Looking for Answers about GE 10,000-Watt Home Standby Generator?

Customer questions and answers for
10,000-Watt Home Standby Generator

Ideal for small- and medium-sized homes, this GE 10,000-Watt Home Standby Generator allows you to run your household electrical devices and up to two 3-ton central air conditioner units when the power goes out. With the ability to run on either liquid propane or natural gas. This standby generator features sound-vault technology for quiet operation and a durable all-weather enclosure for years of outdoor use.
Customer questions and answers:
34 Questions
 | 
47 Answers
Overall rating:
4.222 out of 5
4.2
out of
5
(18 Reviews)18

Customer questions and answers for GE 10,000-Watt Home Standby Generator

Question

does thius unit require an automatic transfer switch ?

Asked by
Fred
HArlingen, Tx 78552
about 10,000-Watt Home Standby Generator on
June 8, 2011
some units come with a transfer switch
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
NED1
IL
July 25, 2011
a real smart switch. Included.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
THDCustomerService
Atlanta, GA
June 20, 2011
Hi Fred,
Thank you for your question.
This Package includes a 200-Amp whole house symphony transfer switch.
I have attached a video on the product demo.(Video to be attached)
For any other questions please call us at our Appliance Hotline# 1-800-455-3869.
Hope this helps...
+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Question

Can unit be installed at the incoming power source for a small complex? i.e. a farm with a couple of out buildings?

Asked by
duke
Mo
about 10,000-Watt Home Standby Generator on
July 7, 2011
I understand the size of the rated unit would need to be sufficient for expected loads, but was wondering if I could install this where our electrical service comes into the farm at a central location.
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
NED1
IL
July 25, 2011
This unit can be installed anywhere, as long as the main power lines that going to the house or farm run thru the smart switch that comes with this unit.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
THDCustomerService
Atlanta, GA
July 8, 2011
Hello Duke. I’m Newf from the Home Depot’s How- To Community, http://community.homedepot.com .
The Symphony load regulating system allows a smaller generator to selectively power many of your home’s circuits. This is not the same as having the ability to power all circuits at once. The transfer switch needs to be located within 2 feet of your main breaker panel. If the “out buildings” circuits are tied to your central location, then you may be able to do this. I am somewhat concerned about powering a “farm complex” with roughly 40 amps @ 240 volts though.
Here is a link to the Installation and Setup manual for this unit: http://v.gd/6iTb22
I also recommend contacting The Home Depot at 1-800-466-3337 to schedule an in-home consultation.
I hope this helps, Newf.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

Can I run it intermittently like a portable generator?

Asked by
smitty
mid-atlantic
about 10,000-Watt Home Standby Generator on
September 1, 2011
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
THDCustomerService
Atlanta, GA
September 7, 2011
Hi Smitty,

Thank you for your question.

Yes you can, switch the setting to manual mode.

Hope this helps...
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
skillsaw9
Chattanooga TN
September 29, 2011
The model i used is to be wired into the house, it senses the power outage, starts, connects, senses the power company comming back on line, disconnects, cools down, then stops automatically.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

how much to install

Asked by
ateam
about 10,000-Watt Home Standby Generator on
October 31, 2011
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
November 2, 2011
Hello Valued Customer,
Thank you for your question. For details on installation cost/options available in your area, visit The Home Depot store near you, where a knowledgeable associate will help you review our installation services. They will also provide an overview of your generator project and the installation options available in your area. Then we'll arrange for one of our licensed*, authorized installation professionals to call you within 48 hours to schedule an in-home survey. (A nominal survey fee will be applied toward the purchase price of the installation). To locate a store near you, please click on the “store locator” found on the top of each page. If you have any additional questions, please contact our Online Customer Service department at 800-430-3376.
Thanks!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Bear
Haverhill, MA, USA
November 15, 2011
Approximate costs will be $1800 for plumber and $2200 for electrician.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What size home is this unit design to service

Asked by
Gene
Upper Marlboro MD
about 10,000-Watt Home Standby Generator on
May 10, 2011
+5points
6out of 7found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
NED1
Darien, IL
July 25, 2011
this unit is amazing. I was able to run 2 fridges, sun pump, Plasma TV, natural gas water heater (which has power vent) a 4 ton air condition and some lights with no problem at all, i was out of power for 20+ hrs. This unit ran seamlessly.
+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
THDCustomerService
Atlanta, GA
May 24, 2011
Hi Gene - thank you for your question. The usage varies by what you are running but in general, if the house is natural gas, and has up to two 3 ton air conditioners, this unit can provide power for around a 2500 sq.\ft. house. For an all-electric house it will be in the 1700 to 2000sq/ft. You can double check your power requirements with your contractor or you can check out our finder tool which will help match you with the right sized generator for your needs:

http://www6.homedepot.com/generator/index.html?&cm_sp=generators%2d%5f%2dpod1%2d%5f%2dheadline%5flink%2d%5f%2dgenerator%5fselector
+7points
9out of 11found this answer helpful.
Question

Are these units power by natural gas?

Asked by
Butch
about 10,000-Watt Home Standby Generator on
July 7, 2011
-3points
0out of 3found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
THDCustomerService
Atlanta, GA
July 22, 2011
Hi Butch-

I am Eileen from the How-To Community.
The unit can be powered by liquid propane or natural gas.

Thank you.
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
NED1
IL
July 25, 2011
Yes, Natural gas is all what you need. it also come with the option to run it by liquid propane.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

Is 220 volts available?

Asked by
Dan
Vermont
about 10,000-Watt Home Standby Generator on
August 31, 2011
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
September 2, 2011
Hi Dan,
Thanks for your question. Per the manufacture, the voltage options can vary based on the part referenced. We would need to know exactly which part you are referencing to further assist. For additional technical assistance with this unit you can contact the vendor direct at 1-800-444-7774. Representatives will be available Monday-Friday 8:00AM-5:00PM CST. If you have any additional questions for us, please feel free to contact our Online Customer Service department at 800-430-3376.
Thanks!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
skillsaw9
Chattanooga TN
September 29, 2011
Yes, it is designed for the whole house, but only running the large items when enough excess power is available
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Is the external housing steel or aluminum? We live near the coast and corrision fron salt air is a concern. Thank you.

Asked by
Rich
Brielle, NJ 08730
about 10,000-Watt Home Standby Generator on
August 31, 2011
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Newf
Schaumburg, IL
September 2, 2011
Hello Rich, I’m Newf from the Home Depot’s how-to Community. Thank you for your question.

These units have a heavily painted steel housing.
They have a 1 year warranty against surface rust and a 2 year warranty on rust through.
For more information see the operator's manual at this site:
http://bsintek.basco.com/BriggsDocu...

I hope this helps,
Newf.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
skillsaw9
Chattanooga TN
September 29, 2011
Seems to be powder coated steel, with a plastic top
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

What type of battery do i need for a standby ge generator 10,000kw with all information

Asked by
JIM
about 10,000-Watt Home Standby Generator on
September 21, 2011
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
THDCustomerService
Atlanta, GA
September 23, 2011
Hi Jim,

Thank you for your question.

The battery specifications for this Generator are as follows;

Volts 12 volts
Amps 350 CCA (Cold Cranking Amps)
Type AMG (Absorbent Glass Mat)
Terminal Hardware M8

Hope this was helpful.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
skillsaw9
Chattanooga TN
September 29, 2011
I went to the local Batteries Plus store and they sold me a Jell battery for about $ 80, It is basically a high quality lawn mower battery.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What size propane tank is needed to run this model?

Asked by
Rootsgal
Connecticut
about 10,000-Watt Home Standby Generator on
November 10, 2011
We do not have natural gas in our home, but it also says propane can be used. So, will a propane tank like we use for our WEBER GRILL, work or do we need to go bigger? My neighbor is an electrician and said he would install one. We live in a cape, is this model too big?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Designing Woman
Atlanta, GA
November 15, 2011
Thank you for the question Rootsgal.

The propane tank for your Weber grill is probably the 20 pound size that holds about 4.5 gallons of propane. The smallest recommended propane tank for the GE 10,000-Watt Home Standby Generator would be a 350 gallon tank and is available through your local gas utility supplier. In the event of a power outage, the standby generator would be using about 2 gallons per hour on a full load (approximately an entire week).

Professional installation is recommended to ensure building code compliance, safe operating placement, and correct connections for maximum run rates.

Best wishes on your project.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
THDCustomerService
Atlanta, GA
November 15, 2011
Hi Rootsgal,

Thank you for your question. I did reach out to the manufacturer on this question and here is their note to you-

"Propane tank size is based on outside temperature and % fill of the tank. To be on the safe side, I would recommend at least a 250 gallon tank but would prefer a 500 gallon tank. A “Weber Grill” 20lb cylinder does not produce enough BTU to run this generator under load"

Hope this helps.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Will this unit run a heat pump?

Asked by
Granne
about 10,000-Watt Home Standby Generator on
July 10, 2011
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
THDCustomerService
Atlanta, GA
July 22, 2011
Hi Granne-
This is Eileen with the How-To Community. The unit may run a heat pump; however, the starting and running wattage must be considered when calculating the power output needed for operation. This number must be included with the running and starting wattages of the types and numbers of equipment that will require power during generator activity.

-Eileen.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Elkview
July 23, 2011
no, 3 1/2 ton air conditioner
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is the 10000 kw unit delivered ready to use natural gas without modifaction to install?

Asked by
nfd
landing nj 07850
about 10,000-Watt Home Standby Generator on
September 6, 2011
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
September 7, 2011
Hello Valued Customer,
Thanks for your question. This item is equipped for natural gas use. Please note this generator requires professional installation before use. For details on installation cost/options available in your area, visit The Home Depot store near you, where a knowledgeable associate will help you review our installation services. They will also provide an overview of your generator project and the installation options available in your area. Then we'll arrange for one of our licensed*, authorized installation professionals to call you within 48 hours to schedule an in-home survey. (A nominal survey fee will be applied toward the purchase price of the installation). To locate a store near you, please click on the “store locator” found on the top of each page. If you have any additional questions, please contact our Online Customer Service department at 800-430-3376.
Thanks!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
skillsaw9
Chattanooga TN
September 29, 2011
Yes or you can simply connect two wires with a plug to make the unit run on LP
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Where do you buy a battery for your generators? Mine is a 10.00kvw

Asked by
JoeFrom Louieville
Louisville Ky
about 10,000-Watt Home Standby Generator on
September 13, 2011
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
TimD1945
Cumberland, MD, USA
October 11, 2011
I bought my battery at Battery Wharehouse. And I saved $50.00 bucks on the deal. It has the battery specs called for by GE.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
OLIVE
HAMPTON VA.
September 16, 2011
YOU CAN BUY BATTERIES AT BATTERY PLUS.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

how is it installed

Asked by
powerman
charlotte nc
about 10,000-Watt Home Standby Generator on
August 26, 2011
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Newf
Schaumburg, IL
August 26, 2011
Hello powerman, I’m Newf from the Home Depot’s how-to Community. Thank you for your question.

Here are some links you may find useful:

Operator's Manual: http://bit.ly/rnNgho
Installation Checklist: http://bit.ly/qj3ZO1
Installation and Start-Up Manual: http://bit.ly/qGAjbi

I hope this helps, Newf.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

how much noise does this generator make. Very loud, humming, or somewhere in between?

Asked by
joekev
Oradell NJ
about 10,000-Watt Home Standby Generator on
November 12, 2011
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
THDCustomerService
Atlanta, GA
November 17, 2011
Hi Joekev,

Thank you for your question.

I did reach out to the manufacturer and here is what they had to say:
"
The 10 kw is 71db, quieter than a portable generator and louder than a vacuum cleaner".

Hope this helps.
Hope this
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Could this item be shipped to Puerto Rico?

Asked by
Alex
Miami
about 10,000-Watt Home Standby Generator on
June 7, 2011
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
THDCustomerService
Atlanta, GA
June 14, 2011
Hi Alex,
Thank you for your question.
You can check the availability of delivery by entering zip code on upper right corner of the product page. You could also visit your local store and they could help you place a special order for the product.
Hope this helps.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

cold weather requirements

Asked by
Mike
Upstate NY
about 10,000-Watt Home Standby Generator on
July 31, 2011
Are additional parts/kits required to operate in cold weather (down to -20 degrees F) typical of winters in the Northeast US?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Newf
Schaumburg, IL
August 5, 2011
Hello Mike, I’m Newf from the Home Depot’s how-to Community. Thank you for your question.

If operating the generator below 40 degrees F, it is HIGHLY RECOMMENDED that a battery warmer be installed. This item is available at your local servicing dealer.

For more information, please call (888) 575-8226 between 8:00 am and 5:00 pm Central Time.

I hope this helps,
Newf.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

DIY installation

Asked by
Mike
Upstate NY
about 10,000-Watt Home Standby Generator on
July 31, 2011
I am an avid DIYer and have done a fair amount of my own electrical and plumbing work including my own whole house on demand water heater. If I purchase this unit I definitely plan on doing the installation myself. What must I do to maintain the warranty on my installation?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Newf
Schaumburg, IL
August 5, 2011
Hello Mike, I’m Newf from the Home Depot’s how-to Community. Thank you for your question.

Please note that being an experienced Do-It-Yourself handyman is not sufficient for warranty coverage. Here is a quote from the Operator’s Manual for this unit: “The home generator warranty is VOID unless the system is installed by licensed electrical and plumbing professionals”. I highly recommend professional installation.

Here are some links you may find useful:
Operator's Manual: http://bit.ly/rnNgho
Installation Checklist: http://bit.ly/qj3ZO1
Installation and Start-Up Manual: http://bit.ly/qGAjbi

I hope this helps,
Newf.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Long term use

Asked by
MDM
Sarasota Florida
about 10,000-Watt Home Standby Generator on
August 22, 2011
We live in Hurricane territory. If power goes off for weeks, would this unit be compromised by running continuously for two to three weeks?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
HD 116
www.community.homedepot.com
August 23, 2011
Greetings,

My name is Tom, also known as HD116 at Home Depot's How to Community. Thank you for your question. This unit can handle all the needs of a small to medium sized home, runs on either natural gas or liquid propane and is a great choice. The 570 cc Briggs and Stratton v-twin motor can easily withstand the duration, but do not forget that routine maintenance is required. It is a good idea to keep air filters, spark plugs, and oil on hand. The oil should be changed every 50 hours of usage (every other day of continuous use), the air filters and spark plugs should be checked, and a free flow of air to the engine is critical to keep it cool. You should pull the disconnect prior to shutting down the motor and servicing the engine. Also bear in mind that shutting it down for a few hours at a time during non -peak times will allow the time for the needed maintenance and also save you some fuel.

Hope that helps!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

is possible to find an overhaul kit complete for this unit?

Asked by
gan
florida
about 10,000-Watt Home Standby Generator on
July 8, 2011
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
THDCustomerService
Atlanta, GA
July 22, 2011
Hi Gan-
I am Eileen from the How-To Community. There is no “overhaul kit,” however there are individual parts available through GE, GE dealers, and Briggs and Stratton dealers.
There is a maintenance kit available (Part Number 6035 for the 10kW) that includes two sparks plug, air filter, oil filter, and oil.
Thank you.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
1 2 »