Looking for Answers about Sno-Tek 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower?

Customer questions and answers for
Sno-Tek 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower

Keep tough weather conditions under control with the Sno-Tek by Ariens Two-Stage 24 in. Gas Snow Blower. The snow blower features a 24 in. clearing width, 20 in. intake height, all-steel augers and a 3-blade impeller for powerful and efficient snow removal. Six forward and two reverse speeds let you change the speed to match the conditions, and the 205-degree, quick-turn chute lets you direct the snow where you want it. Simple, push-button electric start allows for ease of use, and the rust-resistant exterior helps ensure lasting life.
Customer questions and answers:
98 Questions
 | 
407 Answers
Overall rating:
4.499 out of 5
4.5
out of
5

Customer questions and answers for Sno-Tek 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower

Question

starter plug in assembly question

Asked by
smack
about 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower on
January 29, 2015
One of the prongs broke off of where I plug the cord in. I've been told by a dealer have to replace the whole starter & button assembly, about $110-130. Is there an alternative to this?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GASPASSER
Lansing, Ks
Home Improvement Profile: Other
January 30, 2015
The pull rope is very easy to use. Thats the only way I've used to start my snowblower. I wouldn't worry about the electrical starter system. I have a bad back and I can rope start the machine.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Ariens
January 31, 2015
The dealer is correct you would need to replace the starter assembly. You can use the recoil start to start the machine instead of using the electric start.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Where does the cord plug into on the snowblower? Do I have to purchase a special cord?

Asked by
blower
new jersey
about 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower on
January 27, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Briand
Long Island, New York, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 28, 2015
No special chord required, just the standard 3 Prong chord with and accessible power source.

Of course. making sure both are in good condition and are not cracked and of standard heavy duty quality and that the circuit is at least a 15amp and the chord is strung via the rear of the blower and is not near the auger.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Armandofly
Chicago area
January 28, 2015
The cord plugs into the starter motor adaptor that is on the right side of the machine and engine, near the gas tank.

No special cord is required but be sure you have:

A 3-wire extension cord that is capable of handling current requirements (120VAC). Cord should be rated for a minimum of 13 amps, 16 gage, no longer than 25 feet, grounded, UL listed, CSA certified and labeled as suitable for outdoor use.

Plug the cord into the starter motor adaptor first, then into the wall receptacle.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Ariens
January 28, 2015
There is a cover over the electric start cover, once you remove this cover you will be able to see the prongs to plug in your cord. The electric start is on the right side of the engine. For pictures please refer to your engine owners manual.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Pumma
westerville, ohio
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 28, 2015
i standard extension cord works.. There is a gauge rating recommendation but as long as you are a true man and dont have all cheap-o extension cords then you will be good.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
tomoreau15
Providence, RI
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 30, 2015
It plugs into a small housing unit on the side near the engine. (it has a cap to cover it from getting wet). No special cord, I use a regular extension cord.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Where and how do you work the self propelled on the sno-tek two stage 24inch.

Asked by
cw344
about 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower on
January 9, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Jeff
West Hartford, CT, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 12, 2015
There are 2 levers on the handles, one on each side. Holding levers engaged will initiate the self-propelled feature. Only one is need to propel. The other one is to engage the auger to take snow in and shoot it out.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Briand
Long Island, New York, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 12, 2015
On the left side of the drive panel is a level identified by a Turtle and a Rabbit (Slow/Fast). By moving the lever to a Slow Speed at first and pressing both grips on the Handle the blower will engage the Auger and Move slowly in the forward direction.

Please make certain your pathway is clear of other people and that if needed, you immediately relase the Hand grips if you are not able to control the blower.

Safety First, and read the Full Instruction manual.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Ariens
January 13, 2015
Please refer to the set up and operation section in the owners manual for detailed instructions on how to adjust or operate your snow blower. If set up and adjusted properly the self propel will engage as you depress the traction lever on the handle bar.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Dannnnn
Vermont
January 16, 2015
press on the the left handlebar lever
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Pumma
westerville, ohio
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 28, 2015
just as you do a tiller..
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

How often should I need to fill the gas tank?

Asked by
Summer
about 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower on
January 9, 2015
This is the first time having a snow blower but I feel like I'm constantly fill the gas tank, like more than once each time I need to do my driveway. Is that normal??
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Briand
Long Island, New York, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 12, 2015
A full tank of fuel should allow for 2 hrs of blower operation, at full throttle. If you are getting much less than this, I would suggest you have your machine checked out by trained service personnel.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Bluray
Maine, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 13, 2015
Depends on the size of your driveway. Is the machine partially on "choke" making it use more gas? Are you completely filling it or partially when you gas it?
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Ariens
January 13, 2015
It depends on the driveway and how hard the machine is working but if the machine is running for longer than 40 minutes and you had a full tank of fuel it will most likely need to be refilled.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Dannnnn
Vermont
January 16, 2015
well, that depends. it takes me about 20 minutes to do my driveway and I can do it twice per tank.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Pumma
westerville, ohio
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 28, 2015
thats a very general question. is your driveway 20' or 200'
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

The discharge chute turns to the right by itself and I need to adjust the orientation frequently. How do I solve the issue?

Asked by
Armandofly
Chicago, IL
about 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower on
January 6, 2015
It happens in areas where the snow is more than 4 inches thick. The chute Left/Right orientation should remain in the desired position; in my case it rotates by itself, mainly to the right.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Ariens
January 8, 2015
It sounds like the discharge chute spring needs to be tightened. This adjustment is part of the set-up process and can be found in your owners manual on page 23 figure 20.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
techniwerke
West MI, lake effect central
January 10, 2015
you should be able to tighten the center pivot bolt a little to add a bit more friction, just don't overtighten!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

how do I start it

Asked by
fred
wisconsin
about 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower on
January 4, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Briand
Long Island, New York, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 5, 2015
Make sure the Oil level is full, fill with Gas, make certain the Key is fully inserted, put the Choke on full, Plug in the supply chord to the electric starter.

Make certain the chutes are all clear of anything. Prime the Gas by pushing in the bulb about 3-4 times, then press the electric starter button for 5 seconds. If it does not start, try several times. , but do not push the starter for more than 5-7 seconds each time(it will burn out) . If nothing happens reprime the fuel.

If you can not get it started, then I suggest you take the unit in for service to see if everything is OK.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Bruster
Thunder Bay ON Canada
January 5, 2015
Make sure the red key is inserted all the way in until it clicks or locks "home".
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Ariens
January 5, 2015
Starting instructions can be found in the owners manual or you can go to the Ariens you tube channel and check out this link.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XDQsoLN3CE4
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Dannnnn
Vermont
January 16, 2015
If you have purchased this snowblower, you should read the manual, there is alot of useful information that you need to know before attempting to start it... how to start it is on there.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
tomoreau15
Providence, RI
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 30, 2015
The directions are printed on the snow blower itself. You can either use the pull start or the much easier, plug it in with an extension cord and electric start.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Are there any ongoing deals for this machine>

Asked by
APD69
about 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower on
December 11, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Ariens
December 12, 2014
Please check with your local retailer for pricing.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Jeff
West Hartford, CT, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
December 12, 2014
This is a question for your sales department
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

zero turn

Asked by
ctguy
connecticut
about 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower on
November 29, 2014
I'm looking for a zero turn snow blower. Is this on zero turn?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Briand
Long Island, New York, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
November 30, 2014
Although this is a very tight turning radius machine, since both wheels drive, it is Not a Zero Turn. That requires either one drive wheel on turn, or that the wheels go in oposite rotation on turnes
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Armandofly
Chicago area
November 30, 2014
This is not a zero turn snow blower. However it's possible to improve maneuverability by unlocking one wheel from the driving axle.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
DFoweman
Layton, Utah
December 11, 2014
You can choose two wheel or one wheel drive. If you choose one wheel drive I believe it would be considered zero turn. You can go into Home Depot and test it. There are pins down on the wheel hub that allows you to engage or disengage each wheel. Engaging just one wheel lets you pivot and turn the machine easier.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Ariens
December 1, 2014
While there is currently no zero turn snow blowers on the market today, you may want to look at a 921024 snow blower this model will have auto-turn. That will make the snow blower operate very similar to a zero turn. The Snow-Tek snow blower does not offer this feature but you can unpin one of the drive tires for easier maneuverability.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
techniwerke
West MI, lake effect central
January 10, 2015
This isn't a mower, it's only limited by your ability to turn it yourself. you can separately lock / unlock each drive wheel, with one turning freely, it turns easier but doesn't have as much traction. With both wheels locked, it's still pretty easy to turn, biggest thing with these blowers is to not fight it, let it drive itself, never push! If it gets stuck, push down on the handles / put the weight on the wheels and she'll pull through.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Choke Open/Close

Asked by
yankeefan710
about 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower on
November 24, 2014
For some reason I am confused about the Choke. Which way is open and which way is closed?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Ariens
November 26, 2014
Turn it to the right to start it turn it to the left to run it.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
yankeefan710
December 1, 2014
Thanks everyone for your help!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Madison
Madison, WI
December 1, 2014
Vertical is closed, Horizontal is open
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Madison
Wisconsin
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
November 25, 2014
Having the knob "point" straight out (vertical) in front of you is closed, turn to right (or horizontally) is open.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Jeff
West Hartford, CT, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
November 25, 2014
There is an arrow on my machine. Turning the knob clockwise increases the degree of choke. Turning it fully counterclockwise unchokes it.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Pumma
westerville, ohio
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
November 26, 2014
open is turned to the right (down). Hence the graph picture
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Auger will not engage!!!

Asked by
Sb1002
Vermont
about 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower on
November 23, 2014
Bought brand new this afternoon. Started right up and moves forward and backward. Auger will not engage. When I press the handle it sounds like it wants to engage but won't. Tried adjusting the idler arm wheel but no help. Anyone??
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Ariens
November 24, 2014
The first think I would look at is to make sure the auger belt is on both pulleys if it is then the next step is to adjust the auger cable. This procedure is outlined in the owners manual. If neither of these steps cure the issue you may want to contact a local Ariens dealer. To find one go to www.ariens.com and click on the where to buy link and look for dealers that offer service. I am guessing it is a belt cable adjustment but if it is something more a dealer may have to look at it.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Bruster
Thunder Bay ON Canada
December 16, 2014
Either the belt has slipped off the pulleys or the shear pins have been sheared on the augers.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can it be assembled before delivery as a gift?

Asked by
Bernadette
South Hackensack, NJ
about 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower on
November 14, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Briand
Long Island, New York, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
November 15, 2014
Yes, this unit comes fully assembled and ready to go when it is delivered via White Glove Service
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Ariens
November 17, 2014
If white glove is available the machine will be set up and delivered by an Ariens servicing dealer. If White glove is not available in your area the snow blower will come unassembled in a box.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Jeff
West Hartford, CT, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
November 16, 2014
Ours arrived all assembled and ready to go.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Armandofly
Chicago area
November 16, 2014
Ask to your local HD customer service. It's possible that they can assemble the machine for a fee or, like in my case, a third party assembled it before the delivery. I am confident that in some way they would find a solution for you.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

How is the gas drained at the end of seasonal use?

Asked by
Lady
about 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower on
November 13, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Ariens
November 17, 2014
You can remove the drain plug under the carburetor and let the fuel drain this way.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
brijohn
November 14, 2014
I used a small liquid transfer pump to remove the fuel. It's just a rubber bulb with 2 hoses attached to either side.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Jeff
West Hartford, CT, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
November 16, 2014
I ran my and let it run dry. Another option is to tip it over to the side.
Another option is to find the fuel line and disconnect it.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Pumma
westerville, ohio
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
November 26, 2014
I think the directions call to drain the gas but i do not. To answer your question just run the blower until it runs out of gas.

I put fuel stabilizer in all of my gas cans which are then used in my mower and snowblower.

I will note this is my 3rd season with this blower and i store mine in a barn during the summer...well a few weeks ago i discovered the tube from the primer bulb was rotted away. I will note the manual does say to store in doors and a barn can be debatable as to if that is in doors or not.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Briand
Long Island, New York, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 28, 2015
The gas can only be drained by siphoning, but if you run the unit till almost out, any remaining gas, as long as you are using a quality stabilizer with it, should be fine. I have had my unit for 4 years now, and always leave gas with stabilizer in it over the summer and just start it up around September and it is always ready to do its job come the snowstorms in January.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

how many gears foward does it have

Asked by
NEIL1
MI.
about 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower on
November 11, 2014
i am thinking of buying it ?/
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
DinBuffalo
November 23, 2014
4
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Ariens
November 13, 2014
Great question this has six forward gear and two reverse gears.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Jeff
Buffalo, New York
November 18, 2014
6 forward and 2 reverse,
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Armandofly
Chicago area
November 13, 2014
SIX forward and TWO reverse speed.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Jeff
West Hartford, CT, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
November 16, 2014
There are 6 forward and 2 reverse speeds
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Pumma
westerville, ohio
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
November 26, 2014
without looking i think it is 7 forward and 2 backward. More than enough gears
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can the Chute be removed between uses?

Asked by
Mike
Wakefield, MA
about 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower on
November 5, 2014
I have a narrow slanting shed. In order to fit and make height clearance in the shed I might have to remove the Chute when storing between uses. Is that something that can be done easily, or is it more of a process that shouldn't be done?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Armandofly
Chicago area
November 6, 2014
Removing and reassembling the chute each time you need the snow blower is an hassle, especially if you live in a snowy area. If you use the machine no more than a couple of times per season probably it is feasible.

** Disclaimer: PLEASE BE AWARE THAT ANY INFORMATION YOU MAY FIND IN THIS BLOG MAY BE INACCURATE or MISLEADING
All information provided are at your own risk.
If you need specific advice please seek a licensed professional or knowledgeable in that area.
No consequential damages can be sought against the author of these information or advice.
This information is being given to you gratuitously.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Ariens
November 7, 2014
Great question, While it may not be ideal to remove the chute each time it is pretty simple. There is a clip that would be pulled to remove the chute rod from the chute and then two bolts that hold the chute to the auger housing. Removing these two bolts and the clip would allow you to lay the chute down and fit the machine into the storage area.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

what type of oil

Asked by
mark
caspian,mi.
about 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower on
November 4, 2014
Lost manual
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Jeff
West Hartford, CT, USA
November 5, 2014
SAE5W30 is the oil listed under specifications on the Home Depot web site where the snow blower is advertised for sale.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Briand
Long Island, New York, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
November 5, 2014
Four-Cycle Engine Oil

Ariens recommends the use of a high-quality automotive 5W30 motor oil in the four-cycle engine of your Ariens Sno-Thro or Sno-Tek machine. Refer to the engine manufacturer's manual for oil fill capacity; the capacity will almost always be less than one quart.

http://ariens.custhelp.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/80/~/walk-behind-sno-thro-engine-oil-%26-gear-case-lube
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Ariens
November 6, 2014
5W30 Ariens part number 00067600. If you need a manual you can download one on the engine manufactures website. If you are unable to find the engine manufacture website please contact Ariens at www.ariens.com
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Pumma
westerville, ohio
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
November 7, 2014
easy, google the model # and you will see you need 5W-30.

Check Engine Crankcase Oil
IMPORTANT:
The engine is shipped with
5W-30 oil in crankcase. Refer to engine
manual for detailed instruction
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Jeff
Buffalo, New York
November 18, 2014
5w-30 is what the book recommends and is what I use.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Aayan
Virginia, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
November 24, 2014
The oil you will use is 5W30.
Here is what I use.

Model # 7070680
Internet # 202274705
Store SKU # 975331
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can I use gasoline with ethanol in a Sno Tek blower?

Asked by
Sparky
Mpls.,Mn.
about 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower on
October 28, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Jeff
West Hartford, CT, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
November 5, 2014
yes as that is the only gasoline they sell around my area. I always add some gas stabilizer to my gas can I purchase the gas in and store it in until I pour it in the blower.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Ariens
October 31, 2014
Great question, you are able to use a fuel blended with up to ten percent ethanol in the engines.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Pumma
westerville, ohio
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
November 7, 2014
Why would you? i vote no.

Fuel Recommendations
Use unleaded gasoline with a pump octane
rating of 86 or higher. These engines operate
best on unleaded gasoline.

Maybe you should buy electric
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Briand
Long Island, New York, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
October 30, 2014
I live in NY and all of our gasoline has a small percentage of Ethanol and it has not damaged the unit in 3 years. As long as the fuel is not too high of a Blend (such as Bio-Fuel) and meets the required octane level it should be OK.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Aayan
Virginia, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
November 24, 2014
Yes you can (10% max.). It will work just fine but do not store the blower for longer period with the gas in the tank.
I personally use ethanol free gas and I never have start-up issues after longer period of storage.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Just purchased this and am wondering if chute impeller should make a metal clacking sound when coming to a stop.

Asked by
stu3930
S E Michigan
about 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower on
October 8, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Briand
Long Island, New York, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
October 10, 2014
Stu: Since I make certain the both impellers have stopped before I bring the blower back into the Shed and shut down the engine, I do not hear any clacking sounds. I would make certain that (With #EVERYTHING turned off) that the impellers are tight and centered and call for an inspection / replacement on the unit. Look for markings on the impellers where paint might be chipped off , a sure sign of things wrong. The warranty and the local suppliers around you should help. Especially if HD did not actually deliver the unit, those that did, should be able to make a quick adjustment if required, or replace the unit or faulty part.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Jeff
West Hartford, CT, USA
October 11, 2014
I do not think the chute impeller should make a clacking sound when stopping unless it is very brief. Is there abnormal sound when you engage the impeller? I wonder if the impeller is loose.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Pumma
westerville, ohio
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
November 7, 2014
Mine does not. i suggest if you just bought it to swap it. I have had no problems with mine
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Ariens
October 11, 2014
Yes, the noise you are hearing is most likely the brake arm engaging to stop the rotation.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

engine oil leaking. Is it a big problem?

Asked by
snowtiger
Middletown, CT
about 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower on
September 22, 2014
I recently bought the SNO-TEK 24 inch from home depot. The unit was already assembled when I made the purchase. A guy from home depot and myself loaded the unit into my SUV. In order to fit the SUV, we had to let the machine lie on its side (not remember on its left side or right side). Then I found there was oil leaking from the machine. I put a lot of paper towel underneath. After 25 minuted drive to home, quite a lot of oil leaked out.

I wondered if there is any problem with the machine? What do I need to do to fix it?

I am think to put some more engine oil and gas into the unit, and then do a test run. Is it OK to do that?

Thank you.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Briand
Long Island, New York, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
October 10, 2014
Snow: The leak was possibly from the fill port, especially if you laid it on that side. Before you run the engine at all, I would make certain that the oil levels are correct, and clean up the Oil from your SUV. Once the oil if filled up and the unit is in the correct orientation, put some paper towels under it to confirm that there is no additional leakage. But keep an eye on the levels
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Armandofly
Chicago area
November 5, 2014
Oil leaking is always a sign of a problem, but in your case it seems that the side position was the cause of the issue. First of all inspect the engine and clean the oil and the gas that probably leaked from the tank. You want avoid any accidental fire when the engine starts. Then check the oil level and add the required quantity (refer to the manual). After that start the engine and run it for just a few minutes, not more, if the air temperature is not so cold. After that check for any possible leaking.

*DISCLAIMER: Please note that my answer is just an opinion. Use it at your own risk.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
TravisHDAtl
Atlanta, GA
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
September 23, 2014
Hi snowtiger,

I'm Travis from The Home Depot. Thanks for visiting our site.

Your snow blower is equipped with a 4-cycle engine that has oil in a crankcase on the bottom of the engine. When that type of engine is tipped on its side, oil can flow into areas of the engine where it is not intended to go.

A 4-cycle engine can safely be tipped on the side as long as the spark plug or the air filter is pointed upward when tipped.

If either the spark plug or the air filter is pointed downward at any time, oil will spill into internal areas of the engine where it should not be, and this oil will eventually find its way out of the engine.

The air filter may become saturated with oil and will then need to be replaced. Oil will also fill the muffler and can only be burned out. When this occurs, the engine will smoke profusely.

To correct the problem, set the machine upright and level. Check the oil and make sure the oil level is between the full and add mark on the dipstick.

Check the condition of the air filter. Replace it if it is dirty or wet. Wipe away any oil that is dripping from the air filter area.

It is safe to run the engine now. Expect the engine to smoke profusely for about 5 minutes, so move it to an open area before you start the engine. The smoke is the result of the oil burning off in the muffler.

The engine will be perfectly fine after the smoke clears.

Thank you for asking,

-Travis
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Ariens
September 23, 2014
I am sorry to hear that the machine was put into your vehicle on its side. This is not recommended because the oil will leak and flow into Areas it is not intended to go. If you want to fix the issue your self. Pull the spark plug and pull the engine over several times this will clear the oil out of the cylinder . ( Note oil will come out of the spark plug hole so make sure you have a way of catching it before it makes a mess in the garage or driveway) Once this is done you can whip off an oil on the outside of the engine. Top off the engine with new oil, remove the muffler and clean the oil off the outside and inside the muffler and then reassembly. At this point you can try to run the machine. Make sure to reinstall the spark plug and then start the engine. There is a possibility that the unit will not start and may need to be taken into a service department for further cleaning and repair.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
John
Detroit Mi.
November 1, 2014
The oil could have leaked out the oil fill tube. Top the oil off and start it up let it run a few minutes 2-3 then shut it down and recheck for oil level and leaks.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Will this Snow Blower Make it up my Driveway?

Asked by
heldmacm
about 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower on
September 21, 2014
I've attached a picture of my asphalt driveway. Is this driveway too steep for the machine to consistently make it up and down?
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Briand
Long Island, New York, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
September 22, 2014
Based on my experience, I have added Chains to my wheels to get a Better Grip on the ICE under the Snow cover and with the Drive train, unless it is more than a 45Degree incline, I believe it will handle it.

Of course overall speed is based on depth of Snow and if wet or dry, because the wet snow will require a Slower forward speed with Full Speed Auger cutting through.

Of course you will need to have good Foot traction, because with Chains, this machine will dig in and Pull you up the Hill if required.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Ariens
September 22, 2014
Sorry but the pictures did not come through on this post. I would recommend this snow blower for any grade up to 10 degrees you may be able to use it on a steeper inclines but at that point chains may be helpful.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
heldmacm
September 22, 2014
Hi,

There's one picture, and it came through fine on my end (within this question). I'd feel more comfortable about buying this machine if you saw a picture of my driveway and said whether or not the snow blower should be able to make it up and down. If you can't see it within the question, how can I get it to you?

Thank you.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Jeff
West Hartford, CT, USA
September 22, 2014
Yes I think it will as your slope does not look all that steep. You may just need to go up a bit slower than full speed.
Jeff
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Pumma
westerville, ohio
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
November 7, 2014
I have a fairly steep driveway. In fact i have to engage my E brake (f-150) when i park in the drive. I say yes it will work assuming ice is not the first layer. It is 1 wheel drive
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

what's the horsepower

Asked by
kent12
West Saint Paul, MN
about 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower on
August 6, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Ariens
August 7, 2014
The engine size is 208cc. Horsepower is not rated any longer on snow blower engines. I would compare the performance to a snow blower produced a few years ago with a 5-6 hp engine.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Jeff
West Hartford, CT, USA
September 22, 2014
This now list them in cc instead of HP but I think it is equivalent to about a 5 HP based on my prior machines that were in HP>
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
John
Detroit Mi.
November 1, 2014
Most, if not all of the new small engines aren't rated in H.P. anymore. They are only rated in CC. which this motor is 208cc. I believe that the small engine manufacturers were over rating the H.P. numbers on their engines, so the EPA put a stop to it.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 »