Looking for Answers about SharkBite 1/2 in. x 500 ft. Red PEX Pipe?

Customer questions and answers for
SharkBite 1/2 in. x 500 ft. Red PEX Pipe

SharkBite PEX is a cross-linked polyethylene tubing best suited for potable water supply application. PEX Pipe is durable, flexible and corrosion resistant. SharkBite PEX features a repeating SharkBite imprint pattern that provides a visual aid to help you determine whether the tube has been fully inserted when using the SharkBite push-fit fitting range. In addition to Potable Water Supply SharkBite PEX meets UL Standard for Plastic Piping in Fire Systems.
Customer questions and answers:
74 Questions
 | 
99 Answers
Overall rating:
4.491 out of 5
4.5
out of
5

Customer questions and answers for SharkBite 1/2 in. x 500 ft. Red PEX Pipe

Question

what tempurature will the pex break if frozen, will it be ok at minus 25 celsius

Asked by
Samm
about 1/2 in. x 500 ft. Red PEX Pipe on
May 4, 2015
i have to run a water line under my cabin in an area that may freeze to minus 25C will the pex break
Can I attach a heat tap directly on the pex?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
SharkBite Support
May 5, 2015
PEX is more freeze resistant than other pipe materials; however, you must still insulate the PEX. Yes, you can attached a heat wrap to the PEX. PEX is certified for temperatures up to 93 degrees C.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

can i use pex tubbing on a heater for a pool

Asked by
pbj1
about 1/2 in. x 500 ft. Red PEX Pipe on
April 15, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
SharkBite Support
April 16, 2015
PEX is certified for use with potable water and hydronic heating.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can this 1/2 insulated PEX pipe be used with the ProPEX system, they say it has to be PEX A; not B or anyother type.

Asked by
Brenda
Portland, Oregon
about 1/2 in. x 500 ft. Red PEX Pipe on
April 14, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
SharkBite Support
April 14, 2015
This PEX is type B.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What are the technical specs for PEX tubing

Asked by
Geek1945
Erath TX
about 1/2 in. x 500 ft. Red PEX Pipe on
April 7, 2015
I wish to use PEX 3/8" ID to collect vacuum extracted solder. An aluminum S-shaped baffle is used to solidify the molten solder in addition to air flow created by the vacuum extraction. The collector tube is insulated with a silicone rubber gasket to help reduce heat transfer to the collector tube from the heating element.. The extractor heater is equipped with temperature controlled feedback in addition to idle mode when placed in its vertical "heater point up" position. The tube is 4 1/4" long and so a 5' joint of PEX should make a bucket load of disposal collector tubes.
Video Question:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
SharkBite Support
April 7, 2015
SharkBite PEX is certified for potable water and hydronic heating purposes only. You may find a spec sheet for SharkBite PEX by clicking the following link http://www.sharkbite.com/sharkbite/wp-content/uploads/2013/06/PEX-TUBING-WITHOUT-OXYGEN-BARRIER.pdf
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can PEX and Sharkbite be used for compressed air at 150 PSI?

Asked by
Moedana
West Chester, PA
about 1/2 in. x 500 ft. Red PEX Pipe on
March 30, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
SharkBiteProductExpert
March 30, 2015
No, SharkBite fittings and PEX are only certified for potable water and hydronic heating.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

How do you straighten a coil of PEX pipe?

Asked by
JonH
NY
about 1/2 in. x 500 ft. Red PEX Pipe on
March 15, 2015
All the complaints about the coiled PEX is that it's hard to work with or un-coil. Are there any good suggestions on how to straighten a coil?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
SharkBiteProductExpert
March 15, 2015
SharkBIte PEX comes in a coil when greater than 25' in length. For these coils, the suggestion is to place the coil in the sun or a warm area for a few hours prior to uncoiling to make uncoiling an easier process. For people who do not need more than 20', SharkBite manufactures straight length like PVC (uncoiled) PEX in 2', 5', 10' and 20'.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Using PEX to connect hot water baseboards

Asked by
JonH
NY
about 1/2 in. x 500 ft. Red PEX Pipe on
March 15, 2015
I'm installing new hot water baseboard heat in my home.

Is it OK to use PEX pipe to connect the baseboards together and to the boiler through a copper stub. This is not radiant floor heating so I do not believe I would not need to use oxygen barrier PEX pipe.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
SharkBiteProductExpert
March 15, 2015
The reason for oxygen barrier PEX is because the water used in radiant floor heating is reused in the boiler. The oxygen barrier PEX prevents oxygen from entering the boiler and causing oxidation. If your hot water baseboard heating will be using the same boiler/recycled water process, it would be recommended to use Oxygen Barrier PEX.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can electric heat cables (taped to the pipe) be used to keep the pipes from freezing in my crawl space?

Asked by
needhelp
about 1/2 in. x 500 ft. Red PEX Pipe on
February 15, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
SharkBite Support
February 16, 2015
Yes, this is a great way to keep pipes from freezing
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

can i connect pex pipe to pvc pipe

Asked by
DDKK
FLORIDA
about 1/2 in. x 500 ft. Red PEX Pipe on
January 14, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
SharkBite Support
January 19, 2015
At this time, SharkBite fittings can be used to connect PEX, Copper, or CPVC. We do however have a PVC to PEX/Copper/CPVC transition fitting hitting the market later this year.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

What are the manufacturer's requirements for underground installation?

Asked by
SciKat
Tucson, AZ
about 1/2 in. x 500 ft. Red PEX Pipe on
December 14, 2014
We want to use 3/4 white pex pipe to replace our underground water line from the meter to the house. Our code allows pex, but says we have to make sure to follow the manufacturer's installation guidelines. What are they? What prep do we need to do for laying the pipe?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
SharkBite Support
December 15, 2014
PEX is certified for underground burial without any further requirements. Some people with harsh soil environments place the PEX pipe in PVC or a corrugated sleeve to protect the pipe.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Question

I'm running pex through a garage. Can I cover the exposed portion with duct tape instead of insulation to provide low cost UV protection?

Asked by
Reggie
York, PA
about 1/2 in. x 500 ft. Red PEX Pipe on
December 5, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
SharkBite Support
December 5, 2014
We do not recommend duct tape be wrapped on PEX pipe because the adhesives can deteriorate the pipe and cause damage. The best options are to paint the pipe with an exterior paint, this will provide the UV Protection needed, insulate the pipe with pipe insulation, or run the pipe through a corrugated plastic sleeve to protect it.

Thank you!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can I run Pex inside an ABS pipe for underground use?

Asked by
Bobo
WA
about 1/2 in. x 500 ft. Red PEX Pipe on
November 27, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
SharkBite Support
December 1, 2014
Although PEX is rated for direct burial/ underground use, you could run the PEX inside ABS.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can Pex pipe be used for LP Gas at 10psi or less?

Asked by
Bustem
North Carolina
about 1/2 in. x 500 ft. Red PEX Pipe on
October 19, 2014
Looking at a run of about 140 feet.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
SharkBite Support
October 22, 2014
SharkBite PEX is only approved for use on water applications.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
SharkBiteProductExpert
November 11, 2014
No SharkBite PEX Pipe is certified for Potable Water Applications only. Search CSST on Home Depot.com and you will find a range of pipe and fittings suitable for your application.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

How do you protect PEX From UV light from the sun.

Asked by
Goose
Orange california
about 1/2 in. x 500 ft. Red PEX Pipe on
October 16, 2014
I need to replace my water line from the meter to the house. If I can use PEX how do I protect that portion that comes out of the ground and attaches to the house piping?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
SharkBite Support
October 20, 2014
The best way to protect the PEX from UV rays is foam insualtion.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

I just installed PEX in a total house re-pipe. Tenant now says water smells and taste like plastic! What can be done to remove smell and taste?

Asked by
TonyBaloney
California
about 1/2 in. x 500 ft. Red PEX Pipe on
August 11, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
SharkBiteProductExpert
November 11, 2014
With all new piping systems there is a chance there could be a small odor or taste initially. This usually goes away within a few days.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

If pex tubing is used to protect a wire on the surface in a salt marsh environment, will it survive the uv?

Asked by
olmariner
southport, nc
about 1/2 in. x 500 ft. Red PEX Pipe on
September 22, 2014
I live in north carolina on a salt marsh.
Burying a wire for a dog fence is difficult at best. I am considering laying a wire on the surface protected by pex tubing. But I don't know what the sun and salt will do to the pex.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
SharkBite Support
September 24, 2014
No, it will not. SharkBite PEX tubing only has a 30 day max exposure time limit to UV rays. We recommend it not be exposed at all to UV rays at it ruins the integrity of the pipe.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

can this tubing be used to supply hot water to the house from a standard gas water heater I see that it is rated at 180 degrees

Asked by
hankster
about 1/2 in. x 500 ft. Red PEX Pipe on
September 11, 2014
need to replace from galvanized to copper
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
SharkBite Support
September 15, 2014
Yes, Our PEX tubing has a maximum rating of 200 degrees F.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
SharkBiteProductExpert
November 11, 2014
Yes it can be used for Hot Water Supply.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

What is the significance of the different colors?

Asked by
Doobie
Erie, PA
about 1/2 in. x 500 ft. Red PEX Pipe on
September 9, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
SharkBite Support
September 15, 2014
Red, white and blue are all the same pipe and are made to help the consumer differentiate between hot and cold lines if they so choose. The orange pipe is oxygen barrier PEX and is used on hydronic heating systems.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
SharkBiteProductExpert
November 11, 2014
The colors are so you can differentiate Hot/Cold Lines if you wish to do so. All three colors Red, White, Blue are the exact same product color being the only difference.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

What additional parts are needed to use this for a refrigerator ice maker?

Asked by
JohnW
Long Valley, NJ
about 1/2 in. x 500 ft. Red PEX Pipe on
September 8, 2014
The refrigerator requires a 1/4" compression fitting. The supply line has a 3/8" male NPT.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
JohnW
Long Valley, NJ
September 9, 2014
Never mind - I went to the store yesterday and got the answer. The 1/4 in. PEX pipe is very different from the smaller tubing that uses a 1/4 in. compression fitting. (I THINK the PEX is 1/4" ID whereas the refrigerator line is 1/4" OD.) The salesman talked me into just using copper tubing, which I will do. I had wanted to avoid copper due to the risk of breakage, and wanted to avoid PVC since it makes the water and ice cubes taste like plastic, so PEX seemed like a good alternative. But it would have required a huge collection of fittings to be able to get the PEX to fit on the 1/4" compression fitting, so I decided it wasn't worth the trouble.

p.s. There was an error in the original question. The supply valve doesn't use a 3/8" male NPT, it uses a 1/4" compression fitting, the same as on the back of the refrigerator.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
SharkBite Support
September 10, 2014
You should not need any additional parts as the SharkBite ice maker kit comes with all of tools needed.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Why does the Blue pex cost $9.90 more than the Red? They are the same product!

Asked by
Cope
Princeton, Maine
about 1/2 in. x 500 ft. Red PEX Pipe on
September 5, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
SharkBite Support
September 8, 2014
You would have to contact Home Depot and ask them. We here at the manufacturer do not set the retail prices for Home Depot. These two products are sold at a wholesale price to Home Depot at the same cost.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Paul
Minneapolis
Home Improvement Profile: Other
April 14, 2015
Sometimes an abundance of inventory of one style or in this case, color, will trigger a price adjustment. It's simply the principle of supply and demand.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
1 2 3 4 »