Looking for Answers about RIDGID 6,800-Watt Gasoline Powered Generator with Yamaha Engine?

Customer questions and answers for
6,800-Watt Gasoline Powered Generator with Yamaha Engine

The RIDGID 6,800-Watt Gasoline Powered Generator with Yamaha Engine is ideal for remote work sites with its sturdy roll cage frame. Its 357 cc gasoline engine delivers 12 HP, giving the unit a surge power of 8,500 watts. Its 8-gallon tank yields 12 hours of use at 50% load, and its control panel features a load and wattage indicator.
Customer questions and answers:
39 Questions
 | 
110 Answers
Overall rating:
4 out of 5
4
out of
5

Customer questions and answers for RIDGID 6,800-Watt Gasoline Powered Generator with Yamaha Engine

Question

my rigid 6800 stalls after one hour

Asked by
vicbob
wall n.j.
about 6,800-Watt Gasoline Powered Generator with Yamaha Engine on
November 10, 2012
generator stalls after 1-2 hours a couple of times after 10 minutes. i keep the tank full an oil full,
i only have a refrigirator, radio, an small lamp on it. also i used 10 gallons of gas for 8 hours use,
i hope this is not normal.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
9 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Rick
November 11, 2012
I had same problem. I Took back to HD. They called next day to tell me that the "gas expansion valve" caused the problem and Rigid would ship it to the store and fix under warranty. Great a fix. I found out later there is also a temporary work around by removing the vent line and it will work. Or call Rigid yourself and they may send you part. Easy fix once you know problem.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
ColdcustomerNJ
NJ
November 11, 2012
Before you start it again, check engine oil level or add more.
And read instruction again how to start the engine. Did you forget to position the choke to run and open the gas flow? Does your generator run smoothly, like a idling car engine just louder.

I suspect that you did not put the choke to run postion (the medal lever) Did you see smoke and generator run rough seemly want to run away? check choke.

I wired this generoter to my panel to supply whole house: all room lights, the refrigirator, gas heater (blower/ignitor), washer, PCs, TV, etc. I left out dryer, electric oven etc out. The load you put on was really Ok for this generator. 10 gallon for eight hours was too much. In my case, I used < 5 gallon for 8 hours running whole house.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
JJ
November 11, 2012
When installing the fuel tank cap don't crank it closed until it stops, just try a 1/4 turn. Some came through with a bad fuel tank cap. This is not my experience, just what I've found online.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
JJ
November 11, 2012
Does your specific model have a vent on the tank?
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Rick
November 11, 2012
I had similar problem. I took back to local HD few days after storm (only owned for 5 days). They called next day to tell me that the "gas expansion valve" caused the problem and Rigid would ship it to the store under warranty (seems a known problem to me). I found out later there is also a work around by removing the vent line and it will work. I heard you can also take off gas cap but I am not comfortable running generator with cap off. This problem should have never been allowed to happen from factory. It is a huge issue if you look on discussion boards.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Jack
Far Rockaway, NY
November 13, 2012
Some of the RIGID generators have a faulty gas cap that does not vent air into the fuel tank properly, and that could cause the problem. Try keeping the gas cap on the looser side and see if that helps.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
Guitarman1
Northern Connecticut/
November 26, 2012
This is NOT typical to this unit . I get 12 hours for 8 gallons of gas generally, but I have run 16 hours on 8 gallons Low load( such as yours) This problem could be caused by incorrect connection . Your generator may be loaded down by not being connected properly. Check with an electrican to determine if something is incorrect with your hook up. Please ground your generator.

CLM
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
carman336
westmont, il
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
January 14, 2014
This generator has a design flaw in the fuel line routing. The line passes above the base of the tank where it is tapped by over 2 inches in some places. As the fuel level gets below about 4 gallons stalling becomes a problem. The best solution is to rerun the fuel lines so they remain below the base of the tank at all times. That should solve your stalling issue.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Asked by
carman336
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
January 15, 2014
The fuel line routing on this generator is also faulty and may be contributing to your issues. The tap on the fuel tank is more than 2 inches below the highest point in the fuel line (where the filter is). Once you get below 4 gallons the generator can easily stall. Below 3 and you may not be able to start it until you add more fuel.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Does the rd6800 have electric start ? Is battery for electric start included ?

Asked by
Jim
Glendale Hts Il.
about 6,800-Watt Gasoline Powered Generator with Yamaha Engine on
July 18, 2012
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
RIDGID
July 18, 2012
6800 Watt Generator
Cat #34348 RD6800

GAS POWERED

Features
GenSmart Monitoring System - tracks usage, load, and indicates periodic engine maintenance
8 Gallon Steel Fuel Tank with Fuel Gauge - extra long run time for up to 12 hours at 50% load
Removable Control Panel with Engine Start/Stop Switch - brings the essential controls directly to your work area
Roll-Cage with Fold-Down Handle and Skid Rails - excellent jobsite maneuverability and protection
Armour™ Heavy-Duty Alternator with Auto Voltage Regulation - reliable and clean power for your tools & equipment
25 ft. - 20 A Removable Control Panel Cord Included

Specifications
Running Watts/ Starting Watts: 6,800 W / 8,500 W
AC Voltage / AC Frequency: 120 V / 240 V, 60 Hz
Rated Amperage: 56.7 A / 28.3 A
Engine: Yamaha MZ 360 OHV
Displacement: 357 cc
Fuel Tank / Run Time (@ 50% Load): 8 Gal / 12 Hours
Unit Weight: 228 lbs.
Height: 27 in.
Width: Width: 30 in.
Length: Width: 30 in.

Includes
6,800W Portable Generator, Removable Front Feet (2), Removable 12" x 4" Never Flat Foam Filled Wheels (2), 25'-20 A Removable Control Panel Cord, Cord Holder Strap, 32 Fl. Oz. Engine Lubricant, Assembly Hardware, Operator’s Manual
+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Guitarman1
Northern Connecticut/
August 10, 2012
No electric start but it is really easy to start.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Rick
November 11, 2012
Yes it has electric (and pull) start. Battery included.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Jack
Far Rockaway, Queens, NY, USA
November 26, 2012
Read the specifications in the product listing on the HD website!!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Brand New Rigid 6800 w-Yamaha engine constantly shuts down, Oil is NOT the issue

Asked by
RobertNY
Hopewell Junction NY
about 6,800-Watt Gasoline Powered Generator with Yamaha Engine on
December 18, 2012
It may Run 6 hours, it may Run 1 hour and then shuts down, fuel & oil are within limits, unit is on level ground, and according to my transfer switch meters, I'm not puling more than 2500 watts under most circumstances, this is terribly frustrating, and I'd return it, but finding another this size is virtually impossible since the hurricane (according to the stores). I am not happy at all with my $1100.00 Genny being so unreliable!
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Rick
December 19, 2012
This is a known defect. I had same trouble, Brought it back to HD. It needs a tank repair kit 905712. Basically is like a vapor block. If you remove gas cap when running it should run fine (although I am not telling you to do it). If you follow gas line where it meets the vent line the value there is what they replace as I understand it. HD has had mine for six weeks (because Ridgid requested they be shipped back to Atlanta for repair). I understand mine is being shipped back to store soon. If you fix yourself you void warranty. Take back to HD and let them deal with it. I am writing a letter to Ridgid because this should have never left production line with this problem.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Jack
Far Rockaway, Queens, NY, USA
December 19, 2012
This is a common problem with these units. You are getting a vacuum lock of the fuel system. The solution is to leave the gas cap a bit loose. If the unit is still under warranty, contact them and complain that the unless you keep the gas cap loose the unit eventually stalls out. I own the same model and have the same problem.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
RIDGID
December 19, 2012
All engine related questions, issues, and support matters are to be addressed through the engine manufacturer Yamaha at 1-866-788-7398.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Guitarman1
Northern Connecticut/
February 2, 2013
This is not a "generator problem " but a motor problem. The operating componuts of the motor are suspect. Look for loose motor control wires, bad kill switch, master control console plugged in solid.
a ohm meter will go a long way in checking for a fault condition. I am guessing something is loose enough to interupp you operating cycle of your motor. If you are not comfortable with an ohm meter,
enlist someone who understands small motor electric's to check the wireing.
CLM
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

RIDGID portatable genset. The specification list the generator having a 120v/240v 30 amp recepticle. How do I get 240volts from this recepticle.

Asked by
siisi
accra
about 6,800-Watt Gasoline Powered Generator with Yamaha Engine on
October 26, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
JJ
November 11, 2012
You'll have power on the 120v side and the 240v side all the time, there is no switch. I know that some generators you have the ability to switch from 120 or 240.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
ColdcustomerNJ
NJ
November 11, 2012
I suggest you read some basic electrical DIY book first, before attempting anything on the generator.
You question is not related to this generator but how 240v circuit wokrs and how appliances use 240v.
There is correct way to get 240v from this generator. But I suspect that answer may harm you than helping you. If it is critical for you get 240v appliance running, have electrician do it for you.
If you have no experience wiring a house other than just plug a cord, you need an electrician do it for you to get 240v.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Guitarman1
Northern Connecticut/
October 28, 2012
There is a 220 volt outlet on this unit just for that purpose. you must obtain the proper " plug" to use that outlet . Home Depot sells such a plug . If you are not comfortable hooking this up to your house consult a local electrician. This unit supplys 30 amps at 220 volts with ease.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Bought an RV, had this Rigid 6,800 watt Generator in as after market, will run at an idle and power the AC and outlets, but will not reach high idle

Asked by
Chris
Bagdad, AZ
about 6,800-Watt Gasoline Powered Generator with Yamaha Engine on
April 11, 2013
It runs and sounds like a Harley at idle, powers all the equipment like the AC and outlets and fridge, but will not idle high. I can tell its not fully puttin out all the power it should. Going to do an oil change and new spark plug, but guessing something else is the prob, what else would u recamend I do or check on this generator to make it run properly? Thnx
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
JohnnyTheGriff
Illinois, USA
June 16, 2013
Chris,

I too own this unit, what i have found after doing maintenance and cleaning on it is that it has an automated idle/throttle adjustment. When more Power is required it throttles up the engine to supply the power, this helps save on gas and keep noise down and if it is doing this it is working properly. I am not sure why you would want the unit to bypass this feature but i can tell you it cannot be done without a slight modification to the throttle system. From factory, the unit uses a spring attached to the idler arm to hold the throttle at idle. However, because its a spring the engine's automated throttling overrides the idle screw positioning when its running. Physically you could force the idle screw adjustment arm to hold at your setting by replacing the spring with something rigid like thick bailing wire or something similar, however, this is a very intelligent unit and i would NOT recommend doing that. i do not know if this would cause the unit to malfunction, if it would function at all without throttle control.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Guitarman1
Northern Connecticut/
April 13, 2013
The 6800 does not have a "low" idle. When starting thru the choke, it will go to 3600 RPM . It has no other run position. A} your choke is still on or B) your gas valve is not open enough or C) you could be grounding your spark plug out. Check to see if your choke is working properly or something is loose. Gas old or water in tank ? All these things will give the same results as you whitness.
I believe that the 3600 RPM setting is done at the factory as a default setting. your voltage at the 30 amp /220 volt plug should be a strong 240 with no load. Checking hertz will result in a 62 range until a
decent load is applied. Remember, 3 things are needed to run a motor properly . air ,fuel and spark,
an in-proper amount of any results in what you are seeing .
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
jeff
Idaho
June 20, 2013
Chris, Doubtful changing the oil and plug will solve the problem. Mine runs at one speed only and puts out all the power at that speed. Check the power out and see what it is producing with a meter. Then you will know for sure.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
TravisHDAtl
Atlanta, GA
April 12, 2013
Hi Chris,

Make sure that the choke is opening fully after the engine starts. If the choke is manually controlled, be sure to push the lever to open as soon as the engine starts. If automatic, check the choke linkage and lubricate it, if it is sticking.

Check the air filter to see if it is clogged or wet. Try running the unit without the air filter to test it.

If the problem persists, the fuel could be contaminated. Drain an ounce or two of fuel by opening the float bowl drain located behing the air filter, on the bottom of the carbuerator. Water collects in the float bowl.

Bad or old fuel will make the unit hard to start, so I don't suspect that in this case.

All of these conditions can foul a spark plug. If the plug is brown, it's normal. A black spark plug is the result of insufficient air to the cylinder.

Another possibility is that the exhaust may be clogged. Carefully feel if air is flowing from the muffler. If not, replace the muffler.

Travis
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

how ofter should I change oil in my ridgid 12.000 amp home geneator

Asked by
carroll
huntington, wv
about 6,800-Watt Gasoline Powered Generator with Yamaha Engine on
July 3, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
RIDGID
July 5, 2012
Change engine lubricant: After 1st month or 20 hours of operation.

Thank you
RIDGID Support
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Guitarman1
Northern Connecticut/
August 10, 2012
I always err to the side of caution. This unit is well built but is air cooled and doesn't have an oil filter. To keep this unit in top form I would change oil every 100 hours of operation. Good quality oil.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

The specification list the generator having a 120v/240v 30 amp recepticle. Does this mean in the 120v mode it will produce 30 amps or 15 amps

Asked by
Chris
about 6,800-Watt Gasoline Powered Generator with Yamaha Engine on
August 28, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
RIDGID
August 29, 2012
The RIDGID RD6800 generator has two 120V-20 Amp outlets, and one 240V-30Amp outlet.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Guitarman1
Northern Connecticut/
October 28, 2012
30 amps both Legs.you can only get 20 from each outlet at 120 volts or 30 amps times 2 at the 220 volt outlet.

C Myers
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is there an estimated time of arrival to my local Home Depot store?

Asked by
Robby
Houston, TX
about 6,800-Watt Gasoline Powered Generator with Yamaha Engine on
October 31, 2013
I have looked for this particular model at all my local Home depot stores and have yet to find it in stock. It there an approximate time of arrival for this particular model? I live in the 77429 area code near Houston TX.

Thanks
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
RIDGID
November 1, 2013
This is an availability related question that the retail distributor Home Depot will need to address for the customer
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

where and how and when can I purchase this generator

Asked by
denzelle
springfield ohio
about 6,800-Watt Gasoline Powered Generator with Yamaha Engine on
November 7, 2013
Out of stock everywhere
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
RIDGID
November 8, 2013
Home Depot would have to address this directly. If one store does not have it they can check with other stores.
RIDGID
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

What is the DB of the generator

Asked by
wholt
New Jersey
about 6,800-Watt Gasoline Powered Generator with Yamaha Engine on
August 5, 2012
There is a zero listed for the DB on the specification tab. At idle, what is the DB? At full throttle, what is the DB??
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
RIDGID
August 6, 2012
There is just one noise level rating for RIDGID generators. The RD6800 is rated at 73 dbl. at 70 ft.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Guitarman1
Northern Connecticut/
August 10, 2012
The sound of the generator at idle or running at usually 70 to 95 DB at 10-15 ft. that means apprent noise @ 3600 RPM . Generators are not the soft sound of lets say a car. You should keep this at some distance from you if you run it for a long time. The DB rating is relitive to the sound produced at a fixed distance. Most generators at 3600RPM are somewhat loud close up. 85 DB is the threshhold of hearing loss. This genset doesn,t reach 85 but close so caution is the word. Any gas powered tool today does not come with a critical zone muffler but rather a spark aresting muffler which serves two different issue's
noise and sparks.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
JJ
November 11, 2012
I used a DB app on my phone and at idle in the garage with the door open of course I read 68db. Not sure how accurate it is?
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
JJ
November 11, 2012
Under the product description it's listed as Operating volume of 78 dB!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
ColdcustomerNJ
NJ
November 11, 2012
It is loud enough, all your neighbors know you are running it.
Just put it away from their bedroom windows and yours.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Rigid RD9057812 - stalls after 30 min. w & w/o load

Asked by
jcpeters46
Lincolndale, NY 10540
about 6,800-Watt Gasoline Powered Generator with Yamaha Engine on
September 10, 2012
My Rigid 5700 runs fine for the first 30 minutes w/a load then starts to falter and then finally stalls out..
The unit starts again immediately w/first pull and then runs for approx. 20 min. and then stalls again. I ran it after w/o a load and again it ran for approx. 20 min. and then stalled.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
RIDGID
September 18, 2012
Please contact the RIDGID customer service staff at 1-866-539-1710, for directions to have his generator properly checked and serviced by a local authorized service center.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Guitarman1
Northern Connecticut/
October 28, 2012
I am not aware of a "5700" a 6800 or an 8000. You must check your oil level and make sure your unit is level. B) check your fule. C) check your fule petcock. is it somewhat closed ? If still no answer
call rigid for trouble guide
c Myers
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Setlock77
Grafton, ohio
November 23, 2012
This is the result of a faulty "gas expansion valve", call ridgid and they will send you another gas cap. As gas is used in the tank, air needs to replace the volume that the gasoline was occupying. If there is not a vent, then a vacuum will occur and will at some point become stronger than the gravity flow into the carburator and will impede flow of gas to the engine which will in turn stop combustion. It appears that for your situation, it takes 20 mins. You can drill a small hole in the gas cap (removed from gas tank of course) which will work temporarily until ridged sends you a replacement.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Rick
November 11, 2012
I had similar problem. I took back to local HD few days after storm. They called next day to tell me that the "gas expansion valve" caused the problem and Rigid would ship them to the store under warranty. Great a fix. I found out later there is also a work around by removing the vent line and it will work.
You can probably call Rigid and get part yourself (easy fix once you know problem). BTW; there were four other ones in HD for same problem. Should have never left factory with this problem.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Jack
Far Rockaway, Queens, NY, USA
November 26, 2012
Fuel tank vapor lock, known problem. Loosen the gas cap so air can get into the fuel tank.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Automatic shut down

Asked by
JForest
Northern Mass
about 6,800-Watt Gasoline Powered Generator with Yamaha Engine on
October 27, 2012
Just purchased this unit (Ridgid 6800 generator) for backup power in case of storm emergency. Followed all the instructions putting it together, adding the oil, fuel. Started right up like a champ, but then stopped running after about 4 minutes. Just testing it, nothing plugged in to the power sockets. We let it sit for a few minutes then started it up again. Ran fine, but then stopped running after 30 seconds. Same thing a few more times. Anyone else have a similar problem? Any ideas on what we should do?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Guitarman1
Northern Connecticut/
October 28, 2012
Taking a wild shot, there is a gas pet cock on the supply line . Please make sure its wide open.
2) when you started the unit, did you use the choke amd then return it to the run position ?
3) Did you use fresh fule ?
4) Most importantly, did you use the recomended oil and NOT synthetic oil?
If after checking all the above , you will need to have the carb check or........ you may have a shut off switch which is grounding out cutting spark. The only auto shut off on this machine is the "low oil" sending unit which detects oil level. If all this fails you need pro help.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
RIDGID
October 29, 2012
Question Information
ID
548198
Author
Shanker69
Location
Approved

Re-check the engines oil level. It may be shutting down due to low oil. If that is not the cause, contact the RIDGID customer service phone staff at 1-866-539-1710, for assistance with directions on having the generator properly checked and serviced.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Ed
October 29, 2012
Make sure the fuel line is turned on.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Rick
November 11, 2012
I had similar problem. I took back to local HD few days after storm. They called next day to tell me that the "gas expansion valve" caused the problem and Rigid would ship it to the store and fix under warranty. Great a fix. I found out later there is also a work around by removing the vent line and it will work. You can probably call Rigid and get part yourself (easy fix once you know problem). BTW; there were four other ones in HD for same problem.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Jack
Far Rockaway, Queens, NY, USA
November 26, 2012
You are getting a vacuum lock on the fuel tank. Loosen the gas cap enough so that air can get into the fuel tank and it will run fine.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

does this unit come with the 25 ft. cord ?

Asked by
joe
iuka ms.
about 6,800-Watt Gasoline Powered Generator with Yamaha Engine on
October 29, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
RIDGID
October 30, 2012
No, the 25 ft. cord is optional, it does not come with the generator.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
JJ
November 7, 2012
It does come with a 25ft extension cable but it can only be used on the back side of the 120v control panel only and not the 240v side which is stationary. This will enable you to remove the panel from the generator up to 25ft away for use of the two GFI outlets and the shut off switch for the generator. What you do is remove the latch that secures the control panel and you'll see two connections on the back of the panel which you can unplug.Then all you do is plug the supplied cord in at the generator at the two previously removed connections and on the other end of the supplied cord you just plug it into the control panel which you can mount to a stud etc.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
ColdcustomerNJ
NJ
November 11, 2012
Yes, it comes with 25ft cord L14-20Amp twirst lock connector on each end (male and female). This is not the household 3-pin type.
You do need to buy/install L14-20 recepticals to connect the cord and your panel to use this generator to power your house. Or I buy L14-30 Amp cord and connectors to wire it to my house.

Otherwise, you have to buy long extension cords to connect your appliances to it, but that really not very convinient. Ask your electrician how to wire the generator to your house. It does cost money.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Jack
Far Rockaway, Queens, NY, USA
November 26, 2012
It comes with a cable to remotely operate the control panel from within the house.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Rick
November 11, 2012
No it is an option.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

average cost to wire in?

Asked by
generator dumb
about 6,800-Watt Gasoline Powered Generator with Yamaha Engine on
July 26, 2012
I know nothing about generators (girl here), but I assume I need an electrician to wire this to my box, right? How much/hard is that? My electrician charges $65 an hour.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
RIDGID
July 26, 2012
Unfortunately, we cannot advise you on matters of that nature. You will need to consult with a licensed electrician in that regards.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Guitarman1
Northern Connecticut/
August 10, 2012
It is true, that you should have a professional hook up your generator if you want to be safe and NOT hurt others. Depending on what your local codes require, could be a little costsly but needed. P.S.
You could run extention cords out to what you need done , but you won't be happy.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Rick
November 11, 2012
I ran extension cords to my refrigerator, lights, and misc other items. Yes an electrician can wire a "transfer switch" that you plug in generator to power house but you still have to go out to get gasoline for it.
If you can afford get whole house generator that runs on natural gas. $7-$10K if you really want to be prepared.
Also be aware of proper storage of generator (use gas stabilizer if not using for extended periods of time otherwise gas will go bad in tank and when you go to use next time might not work).
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Jack
Far Rockaway, Queens, NY, USA
November 26, 2012
The proper way to wire this into your house is to use a device called a transfer switch. They cost from $150 or so and up, depending on how many circuits you wish to power. You can get a kit that comes with everything you need, including an outlet installed outdoors to attach the generator to so as to bring power into the transfer switch. If you know little about electricity and house wiring, leave the job for an electrician to do.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What can I run on the 6800? Info says it will run for 12 hrs at 50% capacity, but i have no idea what I can run for 50% capacity.

Asked by
kat
new jersey
about 6,800-Watt Gasoline Powered Generator with Yamaha Engine on
October 25, 2012
I need to run 2 sump pumps. if power out extended period, I may need to run refrigerator, some lights.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
RIDGID
October 26, 2012
The HD web listing has an error. The RD6800 does not have a 12 hour run time at 50%, it has a 10 hour run time at 50%. That was suppose to have been corrected some time ago.

The RD6800 is rated at 6800 running watts, which means you can run numerous items that can create a total draw of up to 50% (3400 watts) of that for the 10 hour run time on the 8 gallon fuel tank. Powering products that have a motor that cycles on and off like a small AC unit or a refrigerator can be done, as long as you do not exceed the units 8500 surge watt capability.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Guitarman1
Northern Connecticut/
October 28, 2012
Your house does not use power constantly . the load goes up and down constantly. My 6800 powers my whole house, but not all at once. For example if i am making breakfast, I don,t turn on the clothes washer wlile i am cooking. I wait till after. Both your pumps will run but not at the same time. Even if they did this unit has the reserve to cover. I have 2 refridgerators, two freezers, a sump pump, two pellet stoves and a lot of lights. The 50 percent load goes up an down from 5 percent to 70 percent and back . The average 50 percent gives you an averagea s to how long your fule will last. The unit holds 8 gallons of gas. Its never not lasted less then 12 hours for me. I know this because I am an Electrician by trade and have run tests on this unit. In my opinion this is one tuff unit and I am glad that I have it. IMHO
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
AMAZING0041
November 4, 2012
This is perfect for you and you can run much more. We have a 2000 square foot house that this thing runs fine. We are back feeding our house so it literally is powering everything. We also have a line to our neighbors. I don't push it with the stove or dryer.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
JJ
November 11, 2012
Best way to balance the generator load or to better see what watts your using for what you want to run is to buy a Watt meter made by Reliance Controls # MB75 is what I'm using, I tied it in myself, but a licensed electrician should be considered for the job by all means.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

I am interested in this generator for my 89 yr old mother who lives alone. How do you start it? Do you have to pull a cord like a lawn mower?

Asked by
janet
about 6,800-Watt Gasoline Powered Generator with Yamaha Engine on
October 27, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
RIDGID
October 29, 2012
The RIDGID RD6800 generator uses a pull start feature, similar to a lawn mower engine
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
AMAZING0041
November 4, 2012
Yes, it is a pull cord start
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Rick
November 11, 2012
Push button start but also need to know a little about engines (using a choke) ect... Also has pull cord...
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
ColdcustomerNJ
NJ
November 11, 2012
not recommended for anyone in the 80's, I am not comfortable with my mother in her 70's with this beast. It is 225lbs without gas and about 250lb with full tank gas. It is cheaper/safer to rent a hotel for a senior.
Yes, it has a pull cord
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

How difficult would it be for a very fit person in their 80s to wheel this a few feet out of a garage into the driveway?

Asked by
Janet
about 6,800-Watt Gasoline Powered Generator with Yamaha Engine on
October 27, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Guitarman1
Northern Connecticut/
October 28, 2012
The 6800 is a formidable machine . it weighs more then a full grown man. It does have a tall bail handle which allows you to tilt the unit back and roll it where you will. If you are on solid ground, asphalt, or concret, you should be able to tilt it back and roll it outdoors if you wish. Please keep in mind that the generator will not run in the rain . It will shut down. I have a cover next to my house where I park my unit when needed which keeps it from getting wet. You might be better served if you
had a covered outdoor area to leave your unit and had an electrician wire a safe connection to your electric panel. Do you have a wide overhang in front of your garage? you will need to keep it protected. one other thing. to make it totaly safe , it needs to be grounded . your tech manual explains why a ground is needed in plain language. I hope I have answered your question.
C Myers
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
AMAZING0041
November 4, 2012
It functions much like a typical dolly. It's heavy but I am a mother of 3 and manage pretty good. It won't be easy but you can do it
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Rick
November 11, 2012
The nice thing about this one is once you have it tilted back it is easy to wheel. You just have to get it tilted back, putting foot near wheel to stop it rolling back when trying to tilt it back. This one is probably one of the better designs of the ones out there.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
JohnnyTheGriff
Illinois, USA
June 16, 2013
Very easy the unit is very lightweight for its size, and has a folding handle, it tips back with very little effort and is very easy to roll out.

Cheers!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is the power sufficiently "clean" to safely operate a home desktop computer for extended time periods?

Asked by
Ken
NJ
about 6,800-Watt Gasoline Powered Generator with Yamaha Engine on
October 26, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Guitarman1
Northern Connecticut/
October 28, 2012
Yes , without question. please note : The directions ask you to " ground this unit" . This is needed
to insure safety and stability of the voltage delivered. You will need to hook a ground wire from the frame of the unit to a ground rod . That can be purchased at home depot as well. Please also remember to follow the directions on oil changes for the unit for long run times. I ran my unit last year
for 8 days straight stopping only every 3 days to change oil. Be nice to your generator and it will be nice to you.
C Myers
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
RIDGID
October 29, 2012
Yes, RIDGID generators provide clean power that is sufficient for use with powering electronics.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Rick
November 11, 2012
It says runs clean power but why not put a surge protector on extension cord to be safe.....
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Need to keep sump pump running, boiler, water pump and possibly refrigerator. Is this generator a good choice?

Asked by
ann
Cairo
about 6,800-Watt Gasoline Powered Generator with Yamaha Engine on
October 30, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
AMAZING0041
November 4, 2012
Our house is about 2000 square feet. We have this back feeding into our electrical panel. It is powering our entire house, including 2 fridgs, all our lights, TVs, oil burner, phones and we have a line to our neighbors. I ran the drier even once. Pulled a big too much with all the other things we have hooked up. I think for what you need, you should be more than fine,
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Guitarman1
Northern Connecticut/
October 30, 2012
This unit is more then capable of handling you power requirements. It will not start all of them at once.
you need to introduce each item at your circut breaker panel. after that, they will run at will and you will be happy!

C L Myers
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Jack
Far Rockaway, Queens, NY, USA
November 13, 2012
If look click the Info tab in the online ad for the generator, there is a PDF document that has generator sizing information. You can look up the estimated wattage of the devices you wish to power and add them up to see if the unit will work for you. Remember, there is starting watts, and running watts. The former is how much the devices draw when they start up, the later is when they are running normally. The document should help you understand this and calculate how big a generator you need.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Noise from this RIDGID 6800 genset

Asked by
Siisi
about 6,800-Watt Gasoline Powered Generator with Yamaha Engine on
November 13, 2012
Is there any way to suppress the noise level from this genset?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
RIDGID
November 13, 2012
No, there is not a provided or recommended means of noise reduction/supression for the RIDGID RD6800 generator.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Guitarman1
Northern Connecticut/
November 26, 2012
The muffler on this unit is a combo muffler/spark arrester. Not the perfact solution. I welded a muffler adapter ring to the spark arrester and added a small "real muffler" to the mix. This took down the generator noise about 25 percent. The Generator was built for contractors and people not subject to noise abatement issues. The down side is that most small generators are somewhat noisy in general. This is not unusual for small generatorsThe 6800 is a powerful unit . Power equates noise (in a general sense) Another way is to use a sound shield around the perimeter of the gen set in a open fashion to allow air but knock down some
generator noise. I am pretty sure if you weld a muffler on as I did , your warrenty will be null and void.
I live between two houses and during the last outage which lasted 8 days , it was a concert of small engine noise that we pretty much got use to due to the circumstances around us. This more then likely
not get printed because no one making generators wants to raise prices just to lower engine volume.
NUF SAID......
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Jack
Far Rockaway, Queens, NY, USA
November 26, 2012
Some people modify the exhaust system and connect their own exhaust on. Requires welding and metal working skills.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
1 2 »