Looking for Answers about Generac 7,000-Watt Automatic Standby Generator with 50-Amp Transfer Switch?

Customer questions and answers for
Generac 7,000-Watt Automatic Standby Generator with 50-Amp Transfer Switch

Run this Generac Core Power 7,000-Watt Home Standby Generator on either natural gas or liquid propane for versatile fueling options. This generator offers a digital controller with LED status lights and fault indicators for easy monitoring of the operational status. The included composite mounting pad eliminates the need to pour a concrete base for installation convenience. Comes with Generator, 50A Transfer Switch, and Load Center to Back Up 8 Circuits.
Customer questions and answers:
65 Questions
 | 
132 Answers
Overall rating:
4.394 out of 5
4.4
out of
5

Customer questions and answers for Generac 7,000-Watt Automatic Standby Generator with 50-Amp Transfer Switch

Question

Can this generator be used other than when the power goes out but to just save money on the electric bill

Asked by
PaCa
about 7,000-Watt Automatic Standby Generator with 50-Amp Transfer Switch on
October 22, 2011
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Generac
October 24, 2011
The CorePower unit is intended only for backup power during power outages, not for prime power or as a substitute for utility power, as you suggest.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
PowerJunkie
Connecticut, USA
November 22, 2011
You will not save on your electic bill. I calculated my gas usage and cost per ccf and it will cost me $35 per day to run the generator, which is fine on a normal outage, but 10 days wout cost me $350. So I have a plan that after 3 days, to then only run enough to keep the Refig and Freezer working for the extended outage.

Hope that helps
+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Question

With 7KW, can it simultaneous supply power for refegerator, fan for the furnish, lighting for the kitchen, and one TV?

Asked by
KEN
about 7,000-Watt Automatic Standby Generator with 50-Amp Transfer Switch on
November 19, 2011
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
PowerJunkie
Connecticut, USA
November 22, 2011
Yes, I'm running A refrig, Freezer, furnace, sump pump, and Tv system. Generac has a great calculator on its website.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
pbpman
ct
December 28, 2012
the ref should be around 7 amp, the van should be around 3 amp, light about 2 amp and tv should be no more then 4 amp, thats about less then 2000 watts. it will do three times what your asking.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

How far from the house & main electrical panel can this be located? What are the requirements when placing it away from main house?

Asked by
neophyte
MA
about 7,000-Watt Automatic Standby Generator with 50-Amp Transfer Switch on
December 26, 2011
-2points
0out of 2found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Designing Woman
Atlanta, GA
December 27, 2011
Hello neophyte and thank you for your question.

Installation guidelines for the Generac 7kW Automatic Backup Power System can found here: http://www.homedepot.com/catalog/pd...

Clearance from the ends and front of the generator should be 36” minimum per NFPA 37. This includes shrubs, trees and any kind of vegetation. Clearance at the top should be a minimum of 60 inches from any structure, overhang or projections from the wall. The generator should not be placed under a deck or other structure that is closed in and would limit or contain air flow.

No windows or openings in the wall are permitted within 5 feet from any point of the generator. Place the unit so air vents won’t become clogged with leaves, grass, snow or debris. Make sure exhaust fumes will not enter the building through eaves, windows, ventilation fans or other air intakes.

Power derating may occur depending upon the cabling used - local codes will prevail – please contact a local professional installer for more specific information about your area.

Best wishes on your project.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
247Electric
Piscataway, NJ
November 18, 2012
If the structure is not 1 hr fire rated it will need to be placed 5 feet away. Please see the manual guide for further information about placement. Since this unit is of a composite it doesn't fall under the normal 18" rating. You can locate the unit a fair distance from the panel (within reason) as long as the wires are correctly sized for voltage drop.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

How much lp gas does unit use an hour?

Asked by
Tom
NY
about 7,000-Watt Automatic Standby Generator with 50-Amp Transfer Switch on
November 3, 2011
Generac CorePower 7,000-Watt Home Standby Generator
+5points
7out of 9found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
BEAR
November 7, 2011
HOW MUCH NATURAL GAS DOSE THIS UNIT USE IN BTU. CAN I KEEP MY CURRENT GAS METER OR DO I NEED A BIGGER ONE AFTER INSTAL??
+2points
5out of 8found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Generac
November 4, 2011
At 1/2 load, this unit consumes 1.02 gallons of LP fuel per hour. At full load, it consumes 1.31 gallons.
+1point
4out of 7found this answer helpful.
Question

Does this generator come with a start battery, or is it a separate purchase?

Asked by
Gary
Hamburg, NY
about 7,000-Watt Automatic Standby Generator with 50-Amp Transfer Switch on
April 13, 2012
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
247Electric
Piscataway, NJ
November 18, 2012
Thank you for the inquiry. You will be required to purchase a battery
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Generac
April 16, 2012
The 7kW Core Power unit, model 5837, does not come with a battery. The battery needed is a Group 26R, 12 volt, 350 cold-cranking amperes minimum.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Complete package?

Asked by
Lou
NH
about 7,000-Watt Automatic Standby Generator with 50-Amp Transfer Switch on
April 21, 2012
Is the wiring from the transfer switch to the panel included or does that have to be supplied locally by owner/electrician?
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
247Electric
Piscataway, NJ
November 18, 2012
Your local electrician must provide the wiring to install between the devices. Thank you.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Generac
April 23, 2012
The 7kW Core Power unit comes with the generator and the switch. Wiring is not included, and would be provided by the certified electrician or installer. The unit would need to be installed as per the instructions provided with the unit.
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Question

////can I run a single 220 volt line back to the house electric panel? Or do the circuits have to be split at the generator?

Asked by
rsnipes
Debary, FL
about 7,000-Watt Automatic Standby Generator with 50-Amp Transfer Switch on
April 20, 2012
I plan to put the generator behind the garage and have a dedicated 220 v all three phases line going back to the main house panel- don't want to split the lines going all the way back to the house.
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Newf
Schaumburg, IL
April 20, 2012
Hello rsnipes, I’m Newf from the Home Depot’s how-to Community. Thank you for your question.

This generator should be installed as close to the house main panel as you can.

The circuits are split out at a sub-panel which mounts inside the home very near you main service panel.

This unit is intended to be professionally installed.

Here is a link to the installation guide:
http://www.homedepot.com/catalog/pd...

I hope this helps,
Newf.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
247Electric
Piscataway, NJ
November 18, 2012
You can take your garage panel and land the feeders into the transfer switch panel. Please keep in mind the units main breaker size
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

propane size 1.3 gal per hr gas grill size or larger size

Asked by
chuck
about 7,000-Watt Automatic Standby Generator with 50-Amp Transfer Switch on
November 5, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Generac
November 7, 2012
The smallest propane tank we can recommend is a 120 gallon tank. The volume and pressure required for the 7kW unit utilizing liquid propane is 119,952 BTU/hr with 10-12” of water column.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Sparky
Michigan
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
February 19, 2014
Gas grill tank will not boil off fast enough. You need a bigger tank
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

how do I make the generator run on diesel fuel?

Asked by
"My Boat"
Salem, Ma.
about 7,000-Watt Automatic Standby Generator with 50-Amp Transfer Switch on
May 22, 2012
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
247Electric
Piscataway, NJ
November 18, 2012
This unit is not listed for diesel. You would need to purchase a different unit. Thanks!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Generac
May 22, 2012
Our Residential series home standby generators run on natural gas or propane vapor. Any modifications to the fuel system will void warranty and EPA certifications.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

When electricity comes back on, does generator shut off and switch back or do you have to manually switch back?

Asked by
Lingo
Missouri
about 7,000-Watt Automatic Standby Generator with 50-Amp Transfer Switch on
May 30, 2012
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Generac
May 31, 2012
The 7kW automatic standby generator when properly installed will recognize that utility power has returned and will automatically transfer the power back to the utility side. The engine will continue to run for a 1 minute cool-down, and will then shut down.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
247Electric
Piscataway, NJ
November 18, 2012
Everything is done automatically and proving the generator is set to auto it will start and return automatically
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

can the Generac Corpower 7kw be installed by Home Depot after purchase?

Asked by
DavidM
Mitchellville
about 7,000-Watt Automatic Standby Generator with 50-Amp Transfer Switch on
August 24, 2011
+5points
5out of 5found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
HD 116
www.community.homedepot.com
August 24, 2011
Greetings,

My name is Tom, also known as HD116 here and at our online community found at the link below. Yes, we can install your Corpower after purchase. Simply call 1-800-HOMEDEPOT and follow the prompts to schedule your installation.

Thanks for your question, we are happy to serve you!
+7points
7out of 7found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
CMoe
Linden, NJ, USA
May 26, 2013
Yes, Home Depot will offer to install. You can also hire your own contractor. I did and got a better price. 2600.00 verses 8000.00 from the HD contractor.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Generator shut down

Asked by
capkarl
Long Island, NY
about 7,000-Watt Automatic Standby Generator with 50-Amp Transfer Switch on
September 2, 2011
During an extensive power outage I would want to shut the generator off for periods of time. Is this possible?
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Generac
September 8, 2011
Yes, this is possible. You should consult your installer at the time of installation regarding the shutdown and startup procedure during a power outage. It will involve interacting with your generator control panel and circuit breaker, as well as your electrical panel breaker.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Strych920
Suffolk, NY, USA
January 8, 2013
Set the switch on the control manual to "Off" when you want it off. "Auto" keeps it in sensing mode and will turn the generator on when it senses less than 65% power. "Man" turns the generator on manually.

I would probably turn it off if I was away and could not have anyone keep an eye on it for me.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

what is the maximum distance this generator can be installed away from the house

Asked by
oh
newton
about 7,000-Watt Automatic Standby Generator with 50-Amp Transfer Switch on
September 3, 2011
ideally i would like to install the unit away from the house and have the electric and gas lines buried underground to the house. just wondering what is the maximum distance this unit can be installed away from the house (electrical/gas supply) without power loss? thank you!
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Generac
September 7, 2011
There is no maximum distance as long as the proper gauge wire is used. The further away the generator from the electrical panel, the larger the gauge. Consult an electrician or authorized Generac installer for recommended wire sizing.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
CMoe
Linden, NJ, USA
May 26, 2013
Check with your local Bldg code department . I think you will find the requirment is at least 5ft from the house and 3ft from a property line.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

what is the natrual gas volume required for this unit? is it 1/2 lb or 2lbs?

Asked by
livewire
newport news
about 7,000-Watt Automatic Standby Generator with 50-Amp Transfer Switch on
June 23, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Generac
June 25, 2012
The volume and pressure required for the 7kW unit utilizing natural gas is 119,000 BTU/hr with 5-7” of water column (0.18 to 0.25 psi).
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
CliffeDweller
Westcliffe, CO 81252, USA
July 23, 2012
Neither... it uses natural gas which is measured in Cubic Feet. The consumtion rate is based on %of load. See the literature for this.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

I will use this for a vacation home. Can it be allowed to auto exercise weekly without necessarily coming on if the power is out when Im not there?

Asked by
Interested in vacation home backup
about 7,000-Watt Automatic Standby Generator with 50-Amp Transfer Switch on
June 24, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Generac
June 25, 2012
The 7kW automatic standby generator will exercise only when left in the Automatic mode. When in the Automatic mode, the unit will recognize a power outage, start, and transfer to provide power to the residence. There is no setting other than leaving the unit in the Off mode to keep it from providing power during an outage, and leaving the unit in the Off mode will not allow for proper exercising.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
CliffeDweller
Westcliffe, CO 81252, USA
July 23, 2012
Yes
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Why doen't Home Depot offer a battery with the 7kW? Where can it be bought?

Asked by
DA
CT
about 7,000-Watt Automatic Standby Generator with 50-Amp Transfer Switch on
June 24, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Generac
June 25, 2012
The 7kW Core Power unit, model 5837, does not come from the factory with a battery. The battery needed is a Group 26R, 12 volt, 350 cold-cranking amperes minimum. Batteries can be purchased through any retailer that carries automotive style batteries.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
CliffeDweller
Westcliffe, CO 81252, USA
July 23, 2012
The battery can be obtained @ Batteries Plus.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

how many square does it cover?

Asked by
Connie
North Judson, IN.
about 7,000-Watt Automatic Standby Generator with 50-Amp Transfer Switch on
July 3, 2012
model #5837 natural gas generator
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Generac
July 10, 2012
The loads required in a house will vary, and are not determined by the square footage of the home, but are determined by the items you deem necessary to run in an outage situation. To properly determine the correct generator for your needs, we recommend working with your local certified dealer or local certified electrician, as they will be able to determine the correct size generator to meet your needs.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
CliffeDweller
Westcliffe, CO 81252, USA
July 23, 2012
Connie
It can provide 7000 watts (7KW) of power. This is based on your electrical load, not the size of your dwelling. A whole house unit would need to be much larger, possibly 20KW.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is there any special financing available for this purchase and installation?

Asked by
jjsharp
Idlewylde, MD
about 7,000-Watt Automatic Standby Generator with 50-Amp Transfer Switch on
September 23, 2012
I have noticed the unit is on sale at a competitor inthe area; same price, but they offer 84 months at no interest.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
September 25, 2012
Hello Valued Customer,
Thanks for your question and interest in this item. We do offer several types of financing options. Whether you’re considering projects for your home or business, The Home Depot has the ideal credit card for you. Home Depot Credit Cards are available for both consumer and commercial use. The Home Depot Consumer Credit Card also offers special financing.

The Home Depot also offers a special type of home improvement loan called The Home Depot Project Loan, perfect for homeowners who are looking to renovate while making fixed low monthly payments over time. Since The Home Depot Project Loan may be used for any product in a store or online, a special order or a Home Depot installation service, this is a home repair loan that offers stress-free flexibility.

Please contact our credit services today for details on the best option for you!

http://www.homedepot.com/webapp/cat...

If you have any additional questions or need assistance placing an online order, please contact our Online Customer Service department at 800-430-3376.
Thanks
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
CMoe
Linden, NJ, USA
May 26, 2013
When I checked to get a sb generator, I found the installation prices very high. So what did I wind up doing? I purchased the generator and found a contractor that would install it regardless where I got it. The price for installation was 2600 and that was because he had to install at the rear of the house. I got estimates that ranged from 7-8 thousand and with just a little work and some minor inconveniences, I got the project (by contractor) done for 4 thousand.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can I place this unit close to the brick chimney on the end of my house but 5 feet away from any combustible structures or siding?

Asked by
Lem
Santa Barbara, CA
about 7,000-Watt Automatic Standby Generator with 50-Amp Transfer Switch on
March 7, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
247Electric
Piscataway, NJ
March 7, 2013
Thank you for the inquiry. That will depend on the local authority. Even though the brick is considered a barrier, you must also take in consideration the materials inside (ie. sheetrock, insulation paper etc.) on the opposite side of the wall. If it is a chimney than this shouldn't be an issue since there is nothing that is fire prone however I would talk with my local fire inspector before installing anything.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
CMoe
Linden, NJ, USA
May 26, 2013
Check with your Bldg code department. Min distance from the dwelling is 5ft and 3ft from a property line.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Some of the generators state that it runs on Liquid Propane like the 8Kw, do we have some that run on gas propane.

Asked by
patrick
about 7,000-Watt Automatic Standby Generator with 50-Amp Transfer Switch on
March 7, 2013
more details between the liquid propane and natural gas; what does that mean?
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Snowman
Northern New York
April 18, 2013
Liquid propane is used to fill a propane cylinder. Inside the cylinder the liquid propane gives off a vapor which rises to the top of the cylinder. This vapor, or gas as you mention, fuel the generator. Talk to your Liquid Propane supplier for a better understanding. Hope this helps.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Generac
March 8, 2013
The 7kW automatic standby generator can run off of either natural gas or propane. The unit itself will actually run off of the propane vapor that collects at the top of the fuel tank, not off of the liquid form of propane. It is stated on the spec sheets as “liquid propane” as this is the form in which you purchase the propane by.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
« 1 2 3 4 »