Looking for Answers about GE In-Line Refrigerator/Icemaker Replacement Filter?

Customer questions and answers for
GE In-Line Refrigerator/Icemaker Replacement Filter

The GE Icemaker Filter Refill has a 2,000-gallon capacity per filter and lasts approximately 6 months between changes. It has a quick-connect fitting for easy installation and is made of carbon spun fiber that helps remove sediment, rust and odor-causing chemicals such as chlorine.
Customer questions and answers:
12 Questions
 | 
20 Answers
Overall rating:
4.62 out of 5
4.6
out of
5

Customer questions and answers for GE In-Line Refrigerator/Icemaker Replacement Filter

Question

I was told I need a replacement filter for my ice maker, and to buy a 1/2" one? Does this product fit the bill?

Asked by
karenjos
Pacific Palisades, CA
about In-Line Refrigerator/Icemaker Replacement Filter on
February 6, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
happy
Utah
March 1, 2014
This answer doesn't make much sense: Your ice Maker needs a particular quality filter, and one "half size" is only going to last half as long if it even meets the required standards of pressure, filtration, and fit. Get the filter recommended by your ice maker. Manuals are available online at the mfg website if you can't find your original.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
GE Answers
February 7, 2014
Hello,
This is Joyce from GE. The GXRTQR SmartWater inline refrigerator replacement water filter works with the GXRTQ filter to bring cleaner and better tasting water and ice to your home. It is very easy to install. After you install the inlet side, you need to run some water out the outlet side into a bowl to flush out the filter. After the water comes out clean, attach the outlet side of the filter to the line going to the refrigerator. Please see the installation and use & care information to ensure this will work for you.

http://products.geappliances.com/MarketingObjectRetrieval/Dispatcher?RequestType=PDF&Name=49-50073-2.pdf

Please review page 4 for complete measurements on the filter.

http://products.geappliances.com/MarketingObjectRetrieval/Dispatcher?RequestType=PDF&Name=49-50208-1_LORES.pdf

Thanks so much for your question. Have a good day!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

will this filter work for water line to espresso machine

Asked by
rodie
Bend Oregon
about In-Line Refrigerator/Icemaker Replacement Filter on
April 18, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
ddn1974
January 14, 2014
I don't see why it wouldn't. Ours is mounted under the kitchen sink and goes through a line to the refrigerator!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
archie
Salt Lake City, UT, USA
May 21, 2013
Absolutely, just let it run through a couple of cycles as there may be discolorants in the lines.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
GE Answers
April 19, 2013
Hello Rodie,

Thank you for your inquiry on the GE In-Line Refrigerator/Icemaker Replacement Filter model # GXRTQR.

GE can only recommend this to be used as it was designed for with the refrigerator. You can view the installation instructions on the Home Depot website specification page for this product under "More Info".

If you have additional questions, please let us know.

Donna with GE
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Will this filter work as a replacement with my GE GXITQ Inline Water Filter?

Asked by
busymom
California
about In-Line Refrigerator/Icemaker Replacement Filter on
September 7, 2013
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
September 7, 2013
Hi - this is Nancy from GE and I am happy to help you.

The filter #GXITQ uses filter replacement #GXITQR. The #GXITQR has now been replaced with the filter #GXRTDR.

I hope this helps. Thank you for contacting GE!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can I install this inside the refrigerator where there already is a long coil of plastic tubing

Asked by
javilabbe
Chicago
about In-Line Refrigerator/Icemaker Replacement Filter on
March 15, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
javilabbe
March 15, 2013
OK. If I cannot use this one inside the refrigerator, then which one can I use?
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
GE Answers
March 15, 2013
Hello,

This is Donna with GE and I am happy to assist you.

The GE In-Line Refrigerator/Icemaker replacement filter model # GXRTQR is not a filter that can be installed inside the refrigerator. It is installed on the water line going to the refrigerator.

I hope this helps!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Are fitting available for this filter?

Asked by
Big Bob
Mineola, TX
about In-Line Refrigerator/Icemaker Replacement Filter on
November 18, 2011
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
HomeownersHelper
November 23, 2012
Given GE's insistence on quick connectors, you'd think they're a dime a dozen. But no, the rest of the refrigerator water lines in the U.S. use normal 1/4" conventional connectors. The good news is that the quick connectors in these water filters can be unscrewed, revealing a standard 1/4" OD compression connector. Then put in a pair of Watts 1/4 in. x 1/4 in. Brass Compression x MIP Adapter with Insert (SKU # 587001) and viola... standard fittings!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
 
Products related to my answer
 
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
GE Answers
November 21, 2011
Hello Big Bob,

This is Donna and I will be happy to help you with your question on the GE In-Line Refrigerator/Icemaker Replacement Filter model # GXRTQR.

Fittings: Quick Connect with Auto Shut-Off . There are not any other filltings available.

Should you have any additional questions, please let us know.
-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

I need to replace the couplings that the filter connects to. Where can I buy them?

Asked by
Bob
St. Charles, MO
about In-Line Refrigerator/Icemaker Replacement Filter on
January 2, 2012
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
HomeownersHelper
November 23, 2012
You really don't want more of those quick connectors. You really want to replace them with something not made of plastic. The Watts 1/4 in. x 1/4 in. Brass Compression x MIP Adapter with Insert (SKU # 587001) fit perfectly in these water filters. Simply unscrew the quick connector ends (yep, those connectors that stick out of the water filter unscrew easy enough, revealing a standard 1/4" OD compression connector). The WATTS connectors turn it into a conventional 1/4" connector that you can use with most any water line.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
 
Products related to my answer
 
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
GE Answers
January 3, 2012
Hello Bob,

This is Donna with GE and I will be happy to answer your question.

GE no longer make them. The current replacement filter is GXRTDR which connects directly to the tubes.

I hope this helps!
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

WHY AREN'T THERE ANY QUICK FITTING ATTACHMENTS SOLD ANYMORE?

Asked by
VARLIN
SAN JOSE, CA
about In-Line Refrigerator/Icemaker Replacement Filter on
June 19, 2012
WHY IS HOME DEPOT SELLING THESE FILTERS IF YOU CAN'T CONNECT THEM? NOW HAVE TO BUY A WHOLE NEW DIFFERENT FILTER JUST CAUSE OF THE QC COUPLING HAS GONE BAD?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
HomeownersHelper
November 23, 2012
See my comments on how to connect these filters without using the quick connectors at all. tl;dr; Unscrew the quick connectors out of the filter, and replace with Watts 1/4 in. x 1/4 in. Brass Compression x MIP Adapter with Insert (SKU # 587001) and connect like any regular 1/4" water line.
 
Products related to my answer
 
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
GE Answers
June 20, 2012
Hello Varlin,

This is Donna with GE and I apologize for the inconvenience.

We value the opinion of every GE consumer, and we appreciate you taking the time to tell us how you feel. GE is constantly striving to provide quality products and services, and I will pass this information on to the appropriate Product Team for future development and design.

Have a good day!
-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

Tubing?

Asked by
tylstenie
about In-Line Refrigerator/Icemaker Replacement Filter on
October 16, 2012
DO I need to get the GE tubing or will my current tubing work with this filter (are they standard sizes)?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Sailor
SE MIch
October 17, 2012
If there is a line of proper size already in place for an existing filter....use it. I would recommend however if the existing line is plastic, replace it with copper of recommended size.
Really no need to use"GE" tubing unless it is available as a complete kit with all needed fittings at a reasonable price....might be more convenient.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
GE Answers
October 17, 2012
Hello,

Thank you for yur inquiry on the GE In-Line Refrigerator/Icemaker replacement filter
model # GXRTQR.

Required Tool For Installation
• a tube cutter
• 7/16² and 1/2² wrenches
• a knife
• a bucket or pan

* The filter is to be inserted (spliced) into the 1/4² OD supply tube that feeds water to the refrigerator. (Do not cut any water lines internal to the refrigerator.) Locate the filter as close as possible to the supply water shut-off valve. If the filter needs to be located behind the refrigerator, there needs to be at least 6 inches of clearance between the wall and the refrigerator. If the
appliance must be moved, make sure there is proper protection on the floor.

Donna with GE
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

WIll this filter work to replace a GXRTDR filter? Appreciate your help

Asked by
N
Indianapolis IN
about In-Line Refrigerator/Icemaker Replacement Filter on
August 4, 2012
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
THDCustomerService
Atlanta, GA
August 13, 2012
Hi N,

Thank you for your question.

According to the manufacturer- No, filter GXRTDR cannot replace GXRTQR. The fittings on GXRTQR are male -Quick Connect. GXRTDR has female fittings -Push To Connect.

Hope this information is helpful.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

The question is does the GXRTQR replace GXRTQ? The answer given previously doesn't make sense.

Asked by
Mark
Wheaton, IL
about In-Line Refrigerator/Icemaker Replacement Filter on
January 9, 2012
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
January 9, 2012
Hello Mark,

Yes, the GXRTQR is the replacement In-Line Refrigerator Filter for the GXRTQ. This is not a Smartwater filter for inside the refrigeator but for the water line to the refrigerator.

I apologize for any consfusion.

Donna
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Does this filter replace the model with the model #GXRTQ?

Asked by
charlesl
Miami
about In-Line Refrigerator/Icemaker Replacement Filter on
January 4, 2012
I want to know if this model works for refrigerators which used to need the model #GXRTQ to work. That model is not in the market anymore, and that´s why I would like to know if this model works in my refrigerator.
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
January 5, 2012
Hello Charles,

This is Donna with GE and I am happy to help.

Yes, model GXRTQ is the current In-Line Refrigerator Filter.

Should you have any additional questions, please let us know. Have a good day!
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

where can I find the quick connect with auto shut off for the GE om-line refrigerator/ice maker replacement filter?

Asked by
BOB
St. Charles, MO
about In-Line Refrigerator/Icemaker Replacement Filter on
January 1, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
January 2, 2012
Hello Bob,

This is Donna with GE and I will be happy to help you with your question on the GE Smartwater filter model GXRTQR.

This filter includes:
•In-Line Filter
•Male QC Fittings (Installed)
•Owners Manual

Quick Connect Fittings allow for easy, no mess filter change outs
Auto Shut-off Valve allow for easy filter change out

I hope this helps.
-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
1 of 1