Looking for Answers about Filtrete 7-Day Touchscreen WiFi-Enabled Programmable Thermostat with Backlight + Free App?

Customer questions and answers for
Filtrete 7-Day Touchscreen WiFi-Enabled Programmable Thermostat with Backlight + Free App

The Filtrete 7-Day Touchscreen WiFi-Enabled Programmable Thermostat with Backlight can be programmed remotely from any internet connection or iPhone. It offers a large display with 7-day programming for efficient climate control that fits your schedule. This thermostat is packed with convenience features and compatible with all residential furnace types.
Customer questions and answers:
58 Questions
 | 
209 Answers
Overall rating:
3.955 out of 5
4
out of
5

Customer questions and answers for Filtrete 7-Day Touchscreen WiFi-Enabled Programmable Thermostat with Backlight + Free App

Question

Can multiple filtrete thermostats be used at the same location?

Asked by
GailVB
Northvale, NJ
about 7-Day Touchscreen WiFi-Enabled Programmable Thermostat with Backlight + Free App on
April 17, 2012
I am considering purchasing this thermostat for a church facility. We have 6 thermostats within the facility. Will I be able to control all 6 remotely?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
11 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
DelRay
North GA
May 29, 2012
Yes. I have a church too with 5 thermostats - 3 in sanctuary, 1 in Children church/nursery, and one in my office. I've converted all to this thermostat. Last weekend I was out of town, but had all necessary airs running about 7 a.m. I can check and make sure noting is left on. I can set times for each to come on or go off. When on a church budget, this is important. Away from your wifi, you connect online. When in your building, you connect with your wifi. I love them because I'm a Scrooge.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
rrizzi7210
West Palm Beach, FL, USA
June 11, 2012
Absolutely, YES. The client side application clearly supports multiple thermostats in the same building, or in multiple locations. Six units is not a large number for a typical WiFi network with one or more Access Points to handle, so you should not have any issues with that part of the installation.

I do not think you can share the set point programs between the units either, but you probably would not want to do that anyway. You can calibrate all six units to read exactly the same temperature when they are next to each other. I would set them all up inside a large box and calibrate them after letting them sit in a room for one hour (to avoid drafts and settling time), so that it will be easy to compare the readings in different parts of the building.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Tangelo
Chicago
April 20, 2012
Hello this is Tangelo from the Home Depot Community!

Yes you can, each thermostat would have it's own IP (Internet Protocol address). You can post or read more about the Model # 3M-50 at the link below.

http://radiothermostat.com/support....

I hope this helps, if you have any more questions you can find me on our website at community.homedepot.com
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Filtrete
April 20, 2012
Absolutely! To control the thermostats you will need to connect them to your WiFi network and then register them to our cloud server. This will allow you to access them from anywhere you have a WiFi connection or via an iOS or Android device. All of the thermostats can be assigned to the same account. But you will need to access them individually from the account. The software will give you a list of all your thermostats and you would select the one you want to work with. Please note a C wire is required to power the WiFi radio. Thanks!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
tiktok4321
Savannah, GA
May 2, 2012
I don't know what the limit is, but I know you can add more than one unit. You just need to set up each thermostat individually, giving each a unique description. Then link them all to the same account. I don't think you can control all units at once, but you should be able to controll all six from a single point (ie: website, iPhone, Android, etc).

I think a place like a church is an awesome place to use these!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
geeksrus
May 29, 2012
The website allows you to register more than one thermostat for a given account. So you can have any number and have them labeled like stairwell, bedroom, kitchen.

Same with the Android app, when it starts, it shows the list, u can pick the one you want to control.

You will have to control one at a time, so you can't set a temperature of 72 on all the thermostat at the same time, you can however go one by one on the website or phone app and set the temperature. Still beats walking to each one and setting it that way.

One thing in a place like a church, you gotta make sure the wifi has a strong signal at all the thermostat locations.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
Batman
April 24, 2012
Definitely. I setup 2 in my house.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
Nedstark
May 25, 2012
Yes, using the online website application you can name multiple thermostats whatever you want and also independently control them.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Asked by
MLauth
South Carolina, USA
April 30, 2012
There is no limit.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 10
Asked by
Rick
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
May 7, 2012
Yes, you will be able to have multiple one one account and be able to control them all.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 11
Asked by
RiverRat
May 26, 2012
Yes - you can control all 6 remotely by adding each one to your account
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can you monitor house temperature when checking in from Internet? Or. An you only change the settings?

Asked by
Joelh
about 7-Day Touchscreen WiFi-Enabled Programmable Thermostat with Backlight + Free App on
February 25, 2012
Meaning, if you are away can you see what the actual temperature is in the house when you are away?
-2points
0out of 2found this question helpful.
Answer this question
11 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
tekkie
February 28, 2012
YES
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Dave
February 29, 2012
Yes, if you can get this thermostat to stay connected to the wifi, it will sow you the current temp.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
wmweirich
Paso Robles, CA 93446, USA
March 12, 2012
Yes. Product is designed to give remote control, which includes actual temp and set-point - simultaneously. This is a standard design feature. You can operate the thermostat manually, like any other thermostat. The power of the system is its programability (done via the web), which gives you 4 different temp shifts per 24 hour day, allowing you to tune your heating/cooling - and minimizing your energy consumption. It works. its flexible. It is updated and the interfaces are excellent. Installation takes someone with some knowledge about 24 V systems, a little thermostat control knowledge (most people can do this). The WiFi part of this is best setup using an iPhone.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
tracsoft
Alabama, USA
March 17, 2012
Yes, you can find out the temp in the house from anywhere you have internet access. I check it from work and if I plan on coming home earlier than normal I can warm up or cool down the house on my way home. I use the iPhone app.

Picture is from the internet page on my computer.
User submitted photo
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
NSBJim
New Smyrna Beach, FL, USA
March 22, 2012
Yes, you can see the actual house temperature from the Internet.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Len357
Gainesville, VA, USA
February 28, 2012
Yes, when you log in with app or web browser it is as if you are looking at the thermostat at home which shows the current temperature.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
upstyle
Tennessee, USA
March 7, 2012
yes
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
Andy2210
March 30, 2012
yes. That is the exact reason i bought it. If you have a smart phone (Android/iPad/iPhone) you can get an app that allows you monitor and adjust the temperature. there is an "away" feature...so on the app you can just press the "away" button..and it adjusts the temp to the temp you set it to.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Asked by
james
burnaby
March 31, 2012
It works great with my Android Phone
-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 10
Asked by
Jerry
Orlando, FL
February 26, 2012
Yes, via iPhone and/or iPad application or via URL to your account. The display looks just like the actual Thermostat.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 11
Asked by
stevep
Newberg, OR 97132, USA
March 20, 2012
I use the Andriod App to monitor the temperature whereever or whenever I want. And, I can change the settings if I chose. However, one cannot keep a log of the temperature via the Internet. That feature is available for a PC located on the local network which works fine at home. For a vacation home, however, it is not likely to have a PC running full time to capture the log.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

Can this thermostat be set to automatically switch from cooling to heating?

Asked by
beahers
Sun City, AZ
about 7-Day Touchscreen WiFi-Enabled Programmable Thermostat with Backlight + Free App on
March 29, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
9 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
JakeSL550
April 3, 2012
Yes
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
DelRay
North GA
May 29, 2012
There is an "Auto" setting, but that seems to be for the fan to be auto or run. To answer your question, no. Online, you find a heating or a cooling setting. On your phone or computer you will find a heating and a cooling setting. In the spring and fall, I switch between heat and cool, but it's no problem. At least, no more than any other thermostat I've used. However, with this thermostat, I can do it from my boat, and have.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
rrizzi7210
West Palm Beach, FL, USA
June 11, 2012
Good question. The firmware that shipped with my unit (out of the box) did not contain support for auto-switching from cool to heat and vice versa. However, after I went through the process of completing the WiFi installation, it automatically upgraded the firmware and the new version DID contact support for this feature.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
JohnKIOhio
Ohio
April 4, 2012
Yes, you can manually switch it or program it to switch at certain temperatures. We are using it at our weekend cottage so we use the features.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Filtrete
April 5, 2012
Yes, the 3M50 is an auto-changeover thermostat - so long as you are running a program and are not in manual mode - it will make the switch automatically. What this means is if you are running a program the thermostat will compare the 2 temperatures, one for the cool setting and one for the heat, and determine based on the room temperature if it should be using heat or AC. Thanks!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
RedCat
March 31, 2012
From the manual:
"AUTO - The 3M-50 TRUE AUTO mode switches automatically between heat and cool throughout
the year. Unlike other manufacturers, the 3M-50 TRUE AUTO has no temperature or time limitations
(Patent pending), just program your desired HEAT and COOL temps and select the AUTO mode. The
3M-50 will switch from HEAT to COOL as needed."
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
jmoney
Austin, TX, USA
April 12, 2012
With ease. It can be programmed in or should can do it manually on the mobile device.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
MLauth
South Carolina, USA
April 30, 2012
Yes, it has a auto feature.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Asked by
RiverRat
May 26, 2012
Yes, there is an "auto" switch that will let it cool or heat automatically depending on the temp - this can also be done online
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Does the thermostat have the capability to notify you (over the Internet) if the house temp falls below a set temp point like a freeze alarm?

Asked by
BobofEM
East Meadow NY
about 7-Day Touchscreen WiFi-Enabled Programmable Thermostat with Backlight + Free App on
March 30, 2012
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Answer this question
9 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
killerbee632
May 22, 2012
I don't think it does
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
DelRay
North GA
May 29, 2012
No, not that I'm aware. You can check it with an app on your phone or computer, but I'm not aware if it will alarm you. That would be a good addition to their app, which BTW is phenomenal.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
rrizzi7210
West Palm Beach, FL, USA
June 11, 2012
It does not have notification alerts, but will always show you the current temperature around the thermostat when you access the client interface on whatever device (iPhone, iPad, Android O/S, or web page client) that you might be using.

It is something they COULD do if they wanted to, or if they get enough demand for it.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
geeksrus
May 29, 2012
Nope, but you can monitor the temperature using the phone apps or the website.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
jens4jesus
April 11, 2012
I am not sure about the alarm; but I do know you can constantly check your home's temperature via internet. You can turn it on and off remotely. It does let you know if your unit is off-line from the wifi.
You can see and adjust the temperature of your home via internet. The application is really easy.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Filtrete
April 5, 2012
Hi Bob, thanks for your question! Unforuntately, at the present time the feature to notify you if the room temperature falls below or goes above a specified temperature is not available. We are looking to have this feature available in the near future. Thanks!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
MLauth
South Carolina, USA
April 30, 2012
No, i wish it did.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
Michael
May 15, 2012
I don't think it has that feature, but you can of course program it to keep the temp above freezing.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Asked by
RiverRat
May 26, 2012
You will get an e-mail if the thermostat goes off-line only - otherwise you can view the inside and outside (local) temp online to monitor and change as required
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can this be used in my sub zero garage heated to just above freeze point or turned on and off remotely

Asked by
6stol
Alaska
about 7-Day Touchscreen WiFi-Enabled Programmable Thermostat with Backlight + Free App on
March 1, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
9 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Filtrete
March 5, 2012
The lowest temperature setting for turning on heat is 35 degrees Fahrenheit or about 1 degree Celsius.  Yes, you can turn your wi-fi enabled thermostat on or off remotely, but we do not recommend that you turn it off in sub zero temperatures. It is best to leave it on and set at a temperature above freezing.  The thermostat cannot operate in temperatures below 32 degrees Fahrenheit. Thanks!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
wmweirich
Paso Robles, CA 93446, USA
March 12, 2012
Yes, if you have 24V available to the thermostat - (AC or DC, the thermostat has a inverter in it, to convert AC to DC, VERY nice..), and your heater controls are conventional 2 or 3 wire HVAC. Check out the web-site for more details.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
JakeSL550
April 3, 2012
Yes
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
DelRay
North GA
May 29, 2012
Yes. It's digital. Set it to 33 degrees. You can turn it off or on from the other side of the planet if you have internet connection in your garage. If you can connect to the internet where you are and in your garage, you can control your thermostat.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
rrizzi7210
West Palm Beach, FL, USA
June 11, 2012
I believe the lowest set point for heating is way above freezing, so you would have to set the unit to OFF instead of HEAT or COOL, and then YES, you could connect to it remotely via the Internet and change it to HEAT (since you would not want to cool below freezing of course).
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
jens4jesus
April 11, 2012
The units range is from 35 degrees to 95 degrees. So yes, you may keep it just above freezing.
Yes on the 2nd question. If you have wi-fi or an active smart phone, you may check your garage's temperature and turn it on or off. Hope this helps!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
Andy2210
March 30, 2012
i just checked..and the lowest i can set the temp ..is 35 degrees. and yes, you can turn it off and on remotely. It connects and sends temperature information to the website every 5 minutes.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
MLauth
South Carolina, USA
April 30, 2012
it goes down to 35f, and yes you can turn it on or off remotely
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Asked by
RiverRat
May 26, 2012
Yes, It can be set to as low as 35 degrees to heat but you can calibrate it +6 to -6 degrees so adjusting the calibration up you could keep the garage as low as 29 degrees (the thermostat will think the temp is 35) you cannot calibrate remotely this has to be done at the thermostat however you can set to maintain or turn on and off remotely - The highest cooling is 95 but I keep my vacation house in AZ at 101 by calibrating down 6 degrees (it keeps my candles from melting)
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

can this unit be used for "2 stage" furnaces?

Asked by
jens4jesus
california
about 7-Day Touchscreen WiFi-Enabled Programmable Thermostat with Backlight + Free App on
March 30, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
7 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
tiktok4321
Savannah, GA
May 2, 2012
Yes. From their website: "•Can control up to 2 stages of heat and 2 stages of cool."
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
jens4jesus
April 11, 2012
I found this out for myself; thanks guys. Yes, it can be used for a 2 stage furnace. In fact, the manufacture guarantees it will work on whatever units you have.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
JohnKIOhio
Ohio
April 4, 2012
I am not familiar with what you mean by 2 stage BUT it does work with Heat Pumps and or Furnaces.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Filtrete
April 5, 2012
Hi Jen, yes, we're happy to say that the 3M50 will work with 2 stage conventional furnaces (like Gas, oil or propane force air furnaces) It will also work with 2 stage electric furnaces. Heat Pump systems are a little different and it will work with heat pumps with a single stage compressor and auxiliary heat. Thanks!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
MLauth
South Carolina, USA
April 30, 2012
Yes, i have 2 of them on my system that are two stage.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Michael
May 15, 2012
Yes. This unit can do 2 stages of heat and 2 stages of cool, or any combination therein.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
RiverRat
May 26, 2012
yes
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Why are there two Wifi ports on this thermostat?

Asked by
Jim
Savannah, GA
about 7-Day Touchscreen WiFi-Enabled Programmable Thermostat with Backlight + Free App on
May 3, 2012
What is the advantage to having a second wifi module attached to this thermostat? Is there any difference between the port on the left and the port on the right?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
7 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
DelRay
North GA
May 29, 2012
You only need one. I don't believe it would use but one if you had two and there is no difference between left and right. I asked a tech support that question one day when learning how to reset.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
donk
La
June 13, 2012
The 3M-50 has 2 RTM-1 radio ports. These allow your thermostat to
communicate with other systems.
Using USNAP Radios The USNAP ports allow you to connect
your 3M-50 to your home WiFi network. This can give you access to
your home’s HVAC system even when you are away [with additional
web service]. It can also give you access to web based efficient
energy management sites that can help you save money and protect
the environment.You can connect your 3M-50 to a Home Automation
network for HA functionality with remote access to your HVAC system
and home conditions.
To Insert a USNAP radio module:
Power off the 3M-50. Insert the radio module in either
slot on the back of the 3M-50. Power up 3M-50.
To connect to a network follow the instructions that
came with the USNAP module.

Caution
DO NOT INSERT or REMOVE USNAP radio
modules if power is ON. This can damage the
thermostat or radio modules.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
rrizzi7210
West Palm Beach, FL, USA
June 11, 2012
I have not detected a difference between the ports, but I think the second module would be used as an interface to a whole house control type system. It is called home automation, and they might have or might not have released such a module. There is no reason for a second WiFi module that I know of, unless they decide to introduce some type of fault tolerance, which is very unlikely at this price point.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Filtrete
May 8, 2012
The reason for two radio spots is to allow you to put two different radios in the thermostat. Currently only one radio can be used at a time. The side with more pins has more data lines available and in the future may allow you to put in two different radio types. Currently this radio spot is for factory use only. Thanks for your inquiry!
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
geeksrus
May 29, 2012
no difference between the these ports are really for plugins, you may have wifi on one side and something else on the other, although there are no other plugins available at the moment, a potential plugin might be something that monitors electricity use etc.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Nedstark
May 25, 2012
That port is for other modules - like extenders etc. There is no difference between the ports.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
Scott
TX
June 15, 2012
All I know I was informed by 3M help desk to make sure to put module in from right or you will get a 2 degree variance.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is there a Wifi thermostat with humidity control? Will Filtrete offer one soon?

Asked by
Wayne
Estero,FL
about 7-Day Touchscreen WiFi-Enabled Programmable Thermostat with Backlight + Free App on
February 11, 2012
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Len357
Gainesville, VA, USA
February 28, 2012
The radio thermostat model CT80 does. This is the company that makes the Filtrete thermostat.
http://www.radiothermostat.com/control.html
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
tiktok4321
Savannah, GA
May 2, 2012
The CT80, only available from the radiothermostat website, states: "•Can also control an external humidifier AND de-humidifier. and •Can monitor and control your HVAC system based on humidity as well as temperature."
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Nomis
California
February 12, 2012
Yes, the Lockstate model LS-90i available on this website.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Dave
February 29, 2012
I believe ecobee or the higher model thermostat by radio thermostat.com (the ct 80 or something like that) are both capable of humidity control.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Andy2210
March 30, 2012
The CT80 is a dynamic large display touch screen thermostat with 7-day programming capability.

The CT80 works with nearly every HVAC system - including traditional furnaces and heat pumps.
Can control 3 stages of heat and 2 stages of cool. This allows for more precise temperature regulation and less fluctuation with today's most sophisticated HVAC systems.
True Auto mode to switch automatically between heat and cool depending on environmental factors.
The CT80 can control an external air baffle.
Can also control an external humidifier AND de-humidifier.
You can program up to 7 independent periods per day.
Can monitor and control your HVAC system based on humidity as well as temperature.
The CT80 is backed by our 365-day a year call center if you have any trouble with your installation.
You must have either power from the furnace ("C" or "Common" wire) or an external transformer to power the thermostat in order to run the Wi-Fi module.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
MLauth
South Carolina, USA
April 30, 2012
Not that i am aware of.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Does this panel powerd by battery or does it need AC power ?

Asked by
SKA
about 7-Day Touchscreen WiFi-Enabled Programmable Thermostat with Backlight + Free App on
January 17, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Filtrete
February 11, 2013
The 3M50 will work on batteries if you do not use the WiFi option.  But if you want to use the WiFi option then you will need to have a C wire.  The C wire powers the thermostat and the WiFi and the batteries are for back up. Thanks!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Foodieken
January 17, 2013
Hi SKA, this thermostat is powered by batteries. You still need to connect to AC. The batteries play an integral part in the operation of this thermostat.

If you go to the web page and scroll down to the more info section, you will find the installation/assembly. Click on this and you will see the wiring guides.
.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
DETEX
Texas
January 24, 2013
Both
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
mrdoitmyself
Minnesota, USA
January 20, 2013
Yes, It requires batteries and yes it requires 24Vac power in order for the WIFI to work.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Unhappycustomer
21054
January 26, 2013
You can use only battery if you don't use the Wi-Fi feature. However, you need to monitor battery condition often because when the battery dies your HVAC system may malfunction. That is all documented in the manual.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Uncle Fred
August 24, 2013
It has 3 aaa batteries that will power the thermostat, they will not last long though.
It also powers from the "c" wire of your air handler or from an external 24 v " wall wort" power supply.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

i want to put it in a rental do they have to have internet or can it be just my iphone

Asked by
rls4356
about 7-Day Touchscreen WiFi-Enabled Programmable Thermostat with Backlight + Free App on
June 3, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Filtrete
June 6, 2012
Thank you for the question! You need to have a WiFi router and an always on internet connection at the thermostat location.The 3M50 is a WiFi device that communicates via a WiFi router to the internet. To get the 3M50 to work with your iPhone you would need a WiFi router at the thermostat location and an always on internet connection. The thermostat talks to the phone in one of 2 ways. If the phone is on the same network as the thermostat it talks directly to the 3M50 via the network. But it the phone is on a different network or on 3G/4G then it communicates via the internet to the cloud server. Please let us know if you have any other questions. Thanks!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
wirenuting
June 11, 2012
It is a Wi-Fi enabled unit. You must have an active wi-fi point.
The Wi-Fi that this thermostat uses is a plug in unit. It's not needed for operation.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
rrizzi7210
West Palm Beach, FL, USA
June 11, 2012
The renter must have an Internet connection and must have a WiFi access point connected to their router. There is no other way for you, or your iPhone to communicate with the thermostat if you do not at least meet the above requirement.

Most Internet Service Providers offer or include WiFi connectivity with their routers, so if your thermostat is within range of the router, you should be able to make the installation work.

To be safe, you should probably notify the renter that you have access to the thermostat remotely to avoid a future anti-privacy violation. Get their acknowledgment in writing, or put it into the lease to avoid problems.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
JrVarsity
VA
June 4, 2012
Yes, they need to have a wi-fi Internet connection in order for you to be able to control the thermostat from your phone.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Scott
TX
June 15, 2012
You control from your iPhone or iPad but has to have WiFi signal.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can this be used for a two zone system with one furnance and one air conditioning system

Asked by
Bob C
Warwick RI
about 7-Day Touchscreen WiFi-Enabled Programmable Thermostat with Backlight + Free App on
April 13, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
DelRay
North GA
May 29, 2012
I'm not exactly certain what you mean. I use them on traditional and heat pump units. You have 5 or 6 wires coming from the heating/cooling unit to the thermostat. It wires up similar to any other thermostat. The only thing you must have is the 24 volt wire to make it function. Out of 6 thermostats, I've only had one I needed a 24 volt adapter. It is an ancient unit and the adapter was cheap. I don't think it would work on two separate units i.e. one that heats and one that cools. Maybe this helped.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
donk
La
June 13, 2012
Statement of use: 100% Compatible with all popular
residential HVAC systems; 24VAC single, two stage
conventional heating systems (gas/oil/electric), heat
pumps, single stage or with auxiliary heat (electric
or fossil), zoned forced air and zoned hot water (2
or 3 wire), millivolt systems (with a 12-24 AC or DC
source), one or two stage cooling, and hybrid systems
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
rrizzi7210
West Palm Beach, FL, USA
June 11, 2012
I am not an expert on HVAC or heating, but I am an expert in terms of the WiFi/network component this thermostat uses to make it all work.

The documentation implies that you would need one thermostat for each system to make your installation work. However, I do know for a fact that the client side software allows you to manage multiple thermostats in multiple locations from one screen/login. This is a very important feature, because you can see the ambient temperature in the locations you have installed a thermostat and program the set points individually.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Filtrete
April 19, 2012
Hi Bob, the 3M50 works with many types of zone systems. But there are a few that require propitiatory thermostats. To be able to figure out if the 3M50 will work with your system we would need some additional information. For specific compatibility questions we would ask you contact our Technical Service Group at 888-607-5824 or filtrete@radiothermostat. Thanks!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
MLauth
South Carolina, USA
April 30, 2012
Yes
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is there a recurring cost or subscription?

Asked by
Mark
Minnesota
about 7-Day Touchscreen WiFi-Enabled Programmable Thermostat with Backlight + Free App on
July 19, 2012
Is there a recurring cost or subscription necessary in order to use the "server" to access the thermostat from the internet? Or does the purchase of the thermostat include lifetime use of the company's web & application hosting services to be able to access the thermostat via internet forever?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
BakeJ
Idaho Falls, ID
July 22, 2012
No there is not a subscription fee. You only need to have your own internet connection with a wireless router to make the setup and connection.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
dontGetSuckered
July 22, 2012
There is an indirect cost, which is that your contact information is used for marketing purposes.

One of the youTube videos for the product says that there are additional costs for some premium services, but I don't remember which ones.

Sorry. I know that's an incomplete answer, but yes, they want to extract more money from you; the sticker price is not the full price.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Patrick
July 29, 2012
no it is free.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
desmondlewissmith
Allen, TX
July 27, 2012
No reoccurring cost.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Filtrete
July 20, 2012
Thanks, for your question! When you purchase a 3M50 thermostat the base Web Portal, iSO and Androd app are free. Optional premium features are available via subscription.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

I want to install as a monitor only (no control). How does the 24VAC adapter connect to power this?

Asked by
Out of sight
Charlotte, NC
about 7-Day Touchscreen WiFi-Enabled Programmable Thermostat with Backlight + Free App on
August 2, 2012
I want to know the upstairs temperaure of the house while out-of-town. The thermostat that controls the HVAC system is downstairs. How best to power this when not connected to the HVAC system and only reading temperature and connected to wi-fi? I assume the use of a 24 VAC adapter. Then how to connect?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
desmondlewissmith
Allen, TX
August 24, 2012
You could install one of these thermostats and monitor your temp, but you'd be cheaper just buying a wifi thermometer.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Filtrete
August 7, 2012
If you are going to use it as a monitor only, an 18 volt AC at 300 to 500 miliamps plug in the wall type transformer should work well. Once you have the transformer put one lead on the RH terminal and the other on the C terminal. Since there is no polarity it will not matter which wire goes on C or RH.

If you have any additional questions please let us know.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
chattermann
Draper, UT
August 26, 2012
Yes, use a 24 VAC adapter that is rated for about 300 ma. Connect it to C and RH terminals on the thermostat (no polarity).
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Marcus
Houston, TX, USA
August 5, 2012
Don't think this will work the way you want it too. It uses power directly from the HVAC wires with a battery backup. There is no adapter to plug into the wall. You might be able to rig something up to power the unit, but you would probably end up using a battery pack of somesort. The 3 AA backup batteries it uses will last about 2 days if there is no primary power supply. Hope this helps.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

If I'm in Pheonix and I want to check the temp. at my house in Calgary Alberta Canada. Can I do that?

Asked by
Snowbird
calgary alberta Canada
about 7-Day Touchscreen WiFi-Enabled Programmable Thermostat with Backlight + Free App on
September 1, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
NetworkCameraCritic
So Cal
September 8, 2012
Anywhere you have internet access and a browser or a smart phone. I use my Android tablet or iPhone, works well either way. You don't need to do anything special like port forwarding your router.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Filtrete
September 10, 2012
Hi Snowbird, Yes. You can check and change the thermostat from anywhere you have internet connection and a web browser. Also if you have an iSO or Android device you can access it anywhere you have connection. Please let us know if you have any other questions. Thanks!
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Icarus
California
September 3, 2012
As long as you have internet connection powered on and available to the thermostat at home, you can check the temperature from anywhere. Your iPhone or computer would also need to connect to the internet in order to communicate with your thermostat.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Barrry4821
Columbus, OH, USA
September 26, 2012
Yes - they offer mobile apps for android, ipad and iphone as well as longing in via computer. I can check and adjust my temperature any where in the world as long as I can connect to the internet or mobile app. It tells you the last time it connected with your home so you know everything is working properly. Also on the web version, it displays the temperature outside with highs and lows for the day.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Have cell phone signal but no wifi, will this thermostat work for me?

Asked by
Lower Bill
about 7-Day Touchscreen WiFi-Enabled Programmable Thermostat with Backlight + Free App on
September 25, 2012
I have a remote cabin that receives cell phone signal but has no internet/router and no wifi. I also have a Blackberry phone. Will this allow me to remotely control the thermostat? Thanks.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Filtrete
September 28, 2012
Thank you for your question! The other responses are correct, you will need a WiFi router with 'always on' internet connection at the thermostat location. If your thermostat is at the remote cabin with only cell phone signal, you will not be able to control it. Thanks!
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
squiggy81
Clarkston, WA, USA
October 8, 2012
No. You need a constant internet connection to control.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Barrry4821
Columbus, OH, USA
September 26, 2012
I am fairly certain that you would need a home wireless network to connect this thermostat to the internet. It communicates frequently with the cloud server for Filtrete so a home wireless network is needed to take full advantage of the thermostat's features.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Derek70
Mansfield, TX
September 26, 2012
This thermostat requires a Local Area Network (LAN) in order to be controlled remotely. It does not operate on cellular signals. However, you can control it using your mobile phone if the thermostat and your mobile phone both have internet access.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Do I need to purchase an additional USNAP module to access this with my iPhone?

Asked by
McD
Spokane
about 7-Day Touchscreen WiFi-Enabled Programmable Thermostat with Backlight + Free App on
October 2, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Filtrete
October 8, 2012
Hi, McD, Cruser has it exactly right. In the App Store search for 'Wi-Fi enabled radiothermostat.' This will bring you to the 'Rad Stat" App which you would then download and follow the instructions that accompany the app. After you have followed the instructions you should be set up to control your thermostat from anywhere! Thank you!
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Arntj
Minneapolis, MN, USA
October 28, 2012
No I have an IPhone and IPad connected to it with no additional modules.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
squiggy81
Clarkston, WA, USA
October 8, 2012
No. It comes with a module. Just needs to be configured after you get it installed.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
cruser
October 4, 2012
No. The WiFi module that comes with the 3M50 is all you need. But you will also need to have a wireless network with an always on internet connection.

Once the thermostat is installed go to the app store on your iPhone and search for "WiFi enabled radiothermostat". Then down load the rad stat app.

Once down loaded open the app and follow the instructions.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What happens if I loose power at my house, whether I have the blue wire from the furnace or the external power (transformer) ?

Asked by
cedropeak
new mexico
about 7-Day Touchscreen WiFi-Enabled Programmable Thermostat with Backlight + Free App on
November 17, 2012
I understand batteries aren't enough to power this thermostat - but we loose power often at our house, especially in the winter. I'm guessing I won't be able to access it remotely by wifi when that happens if only because my wireless router won't be running and providing the needed internet connection. But will the thermostat keep telling the furnace what to do based on the temperature ? If not, what will the furnace do ? If I loose power at my house when I am away, I can't have the furnace shut off.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
mrdoitmyself
Minnesota, USA
January 2, 2013
I'm confused by your question. Isn't it true, that if you have no power to your house, you will have no power to your furnace. Right? So then if you have the case you have described, you may want to invest in a backup generator.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
NetworkCameraCritic
So Cal
November 18, 2012
The thermostat has battery backup.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Alex
Montpelier, VT, USA
November 19, 2012
If you have the required 3 AA batteries installed and charged, the thermostat will resume schedule, however, your furnace will probably be without power, and you wouldn't get it to turn on anyway. When the thermostat loses the AC Adapter or 24V furnace "C" wire, the wifi module stops, presumably because it requires more power than 3 AA's can provide. When the power comes back on, the unit will reconnect to the WIFI network it is configured to run on, by default. I have had several power outages and the thermostat reconnects flawlessly without any prompt or user input in my experience.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Filtrete
November 20, 2012
Hi and thank you for the question! You are correct, if your power goes out and your internet connection is lost, you won't be able to access the thermostat remotely. As others mentioned, though, if you have fully charged batteries the thermostat will continue to run for a limited time. It will maintain the last setting programmed and when the power does come on, it will resume the last setting.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

How do the temp lock feature work?

Asked by
Don
Jackson, ms
about 7-Day Touchscreen WiFi-Enabled Programmable Thermostat with Backlight + Free App on
July 30, 2012
If I put a max of 80 and a minimum of 73, how does it stop anyone else from changing it, or unlocking it. What is the security feature?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
desmondlewissmith
Allen, TX
August 24, 2012
I think you misunderstand the "lock" term. It is used to describe locking in a setting, NOT locking someone out. If you want to LOCK the thermostat you simply buy a thermostat lock, they are pretty cheap. You can then control your thermostat with remote access which is password protected.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Filtrete
August 2, 2012
Hi Don. Thanks for the question. At present there is no way to set a temperature range the renter must stay between. The only option is to lock the thermostat. In the future, the software will have the option to alert you if the renter set a temperature outside of the range.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
chattermann
Draper, UT
August 26, 2012
There are 2 lock modes. Partial lock still allows temporary temperature changes. Full lock does not allow any changes. Either lock mode can be disabled from the thermostat though if you know the right keys to press, so there's not really much "security".
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Marcus
Houston, TX, USA
August 5, 2012
It uses your basic WPA2 security for the wifi connection. Someone would have to take the time to hack into your local network to change the setting. It really depends on how comfortable you are with your network security. In my own opinion, while it is possible for someone to hack in and change your settings, costing you a pretty penny in electricity, the average hacker would be more interested searching your main computer for credit card or financial information than changing your air conditioner setting. Now this doesn't take into account that someone inside the house can change it manually at anytime if they have basic access to the thermostat.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can you remotely change the programming, or only increase/decrease the current temp?

Asked by
Shaundee
Salem, OR
about 7-Day Touchscreen WiFi-Enabled Programmable Thermostat with Backlight + Free App on
June 20, 2012
I'm putting this in a rental and want to be able to change the programming between winter/summer (no air conditioning) without needing access to the unit. I read in one of the reviews that you could only adjust the current temperature, not access the programming, so I'm looking for clarification.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Filtrete
July 3, 2012
Great question, Shaundee!

The 3M-50 can be connected via a Wi-Fi router that is connected to the internet.  Once the unit is connected you can access it anywhere you have internet access.  We also have mobile apps available for ISO and Android devices.

The Mobile app allows you to:

Look at your thermostats settings  Heat/Cool, set temperature, current room temperature
Ability to change the following:
Mode: Heat Cool or Auto
Fan: On or Auto
Temperature setting: Up or Down
Operation settings:  Run program, Hold a temperature, or put in Away (set back temperature)

The Web portal allows you to:

Do everything the mobile app does plus more
Set a program and edit a program
Set away temperatures for heat and cool
Name Thermostats
Change thermostat locations

So the bottom line is, yes you can control the mode(heat/Cool/Auto) and the temperature remotely. Hope that helps!
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
traveler
Il, Hi
July 5, 2012
I'm not exactly sure of question.
You can choose between air or heat. Automatic temp will choose what is necessary heat or air for set temperature.
When no one in my unit in tropics I put air on at 85F degrees.
When no one in my unit in cold climate I put heat on at 50F degrees so won't freeze pipes.

I can change all on my google app phone or any wi fi device.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Yannick
June 22, 2012
yes, on the app or computer you can switch from cool program to hot or auto.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
controlmaster
Crystal Springs, MS 39059, USA
June 22, 2012
If you go to the web site and login you can setup your temperatures and schedules
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

I want to know how can I connect the 3M-50 thermostat if i got a four wire on the old 3M-30 and got a blue extra wire and want to connect it to wi-fi?

Asked by
betoa85
Livingston,CA
about 7-Day Touchscreen WiFi-Enabled Programmable Thermostat with Backlight + Free App on
August 12, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Filtrete
August 15, 2012
Hi betoa85, It sounds like you have a 4 wire heat cool system (R W Y and G) and you have an extra wire that is not hooked up to anything. What you would do to make the extra wire a C wire is as follows:

Turn off the power to your HVAC system
At the furnace there will be a control board or a terminal strip that will have letters like they are on the thermostat (R W Y G). There you will see the thermostat wires that go to your thermostat. There will also be a terminal marked C, 24VC, Comm or TC. Place the unused wire on that terminal.
Next close up the furnace
Then go to the thermostat and place the unused wire on the C terminal
Then turn the power back on.
Please note the voltage between the RH and the C wire should not exceed 27 volts.

We also included a link to a video incase you need more details.
Video Answer:
(click to see the video)
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
desmondlewissmith
Allen, TX
August 24, 2012
The purpose of the blue wire is simply power. A lot of thermostats don't use it. This one does. If you have a blue wire it should be a power wire and yes you can use this thermostat.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
chattermann
Draper, UT
August 26, 2012
There are instructions in the install guide for a 4-wire setup. The WiFi requires 24VAC, so it's great that you have an extra wire. Use it to connect to the "C" terminal on your furnace to power WiFi on the thermostat (thermostat still requires 3 AA batteries, but from what I understand these are just for backup in case of power outage).
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Will
Knoxville, TN, USA
August 21, 2012
It depends on your HVAC system. If you have a C wire in your condenser/air handler you simply connect your free wire to that (it should be 24V if you're looking for it with a voltage meter) and the C wire terminal in the thermostat. If not, you'll need to connect the C wire on the thermostat to a 12V power supply or an external transformer.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
1 2 3 »