 2012
It looks like model # 463250510 is what is sold online and model # 463250512 is what is sold in stores. From what I understand about Char-Broil model numbers, the one sold online is the 2010 model and the one sold in stores is the most recent 2012 model. Is that correct?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
May 8, 2012
Hello Valued Home Depot Customer,
Thanks for your question and interest in this item. There is a large selection of grills to choose from. The model number for this particular grill is # 463250510. Your local Home Depot may have this item or something similar in stock to fulfill your request. To locate a store near you, please click on the “store locator” found at the top of each page. If you have any further questions, please contact our Online Customer Service Department at 800-430-3376 between 6:00 a.m. and 2:00 a.m. Eastern Time daily.
Thanks.
-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Stump
May 15, 2012
I bought mine online and it was the same as the one in the store
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Greg
May 16, 2012
@Stump: The models are extremely similar. Are you sure it was model #463250512 or was it #463250510?
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What are dimensions of this model - can we pick up in our Town & Country minivan?

Asked by
Verna
Livonia, MI
about Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner on
May 7, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Charbroil
May 7, 2012
This grill measures 23.25" x 45.5" x 57". (Depth x Height x Width)
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
yogi
utah
May 10, 2012
Comes in a 3 1/2 foot by 3 foot box and is very heavy, yes it would fit, need help to lift it. If it is assembled, it is about 60 inches long, 2 feet deep and 4 feet tall. (3 burner model)
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
CCarl
Ohio, USA
May 23, 2013
If it is in the box (assembly required) you can definitely fit it in a minivan - might need to take the back seats out/down.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is there less smoke than a traditional grill? Can you grill inside a garage without smoke?

Asked by
J
Kentucky
about Gourmet 3-Burner TRU-Infrared Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner on
May 20, 2012
0points
1out of 2found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Charbroil
May 21, 2012
The amount of smoke in the grill is really going to depend on the type of foods being cooked. Foods with higher fat contenct will cause more smoke. Smoke can still occur when using this grill and we would not advise using it indoors.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Miller the Griller
Nawlins, LA Baby!
May 22, 2012
This is probably the same person who wants to know if you can use a generator inside...
+3points
4out of 5found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Mike
Lanoka Harbor, Lacey, NJ 08734, USA
May 22, 2012
No, not really. As far as the garage, if you are suicidal you can try it!
+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 »