Looking for Answers about Reliance Controls 30 Amp 10-Circuit Heavy Duty Transfer Switch?

Customer questions and answers for
Reliance Controls 30 Amp 10-Circuit Heavy Duty Transfer Switch

This 10-circuit, 30 Amp manual transfer switch is designed for fast installation (indoors) in a home, office or small business. It is completely pre-wired and enables the electrical system of the building to accept the power of a portable generator to run up to eight single-pole circuits and one 20A double pole circuit. It allows you to power electrical appliances, devices and lighting during a power outage. The Q310C features standard 1-inch interchangeable circuit breakers that can be re-configured into multiple double-pole 15A and 20A (240V) circuits. This transfer switch is completely code compliant and keeps the generator power isolated from the utility power at all times.
Customer questions and answers:
13 Questions
 | 
28 Answers
Overall rating:
4.708 out of 5
4.7
out of
5

Customer questions and answers for Reliance Controls 30 Amp 10-Circuit Heavy Duty Transfer Switch

Question

Does this unit come with the parts to plug the generator cord directly into the front of the switch?

Asked by
prowler
about 30 Amp 10-Circuit Heavy Duty Transfer Switch on
November 22, 2014
Switch will be located in my garage and I would just be running the cord under my garage door to the generator outside.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
RelianceControlsAnswers
November 25, 2014
No, this does not come with a cord inlet. To add an inlet to the front use an L14-30 flanged inlet (internet no. 205168188) or you can use a remote power inlet box outside the structure (internet no. 202213702) which would allow for a shorter cord.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

does the generator cord come with it like the 6 circuit unit

Asked by
jtopley
about 30 Amp 10-Circuit Heavy Duty Transfer Switch on
January 1, 2014
does the generator cord come with it like the 6 circuit unit
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Mike
NJ
September 30, 2014
NO
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Mike
NJ
April 22, 2014
No, with this unit you have to buy the cord separate. I WOULD buy reliance controls cord though. Because some other manufactures cords plugs are not molded like these. The plugs are put together ones. Reliance controls is the way to go. Part # PC3010 for the 10 foot and PC3020 for the 20 foot.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
RelianceControlsAnswers
January 2, 2014
This transfer switch does not come with a cord or power inlet box. The most commonly used cords for this switch are four wire twist locks, internet numbers 202216498, 202216499, and 202216500.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

I have a 1hp deep well jet pump on a 30 amp circuit. Is this too big for one of these transfer switches?

Asked by
Raffi
Tampa Fl
about 30 Amp 10-Circuit Heavy Duty Transfer Switch on
July 25, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Mike
NJ
September 30, 2014
NO
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
RelianceControlsAnswers
July 26, 2014
This transfer switch will work great as long as you have only one 30 amp double pole circuit that you want to operate when the power is out. The other circuits to be powered by the generator must all be 15 and 20 amp.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Can I use 2 transfer switches? Ie. one to power just my water heater and another for my well pump and other circuits using 2 different generators?

Asked by
Raffi
Tampa Fl
about 30 Amp 10-Circuit Heavy Duty Transfer Switch on
July 17, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
RelianceControlsAnswers
July 23, 2014
Yes, you can install two separate transfer switches and power them with two separate generators. The transfer switches will keep the generaors separated from each other and the ulility.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

where can i find a cq10 cover for my transfer switch

Asked by
faemis2
bangor, maine
about 30 Amp 10-Circuit Heavy Duty Transfer Switch on
March 29, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
THDCustomerSupport
Kennesaw, GA
March 31, 2014
Thank you for your recent inquiry with The Home Depot. Unfortunately, I need more information from you in order to properly address your question. For any other questions, please call us at HomeDepot.com Customer Service 800-430-3376.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is this transfer switch approved for use in Canada?

Asked by
Jeff
Sarnia Ontario
about 30 Amp 10-Circuit Heavy Duty Transfer Switch on
January 24, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
RelianceControlsAnswers
January 27, 2014
This transfer switch is approved by Underwriters Laboratories (UL) for use in Canada. However, you should check with your local athorities to make sure that it complies with your local codes.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

my transfer switch will be mounted 45-50 feet from remote inlet. What type & gauge wire should be used to wire the remote inlet to the transfer switch

Asked by
BillV
about 30 Amp 10-Circuit Heavy Duty Transfer Switch on
November 6, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Richie359
Lakewood Township, NJ, USA
May 21, 2013
10-3 gauge cable nm-b wire HOME DEPOT has it on line thats where I got it
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
SteveTheHomeowner
February 12, 2013
I had a similar situation to yours. To avoid voltage drop, I installed 10/3 Romex (non-metallic) cable. It is very stiff and a somewhat difficult to run through basement joists, but don't force it. Just work it little by little and you'll make the whole run. You'll need some very good cutters to cut it to length, and unfortunately, you'll probably only use them this once. But it's worth spending money on good cutters.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
RelianceControlsAnswers
November 7, 2012
We recommend 10 guage (#10) wire for generators up to 7500 running watts. You will need four wires (3 conductors plus a ground wire). In most cases 10-3 building wire is suitable (Romex style), but your local building code may require that the wires run inside of conduit.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

Transfer switch internet # 202216478 Hot Water heater

Asked by
JJ
Tn
about 30 Amp 10-Circuit Heavy Duty Transfer Switch on
February 10, 2013
Transfer Switch internet # 202216478
Will this panel feed a 30 amp hot water heater ? If no which transfer switch. I have a 7000W portable generator.
Thanks in advance
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Richie359
Lakewood Township, NJ, USA
May 21, 2013
YES
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
ARTF
Newburgh, NY, USA
February 26, 2013
iF THE WATER HEATER IS THE ONLY LOAD ON THE TRANSFER SWITCH (USE ONLY THE 30 AMP DUAL BREAKER) AND IF THE WATER HEATER RUNS ON 220 - 230 VOLTS, THEN THIS WILL WORK BUT IF THE WATER HEATER NEEDS 30 AMPS, YOUR GENERATOR MAY NOT BE ABLE TO CARRY THE LOAD STEADY STATE. CHECK YOUR GENERATOR RATINGS.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
SteveTheHomeowner
February 12, 2013
Yes. There is a 30-amp 2-pole circuit breaker in the A&B slots.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Grendel
February 11, 2013
There is a thirty amp breaker on the transfer switch, so it will run a water heater if that is the same breaker size as what you heater is current using. I will say this, I have mine on a 9,000w generator with 7,500 running watts and when the water heater runs the same time as a bunch of other stuff, it really revs the generator. you might find you are maxing out and need to cycle some stuff on and off.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
RelianceControlsAnswers
February 11, 2013
This transfer switch will work great in your application. It can accomodate a double pole 30 amp circuit for your water heater and can be used with generators up to 7500 running watts. The switch comes standard with one double pole 30 amp circuit breaker, one double pole 20 amp breaker, and 6 single pole 15 amp breakers.
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Question

Do i need to shut off my main breaker in my service panel?

Asked by
Anonymous
New York
about 30 Amp 10-Circuit Heavy Duty Transfer Switch on
February 18, 2013
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Richie359
Lakewood Township, NJ, USA
May 21, 2013
YES
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
ARTF
Newburgh, NY, USA
February 26, 2013
NOT AS LONG AS YOU A RE CAREFUL AND HAVE WORKED IN THE MAIN PANEL PREVIOUSLY. TURN EACH INDIVIDUAL LOAD CENTER CB OFF BEFORE WIRING THAT INTO THE TRANSFER SWITCH, THEN TURN IT BACK ON WHEN YOU HAVE COMPLETED BOTH CONNECTONS FOR THAT CIRCUIT.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
RelianceControlsAnswers
February 18, 2013
No, you do not need to shut off the main breaker in your service panel when you are using your generator with this transfer switch. The transfer switch will keep the utility power and the generator power separated. The nice thing about leaving the main breaker on is that you will know when the utility power is back because the other circuits in your home will turn back on when the power is restored.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

sizing a transfer switch

Asked by
SCOOPY
WILMINTON NC
about 30 Amp 10-Circuit Heavy Duty Transfer Switch on
July 20, 2012
I HAVE A 9000 PEAK WATT GENERATOR WITH A RUNNING WATTAGE OF 7250
WILL THIS 7500 WATT SWITCH BE THE CORRECT ONE?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
ARTF
Newburgh, NY, USA
February 26, 2013
7250 WATTS IS OK SINCE THAT WOULD MEAN 30 AMPS X 250 VOLTS = 7500 WATTS WOULD BE OK. .THE LIMITATION IS THE CURRENT CARRYING CAPACITY OF THE WIRING FROM THE GENERATOR TO THE UNIT (#10 WIRE IS GOOD FOR A MAXIMUM OF 30 AMPS STEADY STATE)
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
amptap
New York, USA
September 18, 2012
each of the 10 circuit breakers has a max load capacity listed right on the front of the panel. While these circuit breakers can be swapped out to a larger one listed as the max capacity at each breaker location,the governing factor would be the existing wire size running to each circuit breaker. The one double pole 30 Amp circuit could be used as just that,a double pole 30 or it could be used as 2 single pole 30 circuits or anything smaller,meaning 20 or 15 amp circuits. The max circuit breaker listed under this double pole is listed a s 30 Amp. The 20 Amp double pole can be used the same way,as a double pole 20 or 2 single pole 20 Amp circuits,or 1 double pole 15 circuit or 2 single pole 15 am circuits. The max breaker listed under this breaker is 20 amp. The remaining 8 circuits are a combination of 20 and 15 amp circuit breakers all of which can be sized for a maximum rating of 20 amp. In no case should a breaker larger than 30 Amp double pole be installed in any location other than circuit A-B. This goes the same for circuits C,D,E,F,G,H ,I,and J,in no case should a breaker larger than 20 amp be installed.
So to answer your question,this panel would work adequately as long as the normal operating load did not run consistently over 7500 watts. The running meters on the front of the panel will provide a visual guide to the operating load on each leg of the 220 volt circuit. The load should be readjusted by moving circuits to balance the load shown on each leg so they run about the same.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
RelianceControlsAnswers
July 25, 2012
Yes. Look at the running wattage, not the peak wattage, when sizing the transfer switch. Your running wattage of 7250 is less than the 7500 watt rating of this switch so it will work great. If the running wattage were greater than 7500, this switch would still be suitable as long as there is a 30 amp circuit breaker either on the generator or in between the generator and the transfer switch.
+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Question

is this switch a 2 pole or 3 pole?

Asked by
Bob
home
about 30 Amp 10-Circuit Heavy Duty Transfer Switch on
October 30, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
ARTF
Newburgh, NY, USA
February 26, 2013
AS THE UNIT IS DELIVERED, THE TWO 30 AMP BREAKER ARE 'GANGED' WITH A TIE BAR (SET UP FOR 220 VOLTS AT 30 AMPS SINGLE PHASE). IF NEEDED, THE BREAKER CAN BE RECONFIGURED (REMOVE THE TIE BAR) INTO TWO BREAKERS AT 30 AMPS FOR TWO INDEPENDENT 120 VOLTS SINGLE PHASE CIRCUITS.
i'M NOT SURE WHAT YOUI MEAN BY POLE IN YOUR QUESTION. THIS UNIT HANDLES ONLY 2 POLE (SINGLE PHASE) CIRCUITS OF EITHER 220V, OR 110 V.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
RelianceControlsAnswers
November 1, 2012
This is a 2 pole transfer switch.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

My generator is 8000W continuous and 13500 surge. Will this switch work for me or is ther a better option?

Asked by
Bill V
Ma
about 30 Amp 10-Circuit Heavy Duty Transfer Switch on
November 1, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
ARTF
Newburgh, NY, USA
February 26, 2013
THIS UNIT IS NOT DESIGNED TO WORK AT THAT POWER LEVEL WHICH EXCEEDS THE 30AMP X 250 VOLT (7500 WATT) LEVEL OF THJE DESIGN
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
RelianceControlsAnswers
November 2, 2012
This transfer switch is rated for a maximum of 7500 watts continuous. However, if your generator has a 30 amp circuit breaker on the 4 conductor locking receptacle this transfer switch will work, as long as there is not GFCI protection on that outlet as well. (30 amps times 250 volts = 7500 watts.) If there is no circuit breaker on the locking receptacle then you will need a transfer switch with a larger capacity like Reliance Controls part no. 51410C, internet no. 202216473.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Is there a flush mounting kit like the KF10 for the Q310C transfer switch?

Asked by
40 Below
Fairbanks, Alaska
about 30 Amp 10-Circuit Heavy Duty Transfer Switch on
November 17, 2012
I would like to install the Q Series Pro/Tran, rather than the standard Pro/Tran (e.g., 31410CRK), but I would also like a flush mount on my dry-walled garage. I would also like to cover (hide) the breakers, but not with a clear plastic cover like the CQ10.
Thanks
 
Products related to my question
 
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Grendel
November 17, 2012
If the is one, it is sold separately. Of course, you could always recess the kit and then hang a door over it. I always grab door front from Ikea for applications like this because they sell their doors separately from the cabinets.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
1 of 1