Looking for Answers about KOHLER 20,000-Watt Standby Generator with 200-Amp Whole House Service Entrance Automatic Transfer Switch with Load Shed Kit?

Customer questions and answers for
KOHLER 20,000-Watt Standby Generator with 200-Amp Whole House Service Entrance Automatic Transfer Switch with Load Shed Kit

Whether you’re home or away, your KOHLER generator will automatically kick in whenever the power goes out. Restoring power in as little as 10 seconds, KOHLER Generators have extraordinary reliability and quiet operation - similar to a central air conditioner. KOHLER backs each generator with a 5-year/2,000-hour limited warranty. From our first generator in 1920 to our bold new lineup now, KOHLER generators are a trusted brand by hospitals, airports, the National Weather Service and Home Depot stores nationwide.
Customer questions and answers:
50 Questions
 | 
92 Answers
Overall rating:
4.688 out of 5
4.7
out of
5

Customer questions and answers for KOHLER 20,000-Watt Standby Generator with 200-Amp Whole House Service Entrance Automatic Transfer Switch with Load Shed Kit

Question

Does Home Depot sell a Kohler 3-Phase, 50Hz model 20RESAL-SA7 (LP gas). My home is on an island w/50Hz, 220/240 3-phase power so I'm limited. Janine

Asked by
Janine
currently, Virginia
about 20,000-Watt Standby Generator with 200-Amp Whole House Service Entrance Automatic Transfer Switch with Load Shed Kit on
April 12, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Kohler
KohlerCo.
Home Improvement Profile: Other
April 14, 2014
Hello, my name is Brittany with KOHLER Customer Service. I am happy to assist you with your generator question.

The KOHLER K-20RESAL-SE if you could please purchase through a KOHLER distributor within your local area. Please work with your local Home Depot for pricing and availability on this product and their store Store SO SKU # 1000032564.

Thank you for your inquiry and choosing the Bold Look of KOHLER.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

what is the temperature range for these units ?

Asked by
Bemidji
Northern MN
about 20,000-Watt Standby Generator with 200-Amp Whole House Service Entrance Automatic Transfer Switch with Load Shed Kit on
March 30, 2014
It can get down to 35 below at times... will it still start up in those kind of temps?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Kohler
KohlerCo.
Home Improvement Profile: Other
March 31, 2014
Hello, my name is Jelane with the Kohler Customer Service. I am happy to assist you with your KOHLER 20,000-Watt Standby Generator with 200-Amp Whole House Service Entrance Automatic Transfer Switch with Load Shed Kit Model # 20RESAL-SE Internet # 202493185 Store SO SKU # question.

Recommended accessories for guaranteed starting in extreme weather conditions are Carburetor heater, 120 VAC (recommended for reliable starting at temperatures below 0_C [32_F ]) also Fuel regulator heater pad (20RESAL; recommended for reliable starting at temperatures below --18_C [0_F ]) Please work with your local Home Depot for pricing and availability on this product.

Thank you for your inquiry and choosing the Bold Look of KOHLER.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Difference in load shed kit and load control module

Asked by
TCBr
about 20,000-Watt Standby Generator with 200-Amp Whole House Service Entrance Automatic Transfer Switch with Load Shed Kit on
February 17, 2014
What is the difference in a load shed kit and load control module? I see this kit comes with load shed kit.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Kohler
KohlerCo.
Home Improvement Profile: Other
March 10, 2014
Hello, my name is Jelane with the Kohler Customer Service. I am happy to assist you with KOHLER 20,000-Watt Standby Generator with 200-Amp Whole House Service Entrance Automatic Transfer Switch with Load Shed Kit
Model # 20RESAL-SE question.

The LCM has more HVAC Amp Relays which is important if there is multiple heavy appliances/AC’s pulling a lot of voltage from the generator 30VAC Class 2 rating and the load shed kit is a general purpose 125VAC, 10A.
Please work with your local Home Depot for pricing and availability on this product.

Thank you for your inquiry and choosing Kohler.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Does the 20RESAL-SE (service Enterance) come with RXT-JFNC-200ASE (Service Entrence) or it comes with the Standars model ((200A?)...

Asked by
Jake
about 20,000-Watt Standby Generator with 200-Amp Whole House Service Entrance Automatic Transfer Switch with Load Shed Kit on
February 4, 2014
20RESAL-SE is being sold at Home Depot and I just want to make sure that the ATS that comes with it is the RXT-JFNC-200ASE model. This is the third time that I have asked question but everytime th eansweres so far been very unclear as to which actual RXT model comes with it...200A or 200ASE model...
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Kohler
February 4, 2014
Hello, my name is April with the Kohler Customer Service. I am happy to assist you with your shower generator question.

KOHLER 20,000-Watt Standby Generator with 200Amp Whole House Service Entrance Automatic Transfer Switch with Load Shed Kit Model # 20RESAL-SE the ATS that is in the 20RESAL genset is RXT-JFNC-200ASESA2. Please work with your local Home Depot for pricing and availability on this product.

Thank you for your inquiry and choosing the Bold Look of KOHLER.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Which ATS 200 Amp RXT model (A or ASE?) comes with 20-RESAL-SE generator sold at Home Depot?

Asked by
Jake
Alexandria, VA
about 20,000-Watt Standby Generator with 200-Amp Whole House Service Entrance Automatic Transfer Switch with Load Shed Kit on
January 31, 2014
The Home Depot details on the generator do not indicate as to which ATS RXT model is shipped with 20-RESAL-SE generator
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Kohler
February 3, 2014
Hello, my name is Jelane with the Kohler Customer Service. I am happy to assist you with KOHLER 20,000-Watt Standby Generator with 200Amp Whole House Service Entrance Automatic Transfer Switch with Load Shed Kit Model # 20RESAL-SE question.

200 amp standard ATS is included with the 20RESAL. . Please work with your local Home Depot for pricing and availability on this product.

Thank you for your inquiry and choosing the Bold Look of KOHLER.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

1) What is the difference between 20RESAL-SE and 20RESAL-SA7. 2) Which ATS RXT-200 model (A or ASE) each comes with

Asked by
Jake
Alexandria, VA
about 20,000-Watt Standby Generator with 200-Amp Whole House Service Entrance Automatic Transfer Switch with Load Shed Kit on
January 29, 2014
Question 1) was previosly asked but was answered incorrectly since the -SE model was compaired to -SA6 model... and that both being identical...

Question 2) Can you further explain the difference between RXT-200 Amp ASE and RXT-200 Amp A models.

Note: planning on supplying backup power to entire house that is serviced by 200 Amp Service box.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Kohler
January 30, 2014
Hello, my name is Justine with KOHLER Customer Service. I am happy assist you with your generator question.

There is not a difference between the 20 RESAL-SE and the 20RESAL-SA7 except that one is the customer model number and the other is a Kohler model number.
The difference between RXT-200 Amp ASE and RXT-200 Amp A models. The ASE is a service entrance rated switch that has the disconnect at the box and the other is a whole house transfer switch.

For additional assistance on this inquiry, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-4KOHLER. (1-800-456-4537)

Thank you for your inquiry and choosing the Bold Look of KOHLER.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Model 20 RESAL-SE.. service entrance transfer switch

Asked by
Hondo2403
Auburn, ME
about 20,000-Watt Standby Generator with 200-Amp Whole House Service Entrance Automatic Transfer Switch with Load Shed Kit on
January 21, 2014
I'm confused as the answers to the same question are different. Does the model come with a service entrance transfer switch or not?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Robby
Tallahassee, Fl
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
January 25, 2014
Yes, when I bought my 20KW generator, it had a 200 amp transfer switch with it. It also incorporated a loadshed kit. When you are thinking about the genset, you should know that your ac unit or heatpump already has a 3 minute delay built in it. The electric heatstrips turn off when the genset is online and operating. So far, I have not been able to overload my unit with every thing that is connected to it iincluding a well pump The one thing I can recomend, is to pour a concrete pad to set the generator on. It comes with a pad but it is not "in my opinion" sufficent to keep the unit up out of the dirt. I now have to go back and improvise a pad of sorts to correct this situation Hope this helps. Bob
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

How much does a standard intallation cost? Assumming that the gas is near by and the electric panel is near by and in good order.

Asked by
RGRG
Columbus, OH
about 20,000-Watt Standby Generator with 200-Amp Whole House Service Entrance Automatic Transfer Switch with Load Shed Kit on
January 17, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
THDCustomerSupport
Kennesaw, GA
January 20, 2014
Thank you for your recent inquiry with The Home Depot. Yes, we do offer installation for generators. Please contact us at 1-800-557-5221 for pricing and availability. See the following link for more information: http://www.homedepot.com/webapp/cat...
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Magic
Middletown, NJ, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 23, 2014
you need a permit from your town. costs range from $6k to $8k plus you need to have kohler rep which cost $$
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Do I have to isolate solar panels from transfer sw.

Asked by
taz65
Santa Rosa. CA.
about 20,000-Watt Standby Generator with 200-Amp Whole House Service Entrance Automatic Transfer Switch with Load Shed Kit on
January 8, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
THDCustomerService
Atlanta, GA
January 30, 2014
Hi Tz65,

Thanks for your question and interest in this item. More information is needed to accurately answer your question. Please contact our Online Customer Service Department at 800-430-3376 to get more assistance with this item. Our hours of operation are between 6:00 a.m. and 2:00 a.m. Eastern Time daily.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

My house has a 400 amp service - there are two 200 Amp service panels connected together. Can I use the 200 Amp transfer switch for both?

Asked by
Miguel
Poplar Bluff Mo
about 20,000-Watt Standby Generator with 200-Amp Whole House Service Entrance Automatic Transfer Switch with Load Shed Kit on
December 19, 2013
If not can I isolate the transfer switch to one of the 200 amp panels?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Kohler
December 19, 2013
Hello, my name is Justine with KOHLER Customer Service. I am happy assist you with your generator question.

You cannot use a single 200 amp switch for 400 amp service but you can certainly wire in one of the 200 amp panels. However only that panel will have power in the event of a power outage.

For additional assistance on this inquiry, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-4KOHLER. (1-800-456-4537)

Thank you for your inquiry and choosing the Bold Look of KOHLER.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Load Shed Kit - Additional Electrical Equipment Required?

Asked by
JimL
Trinity, Florida
about 20,000-Watt Standby Generator with 200-Amp Whole House Service Entrance Automatic Transfer Switch with Load Shed Kit on
November 26, 2013
For the Model #20-RESAL-SE unit, will I need to order any additional electrical equipment besides the load-shed kit that comes with the unit to actually install the load-shedding feature? My Kohler electrician stated that the Heat & Stove or 2 - 240 volt circuits in my house will need to be shed, given his calculations.

If so, please provide a list of the items required and how I can order them.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Kohler
December 2, 2013
Hello, my name is Jelane with the Kohler Customer Service. I am happy to assist you with your 20,000-Watt Standby Generator with 200Amp Whole House Service Entrance Automatic Transfer Switch with Load Shed Kit question.

Model 20RESAL-SE comes with a service entrance transfer switch. This model is a package deal. Please work with your local Home Depot for pricing and availability on this product.

Thank you for your inquiry and choosing the Bold Look of KOHLER.
-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
PaulG1751
Wall Twp., NJ
December 15, 2013
If you ordered the 20RESAL SE the RXT Transfer switch that comes with it has the load shed already installed in it and unless you plan on getting the OnCue Monitoring Software the only thing you might need to get is the 2pr shielded wire that goes fron the ATS to the Generator.
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Raymond203
Lockport, NY
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
January 28, 2014
Most people would be surprised that while you are running every day electrical products in your home the amperage used is very low. if you turned everything on and checked the current usage of electric ranges, refrigerators, furnace motors, A/C units and the likes of which are not going to be running all at once. The 20KW Generator has more than enough current generation to supply the whole house needs at any time with-out load shedding. This unit produces 75Amps at full Load (Natural Gas application). Now to answer your question. Load shedding is a timed relay, enabled through the circuitry of the board provided in the RXT ATS. Shedding allows the generator to reach Max RPM before it has any full load items in you home to supply power to. This load shedding unit in the RXT transfer switch has 6 separate spots on a terminal board for electrical equipment that you can shed. Two of these spots need no extra requirements to use. This is for your A/C and Furnace Heat, you just series in your thermostat wiring respectively to these terminals. The other four each need 120V DPDT power relays to allow shedding of any other electrical devices that you want to shed. These relays are $50.00 - $80.00 per relay. I suggest you hire a qualified electrician and have him do a current load check while you turn on all of your electrical equipment in your home. This will give you an idea of what your stand-by generator can handle if every appliance was on at once. Remember "who uses every appliance at once in there home". Kohler has this relay set up at a separate price. This is all stated in the instructions manuals. You can read them in the PDF files provided at your Home depot store website under this Generator. Read Read Read Read!
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Robby
Tallahassee, Fl
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
January 28, 2014
I'm not sure of your total load but there is a load shedding circuit for the heat strips already in the load sheding kit in the switch. The only reason I can think of that would require shedding the stove is if your total transferred load exceeds 200 amps. Then it is a choice you would have to make as to what device you want to do without while on the generator. If you choose the sttove, a relay capable of carrying 30 amps on the contacts would be needed. The electreical company that installs the genset would provide all wire, relays etc needed to complete thew job in his cost for installation contract. GET IT ALL IN WRITING.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Which Controller does this RESAL-SE Come with the DC2 or the RDC2? Do you have the ability to alter the weekly maintenance cycle to longer times?

Asked by
Julie7
New Milford, CT
about 20,000-Watt Standby Generator with 200-Amp Whole House Service Entrance Automatic Transfer Switch with Load Shed Kit on
November 19, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Kohler
November 21, 2013
Hello, my name is Justine with the Kohler Customer Service. I am happy to assist you with your Generator question.

KOHLER 20,000-Watt Standby Generator with 200Amp Whole House Service Entrance Automatic Transfer Switch with Load Shed Kit comes with the DC2 controller that is preset to exercise weekly

For additional assistance on this inquiry, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-4KOHLER. (1-800-456-4537)
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
PaulG1751
Wall Twp., NJ
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
December 15, 2013
DC2 and yes you can change from weekly to bi-weekly but it's not recommended.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Will the transfer switch that comes with the 20RESAL allow me to hook up to 2 200 amp service panels?

Asked by
Frosty
Charlestown RI
about 20,000-Watt Standby Generator with 200-Amp Whole House Service Entrance Automatic Transfer Switch with Load Shed Kit on
November 18, 2013
I have 2 200 amp service panels servicing my house. I want a whole house generator to service all the circuits. I want to but the Kohler 20RESAL 20 kw generator. What Kohler service transfer switch do I need to buy to have the generator supply both the 200 amp panels simultaneously?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Kohler
November 19, 2013
Hello, my name is April with the Kohler Customer Service. I am happy to assist you with your generator question.

KOHLER 20,000-Watt Standby Generator with 200Amp Whole House Service Entrance Automatic Transfer Switch with Load Shed Kit Model # 20RESAL-SE yes that is fine for that model. Please work with your local Home Depot for pricing and availability on this product.

Thank you for your inquiry and choosing the Bold Look of KOHLER.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

How far from the meter can the 20kw unit be located?

Asked by
Skymann
Naples, ME
about 20,000-Watt Standby Generator with 200-Amp Whole House Service Entrance Automatic Transfer Switch with Load Shed Kit on
November 16, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
THDCustomerService
Atlanta, GA
November 27, 2013
Hi Skyman,

Thank you for your question. I have reached out to the MFG for more information on this - they will reach out to directly.

Thank you.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
PaulG1751
Wall Twp., NJ
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
December 15, 2013
My suggestion is check with you local building department.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Customer installation

Asked by
RonB
Clarence, NY
about 20,000-Watt Standby Generator with 200-Amp Whole House Service Entrance Automatic Transfer Switch with Load Shed Kit on
November 12, 2013
If the homeowner installes the generator, but has a authorized dealer come out for it's initial run. Would the warranty be valid.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
THDCustomerSupport
Kennesaw, GA
November 12, 2013
Thank you for your recent inquiry with The Home Depot. I believe it would be best to reach out to the manufacturer for assistance. The manufacturer is KOHLER and their customer service department can be reached at 1-800-544-2444.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

how do I know what transfer switch to use ?

Asked by
Bobd
Oxford,PA.
about 20,000-Watt Standby Generator with 200-Amp Whole House Service Entrance Automatic Transfer Switch with Load Shed Kit on
November 3, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Kohler
November 22, 2013
Hello, my name is Jelane with the Kohler Customer Service. I am happy to assist you with your generator question.

Model 20RESAL-SE comes with a service entrance transfer switch. This model is a package deal.

Please work with your local Home Depot for pricing and availablilty on this product.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
PaulG1751
Wall Twp., NJ
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
December 15, 2013
That would depend on the size of the generator you plan on purchasing and how many amps you need to supply (check your main breaker) and if you are planning on a SE type install. Do a load calculation to see what you need to install.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can the generator be programmed to run 2 hrs and off 4 hrs, then on 2 hrs and off 4 hrs, etc.?

Asked by
jsment
Lyons, CO
about 20,000-Watt Standby Generator with 200-Amp Whole House Service Entrance Automatic Transfer Switch with Load Shed Kit on
October 9, 2013
Nothing in the description states that the generator can be programmed for specific running times when the power is off. If the power is out and no one is in the house, it is not necessary to run the generator continuosly. Intermittent running will conserve fuel (LP) in my case.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Kohler
October 10, 2013
Hello, my name is Elissa with KOHLER Customer Service. I would be happy to help you with your generator question.

I am sorry, it is not an option to chose to run the generator on and off as they wish to on a timer. When there is no utility your generator will run consistency unless you physically would go to the generator and turn it on and off.

For assistance with ordering please work with your local Home Depot.

Thank you for your inquiry and choosing the Bold Look of KOHLER.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
mike
tiverton r.i.
October 12, 2013
you can turn it on manually and shut it off manually
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

what is the difference between the 20resal-sa7 and the 20resal-se

Asked by
payne
macomb, michigan
about 20,000-Watt Standby Generator with 200-Amp Whole House Service Entrance Automatic Transfer Switch with Load Shed Kit on
October 4, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Kohler
October 7, 2013
Hello, my name is April with the Kohler Customer Service. I am happy to assist you with your generator question.

KOHLER 20,000-Watt Standby Generator with 200-Amp Whole House, Service Entrance Rated, and Load Shedding Automatic Transfer Switch Model # 20RESAL-SE There is no difference. It is just a difference in model numbers per customer.
Please work with your local Home Depot for pricing and availability on this product.

Thank you for your inquiry and choosing the Bold Look of KOHLER.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
mike
tiverton r.i.
October 12, 2013
not sure...but remember they produce 20 kw at peak and these are standby generator. Since the power grid in this country is breaking down more often, the electricity will be out for longer and longer periods and with these Kohler standby Generators you will have to run outside before the 24 hrs is up and add oil or it will shut down. They are not made for continuous use but they won't tell you that.

Spend the extra money and get a continuous use generator
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

What is the longest amount of time a Generator can run non-stop before servicing?

Asked by
Frank
Edina, MN
about 20,000-Watt Standby Generator with 200-Amp Whole House Service Entrance Automatic Transfer Switch with Load Shed Kit on
September 9, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Kohler
September 10, 2013
Hello, my name is April with KOHLER Customer Service. I am happy assist you with your generator question.

KOHLER 20,000-Watt Standby Generator with 200-Amp Whole House, Service Entrance Rated, and Load Shedding Automatic Transfer Switch Model # 20RESAL-SE As a general rule of thumb the oil should be checked every 8 hours when continuously running. The oil should be changed every 150 hours or at least once a year if not in use. Your operations manual would be the best resource for these questions. It contains a maintenance schedule in it. Please work with your local Home Depot for pricing and availability on this product.

Thank you for your inquiry and choosing the Bold Look of KOHLER.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
mike
tiverton r.i.
October 12, 2013
kohler 20 kw will run only 24 hrs in my experience ...then shuts down bc it runs out of oil
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can you run a generator year round, and is it cheaper to run than paying for electricity from Xcel?

Asked by
Frank
Edina, MN
about 20,000-Watt Standby Generator with 200-Amp Whole House Service Entrance Automatic Transfer Switch with Load Shed Kit on
September 4, 2013
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Kohler
September 9, 2013
Hello, my name is Heather with Kohler Customer Service. I am happy to assist you with your generator question.

Model # 20RESAL-SE is a standby generator. It is not designed to run year round. It would not be cheaper to use a generator than to use electricity as it runs on LP or natural gas.

Thank you for your inquiry and choosing the Bold Look of KOHLER.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
1 2 3 »