Looking for Answers about Maytag 1.6 cu. ft. Over the Range Microwave in Stainless Steel?

Customer questions and answers for
Maytag 1.6 cu. ft. Over the Range Microwave in Stainless Steel

Need power? This 1,000 watt over-the-range unit has it, and can bring it at many different levels. The 1.6 cu. ft. unit features a two-speed exhaust fan, 10 power levels, and the Precision Cooking system, which ensures even cooking throughout the microwave. The flush hidden vent makes it easy to clean, while the charcoal odor filter helps eliminate unwanted odors from your kitchen. This unit is as versatile as your ever-changing menu.
Customer questions and answers:
51 Questions
 | 
82 Answers
Overall rating:
4.513 out of 5
4.5
out of
5

Customer questions and answers for Maytag 1.6 cu. ft. Over the Range Microwave in Stainless Steel

Question

I need a stainless over the range microwave with exhaust that has a cabinet mount, not a wall mount. Any suggestions?

Asked by
microman1
about 1.6 cu. ft. Over the Range Microwave in Stainless Steel on
April 6, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
TeamMaytag
Tennessee
April 7, 2014
microman1,

We do not offer a an Over the Range Microwave that would be able to mount to the ceiling or cabinet above. They are rear wall mount only. I am also not aware of any OTR that would have the ability to mount above and not to a wall behind. Thank you for viewing this Maytag home appliance.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can LED bulbs be used for lighting the stovetop?

Asked by
mollja
Albany, OR
about 1.6 cu. ft. Over the Range Microwave in Stainless Steel on
January 11, 2014
I have converted my house to all LED light bulbs and I was curious if is is safe to use LED bulbs for the light under the microwave, or will it get too hot there? If it does get too hot, can fluorescent bulbs be used or does it have to be incandescent bulbs?

I currently have a hood over my stove, but since my 3 yr old countertop microwave just almost caught fire, I am looking for a new one. For a few months now, the metal was rusty and bubbly in one spot on the bottom of my microwave. It was always kept dry and clean, so I'm not sure why. I saw sparking from under this spot of the microwave and it made some awful noises, so I won't even try to use it again.

I was looking at different countertop versions and then notice the above range type at a store and thought that I might actually prefer that type better. I just never thought about getting one before because we always rented, but now we own our home, so altering the cabinets is something that we are able to do.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
TeamMaytag
Tennessee
January 16, 2014
mollja,
The lighting underneath this over the range microwave is designed for incandescent lighting. However, you can use LED or fluorescent as long as the bulb fits in the housing. Thank you for viewing this Maytag home appliance.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Arky
Arkansas, USA
March 4, 2014
Yes , the led lights are the safest lights on the market.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

present Maytag micro over range # is MMV1153BAW is this replaced with # MMV1164WW?

Asked by
EL
19086
about 1.6 cu. ft. Over the Range Microwave in Stainless Steel on
July 26, 2013
trying to replace with same oven but model number is not same. Maytag over range white microwave 1000w. Bought in 2006, keypad shot,
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
TeamMaytag
Tennessee
July 26, 2013
EL,
Thank you for viewing this Maytag Over the Range Microwave. We appreciate you being a Maytag customer and owning the MMV1153BAW. The model; MMV1164WW is not a direct replacement of the MMV1153BAW, but would be the closest model as far as feature content to the model you own. This OTR has 1.6 cu ft in capacity and is a 1000 watt microwave. Thank you for the opportunity to answer your question.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Does this unit require a three prong outlet for plug in or can it be wired from the back?

Asked by
meg
about 1.6 cu. ft. Over the Range Microwave in Stainless Steel on
May 24, 2013
We are switching out a regular small hood (Miami Carey) that is currently mounted and wired to the wall. We have no outlet nearby or cabinets to hide a cord. Would like a microwave hood that can be installed the same way.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Joy1
Park City, UT
May 24, 2013
This unit has a three prong plug. I would not hard wire this unit unless you are an electrician as it draws a lot of power when cooking. Also changing the plug, you might void the manufactures warranty. Hire a electrician to wire a plug fixture and make future microwave exchanges easy.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

venting question

Asked by
Ray
about 1.6 cu. ft. Over the Range Microwave in Stainless Steel on
May 18, 2013
the answers I've read state it vents out the front; when I turn on the fan, air comes from the top of the unit. Also, is there a dust cover over for the top section where the air is vented? ie above the door/logo panel; the section that sticks out past the cabinet it is installed under. thanks!
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
mhm85205
Mesa, AZ, USA
May 20, 2013
not sure, its in our rental. we know its "self-venting". Try reading the manual? or ask a Home Depot specialist.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What is distance required between microwave and cook top in order to meet inspecition qualifications?

Asked by
Ruth
Cape Coral
about 1.6 cu. ft. Over the Range Microwave in Stainless Steel on
March 23, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
mhm85205
Mesa, AZ, USA
March 24, 2013
I'm not sure about "inspection qualification" but ours is approx. 17'' from the bottom of the microwave to the top of the stove.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Joy1
Park City, UT
May 14, 2013
30" from cooktop to exhaust (top of microwave).
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is the M922 OTR Install under the 'Required Parts' for $69.95the actual cost for HD to have someone come out and install the new unit?

Asked by
dolce123
about 1.6 cu. ft. Over the Range Microwave in Stainless Steel on
March 9, 2013
Also how much does it cost to remove/take away the old built-in microwave?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
March 12, 2013
Hi Dolce123
Thanks for asking! This ‘M922 OTR INSTALL’ is the option for installation service and the price varies by area. This is an option and if you choose to not pay for installation service you can unselect this option when placing your order. For any other questions, please call us at our Appliance Hotline 1-800-455-3869.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Joy1
Park City, UT
May 14, 2013
Buy microwave and installation bracket and Home Depot delivers, installs and takes old microwave away for free. It is always good to call your local Home Depot to confirm as rural and city areas may differ services.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

do you have an above ramge microwave 15 3/4 heigh and 15 1/4 deep?

Asked by
irene
about 1.6 cu. ft. Over the Range Microwave in Stainless Steel on
February 1, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
February 1, 2013
Hi Irene
Thank you for asking. We carry only 1 unit that matches your measurements and im pasting the link below for you. If you cant find what you are looking for you can always get a trim kit to cover any gaps.
http://www.homedepot.com/p/t/202670...
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

what is the max wattage of the bulb to light the stove below and can the turntable be removed to use a large casserole dish ?

Asked by
tom
bath,nc
about 1.6 cu. ft. Over the Range Microwave in Stainless Steel on
December 26, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
TeamMaytag
Tennessee
December 29, 2012
tom,
The turntable can be removed for easy cleaning. However, you cannot turn the turntable off, so the center module would continue to turn with or without the plate. Removing the plate and trying to cook without might damage the module. We do have an over the range microwave, the MMV5208WB that has a wide glide tray. It is specifically designed for large items such as casserole dishes, while it still can work with typical items such as dinner plates. The suggested wattage of the bulb would be 25-40 watts. Thank you for viewing this Maytag home appliance.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

how do you change light bulb?

Asked by
al
atl
about 1.6 cu. ft. Over the Range Microwave in Stainless Steel on
December 3, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
TeamMaytag
Tennessee
December 5, 2012
al,
In order to best serve you, I would suggest that you call The Home Depot/Maytag Hotline at 877.461.3376, option 5, option 1 and speak with a parts/service specialist. They would be able to provide detailed instructions on how to change the light bulb. Thank you for viewing this Maytag home appliance.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Does it have a light on the bottom to illuminate the range top?

Asked by
Butch
about 1.6 cu. ft. Over the Range Microwave in Stainless Steel on
November 26, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
HDAnswerman
California
November 26, 2012
Hi Butch,

All over the range microwaves have a light and exhaust fan for the cooking area. These provide the same function as a regular range hood.

Mike, The Home Depot Answer Man
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
MOMof3
Baldwinsville, NY 13027, USA
December 18, 2012
Yes, however, it is located toward the back and doesn't illuminate the front burners as well as the rear.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

The cab. depth req's are 12" min 14" max. Is the 14 to avoid obstructing the recirc vents? I have 15" cabs. If I vent outside can I use this model?

Asked by
John
about 1.6 cu. ft. Over the Range Microwave in Stainless Steel on
November 23, 2012
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
TeamMaytag
Tennessee
November 25, 2012
John,
If you are externally venting this Maytag OTR Microwave, then the 15" depth should not be an issue. The 12 - 14" is mostly for the recirculation, but also ideal for installation. Thank you for viewing this Maytag home appliance.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can you turn off the beep sound

Asked by
VikkiStll
about 1.6 cu. ft. Over the Range Microwave in Stainless Steel on
November 23, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Bobmeasuretwice
Kennewick
November 24, 2012
I believe you hold the #1 button in for 3 seconds. To reactive just hold it in again for 3 seconds.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is it safe to remove turntable in order to microwave more than one dish or larger dishes?

Asked by
GUM
about 1.6 cu. ft. Over the Range Microwave in Stainless Steel on
November 16, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
TeamMaytag
Tennessee
November 17, 2012
GUM,
I would not remove the turntable while operating this microwave. On this particular model, the turntable rotates and does not have the feature to turn it off. You might potentially damage the unit. There are models that offer the ability to handle larger sized items and have the feature to turn the turntable rotation on/off. I have included a few for you to view. Thank you for looking at this Maytag Over the Range Microwave.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

how wide is the unite?

Asked by
stove top
about 1.6 cu. ft. Over the Range Microwave in Stainless Steel on
November 9, 2012
how wide and how deep is unite
0points
1out of 2found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
TeamMaytag
Tennessee
November 10, 2012
stove top,
The measurements and specifications for this Maytag Over the Range Microwave are located on the product page under the Specifications tab. I have also listed the measurements down below for you to view. Thank you for looking at this Maytag home appliance.

Assembled Depth (in.) 17 in
Assembled Height (in.) 17.25 in
Assembled Width (in.) 29.88 in
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

I have a built-in microwave (recessed into a cabinet, above a single oven)...can I use this and just buy a trim kit?

Asked by
mary
Austin,TX
about 1.6 cu. ft. Over the Range Microwave in Stainless Steel on
October 7, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
TeamMaytag
Tennessee
October 8, 2012
mary,
This Maytag Over the Range Microwave is designed to be hang over your cooking surface and act as a range hood and also a microwave. Over the range microwaves are not intended to be built into a cabinet and there is not a trim kit for them. There are countertop microwaves that designed to be built into the cabinet and are trim kits that can be purchased separately to provide a built in fit and finish. Thank you for viewing this Maytag Over the Range Microwave.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Would like a stainless microwave with a height of 12"

Asked by
Deb
about 1.6 cu. ft. Over the Range Microwave in Stainless Steel on
October 4, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
October 6, 2012
Hello Valued Home Depot Customer,
Thanks for your question and interest in this item. I have included a link to these two models for you to view. I hope this helps. If you have any further questions, please contact our Online Customer Service Department at 800-430-3376 between 6:00 a.m. and 2:00 a.m. Eastern Time daily.
Thanks.
 
Products related to my answer
Profile Spacemaker II 1.0 cu. ft. Countertop Microwave in Stainless Steel
2.9 out of 5(38)
 
 
 
Spacemaker 1.7 cu. ft. Over the Range Microwave in Stainless Steel
2.8 out of 5(18)
 
 
 
 
 
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

How far does the bottom of the micro have to be from the top of range?

Asked by
Rose
PA
about 1.6 cu. ft. Over the Range Microwave in Stainless Steel on
October 3, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
HDAnswerman
California
October 4, 2012
Hi Rose,

According to Maytag, the opening height must be at least 30 inches from the store top to the top of the opening for the microwave.

This would leave only 12 and 3/4 inch of space between the stove top and the bottom of the microwave. This is the minimum specified by Maytag.

I usually recommend 18 to 20 inches as a good rule of thump. 12 and 3/4 inch is not much space between the stove top and the bottom of the microwave.

I hope this answers your question

Mike,
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Bobmeasuretwice
Kennewick
October 23, 2012
At least 30 inches
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Does over the range microwave mean ventilation under the machine?

Asked by
Susan
Brooklyn , ny
about 1.6 cu. ft. Over the Range Microwave in Stainless Steel on
September 3, 2012
Does over the range microwave mean ventilation under the machine? or only specific models have that feature?
I used to have a samsung SMH9151w which broke. Will this model replace it with similar features?
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
TeamMaytag
Tennessee
September 3, 2012
Susan,
This Maytag Over the Range Microwave and all of our "OTR's" mean that it is a "range hood" underneath and a microwave on top. This is all one unit. Also, there is a light or lights underneath to illuminate your cooking surface or is great for night light. The appliance is factory set to recirculate the air back into the kitchen, but not before passing the air through filters. Or it can be changed to vent to the exterior. Thank you for viewing this Maytag home appliance.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
john
September 18, 2012
Ventilation is underneath unit. You can recirculate fan though filters back into the kitchen or exhaust it through a wall or ceiling duct.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Question

Cabinet Depth is only 12 inches

Asked by
salilsurendran
San Jose, CA
about 1.6 cu. ft. Over the Range Microwave in Stainless Steel on
September 3, 2012
Hello,
The depth of my cabinet is only 12" which means that this microwave will stick out by 5". Is it normal to install a microwave that sticks out by 5" and will this look ugly?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
TeamMaytag
Tennessee
September 3, 2012
salilsurendran,
The 12" depth in the cabinet it will install onto or below is fairly typical. You should not have a problem with installation. However, as far as the look and finish, that would be up to your preference as to how far you would want the appliance to stick out. Thank you for viewing this Maytag Over the Range Microwave.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
1 2 3 »