Looking for Answers about Generac 7,000-Watt Automatic Standby Generator with 50-Amp Transfer Switch?

Customer questions and answers for
Generac 7,000-Watt Automatic Standby Generator with 50-Amp Transfer Switch

Run this Generac Core Power 7,000-Watt Home Standby Generator on either natural gas or liquid propane for versatile fueling options. This generator offers a digital controller with LED status lights and fault indicators for easy monitoring of the operational status. The included composite mounting pad eliminates the need to pour a concrete base for installation convenience. Comes with Generator, 50A Transfer Switch, and Load Center to Back Up 8 Circuits.
Customer questions and answers:
65 Questions
 | 
132 Answers
Overall rating:
4.457 out of 5
4.5
out of
5

Customer questions and answers for Generac 7,000-Watt Automatic Standby Generator with 50-Amp Transfer Switch

Question

can i put a transfer switch on this unit

Asked by
capone
about 7,000-Watt Automatic Standby Generator with 50-Amp Transfer Switch on
August 31, 2011
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Generac
September 1, 2011
The 7kW CorePower unit includes a 50 Amp transfer switch.
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
CMoe
Linden, NJ, USA
May 26, 2013
The transfer switch is mounted inside the house near the main electrical panel. There is a circuit switch mounted on the generator itself.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

what can i run on this generator

Asked by
amp
clinton md
about 7,000-Watt Automatic Standby Generator with 50-Amp Transfer Switch on
August 28, 2011
-4points
0out of 4found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
bob
August 29, 2011
No, the included 50 Amp transfer switch is not pre-wired. It is pre-populated with circuit breakers that are commonly used in essential circuit backup protection. Specific breakers are: One double pole, 30 Amp breaker, one single pole 20 Amp breaker, and five single pole 15 Amp breakers.

Our pre-wired switches come pre-packaged with the Guardian Series 8kW – 17kW models. I have added the 8kW as a recommended product for your review.
-11points
3out of 17found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
CMoe
Linden, NJ, USA
May 26, 2013
Just think about running the circuts that you needed when the power went out. you don't need to power the whole house just certain items to help maintain your home comfort and necessities. Mines will run the ref, heater, deep feeze, washer/dryer, quite a few outlets and lights.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Most of the generators that run on nat gas or propane usually have a lower wattage output for nat gas !

Asked by
plumber
Grove City PA
about 7,000-Watt Automatic Standby Generator with 50-Amp Transfer Switch on
October 20, 2011
Does this unit provide the same wattage on nat gas as it does on propane? the specs say that it is the same out put on both fuel types!
0points
1out of 2found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Generac
October 20, 2011
Thank you for pointing out this error. This unit is rated for continuous maximum power output of 7000 watts with liquid propane fuel, and 6000 watts with natural gas.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
pbpman
ct
December 28, 2012
the nat gas will be 1000 watts lower then propane. check with your local inspector.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

How much lp gas does unit use an hour?

Asked by
Tom
NY
about 7,000-Watt Automatic Standby Generator with 50-Amp Transfer Switch on
November 3, 2011
Generac CorePower 7,000-Watt Home Standby Generator
+5points
7out of 9found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Generac
November 4, 2011
At 1/2 load, this unit consumes 1.02 gallons of LP fuel per hour. At full load, it consumes 1.31 gallons.
+1point
4out of 7found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
BEAR
November 7, 2011
HOW MUCH NATURAL GAS DOSE THIS UNIT USE IN BTU. CAN I KEEP MY CURRENT GAS METER OR DO I NEED A BIGGER ONE AFTER INSTAL??
+2points
5out of 8found this answer helpful.
Question

Is it possible to take the unit with me to another house in the even I sell my house?

Asked by
Jimbo
Colorado
about 7,000-Watt Automatic Standby Generator with 50-Amp Transfer Switch on
November 7, 2011
I am interested in buying the unit but may sell my home in the not too distant future and would like to take it with me to my new location. Is this a problem?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
PowerJunkie
Connecticut, USA
November 22, 2011
I guess you could. You would just have to disconnect the Natural Gas/Propane (which ever your use) and then terminate the power. However, You'd have to buy a new Transfer switch unless you disconnect that as well. I personally wouldn't because it is a great selling feature for a new buyer and you would get your money out of the sell.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Designing Woman
Atlanta, GA
November 8, 2011
Hello Jimbo and thank you for your question.

You should be able to take your CorePower 7,000-Watt Home Standby Generator with you when you move. The unit will need to be taken out of service (procedures are found in the owner’s manual) and follow your local gas and electric codes for disconnection and subsequent reconnection. Depending upon your area, you may need a qualified service provider, licensed electrician, or licensed plumber as part of this compliance.

Best wishes on your project.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Is the transfer switch automatic.Frank the hook

Asked by
Frank the hook
New York
about 7,000-Watt Automatic Standby Generator with 50-Amp Transfer Switch on
November 14, 2011
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Generac
November 15, 2011
Yes. All Generac home backup power systems have automatic transfer switches.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
PowerJunkie
Connecticut, USA
November 22, 2011
Yes, it sense loss of power and auto switches over.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

Is there any special financing available for this purchase and installation?

Asked by
jjsharp
Idlewylde, MD
about 7,000-Watt Automatic Standby Generator with 50-Amp Transfer Switch on
September 23, 2012
I have noticed the unit is on sale at a competitor inthe area; same price, but they offer 84 months at no interest.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
September 25, 2012
Hello Valued Customer,
Thanks for your question and interest in this item. We do offer several types of financing options. Whether you’re considering projects for your home or business, The Home Depot has the ideal credit card for you. Home Depot Credit Cards are available for both consumer and commercial use. The Home Depot Consumer Credit Card also offers special financing.

The Home Depot also offers a special type of home improvement loan called The Home Depot Project Loan, perfect for homeowners who are looking to renovate while making fixed low monthly payments over time. Since The Home Depot Project Loan may be used for any product in a store or online, a special order or a Home Depot installation service, this is a home repair loan that offers stress-free flexibility.

Please contact our credit services today for details on the best option for you!

http://www.homedepot.com/webapp/cat...

If you have any additional questions or need assistance placing an online order, please contact our Online Customer Service department at 800-430-3376.
Thanks
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
CMoe
Linden, NJ, USA
May 26, 2013
When I checked to get a sb generator, I found the installation prices very high. So what did I wind up doing? I purchased the generator and found a contractor that would install it regardless where I got it. The price for installation was 2600 and that was because he had to install at the rear of the house. I got estimates that ranged from 7-8 thousand and with just a little work and some minor inconveniences, I got the project (by contractor) done for 4 thousand.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Does this generator have an automatic idle feature?

Asked by
Claymore
Oakland, ME
about 7,000-Watt Automatic Standby Generator with 50-Amp Transfer Switch on
January 7, 2012
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Generac
January 11, 2012
It does not have idle control.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
pbpman
ct
December 28, 2012
yes it does, when it does not have a big load it will idle down.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

what is the natrual gas volume required for this unit? is it 1/2 lb or 2lbs?

Asked by
livewire
newport news
about 7,000-Watt Automatic Standby Generator with 50-Amp Transfer Switch on
June 23, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
CliffeDweller
Westcliffe, CO 81252, USA
July 23, 2012
Neither... it uses natural gas which is measured in Cubic Feet. The consumtion rate is based on %of load. See the literature for this.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Generac
June 25, 2012
The volume and pressure required for the 7kW unit utilizing natural gas is 119,000 BTU/hr with 5-7” of water column (0.18 to 0.25 psi).
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

I will use this for a vacation home. Can it be allowed to auto exercise weekly without necessarily coming on if the power is out when Im not there?

Asked by
Interested in vacation home backup
about 7,000-Watt Automatic Standby Generator with 50-Amp Transfer Switch on
June 24, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
CliffeDweller
Westcliffe, CO 81252, USA
July 23, 2012
Yes
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Generac
June 25, 2012
The 7kW automatic standby generator will exercise only when left in the Automatic mode. When in the Automatic mode, the unit will recognize a power outage, start, and transfer to provide power to the residence. There is no setting other than leaving the unit in the Off mode to keep it from providing power during an outage, and leaving the unit in the Off mode will not allow for proper exercising.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Why doen't Home Depot offer a battery with the 7kW? Where can it be bought?

Asked by
DA
CT
about 7,000-Watt Automatic Standby Generator with 50-Amp Transfer Switch on
June 24, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
CliffeDweller
Westcliffe, CO 81252, USA
July 23, 2012
The battery can be obtained @ Batteries Plus.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Generac
June 25, 2012
The 7kW Core Power unit, model 5837, does not come from the factory with a battery. The battery needed is a Group 26R, 12 volt, 350 cold-cranking amperes minimum. Batteries can be purchased through any retailer that carries automotive style batteries.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

how many square does it cover?

Asked by
Connie
North Judson, IN.
about 7,000-Watt Automatic Standby Generator with 50-Amp Transfer Switch on
July 3, 2012
model #5837 natural gas generator
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
CliffeDweller
Westcliffe, CO 81252, USA
July 23, 2012
Connie
It can provide 7000 watts (7KW) of power. This is based on your electrical load, not the size of your dwelling. A whole house unit would need to be much larger, possibly 20KW.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Generac
July 10, 2012
The loads required in a house will vary, and are not determined by the square footage of the home, but are determined by the items you deem necessary to run in an outage situation. To properly determine the correct generator for your needs, we recommend working with your local certified dealer or local certified electrician, as they will be able to determine the correct size generator to meet your needs.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

How big of generator do I need to run everything in my house to include my 3 ton ac

Asked by
Oscar
Miami Florida
about 7,000-Watt Automatic Standby Generator with 50-Amp Transfer Switch on
June 27, 2013
Have a 5600
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Justyourneighbor
Wisconsin
August 20, 2013
5600? When in doubt, have a licensed electrician amp your load( worth the money, instead of finding out you bought the wrong generator), he can then give you the size kw unit you will need.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Generac
July 3, 2013
The loads required in a house will vary, and are not determined by the square footage of the home, but are determined by the items you deem necessary to run in an outage situation. To properly determine the correct generator for your needs, we recommend working with your local certified installer or local certified electrician, as they will be able to determine the correct size generator to meet your needs.
The 7kW automatic standby generator is rated for a continuous output of 7,000 watts when utilizing propane, with a rated amperage of 29.2 amps at 240 volts. When utilizing natural gas, the unit is rated for a continuous output of 6,000 watts, with a rated amperage of 25 amps at 240 volts. You will want to ensure that all of the items you intend to run will not exceed this rating.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

How often do you have to replace the maintainance kit on the 7kw generator?

Asked by
quito
Panama
about 7,000-Watt Automatic Standby Generator with 50-Amp Transfer Switch on
July 8, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Generac
July 8, 2013
The 7kW CorePower series automatic standby generator has a recommended service interval of every 1 year or 100 hours, whichever comes first. Proper maintenance includes changing the oil, air filter, spark plugs, and attending to the battery as needed. A full maintenance schedule will be located in the owner’s manual under the Service Schedule section.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Sparky
Michigan
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
February 19, 2014
2 yrs
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

propane size 1.3 gal per hr gas grill size or larger size

Asked by
chuck
about 7,000-Watt Automatic Standby Generator with 50-Amp Transfer Switch on
November 5, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Generac
November 7, 2012
The smallest propane tank we can recommend is a 120 gallon tank. The volume and pressure required for the 7kW unit utilizing liquid propane is 119,952 BTU/hr with 10-12” of water column.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Sparky
Michigan
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
February 19, 2014
Gas grill tank will not boil off fast enough. You need a bigger tank
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

what type of fuel uses?

Asked by
tiger23
about 7,000-Watt Automatic Standby Generator with 50-Amp Transfer Switch on
October 20, 2013
What type of energy is used for this generator?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Generac
October 21, 2013
Generac’s 7kW CorePower Series Automatic Home Standby generator can operate on power produced by either natural gas or liquid propane. For further information regarding this unit, please refer to the unit’s Spec Sheet and/or Owner’s Manual.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Snowman
Northern New York
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
October 21, 2013
If you scroll down to "PRODUCT OVERVIEW" you will see where the features are separated by "bullet" format. The second bullet down reads "432cc Generac OHV engine runs on Liquid Propane OR Natural Gas"
If that's what you're looking for, I hope this helps.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

is this a automatic transfer switch

Asked by
sparky
boise
about 7,000-Watt Automatic Standby Generator with 50-Amp Transfer Switch on
November 13, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Generac
November 13, 2013
Generac’s CorePower Automatic Standby Generator comes with a 50-Amp transfer switch included. This transfer switch, model 5837, functions as an automatic transfer switch. Please note that model number 5837 can also be manually operated.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Sparky
Michigan
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
February 19, 2014
yes
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can the loadcenter be substituted for a NEMA 3R panel?

Asked by
sparky58
about 7,000-Watt Automatic Standby Generator with 50-Amp Transfer Switch on
September 10, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Generac
September 10, 2013
The 7kW Core Power automatic standby generator is available only as a pre-packaged item with the 50 amp 8 circuit transfer switch. This generator is only designed for use with the supplied transfer switch. The necessary wiring would be supplied by the installer. If additional circuits are required other than what is available in the switch, or if a GenReady or Nexus Smart Switch transfer switch are desired, we would recommend our larger Guardian series generators.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Sparky
Michigan
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
February 19, 2014
no but you can buy one from generac. They dont include 3R in the kit
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can I get this unit with with a larger transfer switch? The 50 amps is adequate but the number of circuits in it are not.

Asked by
JohnC
Wayne, WV
about 7,000-Watt Automatic Standby Generator with 50-Amp Transfer Switch on
November 2, 2013
I know that this unit will work with larger switches but I would prefer to buy the unit with the larger switch and not just throw away the one supplied and then purchase a larger one. I now use a 4000 WATT portable generater and it powers my whole entrance panel. We have enough common sense not to over use this tiny generator and shut off AC and electric hot water heater before connecting. This 7,000 watt unit will power either the hot water or central air but not both but I would like to have them connected and use them when I needed them.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Snowman
Northern New York
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
November 5, 2013
Normally, if you talk to the right people, you can get what you want.
I can understand not wanting the cam operated 50 Amp Transfer Switch.
I don't really understand needing more than 10 pole spaces for a 30 Amp generator. ( 25 Amp on natural gas. )
The 8KW unit has a new 50 Amp ATS with 10 pole space available. So you may want to come to a conclusion on how many pole spaces you think you may need.

The last 7KW unit I installed required one more control wire than any other of the Residential Automatic Standby Generators incorporating the EZ Switch ATS.

Although the EZ Switch ATS is a 100 Amp ATS, it is prewired for generators up to 16 KW and the power conductors increase in size to meet the current carrying ability required by the generator output. These EZ Switches are RTS10EZA1, RTS12EZA1, RTS14EZA1 AND RTSEZ16A1. They are 10,12,14 and 16 Pole Space ATS's respectively.

I would probably talk to a Home Depot consultant and price out what I feel I need. Then I would compare the price to prepackaged models just to see if the price didn't justify moving up to a better package deal.

If you had a disconnect switch ahead of your Main Panel, I would suggest looking into a Generac GenReady Panel. It's a 40 Pole Space Main Panel with the generator transfer built in.

Hope this helps.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
THDCustomerSupport
Kennesaw, GA
November 3, 2013
Thank you for your recent inquiry with The Home Depot. I believe it would be best to reach out to the manufacturer for assistance to see if you can custom order your generator with a different tranfer switch. The manufacturer is GENERAC and their customer service department can be reached at 1-888-436-3722.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

What are the decibels of the Generac 5837?

Asked by
Pistol
W Plains NY
about 7,000-Watt Automatic Standby Generator with 50-Amp Transfer Switch on
November 11, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Snowman
Northern New York
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
November 13, 2013
On the listing, if you scroll down below the picture you will see tabs. If you click on the "SPECIFICATIONS" tab it will display a chart. On the right hand side of that chart - towards the bottom - you should be able to find "OPERATIONAL VOLUME 67db"
It has the highest "Operational Volume" of all of the Residential Automatic Stand-by Generators rated 6 - 20 KW. ( The 20 KW having an operational volume of 66 db. )
Hope this helps.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Generac
November 12, 2013
The 7kW Automatic Standby Generators, model number 5837, has an average decibel rating of 67, at a distance of 23 feet while operating at full load.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
« 1 2 3 4 »