Looking for Answers about RIDGID 13-Amp 10 in. Professional Cast Iron Table Saw?

Customer questions and answers for
RIDGID 13-Amp 10 in. Professional Cast Iron Table Saw

The RIDGID 10 in. 13 Amp Professional Table Saw features a powerful, 13 Amp motor for speeds up to 3,450 RPM and a table with a polished and milled cast-iron core to provide a level, flat surface with low vibration. The saw can be customized by adding an extension table or auxiliary tables (not included) for routers or other specialty tools (not included).
Customer questions and answers:
88 Questions
 | 
640 Answers
Overall rating:
4.495 out of 5
4.5
out of
5

Customer questions and answers for RIDGID 13-Amp 10 in. Professional Cast Iron Table Saw

Question

is this saw compatible with a freud sd608 dial a width dado tool ??

Asked by
lking
tennessee
about 13-Amp 10 in. Professional Cast Iron Table Saw on
March 5, 2015
assuming one has the correct throat cover and is aware of width of cut limitations related to arbor length --
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Mike
Wilmington, DE
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
March 5, 2015
Not sure, but I would switch to a stacked dado you get a better cut. yes there is sufficient room on the R4512 for a stacked dado blade.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is this saw on display at any of the Metro Atlanta stores? I want to look at it out of the box before I buy it.

Asked by
LW55
Atlanta GA
about 13-Amp 10 in. Professional Cast Iron Table Saw on
December 16, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
RIDGID
December 17, 2014
Thank you for your interest in RIDGID!

Recently this product was on display in the Buckhead, Home Depot, store #6986. There is a chance the floor model recently sold, however feel free to call over there before you make the drive to view the display.

Phone – (404) 841-5608

Regards,
RIDGID
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Umpire20
Las Cruces, NM
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
December 17, 2014
I live in New Mexico so I can't really help with your question. I will attach a photo of my set-up here. Keep in mind that I have upgraded my fence and rail assembly. I've also added an extension table on the right of the saw.
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Why did they convert to an induction motor ?

Asked by
zeke
Torrington, CT
about 13-Amp 10 in. Professional Cast Iron Table Saw on
December 28, 2014
zeke
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Papa
Magnolia, Tx.
December 29, 2014
Universal, or series wound motors, are inefficient and high maintenance because of brush replacement, high operating RPM, and poor heat dissipation. Induction, or PSC (Permanent Split Capacitor) motors have no brushes, develop consistent torque under varying loads and require lower operating current making them better suited for heavy continuous use. The higher quality induction motors usually use ball berings instead of sleeves which offers substantially longer service life.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
joelav22
MA
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
January 5, 2015
The Ridgid hybrid saws have always come with induction motors - which are superior in every way to a direct drive universal motor in a table saw.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

is this avalible in the uk.

Asked by
joey
essex uk
about 13-Amp 10 in. Professional Cast Iron Table Saw on
February 6, 2015
13 amp 10" cast iron table saw R4512
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
RIDGID
February 6, 2015
Thank you for your interest in RIDGID!

Unfortunately, these products are only available in USA.

Regards,
RIDGID
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
joelav22
MA
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
February 6, 2015
No, this saw does not meet the UK/European safety standards for tablesaws
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Shipment to Europe

Asked by
Luboss
Czech republic Europe
about 13-Amp 10 in. Professional Cast Iron Table Saw on
January 31, 2014
Can You tell me if You can send the saw to Europe(Czech republic). Can You give me roughly price of shipment.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
THDCustomerSupport
Kennesaw, GA
January 31, 2014
Thank you for your recent inquiry with The Home Depot. We are unable to ship internationally at this time. We are able to ship to the 48 contiguous states and a limited selection of products can be shipped to Alaska and Hawaii. For any other questions, please call us at HomeDepot.com Customer Service 800-430-3376.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
EricG
New Mexico, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 31, 2014
My guess is that the complications and cost of shipping and handling customs duties would make it impractical.

You might want to look at Asian import saws in the Czech Republic and compare them feature by feature. If you find something similar, it will likely cost less than importing the saw from the USA. The HD saw is an excellent combination of features and price, I have owned mine for one year and am delighted with it.

Eric
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
joelav22
Agawam, MA, USA
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
February 20, 2014
This saw is not legal for sale in EU due to safety restrictions
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Riving Knife and Thin Kerf Blade

Asked by
Thomas
Milwaukee, WI
about 13-Amp 10 in. Professional Cast Iron Table Saw on
January 20, 2015
I wanted to purchase the Forrest Woodworker II Thin Kerf Blade for the Ridgid R4512 Table Saw and wanted to know if the included riving knife will work safely with this blade. The size of the blade 3/32" or .09375" #if I'm calculating this correctly#. It seems to be about the same size as the riving knife but want to make sure before I would purchase this thin kerf saw blade or one similar. I want to be able to use the riving knife safely.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
RIDGID
January 21, 2015
Thank you for contacting RIDGID.

The riving knife is .090 or 2.3mm

Regards,
RIDGID
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Umpire20
Las Cruces, NM
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 21, 2015
I have the Woodworker II Thin Kerf blade on my R4512 and it is just fine. The riving knife has the "allowable" dimensions stamped into it. I don't recall what they are, but this blade will work A-OK.............
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
diyguy
S. Oregon
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 22, 2015
I checked the riving knife on mine with a digital caliper and it came out to around .088 inches. I don't know if there is a tolerance that needs to be maintained between the blade and riving knife so I can't answer your question about using the riving knife safely with that blade.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
woodworksmd
Forney Texas
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
January 21, 2015
Thomas thanks fr the question, to answer the riving knife is what keeps the wood separated after the blade, its used to "try and protect you from kick back of the material your using. it keeps the wood from pinching blade. as long as the knife is at least the same thickness of blade. yes it will work.

As far as thin kerf blades go remember the thiner the blade the more deflection you will have, try to feed material slowly so not to over heat blade and cause it to warp. you can add oh about another 32nd for deflection depending on blade quality
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Will this saw handle moulding heads?

Asked by
Greg
Fernley, NV
about 13-Amp 10 in. Professional Cast Iron Table Saw on
November 9, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Jackmusic
Gladstone, MO, USA
November 17, 2012
It should as long as the moulding heads have the correct arbor size and you have the wide open throat plate. Just make sure there's no contact with the plate and you should be good to go.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
SpeirHere
Michigan
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 24, 2014
Greg, Sorry I can't answer that one as I use the router attached to the saw for that.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
GeoWright
USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
December 9, 2014
No. It is not designed for the extreme forces of a molding head. Most table saws are not, even those in the three to ten-thousand dollars range. I know some people have done that with marginal results, but it a terrible and dangerous idea to force any woodworking machine beyond its duty-rating.

I you must do heavy duty molding, then a dedicating molding machine or super heavy-duty router are the best and safest choices. That's true not only because of the extreme forces applied, but because of the vastly larger dust collection needed. Molding operations remove huge chunks of material and require powerful vacuums with large ports to remove all that debris.

Table saws are among the most versatile woodworking machines available, but they are not a "Swiss-Army Knife" that can do everything well. It is a bad idea to put molding heads on ANY table saw, but especially bad to try that with a saw in this range. Be smart. Be safe. DON'T do that.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
joelav22
MA
November 10, 2012
The arbor will probably accept it, but I don't think this saw has the guts to swing molding cutters. I'd want a 3hp+ cabinet saw. The correct tool is really a shaper with a power feeder if you can go that route.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Dado insert availability

Asked by
dece
Raleigh, NC
about 13-Amp 10 in. Professional Cast Iron Table Saw on
March 2, 2015
Is there a dado blade insert for this saw as well as a thin kerf insert? I've looked on HD site and don't see any.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
joelav22
Agawam MA
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
March 2, 2015
Yes, but unfortunately not from home depot. Leecraft makes both zero clearance and dado zero clearance inserts. I have several of each. The quality is outstanding.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Umpire20
Las Cruces, NM
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
March 3, 2015
There is a dado insert. It is made by Leecraft and it is model RG6. Search Google or Amazon and you will surely locate it.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Mike
Tracy, CA, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
March 3, 2015
Yes. I don't believe HD sells them, but they can be found elsewhere online. Just do a google search. I got mine on Am-a-zon.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Mike
Wilmington, DE
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
March 5, 2015
there are two after market inserts for each. For the thin kerf you would have to purchase the zero clearance and raise your blade up through it.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Can I purchase just the trucks under the saw?

Asked by
Leegeorge
Long Prairie, MN
about 13-Amp 10 in. Professional Cast Iron Table Saw on
December 22, 2014
If so, where?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Mike
Tracy, CA, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
December 24, 2014
If you could, it would be through RIGID direct. Call their customer service and ask.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Umpire20
Las Cruces, NM
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
December 24, 2014
Sir ....... I'm not sure whether or not you can purchase the "lift system" separately. But, here is a quote from the back page of the owner's manual ..........

"For parts or service, contact your nearest RIDGID authorized service center. Be sure to provide all relevant information when you call or visit. For the location of the authorized service center nearest you, please call 1-866-539-1710 or visit us online at www.ridgid.com."

Hopefully this will be of help to you.

Merry Christmas
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Lucky99
St. Peters, MO
December 24, 2014
Most likely, yes. Check out ridgids website. They should have a parts list and ordering info there. Or you can call ridgid direct. Hope this helps.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Lucky99
St. Peters, MO
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
December 24, 2014
Www.ridgis.com . search for the saw and a parts list and ordering info should be there. Or just call and order through ridgid. Hope this helps.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
woodworksmd
Forney Texas
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
January 21, 2015
Actually in your owners manual you will find a break down of your equipment. and an ordering page for replacement part numbers.
If you have lost your manual go online and download one i almost guarantee youll find what you want.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is there a better description or video about how the blade guard properly fits on the saw? Mine seems more danderous with it on because it is flimsy.

Asked by
MACK2058
Rochester, MN
about 13-Amp 10 in. Professional Cast Iron Table Saw on
March 27, 2014
The manual does not explain it well. My previous table saw was a 50 year old craftsma!
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Rayme
Limerick, PA 19468, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
March 27, 2014
To be honest, I didn't even assemble it to the saw. I have been using a table saw since I was a teen ager and found the best blade guard being the aware of where thing are and knowledge of what they can do. The blade can remove just about anything in its path so I keep it to the object I'm working on.
Looking at the instructions show it's simple enough to mount, but I agree holding it in my hand and feeling the sharpness of the dog teeth make it look like the bite is werse than the use.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
RIDGID
March 28, 2014
Unfortunately no, there is not a video available on that subject from RIDGID, and the only detailed written directions on that procedure are provided in the operators manual. If you could call into the RIDGID technical service line through 1-866-539-1710, for an in-depth discussion on the matter, might help him.

Thank you
RIDGID
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
GeoWright
USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
August 29, 2014
Yes. Search youtube for ridgid + table saw. They have an informative video that shows that clearly. There are also many other videos.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Mike
Tracy, CA, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
September 18, 2014
I don't use it at all, however it's recommended for safety. Really the only thing to it is making the decision to either use it or not. To put it on you need to connect it to the riving knife. If you're having trouble installing it, 1st-make sure the riving knife is attached, 2nd-raise the blade up higher. Hope that helps.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
smarteboy
Northern Utah
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
December 8, 2014
When you attach the blade guard, you line it up with the middle slot on the riving knife, and pull the silver tab on the guard back. Doing this will sort of load the spring, and then hook it into the slot and push the unit down. That should make the two metal supports fairly parallel to your table top, and lock it in place on the top. The whole unit should sit rather sturdy.

Hope this helps.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Where is this Saw made?

Asked by
Johnson
Oakdale, Louisiana
about 13-Amp 10 in. Professional Cast Iron Table Saw on
December 11, 2014
In past my experience with table saws, the arbor bearings are made in China or Japan which is a poor quality steel. The bearing wears over time/use allowing travel in the blade when under a load. I know that RIDGID is an American Co. but I am just curious as to where the saw is actually made?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
RIDGID
December 12, 2014
Thank you for your interest in RIDGID!

The RIDGID R4512 table saw is manufactured in China.

Regards,
RIDGID
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Rabbit
Baker City, Oregon
December 12, 2014
The table saw is made in China i have had mine about 6 months it is an excellent saw for the money. I can't give you an answer about the bearings have had no problems with the saw.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
MrPhil
Ontario, California
December 13, 2014
All I kept from the original box was the "Operators Manual". Nowhere in the manual states where the saw was built. At end of the English section shows "One World Technologies, Inc" in Pickens SC and a phone number. 866-539-1710. Nothing on the saw says where it was made. Sorry can't nr more helpful. So far I've had no problems..Mr Phil
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Papa
Magnolia, Tx.
December 29, 2014
China.----Surprised? I would add that the trunnion on this saw is really beefy with good sized bearings.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
joelav22
MA
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
December 12, 2014
It's made in China by Dayton. I've never heard a report of the bearings failing on these. Also the Japanese make the best machine bearings in the industry ( Nippon Seikō Kabushiki-kaisha - NSK)
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is this saw sold as pictured in the add for Home Depot?

Asked by
safish
Winder, GA
about 13-Amp 10 in. Professional Cast Iron Table Saw on
February 5, 2015
It talks about table extentions not included under specifications, but I don't know if they are showing the table extensions in the add or if the picture in the add is without the table extentions....
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Doresoom
Harvest, AL
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
February 5, 2015
The extensions are installed in the picture. The main cast iron table is in the center, and the sheet metal extensions are shown on either side of it.
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Doresoom
Harvest, AL
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
February 5, 2015
The saw is sold as pictured. The table extensions shown in the image are included, but any auxiliary tables that will fit in the empty space between the rails are not.

So when the description states "The saw can be customized by adding an extension table or auxiliary tables (not included) for routers or other specialty tools (not included)," it's just referring to a drop in or bolt on router table that doesn't come with the saw.

The kit includes the main cast iron table and two sheet metal extension wings.
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
EricG
New Mexico, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
February 5, 2015
The picture shows the saw as it is delivered.. The instruction manual gives simple instructions for filling the the area to the right to add more table surface for small work that would otherwise fall through the frame. It is easy enough to do when you have a table saw! I chose to add an old router to my table extension, so I don't need a separate router table in my already crowded shop.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
joelav22
MA
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
February 5, 2015
The saw comes exactly as pictured (once assembled of course) There is a space for another table extension to the right of the blade if so desired, and the manual gives detailed instructions on how to create one. Ridgid even includes the screws to secure it.

I added a router table to my saw
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Umpire20
Las Cruces, NM
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
March 3, 2015
It comes with 2 metal extension wings. They are pictured on the Home Depot site. I can't speak for the " ad " since I haven't actually seen such ad.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What is the assembled height from the floor to the table top?

Asked by
Slade
Houston
about 13-Amp 10 in. Professional Cast Iron Table Saw on
August 20, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
RIDGID
August 20, 2012
The R4512 table surface is at 37” from the floor.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Mike
Tennessee
September 13, 2012
37" sitting flat, 37 1/4" with casters extended
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
ridgidbuyer
October 11, 2012
37"
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
bill46
October 31, 2012
37"
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
DonP
November 17, 2012
About 37".
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
dmisita
Wilton, CT, USA
August 28, 2013
37 inches
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Ridgid 2424 ts and R4512

Asked by
Tagwatts
Vernal,Utah
about 13-Amp 10 in. Professional Cast Iron Table Saw on
May 9, 2013
What is the difference bewteen these two saws? I know the 2424 is an older model. So what are the improvements of r4512? Trying to decide what saw to buy for what i will using it for. New or Used. Thanks for any help or insight you can give me.
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
jr157
Salinas, CA, USA
May 10, 2013
I don't know the difference since I've never used the 2424, but I can tell you about the r4512. I've had mine about 6 months now and it is outstanding. I looked at a number of table saws, Grizzly, Shop Fox, Jet, etc. For the price you can't beat this saw. However, the lifetime warranty will only come with a purchase of the r4512, which would be a deciding factor for me.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
182eskylane
Drummond Island, Michigan
August 10, 2013
When I looked at table saws I looked at everything. I finally decided on the 4512 and to this date I am not disappointed.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
larry0124
Rockville, MD, USA
September 11, 2013
Buy something better than the Rigid r4512. I bought one and I am sorry I ever did.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Anonymous
Liberty Hill
October 17, 2013
I suppose it's assembled and has all the parts. The older model is probably made in the USA not China.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Speir
October 25, 2013
This may be my mistake, I was writings about the R 4512 table saw. I just got back from the warrinty shop and it was full of Rigid contractor saws, all were bearing or lack of grease. The warranty is worthless as they say they will keep fixing this saw no matter how many parts or how much money it costs. Trouble is they can't fix it.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Phred
January 23, 2014
The TS2424 was the 2nd version of Ridgid's contractor saws....the TS2412 was first, followed the 2424, then the 3612, 3650 (made by TTI/Ryobi)/3660, then the R4511 (made by Steel City/Orion). The 2424 was made in the USA by Emerson vs made in China (by Dayton AFAIK), had an outboard belt drive motor vs the inboard motor on the R4512, and had webbed cast iron wings vs steel. The 2424 also had an older style splitter vs a riving knife. The fences are somewhat similar, but are not the same.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

How do I get a replacment belt for my Ridgid table saw?

Asked by
James
Boynton Becah, FL
about 13-Amp 10 in. Professional Cast Iron Table Saw on
November 4, 2013
I have a Ridgid table saw and need a replacement belt.

I went to the local Home Depot in Boynton Beach, Florida (its located off Woolbright Rd) and asked about getting one. l was told by the service rep that Home Depot doesn't stock belts and that I had to order one from the Home Depot website.

I am at the web site now; unfortunately, I cannot find anything about ordering a new belt. How can I get one?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
RIDGID
November 5, 2013
Replacement RIDGID power tool parts can be ordered direct through the RIDGID master parts and accessory distributor at 1-877-544-9253
RIDGID
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
SpeirHere
Michigan
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 24, 2014
The belt is free and Rigid will replace it for you or send you a new one.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
BlackVelvetCustoms
Idaho
April 15, 2014
One of the best places for drive belts is at a local auto parts store. Take the original belt to them and they can match it up to a belt in stock. Much cheaper and they tend to last longer.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Mike
Tracy, CA, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
September 18, 2014
Contact RIGID directly. Google them.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Rabbit
Baker City, Oregon
November 29, 2014
James try the Ridgid web site they should have it.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
ablur
Vancouver, WA
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
January 3, 2015
Drive Belt
Part Number: 080035003054
http://www.ereplacementparts.com/drive-belt-p-945606.html?osCsid=ejd46th4pgun7kb7kvfittlji0

Copy and paste

or google Rigid 4512 replacement parts and click the first link
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

what is the size of the box it is shiped in

Asked by
Bama
Raleigh, NC
about 13-Amp 10 in. Professional Cast Iron Table Saw on
November 12, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
RIDGID
November 14, 2013
RIDGID R4512 table saw packaging dimensions: 48” x 40” x 28.33”
RIDGID
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
TheToolMan
Chicago
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
December 29, 2013
Hi Bama,

I don't have the exact specs, but roughly it is about 3 ft x 4.5 ft x 2 ft.

Hope this helps.

TTM
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Steve
Marietta, GA, USA
January 23, 2014
Huge...it will take 2 strong people to move it. It will just fit in a minivan or truck bed. I took mine out of the box to move it into the basement and it was a supreme struggle. The box weighs about 265 pounds and even in pieces the main part of the saw is all one piece and consists of the motor, cast iron top and shell. This part by itself probably weighs over 150 pounds.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
SpeirHere
Michigan
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 24, 2014
Very big and very heavy but it fit in my Ford Escape. I had to open the box in the car and pull the parts out one at a time. Luckily it was placed in the truck with the box right side up.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
hrbmd22
Memphis, TN, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 25, 2014
I don't recall the exact size, but it's about 3 feet wide x 3 feet tall by 3 feet deep, and weighs 267 pounds (without the pallet).
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Charley
Southern Colorado
April 5, 2014
30" x 40" x 23"
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

how does this unit perform with a dado blade

Asked by
1234
about 13-Amp 10 in. Professional Cast Iron Table Saw on
September 12, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Doug
Cabot, AR, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
September 14, 2014
I haven't had the opportunity to use dado blades, single or stacked, but the 13 amp motor, very well made table surface, and extensions on both ends suggest this would be a great saw for dado blades. Wish I could tell you more.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
MrPhil
Ontario, California
September 14, 2014
Unfortunately I haven't done anything yet that requires a dado cut. I have an adjustable wobble dado I used with my old Craftsman 10". I guess I should try it out to see if it fits arbor, since I do have a project requiring a dado. I've heard you should use a stack dado but don't have this. I'll try my wobble dado and see if it works. I guess you will have to check back. Ps so far saw has been awesome especially with hardwoods..Mr Phil
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Rabbit
Baker City, Oregon
September 15, 2014
I have not used one yet but i am sure it will do an excellent job, i have used several different types of saw blades and it does a great job on different types of wood.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
RIDGID
September 16, 2014
Thank you for your interest in RIDGID!

There is not any type of performance description to provide for that. The R4512 is capable of using dado blades, and a good quality stack type dado blade set rated for the saws RPM range should be used. The performance can affected by a variety of factors from the quality of the dado set up being used, the material being used, to the rate of feed at which the operating is feeding the material through in the dado cut process.

Regards,
RIDGID
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Mike
Tracy, CA, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
September 18, 2014
It performs very well. Just make sure you use a good set of stacked Dado's. I use the 6" Freud's.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Shaul
Fairport Harbor, Ohio
September 22, 2014
EXCELLENT! Nice straight, even cuts and it powers through with no problem. You will just have to either buy or make a throat plate for dado use.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Does this saw ever go on sale?

Asked by
rfree190
about 13-Amp 10 in. Professional Cast Iron Table Saw on
December 14, 2014
I'd love to replace my Dewalt 10" saw with this one, but can't afford the $550 price tag. Does it ever go on sale? LIke maybe Dec 26th??? :-P
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
EricG
New Mexico, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
December 15, 2014
Make sure you are on the HD emailing list. I get special offers every day, though I haven't seen this saw on sale. This saw is a great value at list price. I got mine 2 years ago and never regretted it- nor have I seen a table saw that looked to be a better value.

If you don't have a HD credit card, check to see if they have a special offer for people who sign up, such as a percentage off your first purchase with it
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
MrPhil
Ontario, California
December 16, 2014
I doubt you will find on sale. I looked for 6 months at diff priced saws. My budget was $600. Craftsman for same price was junk. For the price this is a great saw. Only time I saw cheaper was a floor model at an HD. Good luck, Mr Phil Jackson
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Umpire20
Las Cruces, NM
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
December 16, 2014
I've owned mine since June 2011. I don't recall seeing it go on sale. If you are a Veteran (either active or non active) most Home Depot stores offer a 10% discount on purchases. I got the 10% when I purchased mine.
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
RIDGID
December 17, 2014
Thank you for your interest in RIDGID!

Thank you for your interest in the R4512. This saw will periodically go on sale but is determined by Home Depot and their product inventory. Once this particular unit goes on sales we’ll be certain to voice that to our customers on our social channels.

Regards,
RIDGID
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Lucky99
St. Peters, MO
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
December 24, 2014
I bought at 529.99. Lowest I've ever seen it. Just buy it. Its worth every penny!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
smarteboy
Northern Utah
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
December 28, 2014
I watched it for a while, it seems like this is the price. It is the least expensive saw of its type in this class, so there is no need to discount it further. If you are lucky, you might find a 10% off coupon with a 12 month same as cash promotion. That is what I did.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

With all the reported blade movement issues on elevation, will all new saws come with the new trunnion (labeled w roman numeral II on the trunnion)?

Asked by
Scott
about 13-Amp 10 in. Professional Cast Iron Table Saw on
June 15, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
RIDGID
June 17, 2014
Hi Scott,

There are no known issues affecting the RIDGID R4512 table saw as a whole, for there to be different trunion’s with different manufacturing markings made or provided with saws.

Thanks,
RIDGID
-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
diyguy
S. Oregon
September 2, 2014
I can't answer your question directly, but mine didn't have the issue you mentioned. I've noticed that those complaints seem to relate to earlier models and you don't see that complaint as much anymore. I did have some blade run out to adjust and was able to get it to .002". The blade height didn't seem to affect it much.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Rabbit
Baker City, Oregon
September 15, 2014
I have had no issues with blade elevation movement when you turn the lock knobs every thing stays where you have set it.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Mike
Tracy, CA, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
September 18, 2014
That's a question for the manufacturer (RIGID), not so much Home Depot. Note: I haven't had any issues with blade movement, nor have I heard of there being issues. Try calling RIGID and asking them directly.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Westy
MAINE
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
December 28, 2014
I don`t know about other saws, but I have had my saw several months now, use it almost every day, and have not had any issue with blade elevation.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Umpire20
Las Cruces, NM
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 21, 2015
Not every R4512 has this particular problem. I have double checked mine and raising & lowering has no impact.

I did, however, find that my blade was out of alignment with the miter slot. Mine had the rear (out-feed) side of the blade .008 towards the right (fence side). I was able to bring it to within .003 which is a pretty good number. I also tuned my fence to have its out-feed side "out" by about .003 also.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

This saw has a 4"outlet for sawdust. Does Home Depot sell the hose and fittings for it?

Asked by
gary
Ashippun, Wi
about 13-Amp 10 in. Professional Cast Iron Table Saw on
December 31, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Lucky99
St. Peters, MO
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 1, 2015
They sell several kits. However it all depends on the shop vac hose diameter. I have the smaller 6 gallon ridgid shop vac and they dont have any fittings that fit the smaller hose. Several other sites sell 4 to 2.5" reducers that can be used for a 2.5" hose. Hope this helps.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Rabbit
Baker City, Oregon
January 1, 2015
If it's not available at Home Depot any woodworking store will have what you need. When i bought my saw i already had my old saw set up with the 4 inch hose and fittings to the dust collector.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Umpire20
Las Cruces, NM
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 1, 2015
No they don't. Since Home Depot doesn't offer the product you want I would recommend a woodworking "specialty" store such as Rockler or Woodcraft. You can also find hose and fittings on the WWW by searching for dust collection etc.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
diyguy
S. Oregon
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 2, 2015
I haven't noticed 4" dust hoses at the local Home Depot. I purchased mine from an online source and was able to get additional fittings and connectors. I had originally planned on using my shopvac, but when I put the saw together I noticed that they stated that the dust shut should not be installed unless it was used with a system that utilized a 4" hose. I believe the concern is that sawdust can build up with inadequate extraction and pose a potential fire hazard.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
ablur
Vancouver, WA
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
January 3, 2015
I assembled what I needed from the HVAC supplies at Home Depot. I went to a store with one on display so I could trial fit it all. The guy in tools was happy to help me on my quest.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
woodworksmd
Forney Texas
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
January 21, 2015
Absolutely! if your having trouble finding what you need try the contractors desk, most of these lady's and gents can get it ,or order it, or ive even made my vac labyrinth. Have fun
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 »