Looking for Answers about ECHO 2 Cycle 21.2 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer?

Customer questions and answers for
ECHO 2 Cycle 21.2 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer

With its long reach, hearty power and easy usability, the ECHO gas trimmer lets you get your yard in great shape. It starts easily and is lightweight. Use the Speed Feed trimmer head for quick and easy line changes. The Power Boost Vortex engine gives strong cutting power and the 59 in. shaft gives you accessibility to hard-to-reach places.
Customer questions and answers:
87 Questions
 | 
470 Answers
Overall rating:
4.65 out of 5
4.7
out of
5

Customer questions and answers for ECHO 2 Cycle 21.2 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer

Question

Long Term Storage Maintenance

Asked by
Toibit
about 2 Cycle 21.2 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer on
August 24, 2015
There's a section on the manual about long term storage of the unit (>30 days of non-use). I understand the part about draining the fuel tank, but how necessary is the engine/spark plug maintenance? The manual said to pour 7cc of engine oil through the spark plug hole and align the spark plug in a certain way. In reality, how often does this need to be done? Let's assume that I mow my yard once every month.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Echo
August 26, 2015
If you do not plan to use your unit for a period of 30 days or longer you should: 1.Store unit in a dry, dust free place, out of the reach of children. 2.Place the stop switch in the "OFF" position. 3.Remove accumulation of grease, oil, dirt, and debris from exterior of unit. 4.Perform all periodic lubrication and services that are required. 5.Tighten all the screws and nuts. 6.Drain the fuel tank completely and pull the recoil starter handle several times to remove fuel from the carburetor. 7.Remove the spark plug and pour 7 cc (1/4 oz.) of fresh, clean, two-stroke engine oil into the cylinder through the spark plug hole. A. Place a clean cloth over the spark plug hole. B. Pull the recoil starter handle 2-3 times to distribute the oil inside the engine. C. Observe the piston location through the spark plug hole. Pull the recoil starter handle slowly until the piston reaches the top of its travel and leave it there. 8.Install the spark plug (do not connect ignition cable). 9.Make sure ignition switch and throttle operate freely and safety interlocks and guards are in place and functioning. 10.Check the cutting attachments for wear, this includes blades, trimmer heads, saw chain, hedge clipper blades, etc. If worn or damaged, sharpen or replace as needed.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Looking for replacement head

Asked by
Dale
Topeka ks
about 2 Cycle 21.2 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer on
August 7, 2015
I am looking for a replacement head for this trimmer. Not the original style but one that the string can be replaced faster. Any suggestions??
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Echo
August 10, 2015
The replacement trimmer head for the SRM-225 is the Speed Feed Universal 400. The part number is #99944200907.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Professor
AL
August 11, 2015
I have two of the same type trimmers but I haven't had a need to replace any parts.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Easy or hard to thread?

Asked by
JNYC
about 2 Cycle 21.2 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer on
August 6, 2015
How easy is this trimmer to thread? Also, is the thread included with purchase? Thanks, in advance!
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Firebossbob
Jasper, Alabama
August 8, 2015
Yes it is easy to put new line in and they trimmer comes with instructions on how to do so.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Echo
August 11, 2015
The Speed-Feed Trimmer head can actually be reloaded without dismantling. With Speed-Feed, there is no need to press-in stiff tabs or unlock mud-incased covers just to refill line! With Speed-Feed you simply line-up the eyelets, thread the line through the trimmer head until it exits the opposite eyelet and pull a couple of arms lengths of line. The line is quickly and easily loaded on the spool by turning the large knob on top of the trimmer head. Cut the line to size and your back in business. Head holds up to 20 ft. of .095" line. (Maximum line size is .105" diameter).
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Delmar
Mo
August 16, 2015
The Echo has to be the easiest trimmer there is to replace line. Just line up the arrows on the trimmer head, insert the line equal length on both sides and hold the bottom of the timmer head while turning the top of the trimmer head clockwise. It takes less than a minute.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Starter cord won't pull

Asked by
PBrenner
Texas
about 2 Cycle 21.2 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer on
August 3, 2015
I purchased this trimmer in early Jun/2015 (less than 2 months ago). It's only been used a few hours total. It worked fine this past Saturday morning until I took a short break - I turned it off, set it down on the ground and when I tried to start it up again the starter cord seems completely stuck - it won't pull more than an inch or two. Any ideas or guidance? Do I return it for a replacement?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
md23329
New York
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
August 5, 2015
I have only had my trimmer for less than a week. I have not experienced this issue with this or any other trimmer that I have owned. That being said if it was me personally I would bring it back to the store and explain this to them given the fact that it was purchased such a short time ago.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
tman
Rossford, Ohio
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
August 5, 2015
Under warranty, have them make it right. Only ever had that happen on cheap trimmers, not good. Hope you saved receipt or used Home Depot card.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Firebossbob
Jasper, Alabama
August 4, 2015
I would suggest you take it back, you did mix the oil with a gallon of gas?
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Echo
August 11, 2015
When the starter rope will not pull out, the problem could be related to a number of different things. A problem with the Starter Assembly, carbon buildup, or a problem with the engine. To check if the problem is related to carbon buildup, remove the spark plug from the unit. Try pulling on the starter rope. If the starter rope pulls freely this is an indication the exhaust port and spark arrestor screen need to be inspected and replaced. If the starter rope does not pull freely, then the problem could be related to the Starter Assembly or the engine.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
pbrenner
August 5, 2015
Yes - I did mix oil with the gas according to the directions. I have used the trimmer for a total of 5-6 hours previously.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is this trimmer a 2015 model

Asked by
Mike
Memphis Tn.
about 2 Cycle 21.2 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer on
August 2, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Mikey
Norfolk, VA
August 3, 2015
Maybe, you will need to post the serial number foe accurate identification. You could also go to the echo website for information.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Firebossbob
Jasper, Alabama
August 3, 2015
I had bought another brand that didn't hold up at all, was very hard to start, died every time you rolled the trimmer over, so I took it back with no trouble at all I paid a little in the difference in price for the Echo, best thing I could have done, my neighbor has the 225 model too, he has had for years and takes care of his lawn and mothers 5 acres, so that also influenced my decision
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Echo
August 4, 2015
Manufacturing for the model, SRM-225, began in 2008. This model is currently being manufactured. The only way to determine what year the unit was manufactured would be by the serial number or the date code, both on the product.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Dolarhyde
detroit, mi
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
August 5, 2015
I don't think so the manual is from 2009 so may be a model that has been around for a while, I am sure the unit is new, but the model probably has been around for a few years. this is not a good or bad thing since models that have been around for while usually have kinks worked out of them from feedback from customers. Good unit overall, more commercial verses homeowner.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

can i return my srm225?

Asked by
sabri
edmond
about 2 Cycle 21.2 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer on
July 6, 2015
i buy this trimmer 5/25/2015.. i think its over 30 days...but this trimmer leak.. i dont want to deal with dealer..i only use this trimmer 3 times...
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Delmar
Mo
July 14, 2015
yes. I was told you could return it up to ninety days after purchase.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Doresoom
Harvest, AL
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 7, 2015
You should call your local store and ask.

If there's actually something wrong with the trimmer, Echo has a very good warranty.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Dolarhyde
detroit, mi
August 5, 2015
says 30 days return from echo, I think home depot will honor 30 day.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

maintenance page missing on the manual

Asked by
mdcaj
spring, tx
about 2 Cycle 21.2 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer on
July 6, 2015
I did not find the maintenance page on the manual, which is supposed to be on page 45. I was trying to see how often should I change oil, etc. Could anyone help me on this? Thanks a lot
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Delmar
Mo
July 14, 2015
Go online to echo website and download.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Echo
July 7, 2015
The Operator's manual for the SRM-225 can be located by copying and pasting the following link into your web browser; http://www.echo-usa.com/Support-Help/Technical-Documents.aspx?s=srm-225&c=en-us. The serial number will be needed to determine which manual is correct for the model.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Mikey
Norfolk, VA
July 28, 2015
There is no page 45 in my manual. There is no oil to change. The gear housing grease should be checked and refilled every 3 months. The air and fuel filter should also be checked and cleaned/replaced every 3 months. Same with the spark plug.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Dolarhyde
detroit, mi
August 5, 2015
no oil change required on this unit since it is two cycle, oil/gas mix. You can go to echo and find Electronic file or PDF. Home depot has a link to digital user manual. Maintenance seems like a lot, as described in manual.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

how do you refill cutter with string

Asked by
mike
republic,wa
about 2 Cycle 21.2 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer on
June 20, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Echo
June 22, 2015
The Speed-Feed Trimmer head can actually be reloaded without dismantling. With Speed-Feed, there is no need to press-in stiff tabs or unlock mud-incased covers just to refill line! With Speed-Feed you simply line-up the eyelets, thread the line through the trimmer head until it exits the opposite eyelet and pull a couple of arms lengths of line. The line is quickly and easily loaded on the spool by turning the large knob on top of the trimmer head. Cut the line to size and your back in business. Head holds up to 20 ft. of .095" line. (Maximum line size is .105" diameter).
To view a demo video, please copy and paste the following link into your web browser; http://www.echo-usa.com/Videos/Trimmers/ECHO-Speed-Feed-Head-Demo-Video
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Dolarhyde
detroit, mi
August 5, 2015
says easy pull through no need to remove spool or head, but never seemed to work for me, had to remove head and manually feed string.Everything lined up as describe but because line is curved never feed into hole properly, would not feed through hole properly inside hole is very small, so could not find inside hole, line would not feed through for me as described in instructions. went through out hole well but trying to find hole in spool was difficult if not impossible.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

what blade conversion kit do I need to purchase for the SRM 225 ??

Asked by
RTBob
Flowery Branch , Georgia
about 2 Cycle 21.2 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer on
June 10, 2015
Has anyone actually used the SRM 225 with the 80 tooth blade on it for cutting Kudzo vines ?? How well did it work if you have ??
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Echo
June 11, 2015
The SRM-225 is compatible with the following Blade Conversion Kits, #99944200418 - Blade Conversion Kit (Includes shoulder harness, metal shield and blade adapter). #99944200422 - Blade Conversion Kit with Blade (Includes shoulder harness, metal shield, 20mm arbor and 8 in 8 tooth grass and weed blade.

Other available blades; #99944200047 - Three Cutter Metal Blade (20mm) - ECHO three-cutter blades are specially designed to cut brush, shrubs and grass. #69500120331 - 8" 80 Tooth Brush Blade (20mm Arbor) - Designed for material up to 2.5" in diameter depending on the material being cut and the condition of the blade. #99944200131 - 22 Tooth Clearing Saw Blade (20mm Arbor) - For use on thick saplings and dense thicket up to 2-1/2" in diameter.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Head Rotation

Asked by
Nodyarg
Moab
about 2 Cycle 21.2 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer on
June 5, 2015
What direction does the trimmer head rotate? Looking for a straight shaft that rotates clockwise as you are looking down on it.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
CommunityAnswer
June 17, 2015
The head rotates counter clockwise when viewed from top.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Gimzee
Canyon City, CO.
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
June 17, 2015
I like that direction also but this one rotates counter clockwise as looking down on it.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Echo
June 8, 2015
All SRM (straight shaft) models are equipped with a gear case which converts the drive shaft rotation from clockwise to counter-clockwise. The gear reducing gear case converts the high engine speed to low end torque needed to cut through heavy grass or saplings.
There is no way to change the rotation direction of the cutting head from counter-clockwise to clockwise.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Dolarhyde
detroit, mi
August 5, 2015
clock wise
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

need to know fuel mixture for the srm225 weedeater????

Asked by
jsah
about 2 Cycle 21.2 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer on
May 30, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
7 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Echo
June 1, 2015
50:1 ratio with 89 Octane fuel can be used in all ECHO 2-stroke equipment, provided the oil is ISO-L-EGD and JASO M345 FD certified. ISO-L-EGD and JASO M345 FD oil must be used with a mid-grade (89 octane) or premium gasoline in all 1997 and newer engines.
A 50:1 Ratio = 1 US Gal. 89 Octane + 2.6 fl. oz. ECHO POWER BLEND OIL
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Delmar
Mo
July 14, 2015
Just use echo oil and you will be fine.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
BobS
June 23, 2015
50:1
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
BennettCA
Tallahassee, FL
June 21, 2015
I always use (50 to 1) with this equipment. Read your Cycle 2 oil bottle that will normally tell you how much fuel to use with the Cycle 2 oil.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
TNGUY
Morristown, TN
June 2, 2015
50 to 1 ratio. They sale bottles at The Home Depot that are pre-measured to be used with a gallon of gasoline.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
scott
alexandria, va 22315
June 13, 2015
50:1 fuel to oil mix or 2.6 fl.oz. of 2-stroke motor oil to 1 gallon of gasoline.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
Dolarhyde
detroit, mi
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
August 5, 2015
50 to 1, 1 gallon gas to a small bottle of oil, just buy at home-depot, echo brand i am sure works best. for this unit, or buy premixed stuff little pricier but should work just fine.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is the guard large enough on this trimmer? It seems kind of skimpy in comparison.

Asked by
TMan
about 2 Cycle 21.2 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer on
May 28, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Dego
King George, Va.
June 16, 2015
yes-is too small. I have heard there is a larger guard available, but no time to research.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Echo
May 29, 2015
ECHO's new straight shaft trimmers feature an 8" shield. The new shield offers more features in a more compact design compared to our old larger shield. Still made from the same high quality polymer, the new 8" shield is tested tough. It also conforms to all applicable U.S. trimmer shield standards. The new shield design incorporates an anti-wrap guard as part of the shield. The compact design also allows more maneuverability in tight trimming conditions.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Delmar
Mo
July 14, 2015
The guard on the echo 21.2 cc is plenty large enough. Just make sure you use protective goggles like you would with any trimmer.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
BennettCA
Tallahassee, FL
June 21, 2015
It is sufficient. Sometimes a little grass and dirt may shoot out if you use this equipment to edge.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
scott
alexandria, va 22315
June 14, 2015
It is kind of small, you will definitely need goggles which come with the purchase of a new unit. Also, you might want to buy a clear face shield for additional protection.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Dolarhyde
detroit, mi
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
August 5, 2015
does seem to need a larger guard, items do seem to fly when trimming, high kick back of debris.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Does it have a whole in the handle for a shoulder strap?

Asked by
Jimmy
Mukwonago, WI
about 2 Cycle 21.2 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer on
May 21, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
CommunityAnswer
May 21, 2015
Yes, this product is set up for a strap. A strap is not included.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Echo
May 21, 2015
ECHO offers two different shoulder strap for the Straight Shaft models; #99944200200 SRM Shoulder Strap Kit - This kit will include the shoulder strap and hardware to install the shoulder harness. #99944200202 Heavy Duty Brushcutter Harness - This kit will include a 4 point harness with padded straps and his protector and quick tool attachment clip.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
BennettCA
Tallahassee, FL
June 21, 2015
I don't think this equipment has a hole for a strap, but I suggest taking your strap to your local store and see if it works. It may take a little effort, but you will have assistance in the store and the ability to ask questions. It is just a sure way to see if the equipment is right for you.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Gimzee
Canyon City, CO.
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
June 17, 2015
The shoulder strap provided by Echo, has a bracket that you attach to the trimmer. The strap will then attach to the bracket .
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
scott
alexandria, va 22315
June 14, 2015
No. I think they sell a shoulder strap kit at Home Depot. Keep in mind this unit only weighs 12 lbs. I used it for three hours without a strap and had no problems.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Dolarhyde
detroit, mi
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
August 5, 2015
no hole but you can buy strap, not sure how it attaches, see accessories for this unit I know you can buy one, I would recommend since this is a heavy unit especially if you are using for extended periods.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is thr 2 cycle 21.2cc straight shaft gas trimmer variable speed?

Asked by
Nick
Elkton, MD
about 2 Cycle 21.2 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer on
May 19, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Delmar
Mo
July 14, 2015
yes, it can cut at a low idle.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Echo
May 21, 2015
ECHO engines are designed to be operated at full throttle a majority of the time. Full throttle operation is when the engine is most efficient for emissions, power, cooling and overall performance.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
BobS
June 23, 2015
Yes
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Gimzee
Canyon City, CO.
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
June 17, 2015
Yes, it has a trigger that when pressed, will increase the engine RPMs.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
scott
alexandria, va 22315
June 13, 2015
Yes
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Dolarhyde
detroit, mi
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
August 5, 2015
yes variable, but seems to work best at high speed, but very loud when at full throttle. think chain saw loud, ear plugs required.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

How much does it weigh?

Asked by
Tina
about 2 Cycle 21.2 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer on
April 29, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
CommunityAnswer
April 30, 2015
This product weighs 12.1 pounds.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Gary
Colorado Springs CO
Home Improvement Profile: Other
May 1, 2015
My wife is the one who uses the trimmer and she says it is very light and easier to use than her old electric Weed Eater Brand weed trimmer. My wife is only 5 foot tall and weighs 110 pounds.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Echo
April 29, 2015
The dry weight of the SRM-225 is 12.1 lbs.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
DaveP
Burr Ridge, IL
May 15, 2015
12.1 lbs. Info is shown on Home Depot web site for this product.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
scott
alexandria, va 22315
June 13, 2015
12.1 lbs.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Dolarhyde
detroit, mi
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
August 5, 2015
says 12.1 lbs. in manual, very heavy for extended periods, would not recommended for smaller person.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Why is my 1 year old trimmer leaking oil?

Asked by
bigjoe007
texas
about 2 Cycle 21.2 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer on
September 28, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Echo
September 30, 2014
Every 2-stroke engine burns oil and gas; this causes an oil vapor to escape into the muffler. If the engine is not ran at the RPM range that the unit is designed to be ran at, the muffler will not retain enough heat to be able to burn this excess oil. New engines do tend to burn more oil because the rings in the engine have not seated all the way. The ring will properly seat after running the unit for at least 2-3 full tanks of 50:1 gas and oil mix.

The oil inside the muffler will always be there, however, if the engine is ran at full throttle a majority of the times, the oil will be burned before it has a chance to accumulate and begin to drip out of the muffler. If the unit is ran consistently at idle to mid range RPM speeds, the muffler stays relatively cool causing the oil to build and eventually escape from the muffler.

ECHO engines are designed to be operated at full throttle a majority of the time. Full throttle operation is when the engine is most efficient for emissions, power, cooling and overall performance.

To resolve the problem, run the unit at full speed when trimming using 50:1 fuel/oil mix that is less then 30 days old. If areas of low speed trimming are required, ECHO recommends to remove the trimmer from the cutting area and run the unit at full speed for a few seconds. After a few uses following the above procedure you will notice a considerable decrease in oil leakage, and an eventual elimination of the problem.
+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Dedvw
Old Orchard Beach
October 17, 2014
I would need a bit more information on where this oil is leaking.This is a 2 cycle string trimmer, so the oil is mixed in the gas. Is it coming from the engine, shaft, or lower unit? There is a small amount of grease applied to parts, but it shouldn't be enough to leak.

If your engine is leaking, it could be a bad gasket, incorrectly torqued bolts, a crack in your engine, priming it too much (causing gas/oil mix to spew out of the exhaust), or the angle your holding the trimmer.

I hope this helps.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
scott
alexandria, va 22315
June 13, 2015
Needs a new gas cap or fuel line.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Would I notice a difference in power between my old 31cc Ryobi and the newer Echo 225 21cc?

Asked by
Mike
Harper, Ks
about 2 Cycle 21.2 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer on
August 16, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Echo
August 18, 2014
Yes, you should. The 225 engine displacement is 21.2.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Dedvw
Old Orchard Beach
October 17, 2014
I just replaced my 31cc Ryobi with the 225 and the main thing I noticed was that the RPM's on the Echo are lower but it has a bit more power. I broke an expensive window with my old Ryobi because that thing use to fling stuff everywhere (high RPM's).

The Echo is definitely an upgrade from the Ryobi.
+2points
3out of 4found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
raskill
west chester, ohio
April 18, 2015
Stay away from the 225 it wont last...
-3points
0out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
BillD
The Villages Fl.
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
August 20, 2014
I certainly don't think you will notice any difference in Power. The Echo trimmer is a great trimmer with plenty of power for just about all uses including commercial. I have owned them for over 6 years and I am very happy with all the Echo products.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Medic2
tucson
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
August 30, 2014
No echo cutts the same as the bigger boys
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
MikeT
Greenville, TX
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
August 31, 2014
Yes. You will find the Ryobi has a hair more power when new, but the Echo has power many years after the Ryobi has quit working.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

I have a pretty old Ryobi 790R that's refusing to start so I may need to look for a new trimmer.

Asked by
MikeC
Kansas
about 2 Cycle 21.2 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer on
August 15, 2014
I know the Echo 225 is overall a better trimmer but will I find it to be under powered compared to the 31cc Ryobi?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Echo
August 18, 2014
Yes, it would be under powered. You should inquire the SRM-280.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Simonsays
MI
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
August 20, 2014
I would assume The Echo will have more power. its my 3ed in my tools that I use. I have a Sthel and a old weed eater that I use for different things but for one to just do the normal stuff it is a great trimmer.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
36C20
Gardner, Kansas
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
August 20, 2014
I've had several other trimmers before I bought this one. This is the best trimmer I have owned to date. Never had a Ryobi so I can't tell if it would be more powerful or not. The Echo trimmer has always started for me and works well at home, in fence lines & ditches.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Timothy
Griffin, Ga.
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
August 21, 2014
No. This trimmer is too powerful it is hard to contain the power with the trigger. I have got used to it now but it has so much power not even 2 to 3 ft. tall grass and weeds slow it down..
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
snopea123
Tamarac, Fl
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
August 21, 2014
I purchased this trimmer in April. There were 2 main reasons that I bought this, the first is that loading the line has come a long way from other trimmers that I have owned this takes 2 minutes tops even if you have problems. The other reason is after speaking to a lawn service company the owner told me that this (Echo) brand is all he uses. I have to use this weekly as I live in Fl and it does a great job.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
JimTN
Tennessee, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
August 21, 2014
Absolutely, the Echo SRM-225 is only 21.2 cc you can't expect it to be as powerful as a 31cc. Quality wise I think you will be more than pleased. I really don't know what you would be trimming that you would need anything more powerful than the SRM-225. Plus the easy start feature and speed load head, in my opinion, out ways any lack of power. Plus has a 5-year residential warranty
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

will this trimmer work with my hedge trimming attachment ?

Asked by
greg
greenwich ct
about 2 Cycle 21.2 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer on
July 24, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
10 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Echo
July 28, 2014
The SRM-225 is not designed to take the Hedge Trimmer attachment. The PAS-225 would be a better option if you need a trimmer for the Hedge Trimmer attachment.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
coalroller15
ri
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
July 31, 2014
no, you have to buy the split shaft, or pas (pro attachment series) power head. this unit is incapable of accepting attachments.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
lancer
Sunset,La
January 7, 2015
Unfortunately, no. this unit doesn't have a removable head to work with attachments.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Medic2
tucson
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
August 30, 2014
Nope
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Doresoom
Harvest, AL
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 25, 2014
No, it doesn't take any attachments. Take a look at the Echo Model # PAS-266, which works with all their PAS attachments.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
SkokieBill
Skokie, IL
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 25, 2014
No. This is a dedicated line trimmer. It does not accept any attachments.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
snopea123
Tamarac, Fl
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 26, 2014
No, you have to buy the trimmer that you can change the attachments. this one is only the trimmer.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
ironbuttrider
Denver, CO
July 26, 2014
It does not take any attachments. Trimmer only.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Asked by
Sanchez1799
Denton, TX
July 26, 2014
This trimmer will not work with attachments you will need to purchase the one that is comparable for attachments, wich only work with echo attachments.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 10
Asked by
DanB
Livonia, MI
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 26, 2014
No
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

How to prevent it keep die when I turn the trim left side down (the fuel cap will face to ground) and with fuel level of 2/3.

Asked by
James007
Atlanta, GA
about 2 Cycle 21.2 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer on
July 23, 2014
This has been my headache. I just bought it a month ago. And used it twice. It keep die when use as edger. I noticed if full fuel it works fine. As long as fuel down to 2/3 or less, it will die. Looks like design has problem for fuel sucking. This happens when I turn the top toward left side (for edger), if hold right side it works fine as hold top upright as trimmer.

Google with word of echo trimmer die, you will find lot people ask the same question.

Since it is over one month, I cannot return per home deport policy though I only run it twice.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
coalroller15
ri
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
July 31, 2014
could be a clogged fuel line, meaning limited fuel is being allowed from the line to the carburetor. try this: remove the fuel cap, and inside there's a tube with a filter on the end. pull it out and remove the filter, then try running it without the filter. if that doesn't work, try removing the lines and blowing through them. also, try cleaning the carb, even check the air filter.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
fishytim2
Tampa, Florida
September 29, 2014
Honestly, it isn't meant to be used as an Edger. You risk more eye and face damage that way!! Plus... you won't get near as Clean a Cut as you would using an Edger.
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Echo
July 24, 2014
It is not recommended to use the trimmer as an edger. If it does not shut off when the tank is fuel, it is because when there is less fuel and using it as an edger it does not pick up the fuel. Please call in to Echo consumer support at 800-432-3246 for more technical help. If the problem persists you may take it to the nearest echo dealer for inspection.
+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
lancer
Sunset,La
January 7, 2015
It sounds like when you're turning it over, the fuel intake line is out of the fuel. Maybe it's stuck and not dropping down when you tip it over or maybe it's a design flaw like you stated.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
MikeT
Greenville, TX
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
August 31, 2014
Check your air and fuel filters. Make sure the engine is properly warmed up and the choke is off.

Some people want to hold the engine high up, maybe shoulder level or eye level, when edging. This is not necessary. You can rotate the front handle grip (phillips screwdriver) so it has a surface available to you for trimming and edging. You should be able to run the weeder at any angle after it is warmed up, but you may find the best low-RPM performance with it more near it's upright position.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Dolarhyde
detroit, mi
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
August 5, 2015
I think the fuel filter just stays so far down tank, fuel can't reach it if turned the wrong way. I didn't seem to have this problem turned either way,so not sure what may happening for you
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 »