Looking for Answers about GE 2.2 DOE cu. ft. Front Load Washer in White?

Customer questions and answers for
GE 2.2 DOE cu. ft. Front Load Washer in White

This washer features a PerfectTemp wash system with a HydroHeater that increases the wash temperature to reduce bacteria for a thorough clean. HydroMotion technology gently removes soils from garments to limit wear and tear on your clothes.
Customer questions and answers:
28 Questions
 | 
38 Answers
Overall rating:
4.256 out of 5
4.3
out of
5

Customer questions and answers for GE 2.2 DOE cu. ft. Front Load Washer in White

Question

Can I connet the GE 2.2 DOE Cu. ft washing machine to my kitchen sink faucet?

Asked by
Flying14
New York, NY
about 2.2 DOE cu. ft. Front Load Washer in White on
July 11, 2014
I have an old machine which worked fine that way but now need replacing.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
July 11, 2014
Hello- This is Lisa from GE. This is not a portable model so it cannot be attached to the kitchen sink. We currently do not sell a portable washer. Thanks for checking!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Why the washer has 120 V, but the compatible dryer has 240V... We only got 120 V. Can I use DCVH480EKWW dryer on 120 voltage.

Asked by
Nika
Palo Alto, CA
about 2.2 DOE cu. ft. Front Load Washer in White on
July 2, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
JosephHDATL
Atlanta GA
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
July 2, 2014
Hey Nika,

If the dryer is an electric model (no gas to power it), then it will require the higher voltage in 30 amps 240V.

This is because the dryer consumes a lot of power for heating up the clothes. Since it is so much, this is why you'd need a dedicated circuit breaker, wire, and outlet going just to it in 30 amps 240V.

Unless you would be getting a dryer that is gas-powered, there isn't another option other than installing a new dedicated breaker, wire, outlet just for it.

Joseph
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

High-Efficiency detergent

Asked by
Anne
about 2.2 DOE cu. ft. Front Load Washer in White on
February 17, 2014
The specifications posted here say high-efficiency deteregent is NOT required, however, when the washer was delivered, the manual and the detergent compartment state HE detergent required? Please clarify!
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
February 17, 2014
Hello,

Thank you for choosing the GE Front Load washer model # WCVH4800KWW.

I apologize for the incorrect information that was listed on the Home Depot website. Thank you for bringing this to our attention so it can be corrected.

Yes, all Frontload washers are High-Efficiency and require HE detergent.

Enjoy your new washer!

Donna with GE
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can this be stacked with another GE dryer?

Asked by
AmyL
Floria
about 2.2 DOE cu. ft. Front Load Washer in White on
October 28, 2013
I have an older model of GE stackable washer (WPXH214A0CC) and a matching dryer. I need to replace the washer since it is broken beyond repair. Can I replace it with this model while keeping my old dryer?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
October 29, 2013
Hi AmyL-this is Sue from GE. I am happy to assist you.

Our washer model WCVH4800KWW cannot be stacked with your older dryer. It can be stacked with model DCVH480EKWW. To view the specifications and photo, please visit the following link:
http://www.homedepot.com/p/GE-4-0-cu-ft-Electric-Dryer-in-White-DCVH480EKWW/202023161?keyword=dcvh480#.Um-vpnC-p9U

Thanks for checking with us!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Wash cycle and rinse temperatures

Asked by
E
St. Thomas, VI
about 2.2 DOE cu. ft. Front Load Washer in White on
November 22, 2012
What are the options for wash and rinse temperatures. Can you choose any wash temperature (hot, warm, cold) to go with any rinse temperature? It's not listed specifically in the specifications and I can't see a close enough picture of the controls to tell.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Moonkey
California, USA
November 25, 2012
Yes, you have a wide variety of temp settings if you have both hot and cold water feeding into your unit.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Mauboro
June 18, 2013
Rinse is always cold.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can I retrofit a pedestal with my stacked washer dryer? Washer model is WCVH4800K, dryer model is DCCH480EK Thanks.

Asked by
THalassa
Boston, MA
about 2.2 DOE cu. ft. Front Load Washer in White on
November 18, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
THDCustomerService
Atlanta, GA
November 27, 2012
Hi THalassa,

Thanks for your question and interest in this item. More information is needed to accurately answer your question. Please contact our Online Customer Service Department at 800-430-3376 to get more assistance with this item. Our hours of operation are between 6:00 a.m. and 2:00 a.m. Eastern Time daily.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Does the GE 2.2 cu ft DOE Front Load Washer have a compatible GAS dryer? If so, what is the model #.

Asked by
dlee
about 2.2 DOE cu. ft. Front Load Washer in White on
June 28, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Moonkey
California, USA
November 25, 2012
Not that I could find. The matching dryer is a 220V electric dryer
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
GE Answers
June 29, 2012
Hello,

Thank you for contacting us and for your interest in GE. I am happy to help.

We do not have a companion dryer for this washer in gas. The nearest model dryer in gas would be the GFDN120GD however the load capacity is much larger than the load size.

Please let us know if you have any further questions.

Sincerely,
Nikki from GE
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

I would like to drain the washer up into my kitchen sink the way I do with my current under the counter washer/dryer combo unit. Is this possible?

Asked by
jen
about 2.2 DOE cu. ft. Front Load Washer in White on
June 16, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
June 19, 2012
Hi Jen,

Thank you for your question on the GE 2.2 cu. ft. DOE Front Load Washer in White Model # WCVH4800KWW.

Attachy U-shaped hose guide to the end of the drain hose. Please the drain hose in a luandry tub or standpipe. If the drain hose is placed without forming a U shape, a siphoning action could occur.

Please see the Installation Instructions on the Home Depot Website for this model under "More Info".

* Drain capable of eliminating 17 gallons per minute.
* A standpipe diamater of 1 1/4" minimum.
* The standpipe or laundy tub/sink height above floor should be a minimum height of 30" and maximum height of 96"

I hope this helps.

Donna with GE
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

The space we need w/d is 30" Wide, 27" Deep. Will WCVH4800KWW and DCVH480EKWW fit in this space. Also, What is the heating element on the dryer?

Asked by
Izzy
Knoxville, TN
about 2.2 DOE cu. ft. Front Load Washer in White on
May 24, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
May 25, 2012
Hello Izzy,

This is Donna with GE and I am happy to help you with your questions on the GE Front Load washer # WCVH4800KWW and dryer # DCVH480EKWW.

Considerations must be given to provide adequate clearance for proper operation and service. the minimum clearance to combustible surfaces and for air openings are following. Also when the duct is located in the rear of the dryer, minimum clearance from the wall is 5.5".

* 0" clearance both sides
* 3" front and rear

Washer:
Depth: 26.625"
Overall Width: 23.5"

Dryer:
Overall Depth: 25.6875"
Overall Width: 23.5"

The dryer heating element is 5600 watts. It is thermostatically controlled to maintain selected heat ranges.

I hope this helps!

Thank you for considering GE!
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

What is the overall stacked height of washer and dryer?

Asked by
Dan
about 2.2 DOE cu. ft. Front Load Washer in White on
May 21, 2012
What is the combined height of a GE 2.2 cu ft. DOE Front Load Washer (WCVH4800KWW) when stacked with a GE 4.0 cu. ft. 24 in. Ventless Condenser Electric Dryer (DCCH480EKWW) using stacking kit GE24STACK?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
May 22, 2012
Hello Dan,

This is Donna with GE and I will be happy to help you with your question on the GE Front Load Washer model # WCVH4800KWW.

When the washer is stacked with dryer model DCCH480EKWW using the GE24STACK kit the overall height is 67 5/8".

There is 0" clearance needed at the top. Washers legs have 0.75" (19 mm) adjustability.

I hope this is helpful!

Donna with GE
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Can this washer be stacked with a different brand?

Asked by
Parker
Charlotte
about 2.2 DOE cu. ft. Front Load Washer in White on
May 10, 2012
I am looking for a washer to replace a Whirlpool Wfc7500 which is also 23.5 inches wide. However, I need to be able to stack with my existing Whirlpool dryer (Wed7500).
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Tangelo
Chicago
May 11, 2012
Hello this is Tangelo from the Home Depot Community!

Yes, you can place your dryer on top of this washer, I would strongly suggest getting the stacking kit so both are attached.

I hope this helps, if you have any more questions you can find me on our website at community.homedepot.com
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
GE Answers
May 11, 2012
Hello Parker,

Thank you for your interest in the GE 2.2 cu. ft. Front Load Washer model # WCVH4800KWW.

Because it has not been tested or approved by UL, we have no way of know if it can be stacked with another brand.

Model WCVH4800KWW requires the following stacking kit.

Optional Stacking Kit: GE24STACK (sold separately)

Should you have any additional questions, please let us know.

Donna with GE
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Will I be able to plug this and the matching dryer into the wall if I currently have a combo w/d unit?

Asked by
Lou
about 2.2 DOE cu. ft. Front Load Washer in White on
May 1, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
May 2, 2012
Hello Lou,
Thanks for your questions. This is Alison at GE. I am happy to assist you.

A combo washer dryer unit will generally have one power cord that operates both units.

Model number WCVH4800KWW and the matching dryer DCVH480EKWW will have separate power cords.

The washer and/or dryer must be electrically grounded in accordance with local codes.

GE recommends the following:

Circuit – Individual properly polarized and grounded 15-amp branch circuit fused with 15-amp, time-delay fuse or circuit breaker.

Power Supply – 2-wire, with ground, 120-volt, single-phase, 60-Hz, Alternating Current.

Outlet Receptacle – Properly grounded 3-prong receptacle to be located so the power supply cord is
accessible when the washer is in an installed position.

For detailed information, the installation instructions for the washer are available on the Home Depot website. After entering the model number in the search field, click go, and then click on the orange tab that's reads, "More Info" the installation guide is downloadable for review.

I hope this information is helpful.

I am here if you have any further questions.

Have a nice day!

Alison
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

width and height of washer

Asked by
tom
about 2.2 DOE cu. ft. Front Load Washer in White on
April 18, 2012
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
April 19, 2012
Hello Tom,

Thank you for your interest in the GE 2.2 cu. ft. DOE Front Load Washer in White Model #
WCVH4800KWW.

Following are the dimensions.

Overall Height: 33.3125"
Overall Width: 23.5"
Overall Depth: 26.625"

I hope this helps!

Donna with GE
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

How many inches is the door handle from the end of the machine. It has to fit in a closet with bifold doors.

Asked by
Arizona
New Jersey
about 2.2 DOE cu. ft. Front Load Washer in White on
April 17, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
April 18, 2012
Hello,

Thank you for your inquiry on the GE Frontload washer model WCVH4800KWW.

I am not clear on what you are referring to as the end of the washer. Since this is not a critical dimension, it is not included in the specifications.

I would suggest to measure this on the washer at your local Home Depot store.

Have a good day!

Donna with GE
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Mauboro
June 18, 2013
2" each side
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What is the clearance requirement for the back of the washing machine? (GE 2.2 cu ft)

Asked by
Leslie
Berkeley, CA
about 2.2 DOE cu. ft. Front Load Washer in White on
March 8, 2012
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
March 8, 2012
Hello Leslie,

Thank you for your inquiry on the GE 2.2 cu. ft. DOE Front Load Washer in White Model # WCVH4800KWW.

If the washer being stacked with the dryer, it is reommended to have a minimum of 3" in the front and rear for clearance.

Should you have any additional questions, please let us know.

Donna with GE
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

how many LBs does it hold. does it need to be vented out for the dryer part

Asked by
muggs
kenosha wi
about 2.2 DOE cu. ft. Front Load Washer in White on
February 10, 2012
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
February 12, 2012
Hello Muggs,

This is Donna with GE and I am happy to help with your question on the GE frontload washer and dryer.

Washer model WCVH4800K is 2.2 cu. ft. inside. Washers are not rated in how many pounds it will hold. This washer has Adaptive capabilities for load size. It will determine the weight of the clothes to determine the water and length of cycle.

The GE Company has avoided the use of pounds as a rating system for washer capacity because a washer is not limited in practical terms by the weight of clothes it can wash. It is limited by the volume of clothes that can be put in the machine. An example: one down comforter might fill up the whole machine but weigh very little, while blue jeans are heavier but a smaller load.

Yes, the dryer needs to be exhausted to the outside.

I hope this helps. Thank you for considering GE!
0points
2out of 4found this answer helpful.
Question

GE WASHER /DRYER FRONT LOAD COME IN BLACK (GAS DRYER)

Asked by
blu
about 2.2 DOE cu. ft. Front Load Washer in White on
January 16, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
January 17, 2012
Hello Blu,

Thank you for your interest in the GE 2.2 cu. ft. DOE Capacity Front Load Washer in White Model # WCVH4800KWW. My name is Donna and I am happy to he.

This model is only manufactured in white. It is not available in black.

Thank you for considering GE!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
ny
queens
March 30, 2012
sliver or black
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can this be used without regular hookup?

Asked by
Pang
Seattle, WA
about 2.2 DOE cu. ft. Front Load Washer in White on
December 3, 2011
E.g., to use with the uni-coupler connection similar to the ones used by the portable GE WSLP1500JWW.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
December 5, 2011
Hello,

This is Donna with GE and I will be happy to help you with your question on the GE Front Load Washer in White Model # WCVH4800KWW.

This washer needs to be connected to hot and cold water permanent connections. It cannot be installed with a uni-coupler.

If you have additional questions, please let us know.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Johnny1953
Staten Island, NY, USA
December 15, 2011
yes it can be used that way.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

On which side does door open?

Asked by
Elizabeth
vermont
about 2.2 DOE cu. ft. Front Load Washer in White on
November 3, 2011
Is the hinge on the left or right? I see that it is not reversible so this would make a difference. Thanks!
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
November 4, 2011
Hello Elizabeth,

This is Donna from GE and iI will be happy to help you with your question on the GE 2.2 cu. ft. capacity Front Load washer model # WCVH4800KWW.

All frontload washers are hinged on the right. The doors are not reversible. If being installed with a dryer on the side, the dryer door is reversible.

I hope this helps. Thank you for considering GE!
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Johnny1953
Staten Island, NY, USA
December 15, 2011
it is hinged on the left. no big difference.....
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

Water usage

Asked by
Elizabeth
vermont
about 2.2 DOE cu. ft. Front Load Washer in White on
November 2, 2011
I don't see specs on how much water this machine uses. Do you have info on that?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
November 2, 2011
Hello Elizabeth,

I will be happy to answer your question on the GE Frontload washer model WCVH4800K.

Minimum Water Used: 10 gallons
Maximum Water Used: 15 gallons

Thank you for considering GE!
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
1 2 »