Looking for Answers about Generac 7,000-Watt Automatic Standby Generator with 50-Amp Transfer Switch?

Customer questions and answers for
Generac 7,000-Watt Automatic Standby Generator with 50-Amp Transfer Switch

Run this Generac Core Power 7,000-Watt Home Standby Generator on either natural gas or liquid propane for versatile fueling options. This generator offers a digital controller with LED status lights and fault indicators for easy monitoring of the operational status. The included composite mounting pad eliminates the need to pour a concrete base for installation convenience. Comes with Generator, 50A Transfer Switch, and Load Center to Back Up 8 Circuits.
Customer questions and answers:
65 Questions
 | 
132 Answers
Overall rating:
4.451 out of 5
4.5
out of
5

Customer questions and answers for Generac 7,000-Watt Automatic Standby Generator with 50-Amp Transfer Switch

Question

Load question

Asked by
bhart50
about 7,000-Watt Automatic Standby Generator with 50-Amp Transfer Switch on
August 29, 2011
I would like to power my Refrigerator, freezer, heater, (not A/C) and a couple 15amp circuits. Would this 7kW unit do that?
+5points
5out of 5found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
HD 116
www.community.homedepot.com
August 30, 2011
Greetings,

My name is Tom, also known as HD 116 on several DIY sites including Home Depot's How to Community. It would seem that this unit would do it and perhaps even a bit more. Look at the following excerpt from a review on the product that is listed on the site; "For its size, it powers alot of stuff. I have a water pump, two sump pumps, hot water heater, furnace, fridge and alot of lights. My electrician says I can add one more circuit so we will probably add the TV. During our test we had all these things running at once. If it were not for the 10 second delay, it would be almost seamless." (Please note the original review had a typo, which I took the liberty of correcting.)

Enjoy your purchase!
+5points
6out of 7found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
CMoe
Linden, NJ, USA
May 26, 2013
Yes, you will be able to power up to 8 circuts. Mines will run our refrigerator, heater, washer/dryer, some kitchen outles, some attic outlest, and many lights. Remember you only want to protect some circuts not the entire house and a 7000 watt generator will do the job!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What fuel(s) does the Generac CorePower 7kW generator use?

Asked by
Walt
Connecticut
about 7,000-Watt Automatic Standby Generator with 50-Amp Transfer Switch on
August 29, 2011
Natural gas? Propane? Gasoline? Diesel?
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
HD 116
www.community.homedepot.com
August 30, 2011
Greetings Walt,

Generators have been a popular topic in the past two weeks, and I thank you for your question. My name is Tom, known here and at the How to Community site as HD116. The Generac CorePower unit can run on either Propane or Natural Gas and has gotten some good reviews from customers.

I am happy to have been able to assist you.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
CMoe
Linden, NJ, USA
May 26, 2013
Your choice, natural gas is what I use, you can also use propane.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Aside from the purchase price, what is the approximate installation cost?

Asked by
NoPowerOn LI
Long Island, NY
about 7,000-Watt Automatic Standby Generator with 50-Amp Transfer Switch on
August 29, 2011
-3points
1out of 5found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
September 1, 2011
Hello No PowerOn Ll,
Thank you for your question. The price of this item does not include installation. For details on installation cost/options available in your area, visit The Home Depot store near you, where a knowledgeable associate will help you review our installation services. They will also provide an overview of your generator project and the installation options available in your area. Then we'll arrange for one of our licensed*, authorized installation professionals to call you within 48 hours to schedule an in-home survey. (A nominal survey fee will be applied toward the purchase price of the installation). To locate a store near you, please click on the “store locator” found on the top of each page. If you have any additional questions, please contact our Online Customer Service department at 800-430-3376.
Thanks!
-8points
5out of 18found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
pbpman
ct
December 28, 2012
in ct i charge around $800. but it makes a difference to where the unit will be put and how far
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

can this unit be installed inside and vent the exhaust outside?

Asked by
Oh
Newton, MA
about 7,000-Watt Automatic Standby Generator with 50-Amp Transfer Switch on
August 30, 2011
+5points
5out of 5found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
pbpman
ct
December 28, 2012
the simple answer would be no. the nec nore fire code in any state or fed code will allow it
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Designing Woman
Atlanta, GA
August 30, 2011
Hello Oh! Thanks for the question.

The unit should only be installed outside. The generator is designed to be installed in an open outdoor space that will provide adequate and unobstructed airflow. The engine exhaust fumes contain carbon monoxide, which can be DEADLY. The unit should be installed by a Service Dealer or other competent, qualified electrician or installation technician who is familiar with applicable codes, standards and regulations.

Best wishes with your project.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

will this ship my home or will it be shipped to the local Home Depot?

Asked by
Jazz
Joplin, Mo.
about 7,000-Watt Automatic Standby Generator with 50-Amp Transfer Switch on
August 30, 2011
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
September 1, 2011
Hello Jazz,
Thank you for your question. This item will ship to your home. Most orders ship within 3 business days. Please allow an additional 5-10 business days for Basic Home Delivery in the Continental U.S. Basic Home Delivery service includes delivery to your door or first dry area. Delivery appointments are not required. Freight included. If you have any additional questions, please contact our Online Customer Service department at 800-430-3376.
Thanks!
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
CMoe
Linden, NJ, USA
May 26, 2013
MIne was shipped to my home. You will have to arrange to have someone there to sign for it. At home Depot delivery is included in the price.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can this generator be used other than when the power goes out but to just save money on the electric bill

Asked by
PaCa
about 7,000-Watt Automatic Standby Generator with 50-Amp Transfer Switch on
October 22, 2011
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Generac
October 24, 2011
The CorePower unit is intended only for backup power during power outages, not for prime power or as a substitute for utility power, as you suggest.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
PowerJunkie
Connecticut, USA
November 22, 2011
You will not save on your electic bill. I calculated my gas usage and cost per ccf and it will cost me $35 per day to run the generator, which is fine on a normal outage, but 10 days wout cost me $350. So I have a plan that after 3 days, to then only run enough to keep the Refig and Freezer working for the extended outage.

Hope that helps
+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Question

How much lp gas does unit use an hour?

Asked by
Tom
NY
about 7,000-Watt Automatic Standby Generator with 50-Amp Transfer Switch on
November 3, 2011
Generac CorePower 7,000-Watt Home Standby Generator
+5points
7out of 9found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
BEAR
November 7, 2011
HOW MUCH NATURAL GAS DOSE THIS UNIT USE IN BTU. CAN I KEEP MY CURRENT GAS METER OR DO I NEED A BIGGER ONE AFTER INSTAL??
+2points
5out of 8found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Generac
November 4, 2011
At 1/2 load, this unit consumes 1.02 gallons of LP fuel per hour. At full load, it consumes 1.31 gallons.
+1point
4out of 7found this answer helpful.
Question

Does this generator come with a start battery, or is it a separate purchase?

Asked by
Gary
Hamburg, NY
about 7,000-Watt Automatic Standby Generator with 50-Amp Transfer Switch on
April 13, 2012
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Generac
April 16, 2012
The 7kW Core Power unit, model 5837, does not come with a battery. The battery needed is a Group 26R, 12 volt, 350 cold-cranking amperes minimum.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
247Electric
Piscataway, NJ
November 18, 2012
Thank you for the inquiry. You will be required to purchase a battery
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

With 7KW, can it simultaneous supply power for refegerator, fan for the furnish, lighting for the kitchen, and one TV?

Asked by
KEN
about 7,000-Watt Automatic Standby Generator with 50-Amp Transfer Switch on
November 19, 2011
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
PowerJunkie
Connecticut, USA
November 22, 2011
Yes, I'm running A refrig, Freezer, furnace, sump pump, and Tv system. Generac has a great calculator on its website.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
pbpman
ct
December 28, 2012
the ref should be around 7 amp, the van should be around 3 amp, light about 2 amp and tv should be no more then 4 amp, thats about less then 2000 watts. it will do three times what your asking.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

////can I run a single 220 volt line back to the house electric panel? Or do the circuits have to be split at the generator?

Asked by
rsnipes
Debary, FL
about 7,000-Watt Automatic Standby Generator with 50-Amp Transfer Switch on
April 20, 2012
I plan to put the generator behind the garage and have a dedicated 220 v all three phases line going back to the main house panel- don't want to split the lines going all the way back to the house.
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Newf
Schaumburg, IL
April 20, 2012
Hello rsnipes, I’m Newf from the Home Depot’s how-to Community. Thank you for your question.

This generator should be installed as close to the house main panel as you can.

The circuits are split out at a sub-panel which mounts inside the home very near you main service panel.

This unit is intended to be professionally installed.

Here is a link to the installation guide:
http://www.homedepot.com/catalog/pd...

I hope this helps,
Newf.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
247Electric
Piscataway, NJ
November 18, 2012
You can take your garage panel and land the feeders into the transfer switch panel. Please keep in mind the units main breaker size
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

what is the natrual gas volume required for this unit? is it 1/2 lb or 2lbs?

Asked by
livewire
newport news
about 7,000-Watt Automatic Standby Generator with 50-Amp Transfer Switch on
June 23, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Generac
June 25, 2012
The volume and pressure required for the 7kW unit utilizing natural gas is 119,000 BTU/hr with 5-7” of water column (0.18 to 0.25 psi).
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
CliffeDweller
Westcliffe, CO 81252, USA
July 23, 2012
Neither... it uses natural gas which is measured in Cubic Feet. The consumtion rate is based on %of load. See the literature for this.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

I will use this for a vacation home. Can it be allowed to auto exercise weekly without necessarily coming on if the power is out when Im not there?

Asked by
Interested in vacation home backup
about 7,000-Watt Automatic Standby Generator with 50-Amp Transfer Switch on
June 24, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Generac
June 25, 2012
The 7kW automatic standby generator will exercise only when left in the Automatic mode. When in the Automatic mode, the unit will recognize a power outage, start, and transfer to provide power to the residence. There is no setting other than leaving the unit in the Off mode to keep it from providing power during an outage, and leaving the unit in the Off mode will not allow for proper exercising.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
CliffeDweller
Westcliffe, CO 81252, USA
July 23, 2012
Yes
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Why doen't Home Depot offer a battery with the 7kW? Where can it be bought?

Asked by
DA
CT
about 7,000-Watt Automatic Standby Generator with 50-Amp Transfer Switch on
June 24, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Generac
June 25, 2012
The 7kW Core Power unit, model 5837, does not come from the factory with a battery. The battery needed is a Group 26R, 12 volt, 350 cold-cranking amperes minimum. Batteries can be purchased through any retailer that carries automotive style batteries.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
CliffeDweller
Westcliffe, CO 81252, USA
July 23, 2012
The battery can be obtained @ Batteries Plus.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Does this generator have an automatic idle feature?

Asked by
Claymore
Oakland, ME
about 7,000-Watt Automatic Standby Generator with 50-Amp Transfer Switch on
January 7, 2012
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
pbpman
ct
December 28, 2012
yes it does, when it does not have a big load it will idle down.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Generac
January 11, 2012
It does not have idle control.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

how do I make the generator run on diesel fuel?

Asked by
"My Boat"
Salem, Ma.
about 7,000-Watt Automatic Standby Generator with 50-Amp Transfer Switch on
May 22, 2012
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Generac
May 22, 2012
Our Residential series home standby generators run on natural gas or propane vapor. Any modifications to the fuel system will void warranty and EPA certifications.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
247Electric
Piscataway, NJ
November 18, 2012
This unit is not listed for diesel. You would need to purchase a different unit. Thanks!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is the transfer switch on model # 5837 pre-wired like some other models?

Asked by
John
Louisiana
about 7,000-Watt Automatic Standby Generator with 50-Amp Transfer Switch on
August 29, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Generac
August 30, 2012
The 7kW Core Power unit comes with the generator and the switch. Wiring is not included, and would be provided by the certified electrician or installer. The unit would need to be installed as per the instructions provided with the unit.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
247Electric
Piscataway, NJ
October 18, 2012
No, breakers are included but you must wire your own. No whips included
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

Is there any special financing available for this purchase and installation?

Asked by
jjsharp
Idlewylde, MD
about 7,000-Watt Automatic Standby Generator with 50-Amp Transfer Switch on
September 23, 2012
I have noticed the unit is on sale at a competitor inthe area; same price, but they offer 84 months at no interest.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
September 25, 2012
Hello Valued Customer,
Thanks for your question and interest in this item. We do offer several types of financing options. Whether you’re considering projects for your home or business, The Home Depot has the ideal credit card for you. Home Depot Credit Cards are available for both consumer and commercial use. The Home Depot Consumer Credit Card also offers special financing.

The Home Depot also offers a special type of home improvement loan called The Home Depot Project Loan, perfect for homeowners who are looking to renovate while making fixed low monthly payments over time. Since The Home Depot Project Loan may be used for any product in a store or online, a special order or a Home Depot installation service, this is a home repair loan that offers stress-free flexibility.

Please contact our credit services today for details on the best option for you!

http://www.homedepot.com/webapp/cat...

If you have any additional questions or need assistance placing an online order, please contact our Online Customer Service department at 800-430-3376.
Thanks
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
CMoe
Linden, NJ, USA
May 26, 2013
When I checked to get a sb generator, I found the installation prices very high. So what did I wind up doing? I purchased the generator and found a contractor that would install it regardless where I got it. The price for installation was 2600 and that was because he had to install at the rear of the house. I got estimates that ranged from 7-8 thousand and with just a little work and some minor inconveniences, I got the project (by contractor) done for 4 thousand.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

I presently use a 5550 wattage gas generator for the power I need. I have a seperate electrical box all set up for the items I need when power goes

Asked by
clayg
nh
about 7,000-Watt Automatic Standby Generator with 50-Amp Transfer Switch on
June 24, 2013
out. I have propane gas heat with the tank buried. Would the 700 watt generator work for me and if so how much installation would be involved since I already have the separate electrical panel? Thanks, Clay
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Justyourneighbor
Wisconsin
August 20, 2013
This generator has a auto throw over, you can remove the portable generator throw over and replace it with the auto throw over. When in doubt, call in a electrician!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Snowman
Northern New York
June 24, 2013
On the electrical side you will need to remove the "Manual Transfer Panel" that you have set up for the gas generator and replace it with the "Automatic Transfer Panel" designed to work with the 7000 Watt Generator. ( If you have a box mounted on the outside of your house, to plug the gas generator into, you will be abandoning that. )
To do this you need to SHUT OFF the Circuit Breaker in your MAIN PANEL which feeds the "Manual Transfer Panel". ( All the circuits in the Manual Transfer Panel will be without power so be sure to shut down any computers that may be fed from this panel and check to see what you are shutting off. You don't want to shut off something you absolutely need like heat in the winter or a sump pump in a rain storm.)
I label the wires I remove just so I know what they are when I reinstall them. If it's new construction the circuits probably run right to the generator panel. If it's old construction then the wires probably run back into your existing Main Panel where they are wire nutted to the circuit. ( That Main Panel will still be HOT in case you don't like the idea of threading wires through it into the new "Automatic Transfer Panel".)
You may need; An offset nipple sized to the existing hole in your Main Panel which led to your old "Manual Transfer Panel". Two locknuts and two fiber bushings for the offset nipple. I'm guessing that "if the wires fit with room left over before, then they will again. The "Offset Nipple" is to compensate for any uneven distance between the Main Panel and your new "Automatic Transfer Panel". ( If the holes line up - you're lucky - and you can use; a short nipple with 4 locknuts and 2 fiber bushings or PVC connectors and a short piece of PVC Pipe with 2 locknuts and 2 fiber bushings.
Once the panel is installed in place you will want to feed the panel from your Main Panel and reinstall your "Essential Circuits" that you removed from your "Manual Transfer Panel". ( Your new panel allows for 8 circuits.)
Then you tie in your 7 KW Generator. You will have to make your own power and control whips. As the 7 KW generator has to be 5' from your home you may be running PVC Pipe. Depending on your local building codes you may have to run two seperate pipes; one for power and one for control. ( There is a wiring diagram provided to assist in this. )
A ground rod may be required off the back corner of the generator. This will require; the ground rod, an Acorn clamp sized to your ground rod and a short piece of #6 Bare stranded copper.
Install a 12V Group 26R Battery in the battery compartment. Minimum of 525 CCA. ( I like the Interstate Mega Tron MT-26R as it provides 540 Cold Cranking Amps. )
Follow the safety checks to insure BOTH the mechanical AND electrical connections are correct and functioning properly before turning on the power. ( Instructions in owners manual. )
The Propane Gas side. They normally only bury the LARGE LP tanks so I'm assuming you're fine there. The propane supplier usually installs this side of the project as they like to take ownership.
I'll attach a few pictures to show you an 8 KW install which replaced a gasoline portable generator. I actually collected all of the "Essential Circuits" in 2' of "Wireway" above the new "Automatic Transfer Switch" just to make it easier for me.
Hope this helps.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

How big if a LP Tank does one reqire to operate moderate Household for about 3 daysPower Freak

Asked by
Powerfreak
Enfield,CT 06082
about 7,000-Watt Automatic Standby Generator with 50-Amp Transfer Switch on
October 9, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Snowman
Northern New York
May 13, 2013
At 1.3 Gallons per hour over a 72 hour period would require 93.6 Gallons. The closest LP tank size would be a 100 gallon tank. Hope this helps.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Generac
October 11, 2012
The smallest propane tank we can recommend for use with our automatic standby generators is a 120 gallon tank. The volume and pressure required for the 7kW Core Power unit utilizing liquid propane is 119,952 BTU/hr with 10-12” of water column. The 7kW Core Power unit will consume approximately 1.31 gallons per hour when operating at full load.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Complete package?

Asked by
Lou
NH
about 7,000-Watt Automatic Standby Generator with 50-Amp Transfer Switch on
April 21, 2012
Is the wiring from the transfer switch to the panel included or does that have to be supplied locally by owner/electrician?
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Generac
April 23, 2012
The 7kW Core Power unit comes with the generator and the switch. Wiring is not included, and would be provided by the certified electrician or installer. The unit would need to be installed as per the instructions provided with the unit.
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
247Electric
Piscataway, NJ
November 18, 2012
Your local electrician must provide the wiring to install between the devices. Thank you.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
« 1 2 3 4 »