Looking for Answers about Generac 7,000-Watt Automatic Standby Generator with 50-Amp Transfer Switch?

Customer questions and answers for
Generac 7,000-Watt Automatic Standby Generator with 50-Amp Transfer Switch

Run this Generac Core Power 7,000-Watt Home Standby Generator on either natural gas or liquid propane for versatile fueling options. This generator offers a digital controller with LED status lights and fault indicators for easy monitoring of the operational status. The included composite mounting pad eliminates the need to pour a concrete base for installation convenience. Comes with Generator, 50A Transfer Switch, and Load Center to Back Up 8 Circuits.
Customer questions and answers:
65 Questions
 | 
132 Answers
Overall rating:
4.394 out of 5
4.4
out of
5

Customer questions and answers for Generac 7,000-Watt Automatic Standby Generator with 50-Amp Transfer Switch

Question

Is there any special financing available for this purchase and installation?

Asked by
jjsharp
Idlewylde, MD
about 7,000-Watt Automatic Standby Generator with 50-Amp Transfer Switch on
September 23, 2012
I have noticed the unit is on sale at a competitor inthe area; same price, but they offer 84 months at no interest.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
CMoe
Linden, NJ, USA
May 26, 2013
When I checked to get a sb generator, I found the installation prices very high. So what did I wind up doing? I purchased the generator and found a contractor that would install it regardless where I got it. The price for installation was 2600 and that was because he had to install at the rear of the house. I got estimates that ranged from 7-8 thousand and with just a little work and some minor inconveniences, I got the project (by contractor) done for 4 thousand.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
September 25, 2012
Hello Valued Customer,
Thanks for your question and interest in this item. We do offer several types of financing options. Whether you’re considering projects for your home or business, The Home Depot has the ideal credit card for you. Home Depot Credit Cards are available for both consumer and commercial use. The Home Depot Consumer Credit Card also offers special financing.

The Home Depot also offers a special type of home improvement loan called The Home Depot Project Loan, perfect for homeowners who are looking to renovate while making fixed low monthly payments over time. Since The Home Depot Project Loan may be used for any product in a store or online, a special order or a Home Depot installation service, this is a home repair loan that offers stress-free flexibility.

Please contact our credit services today for details on the best option for you!

http://www.homedepot.com/webapp/cat...

If you have any additional questions or need assistance placing an online order, please contact our Online Customer Service department at 800-430-3376.
Thanks
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

I will use this for a vacation home. Can it be allowed to auto exercise weekly without necessarily coming on if the power is out when Im not there?

Asked by
Interested in vacation home backup
about 7,000-Watt Automatic Standby Generator with 50-Amp Transfer Switch on
June 24, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
CliffeDweller
Westcliffe, CO 81252, USA
July 23, 2012
Yes
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Generac
June 25, 2012
The 7kW automatic standby generator will exercise only when left in the Automatic mode. When in the Automatic mode, the unit will recognize a power outage, start, and transfer to provide power to the residence. There is no setting other than leaving the unit in the Off mode to keep it from providing power during an outage, and leaving the unit in the Off mode will not allow for proper exercising.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Can the loadcenter be substituted for a NEMA 3R panel?

Asked by
sparky58
about 7,000-Watt Automatic Standby Generator with 50-Amp Transfer Switch on
September 10, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Sparky
Michigan
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
February 19, 2014
no but you can buy one from generac. They dont include 3R in the kit
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Generac
September 10, 2013
The 7kW Core Power automatic standby generator is available only as a pre-packaged item with the 50 amp 8 circuit transfer switch. This generator is only designed for use with the supplied transfer switch. The necessary wiring would be supplied by the installer. If additional circuits are required other than what is available in the switch, or if a GenReady or Nexus Smart Switch transfer switch are desired, we would recommend our larger Guardian series generators.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Warranty

Asked by
vicmic
about 7,000-Watt Automatic Standby Generator with 50-Amp Transfer Switch on
December 29, 2013
The Sales Associate at HOME DEPOT stated that if a GENERAC "Certified" installer does not install the Unit that the warranty is voided no warranty on anything, PERIOD! So, if you install it your self you have no warranty?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Sparky
Michigan
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
February 19, 2014
Not true. Warranty will not cover improper installation issues. If you do it right, your good to go
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Generac
December 31, 2013
Any qualified electrician or plumber can install the unit, provided that the installation guidelines are followed. Please note that any damage or issues with the unit caused by installation errors would not be covered under the manufacturer’s warranty, regardless of who installed the product.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Does this generator have an automatic idle feature?

Asked by
Claymore
Oakland, ME
about 7,000-Watt Automatic Standby Generator with 50-Amp Transfer Switch on
January 7, 2012
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
pbpman
ct
December 28, 2012
yes it does, when it does not have a big load it will idle down.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Generac
January 11, 2012
It does not have idle control.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Can I place this unit close to the brick chimney on the end of my house but 5 feet away from any combustible structures or siding?

Asked by
Lem
Santa Barbara, CA
about 7,000-Watt Automatic Standby Generator with 50-Amp Transfer Switch on
March 7, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
CMoe
Linden, NJ, USA
May 26, 2013
Check with your Bldg code department. Min distance from the dwelling is 5ft and 3ft from a property line.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
247Electric
Piscataway, NJ
March 7, 2013
Thank you for the inquiry. That will depend on the local authority. Even though the brick is considered a barrier, you must also take in consideration the materials inside (ie. sheetrock, insulation paper etc.) on the opposite side of the wall. If it is a chimney than this shouldn't be an issue since there is nothing that is fire prone however I would talk with my local fire inspector before installing anything.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

what is the maximum distance this generator can be installed away from the house

Asked by
l2013
newton
about 7,000-Watt Automatic Standby Generator with 50-Amp Transfer Switch on
September 3, 2011
ideally i would like to install the unit away from the house and have the electric and gas lines buried underground to the house. just wondering what is the maximum distance this unit can be installed away from the house (electrical/gas supply) without power loss? thank you!
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
CMoe
Linden, NJ, USA
May 26, 2013
Check with your local Bldg code department . I think you will find the requirment is at least 5ft from the house and 3ft from a property line.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Generac
September 7, 2011
There is no maximum distance as long as the proper gauge wire is used. The further away the generator from the electrical panel, the larger the gauge. Consult an electrician or authorized Generac installer for recommended wire sizing.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

////can I run a single 220 volt line back to the house electric panel? Or do the circuits have to be split at the generator?

Asked by
rsnipes
Debary, FL
about 7,000-Watt Automatic Standby Generator with 50-Amp Transfer Switch on
April 20, 2012
I plan to put the generator behind the garage and have a dedicated 220 v all three phases line going back to the main house panel- don't want to split the lines going all the way back to the house.
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
247Electric
Piscataway, NJ
November 18, 2012
You can take your garage panel and land the feeders into the transfer switch panel. Please keep in mind the units main breaker size
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Chris
Schaumburg, IL
April 20, 2012
Hello rsnipes, I’m Newf from the Home Depot’s how-to Community. Thank you for your question.

This generator should be installed as close to the house main panel as you can.

The circuits are split out at a sub-panel which mounts inside the home very near you main service panel.

This unit is intended to be professionally installed.

Here is a link to the installation guide:
http://www.homedepot.com/catalog/pd...

I hope this helps,
Newf.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Question

Can I get this unit with with a larger transfer switch? The 50 amps is adequate but the number of circuits in it are not.

Asked by
JohnC
Wayne, WV
about 7,000-Watt Automatic Standby Generator with 50-Amp Transfer Switch on
November 2, 2013
I know that this unit will work with larger switches but I would prefer to buy the unit with the larger switch and not just throw away the one supplied and then purchase a larger one. I now use a 4000 WATT portable generater and it powers my whole entrance panel. We have enough common sense not to over use this tiny generator and shut off AC and electric hot water heater before connecting. This 7,000 watt unit will power either the hot water or central air but not both but I would like to have them connected and use them when I needed them.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Snowman
Northern New York
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
November 5, 2013
Normally, if you talk to the right people, you can get what you want.
I can understand not wanting the cam operated 50 Amp Transfer Switch.
I don't really understand needing more than 10 pole spaces for a 30 Amp generator. ( 25 Amp on natural gas. )
The 8KW unit has a new 50 Amp ATS with 10 pole space available. So you may want to come to a conclusion on how many pole spaces you think you may need.

The last 7KW unit I installed required one more control wire than any other of the Residential Automatic Standby Generators incorporating the EZ Switch ATS.

Although the EZ Switch ATS is a 100 Amp ATS, it is prewired for generators up to 16 KW and the power conductors increase in size to meet the current carrying ability required by the generator output. These EZ Switches are RTS10EZA1, RTS12EZA1, RTS14EZA1 AND RTSEZ16A1. They are 10,12,14 and 16 Pole Space ATS's respectively.

I would probably talk to a Home Depot consultant and price out what I feel I need. Then I would compare the price to prepackaged models just to see if the price didn't justify moving up to a better package deal.

If you had a disconnect switch ahead of your Main Panel, I would suggest looking into a Generac GenReady Panel. It's a 40 Pole Space Main Panel with the generator transfer built in.

Hope this helps.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
THDCustomerSupport
Kennesaw, GA
November 3, 2013
Thank you for your recent inquiry with The Home Depot. I believe it would be best to reach out to the manufacturer for assistance to see if you can custom order your generator with a different tranfer switch. The manufacturer is GENERAC and their customer service department can be reached at 1-888-436-3722.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Aside from the purchase price, what is the approximate installation cost?

Asked by
NoPowerOn LI
Long Island, NY
about 7,000-Watt Automatic Standby Generator with 50-Amp Transfer Switch on
August 29, 2011
-3points
1out of 5found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
pbpman
ct
December 28, 2012
in ct i charge around $800. but it makes a difference to where the unit will be put and how far
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
September 1, 2011
Hello No PowerOn Ll,
Thank you for your question. The price of this item does not include installation. For details on installation cost/options available in your area, visit The Home Depot store near you, where a knowledgeable associate will help you review our installation services. They will also provide an overview of your generator project and the installation options available in your area. Then we'll arrange for one of our licensed*, authorized installation professionals to call you within 48 hours to schedule an in-home survey. (A nominal survey fee will be applied toward the purchase price of the installation). To locate a store near you, please click on the “store locator” found on the top of each page. If you have any additional questions, please contact our Online Customer Service department at 800-430-3376.
Thanks!
-8points
5out of 18found this answer helpful.
Question

what type of fuel uses?

Asked by
tiger23
about 7,000-Watt Automatic Standby Generator with 50-Amp Transfer Switch on
October 20, 2013
What type of energy is used for this generator?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Snowman
Northern New York
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
October 21, 2013
If you scroll down to "PRODUCT OVERVIEW" you will see where the features are separated by "bullet" format. The second bullet down reads "432cc Generac OHV engine runs on Liquid Propane OR Natural Gas"
If that's what you're looking for, I hope this helps.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Generac
October 21, 2013
Generac’s 7kW CorePower Series Automatic Home Standby generator can operate on power produced by either natural gas or liquid propane. For further information regarding this unit, please refer to the unit’s Spec Sheet and/or Owner’s Manual.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is the transfer switch automatic.Frank the hook

Asked by
Frank the hook
New York
about 7,000-Watt Automatic Standby Generator with 50-Amp Transfer Switch on
November 14, 2011
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
PowerJunkie
Connecticut, USA
November 22, 2011
Yes, it sense loss of power and auto switches over.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Generac
November 15, 2011
Yes. All Generac home backup power systems have automatic transfer switches.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Does this generator come with a start battery, or is it a separate purchase?

Asked by
Gary
Hamburg, NY
about 7,000-Watt Automatic Standby Generator with 50-Amp Transfer Switch on
April 13, 2012
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
247Electric
Piscataway, NJ
November 18, 2012
Thank you for the inquiry. You will be required to purchase a battery
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Generac
April 16, 2012
The 7kW Core Power unit, model 5837, does not come with a battery. The battery needed is a Group 26R, 12 volt, 350 cold-cranking amperes minimum.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

I presently use a 5550 wattage gas generator for the power I need. I have a seperate electrical box all set up for the items I need when power goes

Asked by
clayg
nh
about 7,000-Watt Automatic Standby Generator with 50-Amp Transfer Switch on
June 24, 2013
out. I have propane gas heat with the tank buried. Would the 700 watt generator work for me and if so how much installation would be involved since I already have the separate electrical panel? Thanks, Clay
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Justyourneighbor
Wisconsin
August 20, 2013
This generator has a auto throw over, you can remove the portable generator throw over and replace it with the auto throw over. When in doubt, call in a electrician!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Snowman
Northern New York
June 24, 2013
On the electrical side you will need to remove the "Manual Transfer Panel" that you have set up for the gas generator and replace it with the "Automatic Transfer Panel" designed to work with the 7000 Watt Generator. ( If you have a box mounted on the outside of your house, to plug the gas generator into, you will be abandoning that. )
To do this you need to SHUT OFF the Circuit Breaker in your MAIN PANEL which feeds the "Manual Transfer Panel". ( All the circuits in the Manual Transfer Panel will be without power so be sure to shut down any computers that may be fed from this panel and check to see what you are shutting off. You don't want to shut off something you absolutely need like heat in the winter or a sump pump in a rain storm.)
I label the wires I remove just so I know what they are when I reinstall them. If it's new construction the circuits probably run right to the generator panel. If it's old construction then the wires probably run back into your existing Main Panel where they are wire nutted to the circuit. ( That Main Panel will still be HOT in case you don't like the idea of threading wires through it into the new "Automatic Transfer Panel".)
You may need; An offset nipple sized to the existing hole in your Main Panel which led to your old "Manual Transfer Panel". Two locknuts and two fiber bushings for the offset nipple. I'm guessing that "if the wires fit with room left over before, then they will again. The "Offset Nipple" is to compensate for any uneven distance between the Main Panel and your new "Automatic Transfer Panel". ( If the holes line up - you're lucky - and you can use; a short nipple with 4 locknuts and 2 fiber bushings or PVC connectors and a short piece of PVC Pipe with 2 locknuts and 2 fiber bushings.
Once the panel is installed in place you will want to feed the panel from your Main Panel and reinstall your "Essential Circuits" that you removed from your "Manual Transfer Panel". ( Your new panel allows for 8 circuits.)
Then you tie in your 7 KW Generator. You will have to make your own power and control whips. As the 7 KW generator has to be 5' from your home you may be running PVC Pipe. Depending on your local building codes you may have to run two seperate pipes; one for power and one for control. ( There is a wiring diagram provided to assist in this. )
A ground rod may be required off the back corner of the generator. This will require; the ground rod, an Acorn clamp sized to your ground rod and a short piece of #6 Bare stranded copper.
Install a 12V Group 26R Battery in the battery compartment. Minimum of 525 CCA. ( I like the Interstate Mega Tron MT-26R as it provides 540 Cold Cranking Amps. )
Follow the safety checks to insure BOTH the mechanical AND electrical connections are correct and functioning properly before turning on the power. ( Instructions in owners manual. )
The Propane Gas side. They normally only bury the LARGE LP tanks so I'm assuming you're fine there. The propane supplier usually installs this side of the project as they like to take ownership.
I'll attach a few pictures to show you an 8 KW install which replaced a gasoline portable generator. I actually collected all of the "Essential Circuits" in 2' of "Wireway" above the new "Automatic Transfer Switch" just to make it easier for me.
Hope this helps.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

can this unit be installed inside and vent the exhaust outside?

Asked by
l2013
Newton, MA
about 7,000-Watt Automatic Standby Generator with 50-Amp Transfer Switch on
August 30, 2011
+5points
5out of 5found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
pbpman
ct
December 28, 2012
the simple answer would be no. the nec nore fire code in any state or fed code will allow it
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
DesigningWoman
Atlanta, GA
August 30, 2011
Hello Oh! Thanks for the question.

The unit should only be installed outside. The generator is designed to be installed in an open outdoor space that will provide adequate and unobstructed airflow. The engine exhaust fumes contain carbon monoxide, which can be DEADLY. The unit should be installed by a Service Dealer or other competent, qualified electrician or installation technician who is familiar with applicable codes, standards and regulations.

Best wishes with your project.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

Is it possible to take the unit with me to another house in the even I sell my house?

Asked by
Jimbo
Colorado
about 7,000-Watt Automatic Standby Generator with 50-Amp Transfer Switch on
November 7, 2011
I am interested in buying the unit but may sell my home in the not too distant future and would like to take it with me to my new location. Is this a problem?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
PowerJunkie
Connecticut, USA
November 22, 2011
I guess you could. You would just have to disconnect the Natural Gas/Propane (which ever your use) and then terminate the power. However, You'd have to buy a new Transfer switch unless you disconnect that as well. I personally wouldn't because it is a great selling feature for a new buyer and you would get your money out of the sell.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
DesigningWoman
Atlanta, GA
November 8, 2011
Hello Jimbo and thank you for your question.

You should be able to take your CorePower 7,000-Watt Home Standby Generator with you when you move. The unit will need to be taken out of service (procedures are found in the owner’s manual) and follow your local gas and electric codes for disconnection and subsequent reconnection. Depending upon your area, you may need a qualified service provider, licensed electrician, or licensed plumber as part of this compliance.

Best wishes on your project.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

How far from the house & main electrical panel can this be located? What are the requirements when placing it away from main house?

Asked by
neophyte
MA
about 7,000-Watt Automatic Standby Generator with 50-Amp Transfer Switch on
December 26, 2011
-2points
0out of 2found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
247Electric
Piscataway, NJ
November 18, 2012
If the structure is not 1 hr fire rated it will need to be placed 5 feet away. Please see the manual guide for further information about placement. Since this unit is of a composite it doesn't fall under the normal 18" rating. You can locate the unit a fair distance from the panel (within reason) as long as the wires are correctly sized for voltage drop.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
DesigningWoman
Atlanta, GA
December 27, 2011
Hello neophyte and thank you for your question.

Installation guidelines for the Generac 7kW Automatic Backup Power System can found here: http://www.homedepot.com/catalog/pd...

Clearance from the ends and front of the generator should be 36” minimum per NFPA 37. This includes shrubs, trees and any kind of vegetation. Clearance at the top should be a minimum of 60 inches from any structure, overhang or projections from the wall. The generator should not be placed under a deck or other structure that is closed in and would limit or contain air flow.

No windows or openings in the wall are permitted within 5 feet from any point of the generator. Place the unit so air vents won’t become clogged with leaves, grass, snow or debris. Make sure exhaust fumes will not enter the building through eaves, windows, ventilation fans or other air intakes.

Power derating may occur depending upon the cabling used - local codes will prevail – please contact a local professional installer for more specific information about your area.

Best wishes on your project.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

how much propane is used on a 7000watt gererac

Asked by
kiokokomo
bala on canada
about 7,000-Watt Automatic Standby Generator with 50-Amp Transfer Switch on
November 1, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Generac
November 1, 2013
The volume and pressure required for the 7kW Core Power unit, model 5837-0, operating at full load utilizing liquid propane is 115,000 BTU/hr with 10-12” of water column. The fuel consumption will decrease as the load decreases; the unit will need 90,000 BTU/hr with 10-12” water column when operating at half load on liquid propane. Please note that the full load data should be used when sizing the fuel lines and tank.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

How do I know what WATT's I need, home 1000 sq ft, gas stove, furnace, electric water heater and a well

Asked by
generator
Lake Orion
about 7,000-Watt Automatic Standby Generator with 50-Amp Transfer Switch on
December 31, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Generac
December 31, 2013
The loads required in a house will vary, and are not determined by the square footage of the home, but are determined by the items you deem necessary to run in an outage situation. To properly determine the correct generator for your needs, we recommend working with a local certified electrician or plumber, as they will be able to determine the correct size generator to meet your needs.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

If the 7 K generator is running for several days, will the exhaust damage nearby trees and shrubs?

Asked by
oceanview2
Monmouth County, NJ
about 7,000-Watt Automatic Standby Generator with 50-Amp Transfer Switch on
September 8, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Generac
September 8, 2014
Per the installation guidelines and owner’s manual, Generac’s automatic standby generators should be placed no closer than 5 feet from any combustible surface, structure, or wall opening (i.e. door, window, etc.), and no closer than 3 feet from any non-combustible surface or structure. Please note that these recommendations are superseded by local code. Also, please note that the generator should not run continuously for any longer than 24 hours, as the unit should be checked and maintained after every 24 hours of continuous operation. If these recommendations are followed accordingly, there should be no concern for potential damage to nearby vegetation. If you have any other questions, please contact us directly at 888-GENERAC (436-3722).
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
« 1 2 3 4 »