Looking for Answers about Dyna-Glo Pro 60,000 BTU Forced Air Propane Portable Heater?

Customer questions and answers for
Dyna-Glo Pro 60,000 BTU Forced Air Propane Portable Heater

The DynaGlo-PRO 60,000 BTU Portable Forced-Air Propane Heater features electrical ignition and 3 heat settings with a convenient dial control. It is portable and offers a 60,000 BTU maximum capacity, sufficient to heat an area up to 1,350 sq. ft. It is designed with automatic overheat shutoff and tip-over protection and is CSA listed.
Customer questions and answers:
16 Questions
 | 
69 Answers
Overall rating:
4.301 out of 5
4.3
out of
5

Customer questions and answers for Dyna-Glo Pro 60,000 BTU Forced Air Propane Portable Heater

Question

do any of your forced air propane heaters come with thermostats

Asked by
jmsvg7249
Henderson Ky 42420
about 60,000 BTU Forced Air Propane Portable Heater on
November 23, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GHP Group Inc. Support
November 24, 2014
Hey there,

All of our heaters come with temperature units to control heat. If you need additional information, feel free to give us a call at 877-447-4768. Thank you.

- GHP Group Customer Service Team
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Difference between this and Deluxe edition

Asked by
Glass
about 60,000 BTU Forced Air Propane Portable Heater on
October 28, 2014
http://www.homedepot.com/p/Dyna-Glo-Delux-30K-60K-BTU-LP-Forced-Air-Propane-Portable-Heater-RMC-FA60DGD/202922773

Both of these have 30-60k BTU. Same price. What is the difference?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GHP Group Inc. Support
October 31, 2014
Hey there,

You will need to contact HD customer support, or you can give us a call at 877-447-4768. Thank you.

- GHP Group Customer Service Team
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

will this heater help to dry out a crawl space with the hose conected

Asked by
befuddled
Cincinnati , Ohio
about 60,000 BTU Forced Air Propane Portable Heater on
October 9, 2014
I had someone do some work to a toilet and he didn't seal the pipes correctly so had water standing under the bath room in the crawl space. will this help to dry that out? I don't want to let the water stand with winter coming and take the chance it will cause more problems. Or is there a hose that can be connected to blow the heat under the house without having to put the heater under there?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GHP Group Inc. Support
October 13, 2014
Hey there,

These style heaters are for outdoor construction use only. We cannot recommend use indoors as it would be unsafe and potentially dangerous. Thank you.

- GHP Group Customer Service Team
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

does the heater start automatically

Asked by
steve
about 60,000 BTU Forced Air Propane Portable Heater on
August 17, 2014
I want to put the heater on a timer. will that work? do you need to press a start button each time you turn it on or is there a dial you can leave in the on position and then hook it up to a timer? Thanks
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
creamofwheat616
Morgantown, WV
November 4, 2014
Yes and no. It will start automatically, as the igniter is constantly firing as long as electric current is reaching it. However, you can't put it on a timer because the valve for the propane would remain open and bleed your tank dry.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Bill
Morganton, N.C.
November 3, 2014
Not recomended to use a timer, mfg. Quote.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
GHP Group Inc. Support
August 19, 2014
Hey there,

We appreciate the question. For safety reasons, this unit does not start automatically and cannot be put on a timer. You will need to manually start this unit for every use. Thank you!

- GHP Group Customer Service Team
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Too noisy but warms garage well..any other heater/cooler suggestion?

Asked by
selam
washington dc
about 60,000 BTU Forced Air Propane Portable Heater on
February 19, 2014
Is there any other type of heater you can suggest that can work in garage with gas or electric or both please help. I have to be on the phone as that is what I do and it sounds like I am in a factory.

If you can suggest a heater and a cooler for summer I would appreciate it greatly.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GHP Group Inc. Support
February 19, 2014
For this amount of BTU's it's going to take a rather loud unit unfortunately. If you can try, the 50,000 BTU version of this unit may be a bit less noisy. The other one that may be quieter is the RMC-LPC80 series which is a convection heater and does not have a blower which should reduce the noise levels a bit. Hope this works for your situation, thank you.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Wolfnspence
February 25, 2014
Any type of high btu heater that radiant heat like short stand porch heater. Any heaterthat throws a flame must never be left unattended.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
JimB
San Angelo, TX, USA
April 3, 2014
There are some electric heaters that hang from the ceiling size about 24"X24" with a fan 220 volt that are thermostat controlled that do a wonderful job. Very quite and put out a lot of heat quick
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

can I run in the house

Asked by
cheif
swansea s.c.
about 60,000 BTU Forced Air Propane Portable Heater on
February 14, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
surfmonkey
Lansford
February 17, 2014
Not really. You need lots of ventilation. I would not recommend running in a house that has people in it. So I have to say no do not run around people living or sleeping in the house. It would be ok to run to thaw out pipes for a short period of time.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
JimB
San Angelo, TX, USA
April 3, 2014
You can but You will need a lot of ventilation. If your remodeling ,doors and windows open yes but if no ventilation could be dangerous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Meterguru
New Jersey
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
February 18, 2014
You can as a temporary source of heat but with plenty of ventilation. You need an open window or door to allow fresh air in. This heater burns with a large forced air flame.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

can i use it without gas? it has electric plug in the back of it.

Asked by
selam
washington dc
about 60,000 BTU Forced Air Propane Portable Heater on
January 28, 2014
The electric cord in the back is it alternative to gas? please help quick freezing in the garage
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GHP Group Inc. Support
January 29, 2014
This requires both fuel and electricity to run.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
surfmonkey
Lansford
February 17, 2014
No. It needs gas to heat. The plug just runs the fan. You need both for heater to work.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
JimB
San Angelo, TX, USA
April 3, 2014
The electric plug you see if for the iginator and the electric fan. Still has to have propane gas
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
ExCoastie
January 29, 2014
The electrical plug is for running the blower, the propane runs the burner, which produces the heat. One will not run with out the other.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Meterguru
New Jersey
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 30, 2014
No, the power is just to ignite the flame and power the fan. Gas is burnt to produce the heat.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
creamofwheat616
Morgantown, WV
November 4, 2014
No. The electricity powers the blower and the igniter. You must have access to both propane AND electricity.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can you heat a room 20x20 up to 120 deggres?

Asked by
fiera2014
sylmar ca
about 60,000 BTU Forced Air Propane Portable Heater on
January 22, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GHP Group Inc. Support
January 22, 2014
This unit has an internal limit sensor that will most likely limit it from staying lit past such a temperature. Also, it is meant for construction purposes only.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
JimB
San Angelo, TX, USA
April 3, 2014
You probably could but would need ventilation and your propane bill would be high if you did this all the time
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

can this be used to safely heat a basement, without the dangers of CO2?

Asked by
mike
chicago
about 60,000 BTU Forced Air Propane Portable Heater on
January 12, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
surfmonkey
Lansford
January 23, 2014
No you should always use co2 detector. This heater really should not be used inside for a long time. I would get a propane heater/stove that is made for use inside use either vented or non vented.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
GHPgroup
January 16, 2014
That would be fine if there is enough ventilation as this is a construction heater and not meant for residences. Please consult the manual for any clarity on the air clearances. Thank you.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
JimB
San Angelo, TX, USA
April 3, 2014
I use the heater in closed spaces for just a few minutes to heat the room. This heater works so well that in about 15 minutes you are warm. But you still need some ventilation other wise could be dangerous use with caution with out ventilation
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
ExCoastie
January 29, 2014
I would always recommend using a CO2 detector.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Meterguru
New Jersey
January 30, 2014
you must have some ventilation, you are burning propane. I would not suggest using in a living space for any long period of time without ventilation and a CO2 alarm, it isn't meant for a temporary source of heat.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
sunglasses
alabama
January 17, 2014
My understanding, especially with propane, you should never use below grade.
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

Should this heater's fan stop when you tun the heater to off?

Asked by
sunglasses
alabama
about 60,000 BTU Forced Air Propane Portable Heater on
January 12, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
surfmonkey
Lansford
January 23, 2014
No you have to unplug it to stop the fan.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
GHPgroup
January 16, 2014
The heater fan will continue running until it is unplugged.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
JimB
San Angelo, TX, USA
April 3, 2014
NO, fan continues to run to cool the unit down. Let it run for about 2 minutes then uplug or if on a switch turn off
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
ExCoastie
January 29, 2014
When the heater is turned off, you run the blower fan for a few minutes to cool the housing before shutting it down all together.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Meterguru
New Jersey
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 30, 2014
No it wasn't designed that way. Yes I think it should be but it will keep running until the plug is pulled
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
creamofwheat616
Morgantown, WV
November 4, 2014
No, this heater's blower will run (as well as the igniter) as long as there is electricity connected.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Will this heater run without power in case of a power outage

Asked by
millman101
N.B. Canada
about 60,000 BTU Forced Air Propane Portable Heater on
December 26, 2013
also how much if any flame comes out the end.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
10 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
nlazouzi
Webster, NY 14580, USA
January 7, 2014
the heater needs power to run the fun....so no it won't work.
No flame comes out of the end even on high setting.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
surfmonkey
Lansford
January 23, 2014
No needs power to run.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
AZPoolGuy
Mesa, AZ
January 1, 2014
No, it takes power to run the forced air fan.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
sunglasses
alabama
January 17, 2014
No!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
JimB
San Angelo, TX, USA
April 3, 2014
No, has to have constant 110 voltage. There are no flames that come out the nose of the heater. Nose is long and the flame are only at the beginning of the heater well enclosed.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
JimB
San Angelo, TX, USA
April 3, 2014
Unit has to have 110 voltage and there are no flames that come out the front. Flame is at the beginning of the heater well enclosed
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
ExCoastie
January 29, 2014
No. Electricity is needed to run the blower, which distributes the heat from the burner.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
Meterguru
New Jersey
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 30, 2014
No, power is needed to run the fan and to ignite the flame. On loss of power it will shut down.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Asked by
creamofwheat616
Morgantown, WV
November 4, 2014
Nope, but the fan only draws about 75 watts, so you could easily use it with a small generator or car power inverter (careful not to run your car's battery dead!). No flame comes out the end. The flame is kept in the tube.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 10
Asked by
Jason
Virginia
January 28, 2014
I should run without power but you'd need the power initially to get the flame started (there's no way I'm sticking my hand in there, even with a long match)

The flame stays completely within the unit and only goes about 3-4 inches from the burner to inside the tube on high. The fan does a great job of keeping the flame in a right circle and blowing the heat out.
-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

how is this system compared to my kerosene heater?

Asked by
jttint
about 60,000 BTU Forced Air Propane Portable Heater on
November 24, 2013
what are the pros and cons to using this propane heater compared to a kerosene heater?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
AZPoolGuy
Mesa, AZ
January 1, 2014
I compare to a kerosene heater and there is no comparison in running costs as this will get you about 12-14 hrs on a 20lb bbq size tank. That's roughly $20-$24 usually. Look at the consumption rates for kerosene and cost per gallon and you will see this is a way better value hands down.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
surfmonkey
Lansford
December 8, 2013
Both are good heaters. Kerosene has a smell propane does not.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Meterguru
New Jersey
December 11, 2013
The kerosene heater is cheaper to operate but from my experience kerosene puts off a lot of fumes, the propane is virtually odorless.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
JimB
San Angelo, TX, USA
April 3, 2014
I have both and like the propane better. There is a kerosene smell that I don't like and pouring a liquid in to fill is a pain to me I won't use my kerosene heater unless I have to. I think the propane heater heats the room faster
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
ExCoastie
January 29, 2014
From my experience, it warms up a room quicker. Keep in mind though, with a blower distributing the heat, you have to deal with the noise form the blower running. It is fairly loud,
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Will this heater run off of a 40 or 100 lb tank without a pressure reduceing regulator?

Asked by
GaryMichael
VA, Will
about 60,000 BTU Forced Air Propane Portable Heater on
November 24, 2013
If not, what does the pressure need to be reduced to for a 40 and 100 Lb tank?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
surfmonkey
Lansford
December 8, 2013
Yes it will.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
GHPgroup
November 29, 2013
Hello Gary Michael,

Yes, you can use this regulator on both of those size tanks.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
JimB
San Angelo, TX, USA
April 3, 2014
The heater will run off any size as it comes with its own regulator
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
AZPoolGuy
Mesa, AZ
January 1, 2014
You won't be able to use a tank larger than 20lb as the larger tanks do not have the inside threads at the tank valve. This heater uses the inside threads. You would have to adapt it somehow if that's possible.
-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Meterguru
New Jersey
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 30, 2014
The heater has its own regulator on the gas line. I use a 40 lb bottle which has the same fitting as my 30 lb bottle, so as long as the 100 lb has same fitting your good.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

I plan to use this heater in a rehab until the permanent heater is installed. Do I need any special ventilation?

Asked by
ep84
Kennett Sq, PA
about 60,000 BTU Forced Air Propane Portable Heater on
November 23, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
nlazouzi
Webster, NY 14580, USA
January 7, 2014
NOT recommended...sometimes there is a strong propane odor....needs good ventilation.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
surfmonkey
Lansford
December 8, 2013
Just make sure house is not air tight and you should be ok. that is what I'm using my heater for.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Meterguru
New Jersey
December 11, 2013
No special ventilation but you need to have a window cracked since you are burning propane you will deplete your oxygen and put carbon monoxide in the space without some ventilation.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
AZPoolGuy
Mesa, AZ
January 1, 2014
You will need some intake of air somehow as it does have a large flame which will consume oxygen. You won't be able to use it in an enclosed are that contains flammable solvents etc as it does use an open flame inside the burner housing.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
JimB
San Angelo, TX, USA
April 3, 2014
This heater puts out a lot of heat fast and you should not need to run it long,but in enclosed spaces you will need a lot of ventilation ,if run very long open windows doors etc
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Kdunn
Atlanta
Home Improvement Profile: Other
December 2, 2013
There is always great concern when using a space heater...especially one that puts out 60,000BTUs.

It is advisable to place an Oxygen sensor in rooms that are not very well ventilated. Low oxygen levels can be deadly and cause carbon monoxide poisoning if depleted.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Can you modify the orifice size to make it run on natural gas ?

Asked by
Scott
Utah
about 60,000 BTU Forced Air Propane Portable Heater on
November 22, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
TravisHDAtl
Atlanta, GA
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
November 26, 2013
Hi Scott,

I'm Travis from The Home Depot.

Changing the orifice is not the only change to be made when converting to Natural Gas from Propane.

The manufacturer does not recommend or support changing the fuel setup. It will void the warranty and possibly be dangerous to anyone operating the unit.

Thank you for asking.

Travis
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
AZPoolGuy
Mesa, AZ
January 1, 2014
No. There are no internal modifications available. The gas supply is designed for propane only.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
JimB
San Angelo, TX, USA
April 3, 2014
I looked in the manual that came with mine and they don't show a natural gas orfice in the parts list
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can I run this heater off my grill propoane tank with the hook-up or fittngs supplied with it?

Asked by
Walt
Prescott, AZ
about 60,000 BTU Forced Air Propane Portable Heater on
November 21, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
8 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
nlazouzi
Webster, NY 14580, USA
January 7, 2014
Yes i believe so. i bought a propane tank from Lowes...and it works fine. same fitting i think
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
TravisHDAtl
Atlanta, GA
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
November 22, 2013
Hi Walt,

I'm Travis from The Home Depot. Thanks for visiting our site.

Yes, this heater is supplied with a hose and regulator to run on any current 10 lb. through 30 lb. propane tank. These are typical grill style propane tanks.

Thanks for asking.

Travis
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
surfmonkey
Lansford
December 8, 2013
You might have to add some fittings But yes you can run it off a 20# tank. Heater comes with every thing you need to hook it up.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Meterguru
New Jersey
December 12, 2013
The connector that comes with the heater screw into a standard 20/30/40 lb. propane bottle. Your BBQ should be using a 20 lbs bottle which is fine for this heater.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Anthony
Syracuse, New York
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
November 24, 2013
Yes, this heater runs on a standard propane tank. No additional fittings are required. Be careful not to crossthread the fitting though. The fittings are brass and easy to damage.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
AZPoolGuy
Mesa, AZ
January 1, 2014
The heater comes with it's own hose and regulator and hooks to a standard 20lb bbq type propane cylinder. So, yes.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
JimB
San Angelo, TX, USA
April 3, 2014
Yes
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
creamofwheat616
Morgantown, WV
November 4, 2014
Yes, the propane connections are universal for the 20lb. tank. However, instead of the threads connecting to the outside of your tank like most newer grills do, the threads go inside. Not a big deal, but you do just need to remember that the "righty tighty, lefty loosey" rule is reversed in that situation. So, you tighten by turning left.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
1 of 1