Looking for Answers about Maytag Centennial 3.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR?

Customer questions and answers for
Centennial 3.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR

Dirty laundry calls for a solid machine that can get the job done. This high-efficiency Centennial Top Load Washer features the IntelliFill automatic water level sensor and 11 automatic wash cycles to give you plenty of options. Low Water Wash with EcoConserve helps you save energy, while its spacious capacity means plenty of room for your largest loads. Inside, the stainless steel wash basket resists chips, scratches, and odors, as well as maintaining a smooth surface so it won’t snag or pill fabrics. You get all that and still use 70 percent less water and energy in a model that pays for itself in four years. This no-nonsense machine does what you want.
Customer questions and answers:
53 Questions
 | 
175 Answers
Overall rating:
3.77 out of 5
3.8
out of
5

Customer questions and answers for Maytag Centennial 3.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR

Question

where are the partsmanufactured ?

Asked by
ellis
charleston,sc
about Centennial 3.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR on
July 24, 2011
+18points
21out of 24found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
TeamMaytag
July 29, 2011
ellis,

This washer is manufactured in Clyde, OH along will all of our top load washers and the Maytag Maxima front load washer.
+7points
8out of 9found this answer helpful.
Question

why does this machine stay on the rinse cycle when set on casual

Asked by
worm
sarnia canada
about Centennial 3.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR on
March 15, 2012
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
TeamMaytag
Tennessee
March 16, 2012
worm,
I am sorry you experiencing trouble. The casual cycle is not designed to stay on the rinse cycle, which means that it would continually spray water and never stop. I would suggest calling our HD/Maytag Hotline at 877.461.3376 and allowing a service specialist help you troubleshoot.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

In minutes, how long does this machine WASH on the HEAVY DUTY cycle as compared to the heavy or regular cycles

Asked by
Rose
New Mexico
about Centennial 3.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR on
September 26, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
TeamMaytag
Tennessee
September 26, 2013
Rose,
The machine will vary in wash times depending on the cycle you select, options, and amount of clothing placed in the washer. I do not have access to an average load time for each cycle. However, I do have a cycle guide. This guide explains what each cycle does and the types of fabrics it is designed for. This guide is located in the Use and Care Manual on the product page. You can view it there and will provide greater detail. I have provided a sampling below to help you understand the normal and heavy cycles. Thank you for viewing this Maytag home appliance.

Items to Wash: Heavily soiled fabrics
Cycle to Use: Heavy Duty Heavy
Wash Details: Provides maximum wash time and action for tough stains
and soils. Use this cycle for heavily soiled or sturdy items.
Water-level sensing process may take longer for some items
than for others because they will absorb more water than
other fabric types.

Items to Wash: Sturdy fabrics, colorfast
items, towels, jeans
Cycle to Use: Heavy Duty Regular
Wash Details: Use this cycle for heavily soiled or sturdy items. Water-level
sensing process may take longer for some items than for
others because they will absorb more water than other fabric
types.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Wash light comes on but no agitation or spinning?

Asked by
MikeNeedsHelp
about Centennial 3.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR on
December 21, 2013
The washer will fill with water and drain but the washer never spins or agitates. I went through the manual and everything seems to be correct.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
TeamMaytag
Tennessee
December 24, 2013
MikeNeedsHelp,
I apologize for any issues that you feel your experiencing with this washer. I would suggest going through the troubleshooting portion in the use and care guide. If you have already done this, then I would recommend you call The Home Depot/Maytag Hotline at 877.461.3376, Option 2, Option 1. The Service and Parts Specialist will be able to troubleshoot live with you and provide some next steps if you do not find resolution. Thank you for being a Maytag customer.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Not draining completely

Asked by
kkid14701
Jamestown, NY
about Centennial 3.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR on
January 11, 2014
The washer appears to go through all cycles, but the clothes are always dripping wet when completed. There is no visable water in the basin. It doesn't matter whether it is a large or small load. I make sure the load is balanced. I have checked the drain hose with nothing blocking the flow. Any suggestions?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
HDAnswerman
January 13, 2014
Hi kkid14701

Foreign objects in the drain hose or in the pump are the main cause of drainage problems in washers.

Coins, buttons etc, can get in the system and restrict water flow.

Remove he pump and hoses and look for any foreign objects, while there off check the condition of the hoses, you may want to replace them at the same time.

Also check the pumps drive belt, it may be slipping or warn reducing the pumps efficiency.

Mike,
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

The lid lock light

Asked by
amotherlosingherpatience
doniphan mo
about Centennial 3.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR on
July 5, 2014
Went to do a load of laundry and the lid light lock won't stop flashing and it won't go into another cycle. I have had this washer less than 10 months and haven't had one problem out of it until now Please help
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
TeamMaytag
Tennessee
July 7, 2014
amotherlosingherpatience,
I apologize for any issues that you are experiencing, I know that can be frustrating. I would suggest that you unplug the washer for several minutes and allow it to reset, then plug back in. If this doesn't fix the issue, then I would call The Home Depot/ Maytag Hotline at 877.461.3376 Option 2, Option 1 to speak with a Parts and Service Specialist. They will be able to troubleshoot with you further after gathering more information to help. Thank you for viewing this Maytag home appliance.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

how do you put the maytag centennial on soak-cycle?

Asked by
washing-ton
boston
about Centennial 3.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR on
July 11, 2013
can't figure it out
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
TeamMaytag
Tennessee
July 12, 2013
washing-ton,
Thank you for viewing this Maytag Centennial washer. This particular washer is not equipped with a soak cycle or function. Many of today's washers do not have a soak function as washers have become more efficient and provide better cleaning during the wash cycle. However, there is a way to manually soak the clothing if that is something that is desired. You can start the washer, allow it to fill and begin the wash cycle. Once the washer has began the wash portion, you can pause the washer and allow it to sit and soak for however long is needed, the start the cycle up again. I hope that this information is found helpful. Thank you again and we hope that you consider Maytag.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

how can i remove center piece i think i have coins underneath it making sounds

Asked by
bear
midwest city oklahoma
about Centennial 3.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR on
December 9, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
TeamMaytag
Tennessee
December 10, 2013
bear,

In order to know how to remove parts, I would have to recommend that you call our Parts and Service Hotline. They would be able to better assist or provide documents that can help. The number is: The Home Depot/Maytag Hotline, 877.461.3376, Option 2, Option 1. Thank you.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is it advisable to use my maytag centennial commercial washer 4 times a day? It says it has commercial (better) technology (parts)

Asked by
moa
about Centennial 3.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR on
September 29, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
MamaCleod
September 29, 2013
If you have the extended warranty, don't worry about it. If you don't have the extended warranty, make sure you purchase it. I usually did about two loads a day and in the two years I owned this washer, I had the board replaced twice and the entire inside operating mechanisms replaced twice. The second time, the transmission has fused together and when the repair work was to be done, they couldn't do it. The machine was comp'd out and I received a check for the total paid including sales tax. I bought something totally different and with it, also the extra warranty. I made sure I got the 5-year one that includes reimbursement for laundromat fees. Do yourself a favor and do the same.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

machine has 11 cycles, approximate gallons used on each cycle.

Asked by
puhzaz
Scranton, PA
about Centennial 3.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR on
October 9, 2014
maytag MVWC425DWO
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
TeamMaytag
October 14, 2014
There is not a guide for the gallons used on each cycle, I apologize. There is a lot of variation depending on load size, cycle selection, and options added. The gallon range would be approximately between 22-36 gallons. Thank you for viewing this Maytag home appliance.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

what is the matching gas dryer model number?

Asked by
dean
amesbury
about Centennial 3.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR on
December 18, 2011
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
TeamMaytag
December 19, 2011
dean,
There are a couple of models that this washer would be compatible with. I have attached those models to this answer. Thank you for viewing this Maytag washer, we appreciate the opportunity to answer your questions.
 
Products related to my answer
Centennial 7.0 cu. ft. Gas Dryer in White
4.1 out of 5(109)
 
 
 
Centennial 7.0 cu. ft. Gas Dryer in White
4.5 out of 5(75)
 
 
 
 
 
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
VitaDolce14
Orlando, FL, USA
December 4, 2012
Model # MGDC200XW
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

I need to know what the WF rating is for this machine in order to qualify for a rebate.

Asked by
bob
Oceanside, CA
about Centennial 3.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR on
April 12, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
TeamMaytag
Tennessee
April 15, 2012
bob,
I apologize, but I am unsure what you mean by WF rating. Would you be able to clarify your question? This washer is energy star qualified and is Tier III rated. Thank you for viewing this Maytag Home Appliance.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Sandee
Easley, SC, USA
February 5, 2013
It is Energy Star qualified. The Water Factor rating is not listed in the paperwork but water level is auto sensing according to load size.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

does it let you know if the clothes are not evenly distributed during a wash cycle?

Asked by
mona
catskill ny
about Centennial 3.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR on
July 17, 2011
does it have an indicator noise or does it just start banging and thumping?
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
TeamMaytag
July 22, 2011
mona,

I have copied and pasted below what the use and care guide says about how this washer senses the loads
.
SENSINGWhen the START/Pause/Unlock button is pressed, the washer will first perform a self-test on the lid lock mechanism. You will hear a click, the basket will make a slight turn, and the lid will unlock briefly before locking again.
Once the lid has locked the second time, the washer will use short, slow spins to estimate the load size. These sensing spins may take 2 to 3 minutes before water is added to the load and you may hear the hum of these spins. If the sensing light is on, then washer is working properly. You will hear the motor turn the basket in short pulses to thoroughly wet the load. The washer will then move the load briefly, pause to allow water to soak in to the load, and resume adding water. This process may repeat until the correct amount of water has been added for the load. You may also hear water flowing through the dispenser, adding detergent to the load.
+2points
3out of 4found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Tampabay
St. Petersburg Fl
August 26, 2011
At the beginning of cycle and after the lid locks (a waste of a feature) the sensor fits around for a few minutes. I suppose the sensor is weighing the load to determine how much water to add. The drum is so big you can put in a very LARGE load but you are unable to set the water level and it doesn't fill up adequately!! I don't like my washer and plan to get another brand.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

Is this machine rated three or four stars by consumer?pat

Asked by
pat
san francisco
about Centennial 3.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR on
October 29, 2011
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
TeamMaytag
October 31, 2011
pat,
The overall rating on HD.com says that it is rated 3.5 Stars.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
shae
Tennessee, USA
November 3, 2011
1 star not a good choice it keeps messing up
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What are the dimensions of the Maytag model MVWC30XW/

Asked by
ra
about Centennial 3.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR on
October 30, 2011
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
TeamMaytag
October 31, 2011
ra,

Thank you for the question. The dimensions are listed below. These specifications along with many others are located on the product page by clicking on the Specifications tab. Thank you for your interest in Maytag. We look forward to having you as customer.

Assembled Depth (in.) : 27 in
Assembled Height (in.) : 43 in
Assembled Width (in.) : 27.5 in
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
jMolina
SoCal
February 10, 2013
If your asking about MVWC400XW is 27 1/2" wide x 27" depth x 42" high, because the 300 i could not find it.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Referance modle #MVWC400Xw priced at $448.20is military discount usable?

Asked by
Mr. B
Norfolk, Va.
about Centennial 3.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR on
September 1, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
September 2, 2012
Hello Valued Customer,
Thanks for your question and interest in this item. Most importantly thank you for your service to our country. We do offer a year-round, 10 percent discount, up to a $500 maximum, at our U.S. stores to all active duty military personnel, reservists, retired or disabled veterans and their immediate families. We offer this discount to thank you for your outstanding service to this nation and to help make your home more comfortable and safe. You must present a valid military ID to receive this discount. A 10 percent discount is also offered in recognition of Memorial Day, Fourth of July, and Veterans Day at all U.S. Home Depot stores for all other military veterans. Redeemable for a 10% discount on a single receipt in-store purchase at The Home Depot. U.S. stores only. Maximum discount $500. Present valid military ID to cashier at time of purchase to receive your discount. Offer does not apply to installation products or services or to Appliance Special Buys, John Deere, Cub Cadet, Honda, Toro, Echo, Little Giant Ladder Systems, Dacor, Viking, Fisher & Paykel, Sharp Insight, Delonghi, Buckhaven, Weber, Lynx, Alfresco, OCI, Marvel, Bertazzoni, Aga, and Vent-A-Hood products and trade styles and cannot be combined with any other offer. To obtain this online discount please contact our Online Customer Service Department at 800-430-3376.
Thanks
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
1973cuda
katy, t
September 2, 2012
I would call them and find out. I bought mine during a 10% off special they were running
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What is the MEF rating for this washer?

Asked by
Bill
Oregon
about Centennial 3.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR on
January 20, 2012
I need to know if the MEF is above 2.46 to qualify for an efficiency rebate.
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Sandee
Easley, SC, USA
February 5, 2013
3.7
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
HD 116
www.community.homedepot.com
January 24, 2012
Greetings Bill,

My name is Tom, also known as HD116 at Home depot's How to Community. Today I am assisting with a few product questions and saw yours. According to the energystar.gov website, the MEF rating for this model is 3.7 and it would qualify for the rebate you were eligible for.

Happy to help.
+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Question

What happens if it is overloaded by mistake

Asked by
DJ
Tennessee
about Centennial 3.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR on
February 9, 2012
We bought a Maytag Washer Model MVWC400XW
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
TeamMaytag
Tennessee
February 15, 2012
DJ,
This washer is equipped with sensors to help balance the load should it become overloaded. Before it goes into the spin portion of the cycle in particular this washer will attempt to shift clothes around. In summary, there are sensors in place to counteract a cycle that has been overloaded.
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Aubrey
Spartanburg, SC, USA
February 21, 2012
It would be hard to "overload" this machine. but, if that were to happen, then you can "stop" the machine and unlock the lid, and remove some of the clothes. The "locking mechanism" on the lid only takes a few seconds to cycle to "unlock".
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Question

How many gallons of water does one wash use?

Asked by
Stephen
about Centennial 3.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR on
October 28, 2011
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
TeamMaytag
October 29, 2011
Stephen,

This washer uses on average of about 22 gallons of water per wash. For lighter cycles or smaller loads, it would use less and heavy duty and large loads would potentially use a little more. This is a significant savings compared to washers built prior to 2004 which could use as much as 40-50 gallons on average per wash.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Aubrey
Spartanburg, SC, USA
December 17, 2011
Uses much less than standard older washers, but amount is dependent upon the amount of clothing placed in each load.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

what is considerd a load?Exp. how many towels, pants. shirts etc

Asked by
Edna
Glen Burnie MD
about Centennial 3.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR on
April 25, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
TeamMaytag
Tennessee
April 27, 2012
Edna,
Washer aren't measured in amount of clothing buy by cu ft. This is because there is such a variance in the types of clothing that is washed in each load. However, this style of washer is larger than a traditional agitator based washer. Also, depending on the thickness, should be able to wash a king sized comforter, sleeping bags, etc.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
laundrymom1
Thornton, CO, USA
May 12, 2012
I can wah about 6 towels, 4 pairs of jeans, 2 sweaters and a couple shirts in one load. Awsome!!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
1 2 3 »