Looking for Answers about Toro Personal Pace Recycler 22 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower with Electric Start?

Customer questions and answers for
Toro Personal Pace Recycler 22 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower with Electric Start

With the Personal Pace system that matches your walking speed and a 3-in-1 bagging system, the Toro Recycler 22 in. 7.25 Series Briggs & Stratton Gas Variable Speed Self-Propelled Electric-Start Walk-Behind Power Mower offers mulching, bagging and side di
Customer questions and answers:
51 Questions
 | 
174 Answers
Overall rating:
4.023 out of 5
4
out of
5

Customer questions and answers for Toro Personal Pace Recycler 22 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower with Electric Start

Question

what is the dfference between the toro mower model #20384 and the model #20334?

Asked by
charbie
Kansas
about Personal Pace Recycler 22 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower with Electric Start on
March 9, 2012
+16points
16out of 16found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Toro
March 12, 2012
Model 20344, the Toro 22 in. Personal Pace Electric Start Self-Propelled Gas Mower, has a 22" steel deck, a Briggs & Stratton engine, height-of-cut is 1" - 4", bag-on-demand feature and a 2-Year Residential/45 Day Commercial Warranty. Model 20384, the Toro 21" Personal Pace® Electric Start , has a 21" Cast-Aluminum deck, a Toro Engine, height-of-cut is 1.25" - 4.25" and a 5-Year Residential/45 Day Commercial warranty. Please view the product pages for additional information.
+10points
11out of 12found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Pilot
Boise Idaho
May 5, 2012
The 20834 is a 21 inch, super mulcher. This means the blade is veneered (grooved) clipping accelerator tunnel, and clipping kickers that force the clippings down. The deck is aluminum, the engine is an overhead valve type like your car The 20334 is a mulcher, 22 inch, steel deck. in block valves. All new Toros use the Briggs ans Straten engine vs. the Tecumseh that had problems with oil leals.
+6points
7out of 8found this answer helpful.
Question

Is this a front or rear wheel drive, and what typr of drive is it, belt or chain?

Asked by
billy
about Personal Pace Recycler 22 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower with Electric Start on
March 26, 2012
+8points
8out of 8found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Toro
March 27, 2012
The 22" electric start model is a rear wheel drive self propel. It is belt driven.
+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
henry12
March 27, 2012
Rear will drive and it belt drive
+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Question

Can electric start torro 22 in. be started also manually with cable?

Asked by
Buddy
Belle Vernon Pa.
about Personal Pace Recycler 22 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower with Electric Start on
May 2, 2012
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Toro
May 3, 2012
Yes, this mower can be started either with electric start or with the recoil rope.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Pilot
Boise Idaho
May 4, 2012
Yes, there is a pull rope recoil sterter also.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
xtrain
Boise, ID, USA
May 4, 2012
Yes, there is also a very effective pull / recoil starter.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Homewrecker
Puyallup, WA, USA
March 21, 2013
Yup. Has a pull rope. My wife uses the starter and I use the rope. Either way starts very easily.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
CHRISSY
Taylorsville, UT, USA
May 23, 2013
Yes you can also start it the old fashioned way, pull start!!!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
toronomore
October 5, 2012
Yes, this is the only way to initially start the electric start mower. After mower starts and warms up the electric start will work if mower is temporary shutoff to empty bag.
-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

DOES THIS MOWER RECHARGE THE BATTERY WHILE ENG IS RUNNING?

Asked by
HELPER
ARLINGTON, TX
about Personal Pace Recycler 22 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower with Electric Start on
May 16, 2012
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Homewrecker
Puyallup, WA, USA
March 21, 2013
Does not. The battery holds a charge for quite some time though. That is the one thing you do need to remember if you plan to use the starter. Plug it in every now & then. About once a month or just a little more often depending how much you use it. In winter when your not using the mower it might be a good idea to bring it inside out of freezeing temps. Longer life perhaps?
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
HappyDayze
Lake Tapps, Washington, USA
July 12, 2013
NO! That's why it comes with it's own little battery charger.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
MsLabMgr
Gainesville, FL
July 29, 2013
No, it must be plugged in to charge. But, I have had this mower for almost a year and the battery is still on its first charge. I mow almost every week and have to start/stop/restart the mower at least 4 times - many more times if I'm bagging the clippings. Never had a problem starting, just one quick turn of the key.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
CHRISSY
Taylorsville, UT, USA
May 23, 2013
If you are referring to model 20334, you have to plug it in after several uses, it should have came with a charger unit to plug into power .
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Toro
May 17, 2012
No, the mower doesn't recharge the battery while running. When you first purchase the mower you will need to charge the battery before use and then recharge the battery after approximately every 25 starts. Charger is included with the mower.
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
bluedngold69
Tonawanda, NY, USA
May 19, 2012
no it has a dedicated charger. Ive mowed 5 times and it has not yet required a charge
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is there any way to lock the smart drive to one speed?

Asked by
Wayne
Lincoln, NE
about Personal Pace Recycler 22 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower with Electric Start on
July 2, 2013
I also find the smart drive awkward to handle.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Rick
Kelso, Wa
July 11, 2013
You can get a thick stick and cut to notch the ends it at your correct speed. Not a wise idea as releasing this is what allows the motor to stop moving and not killing the blade and you could have a runaway killer on your hands. They explicitly tell you not to mess with this function, so I would suggest getting a regular self propelled motor that moves the speed you like to mow. I have this mower because I use a walker and can inch along behind it when mowing, or my children can mow the lawn and basically run along as they can cut the yard in ten minutes when it takes me two days. Safety first......
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
jim
fayetteville, ga
July 8, 2013
Do not buy a Toro "Personal Pace" mower. I have a 2010 version of this mower and it has been nothing but trouble. It does not work on any type of hill and on flat ground it only works when the grass catcher is empty. It does however work fine when using the driveway to get back to the garage. To bad I haven't been able to get Bermuda to grow on concrete. I've replaced the left side drive wheel twice because the gear has been chewed up and the way it's sounding now It needs to be done again.
Again, do not buy a "Personal Pace" mower!
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
TravisHDAtl
Atlanta, GA
July 2, 2013
Hi Wayne,

Locking the drive system into one speed will create an unsafe mower that will not stop when you stop.

The Personal Pace system is designed to operate as if you were mowing with a "push mower". Its propel system makes the mower seem weightless, thus easier to maneuver.

For best results, operate the Toro Personal Pace system from directly behind the mower with both hands on the handle and walk at any pace that you wish.

The Home Depot offers a 30-day return policy on gasoline powered equipment. If this is not the mower for you, let your local Home Depot know about it.

Travis
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Toro
July 2, 2013
The personal pace drive system does not have a locking speed or cruise control option. Its design eliminates the need to set a specific speed since the system is designed to move at your pace. Personal Pace is the most intuitive self-propel drive system in the industry and requires little effort beyond the action similar to pushing a shopping cart or stroller. If you have not tried the personal pace drive system, I would encourage you to try it for yourself.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
zman58
Canton OH
December 12, 2013
Sounds like you want a fixed adjustable speed mower. Personal pace mowers are not designed for this type of behavior. I would imagine you could put a clamp stop on the lever somehow, so it only depresses so far. Maybe a small hose clamp installed on the metal handle just below the handle. That would limit the top speed. The speed of the mower is dependent on how far the handle is depressed.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

IS THERE A BATTERY ON BOARD FOR ELECTRIC START

Asked by
EARL
OHIO
about Personal Pace Recycler 22 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower with Electric Start on
April 23, 2012
+7points
7out of 7found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
clover
May 1, 2012
The battery is housed in a compartment behind the rear cover. The battery is to the left of the shoot for bagging.
+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Toro
April 23, 2012
Yes, there is a battery on board for electric start. You can view the instructions for setup and charging the battery in the Operator's manual at http://www.homedepot.com/catalog/pdfImages/b8/b8846e14-7457-4b62-b721-c5a01068a347.pdf.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

what type of oil goes mower use? How offen does the batter need to be replace?

Asked by
EMOM
US
about Personal Pace Recycler 22 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower with Electric Start on
June 4, 2013
I added oil; now won't start. Electric start not charging/working. Need to manually pull string.
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
7 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
JoeBob
Scranton, PA, USA
June 5, 2013
First of all check your oil level using the dipstick. Do not overfill the mower. I believe the manual calls for 10W 30 oil. As for it not charging make sure you give it a full overnight charge. In addition, make sure the outlet is not on a switch and you are inadvertantly turning it off with the lights. I am not trying to be a wise guy these are things that have happened to me.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Homewrecker
Puyallup, WA, USA
June 5, 2013
Oil is a synthetic dual viscosity and that information is in your manual. The Briggs and Stratton manual that came with your mower. Replacement of the battery could depend on use. We are now on our second Toro mower of this model having sold our first one to my son for reasons I won't go into now, nothing wrong with it though. Good mower.
You may have a charger problem with the charger itself. If you have a low voltage tester you could check it or take it to a small engine repair shop and have them check it out. Might need to replace it.
It seems to me however after sitting for 18 months in storage the battery went south and would never hold a decent charge again. I would think normal charging and use (dis-charging) would give the battery a much longer life span. Again perhaps look in the manual to see if there is information about that. I would (and will) store the battery in and area that is in a heated area, not freezing and keep it from direct contact with concrete floors while in storage.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
RetiredAndLovinIt
Monroe, MI, USA
June 5, 2013
A bottle of oil comes with the mower. It also comes with a battery charger, just plug it in per instructions before you use it the first time. I put mine on the charger about every 6 mows. I love my mower. Had been hiring mowing for 12 years, retired, needed easy to use mower. This is perfect. Only complaint is that it doesn't mulch quite as small as I would like. But mowing is so effortless that I'm mowing about every 3 days just because I'm a bit particular about my yard.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
poolwhirl
ny
June 7, 2013
30W oil, try charging battery 24 hours
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
ehow78
Georgia, USA
June 22, 2013
This mower uses premium lawnmower oil rated SAE 30, preferably all-season or 4 temps/cycle, with a maximum 20 oz. tank. I stick with the Toro brand, but as long as it has the oil has the above ratings you should be fine. If the electric starter isn't charging/working, then your issue may be with either the power adapter (if the charging light isn't on, that's a sign of a possible adapter issue) or you could have a blown fuse that may need to be replaced.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
MsLabMgr
Gainesville, FL
July 29, 2013
I have had this mower for almost a year and the battery is still on its first charge. I mow almost every week and start/stop/restart the mower at least 4 times - many more times if I'm bagging the clippings. Never had a problem starting, just one quick turn of the key. I put it on the charger this weekend just in case.
Still using the oil that came with the mower.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
CHRISSY
Taylorsville, UT, USA
June 5, 2013
If you look on Toro Customer FAQ, it depends on our mower, oils are 2 cycle and 4 cycle. As far as the battery goes most of them usually last 3 years.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Are the tires plastic?

Asked by
Babzee
about Personal Pace Recycler 22 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower with Electric Start on
August 26, 2012
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
unlurker
Onalaska, Washington
August 28, 2012
Yes, the tires on the 22 in. Personal Pace Electric Start Self-Propelled Gas Mower are plastic. If they need replacing Home Depot has a fine line of replacement tires. The staff will be more than happy to assist you with the selection of tire that is most correct for your mower.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Toro
August 27, 2012
The wheel hubs are made of a polypropylene material and the tires are made of polyvinyl chloride (PVC).
+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Homewrecker
Puyallup, WA, USA
March 21, 2013
YUP! Good quality though.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
JoeBob
Scranton, PA, USA
August 27, 2012
The tires are rubber and the mower is well built.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Bo35
August 27, 2012
Yes they are plastic
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
CHRISSY
Taylorsville, UT, USA
May 23, 2013
They are hard hard rubber and last for a long time
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

How much does it weigh? I have hills and obstacles...

Asked by
Newperson
Virginia
about Personal Pace Recycler 22 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower with Electric Start on
April 5, 2012
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Toro
April 9, 2012
The mower weighs approximately 86 lbs. Toro’s innovative Personal Pace® self propel system automatically senses and adapts to your walking speed. Slight pressure on the handle propels the mower to the exact speed you want to go.
+2points
3out of 4found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Pilot
Boise Idaho
May 4, 2012
80 pounds with grass bag, fuel,oil.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Homewrecker
Puyallup, WA, USA
March 21, 2013
Not bad. With the self propelled system it isn't an issue. It carries it's own weight. You just tag along for the walk! Nice.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

what does "mulch ready" mean?

Asked by
Blue
Bremerton Washington
about Personal Pace Recycler 22 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower with Electric Start on
April 15, 2012
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Toro
April 16, 2012
The Toro 22 in. Personal Pace Electric Start Self-Propelled Gas Mower is a 3-in-1 system that provides side discharge, mulching and bagging capabilities standard. “Mulch Ready” indicates that mower is ready to operate in mulch mode without the need to purchase any additional equipment.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
xtrain
Boise, ID, USA
May 4, 2012
It means the blade type and tunnel under the case are designed to chew up the grass clippings into tiny particles and expel them back to the lawn for fertilizing.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Homewrecker
Puyallup, WA, USA
March 21, 2013
Just that. Has a blade that will mulch the grass as you cut it. Grass must be on the short side in order to make it work well though. Don't expect to go out in 6 inch deep grass and use the mulching to do it. It will just make a mess of it.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

If electric start fails can this mower be started manually?

Asked by
Bud
Payette, Id.
about Personal Pace Recycler 22 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower with Electric Start on
March 15, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Toro
March 16, 2012
Yes, this mower can be started either with electric start or with the recoil rope.
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Dino
Michigan
October 29, 2012
Yes, there is a pull start as well...
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Carol
Morris Plains, NJ
May 14, 2013
Yes
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What is the difference between model 20333 and 20334

Asked by
toby
lowell ma
about Personal Pace Recycler 22 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower with Electric Start on
May 20, 2012
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Toro
May 21, 2012
Model 20344, the Toro 22 in. Personal Pace Electric Start Self-Propelled Gas Mower has electric start. Model 20333, Toro 22 in. Personal Pace with Blade Stop System Self-Propelled Mower has a recoil start and the Blade Stop System. The Blade Stop feature safely stops the blade, but not the engine, so you can walk away for a moment without having to restart the engine. Please view the product pages for additional information.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Neal
June 5, 2012
34 has electric start, where the 33 doesn't. Also the 33 has a blade clutch when you release the handle grip, the blade stops but the engine keeps running. On the 34, releasing the handle grip kills the engine.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

Personal Pace does not work - how to fix?

Asked by
John
Aiken, SC
about Personal Pace Recycler 22 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower with Electric Start on
July 10, 2013
The personal pace drive does not work very well. I recently replaced the drive belt and it helped, but only marginally? I still have to provide about 90% of the push even after this repair. The mower is only 3 years old and the self propelled function worked reasonably well for about a year. Any thoughts or experience on what to do? Thanks.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Rick
Kelso, Wa
July 11, 2013
I would take it back to home depot they are usually very good with working with customer on where to take it, or working a trade in or an exchange. Personally since the personal pace lawn mower came out I've owned three. My dog chewed the electronics out of the first one so I sold it ti a guy across the street for $100. I went and bought another driven mower somewhere else, as I have a condition I cannot walk fast, and its slow gear was faster than I could go. I bought another toward the end of the summer last year. When early summer poked it's head I pulled it out still shining like new. I couldn't get it to turn by key, pulling, tried new gas from two different stations in case there was a high ethanol content. Nothing...They wanted me to take it in but everyone in te county who fixed mowers was three weeks out, I pushed it in and they replaced it. I'm sure since they could afford to let it sit at a shop, they must had it repaired then discounted it at the store even though there wasn't a single blade of grass on it, but a stain on the bag! There very understanding , it's the reason a make the extra 15 minute trip instead of going to the Lowes next door!
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Toro
July 11, 2013
Try adjusting the Self-propel drive cable. You can view the instructions online at http://www.homedepot.com/catalog/pdfImages/97/97469438-866c-4a26-8270-7c79a699df46.pdf.

Adjusting the Self-propel Drive Cable

Whenever you install a new self-propel cable or if the self-propel drive is out of adjustment, adjust the self-propel drive cable. (See attached image.)

1. Loosen the cable support nut (Figure 27).
2. Pull down the cable jacket (toward the mower) until there is no slack in the cable (Figure 27).
3. Tighten the nut on the cable support.

If you still have problems, please see an authorized Toro servicing retailer. You can find your nearest servicing retailer at http://www.toro.com/en-us/locator/pages/default.aspx.
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
zman58
Canton OH
December 12, 2013
I had experienced the same problem. In my case it was the handle slide that needed to be lubricated. In your case it could be that the handle or the handle-cable is sticking or incurring some friction. Try lubricating the slide area of the handle. Drip oil down the cable that connectes to the sliding handle to help the cable slides easily againse the outer jacket.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Mike
Louisville, Ky.
July 11, 2013
I just got mine two months ago. The cable that is on the left may need adjustment.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

does the lawn mower have a bag?

Asked by
hizekrom
about Personal Pace Recycler 22 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower with Electric Start on
May 9, 2012
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
1jrm1
East Troy, WI, USA
May 9, 2012
yes its easy to use no extra devices needed to install it comes on and off very easy holds lots of grass
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Toro
May 10, 2012
Yes, this mower comes with the bag. This mower features the 3-in-1 system which provides side discharge, mulching and bagging.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
CHRISSY
Taylorsville, UT, USA
May 23, 2013
Yes, they do.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Homewrecker
Puyallup, WA, USA
March 21, 2013
Yes. Rear bag. Works well
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

what is the difference between TORO MODEL #20334 and TORO MODEL#20374? AND DO YOU CARRY THE #20374? tHANKYOU

Asked by
RUBYRED
BOSTON,MA
about Personal Pace Recycler 22 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower with Electric Start on
June 8, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Toro
June 11, 2012
Model 20334, the Toro 22 in. Personal Pace Electric Start Self-Propelled Gas Mower has a Briggs & Stratton engine. Model 20374, the Toro 22 in. Personal Pace Electric Start Self-Propelled Gas Mower has a Toro® Premium engine. Please view the product pages for additional information.

Please contact Home Depot's Customer Service, at 1-800-466-3337, to check on availability.
+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 2
June 10, 2012
Hello Valued Home Depot Customer,
Thanks for your question and interest in this item. More information is needed to accurately answer your question. Please contact our Online Customer Service Department at 800-430-3376 to get more assistance with this item. Our hours of operation are between 6:00 a.m. and 2:00 a.m. Eastern Time daily.
Thanks.
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

battery box

Asked by
Grandmanit
TN
about Personal Pace Recycler 22 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower with Electric Start on
June 26, 2012
How in the heck do you get the battery box back into the lawn mower??? Also, there's a video on youtube to change the fuse on a Toro but it shows the fuse on the SIDE and you do not have to take the complete battery box out of the lawn mower to get to the fuse like on the 20334 model. (Bad directions and illustrations for this in the manual - very bad)
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Toro
June 28, 2012
To replace the fuse for model 20334:

1. Raise the rear deflector and locate the battery compartment
2. Wipe away any debris in the battery compartment area, and remove the adhesive-backed covering
3. Remove the screw that secures the battery compartment, pull out the battery, and locate the fuse
4. Replace the fuse in the fuse holder
5. Install the battery compartment with the screw that you removed in step 3
6. Install the covering over the battery compartment
7. Lower the rear deflector

Make sure the battery does not flip up when the tray is inserted back into place. For detailed instruction, view the Operator’s Manual at http://www.homedepot.com/catalog/pdfImages/97/97469438-866c-4a26-8270-7c79a699df46.pdf. If you are still having issues, please contact an authorized servicing retailer. You can find the nearest retailer at https://homeownersolutions.toro.com/portal/server.pt/community/dealer_locator/226.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
JohnyC
Troy, MI, USA
July 19, 2012
After I unscrewed and pulled it out, I had a hard time too trying to figure how to put it back in 'cause I didn't notice how the battery was arranged in the 'slide out holder'(the one with the screw). The battery rests on the 'slide out' part with the terminals UP and then the 'cover box' slips on top, - sliding vertically down to cover those terminals. Then it will fit and will slide easily back into the place it came out of. You just have to tap it in a little so the screw will be in far enough to go back down into the hole it screws into underneath it. Have fun. I really like this mower and can't wait to use it again but, someday I will probably get tired of it. JohnnyC
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Does this model have a blade clutch that stops the blade without stopping the engine?

Asked by
lawn guy
Carl Junciton
about Personal Pace Recycler 22 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower with Electric Start on
April 23, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Brownbear
Antioch TN
May 1, 2012
NO for safety reasons
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Toro
April 23, 2012
This model does not have the Blade Stop System. You will want to look at Toro model 20333, the Toro 22 in. Personal Pace with Blade Stop System Self-Propelled Mower. You can view the details for this mower at http://www.homedepot.com/h_d1/N-5yc1v/R-100659636/h_d2/ProductDisplay?catalogId=10053&langId=-1&keyword=20333&storeId=10051.
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Homewrecker
Puyallup, WA, USA
March 21, 2013
Nope.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
clover
May 1, 2012
No. Safety guidelines require that the engine stops when the blade clutch is released.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

My mower ran out of gas and I refueled and it has never started again. It will fire one time and then shut down ,can anyone help with this issue?

Asked by
gabby
Loganville GA.
about Personal Pace Recycler 22 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower with Electric Start on
April 18, 2013
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
JoeBob
Scranton, PA, USA
April 19, 2013
I would have it serviced by a repair shop. It sounds like you may have sucked dirt or debris from the fuel tank. It's a great mower so it's worth the repair.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Rich
Springfield, VA, USA
April 19, 2013
Sounds like your plug is fouled. My Personal Pace did the same thing this year when I tried to fire it up with old gas. It would fire once and quit. I removed the spark plug and cleaned it up with a wire brush wheel connected to a cordless drill. Put the plug back in and it purred like the day it was bought.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Toro
April 19, 2013
If you have not already done so, please try the following.
- Replace the spark plug (part # RJ19LM)
- Check or replace the air filter (part # 5043D)
- Ensure that the fuel you are using is no more than 30 days old. If you have not already done so, add fuel stabilizer per the recommended quantity
- If you already have a full tank of fuel, drain the fuel as best you can and mix that fuel with the fuel that you have already added stabilizer to
- When attempting to start your mower, make sure that you are starting it on a hard surface.
- If you are still having difficulties starting your mower, please contact a local servicing retailer.
You can find your nearest servicing retailer at http://www.toro.com/en-us/locator/pages/default.aspx.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
CHRISSY
Taylorsville, UT, USA
May 23, 2013
Typically this usually happens 2-3 times, so if your lawn mower keeps doing this you should take it to the service center, as the new toros do not have a prime button as the older models did.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Size and model no of the Battery? I Have this Mower!

Asked by
Paul
Alachua, Fl
about Personal Pace Recycler 22 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower with Electric Start on
January 15, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Toro
January 17, 2012
The battery is a 12 volt. The Toro part number is 106-8397.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
mike58
Monroe, Mi
August 21, 2013
These are pretty common "sealed lead acid" batteries. You should be able to match up at a "Battery Wholesale" store, if you have one in your area or an "Interstate Battery" dealer or on-line for sure. I believe the one in mine is also found in the hardware store around the lighted EXIT signs (battery back-up) isle.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Does this mower have a side discharge?

Asked by
Vic
L'ville, GA
about Personal Pace Recycler 22 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower with Electric Start on
March 19, 2012
0points
1out of 2found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Toro
March 20, 2012
Yes, this mower has side discharge. With a 3-in-1 bagging system, the Toro Recycler 22 in. mower offers mulching, bagging and side discharge. For additional information, view the Operator's Manual at http://www.homedepot.com/catalog/pdfImages/97/97469438-866c-4a26-8270-7c79a699df46.pdf.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Amyz
Wisconsin, USA
October 22, 2012
Yes, there is a side discharge on this mower. It also has bagging capability.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
1 2 3 »