Looking for Answers about Generac 7,000-Watt Automatic Standby Generator with 50-Amp Transfer Switch?

Customer questions and answers for
Generac 7,000-Watt Automatic Standby Generator with 50-Amp Transfer Switch

Run this Generac Core Power 7,000-Watt Home Standby Generator on either natural gas or liquid propane for versatile fueling options. This generator offers a digital controller with LED status lights and fault indicators for easy monitoring of the operational status. The included composite mounting pad eliminates the need to pour a concrete base for installation convenience. Comes with Generator, 50A Transfer Switch, and Load Center to Back Up 8 Circuits.
Customer questions and answers:
64 Questions
 | 
131 Answers
Overall rating:
4.438 out of 5
4.4
out of
5

Customer questions and answers for Generac 7,000-Watt Automatic Standby Generator with 50-Amp Transfer Switch

Question

Can I place this unit close to the brick chimney on the end of my house but 5 feet away from any combustible structures or siding?

Asked by
Lem
Santa Barbara, CA
about 7,000-Watt Automatic Standby Generator with 50-Amp Transfer Switch on
March 7, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
247Electric
Piscataway, NJ
March 7, 2013
Thank you for the inquiry. That will depend on the local authority. Even though the brick is considered a barrier, you must also take in consideration the materials inside (ie. sheetrock, insulation paper etc.) on the opposite side of the wall. If it is a chimney than this shouldn't be an issue since there is nothing that is fire prone however I would talk with my local fire inspector before installing anything.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
CMoe
Linden, NJ, USA
May 26, 2013
Check with your Bldg code department. Min distance from the dwelling is 5ft and 3ft from a property line.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

How big of generator do I need to run everything in my house to include my 3 ton ac

Asked by
Oscar
Miami Florida
about 7,000-Watt Automatic Standby Generator with 50-Amp Transfer Switch on
June 27, 2013
Have a 5600
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Generac
July 3, 2013
The loads required in a house will vary, and are not determined by the square footage of the home, but are determined by the items you deem necessary to run in an outage situation. To properly determine the correct generator for your needs, we recommend working with your local certified installer or local certified electrician, as they will be able to determine the correct size generator to meet your needs.
The 7kW automatic standby generator is rated for a continuous output of 7,000 watts when utilizing propane, with a rated amperage of 29.2 amps at 240 volts. When utilizing natural gas, the unit is rated for a continuous output of 6,000 watts, with a rated amperage of 25 amps at 240 volts. You will want to ensure that all of the items you intend to run will not exceed this rating.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Justyourneighbor
Wisconsin
August 20, 2013
5600? When in doubt, have a licensed electrician amp your load( worth the money, instead of finding out you bought the wrong generator), he can then give you the size kw unit you will need.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

How often do you have to replace the maintainance kit on the 7kw generator?

Asked by
quito
Panama
about 7,000-Watt Automatic Standby Generator with 50-Amp Transfer Switch on
July 8, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Generac
July 8, 2013
The 7kW CorePower series automatic standby generator has a recommended service interval of every 1 year or 100 hours, whichever comes first. Proper maintenance includes changing the oil, air filter, spark plugs, and attending to the battery as needed. A full maintenance schedule will be located in the owner’s manual under the Service Schedule section.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Sparky
Michigan
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
February 19, 2014
2 yrs
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can the loadcenter be substituted for a NEMA 3R panel?

Asked by
sparky58
about 7,000-Watt Automatic Standby Generator with 50-Amp Transfer Switch on
September 10, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Generac
September 10, 2013
The 7kW Core Power automatic standby generator is available only as a pre-packaged item with the 50 amp 8 circuit transfer switch. This generator is only designed for use with the supplied transfer switch. The necessary wiring would be supplied by the installer. If additional circuits are required other than what is available in the switch, or if a GenReady or Nexus Smart Switch transfer switch are desired, we would recommend our larger Guardian series generators.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Sparky
Michigan
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
February 19, 2014
no but you can buy one from generac. They dont include 3R in the kit
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

what type of fuel uses?

Asked by
tiger23
about 7,000-Watt Automatic Standby Generator with 50-Amp Transfer Switch on
October 20, 2013
What type of energy is used for this generator?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Generac
October 21, 2013
Generac’s 7kW CorePower Series Automatic Home Standby generator can operate on power produced by either natural gas or liquid propane. For further information regarding this unit, please refer to the unit’s Spec Sheet and/or Owner’s Manual.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Snowman
Northern New York
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
October 21, 2013
If you scroll down to "PRODUCT OVERVIEW" you will see where the features are separated by "bullet" format. The second bullet down reads "432cc Generac OHV engine runs on Liquid Propane OR Natural Gas"
If that's what you're looking for, I hope this helps.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

Can I get this unit with with a larger transfer switch? The 50 amps is adequate but the number of circuits in it are not.

Asked by
JohnC
Wayne, WV
about 7,000-Watt Automatic Standby Generator with 50-Amp Transfer Switch on
November 2, 2013
I know that this unit will work with larger switches but I would prefer to buy the unit with the larger switch and not just throw away the one supplied and then purchase a larger one. I now use a 4000 WATT portable generater and it powers my whole entrance panel. We have enough common sense not to over use this tiny generator and shut off AC and electric hot water heater before connecting. This 7,000 watt unit will power either the hot water or central air but not both but I would like to have them connected and use them when I needed them.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
THDCustomerSupport
Kennesaw, GA
November 3, 2013
Thank you for your recent inquiry with The Home Depot. I believe it would be best to reach out to the manufacturer for assistance to see if you can custom order your generator with a different tranfer switch. The manufacturer is GENERAC and their customer service department can be reached at 1-888-436-3722.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Snowman
Northern New York
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
November 5, 2013
Normally, if you talk to the right people, you can get what you want.
I can understand not wanting the cam operated 50 Amp Transfer Switch.
I don't really understand needing more than 10 pole spaces for a 30 Amp generator. ( 25 Amp on natural gas. )
The 8KW unit has a new 50 Amp ATS with 10 pole space available. So you may want to come to a conclusion on how many pole spaces you think you may need.

The last 7KW unit I installed required one more control wire than any other of the Residential Automatic Standby Generators incorporating the EZ Switch ATS.

Although the EZ Switch ATS is a 100 Amp ATS, it is prewired for generators up to 16 KW and the power conductors increase in size to meet the current carrying ability required by the generator output. These EZ Switches are RTS10EZA1, RTS12EZA1, RTS14EZA1 AND RTSEZ16A1. They are 10,12,14 and 16 Pole Space ATS's respectively.

I would probably talk to a Home Depot consultant and price out what I feel I need. Then I would compare the price to prepackaged models just to see if the price didn't justify moving up to a better package deal.

If you had a disconnect switch ahead of your Main Panel, I would suggest looking into a Generac GenReady Panel. It's a 40 Pole Space Main Panel with the generator transfer built in.

Hope this helps.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

What are the decibels of the Generac 5837?

Asked by
Pistol
W Plains NY
about 7,000-Watt Automatic Standby Generator with 50-Amp Transfer Switch on
November 11, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Generac
November 12, 2013
The 7kW Automatic Standby Generators, model number 5837, has an average decibel rating of 67, at a distance of 23 feet while operating at full load.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Snowman
Northern New York
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
November 13, 2013
On the listing, if you scroll down below the picture you will see tabs. If you click on the "SPECIFICATIONS" tab it will display a chart. On the right hand side of that chart - towards the bottom - you should be able to find "OPERATIONAL VOLUME 67db"
It has the highest "Operational Volume" of all of the Residential Automatic Stand-by Generators rated 6 - 20 KW. ( The 20 KW having an operational volume of 66 db. )
Hope this helps.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

is this a automatic transfer switch

Asked by
sparky
boise
about 7,000-Watt Automatic Standby Generator with 50-Amp Transfer Switch on
November 13, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Generac
November 13, 2013
Generac’s CorePower Automatic Standby Generator comes with a 50-Amp transfer switch included. This transfer switch, model 5837, functions as an automatic transfer switch. Please note that model number 5837 can also be manually operated.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Sparky
Michigan
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
February 19, 2014
yes
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Warranty

Asked by
vicmic
about 7,000-Watt Automatic Standby Generator with 50-Amp Transfer Switch on
December 29, 2013
The Sales Associate at HOME DEPOT stated that if a GENERAC "Certified" installer does not install the Unit that the warranty is voided no warranty on anything, PERIOD! So, if you install it your self you have no warranty?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Generac
December 31, 2013
Any qualified electrician or plumber can install the unit, provided that the installation guidelines are followed. Please note that any damage or issues with the unit caused by installation errors would not be covered under the manufacturer’s warranty, regardless of who installed the product.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Sparky
Michigan
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
February 19, 2014
Not true. Warranty will not cover improper installation issues. If you do it right, your good to go
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

How big if a LP Tank does one reqire to operate moderate Household for about 3 daysPower Freak

Asked by
Powerfreak
Enfield,CT 06082
about 7,000-Watt Automatic Standby Generator with 50-Amp Transfer Switch on
October 9, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Generac
October 11, 2012
The smallest propane tank we can recommend for use with our automatic standby generators is a 120 gallon tank. The volume and pressure required for the 7kW Core Power unit utilizing liquid propane is 119,952 BTU/hr with 10-12” of water column. The 7kW Core Power unit will consume approximately 1.31 gallons per hour when operating at full load.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Snowman
Northern New York
May 13, 2013
At 1.3 Gallons per hour over a 72 hour period would require 93.6 Gallons. The closest LP tank size would be a 100 gallon tank. Hope this helps.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

Some of the generators state that it runs on Liquid Propane like the 8Kw, do we have some that run on gas propane.

Asked by
patrick
about 7,000-Watt Automatic Standby Generator with 50-Amp Transfer Switch on
March 7, 2013
more details between the liquid propane and natural gas; what does that mean?
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Generac
March 8, 2013
The 7kW automatic standby generator can run off of either natural gas or propane. The unit itself will actually run off of the propane vapor that collects at the top of the fuel tank, not off of the liquid form of propane. It is stated on the spec sheets as “liquid propane” as this is the form in which you purchase the propane by.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Snowman
Northern New York
April 18, 2013
Liquid propane is used to fill a propane cylinder. Inside the cylinder the liquid propane gives off a vapor which rises to the top of the cylinder. This vapor, or gas as you mention, fuel the generator. Talk to your Liquid Propane supplier for a better understanding. Hope this helps.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

Is there a distance away requirement from another device?

Asked by
WWD
NY
about 7,000-Watt Automatic Standby Generator with 50-Amp Transfer Switch on
April 18, 2013
I have a propane powered swimming pool heater that I want to install the generator next to. Is there a concern over the distance between two gas powered devices?
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
rick
Bristol, CT, USA
August 28, 2013
You Should have 6 foot minimum distance between them. The Generator must be 10 feet away from the tank .
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Snowman
Northern New York
April 18, 2013
The installation guidelines for this particular unit requires a 5' minimum distance all the way around and above due to its composite polymer construction. New York State requires a 10' minimum distance from the Propane Cylinder and they enforce it through the supplier. Your local building codes may have stricter installation guidelines which they enforce, so if a permit is required you may want to ask ahead of time. On a separate note, you may want to insure that your propane regulator and fuel line are sized correctly to supply adequate amounts of fuel. Hope this helps.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

what is the maximun sqaure footage for this generator

Asked by
leslie
mandeville
about 7,000-Watt Automatic Standby Generator with 50-Amp Transfer Switch on
May 12, 2013
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
CMoe
Linden, NJ, USA
May 26, 2013
The square footage is 36in x 28in for the 7000 watt. I think you will find this to be a nice sq ft with good space left on each side of the generator after mounting it on the slab, Be advised that the code requirements for a standby generator are the unit must be a least 3ft from the property line and five feet from the main dwelling.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Snowman
Northern New York
May 13, 2013
Generators are not built to the square footage of a building. Instead they are designed to a maximum current OR maximum wattage. The homeowner is suppose to decide exactly what they would want to power in the event of a power outage and calculate that load in Amps or Wattage. There are online tools to use to help calculate this, Home Depot associates to help you calculate this OR even your electrical installer.
Then you pick the generator that meets the load you need to carry AND provides the right number of circuits to connect them.
For instance, this 7 KW generator, with Liquid Propane as a fuel source, produces approximately 7000 Watts which is 29.17 Amps at 240 Volts. (29.17 x 240 = 7000.8) The "Transfer Switch" has eight circuits total. ( 8 Breakers )
This particular model produces only 6 KW if Natural Gas is used as a fuel supply. Which is 25 Amps at 240 Volts. ( 25 x 240 = 6000 ) You still have 8 Breakers in the "Transfer Switch".
You may also want to consider the installation guidelines. This particular model requires a minimum distance of 5' from any structure because of its composite polymer construction. ( The "Guardian" series, which is the 8 KW to the 20 KW Generators, only require a minimum of 18" from a structure if criteria are met. ) The reason is that the "Guardian" Series has steel and aluminum enclosures which meet NFPA standards allowing this.
So my advice would be to forget the size of your home. Decide what electrical items you want to still work when the power goes out. Calculate the wattage you need and note the number of circuits involved. Decide where in your yard is a good place to locate the generator. ( Hopefully within reach of both your electrical and fuel source supplies. )
A good rule of thumb is to calculate the power you need in watts BUT buy a generator where your calculation is only 80% of the total available watts.
Hope this helps.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Question

I presently use a 5550 wattage gas generator for the power I need. I have a seperate electrical box all set up for the items I need when power goes

Asked by
clayg
nh
about 7,000-Watt Automatic Standby Generator with 50-Amp Transfer Switch on
June 24, 2013
out. I have propane gas heat with the tank buried. Would the 700 watt generator work for me and if so how much installation would be involved since I already have the separate electrical panel? Thanks, Clay
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Justyourneighbor
Wisconsin
August 20, 2013
This generator has a auto throw over, you can remove the portable generator throw over and replace it with the auto throw over. When in doubt, call in a electrician!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Snowman
Northern New York
June 24, 2013
On the electrical side you will need to remove the "Manual Transfer Panel" that you have set up for the gas generator and replace it with the "Automatic Transfer Panel" designed to work with the 7000 Watt Generator. ( If you have a box mounted on the outside of your house, to plug the gas generator into, you will be abandoning that. )
To do this you need to SHUT OFF the Circuit Breaker in your MAIN PANEL which feeds the "Manual Transfer Panel". ( All the circuits in the Manual Transfer Panel will be without power so be sure to shut down any computers that may be fed from this panel and check to see what you are shutting off. You don't want to shut off something you absolutely need like heat in the winter or a sump pump in a rain storm.)
I label the wires I remove just so I know what they are when I reinstall them. If it's new construction the circuits probably run right to the generator panel. If it's old construction then the wires probably run back into your existing Main Panel where they are wire nutted to the circuit. ( That Main Panel will still be HOT in case you don't like the idea of threading wires through it into the new "Automatic Transfer Panel".)
You may need; An offset nipple sized to the existing hole in your Main Panel which led to your old "Manual Transfer Panel". Two locknuts and two fiber bushings for the offset nipple. I'm guessing that "if the wires fit with room left over before, then they will again. The "Offset Nipple" is to compensate for any uneven distance between the Main Panel and your new "Automatic Transfer Panel". ( If the holes line up - you're lucky - and you can use; a short nipple with 4 locknuts and 2 fiber bushings or PVC connectors and a short piece of PVC Pipe with 2 locknuts and 2 fiber bushings.
Once the panel is installed in place you will want to feed the panel from your Main Panel and reinstall your "Essential Circuits" that you removed from your "Manual Transfer Panel". ( Your new panel allows for 8 circuits.)
Then you tie in your 7 KW Generator. You will have to make your own power and control whips. As the 7 KW generator has to be 5' from your home you may be running PVC Pipe. Depending on your local building codes you may have to run two seperate pipes; one for power and one for control. ( There is a wiring diagram provided to assist in this. )
A ground rod may be required off the back corner of the generator. This will require; the ground rod, an Acorn clamp sized to your ground rod and a short piece of #6 Bare stranded copper.
Install a 12V Group 26R Battery in the battery compartment. Minimum of 525 CCA. ( I like the Interstate Mega Tron MT-26R as it provides 540 Cold Cranking Amps. )
Follow the safety checks to insure BOTH the mechanical AND electrical connections are correct and functioning properly before turning on the power. ( Instructions in owners manual. )
The Propane Gas side. They normally only bury the LARGE LP tanks so I'm assuming you're fine there. The propane supplier usually installs this side of the project as they like to take ownership.
I'll attach a few pictures to show you an 8 KW install which replaced a gasoline portable generator. I actually collected all of the "Essential Circuits" in 2' of "Wireway" above the new "Automatic Transfer Switch" just to make it easier for me.
Hope this helps.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

what gas pressure is required for a generac 7000 what generator

Asked by
joe
about 7,000-Watt Automatic Standby Generator with 50-Amp Transfer Switch on
June 29, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
CMoe
Linden, NJ, USA
July 1, 2013
When the plumbing inspector came to inspect our generator installation, I asked the same question and the answer that was given to me was the pressure falls between 15-17 psi.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Snowman
Northern New York
July 1, 2013
The answer depends on which type gas you intend to use. The generator ships from the factory in Natural Gas mode which requires 0.18 to 0.25 psi. The generator can be converted to Liquid Propane Gas which requires 0.36 to 0.43 psi. Hope this helps.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

what is btu usage on 7k

Asked by
Brendan
about 7,000-Watt Automatic Standby Generator with 50-Amp Transfer Switch on
July 10, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Justyourneighbor
Wisconsin
August 20, 2013
Best answered by a utility gas tech, me electric/no gas.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Snowman
Northern New York
July 11, 2013
BTU is based on the minimum requirement of the fuel being used. Natural Gas must provide a minimum of 1000 BTU per Cubic Foot for the engine to operate properly. Liquid Propane must provide 2520 BTU per cubic foot for the engine to operate properly.
At Full Load the generator consumes 140 cubic feet of natural gas so 140000 BTU.
At Full Load the generator consumes 62 cubic feet of Liquid Propane or 156240 BTU.
Appliance BTU is based on Full Load requirements.
I used the fuel consumption for the 8 KW as I don't readily have the information on the 7 KW BUT the engines are of comparable size.
Hope this helps.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

how much wire comes with transfer switch ?

Asked by
dave
about 7,000-Watt Automatic Standby Generator with 50-Amp Transfer Switch on
August 30, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Snowman
Northern New York
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
August 31, 2014
No wire is supplied with this particular package. None at all. The installer will have to fabricate BOTH the control wiring AND the power wiring between the generator and the transfer switch. Some locations may require TWO separate wireways in order to comply with the "Authority Having Jurisdiction". Another wiring harness between your existing power panel and the transfer switch as well.
You may want to provide a disconnecting means on the outside of your dwelling OR near the generator which has to be a minimum of five feet from your dwelling. Five feet required due to the composite polymer housing.
The size, AWG, of the wire AND it's length will be based on the distances and equipment between the generator and the transfer switch THEN the transfer switch and your power panel.
Now you can probably see why instruction manuals are so lengthy.
You will need a double pole breaker to fit your existing power panel in order to provide utility power to your transfer switch. This can be placed in the same wireway as your "essential circuits".
You will need a Group 26R 12 Volt DC Battery with a minimum 525 CCA as well. Personally I prefer the Mega Tron MT26R. If you have an old car battery to get rid of you can get the core charge deducted from the overall cost of about $115.
Not trying to scare you, just trying to inform you so that there are few surprises. People install these every day and love them.
Hope this helps.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Anonymous
Northern New York
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
August 31, 2014
Dave,
I think I already answered this question BUT I checked the Home Depot site to insure that there have been no changes to this model. ( To include wiring harnesses. ) I did see that the installation guide was available on the listing for this unit. You should be able to verify what I stated AND get a look at the fuel line connections while you're reading.
Hope this helps.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

what is the fuel usesage of propane at half and full power and what size tank

Asked by
rescue
Fleetwood Pa.
about 7,000-Watt Automatic Standby Generator with 50-Amp Transfer Switch on
September 13, 2011
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Generac
September 14, 2011
At 1/2 load, LP fuel consumption is 1.02 gal/hr. At full load, consumption is 1.31 gal/hr. You can use these data to size your fuel tank accordingly. For additional fuel consumption information, please see the CorePower spec sheet at http://www.generac.com/SpecSheets/0186720SBY.pdf
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

Where is it made, manufactured, and assembled

Asked by
Teamdineen
Boston Ma.
about 7,000-Watt Automatic Standby Generator with 50-Amp Transfer Switch on
November 9, 2011
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Generac
November 11, 2011
The CorePower home backup generator is manufactured here in the U.S. at one of Generac's manufacturing facilities in Wisconsin.
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Question

how much propane is used on a 7000watt gererac

Asked by
kiokokomo
bala on canada
about 7,000-Watt Automatic Standby Generator with 50-Amp Transfer Switch on
November 1, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Generac
November 1, 2013
The volume and pressure required for the 7kW Core Power unit, model 5837-0, operating at full load utilizing liquid propane is 115,000 BTU/hr with 10-12” of water column. The fuel consumption will decrease as the load decreases; the unit will need 90,000 BTU/hr with 10-12” water column when operating at half load on liquid propane. Please note that the full load data should be used when sizing the fuel lines and tank.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
« 1 2 3 4 »