Looking for Answers about BEHR Premium 1-gal. Concrete and Masonry Cleaner and Etcher?

Customer questions and answers for
1-gal. Concrete and Masonry Cleaner and Etcher

The Behr 1-gal. Concrete and Masonry Cleaner and Etcher helps prepare surfaces prior to staining. The multi-purpose cleaner helps remove rust, red clay, oil and grease stains inside and out of your home.
Customer questions and answers:
25 Questions
 | 
37 Answers
Overall rating:
3.4 out of 5
3.4
out of
5
(10 Reviews)10

Customer questions and answers for BEHR Premium 1-gal. Concrete and Masonry Cleaner and Etcher

Question

Do I need to use this on new concrete?

Asked by
USMC
Asland, Ohio
about 1-gal. Concrete and Masonry Cleaner and Etcher on
November 15, 2015
I plan to pour a new concrete garage floor and paint it do I need to etch the floor?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Behr
November 17, 2015
Hello and thank you for your question. This indoor/outdoor formula will clean and etch the concrete substrate which allows floor coatings to properly adhere to the surface. New concrete must cure for a minimum of 30 days. Please follow all label instructions.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

do i have to use behr cleaner and etcher on a concrete driveway that is a rough surface?

Asked by
rp
little rock ,Arkansas
about 1-gal. Concrete and Masonry Cleaner and Etcher on
October 28, 2015
i was just going to use behr no.990 degreaser & cleaner. the concrete is two years old, i am going to use behr bonding primer and then stain with behr semi transparent stain.will this be ok?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Behr
October 29, 2015
Hi rp,

Thanks for your question. No etcher is needed if it is all a rough texture. It will need to feel similar to 150 grit sand paper or rougher. Please make sure there are no smooth spots. Using 990 is a good idea, and you will also need bonding primer if you are planning to drive on it.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Safe for Use around fish Pond?

Asked by
Starfishprime
Santa Fe, NM
about 1-gal. Concrete and Masonry Cleaner and Etcher on
October 9, 2015
Have flagstone that needs cleaning around some outdoor ponds that contain goldfish. Will this product harm the fish?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Behr
October 13, 2015
Hi Starfishprime, thank you for your question. No, this would be harmful to the fish. Be sure to follow all back label instructions and best of luck on your project.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

I have a new concrete hard troweled slab which has been then sanded with grits up to 80.

Asked by
pollen
about 1-gal. Concrete and Masonry Cleaner and Etcher on
October 3, 2015
It's perfectly clean. Can I apply the Behr semi-transparent stain directly or do I need to first apply the Behr concrete masonry cleaner and etcher?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Behr
October 6, 2015
Hi pollen, thank you for your question. No need to apply the etcher if it is already close to 80 grit. However, you need to wait at least 30 days for new concrete to cure. Be sure to follow all back label instructions and best of luck on your project.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

How strong is the odor of this product?

Asked by
thistle
Deltona, FL
about 1-gal. Concrete and Masonry Cleaner and Etcher on
September 6, 2015
I have a lot of allergies and need to be cautious in products I use.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Behr
September 8, 2015
Hi Thistle, thank you for your question. This product does have an odor. However, the strength of the odor, can be depend upon the person. For that reason, our product label recommends to work in a well-ventilated area. Be sure to follow all back label instructions and best of luck on your project.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
dan
st. louis
December 7, 2015
not bad
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

can product be used to remove sealer ?

Asked by
Vinnie
Mt Airy MD
about 1-gal. Concrete and Masonry Cleaner and Etcher on
September 1, 2015
have decorative stenciled concrete with existing yellowed acrylic sealer on surface. Can product remove this safely ?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Behr
September 2, 2015
Hello and thank you for your question. BEHR PREMIUM® Concrete & Masonry Cleaner & Etcher cannot remove sealer because it is not meant to be used as a stripper. We recommend using BEHR PREMIUM® Concrete & Masonry Paint Stripper instead. Be sure to read all back-label instructions and best of luck on your project.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
CommunityAnswer
September 2, 2015
No, the cleaner is recommended to be used on clean surfaces.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

will this product remove concrete rust stains?

Asked by
rl
chicago
about 1-gal. Concrete and Masonry Cleaner and Etcher on
August 31, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Behr
September 1, 2015
Hello and thank you for your question. Yes, the BEHR PREMIUM® Concrete & Masonry Cleaner & Etcher does clean rust stains. It also cleans red clay, oil and grease stains. Be sure to follow all back label instructions and best of luck on your project.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

I want to renovate my concrete pool deck that has a cool deck coating applied , will I be able to paint this product after claeaning and preparation

Asked by
Bigdog3009
Cypress houston
about 1-gal. Concrete and Masonry Cleaner and Etcher on
June 4, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Behr
June 5, 2015
Thank you for your interest in our Behr Premium Concrete and Masonry Cleaner and Etcher. This product is meant for interior or exterior uncoated surfaces. Since you have a "cool deck" coating applied, Behr Premium Concrete and Masonry Cleaner and Etcher is not the correct product to use. In addition, a "cool deck" coating is an applied cement polymer overlay whose composition may vary by manufacturer. Therefore, we cannot recommend any of our top coatings to use. When using Behr Premium products , please follow all back label directions to ensure proper surface preparation and application.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

previous painted surface

Asked by
dino
about 1-gal. Concrete and Masonry Cleaner and Etcher on
February 10, 2015
can I use this product on a previous painted surface of behr 1 part epoxy .so I can repaint with the same
paint only different color
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Behr
February 10, 2015
Hello and thank you for your question. To recoat over an existing coating, remove any loose or peeling paint and scuff sand the surface. Use a product such as BEHR PREMIUM No. 990 Concrete and Masonry Degreaser and Cleaner to clean previously coated surfaces in sound condition. Then, use a product such as BEHR PREMIUM No. 991 Concrete & Masonry Cleaner & Etcher to clean and etch any bare concrete area. Spot prime all bare concrete areas with a product such as BEHR PREMIUM No. 880 Concrete & Masonry Bonding Primer to increase adhesion of topcoat to the surface. Be sure to follow all label instructions. Hope this helps and best of luck on your project!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can I leave it on for more than the recommended 20 minutes

Asked by
Neuromancer
about 1-gal. Concrete and Masonry Cleaner and Etcher on
January 28, 2015
A reviewer said they wished they had left the etcher on longer as they had to re-apply. Is it ok to leave it on 30 or 40 minutes? What would be the downside to doing that?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Behr
January 29, 2015
Hello and thank you for your interest in Behr Premium Concrete & Masonry Cleaner & Etcher. We recommend allowing the product to stand for 10-20 minutes before scrubbing as this is the time the product is effective. The downside to leaving the product on for 30 to 40 minutes would be the concern of the product drying, making it more difficult to thoroughly rinsing away and removing all remaining residue. Dense and smooth surfaces, such as garage floors, may require addition applications. Please follow all back label directions to ensure proper surface preparation and application. Hope this helps and best of luck on your project!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can I use a combination soft and hard bristle broom to apply

Asked by
Neuromancer
about 1-gal. Concrete and Masonry Cleaner and Etcher on
January 28, 2015
The instructions on the bottle say to spread using a stiff bristled broom. I have a nylon broom that is half stiff bristled on the inside, and surrounded by soft bristiles on the outside. Will this broom work? Or should be broom be all still bristiles? If so why? Do the soft bristles push the cleaner away without leaving any behind?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Behr
January 28, 2015
Hello and thank you for your interest in Behr Premium Concrete & Masonry Cleaner & Etcher. For this product we recommend a stiff bristled, non-metal brush or broom to spread. Stiff bristles are suggested for greater scrubbing and cleaning the surface if needed. Please follow all back label directions to ensure proper surface preparation and application, and we wish you the best of luck on your project!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

When done sweep into basement drain?

Asked by
Neuromancer
about 1-gal. Concrete and Masonry Cleaner and Etcher on
January 25, 2015
In the instructional video on youtube for this product it says "prevent all rinse solution from entering storm drain". But if I'm applying this in the basement and rinsing it off with a hose, I was assuming I could squeegee it down the basement drain. Would this damage my plumbing because it is an acid, or is it ok for me to rinse squeegee it down the drain when I'm done? Should I neutralize the acid with something beforehand? If so, what? Is the warning because it will harm the environment?
Video Question:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Behr
January 27, 2015
Hello and thank you for your interest in Behr Premium Concrete & Masonry Cleaner & Etcher. We recommend removing excess rinse solution with a wet/dry vacuum. This is to prevent the solution from entering storm drains. Please follow all back label directions to ensure proper surface preparation and application. Hope this helps and best of luck on your project!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

how much time to allow between using the cleaner/etcher and painting?

Asked by
djanak
Texas
about 1-gal. Concrete and Masonry Cleaner and Etcher on
October 25, 2014
How much time do I have between applying the cleaner/etcher and painting. I have a sun deck about to be installed. I want to apply the cleaner/etcher before this is done to prevent damage to the sun deck. I'm not ready to paint because I have alot of construction going on in my back yard (having a pool put in). Would it be ok to apply the cleaner and then paint maybe 2 weeks later?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Behr
October 27, 2014
Hello, and thank you for your interest in our BEHR PREMIUM® Concrete & Masonry Cleaner & Etcher. Please allow new concrete to cure for a minimum of 30 days. There is no maximum time after you etch your surface as long as you have the correct profile. Your surface should be completely dry before topcoating. The 2 weeks will be plenty of time. Please follow all back label directions to ensure proper surface preparation and application. Hope this helps and best of luck on your project!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
b1barnes
Idaho, USA
December 30, 2014
Followed the instructions and let it dry over night. Just made sure no wet spots were present.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

My front porch is concrete and has glue stuck to it from where I removed a carpet. Can I use this to remove the glue?

Asked by
Monnie
Baltimore, Md
about 1-gal. Concrete and Masonry Cleaner and Etcher on
September 1, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Behr
September 2, 2014
Hi Monique,

Thank you for your interest in our Behr Premium Concrete & Masonry Cleaner & Etcher. This product is not designed to remove carpet glue. We would suggest using a product that is specifically used as an adhesive remover. The friendly associates at your local The Home Depot can help you find a product that will work.

Hope this helps and good luck on your project!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
b1barnes
Idaho, USA
December 30, 2014
This product did not remove any previous glue present. I used a carbide hand scraper to remove the glue and retreaded the area after. On other areas I made sure any old paint drippings or glue was removed before using the product.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Will this remove any concrete sealer so that I can restore the same stain?

Asked by
PaPaBob
about 1-gal. Concrete and Masonry Cleaner and Etcher on
August 7, 2014
Existing stained concrete, worn and dull
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Behr
August 8, 2014
Dear Anonymous,

Thank you for your interest in our Behr Premium Concrete & Masonry Cleaner & Etcher. This product is used to provide a suitable profile on your bare concrete for your topcoating. To remove a previous coating we would suggest a product such as Behr Premium No 992 Paint Stripper. Please follow all back label instruction to ensure proper surface preparation and application.

Hope this helps, and best of luck on your project!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Will this product damage or stain a concrete driveway/asphalt street from the runoff after rinsing off the garage post application?

Asked by
Chris
Florida
about 1-gal. Concrete and Masonry Cleaner and Etcher on
March 4, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Behr
March 4, 2014
Hi Anonymous,

Thank you for your interest in our Behr Premium Concrete & Masonry Cleaner & Etcher. Use of this product may also etch your concrete driveway. It should have no effect on asphalt. Our suggestion would be to use a wet vac to collect the etching solution in your garage. If a wet vac is not available, saturate the driveway with water before rinsing the garage to dilute the effects of the etcher. Please be aware that certain communities do not allow runoff to enter storm drains. Please follow all label instructions. Good luck with your project!
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

How do I dispose of the left over product?Will it hurt drains ?

Asked by
Tony
Rochester Ny 14622
about 1-gal. Concrete and Masonry Cleaner and Etcher on
August 13, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Crete
Oregon
August 14, 2013
I hope you are not really considering putting any product down a drain! Take it to a recycle center or a landfill that excepts it!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Behr
August 14, 2013
Dear Tony,

Thanks for using our Behr Premium Concrete & Masonry Cleaner & Etcher. For proper disposal of empty containers and unused product, please contact your local household refuse collection service. We do not advise disposing the Cleaner & Etcher through drains.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Is this product safe to apply in an area that animals will be later using?

Asked by
pmazz
portland, OR
about 1-gal. Concrete and Masonry Cleaner and Etcher on
August 12, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Behr
August 13, 2013
Dear Pmazz,

Thanks for your interest in our Behr Premium Concrete & Masonry Cleaner & Etcher. Our Cleaner & Etcher is designed to prepare concrete surfaces for painting or staining. Once the surface is prepped with the Cleaner & Etcher, it can be primed then top-coated. The top-coat will be the layer that comes in contact with foot traffic and animals. Additionally the product label instructs you to thoroughly rinse the Cleaner & Etcher off the surface. Once thoroughly rinsed, no Cleaner & Etcher residue should remain on the surface. Also please protect adjacent grass, soil and nearby plants by dampening these areas with water and covering with plastic drop cloths.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
b1barnes
Idaho, USA
December 30, 2014
I used this product in a basement where our dogs and cats are frequently. Only made sure that they could not walk on the surface until it was dry. No issues were had as the floor was exposed to the animals for about a week until the new flooring was applied.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

I am wanting to paint my garage floor

Asked by
Steve
Texas
about 1-gal. Concrete and Masonry Cleaner and Etcher on
July 13, 2013
I have some oil and auto fluids to clean off and a little paint. Should I use the Cleaner @Etcher or the degreaser @ cleaner before painting?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Behr
July 15, 2013
Dear Steve,        

Thanks for including us in your garage floor project. Based on your project area description, you'll need to do the following;

1. Scrap any loose or peeling paint. If necessary use Behr Premium NO. 992 Concrete & Masonry Paint Stripper to remove any loose or peeling paint.
2. Thoroughly clean and degrease the project area with Behr Premium NO. 990 Concrete & Masonry Degreaser/Cleaner.
3. Etch the surface to improve topcoat adhesion with Behr Premium NO. 991 Concrete & Masonry Cleaner/Etcher

We also have detailed "How-To" videos available through YouTube. For example, if you would like to use our Behr Premium 1-Part Epoxy Concrete & Garage Floor Paint, go to the YouTube Behr Channel and search for Behr Premium 1-Part Epoxy Concrete & Garage Floor Coating. There are three videos specific to you project. List are the search names.
        - How To Prep Uncoated Concrete For Paints & Stains. This video will walk you through the process of surface preparation for the uncoated areas.
        - How To Prep Coated Concrete For Paints & Stains: This video will walk you through the process of surface preparation on the previously coated areas.
        - How To Apply 1-Part Epoxy Concrete & Garage Floor Paint: This video will walk you through the process of applying 1-Part Epoxy.        
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
b1barnes
Idaho, USA
December 30, 2014
I found that old paint had to be scraped off 1st. For areas with oil I had to treat twice to get all the oil out. If this was done again, I would use acetone 1st, (as long as there is plenty of ventilation) to get most of the oil and greases out.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

BEHR Premium Concrete and Masonry Cleaner and Etcher: remove mold/mildew from concrete???

Asked by
tnukie
about 1-gal. Concrete and Masonry Cleaner and Etcher on
June 20, 2013
Have a concrete deck--no rust, oil, clay, etc. but tons of mold and mildew. Does this product remove mold and mildew? Want to follow up cleaning with Behr Deckover paint
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Jay_HD_CHI
June 21, 2013
Hi tnukie,

This product is more meant to prepare the surface by means of etching when you are using the DeckOver product on a previously uncoated area. If your area is coated already, such as a paint or old stain, then you will simply want to use the Behr Premium No. 990 product linked below to clean the surface prior to using the DeckOver product.

- Jay
 
Products related to my answer
 
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Behr
June 21, 2013
Hi Tnukie,

Thanks for your interest in our Behr Premium Concrete & Masonry Cleaner & Etcher. The Cleaner & Etcher does not remove mold and mildew. For your situation, we recommend using the Behr Premium All-In-One Wood Cleaner NO.63, which will help remove mold and mildew stains.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
1 2 »