Looking for Answers about TrafficMaster Allure Ultra 7.5 in. x 47.6 in. 2-Strip Clear Cherry Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (19.8 sq. ft. / case)?

Customer questions and answers for
TrafficMaster Allure Ultra 7.5 in. x 47.6 in. 2-Strip Clear Cherry Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (19.8 sq. ft. / case)

Allure Ultra gives you the richness and deep texture of hardwood flooring with luxurious embossing for a beautiful look and feel. Dramatic 7.5 in. x 47.6 in. planks are quiet underfoot, easy to maintain and offer state of the art Uniclic installation technology. Allure Ultra’s simple angle-slide-lock installation system allows for easy, no-glue installation, saving time, effort and money. The floating floor installs over most existing surfaces including concrete, wood and vinyl. Plus, a commercial-grade wear layer gives Allure Ultra superior durability that can stand up to heavy traffic at home or in your office. With Allure Ultra, you can transform any room in your home quickly and easily.
Customer questions and answers:
42 Questions
 | 
103 Answers
Overall rating:
4.383 out of 5
4.4
out of
5

Customer questions and answers for TrafficMaster Allure Ultra 7.5 in. x 47.6 in. 2-Strip Clear Cherry Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (19.8 sq. ft. / case)

Question

Does concrete floor have to be free on old vinal floor hard and dry glue?

Asked by
elmer
about 7.5 in. x 47.6 in. 2-Strip Clear Cherry Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (19.8 sq. ft. / case) on
August 26, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
HalsteadSupport
August 27, 2012
Yes, when installing Allure ULTRA you need to make sure your sub floor is flat and clean. If the old vinyl is not lifitng and the floor flatness is 1/8" over 4' you can leave the floor and go over.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
bolt44
Concord, NC, USA
August 28, 2012
No, as long as the surface is not too uneven, this flooring can be installed over it. We installed some flooring where an old vinyl floor and wood subflooring joined without any problem.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Bamafan20
September 8, 2012
As long as the surface is level and clean of debris, the flooring should lay easy.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

is there a way to make an angle 45 degree with the product. two planks or is there a interface product that could be used?

Asked by
dean
bella vista, ar
about 7.5 in. x 47.6 in. 2-Strip Clear Cherry Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (19.8 sq. ft. / case) on
July 13, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
HalsteadSupport
July 17, 2012
Thank you for your question....no, I am sorry to say that we do not carry a product that could be used under Allure to make a 45 degree angle.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
bolt44
Concord, NC, USA
August 28, 2012
I don't know about joining two boards at a 45 degree angle; but, we did have to do 45 degree cuts for a cabinet set at an angle. We found it was easy to make the 45 degree angle by scoring the board at the desired angle, resting the board on a hard surface with the score lined up with the edge of the surface underneath and snapping the board. It gave a very clean, straight cut on the desired angle. I suspect the same method could be used to join two boards at a 45 degree angle.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Bamafan20
September 8, 2012
Just cut it. You can use heavy duty shears, tin snips, or a handsaw (recommend) - get cleaner lines.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Our home was recently flooded and we took up the allure ultra vinyl plank flooring. It still looks good and we were wondering if it could be reused.

Asked by
allure ultra vinyl plank flooring
Florida
about 7.5 in. x 47.6 in. 2-Strip Clear Cherry Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (19.8 sq. ft. / case) on
July 13, 2012
Also, what is the best way to get the smell off the bottom of the planks? Thanks for any help you can offer.

Donna
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
HalsteadSupport
July 17, 2012
thank you for your question Donna...that is a first for me! I am sorry about your flood situation and i hope things are better. You could give it a try. I cannot guarentee that it will work but since the product is vinyl and there is no adhesive you should not have any issues. Just make sure the planks are dry. Concerning the smell, you could try 1 gallon of warm water to 1 cup of white vingegar.

I hope that helps
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
1961grad
North Carolina
July 31, 2012
I would think that you could reuse the flooring as long as the edges will snap back together. To remove smell, turn over to dry and wash with a mild bleach solution. Also put where sun and air can dry them.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
bolt44
Concord, NC, USA
September 13, 2012
If the tongue and grooves on the flooring are undamaged, I think it could be reused. Beyond airing and sunning the bottom of the planks, I'm not sure what would be a good way to get rid of the smell.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can this product be put on concrete in a humid basement and can/should glue be used?

Asked by
michele
about 7.5 in. x 47.6 in. 2-Strip Clear Cherry Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (19.8 sq. ft. / case) on
August 22, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
1961grad
North Carolina
August 23, 2012
Concrete needs to be totally cured before installation of Allure. Also, floor must be even and dry. Over a span of 4 feet, you should not have a variance of more than 1/8 inch if you want trouble-free installation. As long as the floor does not have wet areas, you should be OK. Also, this product snaps together, so glue is not necessary. Humidity in the air should not bother this product.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
HalsteadSupport
August 24, 2012
Any product prior to installation on concrete should be caustioned as the concrete flooring needs to be sealed and tested. This product happens to be one of the better products for this application. It does not require any glue but please make sure the sub floor tolerance is no more than 1/8" over 4'
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Bamafan20
September 8, 2012
Yes, we used it in our basement that had concrete flooring and we purchased a dehumidifier to take the moisture out of the air.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
bolt44
Concord, NC, USA
September 13, 2012
The flooring is waterproof so the humidity would not be a problem for the flooring. Glue should not be used since this is a floating floor material. You may want to consider some type of moisture barrier on the concrete before you put the flooring down to prevent mold and or mildew under the flooring.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
1inamillion
long beach ca.
September 23, 2012
yes it can and no glue is used for this floor call vendor before installing so you dont void any warrantys
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

We are considering installing this product in our RV. Will warranty still apply?

Asked by
WagginMaster
Pipe Creek, Texas
about 7.5 in. x 47.6 in. 2-Strip Clear Cherry Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (19.8 sq. ft. / case) on
September 12, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
1961grad
North Carolina
September 13, 2012
I don't know if the warranty would apply here because Allure is not recommended for outdoor use. Homes are temperature controlled, and unless the RV is parked in a climate controlled garage, you are going to have temperature changes that might affect the product. If you live in an area of the country where there are not wide temperature swings, you might try it, but I'm not sure the warranty would apply. Home Depot can give you a number to contact the manufacturer for more information.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
bolt44
Concord, NC, USA
September 13, 2012
The way in which the warranty is worded, I think it would still apply; but I suggest you check with the Allure manufacturers.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
HalsteadSupport
October 2, 2012
No it will not, this product is only recommended for a heated area
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

i need to put an underlayment that has an STC rating of 67 and the IIC rating of 71 or higher to meet a condo federations minimun requirments do you

Asked by
chris
sarasota florida
about 7.5 in. x 47.6 in. 2-Strip Clear Cherry Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (19.8 sq. ft. / case) on
October 12, 2012
know any product that will work with alure cherry by trafic master #66411
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
HalsteadSupport
October 22, 2012
thank you for your question, I wish I could say that we do but at this point we do not have any recommend product to use.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Are there flooring transition pieces? I would like install on a stairs or up to or transitioning from stairs

Asked by
diy er
So Cal
about 7.5 in. x 47.6 in. 2-Strip Clear Cherry Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (19.8 sq. ft. / case) on
October 29, 2012
If there are no edge pieces; why not? It can't be difficult? Any suggestions on how to cap a transition from hallway descending to stairs? This 20121029. Can someone answer this soon. Don't want to wait for weeks, months, years? Home Depot? Traffic Master? Anyone?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Tangelo
Chicago
November 2, 2012
Hello diy er!

I checked with the store, and they said that there are no transitions strips for the Traffic Master Allure, and you can use unfinished wood and stain it to match, or paint to match your current decor.

I hope this helps, sorry for the delay, please let us know if we can be of any further assistance
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
HalsteadSupport
November 29, 2012
We now carry transition pieces through a seperate company at Home Depot. Zappa is the name of the company.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

This product is pretty thin but many reviewers say it feels like real wood. How can vinyl feel like real wood?

Asked by
Joseph7170
Pennsylvania
about 7.5 in. x 47.6 in. 2-Strip Clear Cherry Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (19.8 sq. ft. / case) on
September 25, 2012
Want to replace whole house carpeting and trying to decide between Vinyl and Laminate because I have 5 dogs. Naturally vinyl and laminate can look like wood and I know thicker laminate can feel like wood but cannot understand how vinyl can feel like wood unless people are just feeling the subfloor underneath. I have vinyl tile in the kitchen and bath and it doesn't feel like wood. Why would Vinyl plank be different?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
1961grad
North Carolina
September 26, 2012
This product is really not thin. Pick up a carton of it and you will see it is quite sturdy. It does look and feel like real wood. It does not have the "clacky" feeling of some hardwoods or laminates. I have had all three: hardwood, laminate, and vinyl plank. Everyone who has come into my house lately has commented on my new "hardwood" floor. It's quiet and very beautiful, takes lots of wear, and is easy to clean.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
HalsteadSupport
November 19, 2012
Vinyl is actually warmer than laminate and it is softer to walk on. If you decide to go with vinyl make sure you choose something from the Allure ULTRA or PLUS collection as they are much more durable with pets. The product has a ceramic bead coating and is durable when pets are involved. Please go to your local Home Depot and take a look at it, i think you will be pleasently surprised.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Unhappy
Nelson county Kentucky
December 4, 2012
First, these are textured pattern planks that run like wood planks. The vinyl in your kitchen and bath are likely seamless sheet goods or large square tiles that have a pattern very unlike wood.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Like to hear reasons why people chose locking planks instead of glue

Asked by
joseph7170
Pennsylvania
about 7.5 in. x 47.6 in. 2-Strip Clear Cherry Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (19.8 sq. ft. / case) on
September 25, 2012
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
1961grad
North Carolina
September 26, 2012
We chose locking planks for two reasons: One--easier installation. Two--if the floor is damaged for some reason, it is easier to lift the locking planks and replace the damaged ones than to work with glue. Just make sure the area is level and dry and make sure there is no more than 1/8 difference in heighth over a 4 foot span.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
HalsteadSupport
November 19, 2012
a locking plank gives you more flexiabilty when it comes to your sub-floor tolerance. If the product is floating and not glued you are able to install it in places that glue down product would not be exceptable like over uneven concrete or over existing tile floors.

I hope that helps....
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Unhappy
Nelson county Kentucky
December 4, 2012
Installation is easier and laying a plank is easily aligned. With glue, you better get it where you want it the first time because re-positioning isn't so easy. Also, with glue you have to have the base VERY clean so that you don't have adhesion issues in the future. Finally, the locking planks are more water resistant and that could be important if your dishwasher or ice maker ever gets leaky (believe me, I know from experience).
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Diana8607
Interlachen, Florida
December 14, 2012
My first flooring job was with the glue type and within a few months the seams started to separate a little and now it looks like a very poor job although when installed the first time all the seams butted up. I then did my next room with the locking planks. I did that one about a year ago and started my next room with the locking planks but just saw in the prior room in the center that the length of one of the planks is showing its seem. That is so upsetting and this was after I did my second room of it. Now I am wondering if latet down the road will it happen in that room. I made sure all seams were tight. So at this point, I am quite upset. Having my other two rooms with carpet now.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can the Allure Ultra be installed over a 5 yr old concrete floor that has a 7/8 drop in 5 ft?

Asked by
Handymamainpink
minnesota
about 7.5 in. x 47.6 in. 2-Strip Clear Cherry Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (19.8 sq. ft. / case) on
October 16, 2012
Our foundation was repaired and a new concrete floor was poured in our 1920 basement. The HD measure person noticed the floor isnt level. He called it rolling. He said to contact you to verify if the product can be installed in this environment.
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
AskMrJay
October 18, 2012
For Allure Flooring, the tolerance is 3/16” over 8’. Additional subfloor prep may be necessary before they are able to move on with the installation job, so you'll want to contact the store that you set up your measure with. They will be able to get in touch with their installers and come to a resolution for your job.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
HalsteadSupport
November 19, 2012
We recommned waiting 90 days for the concrete to cure and the tolerance level should be 3/16” over 8’
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
3YearBasement
Virginia, USA
December 18, 2012
We had a similar issue in our basement.. First we had to level areas of our floor using a fast setting skim coat & trowel. The Allure Ultra will not sit right if there's more than 1/8" variance - you will feel the humps and you will have a hard time keeping the locked planks together. I also notice in the instructions - New concrete floors (not sure how long ago your new foundation was poured) need to cure for a minimum of 60 days before installing.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Cleaning floor

Asked by
edh
Ks
about 7.5 in. x 47.6 in. 2-Strip Clear Cherry Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (19.8 sq. ft. / case) on
January 5, 2013
I was wondering what is recomended for cleaning the floor? I have a Shark steam mop. I wondered if anyone had any problems using one of these on this type of flooring?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Diana8607
Interlachen, Florida
January 6, 2013
I would be concerned about the steam affecting the floor seams overtime. I layed this floor down and made sure all seams were butted up but after a year I am noticing a hairline fracture of the seem showing. Not sure if the change in temp in the room is causing it. I would just use a damp or dry floor duster myself. Using just plain water or diluted all purpose cleaner would be fine.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
1961grad
North Carolina
January 7, 2013
You should dust your floor (or vacuum with a brushless machine) about twice a week. The floor will clean easily with just a damp mop. Any abrasive cleaner is NOT RECOMMENDED. Also, the floor should not be exposed to temperatures obove 85-95 degrees--so I would be hesitant to use a steam cleaner. We have only had to use a damp cloth to wipe up spills. Non-rinsing, biodegradable cleaners are recommended. The most important thing to do is to remove grit and spills quickly. Allure Single Step can be used if the floor starts to show a wear pattern resulting in loss of appearance.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
HalsteadSupport
January 7, 2013
We recommend using an approved vinyl cleaner such as Allure Single Step and Armstrong Once and Done. We would prefer you did not use a steam mop. It could cause the joints to seperate. If you do use it do not leave the steam or heat in one area too long.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Can Allure ultra be installed over a radiant floor heating system. It will be the primary heating system, not supplemental

Asked by
SHOEBOX
Rochester, NY
about 7.5 in. x 47.6 in. 2-Strip Clear Cherry Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (19.8 sq. ft. / case) on
January 1, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
1961grad
North Carolina
January 2, 2013
I would think that installing Allure over a radiant heating system would be OK as long as the heating sytem is level (1/8th inch tolerance over 4 feet) and is not foam. Also, keep in mind that Allure should probably not be exposed to temperatures over 85 degrees. Having a level subfloor is really important to keep from having installation problems and to keep the flooring from having post-installation problems.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Diana8607
Interlachen, Florida
January 6, 2013
I would just say be careful because tempature does affect the flooring. If it gets too cold or too warm the seams can loosen a bit and show a hairline fraction of that gray underside. I noticed this after one year of use. It has nothing to do with the smallest amount of dust or what have you like I was told that would make it do that cause I layed them all down to be fitted tight. And now after a year has passed, I see the seams are not butted up tight like before.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
HalsteadSupport
January 8, 2013
Yes, as long as the radiant heat is recessed a 1/2" below and the heat does not exceed 85 degrees.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

if my dog pees on the floor, is it possible it can seep through a connection to the cement under the tile ?

Asked by
BEN THE DOG
BOCA
about 7.5 in. x 47.6 in. 2-Strip Clear Cherry Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (19.8 sq. ft. / case) on
January 23, 2013
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
HalsteadSupport
January 24, 2013
It shoud not as long as its not left for too long. The locking mechanisms will prevent it from seeping into the concrete.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Diana8607
Interlachen, Florida
January 24, 2013
Anything put together like this floor can of course. There is always that hair fraction. I have dogs and I use a heavy plastic runner 3 x 3 and then put my pads or towels on top. If any gets spashed on floor I just mop it up as soon as I am able. I have had no problems thus far.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
1961grad
North Carolina
January 28, 2013
If you clean up the urine quickly, it would not be a problem. I once spilled half a watering can but mopped it up quickly. If the urine or any other liquid stays on the floor too long, it might seep through joints, although they are very tight. Leaving dog urine on the floor might stain the finish because the urine is acidic. I would definitely take precautions if you are training a pup, but the occasional dog accident which is cleanied up promptly should not be a problem.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is it slippery?

Asked by
Vlad
Minneapolis
about 7.5 in. x 47.6 in. 2-Strip Clear Cherry Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (19.8 sq. ft. / case) on
January 25, 2013
I plan to install Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring in my condo. I liked everything about this product but my main concern is if it is more slippery then other flooring options
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
HalsteadSupport
January 28, 2013
No, this product is no more slippery than an other product.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
1961grad
North Carolina
January 28, 2013
I have had this flooring for almost one year, and I believe it is not slippery at all. We are older folks and wary of falling and slippery floors were an issue for us. This flooring has a "soft" feel underfoot and is not "clacky" sounding like some laminates and hardwood can be. I have had all three: hardwood, laminate, and vinyl plank. This is the most beautiful and the easiest to clean of all three. It is not slick at all.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

What type of rugs can be used on this floor? Can nonslip backed rugs be used? Or vinyl backed ?

Asked by
countrry
wisconsin
about 7.5 in. x 47.6 in. 2-Strip Clear Cherry Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (19.8 sq. ft. / case) on
February 9, 2013
Someone told us that rubber backed rugs well stain the floor is this true? Have floor in kitchen that comes in from outside [snow ,rain ,mud Need rugs .].
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
HalsteadSupport
February 11, 2013
we recommend using latex backed mats rather than rubber or skid throw rugs with carpeet tape
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
1961grad
North Carolina
February 19, 2013
As long as the rugs are not rubber-backed, you are OK with non-slip (non-rubber) or vinyl backed. Rubber backed rugs may indeed leach their color into the finish. It is important to put rugs at entrance ways to keep grit from being tracked on to the flooring. Grit, or sand can have an adverse effect on this kind of floor.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Where can I find an experienced installer of Allure Ultra that has excellent references & will stand behind their work?

Asked by
Lucy
Woodstock, GA 30188
about 7.5 in. x 47.6 in. 2-Strip Clear Cherry Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (19.8 sq. ft. / case) on
February 18, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
1961grad
North Carolina
February 19, 2013
You can install this product yourself if you are physically able to get "up and down." You will need a block to gently tap pieces into place. The vinyl strips do not slide against one another like laminates do. Make sure the piece is in place before you snap them together. Follow the directions given in the instruction booklet--they are very clear. If you don't feel adventurous enough to try an install yourself, I would go with a Home Depot install. I have had them do carpet installation and was very pleased with their work, promptness, and price.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
HalsteadSupport
March 15, 2013
Home Depot installers are experts at installing Allure. Visit your local store for details
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What effects do large temperatures swings have on this product?

Asked by
Fisherlake760
Mercer Wisconsin
about 7.5 in. x 47.6 in. 2-Strip Clear Cherry Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (19.8 sq. ft. / case) on
March 31, 2013
We would like to install this in our 3season room in northern Wisconsin. The product would be indoors, but would be subject to large temperature swings. Assuming the warranty would be voided, what changes could be expected from installing the product in this environment? What are the alternative products that are comparable to this?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
1961grad
North Carolina
April 2, 2013
This depends on how cold and how hot the temperature swings are and their duration. Prolonged high temperatures (95 degrees or above) can affect the installation. Prolonged low temperatures (32 or lower) might cause the product to become brittle, also affecting the installation. This is a durable vinyl product, designed for temperatures between 60-85 when installing. If you decide to try it, I would keep an extra box of planks as a reserve incase the temperature swings cause problems. This product is incredibly durable and very attractive, not to mention easy to care for!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Does this product need to acclimate to temperatures at installation site and can it be installed under kitchen base cabinets

Asked by
Andy J
New Jersey
about 7.5 in. x 47.6 in. 2-Strip Clear Cherry Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (19.8 sq. ft. / case) on
June 15, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
1961grad
North Carolina
June 16, 2013
Yes, it does need to acclimate. Store Allure in the room in the box--horizontally--for 48 hours before installing. It should be stored at temperatures no lower than 65 and no higher than 85 degrees. It is important to keep the temperature between these ranges during installation. This product can be used under base cabinets in the kitchen with no problem. The most important thing to remember is that the floor is smooth and flat (tolerance of 1/8 " over 4 feet).
We have this product in our kitchen and we love it!!!! Also be aware not to use rubber floor mats (like in front of the sink). Non-rubber mats are fine.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Frustrated1234
Connecticut
June 16, 2013
I don't know if I can answer your question about acclimation, but I do know this product is very picky about the temperature of the room during installation - you have to keep the temperature at a certain range during the whole installation (the specific temperature range is on a pamphlet inside the box). That can be very difficult at some times of year in some locations. I don't see any reason why it could not be installed under kitchen base cabinets - it is very strong and firm.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is the product suitable for a screened porch with a concrete slab floor?

Asked by
Bonnie
about 7.5 in. x 47.6 in. 2-Strip Clear Cherry Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (19.8 sq. ft. / case) on
April 16, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Jay_HD_CHI
April 18, 2013
Hi there Bonnie,

Unfortunately Allure flooring is designed to be installed in interior rooms only. The frequent changes in temperature on your porch will cause issues with the installation and the product will not work as designed.

- Jay
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Frustrated1234
Connecticut
June 16, 2013
This product will work well on any floor that is completely level and flat - any ridges or bumps might cause an issue
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can this material be installed on the wall over gypsum wallboard?

Asked by
boo
pensacola
about 7.5 in. x 47.6 in. 2-Strip Clear Cherry Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (19.8 sq. ft. / case) on
July 3, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
1961grad
North Carolina
July 4, 2013
I would not install this product on a wall. I presume you are trying to cover the wall using Allure like paneling. It is designed to be on the floor. The weight of the planks butting against one another vertically might cause rupture at the seams. Also, this is a glueless product and I'm not sure how you would attach it successfully to a vertical surface. There are many great paneling products available today that might give the same look that you are trying to achieve.
This is a flooring product that is virtually care-free and very attractive, but trying to use it to cover a wall might void its warranty.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
HalsteadSupport
July 10, 2013
We do not recommend this product for walls but we do now make a new wall product called Toptile. It is available on Home Depots website.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
1 2 3 »