Looking for Answers about Generac 7,000-Watt Automatic Standby Generator with 50-Amp Transfer Switch?

Customer questions and answers for
Generac 7,000-Watt Automatic Standby Generator with 50-Amp Transfer Switch

Run this Generac Core Power 7,000-Watt Home Standby Generator on either natural gas or liquid propane for versatile fueling options. This generator offers a digital controller with LED status lights and fault indicators for easy monitoring of the operational status. The included composite mounting pad eliminates the need to pour a concrete base for installation convenience. Comes with Generator, 50A Transfer Switch, and Load Center to Back Up 8 Circuits.
Customer questions and answers:
65 Questions
 | 
132 Answers
Overall rating:
4.394 out of 5
4.4
out of
5

Customer questions and answers for Generac 7,000-Watt Automatic Standby Generator with 50-Amp Transfer Switch

Question

what is btu usage on 7k

Asked by
Brendan
about 7,000-Watt Automatic Standby Generator with 50-Amp Transfer Switch on
July 10, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Snowman
Northern New York
July 11, 2013
BTU is based on the minimum requirement of the fuel being used. Natural Gas must provide a minimum of 1000 BTU per Cubic Foot for the engine to operate properly. Liquid Propane must provide 2520 BTU per cubic foot for the engine to operate properly.
At Full Load the generator consumes 140 cubic feet of natural gas so 140000 BTU.
At Full Load the generator consumes 62 cubic feet of Liquid Propane or 156240 BTU.
Appliance BTU is based on Full Load requirements.
I used the fuel consumption for the 8 KW as I don't readily have the information on the 7 KW BUT the engines are of comparable size.
Hope this helps.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Justyourneighbor
Wisconsin
August 20, 2013
Best answered by a utility gas tech, me electric/no gas.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

is this a automatic transfer switch

Asked by
sparky
boise
about 7,000-Watt Automatic Standby Generator with 50-Amp Transfer Switch on
November 13, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Generac
November 13, 2013
Generac’s CorePower Automatic Standby Generator comes with a 50-Amp transfer switch included. This transfer switch, model 5837, functions as an automatic transfer switch. Please note that model number 5837 can also be manually operated.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Sparky
Michigan
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
February 19, 2014
yes
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Load question

Asked by
bhart50
about 7,000-Watt Automatic Standby Generator with 50-Amp Transfer Switch on
August 29, 2011
I would like to power my Refrigerator, freezer, heater, (not A/C) and a couple 15amp circuits. Would this 7kW unit do that?
+5points
5out of 5found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
HD 116
www.community.homedepot.com
August 30, 2011
Greetings,

My name is Tom, also known as HD 116 on several DIY sites including Home Depot's How to Community. It would seem that this unit would do it and perhaps even a bit more. Look at the following excerpt from a review on the product that is listed on the site; "For its size, it powers alot of stuff. I have a water pump, two sump pumps, hot water heater, furnace, fridge and alot of lights. My electrician says I can add one more circuit so we will probably add the TV. During our test we had all these things running at once. If it were not for the 10 second delay, it would be almost seamless." (Please note the original review had a typo, which I took the liberty of correcting.)

Enjoy your purchase!
+5points
6out of 7found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
CMoe
Linden, NJ, USA
May 26, 2013
Yes, you will be able to power up to 8 circuts. Mines will run our refrigerator, heater, washer/dryer, some kitchen outles, some attic outlest, and many lights. Remember you only want to protect some circuts not the entire house and a 7000 watt generator will do the job!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What fuel(s) does the Generac CorePower 7kW generator use?

Asked by
Walt
Connecticut
about 7,000-Watt Automatic Standby Generator with 50-Amp Transfer Switch on
August 29, 2011
Natural gas? Propane? Gasoline? Diesel?
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
HD 116
www.community.homedepot.com
August 30, 2011
Greetings Walt,

Generators have been a popular topic in the past two weeks, and I thank you for your question. My name is Tom, known here and at the How to Community site as HD116. The Generac CorePower unit can run on either Propane or Natural Gas and has gotten some good reviews from customers.

I am happy to have been able to assist you.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
CMoe
Linden, NJ, USA
May 26, 2013
Your choice, natural gas is what I use, you can also use propane.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Aside from the purchase price, what is the approximate installation cost?

Asked by
NoPowerOn LI
Long Island, NY
about 7,000-Watt Automatic Standby Generator with 50-Amp Transfer Switch on
August 29, 2011
-3points
1out of 5found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
September 1, 2011
Hello No PowerOn Ll,
Thank you for your question. The price of this item does not include installation. For details on installation cost/options available in your area, visit The Home Depot store near you, where a knowledgeable associate will help you review our installation services. They will also provide an overview of your generator project and the installation options available in your area. Then we'll arrange for one of our licensed*, authorized installation professionals to call you within 48 hours to schedule an in-home survey. (A nominal survey fee will be applied toward the purchase price of the installation). To locate a store near you, please click on the “store locator” found on the top of each page. If you have any additional questions, please contact our Online Customer Service department at 800-430-3376.
Thanks!
-8points
5out of 18found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
pbpman
ct
December 28, 2012
in ct i charge around $800. but it makes a difference to where the unit will be put and how far
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

can this unit be installed inside and vent the exhaust outside?

Asked by
Oh
Newton, MA
about 7,000-Watt Automatic Standby Generator with 50-Amp Transfer Switch on
August 30, 2011
+5points
5out of 5found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Designing Woman
Atlanta, GA
August 30, 2011
Hello Oh! Thanks for the question.

The unit should only be installed outside. The generator is designed to be installed in an open outdoor space that will provide adequate and unobstructed airflow. The engine exhaust fumes contain carbon monoxide, which can be DEADLY. The unit should be installed by a Service Dealer or other competent, qualified electrician or installation technician who is familiar with applicable codes, standards and regulations.

Best wishes with your project.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
pbpman
ct
December 28, 2012
the simple answer would be no. the nec nore fire code in any state or fed code will allow it
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

will this ship my home or will it be shipped to the local Home Depot?

Asked by
Jazz
Joplin, Mo.
about 7,000-Watt Automatic Standby Generator with 50-Amp Transfer Switch on
August 30, 2011
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
September 1, 2011
Hello Jazz,
Thank you for your question. This item will ship to your home. Most orders ship within 3 business days. Please allow an additional 5-10 business days for Basic Home Delivery in the Continental U.S. Basic Home Delivery service includes delivery to your door or first dry area. Delivery appointments are not required. Freight included. If you have any additional questions, please contact our Online Customer Service department at 800-430-3376.
Thanks!
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
CMoe
Linden, NJ, USA
May 26, 2013
MIne was shipped to my home. You will have to arrange to have someone there to sign for it. At home Depot delivery is included in the price.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Generator shut down

Asked by
capkarl
Long Island, NY
about 7,000-Watt Automatic Standby Generator with 50-Amp Transfer Switch on
September 2, 2011
During an extensive power outage I would want to shut the generator off for periods of time. Is this possible?
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Generac
September 8, 2011
Yes, this is possible. You should consult your installer at the time of installation regarding the shutdown and startup procedure during a power outage. It will involve interacting with your generator control panel and circuit breaker, as well as your electrical panel breaker.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Strych920
Suffolk, NY, USA
January 8, 2013
Set the switch on the control manual to "Off" when you want it off. "Auto" keeps it in sensing mode and will turn the generator on when it senses less than 65% power. "Man" turns the generator on manually.

I would probably turn it off if I was away and could not have anyone keep an eye on it for me.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

what is the maximum distance this generator can be installed away from the house

Asked by
oh
newton
about 7,000-Watt Automatic Standby Generator with 50-Amp Transfer Switch on
September 3, 2011
ideally i would like to install the unit away from the house and have the electric and gas lines buried underground to the house. just wondering what is the maximum distance this unit can be installed away from the house (electrical/gas supply) without power loss? thank you!
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Generac
September 7, 2011
There is no maximum distance as long as the proper gauge wire is used. The further away the generator from the electrical panel, the larger the gauge. Consult an electrician or authorized Generac installer for recommended wire sizing.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
CMoe
Linden, NJ, USA
May 26, 2013
Check with your local Bldg code department . I think you will find the requirment is at least 5ft from the house and 3ft from a property line.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Can this generator be used other than when the power goes out but to just save money on the electric bill

Asked by
PaCa
about 7,000-Watt Automatic Standby Generator with 50-Amp Transfer Switch on
October 22, 2011
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Generac
October 24, 2011
The CorePower unit is intended only for backup power during power outages, not for prime power or as a substitute for utility power, as you suggest.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
PowerJunkie
Connecticut, USA
November 22, 2011
You will not save on your electic bill. I calculated my gas usage and cost per ccf and it will cost me $35 per day to run the generator, which is fine on a normal outage, but 10 days wout cost me $350. So I have a plan that after 3 days, to then only run enough to keep the Refig and Freezer working for the extended outage.

Hope that helps
+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Question

How much lp gas does unit use an hour?

Asked by
Tom
NY
about 7,000-Watt Automatic Standby Generator with 50-Amp Transfer Switch on
November 3, 2011
Generac CorePower 7,000-Watt Home Standby Generator
+5points
7out of 9found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
BEAR
November 7, 2011
HOW MUCH NATURAL GAS DOSE THIS UNIT USE IN BTU. CAN I KEEP MY CURRENT GAS METER OR DO I NEED A BIGGER ONE AFTER INSTAL??
+2points
5out of 8found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Generac
November 4, 2011
At 1/2 load, this unit consumes 1.02 gallons of LP fuel per hour. At full load, it consumes 1.31 gallons.
+1point
4out of 7found this answer helpful.
Question

With 7KW, can it simultaneous supply power for refegerator, fan for the furnish, lighting for the kitchen, and one TV?

Asked by
KEN
about 7,000-Watt Automatic Standby Generator with 50-Amp Transfer Switch on
November 19, 2011
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
PowerJunkie
Connecticut, USA
November 22, 2011
Yes, I'm running A refrig, Freezer, furnace, sump pump, and Tv system. Generac has a great calculator on its website.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
pbpman
ct
December 28, 2012
the ref should be around 7 amp, the van should be around 3 amp, light about 2 amp and tv should be no more then 4 amp, thats about less then 2000 watts. it will do three times what your asking.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

How far from the house & main electrical panel can this be located? What are the requirements when placing it away from main house?

Asked by
neophyte
MA
about 7,000-Watt Automatic Standby Generator with 50-Amp Transfer Switch on
December 26, 2011
-2points
0out of 2found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Designing Woman
Atlanta, GA
December 27, 2011
Hello neophyte and thank you for your question.

Installation guidelines for the Generac 7kW Automatic Backup Power System can found here: http://www.homedepot.com/catalog/pd...

Clearance from the ends and front of the generator should be 36” minimum per NFPA 37. This includes shrubs, trees and any kind of vegetation. Clearance at the top should be a minimum of 60 inches from any structure, overhang or projections from the wall. The generator should not be placed under a deck or other structure that is closed in and would limit or contain air flow.

No windows or openings in the wall are permitted within 5 feet from any point of the generator. Place the unit so air vents won’t become clogged with leaves, grass, snow or debris. Make sure exhaust fumes will not enter the building through eaves, windows, ventilation fans or other air intakes.

Power derating may occur depending upon the cabling used - local codes will prevail – please contact a local professional installer for more specific information about your area.

Best wishes on your project.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
247Electric
Piscataway, NJ
November 18, 2012
If the structure is not 1 hr fire rated it will need to be placed 5 feet away. Please see the manual guide for further information about placement. Since this unit is of a composite it doesn't fall under the normal 18" rating. You can locate the unit a fair distance from the panel (within reason) as long as the wires are correctly sized for voltage drop.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Does this generator have an automatic idle feature?

Asked by
Claymore
Oakland, ME
about 7,000-Watt Automatic Standby Generator with 50-Amp Transfer Switch on
January 7, 2012
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Generac
January 11, 2012
It does not have idle control.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
pbpman
ct
December 28, 2012
yes it does, when it does not have a big load it will idle down.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Complete package?

Asked by
Lou
NH
about 7,000-Watt Automatic Standby Generator with 50-Amp Transfer Switch on
April 21, 2012
Is the wiring from the transfer switch to the panel included or does that have to be supplied locally by owner/electrician?
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
247Electric
Piscataway, NJ
November 18, 2012
Your local electrician must provide the wiring to install between the devices. Thank you.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Generac
April 23, 2012
The 7kW Core Power unit comes with the generator and the switch. Wiring is not included, and would be provided by the certified electrician or installer. The unit would need to be installed as per the instructions provided with the unit.
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Question

When electricity comes back on, does generator shut off and switch back or do you have to manually switch back?

Asked by
Lingo
Missouri
about 7,000-Watt Automatic Standby Generator with 50-Amp Transfer Switch on
May 30, 2012
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Generac
May 31, 2012
The 7kW automatic standby generator when properly installed will recognize that utility power has returned and will automatically transfer the power back to the utility side. The engine will continue to run for a 1 minute cool-down, and will then shut down.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
247Electric
Piscataway, NJ
November 18, 2012
Everything is done automatically and proving the generator is set to auto it will start and return automatically
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

how many square does it cover?

Asked by
Connie
North Judson, IN.
about 7,000-Watt Automatic Standby Generator with 50-Amp Transfer Switch on
July 3, 2012
model #5837 natural gas generator
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Generac
July 10, 2012
The loads required in a house will vary, and are not determined by the square footage of the home, but are determined by the items you deem necessary to run in an outage situation. To properly determine the correct generator for your needs, we recommend working with your local certified dealer or local certified electrician, as they will be able to determine the correct size generator to meet your needs.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
CliffeDweller
Westcliffe, CO 81252, USA
July 23, 2012
Connie
It can provide 7000 watts (7KW) of power. This is based on your electrical load, not the size of your dwelling. A whole house unit would need to be much larger, possibly 20KW.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is this generator big enough to power my sump pump and gas furnace?

Asked by
Debbie
upstate NY
about 7,000-Watt Automatic Standby Generator with 50-Amp Transfer Switch on
October 26, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Generac
October 27, 2014
Generac’s 7kw CorePower automatic standby generator, model number 5837, features an AC Rated Output of 6,000 running watts when using a natural gas fuel source, and 7,000 watts when utilizing liquid propane. Furthermore, the unit is rated for a maximum continuous load current of 25 amps on natural gas, and 29.2 on liquid propane. We recommend ensuring that any loads that you wish to provide backup power to will not exceed these ratings. To ensure that you are utilizing an appropriately sized automatic standby generator for your back-up power needs, we would recommend working with a local certified electrician and plumber. If you have any other comments, questions, or concerns, please contact us directly at 888-GENERAC (436-3722).
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

what is the fuel usesage of propane at half and full power and what size tank

Asked by
rescue
Fleetwood Pa.
about 7,000-Watt Automatic Standby Generator with 50-Amp Transfer Switch on
September 13, 2011
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Generac
September 14, 2011
At 1/2 load, LP fuel consumption is 1.02 gal/hr. At full load, consumption is 1.31 gal/hr. You can use these data to size your fuel tank accordingly. For additional fuel consumption information, please see the CorePower spec sheet at http://www.generac.com/SpecSheets/0186720SBY.pdf
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

Where is it made, manufactured, and assembled

Asked by
Teamdineen
Boston Ma.
about 7,000-Watt Automatic Standby Generator with 50-Amp Transfer Switch on
November 9, 2011
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Generac
November 11, 2011
The CorePower home backup generator is manufactured here in the U.S. at one of Generac's manufacturing facilities in Wisconsin.
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
« 1 2 3 4 »