Looking for Answers about SharkBite 1/2 in. x 500 ft. Red PEX Pipe?

Customer questions and answers for
SharkBite 1/2 in. x 500 ft. Red PEX Pipe

SharkBite PEX is a cross-linked polyethylene tubing best suited for potable water supply application. PEX Pipe is durable, flexible and corrosion resistant. SharkBite PEX features a repeating SharkBite imprint pattern that provides a visual aid to help you determine whether the tube has been fully inserted when using the SharkBite push-fit fitting range. In addition to Potable Water Supply SharkBite PEX meets UL Standard for Plastic Piping in Fire Systems.
Customer questions and answers:
88 Questions
 | 
127 Answers
Overall rating:
4.478 out of 5
4.5
out of
5

Customer questions and answers for SharkBite 1/2 in. x 500 ft. Red PEX Pipe

Question

Is pex legal in NYC

Asked by
Joe
about 1/2 in. x 500 ft. Red PEX Pipe on
February 11, 2016
Looking to redo bathroom. Can i use pex for supply lines to shower sink and toilet. I live kn NYC and not sure about the codes i have to follow.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
0 answers
Answers
This question currently has no approved answers.
Question

Expansion Fittings

Asked by
Zzzzzz
Washington
about 1/2 in. x 500 ft. Red PEX Pipe on
January 16, 2016
Can this pipe be used with PEX expansion fittings that utilize a PEX compression band? Uponor style?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
CommunityAnswer
January 27, 2016
This pipe is designed to be used with SharkBite push-to-connect fittings or barbed fittings.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
SharkBite Support
January 22, 2016
No SharkBite PEX-B cannot be used on expansion fittings. SharkBite PEX can be used with Brass or Plastic Barb Fittings with Copper Crimps or Stainless Steel Clamps, and SharkBite Push-to-Connect Fittings. Thank you!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Do you have a similar product in 2" inside diameter?

Asked by
bro
Dublin GA
about 1/2 in. x 500 ft. Red PEX Pipe on
January 14, 2016
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
SharkBite Support
January 15, 2016
Hi,
We only off the 2" PEX in white. This is available for special order at the Home Depot Pro Desk.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

can pex pipe be used to repair a section of 1

Asked by
Mcvicious
Simpsonville, SC
about 1/2 in. x 500 ft. Red PEX Pipe on
January 8, 2016
inch irrigation system?The area is hard to reach due to some shrubbery growing around the area of the leak, and it makes it hard to repair with ridged PVC pipe. The pex pipe seems like it would be easier to work with in this tight area.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
SharkBite Support
January 11, 2016
Hi,
PEX is Copper Tube Size, while PVC is Iron Pipe Size. PEX can be used to repair for irrigation with the use of two transition couplings.
http://www.homedepot.com/p/SharkBite-1-in-Brass-Push-to-Connect-PVC-IPS-x-CTS-Conversion-Coupling-UIP4020A/206353595?keyword=uip4020a
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

what is the best pex or copper???

Asked by
turbo313
about 1/2 in. x 500 ft. Red PEX Pipe on
December 31, 2015
I read a lot of review and most of the people saying the water smells bad in the pex pipe????
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
0 answers
Answers
This question currently has no approved answers.
Question

I need to run a supply water line from meter to house it's 620ft is 1" pec blue ok ? I guess type b ?

Asked by
todd
about 1/2 in. x 500 ft. Red PEX Pipe on
December 26, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
SharkBite Support
December 28, 2015
Hi Todd,
Yes, blue PEX will work for your application. We also offer this PEX in 500' coils. http://www.homedepot.com/p/SharkBite-1-in-x-500-ft-Blue-PEX-Pipe-U880B500/202688018?keyword=u880b500
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can I use this to run water to my boat dock? It is about 140 long and will run under the planks- will it hold up to the Florida sun?

Asked by
Cliff
Florida
about 1/2 in. x 500 ft. Red PEX Pipe on
December 15, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
SharkBiteProductExpert
December 16, 2015
Hi Cliff,
PEX must be insulated or buried to protect from UV rays. When using outside on a deck, use foam or other pipe insulation to block the sunlight.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can PEX be used for air lines

Asked by
Bratbob
Henderson TN
about 1/2 in. x 500 ft. Red PEX Pipe on
December 6, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
SharkBite Support
December 7, 2015
Hi Bratbob,
PEX is certified for use with potable water and hydronic heating applications.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

CAN THIS HOSE CAN BE USED FOR HOT WATER BASEBOARD HEAT

Asked by
TOM7691
NEW JERSEY
about 1/2 in. x 500 ft. Red PEX Pipe on
December 1, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
SharkBiteProductExpert
December 2, 2015
Hi Tom,
Yes this pipe can be used if the water is not going through a recirculating boiler system. We also offer an oxygen barrier PEX which can be used with recirculating boilers. http://www.homedepot.com/p/SharkBite-1-2-in-x-100-ft-Oxygen-Barrier-Radiant-Heating-PEX-Pipe-U860O100/202032999?keyword=u860o100
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can this be used in a hydronic baseboard heating system

Asked by
Bill
Rahway NJ
about 1/2 in. x 500 ft. Red PEX Pipe on
October 12, 2015
I am putting in a new heating system and want to use PEX to get from the second floor baseboard units to the basement. If not what PEX would you recommend.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
SharkBite Support
October 13, 2015
Hi Bill, I would recommend http://www.homedepot.com/p/SharkBite-3-4-in-x-100-ft-Oxygen-Barrier-Radiant-Heating-PEX-Pipe-U870O100/202033002?keyword=u870o100 This pipe has an oxygen barrier to protect your system from rust caused by oxygen entering the system.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is the shark bite pec UV stabilized?

Asked by
Triton21
Gordonville Tx
about 1/2 in. x 500 ft. Red PEX Pipe on
September 12, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Mark
GA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 3, 2016
No it's not. Avoid exposure to sunlight.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
SharkBite Support
September 17, 2015
No, PEX pipe should not be exposed to UV rays. If using the PEX outside, make certain it is insulated to protect from UV radiation
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Best method to join sections of pipe?

Asked by
ScottBikes
Huntsville, AL
about 1/2 in. x 500 ft. Red PEX Pipe on
September 3, 2015
What is the best method to join pieces of pipe? Crimps, Clamps or Sharkbites? Sharkbites are guaranteed for 25 years so what would be expected longevity of crimps or clamps?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
SharkBite Support
September 6, 2015
The warranty for SharkBite barb fittings/crimp rings used with SharkBite PEX is 5 years. The warranty for SharkBite barb fittings/crimp rings used with other branded PEX is 2 years.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is an MSDS Avaliable

Asked by
ScottBikes
Huntsville, AL
about 1/2 in. x 500 ft. Red PEX Pipe on
September 1, 2015
Hello. Is a Material Safety Data Sheet (MSDS) available for this Sharkbite brand PEX tubing? Thanks in advance!!
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
THDSupport
September 4, 2015
Thank you for your recent inquiry with The Home Depot. You can locate safety information at the following SharkBite website:
http://www.sharkbite.com/resources/faqs/general/
This item is currently in stock online. For any other questions, please call us at HomeDepot.com Customer Service 800-430-3376. Thank you for shopping Home Depot.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can I Use This for Water Supply Line from Well to House?

Asked by
MrSam
about 1/2 in. x 500 ft. Red PEX Pipe on
September 1, 2015
Can I use this 1" PEX pipe for connecting my well to my house? I am running a span of over 500' in length.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
nickname
OC CA
September 3, 2015
I dont see why not. It push fits INTO a Sharkbite 1" push fitting the OTHER END is female thread... IF that would work then yes - or could use a double sided Sharkbite push fitting as well. It all depends on what you are connecting this 1" PEX to.

Id have to see your system up close - but tbh I dont see why not
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
CommunityAnswer
September 2, 2015
Yes, you can use the PEX pipe to run a water supply line from a well to your house. However you will need to purchase a 500' pipe instead of a 100' pipe.
-2points
1out of 4found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
SharkBiteProductExpert
September 2, 2015
Hi MrSam,
Yes, you can use PEX to run from your well to your house. This pipe is also available in 500' length. http://www.homedepot.com/p/SharkBite-1-in-x-500-ft-White-PEX-Pipe-U880W500/202688026?keyword=u880w500
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

Can this pipe be burried 18" underground to supply cold water to a remote area in our yard? It will be burried alonside an electrical line in pipe.

Asked by
guitarman
Seattle, WA
about 1/2 in. x 500 ft. Red PEX Pipe on
August 20, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
SharkBite Support
August 21, 2015
SharkBite PEX pipe is certified for burial. Always bury the pipe below the frost line for your location. Check your local plumbnig code for more information on frost line.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can I use pex pipe for my Water well? It's 107 feet deep.

Asked by
kitten
about 1/2 in. x 500 ft. Red PEX Pipe on
July 11, 2015
Can I use pex pipe for my water well? It's 107 feet deep?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
SharkBiteProductExpert
July 13, 2015
Yes, PEX can be used for all potable water uses. If any of the PEX is exposed to sunlight, make certain you insulate the exposed PEX to protect from UV rays.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

When using SharkBite 1/2" tubing with barbed fittings, is the use of a pipe clamp necessary?

Asked by
Blossom
Courtland MN
about 1/2 in. x 500 ft. Red PEX Pipe on
July 9, 2015
Above is the question
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
SharkBite Support
July 9, 2015
Yes, you should use one of the following
http://www.homedepot.com/p/SharkBite-1-2-in-Stainless-Steel-PEX-Clamp-10-Pack-UC953A/202032891?keyword=uc953a
http://www.homedepot.com/p/SharkBite-1-2-in-Copper-Crimp-Rings-25-Pack-23102CP25/202300079?keyword=23102cp25
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

what tempurature will the pex break if frozen, will it be ok at minus 25 celsius

Asked by
Samm
about 1/2 in. x 500 ft. Red PEX Pipe on
May 4, 2015
i have to run a water line under my cabin in an area that may freeze to minus 25C will the pex break
Can I attach a heat tap directly on the pex?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
SharkBite Support
May 5, 2015
PEX is more freeze resistant than other pipe materials; however, you must still insulate the PEX. Yes, you can attached a heat wrap to the PEX. PEX is certified for temperatures up to 93 degrees C.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

can i use pex tubbing on a heater for a pool

Asked by
pbj1
about 1/2 in. x 500 ft. Red PEX Pipe on
April 15, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
SharkBite Support
April 16, 2015
PEX is certified for use with potable water and hydronic heating.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What are the technical specs for PEX tubing

Asked by
Geek1945
Erath TX
about 1/2 in. x 500 ft. Red PEX Pipe on
April 7, 2015
I wish to use PEX 3/8" ID to collect vacuum extracted solder. An aluminum S-shaped baffle is used to solidify the molten solder in addition to air flow created by the vacuum extraction. The collector tube is insulated with a silicone rubber gasket to help reduce heat transfer to the collector tube from the heating element.. The extractor heater is equipped with temperature controlled feedback in addition to idle mode when placed in its vertical "heater point up" position. The tube is 4 1/4" long and so a 5' joint of PEX should make a bucket load of disposal collector tubes.
Video Question:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
SharkBite Support
April 7, 2015
SharkBite PEX is certified for potable water and hydronic heating purposes only. You may find a spec sheet for SharkBite PEX by clicking the following link http://www.sharkbite.com/sharkbite/wp-content/uploads/2013/06/PEX-TUBING-WITHOUT-OXYGEN-BARRIER.pdf
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 »