Looking for Answers about GE Oven Igniter for Gas Ranges?

Customer questions and answers for
GE Oven Igniter for Gas Ranges

Replaces all round style (Carborundum) oven igniters. It includes two high temp wire nuts. It does not replace flat style igniters. The dark grey coil is very fragile, so handle with care.
Customer questions and answers:
30 Questions
 | 
31 Answers
Overall rating:
4.643 out of 5
4.6
out of
5

Customer questions and answers for GE Oven Igniter for Gas Ranges

Question

GE gas range -high output burner ignition unserviceable.

Asked by
dummy man
Richmond, BC., Canada
about Oven Igniter for Gas Ranges on
July 29, 2013
My GE gas range -XL44; Model # JGBP35GEP6WG; Serial # TL258359P-; Spark Module Model # 6544G1001A, 120 v. AC 60 HZ. has suffered from ignition did not work on the R/H fwd- high output burner, with cross check from other lead, electrode proved functioning good, any comment on this problem?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
July 30, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for reaching out to GE. I am sorry you are having an issue with your gas range.

While we understand that you would like to repair this yourself, an accurate diagnosis will involve the use of an ohm or volt meter. Unfortunately this repair is beyond the level of assistance that we can offer over the web. We do not have any service technicians at this website to help with diagnosis and do-it-yourself repair recommendations.

I recommend having it checked by an authorized GE service technician. Please see the link below for scheduling service.

http://genet.geappliances.com/ServiceNet/Dispatcher?REQUEST=CONSUMERFIRSTREQUEST&JSPID=SCHEDULE

Donna with GE
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Oleg
Chicago
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
June 1, 2014
If you have a round ignitor for GE XL44 oven, this is my fresh experience from today:
It was not hard but not as easy as some websites and U-Tube videos claim. Some said that it takes only one screw to disconnect a burner and then lift a shelf/cover, but there was more to it.
I am not a tech. or really handy, but it took me some 1/2 hr. to replace it.
That's how I did it (please do not ask for more details):
1. UNPLUG THE OVEN AND SHUT THE GAS.
2. Shut the gas valve on the pipe (on the same wall as outlet).
3. Remove the door by opening it some 30 degrees and pulling/lifting it up.
4. Remove the screw holding the closer end of the burner (tube).
5. Remove screws holding the cover under the burner (on the sides - just carefully find them all). There are also a couple hand crews in the back. Lift the back of the cover, then pull it out (figure it out).
6. Remove the heat shield (a layered and hollow plate under the cover). You may do w/o removing it, but I did remove it - more freedom of movement.
7. Remove 2 screws holding the back end of the burner to the back wall of the oven.
8. Disconnect 2 ignitor wires (do not let them drop inside the back oven wall - somehow clamp/hold them).
9. Pull out the burner.
10. Remove the old ignitor (2 screws) from the burner and install the new one in its place.
11. Re-install the burner with new ignitor back the same way it was there.
12. Reconnect the wires. You may have to strip them and securely connect with ceramic heat resistant wire nuts (insulate).
13. Plug electricity and turn on gas.
14. Turn on the oven and check/try if it ignites.
15. UNPLUG THE OVEN AND SHUT THE GAS AGAIN.
15. Re-install all shelves back the same way.
16. Plug the power and turn on the gas.
DOUBLE-CHECK EVERYTHING.
Start.
No claims, please. I just shared my experience.
Good luck.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

is this the right igniter for the xl-44 gas range oven. Part Model # WB2X9154

Asked by
chris
Alexandria Virginia
about Oven Igniter for Gas Ranges on
May 16, 2011
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
May 16, 2011
Hello Chris,

This is Michelle with GE and I will be happy to help you.

Please get back to us with the complete model number of your range so that we can check the parts list for your specific model. Also include the part number again when you get back to us.

If you need assistance in finding the model number on your range, please open the oven door and look on frame around opening. If not there, please try looking on the left leg area behind storage drawer, broiler drawer, or kick panel depending on which one your model has.

We look forward to hearing back from you.
-4points
0out of 4found this answer helpful.
Question

Is this the correct igniter for a GE XL44 #JGBP28BEA4WH. This is for the oven.

Asked by
Jim
about Oven Igniter for Gas Ranges on
September 4, 2011
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
September 4, 2011
Hello Jim,

This is Donna from GE and I will be happy to help you with your question on the gas range model JGBP28BEA4WH.

Yes, the oven igniter part # WB2X9154 is correct. The original part number was WB13K004 and it was superceded to WB2X9154.

I hope this helps!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

what model number oven ignitor do I need

Asked by
JS
pittsburgh pa
about Oven Igniter for Gas Ranges on
September 12, 2011
oven model #JGBP29WEJ3WW ELECTRIC IGNITION MODELS 120V 60Hz 5AMP
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
September 13, 2011
Hello JS,

This is Donna with GE and I will be happy to help you with your question on the gas range model JGBP29WEJ3WW.

The parts numbers for the igniters ae following.

Bake igniter: WB13K0004
Broil igniter: WB13K1003

Please contact the Home Depot parts department at 1-877-650-2121.

I hope this helps. should you have any furhter question, please let us know.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Will this part work in a Hot Point electronic ignition Model# RGB528GER3WH?

Asked by
Heidi
about Oven Igniter for Gas Ranges on
October 18, 2011
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
October 18, 2011
Hi, Heidi - this is Cindy from GE and I'll be happy to help you with this. I looked up the igniter for the RGB528GER3WH and, while it came with a different igniter originally, it has superceded to this part number. So this igniter will work in your oven - feel free to install it! Thanks for checking . . .
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Will this part #WB2X9154 work in a Hot Point electronic ignition Model# RGB628GER3WH?

Asked by
Oven not working
Converse, TX
about Oven Igniter for Gas Ranges on
October 29, 2011
My oven will not get hot and I think I might need a new igniter. I'm not sure.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
October 30, 2011
Hello,

This is Donna with GE and I will be happy to help you with your question on the oven igniter for model RGB628GERWH.

The original igniter for this model was WB13K0001. Yes, it has superseded to part number WB2X9154. While we understand that you would like to repair this yourself, an accurate diagnosis will involve the use of an ohm or volt meter. I recommend having it checked by an authorized GE service technician before buying parts that may not be returnable. To schedule service, please see the following link.

http://genet.geappliances.com/ServiceNet/Dispatcher?REQUEST=CONSUMERFIRSTREQUEST&JSPID=SCHEDULE

I hope this helps!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

does these part fit my oven JGB523GEV3WH

Asked by
ROR
HARLINGEN TX
about Oven Igniter for Gas Ranges on
November 29, 2011
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
November 30, 2011
Hello,

This is Donna with GE and I will be happy to help you with your question on the GE gas range part for model JGBS23GEV3WH

The original part was WB13K0004 This was superseded to part # WB2X9154. Yes, the part you contacted us about is correct. Please contact the home Depot part department at 1-877-650-2121.

I hope this helps. Have a great day!
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

My ignitor is not round appears to be only one and the model number is JGB23BEA2D which ignitor do i need

Asked by
Smitty
golden colorado
about Oven Igniter for Gas Ranges on
December 11, 2011
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
December 12, 2011
Hello Smitty,

This is Donna with GE and I will be happy help.

The model number you provided is not a complete GE model number. I believe it may be JGBS23BEA2AD. I would suggest to check the rating plate on the range for the complete model number. The part number for the bake igniter for model JGBS23BEA2AD is # WB13K0021. Please contact Home Depot parts at 1-877-650-2121.

I hope this helps. Should you have any additional question, please let us know.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

GE XL144 Model # JGB24BEA3WH ove ignitor

Asked by
Gravydog88
Chantilly, va
about Oven Igniter for Gas Ranges on
January 2, 2012
What oven ignitor should I be looking for??
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
January 2, 2012
Hello,

This is Donna with GE and I will be happy to help you with your question on the GE gas range model JGBP24BEAWH.

The original oven ignitor part numbers are below but have both superceeded to the new part number WB2X9154.

Bake: WB13K0004
Broil: WB13K0003

Please contact the Home Depot Parts department at 1-877-650-2121.

I hope this helps. Have a good day!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Will this part work in hotpoint model RGB745WEH3WW oven?

Asked by
TG
DWG, PA
about Oven Igniter for Gas Ranges on
January 28, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
January 29, 2012
Hello,

I'm Brenda with GE and I'm happy to assist you.

The correct part number for the oven igniter for model RGB745WEH3WW is WB13K0021. I hope this is helpful. Should you have further questions, do not hesitate letting us know. We're always happy to help.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Will part WB2X9154 work for JGBP90MEB6BC Gas Oven?

Asked by
chiquita12
about Oven Igniter for Gas Ranges on
August 2, 2012
Oven doesn't work, but Burner & Broiler does work.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
August 2, 2012
Hello,

This is Donna with GE and I am happy to help with your question on the gas range.

No, the oven igniter for Bake and Broil on model JGBP90MEB6BC is part number #WB13K0021.

Please contact the Home Depot Parts department at 1-877-650-2121.

I hope this helps!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Does this part fit the GE Profile Model # JGSP48SOH4SS

Asked by
Scott
Deer Park, TX
about Oven Igniter for Gas Ranges on
October 14, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
October 15, 2012
Hello Scott,

This is Donna with GE and I am happy to assist you.

The GE oven igniter part # WB2X9154 is not the correct part. Model JGSP48SHSS requires the oven igniter # WB13T10045.

Please contact the Home Depot Parts department at 1-877-650-2121.

Should you have any additional questions, please let us know.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

does this part go to a GE 317b6034 gas oven

Asked by
Melissa
Virginia beach
about Oven Igniter for Gas Ranges on
November 12, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
November 12, 2012
Hello Melissa,

This is Donna with GE and I will be happy to assist you.

The model number you provided, 317b6034 is not an accurate GE model number.

Please check the rating tag on the range for the correct model number and we will be happy to identify the correct oven igniter.

To locate the rating plate with the model and serial number on your appliance, please visit the following site for assistance:

www.geappliances.com/finder/daughter.htm
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

DOES HD HAVE SERIAL# HF230496P, MODEL#JGBP28DED2WH GAS OVEN IGNITER?

Asked by
BOBH
ST. PAUL
about Oven Igniter for Gas Ranges on
January 3, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
January 3, 2013
Hello BobH,

This is Donna with GE and I am happy to assist you with your question on the gas range part..

Following are the part numbers or the ignitors.

Bake burner ignitor: # WB13K0004
Broil burner ignitor: #WB13K0003

Please contact the Home Depot Parts department at 1-877-650-2121.

Should you have any further questions, please let us know.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What part number do I need for the ignitor for GE/Hotpoint model RGB540?

Asked by
jbowman
Jamestown, NY
about Oven Igniter for Gas Ranges on
January 7, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
January 8, 2013
Hello Jbowman,

This is Donna with GE and I am happy to help with your question on the gas range igniter.

The complete model number would be needed to accurately determine the correct part number. Please check the rating tag on the range for the complete model number.

It is possible the correct oven igniter part number is # WB13K0021.

Once you have the complete model number, contact Home Depot Parts at 1-877-650-2121 to verify the correct part number.

I hope this helps
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

My ignitor is Model 501A. A second number is:229C5216P001. Does HD carry this or the replacement?

Asked by
Japhy
Medford, OR.
about Oven Igniter for Gas Ranges on
January 9, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
January 10, 2013
Hello Japhy,

Please contact the Home Depot Parts department at 1-877-652-2121 for all parts availabilty. The complete model number of the range wil be needed.

Should you have additional questions, please let us know.

Donna with GE
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Does this part fit a Ge xl44 model jgbs22bbea5wh? If not do you have the igniter for that part?

Asked by
Bxtr74
Erie pa
about Oven Igniter for Gas Ranges on
January 26, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
January 28, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for your parts inquiry for the gas range model JGBS22BEA5W.

The correct part number for the igniter on model JGBS22BEA5WH is # WB13K002.

Please contact the Home Depot Parts department at 1-877-650-2121.

I hope this helps!

Donna with GE
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Will this igniter work for model JGBP85WEB1WW?

Asked by
andrea
woodbridge va
about Oven Igniter for Gas Ranges on
July 19, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
July 20, 2013
Hello Andrea,

Thank you for your question on the GE gas range.

Yes, model JGBP85WEBWW require igniter part # WB2X9154 for the bake and broil.

Please contact the Home Depot Parts at 1-877-650-2121.

Glad I could help!

Donna with GE
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

GE Gas Range -XL44, high output burner ignition did not work ( surface burner)

Asked by
dummy man
Richmond, BC., Canada
about Oven Igniter for Gas Ranges on
July 29, 2013
I did cross check & proved that spark do exit on the electrode, what is the most probably caused?
The wire looks reasonable good, some signs of spillage along the wire.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
July 30, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for reaching out to GE. I am sorry you are having an issue with your gas range.

While we understand that you would like to repair this yourself, an accurate diagnosis will involve the use of an ohm or volt meter. Unfortunately this repair is beyond the level of assistance that we can offer over the web. We do not have any service technicians at this website to help with diagnosis and do-it-yourself repair recommendations.

I recommend having it checked by an authorized GE service technician. Please see the link below for scheduling service.

http://genet.geappliances.com/ServiceNet/Dispatcher?REQUEST=CONSUMERFIRSTREQUEST&JSPID=SCHEDULE

Donna with GE
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

what is the nominal or typical amp draw of this type of ignitor?

Asked by
Tazz
Dallas TX
about Oven Igniter for Gas Ranges on
November 22, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
December 10, 2013
Hello Tazz - this is Nancy at GE and I am happy to help you.

For information about parts, please contact our GE Parts Center at 1-877-959-8688.

Please check your current oven igniter to ensure that this particular part is the proper replacement part for your appliance.

Thank you for contacting GE!
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
1 2 »