Looking for Answers about TrafficMaster Allure 6 in. x 36 in. Chandler Cork Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)?

Customer questions and answers for
TrafficMaster Allure 6 in. x 36 in. Chandler Cork Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)

Use TrafficMASTER Allure 6 in. x 36 in. Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring to add the warm, comfortable style of real cork to your interior living space. This highly durable, water-resistant flooring is great for use in basements, kitchens, bathrooms and high traffic areas. The floating floor installs over most existing surfaces including concrete, wood and vinyl with no floor preparation or adhesives required. It offers a patented GripStrip design for simple installation.
Customer questions and answers:
642 Questions
 | 
2,072 Answers
Overall rating:
4.396 out of 5
4.4
out of
5

Customer questions and answers for TrafficMaster Allure 6 in. x 36 in. Chandler Cork Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)

Question

do you need to use anykind of sealer when you are done

Asked by
bill
about 6 in. x 36 in. Chandler Cork Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case) on
August 27, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
HalsteadExpert
August 28, 2015
Thank you for your interest in Allure Hickory Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring. You do not need to use any type of sealer when you are done installing.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can you purchase pieces of this product ?

Asked by
Eileen
about 6 in. x 36 in. Chandler Cork Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case) on
August 20, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
CommunityAnswer
August 21, 2015
This product is available by the case or as a sample.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
HalsteadExpert
August 21, 2015
Thank you for your interest in Allure Alpine Elm Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring. This flooring is only sold by the case. A sample is available here: http://www.homedepot.com/p/TrafficMASTER-Allure-Alpine-Elm-Resilient-Vinyl-Plank-Flooring-4-in-x-4-in-Take-Home-Sample-10063275/202899676
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What do you recommend for transition strips to carpet?

Asked by
Timmy
Iowa
about 6 in. x 36 in. Chandler Cork Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case) on
August 17, 2015
Going from allure vinyl plank flooring to carpet and wondering if you had any suggestions on transition pieces. Thanks
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
HalsteadExpert
August 18, 2015
Thank you for your interest in Allure Pacific Pine Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring. All matching Pacific Pine moldings can be found here: http://www.homedepot.com/b/Cap-A-Tread/Zamma/N-5yc1vZbz7Zcaa/Ntk-All/Ntt-pacific%2Bpine?Ntx=mode+matchall&NCNI-5
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Do I have to take up the existing flooring which is cracking vinyl

Asked by
jean
aurora, il
about 6 in. x 36 in. Chandler Cork Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case) on
August 16, 2015
awefule and purchasing as is.... let me know singe woman here trying to do it all for less
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
HalsteadExpert
August 18, 2015
Thank you for your interest in Allure Cherry Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring. You can install this flooring over vinyl. These requirements must be met: Tiles, planks, or sheet goods must be in good condition and thoroughly bonded to the structural floor. Existing floors must not be foam- or cushion- backed vinyl flooring. Deep embossing (1/8”) must be skim-coated with floor leveler.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
HDAnswerman
August 17, 2015
Hi Jean,

The base must be level and stable, thus your old flooring will have to be removed before installation of the new flooring.

Mike
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

The hickory vinyl planking is not available in any of the Home Depot stores within 50 miles of where I live

Asked by
Ga in Pa
Pocono Lake Pa
about 6 in. x 36 in. Chandler Cork Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case) on
March 16, 2013
Do all Home Depots carry samples to view, at least???
-2points
0out of 2found this question helpful.
Answer this question
8 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
MS
Oceanside, CA
August 15, 2015
It used to be in the stores but now they only do online I think
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Rocky
North Tonawanda, NY
October 7, 2014
If you call the flooring dept. I'm sure they will order it for you using a credit card. They can even ship it to your home. Can't get any easier than that. The flooring looks great and went down so quick and easy. HD does have samples available.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Woody
Grand Haven,Michigan
September 17, 2014
We ordered the Hickory and they delivered it to our house.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Shannaby
Enfield, NH
December 7, 2013
My home depot doesn't carry the hickory either, but they do provide samples of all patterns. I would strongly encourage you to order the hickory over the patterns in the store; it is well worth the wait and the slight price increase. Of all the patterns I've seen it is the most realistic looking and shows the least repetition. What a great product!!
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Star72220200
Little Rock, AR, USA
September 17, 2013
Our local Home Depot had a sample to see before we ordered it. You may have to request samples from you store.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
CLPinNJ
New Jersey, USA
July 10, 2013
I was able to pick up various sample of the different colors in my store.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
canashar
Atlanta, GA, USA
June 4, 2013
There were samples available at my store in the Atlanta area. Be sure to take the samples to your home. They look very different in the stores under the fluorescent lights. I though that I wanted cherry until I got it home. It is very red. In the store it looks more brown. The hickory is a brown tone with a wonderful, realistic grain.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
HalsteadExpert
March 19, 2013
We discontinued Hickory in the stores but you can order though Special Order either on line or in the stores
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

We have 3 dogs, how will this type of flooring stand up to claws even though they are cut back monthly ?

Asked by
LAM
Georgetown, Ohio
about 6 in. x 36 in. Chandler Cork Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case) on
September 6, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
9 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
MS
Oceanside, CA
August 15, 2015
My dogs have not messed up the flooring as it is very durable
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Rocky
North Tonawanda, NY
October 7, 2014
I installed this flooring at my door & hall area five years ago. I have dogs, growing boys, need I say more? I love it today as I did 5 yrs ago. I just purchased more to carry into the kitchen & a bathroom. After all of this time the match was perfect! The older floor looks as great as the new. No scratches, digs, chips etc. I recommend this floor highly for dogs & high traffic areas. Easy to keep clean with just a Swiffer. Best purchase ever!!!!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Tindergarten
Idaho
April 20, 2014
Nails? Fine. Sloshed water/drool/accidents? Not so much.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Kelly
Utah
January 23, 2014
We have two small dogs and I haven't noticed any scratches or damage to the flooring. The older portion (which is about five years old from before we bought the house) looks just like the new flooring. The previous owners didn't have dogs but they did have a toddler.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
GenW
January 7, 2014
I think it would be PERFECT with dogs. Much better than hardwood.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Carrie
Oklahoma City, OK
November 19, 2013
I have a German SHephaerd, a greyhound, and a havanese and they are unable to scratch. My experience has been that it is doggie tested and approved.
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
kwak57
October 22, 2013
i have 2 dogs, no problems!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
Star72220200
Little Rock, AR, USA
September 17, 2013
It should hold up just fine. Our son put this in his living room and he has a small dog, 2 cats that are in the house all the time plus he has a big mastiff that is in and out and his looks like it did when he put it down. He has had it for approximately 5 years now.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Asked by
Jay_HD_CHI
September 6, 2013
LAM,

The product will hold up just fine, but like with any other type of flooring it can still be dented, dinged or punctured. It takes quite a bit of force to do so however and one of the great things about this flooring is that it's so simple to replace broken or damaged planks, even from the middle of the floor. If I were you, I would make sure that I have extra leftover planks after the job just in case = )

- Jay
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Where to buy

Asked by
Orchidgal
Il
about 6 in. x 36 in. Chandler Cork Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case) on
July 17, 2013
Im looking at the Hickory but see its not available at my local store,can it be shipped to the store and I pick it up? How much extra would that be,I know of another store where I can buy it in the store but their cases don't cover quite as much,but the overall price is better
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
7 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
MS
Oceanside, CA
August 15, 2015
HD
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Rocky
North Tonawanda, NY
October 7, 2014
You can order from HD. I went into the store & a sales person called the factory. They still carry it but don't stock it. HD can place the order for you and have it shipped right to you home. My shipping was free. I had the flooring at my home within a week. Floor down in just hrs. Love IT !!!!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Lynn
San Antonio, TX
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
October 7, 2014
Hickory is only available online, ship to store or ship to home.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Kelly
Utah
January 23, 2014
We ordered ours online from Home Depot to match the old flooring, we had to wait for it but it worked out great.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
kwak57
Luverne, MN 56156, USA
October 22, 2013
We had 2 boxes shipped to our home for $6.00! It was not available in our store either. I thought that was very reasonable!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Star72220200
Little Rock, AR, USA
September 17, 2013
I bought mine on line because I could not find it locally. If you are going to order a lot of footage be sure to advise them to send it UPS in separate shipments. I had 13 boxes ordered and they shipped it by truck and when they called to deliver they said we would need a fork lift to unload it.....Yep,we have a fork lift sitting around for just this situation LOL. I contacted Home Depot Customer Service and they had it reshipped by a truck that would unload it in the garage. Customer Service was great when fixing this problem......
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
THD Customer Support
Kennesaw, Ga
July 21, 2013
Thank you for asking. To determine pricing and availability you will need to localize the item online by using a zip code. Unfortunately, if you are unable to see the store inventory, then it’s most likely not a stocked item in your area. However, you can still order it online to ship to your home or business. For any other questions, please call us at HomeDepot.com Customer Service 800-430-3376.
1. Localize Homedepot.com using your zip code (My Store Location: Change)
2. Choose the store where you want to pick up the item (Make this my Store)
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

does this laminate flooring need an underlayment?

Asked by
Sharon
MN
about 6 in. x 36 in. Chandler Cork Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case) on
January 2, 2013
I have flooring down now but would like to just cover it with the laminate flooring. Will I need to tear up the old floor covering before laying this?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
7 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
MS
Oceanside, CA
August 15, 2015
No
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Woody
Grand Haven,Michigan
September 17, 2014
We used a very thin underlayment, but you do not need it. Make sure the floor is clean/smooth before installing.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Tindergarten
Idaho
April 20, 2014
No, but take care to make sure the surface is flat and smooth. Leveling compound is your friend. I didn't prep well, and my seams are failing due to uneven surfaces underneath.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Star72220200
Little Rock, AR, USA
September 17, 2013
If you have a smooth floor you can lay it over what you have. Of course, you could not lay it over carpet. If you have ceramic tiles that do not have wide seams you could lay it over the tiles. I pulled up carpet and layed it on concrete floor. No under laying is needed.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
CLPinNJ
New Jersey, USA
July 10, 2013
No, you just need to make sure that you don't have gaps or deep gouges. If you do you should fill them in with filler before laying the planks. Eventually the new floor will settle in and imperfections will show. the instructions are pretty clear about this step.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
HalsteadExpert
January 8, 2013
This flooring is vinyl and not laminate. You can install this product right over the existing floor as long as the floor is no popping up in any areas and not soft to walk on.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
Designing Woman
Atlanta, GA
January 3, 2013
Hello Sharon and thank you for your question.

The TrafficMaster Allure Hickory Resilient Vinyl-Plank Flooring can be installed over most existing floors including wood, vinyl, linoleum, ceramic tiles, and concrete. All subfloors must be sound, solid, and have little flexibility.

Review pages 2-3 of the Installation Guide for specific information about existing flooring surfaces and take corrective action (if required): http://www.homedepot.com/catalog/pd....

Best wishes on your project.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Can this flooring be install over top concrete foundation with radiant heat?

Asked by
Vinyl Plank
about 6 in. x 36 in. Chandler Cork Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case) on
August 8, 2012
This is for new construction, the 4" concrete foundation will be poured over top of the radiant heat. We are looking for Vinyl plank that we can install right over the concrete.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
MS
Oceanside, CA
August 15, 2015
Yes I did and no issues so far after many years
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Star72220200
Little Rock, AR, USA
September 17, 2013
If it is not layed directly on the radiant heat coils and the temp. is not too warm I believe it says you can use it. Remember the edges have adhesive that hold the planks together.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
KenyonRanch1
Woodville, TX 75979, USA
August 16, 2012
I do not see why not. If I ever build house on slab, I would use it. Living in East Texas where the soil goes from super wet to super dry, I will only build a house using pier and beam (just like a house with a basement) contruction. Cause in East Texas there are two types of slabs, "those that are cracked, and those that will crack". This stuff is great, and I think on the box it even says it's ok.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
HalsteadExpert
August 9, 2012
Yes, as long as the radiant heat is at least 1/2" from our flooring and the radiant heat does not exceed 85 degrees...
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Do you have to buy all boxes from the same lot? Or can I buy 7 boxes now & 7 boxes in a month and will they still match?

Asked by
DebK
Duluth, MN
about 6 in. x 36 in. Chandler Cork Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case) on
April 20, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
MS
Oceanside, CA
August 15, 2015
You can but I did not. I did one room then another a year later. Looks great to me.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
wvbb
ohio
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
June 2, 2015
Bought the tiles 2 different times 3 years apart and they all matched up perfectly.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
HalsteadExpert
April 21, 2015
Thank you for your interest in the TrafficMaster Allure Resilient Vinyl plank flooring in Hickory. We recommend making sure all of the cartons are from the same run #(dye lot). The run # is located on the ends of the cartons. Some slight color variation can happen from run to run; certainly if the product is purchased at a different time. Always install planks/tiles from more than one box at a time (min. 3 cartons).
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

does this vinyl have a backing

Asked by
dina
corpus christi, tx
about 6 in. x 36 in. Chandler Cork Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case) on
June 27, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
MS
Oceanside, CA
August 15, 2015
Just the backing it is made with is all you need
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
CommunityAnswer
June 30, 2015
Yes, this product has a backing layer.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
HalsteadExpert
June 30, 2015
Thank you for your interest in Allure Hickory Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring. This flooring does not have a backing.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can the roller be rented from Home Depot?

Asked by
Doingitmyself
Essex County NJ
about 6 in. x 36 in. Chandler Cork Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case) on
October 8, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
MS
Oceanside, CA
August 15, 2015
I did not use a roller. No need for one
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
HalsteadExpert
October 11, 2014
Thank you for your question. Check with your local Home Depot. Some stores have tool rental centers.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Do you have to remove the baseboards? If not, is there an "open seam" between the floor and baseboard? What to do?

Asked by
ImKilnTime
Bowie, Texas
about 6 in. x 36 in. Chandler Cork Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case) on
November 23, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
MS
Oceanside, CA
August 15, 2015
I did not have to remove the base board. I just went up against the base boards when it would not go under
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
HalsteadExpert
March 27, 2015
Thank you for your interest in Allure Hickory Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring. You should remove the baseboards if you do not plan on adding a quarter round molding to hide the expansion space.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Install over painted concrete floor?

Asked by
Kevin45
New Jersey
about 6 in. x 36 in. Chandler Cork Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case) on
April 22, 2015
Can these planks be installed on top of my basement concrete floor which is very dry but has been painted or do I have to remove paint first?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
7 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
nat
Seattle, Wa
August 12, 2015
You can install them right on top of the painted floor. That is what I did in my basement. I just washed the floors first to make sure they were clean and then installed the floor over it. It came out great.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Cynthia
Pensacola Florida
August 12, 2015
I installed it over marble tile - with no issues. Since it floats, it should be fine. Just to be sure I would check with the manufacturer or your local Home Depot for specifics.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
DIYDad
Stockton, Ca
June 30, 2015
Over a painter concrete floor should not be a problem as it is a floating floor system that is not adhered to the substrate
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
TimB
Cheyenne
May 19, 2015
No need to remove the paint. This vinyl does't stick to the floor at all. It sticks to other vinyl planks and floats over top of the existing floor. It's held down by weight and good fit to the walls around the edges.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
TMort
IA
May 5, 2015
Yes, this can be installed over a painted floor without removing the paint.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
HalsteadExpert
April 23, 2015
Thank you for your interest in the TrafficMaster Allure Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring in Alpine Elm. As long as your concrete floor is sealed, you shouldn't have any issue installing over paint.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
CommunityAnswer
April 22, 2015
As long as your concrete basement floor is sound, solid and has a hydrostatic pressure of 8 psi or less you can install Alpine Elm Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring without removing the paint first.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

If installing new kitchen cabinets, should you install Allure all the way to the walls first, and then install the cabinets?

Asked by
Jillybean
Tampa, FL
about 6 in. x 36 in. Chandler Cork Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case) on
May 1, 2015
The way one would with tile or wood or laminate? I hate the idea of just installing it up to the cabinet edge.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
7 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
nat
Seattle, Wa
August 12, 2015
I'm with you. I would install it first. But if you do that you are paying for and covering up sections that will never be seen. When we installed in our basement. We moved the work cabinets where we wanted them and then installed around them. But now the cabinets will have to stay in that location or else if we move them they will show bare concrete floors where they were.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Cynthia
Pensacola Florida
August 12, 2015
If the flooring is going to be 100% covered by the cabinets, I don't know that I would do that. It's just an added cost, and not any benefit. But, you may find someone who feels differently about it - definitely talk to your Home Depot professional.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
SteveO
Poulsbo, WA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
June 4, 2015
I don't know if there is a right way or wrong way, I would recommend going all the way to the wall. If you put the cabinets in first and then the flooring, and if you then spill something on the floor later, the water (or spaghetti sauce) would probably end up going under the flooring - which is bad. If the planks go all the way to the wall, that is less likely, and also less prone to cause a problem. My opinion on it...
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
TimB
Cheyenne
May 19, 2015
Your cabinets would have a more stable footing on the slab or bare surface, without Allur flooring. You would also save the cost of extra flooring. The issue then becomes trim work around the cabinet bases to cover where the flooring meets the cabinet base.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
HalsteadExpert
May 2, 2015
Thank you for your interest in the TrafficMaster Allure resilient vinyl plank flooring in Alpine Elm. We do not recommend installing cabinets on top of this product as it is designed to be a floating floor for expansion and contraction. The gap by the cabinet edge can be covered by shoe molding or and other type for flooring molding. Zamma offers molding in Alpine Elm via http://www.homedepot.com/s/alpine%2520elm%2520zamma?NCNI-5 .
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
DesigningWoman
May 1, 2015
Hello Jillybean and thank you for your question.

You should install the cabinets first, and then install the flooring. The toe kick (under the cabinets) or a piece of moulding (like coordinating quarteround moulding) will cover the space between the cabinets and the edge of the vinyl flooring.

Best wishes on your project.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
CommunityAnswer
May 1, 2015
No, do not install permanent cabinets, vanities, etc.over Allure as this will prevent Allure from expanding and contracting.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

HOW DO YOU RECOMMEND TO CLEAN THIS FLOORING?

Asked by
misty
about 6 in. x 36 in. Chandler Cork Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case) on
January 7, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Cynthia
Pensacola Florida
August 12, 2015
Sweep, vacuum and damp mop. Simple! I don't use harsh chemicals because they give me a headache.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Chica
Seattle, WA
March 24, 2015
I use a Bissell Sweep and steam because I have dog hair. First I sweep up particles, then I steam mop the floor and it looks brand new.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Monica
Short Hills, NJ and Los Angeles, CA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 14, 2015
That's one thing they don't tell you. Here's what I found that works. Get one of those wood sweeping floor pads that go on the bottom of a long stick. You'll find at Home Depot. Then get a can of pledge or other dusting spray. Spray an area then sweep so that the pad takes up the dirt. You might need to change pads, so get a couple of them. Also might help to sweep trash up first. But the pledge cleans nicely and ends up putting a nice even shine on the floor.. This has worked better than regular water type cleaners. Extra dirty areas might require some "manual labor"...
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
HalsteadExpert
January 9, 2015
Thank you for your interest in the Allure Alpine Elm Resilient Vinyl Plank flooring. To keep your floor looking its best, dust mop or vacuum (hard surface vacuum attachment) your floor at least twice a week. Do it more often on floors with heavy traffic. Do not use a household dust cleaner of any kind as this may cause the floor to become slick or damage the finish. Simply sweep the floor as often as needed. Do NOT use a steam cleaner on allure flooring as it may result in permanent damage to your floor and will void the warranty. If using a Swiffer®, use only the sweeper. Using any kind of wet Swiffer® can leave a residue on allure. We recommend Allure Simple Step cleaner for a once a month to renew and protect your floor.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can Allure flooring be used over radiant-heat floors?

Asked by
Chip
about 6 in. x 36 in. Chandler Cork Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case) on
October 14, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
jeffsmom
salida, colorado
August 11, 2015
I don't think that is a good idea. The planks react to temperature changes and heat takes away from how rigid they are.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
sharonco
Mississippi
August 7, 2014
Per Allure instruction manual...
Radiant Heated floors:
Electric and Hydro systems are acceptable. Subfloors
should have been operational for at least one
week prior to installation to calibrate temperature
settings. The temperature should never exceed
85F (30C) during and after installation. Radiant
components must be a minimum of ½" below
allure flooring.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
1oldguy
December 10, 2013
I would be hesitant to do it.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
HalsteadExpert
November 19, 2012
yes, as long as the heat does not exceed 85 degrees
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
AskMrJay
October 18, 2012
Chip,

Yes they can. The flooring needs to be at least 1/2" above the radiant-heat and temperatures cannot exceed 85 degrees F at anytime after the installation.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

can this floor be install over existing wood floor

Asked by
marina
apopka florida
about 6 in. x 36 in. Chandler Cork Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case) on
August 17, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
7 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
jeffsmom
salida, colorado
August 11, 2015
I believe so. I installed mine over a wood subfloor.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
sharonco
Mississippi
August 7, 2014
Quoted from Allure instruction manual...
allure’s flexibility allows the planks to be installed
over uneven subfloors (see subfloor preparation on
page 5) or existing floors such as natural wood,
concrete, vinyl, linoleum, and even ceramic,
saving you time and money!
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
sharonco
Mississippi
August 7, 2014
I would think if it is smooth you should be able to install over existing wood floor. I installed over a wood subfloor but put a 1/4" cork underlayment to add a little cushion, just my preference. I had to make sure all nails and screws were not sticking up any.
I just ordered 500 sf and plan to install over a laminate wood.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
1oldguy
December 10, 2013
Yes depending on the condition of existing floor , all seams and cracks need to be filled and level. if condition of the existing floor is poor I would install an overlay sub floor. and fill the seams to smooth.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Mark
Hunterdon County, NJ
November 6, 2012
We just installed over a plywood floor. I think you can put this on wood or concrete, just need to make sure the surface is (fairly) even. I used floor patch to take some of the low spots out.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
HalsteadExpert
August 22, 2012
Yes, As long as the floor does not have any wood planks that are lifting. If so just make sure you bang the planks down with a hammer prior.

thanks you for your question...
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
Designing Woman
Atlanta, GA
August 21, 2012
Hello marina and thank you for your question.

The TrafficMaster Allure Apple Blonde Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring can be installed over wood subfloors; Hardwoods, Plywood, OSB, Luan, Particleboard and Chipboard are approved, but must be sturdy flat and have little flexibility.

Please refer to page 2 of the Installation Instructions for more details.

Best wishes with your project!
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Embossed to look like real wood?

Asked by
Rach
Los Angeles, CA
about 6 in. x 36 in. Chandler Cork Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case) on
June 8, 2015
I was wondering whether the planks are smooth or if they have embossing.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
jeffsmom
salida, colorado
August 11, 2015
They have embossing and look like wood.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
joe
Friendswood Texas
July 11, 2015
yes has texture feeling
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
HalsteadExpert
June 9, 2015
Thank you for your interest in Allure Apple Blonde Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring. This flooring is embossed to look like real wood. You can see a sample in your nearest Home Depot or order online here: http://www.homedepot.com/p/TrafficMASTER-Allure-Apple-Blonde-Resilient-Vinyl-Plank-Flooring-4-in-x-4-in-Take-Home-Sample-100261251/202899672.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

underlayment

Asked by
Mommy
Winston-Salem, NC, USA
about 6 in. x 36 in. Chandler Cork Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case) on
March 29, 2015
Since this product has a rigid backing can this be placed over cork underlayment?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
jeffsmom
salida, colorado
August 11, 2015
I would think it can be, as long as the surface is flat. Instruction say that tile flooring with grout seams need a material added, because the grout is lower than the top of the tile.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
HalsteadExpert
March 29, 2015
Thank you for your interest in Allure Apple Blonde Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring. This flooring is not approved for use over a cork underlayment. Please see the installation guide for a list of approved subfloors: http://www.homedepot.com/catalog/pdfImages/9c/9cb1ceff-171f-44d3-b286-29e7368a0774.pdf
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 33 »