Looking for Answers about ECHO 2 Cycle 21.2 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer?

Customer questions and answers for
ECHO 2 Cycle 21.2 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer

The ECHO 17 in. 21.2 cc Gas Trimmer offers professional power in a lightweight package. The 59 in. straight shaft helps provide an extended reach, the I-30 starter offers easy starting and the Speed Feed trimmer head helps provide quick and easy line changes. The 21.2 cc Power Boost Vortex 2-stroke engine helps provide strong cutting power while the bump head line release allows continuous operation by instantly letting out pre-measured lengths of line when needed.
Customer questions and answers:
72 Questions
 | 
399 Answers
Overall rating:
4.587 out of 5
4.6
out of
5

Customer questions and answers for ECHO 2 Cycle 21.2 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer

Question

Why is my 1 year old trimmer leaking oil?

Asked by
bigjoe007
texas
about 2 Cycle 21.2 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer on
September 28, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Dedvw
Old Orchard Beach
October 17, 2014
I would need a bit more information on where this oil is leaking.This is a 2 cycle string trimmer, so the oil is mixed in the gas. Is it coming from the engine, shaft, or lower unit? There is a small amount of grease applied to parts, but it shouldn't be enough to leak.

If your engine is leaking, it could be a bad gasket, incorrectly torqued bolts, a crack in your engine, priming it too much (causing gas/oil mix to spew out of the exhaust), or the angle your holding the trimmer.

I hope this helps.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Echo
September 30, 2014
Every 2-stroke engine burns oil and gas; this causes an oil vapor to escape into the muffler. If the engine is not ran at the RPM range that the unit is designed to be ran at, the muffler will not retain enough heat to be able to burn this excess oil. New engines do tend to burn more oil because the rings in the engine have not seated all the way. The ring will properly seat after running the unit for at least 2-3 full tanks of 50:1 gas and oil mix.

The oil inside the muffler will always be there, however, if the engine is ran at full throttle a majority of the times, the oil will be burned before it has a chance to accumulate and begin to drip out of the muffler. If the unit is ran consistently at idle to mid range RPM speeds, the muffler stays relatively cool causing the oil to build and eventually escape from the muffler.

ECHO engines are designed to be operated at full throttle a majority of the time. Full throttle operation is when the engine is most efficient for emissions, power, cooling and overall performance.

To resolve the problem, run the unit at full speed when trimming using 50:1 fuel/oil mix that is less then 30 days old. If areas of low speed trimming are required, ECHO recommends to remove the trimmer from the cutting area and run the unit at full speed for a few seconds. After a few uses following the above procedure you will notice a considerable decrease in oil leakage, and an eventual elimination of the problem.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Would I notice a difference in power between my old 31cc Ryobi and the newer Echo 225 21cc?

Asked by
Mike
Harper, Ks
about 2 Cycle 21.2 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer on
August 16, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
MikeT
Greenville, TX
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
August 31, 2014
Yes. You will find the Ryobi has a hair more power when new, but the Echo has power many years after the Ryobi has quit working.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Medic2
tucson
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
August 30, 2014
No echo cutts the same as the bigger boys
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
BillD
The Villages Fl.
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
August 20, 2014
I certainly don't think you will notice any difference in Power. The Echo trimmer is a great trimmer with plenty of power for just about all uses including commercial. I have owned them for over 6 years and I am very happy with all the Echo products.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Echo
August 18, 2014
Yes, you should. The 225 engine displacement is 21.2.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Dedvw
Old Orchard Beach
October 17, 2014
I just replaced my 31cc Ryobi with the 225 and the main thing I noticed was that the RPM's on the Echo are lower but it has a bit more power. I broke an expensive window with my old Ryobi because that thing use to fling stuff everywhere (high RPM's).

The Echo is definitely an upgrade from the Ryobi.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

I have a pretty old Ryobi 790R that's refusing to start so I may need to look for a new trimmer.

Asked by
MikeC
Kansas
about 2 Cycle 21.2 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer on
August 15, 2014
I know the Echo 225 is overall a better trimmer but will I find it to be under powered compared to the 31cc Ryobi?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Simonsays
MI
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
August 20, 2014
I would assume The Echo will have more power. its my 3ed in my tools that I use. I have a Sthel and a old weed eater that I use for different things but for one to just do the normal stuff it is a great trimmer.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
36C20
Gardner, Kansas
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
August 20, 2014
I've had several other trimmers before I bought this one. This is the best trimmer I have owned to date. Never had a Ryobi so I can't tell if it would be more powerful or not. The Echo trimmer has always started for me and works well at home, in fence lines & ditches.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Timothy
Griffin, Ga.
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
August 21, 2014
No. This trimmer is too powerful it is hard to contain the power with the trigger. I have got used to it now but it has so much power not even 2 to 3 ft. tall grass and weeds slow it down..
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
LOS1
Tamarac, Fl
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
August 21, 2014
I purchased this trimmer in April. There were 2 main reasons that I bought this, the first is that loading the line has come a long way from other trimmers that I have owned this takes 2 minutes tops even if you have problems. The other reason is after speaking to a lawn service company the owner told me that this (Echo) brand is all he uses. I have to use this weekly as I live in Fl and it does a great job.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Echo
August 18, 2014
Yes, it would be under powered. You should inquire the SRM-280.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
JimTN
Tennessee, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
August 21, 2014
Absolutely, the Echo SRM-225 is only 21.2 cc you can't expect it to be as powerful as a 31cc. Quality wise I think you will be more than pleased. I really don't know what you would be trimming that you would need anything more powerful than the SRM-225. Plus the easy start feature and speed load head, in my opinion, out ways any lack of power. Plus has a 5-year residential warranty
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

will this trimmer work with my hedge trimming attachment ?

Asked by
greg
greenwich ct
about 2 Cycle 21.2 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer on
July 24, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
9 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Echo
July 28, 2014
The SRM-225 is not designed to take the Hedge Trimmer attachment. The PAS-225 would be a better option if you need a trimmer for the Hedge Trimmer attachment.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
coalroller15
ri
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
July 31, 2014
no, you have to buy the split shaft, or pas (pro attachment series) power head. this unit is incapable of accepting attachments.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Medic2
tucson
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
August 30, 2014
Nope
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
doresoom
Harvest, AL
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 25, 2014
No, it doesn't take any attachments. Take a look at the Echo Model # PAS-266, which works with all their PAS attachments.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
SkokieBill
Skokie, IL
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 25, 2014
No. This is a dedicated line trimmer. It does not accept any attachments.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
LOS1
Tamarac, Fl
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 26, 2014
No, you have to buy the trimmer that you can change the attachments. this one is only the trimmer.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
bvail
Denver, CO
July 26, 2014
It does not take any attachments. Trimmer only.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
Sanchez1799
Denton, TX
July 26, 2014
This trimmer will not work with attachments you will need to purchase the one that is comparable for attachments, wich only work with echo attachments.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Asked by
DanB
Livonia, MI
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 26, 2014
No
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

How to prevent it keep die when I turn the trim left side down (the fuel cap will face to ground) and with fuel level of 2/3.

Asked by
James007
Atlanta, GA
about 2 Cycle 21.2 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer on
July 23, 2014
This has been my headache. I just bought it a month ago. And used it twice. It keep die when use as edger. I noticed if full fuel it works fine. As long as fuel down to 2/3 or less, it will die. Looks like design has problem for fuel sucking. This happens when I turn the top toward left side (for edger), if hold right side it works fine as hold top upright as trimmer.

Google with word of echo trimmer die, you will find lot people ask the same question.

Since it is over one month, I cannot return per home deport policy though I only run it twice.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
coalroller15
ri
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
July 31, 2014
could be a clogged fuel line, meaning limited fuel is being allowed from the line to the carburetor. try this: remove the fuel cap, and inside there's a tube with a filter on the end. pull it out and remove the filter, then try running it without the filter. if that doesn't work, try removing the lines and blowing through them. also, try cleaning the carb, even check the air filter.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
MikeT
Greenville, TX
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
August 31, 2014
Check your air and fuel filters. Make sure the engine is properly warmed up and the choke is off.

Some people want to hold the engine high up, maybe shoulder level or eye level, when edging. This is not necessary. You can rotate the front handle grip (phillips screwdriver) so it has a surface available to you for trimming and edging. You should be able to run the weeder at any angle after it is warmed up, but you may find the best low-RPM performance with it more near it's upright position.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
fishytim2
Tampa, Florida
September 29, 2014
Honestly, it isn't meant to be used as an Edger. You risk more eye and face damage that way!! Plus... you won't get near as Clean a Cut as you would using an Edger.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Echo
July 24, 2014
It is not recommended to use the trimmer as an edger. If it does not shut off when the tank is fuel, it is because when there is less fuel and using it as an edger it does not pick up the fuel. Please call in to Echo consumer support at 800-432-3246 for more technical help. If the problem persists you may take it to the nearest echo dealer for inspection.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

What is the difference between the srm-225 and srm-225i - other than price and one being available on line only?

Asked by
Chuck
Warrenton, VA
about 2 Cycle 21.2 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer on
July 22, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Echo
July 22, 2014
The srm-225i has the i75 starter. It reduces the starting effort by 75%.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
ChrisP
Mechanicsville, VA
September 2, 2014
I believe the i version has an easier start system. See my review on it.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Directions for line path on the trimmer

Asked by
wesel69hardworking
flintmichigan
about 2 Cycle 21.2 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer on
July 13, 2014
Trying to wind the string onto the trimmer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
7 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
lawnguyz
Elko, NV, USA
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
July 13, 2014
Depending on which head is on it, it should have indicator arrows on it.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
doresoom
Harvest, AL
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 13, 2014
If you have the u-turn head, just measure out 15-20' of line, and insert each end into the holes with the arrows lined up. Then push in and turn in the indicated direction until an 8" loop is all that's left sticking out. Cut the loop in the center and you're good to go!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
ChuckieET
East Texas/Tennessee Colony
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 14, 2014
Just follow the directions in the owner's manual....Other than that there was no major issue with putting fresh line on the trimmer wheel.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
DanB
Livonia, MI
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 14, 2014
Line up the arrows on the head with the holes for the string. Make sure you have straightened the first eight inches of the string. Trying to "fish" the string through the head while it still had the slight curve was impossible.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Sanchez1799
Denton, TX
July 14, 2014
The directional the line is counterclockwise.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Echo
July 14, 2014
When winding the line inside the trimmer head you turn it clockwise.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
Wolverine
San Juan, TX, USA
July 14, 2014
Just insert the string in one hole and let it come out yhe next hole pull the string to make it even on both sides and start turning the spool until all the string us in leaving a little outside to start trimming. Make dure the string is long enough when you insert in the spool. Just make sure you also if you have to twist a little the spool to allign both holes where the string will enter and exit to twist.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What is the white knob thing by the gas tank for ?

Asked by
Gris
about 2 Cycle 21.2 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer on
July 4, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
doresoom
Harvest, AL
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 5, 2014
Mine doesn't have a white knob anywhere on it, but then again maybe Echo has changed up some features since I bought mine 4 years ago. Maybe you could upload a picture with an arrow pointing to what you're asking about? If you can't upload a photo on a question, you could always "answer" this question with the photo attached.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Icky
Nevada
July 5, 2014
I think what you are refering to is the gas prime bubble - you need to push that in several time to get gas to the engine after it has set for awhile or has been run out of gas.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
LOS1
Tamarac, Fl
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 6, 2014
I went outside and looked at my machine. What "white knob" are you talking about? I did not see anything that I would consider a knob of any kind.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
DanB
Livonia, MI
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 6, 2014
The gas primer bulb.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Echo
July 8, 2014
That is the vent assembly. If its the part connected to the fuel line.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
lawnguyz
Elko, NV, USA
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
July 13, 2014
If you are using an Echo, I am unsure what white knob you are talking about. There is a primer bulb(clear) next to, and just under the carb. There is a white fitting on the back of the pull rope housing with a black line attached to it. That would be a pressure relief hose. Other than those two, I do not know of any white "knob".
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Do you have to mix additive for gas to run?

Asked by
jkn1950
pa
about 2 Cycle 21.2 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer on
July 3, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
doresoom
Harvest, AL
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 3, 2014
Yes, you need a 50:1 gas:oil mix. Echo sells little containers with the proper amount for dumping into a 1 gallon gas can to achieve the correct ratio. I believe their mix also contains a fuel stabilizer. DO NOT attempt to run the trimmer without the oil mixed in. It will start and run without the oil, but you'll destroy the engine.

If you get the oil elsewhere, it's a good idea to add a fuel stabilizer like Sta-Bil as well to keep old fuel from damaging the engine.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
bvail
Denver, CO
July 3, 2014
Must add 50:1 mix of 2 stroke oil to one gallon of gas (non-ethanol is best for motor if you can find it). Comes with a bottle of 2 stroke oil. You could keep the bottle to measure future mixes. Just pour the contents into one gallon of gas.

p.s. You can find straight gasoline in your area by downloading and using the app pure-gas on your smart phone. You can use 10 percent ethanol gas, but could cancel the warranty if a problem is fuel related. I think this probably applies to any or all gas powered lawn equipment.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Echo
July 3, 2014
The unit runs of a 50:1 fuel/oil mix. You don't have to mix the fuel in the tank each time to get it to run.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
jtsenior04
Tyler, TX, USA
July 3, 2014
Yes you do
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
LOS1
Tamarac, Fl
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 6, 2014
Yes, it should be a 50 to 1 mix with gas and 2 cycle oil. I also use a stabilizer to add it to my gas. But for this machine I use only the pre-mixed Truesouth fuel with no ethanol. By doing this I hope to keep my machine and engine running smoothly for years to come.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
DanB
Livonia, MI
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 6, 2014
Yes, mix 50 parts of gasoline to 1 part oil. 50:1
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Does it start & run good and is it heavy?

Asked by
jkn1950
pa
about 2 Cycle 21.2 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer on
July 3, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
doresoom
Harvest, AL
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 3, 2014
Mine usually starts on the fourth or fifth vigorous pull, after I've primed it and set the choke properly. It usually takes a minute or two of idling before it will run consistently, but once it gets going, it's a beast! I've had mine for about four years with no complaints. I'd definitely buy the same model again.

I do my half acre yard with tons of fence lines and trees without getting tired. It only weighs 12 lbs, but whether it's "heavy" for one individual to another is usually pretty subjective. I'd suggest going to the store and getting a feel for it firsthand if you're worried about it. Maybe even do the rest of your shopping while holding it like you're using it. You'll probably get some weird looks, but it's better to find out if it's too heavy before you buy it.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
bvail
Denver, CO
July 3, 2014
Best starting two stroke I've ever had if you follow the instructions.

Depends on what you consider heavy. Lighter than four stroke. Heavier than electric. Well balanced and the straight shaft is much easier to handle than a curved one.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Echo
July 3, 2014
Yes it does, it is one of the top straight shaft trimmers. It comes with the i30 starter which reduces the starting effort by 30 percent.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
ChuckieET
East Texas/Tennessee Colony
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 3, 2014
It has started every time the pull cord is pulled on. It's weight is very light for the size. They balanced the rod and engine very well.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
jtsenior04
Tyler, TX, USA
July 3, 2014
Starts and runs good... I'm 6'3 and it's just long enough for me not to be bend over too much just to reach the ground
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Simonsays
MI
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
July 4, 2014
I find it light weight and it starts quick and runs well
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

echo line trimmer

Asked by
johnT
about 2 Cycle 21.2 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer on
July 2, 2014
what is the difference between:

Model # SRM-230SPC & Model # SRM-225C
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Echo
July 3, 2014
The SRM-225 has a vortex engine and the SRM-230 has a tornado engine. The Tornado engine has a double ring piston and the vortex engine has a single ring piston. The SRM-225 also comes with an i30 easy start system. The engine CC is also higher on the SRM-230 which will make it a little stronger with heavier loads.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Speed Feeder Cap Comes Off While Using

Asked by
bvail
Denver, CO
about 2 Cycle 21.2 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer on
June 30, 2014
Cap comes off and then the line spool flies out. I lost one in the weeds. Took the trimmer back to HD and they replaced with new one. Fired up the trimmer and after a couple of minutes the cap and spool came off, but I was able to find it. Anybody have this problem? I pushed the cap down as far as it would go and the teeth that lock it in were positioned properly. How to prevent this from happening again?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
handy
July 18, 2014
I replaced it with the rino I to was getting tired of the cap coming off and the string not coming out
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Echo
July 1, 2014
Please call into the Echo consumer support department to discuss in more detail the issue you are having. 800-432-3246.
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Gcr12345
Rogers, MN
July 1, 2014
Yes, I took a razor and squared off both sides of the retainer detents. It's a bad plastic mold issue.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
FishingRick
Homosassa, FL
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 1, 2014
There are two arrows on the bottom "knob" of the cap. When these arrows are lined up with the arrows on the sides of the part of the unit that holds the spool, the cap is unlocked. When the arrows are twisted away from the arrows on sides of the unit , the cap is locked. Make sure the arrows are not lined up. Hope this helps.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
BillD
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 1, 2014
It sounds to me like the cap is not being installed properly. I have used mine for some time and have not had a problem. However, I can fore see such a problem as the clasps wear. The cap is only held on by the two plastice tabs that fit into the housing. Make sure those tabs snap in where they are suppose to go. After continued use the tabs probably will lose some tension and then may have a tendency to release. In that case I will just buy a new string assembly including the cap.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
bvail
Denver, CO
July 2, 2014
Thanks for your feedback everyone. One respondent shaved a bit of plastic because of a mold issue. I suspect that mine needs a bit of trimming also. As far as the improper assembling, the second one was fired up 'right out of the box', so if that was an issue, came from the factory that way :o) So I will take everyone's advice and check the tangs closely for not so good fitment due to sloppy mold and also the adjustment/winding ring on top to be sure the arrows are not lined up when I use the trimmer.

Thanks again.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

My wacker won't start. I don't know why. Any advice?

Asked by
mtwuma
Katy, Texas
about 2 Cycle 21.2 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer on
June 28, 2014
I have the correct mixture of gas:oil (50:1).
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Echo
July 1, 2014
The unit may be flooded. Put the choke down in the run position, make sure the purge bulb has fuel inside. Press the throttle trigger down at WOT and pull the rope 10-15 times. It should start under those pulls if flooded and if it does not you need to take the product to an echo dealer for inspection.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Can I install the Rino Tuff 3 blade head on this?

Asked by
jaybake32
Portland, OR
about 2 Cycle 21.2 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer on
May 23, 2014
I'd like to use my Rino-Tuff 3 blade head on this, and I know Rino Tuff says their product fits 99% of all gas trimmers, but, my luck lol......so I was wondering if anyone has done this. I'd rather not buy the PAS version and buy a separate brush cutter attachment for $150 more.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
lawnguyz
Elko, NV, USA
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
May 24, 2014
Yes, I installed it on mine.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
ceccat
Powell, TN
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
June 21, 2014
I had no problem using it on mine.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
DanB
Livonia, MI
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
June 29, 2014
You would have to contact Rino-Tuff for that answer.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
handy
July 18, 2014
I put it on mine and it works a lot better then the cap that comes with it that keeps flying off.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

I have several attachments for a Ryobi 4cyl trimmer. Will these work with this Echo?

Asked by
Mark
SC
about 2 Cycle 21.2 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer on
May 8, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
8 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
lawnguyz
Elko, NV, USA
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
May 24, 2014
No they will not.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
SACRAMENTO
?
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
May 10, 2014
No, very unlikely to work on an Echo splitshaft. Sorry.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
coalroller15
ri
May 15, 2014
i don't see why not. i tried with my stihl, it worked fine with my craftsman attachments. the fit wont be exact, but it should work. you should be able to tighten it without issue. just make sure you push it in all the way so it connects to the shaft.
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
JimTN
Tennessee, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
May 8, 2014
No, this model does not accept attachments.. There is a model available that will accept attacjhments.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
grillman3523
North Jersey
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
May 8, 2014
This is just a string trimmer, you can't change the parts
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Sanchez1799
Denton, TX
May 21, 2014
It would not work on roybi attachments, the only trimmer that accepts attachments is the echo pro attachments.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
Echo
May 9, 2014
The SRM-225 is designed for use as a trimmer only. This unit does not accept any attachments.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
Gcr12345
Rogers, MN
July 1, 2014
87 octane or better. Non oxygenated is not required, but I use it in all of my small engines.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

does it use pump gas or does it need special fuel

Asked by
fuel
spencer,wv
about 2 Cycle 21.2 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer on
May 1, 2014
just an answer please
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
8 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
lawnguyz
Elko, NV, USA
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
May 24, 2014
Pump gas. Although with the garbage gas we have available nowadays, I always use 90+ octane. Burns better, and cleaner. And with the amount of ethanol now added to our fuel, you will have less problems in the future with the carburetor if you use a higher octane fuel.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Echo
May 5, 2014
A 50:1 ratio with 89 Octane fuel can be used in all ECHO 2-stroke equipment, provided the oil is ISO-L-EGD and JASO M345 FD certified. ISO-L-EGD and JASO M345 FD oil must be used with a mid-grade (89 octane) or premium gasoline in all 1997 and newer engines.

A 50:1 Ratio = 1 US Gal. 89 Octane + 2.6 fl. oz. ECHO POWER BLEND OIL
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
DejaVu
Michigan
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
July 5, 2014
If you have to ask this question on a 2 cycle engine you better stick with a 4 cycle or battery operated
-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Icky
Nevada
May 6, 2014
You need to mix an oil additive to the fuel. So pump gas and the specific mix ratio recommended for the machine - usually available at hardware stores
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
doresoom
Harvest, AL
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
May 1, 2014
You can fuel it with regular 89 octane gas from the pump with up to 10% ethanol content. Don't forget to mix the gas with oil for a 50:1 ratio. I'm pretty sure Echo sells the oil in quantities that mix to the correct ratio when you use a 1 gallon gas can. Keep in mind that using ethanol free gas and/or adding a fuel stabilizer should extend the engine life. Lastly, the user manual recommends that the gas used should be no older than 90 days.
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Mark
Clarksville tn 37040
May 3, 2014
2 cycle and gas, but but the ECHO 2 cycle has fuel stablizer..
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
JimTN
Tennessee, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
May 8, 2014
Fuel with no more than 10% ethanol. I use a fuel stabilizer each time a mix a gallon.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
extracheese
Everett, WA, USA
May 9, 2014
Mixed fuel.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is the echo engine a full crank or a half crank?

Asked by
smokey
about 2 Cycle 21.2 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer on
April 29, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
bvail
Denver, CO
July 3, 2014
Don't know, but I can get a bit cranky at times :o)
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
doresoom
Harvest, AL
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
April 30, 2014
I believe it's full crank since the starter pull is at the back of the engine, but I'm not sure if it's actually specified in the documentation.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
doresoom
Harvest, AL
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
May 13, 2014
After looking up the component manual, it's very clear that the SRM-225 is a full crank engine. You can see two bearings on either side of the piston in the exploded diagram below.
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
FishingRick
Homosassa, FL
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
May 3, 2014
It is a full crank.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
JimTN
Tennessee, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
May 8, 2014
If you are referring to the length of pull to start the trimmer, I would call it a half crank.
-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
extracheese
Everett, WA, USA
May 9, 2014
Half a pull starts right away.
-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

can i install a brush cutting blade,only the blade and how would i do this..t/y

Asked by
bobbyb
springfield,ore
about 2 Cycle 21.2 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer on
March 31, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Echo
April 1, 2014
When installing a blade on the SRM-225 it is required to have a blade adapter kit installed. The Blade Adapter kit for the SRM-225 is part number 99944200422.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
TravisHDAtl
Atlanta, GA
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
April 1, 2014
Hi bobbyb,

I'm Travis from The Home Depot. Thanks for visiting our site.

Yes, all Echo Straight Shaft Gas Trimmers will accept the Brush Cutter Accessory.

The kit includes the arbor, washer and nut to retain the blade, as well as a low profile blade guard. Attachment and safety hardware is also included.

Click on this link for details about this kit:

http://www.homedepot.com/p/ECHO-8-i...

Thank you for asking,

-Travis
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
kdc45
Coventry, OH 44319
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
June 17, 2014
I believe it can be done. Remove the spool to access the shaft nut. Remove the nut and the spool housing and maybe the guard (if it is in the way of the brush blade). Install the new blade and tighten the nut. Should be ready to rock and roll.....
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
bvail
Denver, CO
July 26, 2014
I believe a brush cutting blade is available for this trimmer. Instructions are in the manual or Google it.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
coalroller15
ri
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
May 15, 2014
you need a kit to do it safely. i have one for my 225, but it's such a pain to put together that i haven't bothered. try youtube, there should be some instructional vid to help.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
JimTN
Tennessee, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 1, 2014
My opinion you probably need to change the head. Don't really know??????????????
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is this wacker compatible with the PAS attachments?

Asked by
spectraface
about 2 Cycle 21.2 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer on
February 7, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
grillman3523
North Jersey
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
April 8, 2014
No, this is a string trimmer only, you need the PAS model.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
DanB
Livonia, MI
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
June 29, 2014
No
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
SACRAMENTO
?
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
May 10, 2014
No, sorry. But why not an Echo PAS model?
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Echo
February 10, 2014
The SRM-225 does not accept any attachments, this model is designed for use as a string trimmer only. The PAS attachments are only compatible with the PAS models.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
coalroller15
ri
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
May 15, 2014
no you need the pas unit, or split shaft.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
JimTN
Tennessee, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
May 8, 2014
No not this model.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

what type of warranty is included for this product because rope has broke?

Asked by
handyman
about 2 Cycle 21.2 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer on
October 19, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
THDCustomerSupport
Kennesaw, GA
October 20, 2013
Thank you for your recent inquiry with The Home Depot. This item has a 5 year consumer/ 2 year commercial warranty. I believe it would be best to reach out to the manufacturer for assistance. The manufacturer is ECHO and their customer service department can be reached at 1-800-432-3246.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
1 2 3 4 »