Looking for Answers about GE 30 in. Self-Cleaning Freestanding Electric Range in CleanSteel?

Customer questions and answers for
GE 30 in. Self-Cleaning Freestanding Electric Range in CleanSteel

GE appliances provide up-to-date technology and exceptional quality to simplify the way you live. With a timeless appearance, this family of appliances is ideal for your family. And, coming from one of the most trusted names in America, you know that this entire selection of appliances is as advanced as it is practical.
Customer questions and answers:
41 Questions
 | 
60 Answers
Overall rating:
4.279 out of 5
4.3
out of
5

Customer questions and answers for GE 30 in. Self-Cleaning Freestanding Electric Range in CleanSteel

Question

owners manuel for a 2009 ge electric range with glass top

Asked by
msmiggy1953
tampa florida
about 30 in. Self-Cleaning Freestanding Electric Range in CleanSteel on
March 31, 2014
I just purchased a home with the above stove there is no owners manuel , I can't fine the model # where do I look? Can new stove tops be bought? There is a spill that shows in between the glass on the door and also some burnt spots on the cooking top that the cleaner will not get rid of
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
April 1, 2014
Hello,
This is Joyce from GE. I will be happy to help. The rating plate is a sticker or a metal or metal-like tag. The location of the rating plate varies depending on the product.

~Check on frame behind storage drawer.
~On older models, lift front left surface unit and check for plate on the inner left side wall
~Open oven door and check on frame behind oven door.

The parts can be replaced, but it may not be cost effective. GE Consumer Service can be reached by calling 1-800-432-2737. Before calling service, please review the troubleshooting tips below:

Cleaning a glass cooktop:

Heavy, Burned-On Residue
1.Allow the cooktop to cool.
2.Spread a few drops of Cerama Bryte® over the entire burned-on area.
3.Hold a razor scraper at approximately a 45º angle against the ceramic glass surface and scrape soil. It will be necessary to apply pressure to the razor scraper in order to remove the residue.
4.Keep small amount of cream on the residue as you scrape.
5.After scraping with razor scraper, use the scrub sponge to remove any remaining residue.
6.For additional protection, after all residue has been removed, polish the entire surface with the Cerama Bryte® and a paper towel.

Regarding your oven door:

When oven is in bake, broil or self-clean the vapor/moisture formed goes through the door slots and between the window panes. The vapor carries with it grease from the foods and/or oven. When the vapor cools, the grease dries onto the glass and streaks appear.

If streaks have already appeared between the glass, the only way to remove them is by cleaning between the 2 pieces of glass. This involves taking the door apart. Service is recommended for this procedure.

To prevent streaks from occurring, wipe out the excess grease from the oven before any type of long baking/roasting period or putting the range through a self-clean cycle.

I hope this helps!

Thanks so much for checking with us. Have a good day!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

The specs for the Bisque finish stove lists that the smooth cooktop color is also bisque. Is this correct?

Asked by
Buff
Minneapolis
about 30 in. Self-Cleaning Freestanding Electric Range in CleanSteel on
June 13, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
June 17, 2013
Hello Buff,

Thank you for your interest in the GE Electric Range in Bisque.

Model # JB640DRCC cooktop ffers a bisque speckle on black glass. If you are wanting a range that is True Bisque, you may wnat to consider model. JB705TCCC. It has khaki speckles on bisque glass.

Thank you for considering GE!

Donna with GE
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
hanne
August 24, 2013
no, it is black
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Looking to purchase GE electric range jb640drbb.Do I need 220 electric outlet for this range?

Asked by
Big Mike
Folcroft
about 30 in. Self-Cleaning Freestanding Electric Range in CleanSteel on
January 4, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
January 7, 2013
Hello Big Mike,

Thank you for your inquiry on the GE 5.3 cu. ft. Electric Range model # JB640DRBB.

Yes, you need a 220 outlet. Power cords are not packaged with our ranges. It is not possible to determine the type of facilities each consumer has available or what the local electrical codes require. This is due to variations in electrical codes across the country. Some local electrical codes require a direct electrical connection (no power cord), especially in the case of a built-in oven. Other local codes may permit the use of power cords. Please check your local electrical code to be sure.

Power Ratings:
Amp Rating at 208V: 40
Amp Rating at 240V: 40
KW Rating at 208V: 7.9
KW Rating at 240V: 10.5

Donna with GE
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

concerned about quality of product

Asked by
gussie
sequim, wa.
about 30 in. Self-Cleaning Freestanding Electric Range in CleanSteel on
November 6, 2012
am told most ranges now have mother boards and that due to electronics you should purchase the extended warranty by home depot. because of electronics the products are not as dependable as those made 10 years ago. also, what does a new mother board cost installed? thanks
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
November 7, 2012
Hello Gussie,

Thank you for your interest in the GE 30 in. Self-Cleaning Freestanding Electric Range model # JB640DRBB.

Please be assured that GE has established high standards in appliance quality. Product failure rate or life of a product information is not possible to determine! Frequency of use, environment, use and care, etc. all determine the life of a product.

Like any insurance, some consumers feel more comfortable buying a service contract up front for peace of mind. It is certainly not necessary.

I hope this helps!

Donan with GE
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

can I replace the freestanding oven with my drop in from 20 years ago?

Asked by
glh
poconos
about 30 in. Self-Cleaning Freestanding Electric Range in CleanSteel on
September 11, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
September 12, 2012
Hello,

Thank you for your interest in the GE 30 in. Self-Cleaning Freestanding Electric Range model # JB640DRBB.

Without knowing if it is a 30" drop-In or a 27" drop-in it would be hard to answer. Either way the cabinet and counter would need to be altered and the base cut out and removed.

Following are the dimensions of model JB640DRBB.

Cabinet Width: 30.0"
Overall Width: 29.875"
Overall Height: 46.875"
Overall Depth: 27.75"

Donna with GE
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

will HomeDepot cart away old oven when they deliver the new one?

Asked by
nazano
Barrington, RI
about 30 in. Self-Cleaning Freestanding Electric Range in CleanSteel on
June 23, 2012
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
June 24, 2012
Hello Nazano,

Thank you for choosing the GE range model # JB640DRCC.

Yes, all freestanding electric ranges will include the following on free delivery.

* uncrated
* set in place
* leveled
* tested and connected to existing power source
* haul away of old appliance

Enjoy your range!

Donna with GE
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
PoorTom
Clifton Park, NY 12065, USA
October 16, 2012
Yes and at not extra cost to the customer
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
CaptainCaren
Reston, VA, USA
May 21, 2013
Yes! At no additional charge.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
hanne
August 24, 2013
yes
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Will using a iron skillet harm the glass top surface

Asked by
arg411
Oakland, CA
about 30 in. Self-Cleaning Freestanding Electric Range in CleanSteel on
June 15, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
June 18, 2012
Hello,

Thank you for choosing the GE 30 in. Self-Cleaning Freestanding Electric Range model # JB640DRWW.

Cast Iron cookware is not recommended. If the cookware has a burr or rough spot, it will scratch the glass surface. Additionally, it is slow to absorb heat. Once this type of cookware heats up, especially on high heat, it holds an intense amount of heat which is transferred to the cooktop. This can cause the element to shut down as a response to the temperature limiters which indicate surface temperature is too high for cooktop components to handle.

If you choose to use it anyway, please use caution.

Donna with GE
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Jules
April 3, 2013
I've used my cast iron skillet several times - does just fine.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

the oven was locked after self cleaning? does not want to unlock?!

Asked by
sam
frederick,md
about 30 in. Self-Cleaning Freestanding Electric Range in CleanSteel on
May 6, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
May 7, 2012
Hello Sam,

This is Donna with GE and I am sorry to hear you oven is locked. I will be happy to help you.

With electronic ranges there is a small chance that turning the circuit breaker off for a few minutes and turning it back on can release the door. latch to the "off"

Please do not force the latch at anytime! If the above suggestion does not correct the problem, then please see the following link for scheduling service.

http://genet.geappliances.com/ServiceNet/Dispatcher?REQUEST=CONSUMERFIRSTREQUEST&JSPID=SCHEDULE

Good Luck!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

how can i unlock the oven

Asked by
sam
frederick,md
about 30 in. Self-Cleaning Freestanding Electric Range in CleanSteel on
May 6, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
May 7, 2012
Hello Sam,

This is Donna with GE and I am sorry to hear you oven is locked. I will be happy to help you.

With electronic ranges there is a small chance that turning the circuit breaker off for a few minutes and turning it back on can release the door. latch to the "off"

Please do not force the latch at anytime! If the above suggestion does not correct the problem, then please see the following link for scheduling service.

http://genet.geappliances.com/ServiceNet/Dispatcher?REQUEST=CONSUMERFIRSTREQUEST&JSPID=SCHEDULE

Good Luck!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Does it have simmer?

Asked by
maresey
Freeport, FL
about 30 in. Self-Cleaning Freestanding Electric Range in CleanSteel on
April 9, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
April 10, 2012
Hello,

This is Donna with GE. Thank you for your inquiry on the GE 30 in. Self-Cleaning Freestanding Electric Range Model # JB640DRWW.

The surface radiant elements has settings on the control knob that go from Lo, 1-9 and a HI setting. Lo would be compared to a simmer.

Should you have any additional questions, please let us know.

Thank you for considering GE!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Jules
April 3, 2013
Yes - one burner has a simmer function.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can the smooth top accomodate Orgreenic frying cooking pans ?

Asked by
Rian Lee
Cherry Hill
about 30 in. Self-Cleaning Freestanding Electric Range in CleanSteel on
April 7, 2012
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
April 9, 2012
Hello Rian Lee,

Thank you for your inquiry on the cookware for the GE radiant range.

The Ogreenic cookware should be fine to use. I believe the bottom is an Aluminum core material but I would recommend to check with the manufacture of the cookware.

Flat Bottom pans are essential for good cooking performance since the bottom of the pan needs to touch the glass for the best heat transfer. Most current brands sold today have flat bottoms.
Use Medium or Heavy-Weight cookware.

* Stainless Steel is highly recommended. A sandwich clad bottom is especially good because it combines the durability and stability of stainless steel with the heat conduction and distribution of aluminum or copper.

* Heavy-Weight Aluminum cookware is also recommended. It conducts heat faster than other metals and cooks evenly. Aluminum residue sometimes appears as scratches on the cooktop, but these can be removed if cleaned immediately.

* Copper Bottom pans are also good, but they can leave residues on the cooktop that appear as scratches. These can be removed if cleaned immediately, but do not let a copper bottom pan boil dry. An overheated copper pot will leave a residue that will permanently stain the cooktop.

* Porcelain/Enamel pans give good performance only if they have a thick, flat bottom. Avoid boiling these pans dry, as porcelain can melt and fuse to the surface.

* Glass or Ceramic cookware is not recommended. These pans may scratch the surface. Glass is a poor conductor of heat so cooking times will be longer and they may require constant attention during cooking.

* Stoneware is not recommended. It may scratch the surface and will give poor performance.

* Cast Iron cookware is not recommended. If the cookware has a burr or rough spot, it will scratch the glass surface. Additionally, it is slow to absorb heat. Once this type of cookware heats up, especially on high heat, it holds an intense amount of heat which is transferred to the cooktop.

* Porcelain Coated Cast Iron cookware is okay

* Carbon Steel cookware is okay as long as the cookware has a flat bottom and is smooth to avoid scratching.

* Titanium cookware tested well on ceramic cooktops. Ceramic titanium is a non-stick finish applied to a base metal. We tested one with aluminum as a base metal.

I hope this helps!

Donna with GE
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What type of power cord is needed for this range?

Asked by
Meg
about 30 in. Self-Cleaning Freestanding Electric Range in CleanSteel on
March 31, 2012
3 prong or 4 prong?
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
April 2, 2012
Hello Meg,

Thank you for your inquiry on the GE 30 in. Self-Cleaning Freestanding Electric Range in Stainless Steel Model # JB640SRSS.

Electric range power cords are sold separately to ensure that they comply with all state and local wiring codes. These codes vary significantly from state to state, and even, city to city.

It will depend on the outlet you have available for the range.

Should you hae additional questions, please let us know.

Donna with GE
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
hollyjp
Corpus Christi, TX, USA
April 30, 2013
I'm not sure. When I added the stove to my cart, they added the power cord too.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

how big are the two large burners?

Asked by
boonjug
oregon
about 30 in. Self-Cleaning Freestanding Electric Range in CleanSteel on
March 16, 2012
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
March 16, 2012
Hello,

Thank you for contacting us and for your interest in GE ranges. I am happy to help.

The largest burner sizes are:
8" Heating Element (2000 watt)
9"/12" Dual Heating Element (3000 watt)
The two small burners:
6" Heating Element (1500 watt)

Please let us know if you have any further questions.

Sincerely,
Nikki from GE
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Follow up Question

Asked by
Emme
Maryland
about 30 in. Self-Cleaning Freestanding Electric Range in CleanSteel on
December 14, 2011
I am considering buying this range in the Cleansteel model but both reviewers under this model state design flaws. One is about the glass on the door shuttering after a year and a half's use and the other about the construction of the door- clean steel is not tightly wrapped around the door. Have these design flaws been changed?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
CURLY
New York, USA
February 21, 2012
I HAVE NO PROBLEMS BUT IT IS ONLY 3 MO. QUALITY IS GOOD TO EXCELLENT FOR ME
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
GE Answers
December 15, 2011
Hello Emme,

This is Donna with GE and I am happy to address your concerns on the GE 30 in. Self-Cleaning Freestanding Electric Range with CleanSteel Appearance Model # JB640MRBS.

This is a great range! Please be assured that GE has established high standards in appliance quality. It is not a common occurence but when there is stress build up in glass, there can be a spontaneous break or shattering of the glass or any product with glass. This can also be cause by a small impurity in the glass and can happen with any manufactures brand. GE will certianly stand behind their appliances.

CleanSteel is a laminate vinyl with the look of stainless, but without the fingerprints. Magnets stick to CleanSteel. CleanSteel blends beautifully with other full stainless appliances in the kitchen setting.

The door with CleanSteel will be manufactured differently than one with Stainless Steel but there certainly should not be a gap or any loose parts. This would certainly need to be evaluste under the warranty to have corrected.

Please contact us again if you have any further questions. Thank you for considering GE!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What is the difference with a convection? Is it worth it?

Asked by
Loctor
Hanover Park , IL
about 30 in. Self-Cleaning Freestanding Electric Range in CleanSteel on
January 15, 2012
I am trying to decide if including convection in my purchase.
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
January 16, 2012
Hello,

Thank you for your inquiry on the GE 30" Self-Cleaning Freestanding Electric Range in Stainless Steel Model # JB640SRSS.

In a Convection range, you only use Convection if you select this cooking mode. If not, then it will be regular thermal heating. In a convection oven a fan circulates hot air over, under & around the food. There are 3 heating elements (top, bottom & in back wall).

Benefits:
* Saves time when roasting meats and whole meals. Time savings will depend on size, type and amount of food.
* Seals in moisture while the outside of meats & poultry gets crisp and brown.
* By reducing cooking time you will save energy and reduce heat in the kitchen.
* Multi-rack baking may increase cook times slightly for some foods, but overall time savings are greater than when baking each rack individually

I hope this helps. T
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Question

I have a cast aluminum dutch oven that is slightly rounded (warped) on the center bottom. Can I use it on a cooktop

Asked by
Grandma Jan
Fairview Park, OH
about 30 in. Self-Cleaning Freestanding Electric Range in CleanSteel on
December 29, 2011
I am trying to decide if I should stay with coils or buy a ceramic cooktop.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
December 29, 2011
Hello Jan,

Thank you for contacting us and for your interest in GE electric ranges. I am happy to help.

The rounded bottom would not make good contact with the surface so you may find it takes longer to heat up and retain heat.

I would not let one cookware item stop you from choosing a smoothtop. I'll bet you could find a nice flat-bottomed stainless or anodized aluminum replacement. It would really be worth it.

For years I had a coil top range and was a little leery of a glass top until I bought my white model in 2009. As it turns out, even my college-aged son has been able to keep it clean and scratch free. I love the burner performance and it is so easy to care for. It really looks beautiful!

I am so glad to be free of scouring drip pans and wiping under the burners!

Please let us know if you have any further questions.

Sincerely,
Nikki from GE
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

i went to home depot less than a week ago and got a quote and paperwork in ocean city store for the bisque for 498.00

Asked by
pam
ocean city md
about 30 in. Self-Cleaning Freestanding Electric Range in CleanSteel on
December 19, 2011
can i still get this price....or neg the price it has gone up over 87 dollars plus i have to by the cord at 19.99 something about paying 498.00 plus 19.99 for the cord and range sounds like a better deal which would cost me 517.99 total instead of 604.99 the 517.00 i can live with but not 604.00...can you help a customer out...
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
December 22, 2011
Hello Valued Customer,
Thanks for your question and interest in this appliance. Our online store carries a limited selection of our in-store products, as well as an assortment of Internet-only items not found in our retail stores. And, just as prices in our stores may vary by region, so are our online prices sometimes different from those at your local Home Depot store.
The pricing shown reflects the current sale price. Please keep in mind we are also offering free shipping on this item. This is an online special, valid 12/22/2011-01/25/2012. A great buy!
If you have any additional questions or need assistance placing an online order, please feel free to contact our Appliance Hotline at 800-455-3869.
Thanks!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

just bought a J B640S R5SS model. It has no heating element on the bottom, There is the spot for one and I'm sure it should have the bottom element.

Asked by
Brock
St. George UT
about 30 in. Self-Cleaning Freestanding Electric Range in CleanSteel on
December 19, 2011
Any info would be great. Thank you.
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
December 20, 2011
Hello,
This is Alison from GE. Thank you for your recent range purchase. I am happy to assist you.

Model number JB640SRSS has a hidden bake element.

The bake element is concealed under the oven floor.

Please let us know if you have any further questions or concerns.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

How long is the price going to be $498 (instead of regular $599)?

Asked by
randi
Lexington, KY
about 30 in. Self-Cleaning Freestanding Electric Range in CleanSteel on
November 27, 2011
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
November 30, 2011
Hello Valued Customer,
Thanks for your question and interest in this appliance. Model # JB640DRCC, Internet # 202223970 is no longer offered at the discounted price.
We are however currently offering NO INTEREST IF PAID IN FULL WITHIN 12 MONTHS* on purchases of $299 or more. Minimum payments required. Valid 11/11/2011-11/30/2011. Interest will be charged to your account from the purchase date if the purchase balance (including premiums for optional credit insurance) is not paid in full within 12 months or if you make a late payment. You can also sign up for email savings. This will allow you to receive emails periodically concerning sales and promotions we are offering online. At the bottom of the web pages, you can enter your email address to start receiving these emails
I hope this helps!
If you have you have any additional questions for us or need assistance placing an online order, please feel free to contact our Appliance Hotline at 800-455-3869.
Thanks!
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Buying JB640srss online. How many amps is required? Can't locate in specs.

Asked by
Jack
Jacksonville, Fl
about 30 in. Self-Cleaning Freestanding Electric Range in CleanSteel on
November 26, 2011
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
November 27, 2011
Hello ,

This is Donna with GE and I will be happy to help you with your quesiton on the JB640SRSS. This a great range!

Power / Ratings:

Amp Rating at 208V: 40
Amp Rating at 240V: 40
KW Rating at 208V: 7.9
KW Rating at 240V: 10.5

I hope this help. Thank you for choosing GE!
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
1 2 3 »