Looking for Answers about Reliance Controls 30 Amp 10 Circuit Manual Transfer Switch Kit?

Customer questions and answers for
Reliance Controls 30 Amp 10 Circuit Manual Transfer Switch Kit

This 10-circuit, 30 Amp manual transfer switch kit includes everything needed to make a professional transfer switch installation (indoors) in a home, office or small business. It is completely pre-wired and designed for fast installation. The transfer switch enables the electrical system of the building to accept the power of a portable generator to run up to ten single-pole circuits or six single-pole circuits and two 20A double pole circuits. It allows you to power electrical appliances, devices and lighting during a power outage. This transfer switch is completely code compliant and keeps the generator power isolated from the utility power at all times.
Customer questions and answers:
25 Questions
 | 
129 Answers
Overall rating:
4.823 out of 5
4.8
out of
5

Customer questions and answers for Reliance Controls 30 Amp 10 Circuit Manual Transfer Switch Kit

Question

can this transfer switch handle a generator with 6800 watts and 8000 watts starting power ?

Asked by
ken
new milford, ct.
about 30 Amp 10 Circuit Manual Transfer Switch Kit on
July 4, 2012
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Answer this question
10 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Designing Woman
Atlanta, GA
July 10, 2012
Hello ken and thank you for your question.

This Reliance Controls 30 Amp 10 Circuit Manual Transfer Switch Kit (Model # 31410CRK) has a maximum wattage of 7500 W.

Since your peak wattage is 8000W, consider the Reliance Controls 50 Amp 10 Circuit Transfer Switch (Model # 51410C - Internet # 202216473) which also is an indoor cabinet and has a capacity of 12500 running watts.

Best wishes on your project.
 
Products related to my answer
 
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Mike
Ohio, USA
July 31, 2012
yes.this is confirmed on Reliance website FAQ's. Also says 8000 watts on the box it comes in.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Baldy
Hardy, Blue Ridge, VA 24101, USA
August 1, 2012
It is rated to handle 7,800 watts so should handle both easily. I ran a 7500 watt generator with 10,200 surge watts and had no problems with it.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Harleyfatboy
August 1, 2012
yes, manual states up to 8000 watts continuous
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
ssunder
August 7, 2012
Yes...rated for 9000 watts.
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Mike
Maryland, USA
August 14, 2012
Yes...its rated up to 7,500 watts (running). My generator is 7,000w running, and 12,000 starting....no problems
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
glagace
New York, USA
October 30, 2012
Review page 9 of the installation and user manual, the 30 AMP model total running wattage is 7500.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
RelianceControlsAnswers
November 3, 2012
Yes, this transfer switch will handle up to 7500 running watts. You can ignore the starting watts when choosing the appropriate transfer switch.
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Asked by
gizmo6
Branchburg, NJ, USA
December 18, 2012
Maximum running wattage for this switch is 7,500. Your 8,000 watts starting power is surge power which is the maximum wattage available for short periods of time. Think in terms of starting a motor, it requires more wattage to start but will decline to its normal running wattage.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 10
Asked by
Ted70
Pawcatuck, CT
June 11, 2013
Mine handles a Generac 7500 Watt generator with no problem.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What Gauge Wire Is Required to Connect The Remote Power Outlet to the Switch

Asked by
LK Long Island
about 30 Amp 10 Circuit Manual Transfer Switch Kit on
November 23, 2012
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
9 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
RelianceControlsAnswers
November 24, 2012
We recomment 10 guage (#10 AWG) wire for connection of the power inlet box to the transfer switch. In most cases 10-3 building wire (3 wires plus ground) will work great.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
HL200
New Jersey
December 7, 2012
You can use 10-3 NM-B cable with ground. This will support 30A service for most reasonable lengths, ( includes the two hot wires, neutral and ground ). Home Depot carries spools of various lengths. Depending on the installation location, you may need to put the cable in PVC pipe for mechanical projection.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
crazyeddie
new york
December 10, 2012
10 guage 3 wires with a ground wire also called 10/3
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
NJGuy
Northern NJ
December 12, 2012
10-3 if less than 100 feet Ask your electrical inspector if it has to be in conduit or not. NJ needed ENT or sch. 40.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Harleyfatboy
December 17, 2012
I used 8 guage
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
gizmo6
Branchburg, NJ, USA
December 18, 2012
AWG 10/3 meaning it has a third wire, ground. Check your local electrical code, if this wire is not run inside a wall you may have to use conduit.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
Giarc
February 26, 2013
10 Gauge
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
Ted70
Pawcatuck, CT
June 11, 2013
Four conductor 10 guage, or Three conductor 10 guage with a 10 guage ground wire.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Asked by
Chris
Manchester, NH
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
November 18, 2013
10/3 is the minimum size you should use. 10/3 refers to 3- 10gauge insulated wires and an uninsulated ground for four wires total.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can this box be mounted on a concrete wall or do I need to screw in a plywood first?

Asked by
USA_#1
about 30 Amp 10 Circuit Manual Transfer Switch Kit on
November 9, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
7 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
RelianceControlsAnswers
November 10, 2012
The transfer can be mounted on a concrete wall. Instead of wood screws you will just need to use anchors or screws that are appropriate for concrete or cement block.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
doubl07hoo
Virginia, USA
November 21, 2012
We mounted mine to concete wall, worked fine
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Harleyfatboy
December 17, 2012
concrete wall is fine
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
gizmo6
Branchburg, NJ, USA
December 18, 2012
You can mount it directly to concrete or block walls using anchors.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Ted70
Pawcatuck, CT
January 2, 2013
Use concrete anchors to attach it directly to the concrete wall.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
GiJoe
Pomona, NY, USA
January 14, 2013
This can be done on a concrete wall or on a plywood panel. I would suggest having it on a plywood panel which, which may appear neater after installation. Check your town codes if there is any particular requirement as such. I know some places do. Thanks.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
Giarc
February 26, 2013
Instruction video shows it going to directly on Concrete although personally I believe its better to mount to plywood or 2x4 as electricity can pass through concrete.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Could this handle loads for my well pump(two 20 amp switches)and electric hot water heater(has two 25amp switches)?

Asked by
Sean
about 30 Amp 10 Circuit Manual Transfer Switch Kit on
December 17, 2012
I see this will handle the 8000w generator but my concern is the hot water heater with it's two 25 amp switches. 50 amps just for the hot water is a lot and it looks like this transfer switch only offers the 2 double 20amp. My well pump will take 40amps and the remaining 40 amps is just not enough for the hot water heater. Should I return this transfer switch and get a larger reliance transfer switch? Do you have 25 amp switches i could swap with the double 20 amps?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
7 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Harleyfatboy
December 17, 2012
From the manual online

Transfer switch circuits with 20 amp breakers (the ones with the red
caps) must be installed on only those branch circuits with 20 amp branch circuit
breakers. Transfer switch circuits with 15 amp breakers can be installed on 15
or 20 amp branch circuits. Do not install any transfer switch circuit on
branch circuits greater than 20 amps.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
crazyeddie
new york
December 17, 2012
Buy a transfer switch that has interchangable breakers like the model number 301060 gentran 30 amp 7500 watt indoor manual transfer switch. you can take the breakers out and replace with higher amp breakers , as long as your generator can handle the load.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
NJGuy
Northern NJ
December 18, 2012
not sure about other reliance products but this one has max 20 amp circuits. Nothing larger. This model has 2- 20 amp double throw circuits. so your double pole 25 amp will not work. HTH.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
RelianceControlsAnswers
December 18, 2012
20 amps is the largest household circuit that this transfer can be used with. It cannot be used on your 25 amp water heater circuit. The Reliance Controls model Q310C, internet no. 202216478, would accomodate your water heater. It allows one double pole circuit up to 30 amps.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
doubl07hoo
Virginia, USA
December 18, 2012
I did not realize that I could not connect my hot water to the switch until it was installed, I do have my well pump connected and works fine. You WILL need to upgrade to have both, huge mistake on my part, if I remember correctly it was only like $50 more to have the dual 30 amp breaker instead of the 2-20 amp breakers
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Mike
Maryland, USA
December 19, 2012
The highest amperage this switch can handle is 20amp.....so yes, the well pumps can run, but not the electric heater.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
Ted70
Pawcatuck, CT
June 11, 2013
You need a larger capacity switch.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Do i need to shut off my main breaker in my service panel?

Asked by
mike
New York
about 30 Amp 10 Circuit Manual Transfer Switch Kit on
February 17, 2013
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
7 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
RelianceControlsAnswers
February 18, 2013
No, you do not need to shut off the main breaker in your service panel when you are using your generator with this transfer switch. The transfer switch will keep the utility power and the generator power separated. The nice thing about leaving the main breaker on is that you will know when the utility power is back because the other circuits in your home will turn back on when the power is restored.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Giarc
February 26, 2013
Yes, you have to shut if off if. Otherwise you would increase the risk of electrocuting yourself. There is still some risk with the main breaker shutoff (IE. main feed wire coming in from the street and bar inside the Main Fuse Box.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
David
Alabama
March 28, 2013
you should because the center is hot if you don't. It is possible to do the job without doing this, but if you dont know what you are doing then you could get hurt.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Ted70
Pawcatuck, CT
June 11, 2013
I didn't. I just made sure each breaker was off when I attached its switch wires.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Bigboy
Orange, VA
August 26, 2013
Yes, during installation.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
j228s
Ohio
October 15, 2013
No...after the transfer switch is installed, you use the switches on the unit to switch from generator to grid power.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
Chris
Manchester, NH
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
November 18, 2013
No but it is a good idea, especially if you are a novice.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

No 10amp circuit breakers in my 200amp panel.

Asked by
Mister Mister
Maryland
about 30 Amp 10 Circuit Manual Transfer Switch Kit on
August 13, 2012
My panel houses 15s, 20s, 30s, 50s and 60 size circuit breakers - no 10s at all. All of the 15s are for basic plugs and lights. I'm wondering if those can us the 10amp switches in the transfer case for the 15amp in my panel.

Also, I'm wondering if I should go with your 50amp transfer case verses your 30amp.

Also, why is your transfer case called a 30amp when there are only 6 10s and 4 20s? Where does the 30amp come from.

Please advise...
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Harleyfatboy
August 14, 2012
There are 10 circuits...not 10AMP..the transfer switch has 15 AMP breakers and 20AMP breakers...so you can hook up your 15amp and 20 amp breakers to your main panel.

The transfer switch is built for generators up to 7000 watts...
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
RelianceControlsAnswers
August 14, 2012
The 30 amp rating is for the generator size where 30 amps is equal to 7500 running or continuous watts. Peak watts or surge watts may be higher than 7500. If your generator output is more than 7500 running watts then you may want the 50 amp version. There are no 10 amp circuits in this transfer switch, only 15 and 20 amp circuits, so it will work on the 15 circuits in your home. Do not use this transfer switch on any household circuit that is 30 amps or larger.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Mike
Ohio, USA
August 14, 2012
This transfer switch has six 15 amp and four 20 amp breakers. If you need more or less of the ones supplied , Reliance will send you what you need and you can send the others back, they're not diffficult to change out. The 30 amp rating means the switch can handle a load produced by a generator making no more than 30 amps.For example the Ridgid 8000w generator has an output socket designed to accept a 30 amp cord, since the generator is not capable of producing more.This matches the switch's rating. Whether you need a 50 amp switch would depend on whether you have generator capable of 50 amp output. This transfer switch can handle 8000 watts, even though the Home Dep website info says 7500watts. This is confirmed on the Reliance website FAQ's and on the box it comes in.If your generator produces 30 amps this switch should be fine. Never wire a breaker box circuit to a transfer switch circuit with a higher rating than the breaker box circuit.You'd be allowing your house wiring designed for the lower rating to be potentially over loaded before the transfer switch breaker would kick.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Mike
Maryland, USA
August 15, 2012
I recently installed this 10 circuit tranfer switch.....there are NO 10amp breakers in this transfer switch....only six 15amp and four 20amp. I only needed one 20amp (refrigerator) so i called RELIANCE and they sent me 3 15amp breakers and i removed the 20amp breakers and replaced them with the 15amp. You CANNOT power a 30, 50, or 60amp circuit with this, and most, transfer switches (ie. you cannot run your central A/C (50amp) or your dryer, but definitely your furnace (15amp)). 30amp refers to the generator capacity...most generators are either 30amp or 20 amp (mostly 30) and deliver x amt of wattage 5,500w....7,000w....7,500w....etc. Remember, this is for emergencies....hook up the 10 circuits that you will need, just make sure they are either 15amp circuits or 20amp circuits (refrig, washer)...NO 30, 50, or 60amp circuits can be handled by this device - period! You can run a window unit AC via a 15 amp circuit but not a central ac unit most use50amp
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Ted70
Pawcatuck, CT
June 11, 2013
I think you read something wrong. My switch had six 15 Amp and four 20 Amp circuits. (No 10 Amp ones.)
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Chris
Manchester, NH
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
November 18, 2013
I've never seen a transfer switch with 10 amp breakers, only 15's and 20's. If it came with 10's its a manufacturing mistake. The transfer switch is labeled as a 30 amp not because it can run a 30 amp circuit, it can run a combination of circuits with a total running load of 30 amps, which is about the limit of most generators. That 30 amps could be 5 amps on six circuits or 20 on one and 10 on another, not having anything to do with the individual breaker sizes, only the total combined load. For example you may have a 100 or 200 amp service to your house, it doesn't mean there's 100 or 200 amps running through those cables or that main breaker. Only that is the total capacity, which is why if you were to add up all of your branch circuit breakers it would likely add up to more than the size of the main. This is okay because you would never use every circuit to max capacity at the same time. In fact most of the time, your entire house is using less than 30 amps, only when the a/c kicks on, or you turn the stove on or other large load does the current go up. Which is why they can put 4 20 amp breakers and 6 15's on the transfer switch and call it a 30 amp. You probably will never use all ten circuits to the max at the same time. If for some odd reason your transfer switch does have 10 amp breakers, you could definitely use them on the 15 amp circuits without any problem. The 10 amp breakers are only in use when the generator is in operation, and you wouldn't be plugging everything under the sun in during a power outage.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can I get a 20 foot cord instead of a 10 foot?

Asked by
Jarrod
about 30 Amp 10 Circuit Manual Transfer Switch Kit on
October 23, 2012
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Mike
Maryland, USA
October 24, 2012
You can buy a 20ft cord separately from RELIANCE, but a 10ft cord comes in the kit.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Harleyfatboy
October 24, 2012
The kit comes with that size cord...you can order a longer one from companies that make longer cords
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
glagace
New York, USA
October 30, 2012
There is a 25 foot one available

http://www.homedepot.com/h_d1/N-5yc1v/R-100675654/h_d2/ProductDisplay?catalogId=10053&langId=-1&keyword=generator+cable&storeId=10051
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
David
New Hampshire, USA
January 25, 2013
Home Depot sells longer 30 amp generator cords. I bought a 30 foot when I installed the Transfer Switch along with an outdoor power box.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Ted70
Pawcatuck, CT
June 11, 2013
You can order one. I ordered a fifty foot one, and wasted the ten foot one that came with the kit. Maybe you can call Reliant and dtrike a deal to replace the ten foot one with a twenty fot one.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
ElectricDon
Hillsborough, NH, USA
August 14, 2013
Yes longer cords are available from your retailer or an electrician can make one up for you.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Will this be able to connect to and work with my 30 amp hot water heater circuit?

Asked by
Checko
about 30 Amp 10 Circuit Manual Transfer Switch Kit on
October 31, 2012
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
RelianceControlsAnswers
November 1, 2012
No, the largest household circuit that this can be installed on is 20 amps. The 30 amp rating refers to the maximum generator output. For your application we recommend Reliance Controls model no. Q310C, internet no. 202216478. The Q310C will accomodate one 30 amp double pole circuit like your hot water heater.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Harleyfatboy
November 1, 2012
no, only 10 and 20 amp circuits
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Mike
Maryland, USA
November 1, 2012
Unfortunately, NO. THe highest amperage this transfer switch can handle is 20a
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
doubl07hoo
Virginia, USA
November 21, 2012
My electrician that installed mine said it could not be connected. If both heating elements came on at the same time it could burn up the wiring from switch box to breaker. Dont let the "30 Amp" in the advertisement fool you they have 2-20 amp dual post breakers
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
David
New Hampshire, USA
January 25, 2013
No - it comes with 15 and 20 amp breakers only. Never connect a device rated higher than the breakers it is being fed through.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Ted70
Pawcatuck, CT
June 11, 2013
No. The maximum amperage for any controlled ciruit is 20 Amps.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Does the transfer switch "HAVE" to be installed next to the main breaker box ?

Asked by
Bruce
home
about 30 Amp 10 Circuit Manual Transfer Switch Kit on
November 4, 2012
I have no room next to the main box. Can I install the transfer switch on another wall about 10' away from the main and lengthen the wires from the transfer switch?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
aboveaveragejoe
November 5, 2012
Hey Bruce,

It is feasible to install it this way, but I would first consult any local codes by talking to a electrician in your area to see if this is fine. Ten feet isn't that much, especially if it is in the same room, but I'd consult an electrician to make sure this is up to code.

Thanks,
aboveaveragejoe
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
RelianceControlsAnswers
November 14, 2012
No, you do not have to install the transfer switch next to the main panel. However, it will take longer to install and you will need additional 12 guage wire. Each circuit on the transfer switch requires two #12 wires for connection, so 10 feet away on a 10 circuit transfer switch will require another 200 feet of #12 wire and 10 feet of #10 wire for the neutral. No additional wire is needed when mounting next to the main panel.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
doubl07hoo
Virginia, USA
November 21, 2012
After my install, I would say within 18" of main breaker, the silver conduit you see in the pictures is how far it can be mounted. The wires are just long enough to reach any of your breakers in the breaker panel. Now I am not an electrician so maybe you could install a juction box then run additional wire from junction box to breaker box? that I am not sure about
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
crazyeddie
new york
December 17, 2012
No
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Dover608
Westchester, NY, USA
December 25, 2012
No all you would need is a junction box and wires to extend the existing wires
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Ted70
Pawcatuck, CT
January 2, 2013
Bring the 22 12-guage wires into a separate "box" to wire-nut the extensions, and bring the extensions into the load center through a new piece of 5/4" conduit.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can someone please provide the item # for the Romex cable needed to connect the switch to the remote power inlet?

Asked by
USA_#1
about 30 Amp 10 Circuit Manual Transfer Switch Kit on
November 9, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
RelianceControlsAnswers
November 10, 2012
Any 10-3 jacketed building wire will work. There are a couple different brands, internet no. 202206567 is an example of a 25 ft. coil.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
crazyeddie
new york
December 10, 2012
you are looking for 10/3 romex. there are 2 hot legs 1 nuetral leg and a bare ground wire
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
gizmo6
Branchburg, NJ, USA
December 18, 2012
Listed as Cerrowire 25 ft. 10/3 NM-B Wire at my local store.
Model # 147-1803AR
Internet # 202206567
Store SKU # 178309
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Dover608
Westchester, NY, USA
December 25, 2012
If it is a short run use 10-3 if the run is a little longer than normal use 8-3
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Ted70
Pawcatuck, CT
January 2, 2013
I found these numbers on the home depot website: Model # 63948480
Internet # 203424770
This is a 50 foot coil of 3 conductor NM-B wire with 10 gauge ground wire. It costs $84.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
cardsek
Eastern PA
January 5, 2013
14/3
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

i have a 10 circuit transfer switch can i run off 2 breakers to a 50 amp breakers in my main panel box

Asked by
watashi
florida
about 30 Amp 10 Circuit Manual Transfer Switch Kit on
December 2, 2012
the transfer switch is a reliance that would be going to an elecrtic sove
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
RelianceControlsAnswers
December 3, 2012
You cannot connect this transfer switch to your electric stove or any other circuit in your home that is on a circuit breaker that is larger than 20 amps. For your application (electric stove) you will need to use a transfer switch that can accomodate 50 amp circuits, and a generator that can supply 12500 watts. Most installers of this product connect it to a microwave oven and not a stove or range.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
crazyeddie
new york
December 10, 2012
no you can not power your electric stove with this switch. the load of the stove is too much for the wires in the swich to handle. If you lose power do like I do and cook with the microwave.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Dover608
Westchester, NY, USA
December 25, 2012
depends on the output of your generator remember the plug is 30amps
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Ted70
Pawcatuck, CT
January 2, 2013
Not a good idea! The electric range could easily draw more than 20 Amps, even with only one range element activated.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Chris
Manchester, NH
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
November 18, 2013
No, the wires on the transfer switch are sized at 20 amps maximum. Connecting them to a 50 amp circuit would almost certainly melt them and likely cause a fire. Not to mention the maximum breaker on the transfer switch itself is only 20 amps, which would never run the stove. Sorry. Assuming you have a generator capable of supplying enough current to run a stove, you would have to get a dedicated transfer switch for any load over 20 amps. The exception to this would be the transfer switch with the interchangeable breakers. These allow up to a 30 amp breaker, but no more. A better option would be a transfer switch that switches the whole panel over, again assuming you have the generator capacity to handle it. If you have a generator that could run a 50 amp stove, that's plenty to run the rest of the house when the stove is off.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
DontheElectrician
New Hampshire
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
January 24, 2014
You can but it is not correct and this transfer switch will not supply the power you need for the 50Amp circuit. It appears that you need a larger generator and transfer switch if you wish to supply stand by power to the 50 Amp load.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Will this work with a generator that has a L14-20 output?

Asked by
Anonymous
Maryland
about 30 Amp 10 Circuit Manual Transfer Switch Kit on
September 1, 2012
I see it says there is an extra 20 amp cord plug. Is that All I need? Does that convert between the L14-20 output of the smaller generator I own (Homelite HG3500). I plan to upgrade to a larger propane generator (Sportsman GEN7000LP) eventually, but I'd like to know that either one would work. Would I have to get a separate converter? Would there be any other issues? Thanks!
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
RelianceControlsAnswers
September 1, 2012
Yes, this will work with your generator. There is nothing else you need. During installation you will have to replace the 30 amp plug on the cord with the 20 amp plug that is included with the kit. No other adapters are neccesary. If you upgrade the generator you can change back to a 30 amp plug at that time.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Mike
Maryland, USA
September 2, 2012
yes...it will work with an L-14-20; it comes with an adapter to convert the 14-30 to a 14-20 .
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Harleyfatboy
September 3, 2012
The kit comes with a cord that has a 30AMP connection and the power inlet is for a 30AMP cord.. It will work with your smaller generator but you'll need to buy a power inlet for the 20AMP cord. Call the company directly - 800-439-5745 and they'll tell u the other part you'll need.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Ted70
Pawcatuck, CT
January 2, 2013
The extension cord provided has L14-30 ends. You could cut it and attach the extra L14-20 Male connector to the male end. This will bring 20 amps to the transfer switch through the supplied wall interface.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Chris
Manchester, NH
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
November 18, 2013
It comes with an L14-20 plug to replace the L14-30 plug provided on the generator cord. This is all that's needed to use a generator with the L14-20 outlet. HOWEVER... the original L14-30 plug is molded on and cannot be reused, so if you upgrade to a larger generator you will have to buy a new L14-30 plug or an entirely new generator cord. Otherwise either generator will work. The plugs are different only to avoid overloading a circuit with a larger load. There are dozens of NEMA plug configurations each different depending on voltage and amperage and I wont even get into 3 phase configurations. Suffice it to say the L14-20 and L14-30 are wired exactly the same, they are just shaped differently.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

what do you need to connect the generator to a boiler to heat the home

Asked by
P53
about 30 Amp 10 Circuit Manual Transfer Switch Kit on
November 7, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Harleyfatboy
November 8, 2012
If the boiler is gas with an electric blower then the circuit your blower is on gets wired to the transfer switch.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Dave
November 8, 2012
The safest way to use a transfer switch. Depending upon your level of expertise, it can be done without .but is very dangerous and would leave your boiler electrically unprotected
Using the reliance switch, you first have to make sure your main breaker( usually 100 Amp or larger) is off to prevent feeding back to the grid. You need to know breaker feeds your boiler. Then you remove the wire from the circuit breaker and wire nut it to the black wire from the transfer switch (labeled A if you're using switch A) then attach the red wire labeled A to the breaker and you're done....
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
RelianceControlsAnswers
November 9, 2012
If your boiler is on a 15 amp or 20 amp circuit breaker then this product will work. If the circuit breaker is 30 amps or larger then you will need a transfer switch that can accomodate larger circuits.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Ted70
Pawcatuck, CT
January 2, 2013
If the generator is only needed to run your oil burner and circulator, wire an outlet into the breaker that the furnace is currently wired to, then rewire the furnace to be plugged into that outlet. When generator power is needed during a power failure, use an extension cord to plug the oil burner into the generator's outlet instead.
If this approach requires too many extension cords, then the transfer switch is a good (but expensive) alternative.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Chris
Manchester, NH
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
November 18, 2013
the transfer switch has everything you need to connect it to the boiler circuit, which should run the boiler and all its accessories (circ pumps, zone valves, etc). There is also a product which is basically a mini one circuit transfer switch if the only thing you want to connect is your furnace or boiler. this mini switch doesn't have to be connected to the breaker box, it can be connected directly to the appliance where the power feed comes in to it.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

how long is the power cord

Asked by
tom
pa
about 30 Amp 10 Circuit Manual Transfer Switch Kit on
August 14, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
ElectricDon
Hillsborough, NH, USA
August 14, 2013
It should say in the specifications for the product, typically the cords are 6 or 10 feet. It depends on the model purchased. Remember a generator should be at least 10 feet from a dwelling and not near doors or windows.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Bigboy
Orange, VA
August 26, 2013
10 feet.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Tom183
September 9, 2013
10 ft
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Mario
New Jersey, USA
October 29, 2013
Around six feet. You can go to specs. of the product for exact measurements. You can extend it by purchasing the plug and the wires if you need it to be longer.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Chris
Manchester, NH
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
November 18, 2013
if you are referring to the cord that runs from the generator to the inlet box, the supplied cord is 10 feet.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can this be recessed?

Asked by
WattageGuy
NY
about 30 Amp 10 Circuit Manual Transfer Switch Kit on
December 17, 2013
Want to install next to my recessed load center. Thanks!
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
RelianceControlsAnswers
December 18, 2013
Yes, this transfer switch can be recessed. A recessed installation will require you to use the flush mount kit, Reliance Controls part no. KF10, internet no. 202216482.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Dover608
Westchester, NY, USA
January 23, 2014
Yes if you are using the front access panel for the power inlet
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
j228s
January 23, 2014
Yes, It can be installed in the wall.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Bigboy
Orange, VA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 24, 2014
Yes, as long as you allow ample room for the wiring.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
DontheElectrician
New Hampshire
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
January 24, 2014
It is designed for surface mount but can be recessed with the proper connectors and a front mount input receptacle.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can this unit be mounted directly to a cinder block foundation wall (interior mounting)?

Asked by
WolverineatMSU
East Lansing, Michigan
about 30 Amp 10 Circuit Manual Transfer Switch Kit on
December 31, 2013
I read somewhere that an air gap is needed between metal box and cinder block wall. Will spacers (e.g. flat metal washers) be needed or can the box be mounted directly to the cinder block wall?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
MIKE1959
PORT ORCHARD, WA
April 23, 2014
There is no GAP for air needed, You can mount directly to cinder block. Just be sure your using the correct anchors.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
RelianceControlsAnswers
January 2, 2014
This transfer switch can be mounted directly to the block wall. You can use washers if you want, but it is not required.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Dover608
Westchester, NY, USA
January 23, 2014
Yes you can mount it to the cinder block foundation wall as long as the wall is dry at all times. Moisture will cause the box to rust quickly. If you have a small piece of 3/4 ply wood you could mount that first just to be sure it stays dry then mount the box onto the plywood
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
j228s
Ohio
January 23, 2014
Yes, I used tap-con anchors with mine. Make sure you line up your conduit before you anchor it...it's not that forgiving! The switch works awesome, and is very easy to wire up! Good luck!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
DontheElectrician
New Hampshire
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
January 24, 2014
Yes if it is spaced 1/4 inch from the wall and there are no openings in the top or back to allow moisture to enter. I sometimes use a plastic mounting board if there is no wood board to mount to. These will not rust or rot.
It is also best to make sure that there is no possibility of moisture running down the wall behind this equipment.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

How does one identify a multiwire branch circuit on the main panel?

Asked by
USA#1
about 30 Amp 10 Circuit Manual Transfer Switch Kit on
November 2, 2012
I am considering installing this transfer switch and the manual for it mentions that we insure that both the circuits (sharing the same neutral) on the multiwire circuit should be connected to the transfer switch. I would like to be able to identify the multiwire branch circuit on my main panel so that I can implement this. Is there an easy way to identify this circuit by looking at the main panel?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
aboveaveragejoe
November 5, 2012
Hey USA#1,

A mult-wire branch circuit simply means a breaker that has more than 1 hot wire coming directly out of it. In a more generic term, some people call this a 220V circuit.

I would read the installation instructions further, and look closer at your circuit panel to ensure that the breaker that goes to the transfer switch can be installed.

Hope this helps you out,
aboveaveragejoe
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
crazyeddie
new york
December 10, 2012
a multi wire branch circuit is usually ran by using a 3 wire like 14/3 or 12/3. there will be a black wire a red wire a white wire and a bare copper ground wire.look at your breakers and if there is a red wire on a breaker trace it to where it comes into the panel, then follow the black wire comming out of the same insulation
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Melaelectric
Stamford, CT, USA
January 8, 2013
The multitude means that you have more then one circuit on one neutral ( in residential it's usually 2 circuits ). The way to identify is to look in the panel, follow the wire that you choose for transfer switch and see if its part of wire that has black, red, white and bare wire .
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Chris
Manchester, NH
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
November 18, 2013
yes, a multi wire circuit would have a red and black wire connected to breakers and one shared neutral. The shared circuit should be on a double pole breaker, but this isn't always the case. To figure out if it is a shared circuit, follow the black wire from the breaker back to its cable where it enters the box. if there is a red wire in the same cable it is a shared circuit. Same goes for a red wire on a breaker, though a red wire is a dead give away because if a cable has a red wire, it will almost certainly have a black one. Be sure to connect the red and black wires of a shared circuit to opposite legs in the transfer switch, not only to balance the load but to avoid overloading the neutral wire they share.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can this be connected to my main panel as instructed and to a small sub panel that has my well pump switch?

Asked by
Sean
Patterson NY
about 30 Amp 10 Circuit Manual Transfer Switch Kit on
December 5, 2012
My well pump is on a seperate panel about 2 feet away from the main panel...I will need to run wires to both panels. The instructions are very simple for the basic install but my situation is different and I can't find any answers on the Reliance web site.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
RelianceControlsAnswers
December 6, 2012
Yes, you can connect this transfer switch to circuits in two separate panels. It will require more work during installation and some extra 12 awg (#12) wire. The wires for the transfer switch circuits that you want to connect to the second (well pump) panel must be extended to that panel, but it will work fine if done properly.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Ted70
Pawcatuck, CT
January 2, 2013
You just have to run two extension (12 gauge) wires from the black and red transfer switch leads in the load center out to your subpanel (through the exixting conduit to the subpanel or through an added piece of conduit). It your pump is 240V, you'll need to do this for two pairs of transfer switch leads (either E & J or D & I).
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
David
Alabama
March 28, 2013
I ran the wires to two boxes. Just separate at the switch panel.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Chris
Manchester, NH
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
November 18, 2013
yes you can connect this to both panels. it will require extending the requisite red and black transfer switch wires to make it to the second panel and they will have to be enclosed in a conduit. if you have a conduit between the panels already that the feed is in, you can snake the wires thru that if there is room. if not you will need to install one. half inch emt conduit is plenty big enough for the two wires.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

I have a main panel and sub panel that this switch will control...do I need additional grounding wires for the sub panel?

Asked by
Sean T
Patterson NY
about 30 Amp 10 Circuit Manual Transfer Switch Kit on
February 10, 2013
My well switch is on a small sub-panel 6 inches away from the main panel...The wires will go to both main and sub panels...I was lucky enough to run the wires to both without splicing or extra wires. The dvd shows a white neutral and a ground wire that conect to the main panel.....should I have an extra ground wire for this sub panel? will it be ok with the switch grounded to the main panel only?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
RelianceControlsAnswers
February 11, 2013
You do not need another ground wire for the second panel. The ground connection in the main panel will do the job.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
David
Alabama
March 28, 2013
I used one ground in the main box
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
ElectricDon
Hillsborough, NH, USA
August 14, 2013
Yes all equipment should be bonded together so that tying the transfer switch to the main panel will provide proper grounding. If your well pump is 120 VAC you will need to tie the neutral wires to both the main and sub panel. If your well pump is 240 VAC no neutral is used.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Chris
Manchester, NH
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
November 18, 2013
No you shouldn't need additional grounding wires or neutral wires between the panels as there should be a good sized one there already. Any sub-panel should have separate neutrals and grounds, ie: there should be four wires, 2 hots, 1 neutral and 1 ground from the main panel to the sub-panel. If there is only three and the neutral and grounds are connected together, an additional ground would be a good idea. bear in mind if there is no existing separate ground to the sub panel from the main panel it is not up to code. I know this sounds like a lot to take in, but the simple answer is, if the panels were wired correctly to begin with, no additional wires between them are needed.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

My panel has no main breaker. It's a main lug load center. Will this transfer switch work with this?

Asked by
Salty
Florida
about 30 Amp 10 Circuit Manual Transfer Switch Kit on
June 8, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
RelianceControlsAnswers
June 10, 2013
Yes, this transfer switch will work. Installation and operation will be the same when there is no main breaker in the panel.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Ted70
Pawcatuck, CT
June 11, 2013
Yes. The switch affects only a selection of individual circuit breakers, switching between line and generator. You would never have to touch the main breaker, if you had one.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Chris
Manchester, NH
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
November 18, 2013
yes it will work just fine because it is connected to the individual branch circuit breakers. just be careful when working in the panel unless you can shut it off upstream. I don't generally shut panels down when installing these, but I have considerable experience working in panels. I don't recommend working in a "hot" panel unless you have experience working in panels.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
DontheElectrician
New Hampshire
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
January 24, 2014
Yes it will work with a main lug load center. You must have some type of disconnect between your meter and the load center but that is a different requirement than the one allowing this switch and its attachment to your system
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
1 2 »