Looking for Answers about Lifetime 8 ft. x 10 ft. Outdoor Storage Shed?

Customer questions and answers for
Lifetime 8 ft. x 10 ft. Outdoor Storage Shed

Why shouldn’t your outdoor shed be as stylish as your house This Lifetime storage shed is a great backyard attraction as well as a solution to your storage problems. Keep all your lawn and garden equipment locked up and protected from the elements in one handy location. Shelving units and peg strips are included so you can keep your smaller tools and supplies organized as well. You will especially appreciate the durability and low maintenance of this Lifetime shed. It is constructed from UV-protected high-density polyethylene plastic with steel reinforcements. The high-impact polyethylene floor is resistant to stains and solvents, so spills are easily cleaned up. For routine exterior cleaning, simply spray down with a hose. Built to last. Built for style. Built for the way you live. This shed must be built on a flat level foundation of wood or concrete (not included).
Customer questions and answers:
50 Questions
 | 
147 Answers
Overall rating:
4.387 out of 5
4.4
out of
5

Customer questions and answers for Lifetime 8 ft. x 10 ft. Outdoor Storage Shed

Question

Can this shed be taken apart after assembly and reassembled at a new location?

Asked by
Kevin
about 8 ft. x 10 ft. Outdoor Storage Shed on
January 30, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
KenHDOC
Orange, Ca.
January 30, 2014
Hi KBerry, this is a great product. I reached out to the manufacture of this product to get you an answer.

The manufacture states that this shed is made to be assembled and reassembled. So if you need to relocated the shed, know you can reassemble it. Enjoy.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
IMPO
Lutz, FL, USA
January 31, 2014
After putting it together, I am most certain it can be disassembled and reassembled fairly easy. The corners are marked as to their position, but the wall and roof sections are generic. It would be wise to mark their position before disassembly. That way the screw holes will line up the same as before. Arranging the sections in different order might affect alignment.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Eastside
Cleveland, Ohio
June 15, 2014
Sure it could. everything is screwed together, as long as you remember what goes where you should be okay.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Door opening

Asked by
Bigcarl
Pa
about 8 ft. x 10 ft. Outdoor Storage Shed on
February 22, 2014
What is the highth of the door opening in the center of the arch?

Thanks
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
LifetimeProducts
February 25, 2014
The middle of the opening measures 76 inches.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Eastside
Cleveland, Ohio
June 15, 2014
6' 8"
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
OHSHED
Rowlett, Texas
July 1, 2014
It must be at least 6 ft. My husband is 5'9 and he doesn't have to duck to get in.
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

does it come with a ramp

Asked by
molly
copiague ny 11726
about 8 ft. x 10 ft. Outdoor Storage Shed on
February 28, 2013
i see a ramp on the dicription is this thank you
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
lynn
Pittsburgh, PA
April 30, 2013
No ramp- you have to build one -there may be one available to buy?, check the acces. section.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
NArlingtonVA
Arlington
February 28, 2013
No, it does not come with a ramp.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
lefty
bremerton,wa
March 1, 2013
no. it doesn't need a ramp, the floor is only one inch high
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What's the snow load rating?

Asked by
Burrski
MA
about 8 ft. x 10 ft. Outdoor Storage Shed on
April 19, 2013
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
lynn
Pitsburgh, PA
April 30, 2013
I don't know what the snow load rating is but the ceiling of the shed has small support bars across each section (total of 8) so I would assume the roof is fairly strong.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Smitty
Woodland Hills, Los Angeles, CA, USA
April 19, 2013
A lot! I'm sure you could stand on the. It does have steel framing and pretty tough plastic!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Reeseman
Suburban Chicago
August 12, 2013
The manual says six inches of snow or more must be swept off the roof.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

what are the dimensions of the boxed items if i want to pick up myself?

Asked by
herkman
iowa
about 8 ft. x 10 ft. Outdoor Storage Shed on
May 16, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
PENCN
Brooklyn, NY, USA
June 11, 2013
Product comes in two very large (approx 6 ft x 4 ft) boxes. It took 4 young men to lift each one. Each box was about 250 lbs.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Smitty
Woodland Hills, Los Angeles, CA, USA
May 16, 2013
The Boxes are very heavy. You will need a larger pick up truck and strong friends to help you!
User submitted photo
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
IMPO
Lutz, FL, USA
January 31, 2014
Each box weighs close to 240 LBS. Each box is 30"W x 10"H x 96"L approx.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What is the "open" width of the double doors, trying to figure out if I can get my John Deere riding mower in it?

Asked by
DE
Carrollton, Texas
about 8 ft. x 10 ft. Outdoor Storage Shed on
July 6, 2013
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Chuck
Middle Tennessee
July 7, 2013
I have a Lifetime 8 X 10 Ft Bldg. You can safely put a 54 inch object through the door
with no problems with an inch to spare on both sides. I like my building.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
lynn
Pittsburgh, PA
July 8, 2013
The open area of the doorway is 56 and 1/4" wide. the depth from the back wall to the door is 112"
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
IMPO
Lutz, FL, USA
January 31, 2014
six feet.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is this sealed so no mice can get in?

Asked by
Hatemice
Ellensburg WA
about 8 ft. x 10 ft. Outdoor Storage Shed on
June 26, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
NArlingtonVA
Arlington
August 6, 2013
No. Although it fits together snugly if you assemble it on a flat surface, my experience with rodents is that they would be able to get in if they wanted to.

FYI--I have field mice in my area and have not had any 'intruders', but I'm not keeping anything of interest to them in the shed.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Chuck
Middle Tennessee
June 27, 2013
MY 8 X 10 BUILDING IS WELL PUT TOGETHER BUT I WILL NOT SAY THAT A MOUSE
COULD NOT GET IN. MICE AS ANYONE KNOWS CAN ENTER JUST ABOUT ANY PLACE
THEY WANT TO. LOCATION IS ALWAYS A FACTOR BUT NOT FULL PROOF.
SO IN MY OPINION THERE IS NOT A BUILDING BUILT THAT SOONER OR LATER A
MOUSE CANNOT GET IN. KEEP THE TRAPS/MOUSE BAIT HANDY.
I LIKE MY BUILDING AND DO WHAT I CAN TO KEEP THEM OUT.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Tristan
Pasadena, MD, USA
June 30, 2013
As long as you put it together properly (on a level surface, make sure everything fits tight) then there is nowhere for mice to get in. The side panels fit very snugly against the floor and as long as you level the doors there are no gaps there either.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

how far apart would the spacing be for concrete blocks to support the wood floor in the instructions?

Asked by
john
flint, mi.
about 8 ft. x 10 ft. Outdoor Storage Shed on
July 18, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
DianaSkye
New Mexico
August 6, 2013
Hi,

The floor is sturdy vinyl, not wood. You can figure the number of concrete blocks you'd need and how many rows across the floor you'd need for the 8 x 10 foot shed. It's a relatively sturdy floor but it's vinyl and if it's going to be suspended on blocks, you might consider rows of 2 x 4s laid across the cinder blocks to support the floor evenly. Good luck.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
thatsmynickname
Plano, TX, USA
June 5, 2014
John,
The concrete blocks I used were 4x8x16 and I left roughly 18 to 20 inches between them which is okay. And then I used 2x8's cris-crossed for a bottom before before I laid down 1/2" plywood for the sub floor. Do make sure you have a SOLID wood base under the floor or else you will not be able to walk on it. The shed floor is so flimsy you need to have a complete solid base to keep it from buckling and sagging when you walk on it. Hope this will help others down the road with this question.
My nickname is "CM"
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
LifetimeProducts
July 18, 2013
For questions concerning shed assembly, please contact our customer service department at 1 800 225 3865 or email customercare@lifetime.com.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Is it possible to move it once assembled if it is built & mounted down to a wood base thats mounted on "rails" so it can be pulled up on a flatbed?

Asked by
DakaPC
Wilmington NC
about 8 ft. x 10 ft. Outdoor Storage Shed on
February 15, 2013
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Reeseman
Suburban Chicago
August 12, 2013
Probably, as long as you move the thing slowly, I think this would work. Remember, most of it is held together by screws in plastic. Those may come loose in very violent shaking.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
NArlingtonVA
Arlington
February 28, 2013
Wow, I'm not a structural engineer, but I'd be reluctant to do it. I guess if you have to move it, that sounds like a reasonable approach but I'd keep your speed down to 25-30 mph. My shed has already withstood 60mph storm winds, but I'm not sure how much less stable it would be on the road.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
sadejonge
Newburgh, IN
February 16, 2013
I think it would be rather difficult. Extremely heavy. The shed itself is approx. 515 lbs. Add in the plywood base and frame and it is well over 700 lbs. The base does provide stability, but there would still be some shifting of the walls and roof which could cause damage. You would be better off taking it apart if it needed to be moved.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

what is the curbside weight of the shed

Asked by
coach
wall nj
about 8 ft. x 10 ft. Outdoor Storage Shed on
October 6, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
IMPO
Lutz, FL, USA
January 31, 2014
The shed comes in 2 cardboard boxes measuring around 32"x 8'. Mine was delivered on an equal sized pallet. The shipping document listed the weight as 477 lbs.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
LifetimeProducts
October 7, 2013
Packaged Dimensions

Box 1 is 95.31"L (242.087 cm) x 32"W (81.28 cm) x 11.78" (29.921 cm) and weighs 280.25 lbs (127.119 kg)

Box 2 is 95.31"L x 31.75" (80.645 cm) x 11.78"H (29.921 cm) and weighs 197 lbs (89.358 kg)
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
John
Florida, USA
November 12, 2013
Shipped on a large pallet with a weight of 550 lbs.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

can this shed handle 3 to 6ft of snow?

Asked by
bugzbunny
Overgaard Arizona
about 8 ft. x 10 ft. Outdoor Storage Shed on
February 8, 2012
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
fisherman1
Waukesha, WI, USA
April 17, 2012
NO!!!
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
LifetimeProducts
February 9, 2012
Our sheds can handle 23 psf of snow. It's difficult to judge the weight of the snow by its height because snow can vary in density depending on whether it is lightly or densely packed--wet or powdery. Our official recommendation is that you don't let the snow accumulate over 6 inches high on the roof. At that point it should be cleared off--just to be safe.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Question

Everything in Tucson Arizona heat melts, and I mean EVERYTHING. Will this handle the heat and weight of hard wood lumber?

Asked by
MustHaveLumber
Tucson AZ
about 8 ft. x 10 ft. Outdoor Storage Shed on
August 8, 2012
I have a lot of hardwood lumber to keep out of the rain and sun. I also dont have a lot of side access. How much side work is there to put it together.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
LifetimeProducts
August 9, 2012
Lifetime sheds have passed testing for extreme heat conditions. Once assembled the steel reinforcements enable it to maintain its shape and integrity. That being said, exposing the plastic panels to extreme heat BEFORE assembly may cause them to warp. The panels will return to their original shape once they cool off, but assembly in extreme heat is not recommended. You can access the instructions online to see what's involved with the assembly before deciding if this is something you want to do yourself or subcontract out. Just go to lifetime.com, Customer Care, and click on Assembly Instructions. It will ask you for the model number of the shed you're inquiring about.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
2830
Idaho Falls, ID
September 4, 2012
You need a couple of feet to be able to get the panels set and enough room for a ladder to install the roof panels.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

I have a wooden base that is 10' 2" x 9' 1" . I'm interested in model #6405. What is the actual size of the outside 10' width of that shed?

Asked by
Joe
N. Huntingdon,PA
about 8 ft. x 10 ft. Outdoor Storage Shed on
April 1, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Rich
Virginia, USA
April 1, 2013
The long dimension of the outside of the shed at the base is 118 1/4 inches. That is 9' 10 1/4 ".
At the roof, the long dimension is 120" or 10'.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Lucky
Chicago
October 20, 2013
You will be fine with those dimensions.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Golf Cart Storage

Asked by
Effy
Houston, Texas
about 8 ft. x 10 ft. Outdoor Storage Shed on
June 14, 2014
We are looking to store a golf cart in the shed - what is the height of the door opening?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
LifetimeProducts
Utah
June 17, 2014
Door Opening Dimensions: 56" x 76" (4.6 feet x 6.3 feet)
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
OHSHED
Rowlett, Texas
July 1, 2014
It must be about 6 ft. My husband is 5'9 and he doesn't have to duck to get in.
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What is the hight to peak of roof on outside.

Asked by
paul
Mass.
about 8 ft. x 10 ft. Outdoor Storage Shed on
April 8, 2013
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Rich
Virginia, USA
April 8, 2013
Height to peak is 7 feet, 11 inches. (7' 11")
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
lynn
Pittsburgh, PA
April 30, 2013
It is almost 95 and 1/2" not counting your platform heighth
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

do your stores provide construction of shed?

Asked by
Al
shinnstion,WV
about 8 ft. x 10 ft. Outdoor Storage Shed on
April 22, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
lynn
Pitsburgh, PA
April 30, 2013
My husband and I put the shed together very easily (8 hrs) but our local Home Depot does provide the service of assembling it for a reasonable cost.You just have to schedule it with them.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
April 23, 2013
Hi Al
Yes we do offer installation. Please follow the link below for additional details.
http://www.homedepot.com/webapp/cat...
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

if i put a 5' high wire shelf will it damage the floor?

Asked by
joe1970
11234
about 8 ft. x 10 ft. Outdoor Storage Shed on
April 28, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Connie
Valley City, ND 58072, USA
April 30, 2013
The floor seems pretty sturdy to me. I think part of it would depend on how much weight you are going to put on the shelf and what kind of foundation you have the she on. Mind is on concrete so it is good.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Tristan
Pasadena, MD, USA
June 30, 2013
The floor is made of a very tough material but it is plastic. Shelving should be fine as long as it's stable and the feet are not too sharp. I would be careful not to overload it and I wouldn't try to move it around while the shelves are loaded, but beyond that you shouldn't have problems.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

CAN IT BE ADDED TO WITH ANOTHER SHED KIT

Asked by
annie
Las Vegas, NV, USA
about 8 ft. x 10 ft. Outdoor Storage Shed on
July 15, 2014
I HAVE PURCHASED 8X10 CAN I BUY EXTENSION?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Thomas
NY
July 22, 2014
The company website said it could be added to. The shed is a LIFETIME shed product, so I'd research it from the website or give them a call.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Steve
Fl
July 17, 2014
Yes, as far I know (when I purchased it a few years ago) there was a 4 foot extension availabe to make it a 8 X 14.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What is the difference in 8x10 shed prices

Asked by
Handi
Burton, MI
about 8 ft. x 10 ft. Outdoor Storage Shed on
October 22, 2013
What is the difference in shed #60085 for $1,399.99 and #6405 at $1,099.00, they both are 8x10 lifetime sheds?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
THDCustomerService
Atlanta, GA
November 14, 2013
Hi Handi,

Thanks for your question and interest in this item. More information is needed to accurately answer your question. Please contact our Online Customer Service Department at 800-430-3376 to get more assistance with this item. Our hours of operation are between 6:00 a.m. and 2:00 a.m. Eastern Time daily.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
IMPO
Lutz, FL, USA
January 31, 2014
About $300...that adds shutters on the window, colored corner molding and equally pointless windowed doors. .
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What is the difference of inside temp from outside temp during the winter months?

Asked by
worried
North Mississippi
about 8 ft. x 10 ft. Outdoor Storage Shed on
November 22, 2013
I live in North Mississippi and have tropical plants that can not fit in my greenhouse. They need to be stored in unit that will be somewhat insulated and maintain temps no lower than mid 40's. If the temp drops into the 20's can the unit stay in the 40 range? If not, will the plastic material hold up to a grow light or electric space heater to be used? Thank you for your help.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
lynn
January 24, 2014
The outside temp. is 12 right now in my area and the inside of my shed is about 18.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
TravisHDAtl
Atlanta, GA
November 22, 2013
Hi worried,

I'm Travis from The Home Depot. Thanks for visiting our site.

The plastic will tolerate temperatures above 100 degrees F., but electric heaters can produce extreme heat that could harm the plastic, depending on proximity of the heater to the plastic.

I would recommend a convection heater that emits warm air, rather than direct radiant heat. A convection heater with a thermostat gives you control of the heat to prevent your plants from suffering.

Be sure to plug the heater directly into a ground fault circuit interrupter, or GFCI protected receptacle. Most heaters recommend against using extension cords due to their safety risks.

Travis
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
« 1 2 3 »