Looking for Answers about SharkBite 1/2 in. x 500 ft. Red PEX Pipe?

Customer questions and answers for
SharkBite 1/2 in. x 500 ft. Red PEX Pipe

SharkBite PEX is a cross-linked polyethylene tubing best suited for potable water supply application. PEX Pipe is durable, flexible and corrosion resistant. SharkBite PEX features a repeating SharkBite imprint pattern that provides a visual aid to help you determine whether the tube has been fully inserted when using the SharkBite push-fit fitting range. In addition to Potable Water Supply SharkBite PEX meets UL Standard for Plastic Piping in Fire Systems.
Customer questions and answers:
79 Questions
 | 
109 Answers
Overall rating:
4.478 out of 5
4.5
out of
5

Customer questions and answers for SharkBite 1/2 in. x 500 ft. Red PEX Pipe

Question

Is an MSDS Avaliable

Asked by
ScottBikes
Huntsville, AL
about 1/2 in. x 500 ft. Red PEX Pipe on
September 1, 2015
Hello. Is a Material Safety Data Sheet (MSDS) available for this Sharkbite brand PEX tubing? Thanks in advance!!
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
0 answers
Answers
This question currently has no approved answers.
Question

Can I Use This for Water Supply Line from Well to House?

Asked by
MrSam
about 1/2 in. x 500 ft. Red PEX Pipe on
September 1, 2015
Can I use this 1" PEX pipe for connecting my well to my house? I am running a span of over 500' in length.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
SharkBiteProductExpert
September 2, 2015
Hi MrSam,
Yes, you can use PEX to run from your well to your house. This pipe is also available in 500' length. http://www.homedepot.com/p/SharkBite-1-in-x-500-ft-White-PEX-Pipe-U880W500/202688026?keyword=u880w500
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
CommunityAnswer
September 2, 2015
Yes, you can use the PEX pipe to run a water supply line from a well to your house. However you will need to purchase a 500' pipe instead of a 100' pipe.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
nickname
OC CA
September 3, 2015
I dont see why not. It push fits INTO a Sharkbite 1" push fitting the OTHER END is female thread... IF that would work then yes - or could use a double sided Sharkbite push fitting as well. It all depends on what you are connecting this 1" PEX to.

Id have to see your system up close - but tbh I dont see why not
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can this pipe be burried 18" underground to supply cold water to a remote area in our yard? It will be burried alonside an electrical line in pipe.

Asked by
guitarman
Seattle, WA
about 1/2 in. x 500 ft. Red PEX Pipe on
August 20, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
SharkBite Support
August 21, 2015
SharkBite PEX pipe is certified for burial. Always bury the pipe below the frost line for your location. Check your local plumbnig code for more information on frost line.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can I use pex pipe for my Water well? It's 107 feet deep.

Asked by
kitten
about 1/2 in. x 500 ft. Red PEX Pipe on
July 11, 2015
Can I use pex pipe for my water well? It's 107 feet deep?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
SharkBiteProductExpert
July 13, 2015
Yes, PEX can be used for all potable water uses. If any of the PEX is exposed to sunlight, make certain you insulate the exposed PEX to protect from UV rays.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

When using SharkBite 1/2" tubing with barbed fittings, is the use of a pipe clamp necessary?

Asked by
Blossom
Courtland MN
about 1/2 in. x 500 ft. Red PEX Pipe on
July 9, 2015
Above is the question
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
SharkBite Support
July 9, 2015
Yes, you should use one of the following
http://www.homedepot.com/p/SharkBite-1-2-in-Stainless-Steel-PEX-Clamp-10-Pack-UC953A/202032891?keyword=uc953a
http://www.homedepot.com/p/SharkBite-1-2-in-Copper-Crimp-Rings-25-Pack-23102CP25/202300079?keyword=23102cp25
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

what tempurature will the pex break if frozen, will it be ok at minus 25 celsius

Asked by
Samm
about 1/2 in. x 500 ft. Red PEX Pipe on
May 4, 2015
i have to run a water line under my cabin in an area that may freeze to minus 25C will the pex break
Can I attach a heat tap directly on the pex?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
SharkBite Support
May 5, 2015
PEX is more freeze resistant than other pipe materials; however, you must still insulate the PEX. Yes, you can attached a heat wrap to the PEX. PEX is certified for temperatures up to 93 degrees C.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

can i use pex tubbing on a heater for a pool

Asked by
pbj1
about 1/2 in. x 500 ft. Red PEX Pipe on
April 15, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
SharkBite Support
April 16, 2015
PEX is certified for use with potable water and hydronic heating.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can this 1/2 insulated PEX pipe be used with the ProPEX system, they say it has to be PEX A; not B or anyother type.

Asked by
Brenda
Portland, Oregon
about 1/2 in. x 500 ft. Red PEX Pipe on
April 14, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
SharkBite Support
April 14, 2015
This PEX is type B.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What are the technical specs for PEX tubing

Asked by
Geek1945
Erath TX
about 1/2 in. x 500 ft. Red PEX Pipe on
April 7, 2015
I wish to use PEX 3/8" ID to collect vacuum extracted solder. An aluminum S-shaped baffle is used to solidify the molten solder in addition to air flow created by the vacuum extraction. The collector tube is insulated with a silicone rubber gasket to help reduce heat transfer to the collector tube from the heating element.. The extractor heater is equipped with temperature controlled feedback in addition to idle mode when placed in its vertical "heater point up" position. The tube is 4 1/4" long and so a 5' joint of PEX should make a bucket load of disposal collector tubes.
Video Question:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
SharkBite Support
April 7, 2015
SharkBite PEX is certified for potable water and hydronic heating purposes only. You may find a spec sheet for SharkBite PEX by clicking the following link http://www.sharkbite.com/sharkbite/wp-content/uploads/2013/06/PEX-TUBING-WITHOUT-OXYGEN-BARRIER.pdf
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can PEX and Sharkbite be used for compressed air at 150 PSI?

Asked by
Moedana
West Chester, PA
about 1/2 in. x 500 ft. Red PEX Pipe on
March 30, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
SharkBiteProductExpert
March 30, 2015
No, SharkBite fittings and PEX are only certified for potable water and hydronic heating.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

How do you straighten a coil of PEX pipe?

Asked by
JonH
NY
about 1/2 in. x 500 ft. Red PEX Pipe on
March 15, 2015
All the complaints about the coiled PEX is that it's hard to work with or un-coil. Are there any good suggestions on how to straighten a coil?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
SharkBiteProductExpert
March 15, 2015
SharkBIte PEX comes in a coil when greater than 25' in length. For these coils, the suggestion is to place the coil in the sun or a warm area for a few hours prior to uncoiling to make uncoiling an easier process. For people who do not need more than 20', SharkBite manufactures straight length like PVC (uncoiled) PEX in 2', 5', 10' and 20'.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Using PEX to connect hot water baseboards

Asked by
JonH
NY
about 1/2 in. x 500 ft. Red PEX Pipe on
March 15, 2015
I'm installing new hot water baseboard heat in my home.

Is it OK to use PEX pipe to connect the baseboards together and to the boiler through a copper stub. This is not radiant floor heating so I do not believe I would not need to use oxygen barrier PEX pipe.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
SharkBiteProductExpert
March 15, 2015
The reason for oxygen barrier PEX is because the water used in radiant floor heating is reused in the boiler. The oxygen barrier PEX prevents oxygen from entering the boiler and causing oxidation. If your hot water baseboard heating will be using the same boiler/recycled water process, it would be recommended to use Oxygen Barrier PEX.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can electric heat cables (taped to the pipe) be used to keep the pipes from freezing in my crawl space?

Asked by
needhelp
about 1/2 in. x 500 ft. Red PEX Pipe on
February 15, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
SharkBite Support
February 16, 2015
Yes, this is a great way to keep pipes from freezing
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

can i connect pex pipe to pvc pipe

Asked by
DDKK
FLORIDA
about 1/2 in. x 500 ft. Red PEX Pipe on
January 14, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
SharkBite Support
January 19, 2015
At this time, SharkBite fittings can be used to connect PEX, Copper, or CPVC. We do however have a PVC to PEX/Copper/CPVC transition fitting hitting the market later this year.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

What are the manufacturer's requirements for underground installation?

Asked by
SciKat
Tucson, AZ
about 1/2 in. x 500 ft. Red PEX Pipe on
December 14, 2014
We want to use 3/4 white pex pipe to replace our underground water line from the meter to the house. Our code allows pex, but says we have to make sure to follow the manufacturer's installation guidelines. What are they? What prep do we need to do for laying the pipe?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
SharkBite Support
December 15, 2014
PEX is certified for underground burial without any further requirements. Some people with harsh soil environments place the PEX pipe in PVC or a corrugated sleeve to protect the pipe.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Question

I'm running pex through a garage. Can I cover the exposed portion with duct tape instead of insulation to provide low cost UV protection?

Asked by
Reggie
York, PA
about 1/2 in. x 500 ft. Red PEX Pipe on
December 5, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
SharkBite Support
December 5, 2014
We do not recommend duct tape be wrapped on PEX pipe because the adhesives can deteriorate the pipe and cause damage. The best options are to paint the pipe with an exterior paint, this will provide the UV Protection needed, insulate the pipe with pipe insulation, or run the pipe through a corrugated plastic sleeve to protect it.

Thank you!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can I run Pex inside an ABS pipe for underground use?

Asked by
Bobo
WA
about 1/2 in. x 500 ft. Red PEX Pipe on
November 27, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
SharkBite Support
December 1, 2014
Although PEX is rated for direct burial/ underground use, you could run the PEX inside ABS.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can Pex pipe be used for LP Gas at 10psi or less?

Asked by
Bustem
North Carolina
about 1/2 in. x 500 ft. Red PEX Pipe on
October 19, 2014
Looking at a run of about 140 feet.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
SharkBite Support
October 22, 2014
SharkBite PEX is only approved for use on water applications.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
SharkBiteProductExpert
November 11, 2014
No SharkBite PEX Pipe is certified for Potable Water Applications only. Search CSST on Home Depot.com and you will find a range of pipe and fittings suitable for your application.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Question

How do you protect PEX From UV light from the sun.

Asked by
Goose
Orange california
about 1/2 in. x 500 ft. Red PEX Pipe on
October 16, 2014
I need to replace my water line from the meter to the house. If I can use PEX how do I protect that portion that comes out of the ground and attaches to the house piping?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
SharkBite Support
October 20, 2014
The best way to protect the PEX from UV rays is foam insualtion.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

I just installed PEX in a total house re-pipe. Tenant now says water smells and taste like plastic! What can be done to remove smell and taste?

Asked by
TonyBaloney
California
about 1/2 in. x 500 ft. Red PEX Pipe on
August 11, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
SharkBiteProductExpert
November 11, 2014
With all new piping systems there is a chance there could be a small odor or taste initially. This usually goes away within a few days.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
1 2 3 4 »