Looking for Answers about Sno-Tek 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower?

Customer questions and answers for
Sno-Tek 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower

Keep tough weather conditions under control with the Ariens Sno-Tek Two-Stage 24 in. Gas Snow Blower. The snow blower features a 24 in. clearing width, 20 in. intake height, all-steel augers and a 3-blade impeller for powerful and efficient snow removal. Six forward and two reverse speeds let you change the speed to match the conditions, and the 205-degree, quick-turn chute lets you direct the snow where you want it. Simple, push-button electric start allows for ease of use, and the rust-resistant exterior helps ensure lasting life.
Customer questions and answers:
82 Questions
 | 
327 Answers
Overall rating:
4.523 out of 5
4.5
out of
5

Customer questions and answers for Sno-Tek 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower

Question

Just purchased this and am wondering if chute impeller should make a metal clacking sound when coming to a stop.

Asked by
stu3930
S E Michigan
about 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower on
October 8, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Jeff
West Hartford, CT, USA
October 11, 2014
I do not think the chute impeller should make a clacking sound when stopping unless it is very brief. Is there abnormal sound when you engage the impeller? I wonder if the impeller is loose.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Ariens
October 11, 2014
Yes, the noise you are hearing is most likely the brake arm engaging to stop the rotation.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Briand
Long Island, New York, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
October 10, 2014
Stu: Since I make certain the both impellers have stopped before I bring the blower back into the Shed and shut down the engine, I do not hear any clacking sounds. I would make certain that (With #EVERYTHING turned off) that the impellers are tight and centered and call for an inspection / replacement on the unit. Look for markings on the impellers where paint might be chipped off , a sure sign of things wrong. The warranty and the local suppliers around you should help. Especially if HD did not actually deliver the unit, those that did, should be able to make a quick adjustment if required, or replace the unit or faulty part.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

engine oil leaking. Is it a big problem?

Asked by
snowtiger
Middletown, CT
about 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower on
September 22, 2014
I recently bought the SNO-TEK 24 inch from home depot. The unit was already assembled when I made the purchase. A guy from home depot and myself loaded the unit into my SUV. In order to fit the SUV, we had to let the machine lie on its side (not remember on its left side or right side). Then I found there was oil leaking from the machine. I put a lot of paper towel underneath. After 25 minuted drive to home, quite a lot of oil leaked out.

I wondered if there is any problem with the machine? What do I need to do to fix it?

I am think to put some more engine oil and gas into the unit, and then do a test run. Is it OK to do that?

Thank you.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Ariens
September 23, 2014
I am sorry to hear that the machine was put into your vehicle on its side. This is not recommended because the oil will leak and flow into Areas it is not intended to go. If you want to fix the issue your self. Pull the spark plug and pull the engine over several times this will clear the oil out of the cylinder . ( Note oil will come out of the spark plug hole so make sure you have a way of catching it before it makes a mess in the garage or driveway) Once this is done you can whip off an oil on the outside of the engine. Top off the engine with new oil, remove the muffler and clean the oil off the outside and inside the muffler and then reassembly. At this point you can try to run the machine. Make sure to reinstall the spark plug and then start the engine. There is a possibility that the unit will not start and may need to be taken into a service department for further cleaning and repair.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
TravisHDAtl
Atlanta, GA
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
September 23, 2014
Hi snowtiger,

I'm Travis from The Home Depot. Thanks for visiting our site.

Your snow blower is equipped with a 4-cycle engine that has oil in a crankcase on the bottom of the engine. When that type of engine is tipped on its side, oil can flow into areas of the engine where it is not intended to go.

A 4-cycle engine can safely be tipped on the side as long as the spark plug or the air filter is pointed upward when tipped.

If either the spark plug or the air filter is pointed downward at any time, oil will spill into internal areas of the engine where it should not be, and this oil will eventually find its way out of the engine.

The air filter may become saturated with oil and will then need to be replaced. Oil will also fill the muffler and can only be burned out. When this occurs, the engine will smoke profusely.

To correct the problem, set the machine upright and level. Check the oil and make sure the oil level is between the full and add mark on the dipstick.

Check the condition of the air filter. Replace it if it is dirty or wet. Wipe away any oil that is dripping from the air filter area.

It is safe to run the engine now. Expect the engine to smoke profusely for about 5 minutes, so move it to an open area before you start the engine. The smoke is the result of the oil burning off in the muffler.

The engine will be perfectly fine after the smoke clears.

Thank you for asking,

-Travis
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Briand
Long Island, New York, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
October 10, 2014
Snow: The leak was possibly from the fill port, especially if you laid it on that side. Before you run the engine at all, I would make certain that the oil levels are correct, and clean up the Oil from your SUV. Once the oil if filled up and the unit is in the correct orientation, put some paper towels under it to confirm that there is no additional leakage. But keep an eye on the levels
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Will this Snow Blower Make it up my Driveway?

Asked by
heldmacm
about 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower on
September 21, 2014
I've attached a picture of my asphalt driveway. Is this driveway too steep for the machine to consistently make it up and down?
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Ariens
September 22, 2014
Sorry but the pictures did not come through on this post. I would recommend this snow blower for any grade up to 10 degrees you may be able to use it on a steeper inclines but at that point chains may be helpful.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
heldmacm
September 22, 2014
Hi,

There's one picture, and it came through fine on my end (within this question). I'd feel more comfortable about buying this machine if you saw a picture of my driveway and said whether or not the snow blower should be able to make it up and down. If you can't see it within the question, how can I get it to you?

Thank you.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Jeff
West Hartford, CT, USA
September 22, 2014
Yes I think it will as your slope does not look all that steep. You may just need to go up a bit slower than full speed.
Jeff
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Briand
Long Island, New York, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
September 22, 2014
Based on my experience, I have added Chains to my wheels to get a Better Grip on the ICE under the Snow cover and with the Drive train, unless it is more than a 45Degree incline, I believe it will handle it.

Of course overall speed is based on depth of Snow and if wet or dry, because the wet snow will require a Slower forward speed with Full Speed Auger cutting through.

Of course you will need to have good Foot traction, because with Chains, this machine will dig in and Pull you up the Hill if required.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

what's the horsepower

Asked by
kent12
West Saint Paul, MN
about 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower on
August 6, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Ariens
August 7, 2014
The engine size is 208cc. Horsepower is not rated any longer on snow blower engines. I would compare the performance to a snow blower produced a few years ago with a 5-6 hp engine.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Jeff
West Hartford, CT, USA
September 22, 2014
This now list them in cc instead of HP but I think it is equivalent to about a 5 HP based on my prior machines that were in HP>
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Why doesnt have a throttle Control?

Asked by
Silvershadow27
Westbury, NY
about 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower on
July 18, 2014
I have a self prepelled model and it has a throttle control and its a 20"
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Jasper
Warren Mi.
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 28, 2014
Like many new lawn mowers - it doesn't need a throttle control. They set the governed speed at the factory- and it won't hurt the engine to run at that speed all the time. If it's mis-adjusted and doesn't run at a good speed- you can adjust the spring tension on the governor linkage. You are suppose to run the engine at full governed speed on snow blowers.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Ariens
July 21, 2014
The machine is designed to be run at full r.p.m, the manufacture has determined that because the engine is designed to run and be turned off at full r.p.m. Because of this reason the manufacture has not added a throttle control on this engine.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Pumma
westervillem ohio
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 21, 2014
Why would you need one? It has many speed adjustments and if you do not want to throw snow far then you turn the head (what ever it is called) down.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

have a gravel drive way thats not flat somewhat steep would this snow blower be able to make it up yhe driveway

Asked by
junebee2
pa
about 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower on
May 29, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
MichiganGuy
Kalamazoo, MI, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
May 30, 2014
Yes and no. The size of the wheels somewhat limit it's ability to fully propel itself, particularly through deeper snow. Gravel might exacerbate that a little too depending on whether it is loose or frozen/packed. So in light to medium snow it will go up a decent incline with minimal effort. With heavy, wet snow you would have to give it a decent push. Even there, though, the drive would help a lot... it just wouldn't do it on its own.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Ariens
May 30, 2014
Depending on the grade if it is not real steep less then 15 degrees you will be fine just make sure to set the skids in the highest position so that you don't pull up to much gravel when using the snow blower.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Jeff
West Hartford, CT, USA
May 30, 2014
This snow blower has adequate drive force to ascend a mild incline but I would have questions if it would go up a slippery steep driveway as it comes. Adding chains to the wheels would likely help immensely. Another option would be to buy a machine with a larger engine (more horsepower)
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
baahstun
Syracuse, NY
May 31, 2014
I have a long driveway that is a slow gradual incline then transitions to a sharp slope toward the top. This snowblower manages it with no problem. Sometimes the wheels slip but I can still make it up just fine. Snowblower chains would be an option for the slipping but in my case, I don't really need them.

Just a side note that I did not realize that my machine arrived with one of the wheels in the unlocked postion. The wheels have an axle lock pin that when in the locked position, both wheels turn which gives greater traction. When one pin is unlocked, it makes turning the machine much easier but has less traction. When using the machine for the first time, I could not get up the slope and it wasn't until examining the wheels that I noticed one of the axle lock pins was unlocked. So I changed the pin to the locked postion and traction has been great ever since. Of course this discovery happened in the middle of a snowstorm and would have been so much easier to deal with when it was delivered in the fall...lol...

If you want to see what I am talking about...HDepot has the "Use and Care Manual" link posted on this listing. This axle lock pin is on page GB14.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Cmill
Austintown, Ohio
May 31, 2014
Depends on how high the snow is. You have to make sure that both wheels are locked in instead of just one. You may also need chains just because the tires are not all that big on this machine. It's a good machine, but I wish the wheels were a bit bigger
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

the auger is running when I start the mach. wont stop till I shut it off can anyone tell me what is wrong

Asked by
ccbmgjh
Greenville Mi,
about 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower on
March 27, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Ariens
March 28, 2014
With the engine turned OFF, look at the cable running down from the right hand lever. It may be too tight and needs to be adjusted.

Before any adjustment, make sure the spring (at the bottom of the cable) is sitting on top of the lever and not below it. If it is caught below the lever, maneuver the spring to the top, then make sure the cable is not too slack.

If the spring is correctly sitting above the lever, adjust the cable until it has a slight amount of slack in it. This will allow the auger to disengage and stop turning.

Another cause could be the auger belt was recently replaced with a non-Ariens belt. If so, please install the correct Ariens belt, so the auger does not become a hazard. Ariens branded belts are fitted exactly with specific belt requirements.

These adjustments are noted in the Owner's Manual. Please consult your local dealer for further adjustments.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
MichiganGuy
Kalamazoo, MI, USA
April 2, 2014
First thing I would check would be the clutch cable from the handle. When the handle is released there should be just a little bit of slack in the cable. If not, you can adjust the cable by loosening the jam nut on the cable and then spinning the adjustment barrel until the spring is completely relaxed and there is just the slightest amount of slack in the cable. If that doesn't do it, you may need to remove the top cover to see if the idler pulley needs to be adjusted. (I guess it goes without saying that using the machine without the clutch working to stop the blades is dangerous.)
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
John
Michigan, USA
April 7, 2014
I would contact Ariens as this sounds like the problem that mine was recalled for - a possibly defective pulley that if it cracks, the auger won't shut off. They sent a letter for the recall and after I contacted them, they had the machine picked up in a few days and it was returned within a week.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Jeff
West Hartford, CT, USA
September 22, 2014
The clutch for the auger engagement must be sticking. Perhaps there is a spring involved. I would have a mechanic look at it
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What is the least amount of snow you can use the snow blower with, i.e. 1-2 in.?

Asked by
odie1
Pittsburgh
about 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower on
March 2, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
dwinnis
Buffalo, NY, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
March 3, 2014
This unit can move as little as 1 in. The problem is... with so little snow, it sprays it a few feet at most so it's almost impractical. At around 2 inches I can get my unit to move far enough out of my driveway to be useful.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Ariens
March 3, 2014
Depending how low you have your skid shoes adjusted it would pick up 1" of snow.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
John
Michigan, USA
March 3, 2014
I haven't used mine with any amount less than about 3 inches but I'd think what you mentioned would be the least amount that you could get into the auger and you'd have to have the blower in a higher speed setting to feed enough snow to the auger. Plus you would have to have the skid shoes set at or very near the lowest setting.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Robin
Central New Jersey
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
March 3, 2014
It depends how close you set the bottom of the scoop for.
If you adjust the guide blocks on each side (2 screws/ side) you could go down to 1-2 inches. assuming your area is paved.
If you are on stones , you don't want to go down to ground level with scoop bottom. But this blower is kind of overkill for just 1-2 inches.
I usually just sweep or shovel that much myself. Unless you have a lot of area you need to clear
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Happysnowman
Coeur d'Alene, ID
March 4, 2014
I would use it starting at about 2 inches.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Josh
March 4, 2014
I used it in 2", worked fine.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

looking for non abrasive skid shoes for model 920402

Asked by
nelson79
about 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower on
February 15, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
THDCustomerSupport
Kennesaw, GA
February 17, 2014
Thank you for your recent inquiry with The Home Depot. I believe it would be best to reach out to the manufacturer for assistance. The manufacturer is Ariens and their customer service department can be reached at 1-920-756-4688.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Ariens
February 17, 2014
The non abrasive skid shoes for this model is 72001300 and if Home Depot does not carry them please go to a local Ariens dealer and one is found by going to the website of www.ariens.com and click on the words Where to Buy.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
John
Michigan, USA
March 3, 2014
The manual indicates part #72001300. I think Home Depot and Ariens carry these.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Briand
Long Island, New York, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
September 22, 2014
Home Depot does carry online the scratch free shoes for most models, or can be obtained from a local provider and they work fine and can be adjusted to keep a fine layer left behind to stop damage.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

two different "looking" holes on engine itself, please read

Asked by
njfailsafe
Central New Jersey
about 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower on
February 15, 2014
My question is this:

I notice that on the starter side of the engine, lower portion of engine there is a black looking plug that does something I guess, then on the side where the exhaust pipe is, same lower section of the engine there is a a hole that seems to have oil that comes out of it? well it looks like there should be a simliar plug thats on the other side of the engine but there isnt. However I notice a picture from another reviewer and there is no plug on this hole either, if someone can please see the two images I have attached and contact me at your convenience, I would greatly appreciate it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
snotekker
February 18, 2014
I don't know what your exact question is, but I wouldn't worry about the hole that appears to be missing a plug. I have the same hole sans plug. I shined a light down it, and it's solid at the bottom. Seems like a byproduct of a casting (perhaps this part is casted?).
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Junior
Williamsville, NY
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
February 23, 2014
It's nothing to worry about. The engine block is stamp out of a mold that allows it to have the oil fill position on either side depending on the manufacturers specs. Ariens wanted this particular model to have the oil fill on that particular side.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Ariens
February 18, 2014
I am sorry I could not open the pictures you have attached. But if there is a plug missing and you can see oil in this area, please contact a dealer to have them check this for you. There should be a plug there. To find a dealer please go to Ariens website www.ariens.com, click on Support, click on Find a Dealer.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Indy
Indiana, USA
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
February 19, 2014
Mine has a plug on both sides. Bought it this fall and have not yet changed oil, so not sure why 2 holes.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

WHY IS MY 24 INCh blower will not work in wet snow

Asked by
Fg1021
about 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower on
February 14, 2014
I would like to know if there is something I am doing wrong because it gets stuck and stop blowing snow once it is damped snow https://secure2.homedepot.com/catalog/productImages/145/9b/9bae2880-2c75-41db-993e-633784a1253c_145.jpg
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Mitch
Taunton, Ma.02780
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
February 17, 2014
I had the same issue, after about the 8th time during the same storm and very frustrated of cleaning out the chute and auger housing, I called Mr. faithful himself , Dad. He advised to dry out the housing and chute, then spray it down completely with white lithium spray, and then just to wipe off the excess, like waxing a car. I followed his advice and have not had an issue since then.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Ariens
February 18, 2014
Slushy snow is hard to throw it is going to push itself out of the housing not throw it. I would suggest when trying to move slushy snow to take 1/2 of the amount into the front blower housing and give the unit a chance to work. Use a slower ground speed when moving this type of snow.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
dwinnis
Buffalo, NY, USA
February 18, 2014
A few things come to mind:

1. Choke - Is it set right?
2. Speed - Are you running at a higher speed?
3. Second Stage - Is there a funny noise or additional vibration when activated?

I know these seem all to obvious but I would start with these three (3) items and go from there.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
snowhater
Connecticut, USA
February 19, 2014
All snow blowers have their limitations when it comes to slush. They tend to clog if the snow is too wet that is why they include the little shovel on the shrowd to clear the chute in case it clogs. Please turn your blower off (shut it completely down) before trying to clear it, people tend to lose fingers and arms if you do not.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Robin
Central New Jersey
February 25, 2014
The blades that grab the snow are like lawn mower blades.
You would need solid "paddle blades" if the snow is wet enough

wet snow will always be harder to throw than dry powder.
Spray the shoot and the inside of the frame with silicon spray before each outing, this helps slide the snow out the shoot and not get jammed up inside.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
John
Michigan, USA
March 3, 2014
You may trying to either go too fast or too slow. Going too fast will clog the chute and going too slow won't get enough snow into the auger to throw it effectively. Try various speeds until you find which is best for the snow you are in.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What is the horse power on the motor

Asked by
harley
Cincinnati , Ohio 45211
about 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower on
February 5, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
dwinnis
Buffalo, NY, USA
February 18, 2014
There are too many variables, such as carb size, muffler flow, timing, valve duration. The following are approximate values. This just lets you know that a 179cc engine can NOT be a 10 hp engine.

123 cc = 4 hp
179 cc = 5 hp
208 cc = 5.5 to 6 hp
277 cc = 7 to 8 hp
291cc = 9hp
305 cc = 9 to 10 hp
342 cc = 11 to 12 hp
357 cc = 13 hp
420 cc = 13-15 hp
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Ariens
February 6, 2014
There are many different ways horsepower can be calculated. It is no longer considered an accurate way to express relative engine power in outdoor power equipment. For this reason, engine manufacturers in this industry no longer rate their smaller engines in terms of horsepower.

In the case of Ariens equipment, products are designed and tested to match the torque of the engine to the application so that each machine will deliver industry-leading performance.

In the case of Sno-Thros, Ariens suggests purchasing decisions be based on the desired clearing width and other applicable product features. If more technical information regarding stand-alone engine performance is required, please contact the respective engine manufacturer.
-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Indy
Indiana, USA
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
February 19, 2014
They no longer use H.P. ratings on small engines. Displacement is an actual measurement. surface area of piston x stroke. Torque is what is measured on a dyno. Again an actual measurement. H.P. value is a number derived thru a series of formulas performed by the engine manufacturer, presumably under ideal conditions. A 6 hp motor installed and tuned on a specific piece of equipment may not deliver 6 hp. The 208 cc engine on the 24" snotek should equate to about 5-5.5 hp.

It is frustrating comparing different makes and models of equipment when one is rated in torque and another in cc of displacement.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Junior
Williamsville, NY
February 11, 2014
They no longer use horse power to rate small engines but it would be comparable to a 5 or 6 HP.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Robin
Central New Jersey
February 25, 2014
According to LCT, the 208CC Snow King engine is 6.5 HP
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Pacer1
Bend,OR
February 9, 2014
208cc
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

How do I change the core? I have no spark from the spark plug.

Asked by
Terry
Maryland
about 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower on
January 24, 2014
My unit is only a year old and it will not start. I've tryed everything. The only think left is the core.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Ariens
January 24, 2014
The best thing for your is to contact an Ariens dealer. A dealer may be located by going to www.ariens.com, click on Where to Buy, put in your zip code, go to the bottom of the map and select the filter Service and Parts.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
snowhater
Connecticut, USA
January 24, 2014
Having no spark not sure what you mean. Not sure what you mean by "core" either.
If there is no electrical spark to the spark plug then the unit magneto would have had to malfunctioned. If that is the case you should take the blower to a reputable service center otherwise if you have not done so replace the spark plug with the exact same type of plug make sure the spark plug gap is correct and see if it will start. Very unusual for a spark plug to foul at such a short time period but things like that do happen occasionally. Hope this helps you and did not offend your intelligence.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Assembled size?

Asked by
Mickey
Detroit, MI
about 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower on
January 8, 2014
Could someone give me the assembled size of this unit? Length, wide and height with handles in opertaion position. I have limited space to store a snow blower during the winter and need to know if this unit will fit.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Bluray
Maine, USA
January 14, 2014
25"w x 4'-6"L x 3'-6"H. SIze is total overall.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Ariens
January 9, 2014
We have a LWH. The Sno-Tek 24 inch 51.9"X26.4"X43.3".
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Ariens
January 9, 2014
There is LWH for the Sno-Tek 24. 51.9"X26.4"X43.3".
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Happysnowman
Coeur d'Alene, ID
March 4, 2014
I would say 4'x3'x2'.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
DVCMember
Cleveland, OH, USA
February 11, 2014
It measures 57" from the tip of the handle to the front of the blower.
It is 42" high - which is from the ground up to the top of the shoot. and of course 24" wide.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

will not start in cold. put heat on enjine block for 5 minutes and then it goes fine. Possible answer to this problem?

Asked by
riverbank
about 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower on
December 23, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Ariens
December 26, 2013
Oil to use in the engine should be 5W30, if you are using a 10W30 this may be why it will not start, oil is to heavy for cold weather. If that is not the case I would recommend having a dealer check the engine.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Bluray
Maine, USA
January 14, 2014
Is your "cold" below freezing? Water in gasline or carb?
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
steve
Quakertown, PA
February 4, 2014
You do not need to do this. This has an electronic starter. Plug in a power chord to the blower. I have started this at -5 F. You must do all the steps correctly. Do not push more than 3 times when you prime the engine. All the switches must be at the correct position. The choke looks confusing. If it does not start this way then move it to the opposite direction.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
MadamTechyIT
January 6, 2014
had that problem with my 'rabbit VW' car years ago .. it had an 'aluminum block' is how it was explained & aluminum freezes .. luckily you are near a heat source .. btw, thanx for the heads up
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
saddaddy2005
ostrander ohio
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
January 23, 2014
two things can cause this problem 1 too heavy of weight of oil or small amount of water in gas the oil is usally not the problem to fix the gas problem add "Heet" brand gas drying liquid to the gas just follow directions on bottle
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Where do I get a new pull starter from? Can I order one? Allready took it off.

Asked by
spider
Three Rivers, ma
about 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower on
December 22, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
TOM2
PONTIAC MI
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 9, 2014
MOST ANY SMALL EN INE SALES AND SERVICE CENTER ALL ABOUT SAME DESI N
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
steve
Quakertown, PA
February 4, 2014
Call the manufacturer.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Ariens
December 23, 2013
To get this part you can go to Fidelitone to order the part that you need
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is the electric start a battery or plug in?

Asked by
DdeV
CT
about 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower on
December 12, 2013
Is the electric battery attached to the snow blower so that you can use it anywhere in your driveway to restart it, or does the snow blower have to be plugged in with an electric cord every time you want to use the electric start?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Mitch
Taunton, Ma.02780
December 17, 2013
There is no battery, the electric start is a plug in. The pull start works easily and the machine starts first time for me.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
CharlesC
Illinois, USA
December 17, 2013
Plug in
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Dave
Danvers, MA, USA
December 17, 2013
It must be plugged in to 120v.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Ariens
December 12, 2013
The unit also has a pull cord on it in case it would stall when you are out on the drive using it.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
LukeP10
Ogden, UT
January 3, 2014
Standard 110v plug in.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
wayne
Milldale CT
December 16, 2013
The electric starter on the motor is a plug in. Any decent, grounded extension cord will get you started in no time.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

if i order online and pick up at the store will it be assembled and full of oil

Asked by
cooty
about 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower on
December 9, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
LukeP10
Ogden, UT
January 3, 2014
Not assembled but full of oil.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
wayne
Milldale CT
December 16, 2013
Mine was assembled AND full of oil.

I later looked at the models in the store and noticed the oil dip stick tube is not on the motors so this is a piece that must be assembled by them.

Remember it is always a good idea to double check the dip stick to ensure oil is in the motor as people do make mistakes. Oil should be checked prior to every running of the unit anyway to ensure it is clean and at the right level.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Mike
Buffalo, NY, USA
January 21, 2014
Mine was ordered online and delivered to my home with oil a little gas. I think they actually run the machine after they assemble.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
steve
Quakertown, PA
February 4, 2014
Yes it is completely assembled. You have to add oil yourself. Check the oil and gas before starting. You do not want to break it.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Ariens
December 9, 2013
Home Depot needs to answer this email.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
MadamTechyIT
January 6, 2014
i did go there and one was fully assembled with oil .. :)
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

I need keys for my snowblower, can I ortder 2 new ones?

Asked by
Taco
Sanford Maine
about 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower on
December 8, 2013
I lost my keys
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Ariens
December 9, 2013
Keys, are available through your local Ariens dealer. Please go to www.ariens.com and click on "Where to Buy".
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
redjohn
Fort Wayne, IN, USA
January 11, 2014
Contact your service representive located on your paperwork that came with your unit.
If you do not have paperwork, look up in your phonebook for the nearest dealer that carries Sno Tec
power equipment. He /She will aid you in purchacing new ones.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

This machine is useful in a sloped parking lot?

Asked by
Jorge
New York
about 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower on
December 5, 2013
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Ariens
December 6, 2013
yes this model has great traction tires for sloped lots
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Bobaganoosh
New Hampshire, USA
January 1, 2014
I have a gravel driveway with a considerable slope and had assumed before I bought it that I'd be starting at the top and blowing a trail down, then have to use that same trail back up everytime as it would probably slip if I tried to actually blow snow going up. Let me tell you, I was wrong. I was surprised, but I was wrong. This thing pulled itself up the driveway with no issues. There was one rut in the driveway that gave me trouble but a little wiggling and it made contact with the tires and off it went again.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Bluray
Maine, USA
January 14, 2014
It should work fine in the area pictured. My driveway is at least sloped that much, if not more.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Matt
December 7, 2013
It will work very well on your driveway IMHO!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
saddaddy2005
ostrander ohio
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
January 23, 2014
works well on sloped drives if not extremely sloped
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 »