Looking for Answers about RIDGID 13-Amp 10 in. Professional Cast Iron Table Saw?

Customer questions and answers for
RIDGID 13-Amp 10 in. Professional Cast Iron Table Saw

This RIDGID 10 in. Professional Table Saw features a powerful, 13 amp motor for speeds up to 3450 RPM. The cast iron table's milled and polished surface minimizes vibration and provides a flat, level surface for trouble-free cutting. There is a blade guard for safety. Customize your table by adding an extension or auxiliary tables for routers or other specialty tools.
Customer questions and answers:
100 Questions
 | 
686 Answers
Overall rating:
4.476 out of 5
4.5
out of
5

Customer questions and answers for RIDGID 13-Amp 10 in. Professional Cast Iron Table Saw

Question

What's the weight of the saw without the stand

Asked by
tele505
about 13-Amp 10 in. Professional Cast Iron Table Saw on
July 16, 2015
At some point, I'd like to ditch the stand and mount it to a table. Curious what the Saw weighs without the stand.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
RIDGID Power Tool Team
July 16, 2015
Hi Tele505. The weight of the R4512 table saw is 250 lbs. Thanks.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
EricG
New Mexico, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 16, 2015
The legs are sheet steel and not at all heavy, The wheels and the linkage are a bit heavier but you would only be losing 10 or 20 pounds if you ditched them.

The saw table surface is at workbench height when used with the legs, so if you mounted the saw on top of a workbench it would be too high for comfort- unless you are very tall!
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
joelav22
Agawam MA
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
July 17, 2015
Roughly 180 to 200 lbs
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Always seem to burn the wood as I am sawing

Asked by
Stephanie
Vancouver, WA
about 13-Amp 10 in. Professional Cast Iron Table Saw on
July 13, 2015
What am I doing wrong? I have the proper blade installed for the type of wood I am cutting. It seems that I am always leaving burn marks on the wood when I am cutting. Any ideas? Much appreciated. I love this saw!
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
joelav22
Agawam MA
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
July 14, 2015
You are probably using a blade that has too high of a tooth count. If you are ripping (cutting with the grain - making a board narrower) you want a fairly low tooth count blade. I use a 24 tooth blade. If you are cross cutting (against the grain, making a board shorter) you want a higher tooth count blade. I use a 40 to 60 tooth blade here.

Also be sure your blade is parallel to your miter slot. Google "tablesaw arbor alignment" for videos on how to do this. It's not too bad on this saw but if you have never done it, you need to. It is not done before it leaves the factory

After that make sure your rip fence is also parallel to the miter slots
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Heeling / adjustment required to trunnions - blade to miter slot

Asked by
Maxim
Lake Orion
about 13-Amp 10 in. Professional Cast Iron Table Saw on
July 13, 2015
Please help!!! I had followed Ridgid manual trying to align blade to the miter slot, my blade was about 1.12 mm off to the left right out of the box (measured several times repeatably with a digital dial indicator)...
When I loosened up 3 of the 4 trunnion bolt I was able to slighly move blade / motor assembly to the left, however not by 1.12 mm, but rather by 0.3 mm only, when I was tightening bolts up, the whole blade / motor aasembly moves out agan to the right, instead of staying in adjusted position...
(1) Do I need to lower the blade down before loosening up 3 trunnion bolts? Why? Ridgid instruction Manual say so, but I don't see a reason, since in down blade position I will not know if I moved blade enough to the left or too much... I would need to raise blade up and down again and again after each dead hammer blow just to check alighment...
(2) Where exactly on a trunnion do I need to hit / tap with dead blow hammer? There is not enough room under the table to tap onto trunnion... a litle sketch or picture wuold really help me! Thanks!
The other problem is with trunnion design - hole diameter size is 3/8 inch (checked with calipers), and threaded bolt diameter is 29/64 inch (checked with calipers), so the bolt / hole fit clearance is only 3/8 - 29/64 = 0.078125 inches or 1.98 mm (if shifted to one side linearly in one hole)... however, trunnion needs to pivot around 4th bolt, so I am not sure if there is enough angular clearance to shift blade motor by 1.12 mm to the left... I wish trunnion holes were adjustable and had a bigger hole size clearance with bolt...
Any comments and feedback are very welcome!!! Thank you very much! Max
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
joelav22
Agawam MA
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
July 14, 2015
I found a much easier way.

1 - find out with way the arbor needs to move

2 - Loosen all 4 trunnion bolts. tighten them up again so they are fairly snug

3 - Get a long bar clamp and put the fixed end on the assembly, the screw end on the cabinet. Apply a tiny bit of pressure to move the trunnion

4 - Cinch up the bolts, leave the clamp there, check again. Repeat until you are good

This process took me about 20 minutes
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
RIDGID Power Tool Team
July 15, 2015
Hello Maxim, for further assistance please call our technicians @ 866.539.1710 option 2, 2, then 4. We will be more than happy to assist you with this question. Sorry for any inconvenience.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
RIDGID Power Tool Team
July 15, 2015
Hello Maxim, Suggest using a block of wood against the trunnion and tap with a hammer. This is not a common problem with this saw, however, a repair facility can repair the saw or replace the trunnion if needed.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
RIDGID Power Tool Team
July 15, 2015
Hello Maxim, We suggest using a block of wood against the trunnion and tap with a hammer. This is not a common problem with this saw, however, a repair facility can repair the saw or replace the trunnion if needed.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

what is the rated horse power of the 13 amp motor

Asked by
mike
atlanta ,mich.
about 13-Amp 10 in. Professional Cast Iron Table Saw on
July 2, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
joelav22
Agawam MA
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
July 3, 2015
The motor is rated at about 1.75 hp
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
ablur
Vancouver, WA
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
July 3, 2015
A 13-amp Motor running on 120VAC will achieve 2.02HP. If your voltage is higher or lower you will have some variable ratings. 106VAC will yield 1.8hp and 126VAC will yield 2.13hp.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Mike
Tracy, CA, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 5, 2015
I believe it's somewhere between 1-1.5 HP.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
RIDGID
July 7, 2015
Thank you for your interest in RIDGID!

There is not a listed horse power rating for the RIDGID R4512 table saw, due to an industry wide dispute on the proper means for determining horse power. The old standard formula used for years for determining horse power was: Volts X Amps divided by 746 = HP.

Regards,
RIDGID
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

is this a direct drive

Asked by
mitch
waxahachie tx
about 13-Amp 10 in. Professional Cast Iron Table Saw on
July 2, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
joelav22
Agawam MA
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
July 3, 2015
No. It's a belt driven induction motor. Far preferable to direct drive in a tablesaw
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Mike
Tracy, CA, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 5, 2015
Not sure, but it gets to full speed quickly. It's an awesome saw. Quiet, smooth, and powerful. I highly recommend it. To me it doesn't matter much on a table saw if it's direct drive or not. That's a question more suitable for a miter saw.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
RIDGID
July 7, 2015
Thank you for your interest in RIDGID!

The RIDGID R4512 table saw is belt driven, not direct drive.

Regards,
RIDGID
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is this saw a good replacement for a radial arm saw

Asked by
JTharrington
Blanchester,OH
about 13-Amp 10 in. Professional Cast Iron Table Saw on
June 19, 2015
We build furniture,our radial arm saw died. Is this saw a good replacement for a not so great radial arm saw?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
RIDGID
June 23, 2015
Thank you for your interest in RIDGID!

Table saws and radial arm saws are two totally different power tools and one would not really be considered as a replacement for the other. Sliding miter saws are the closest tool to a comparable type replacement for a radial arm saw.

Regards,
RIDGID
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
ablur
Vancouver, WA
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
July 3, 2015
I have both in my shop. I seldom use my Radial anymore. It has become an awkward work table. My RAS is a lot of work to keep true. I will admit is is about 30 years old but everything works well on it. The constant table changes and re-truing the back stop has greatly reduced my love for the thing.
My Rigid TS has been a work horse since day one. My only complaint was the plastic handle on the mitre. Once that was replaced with a bolt it became unstoppable. Please go through the steps to build a good cross cut sled and an outfeed support and you will be very happy with your purchase.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Mike
Tracy, CA, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 5, 2015
I'd say no. A good replacement for a radial arm saw would be a sliding compound miter saw.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Does the biesmier fence attach to this saw?

Asked by
1326
Idaho
about 13-Amp 10 in. Professional Cast Iron Table Saw on
June 8, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
RIDGID
June 10, 2015
Thank you for your interest in RIDGID!

Yes, the Biesmier fence system will work on the RIDGID R4512 table saw if you change out the R4512’s rails to the Biesmier rail system.

Regards,
RIDGID
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
joelav22
Agawam MA
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
July 3, 2015
No. You would need to purchase and install the appropriate fence rails as well
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Travis
La Crosse, WI
Home Improvement Profile: Other
July 7, 2015
The saw comes with its own fence system, which bolts directly to the cast table. It is a Biesemeyer-style fence (patent lapsed, so everyone makes this style now) that is as good as the machine's operator. I'm sure an aftermarket fence system could be made to work with this saw, but the fence that comes with it is very usable.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is the Warranty transferable?

Asked by
Ronald
Eugene, OR
about 13-Amp 10 in. Professional Cast Iron Table Saw on
June 5, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
RIDGID
June 9, 2015
Thank you for your interest in RIDGID!

No, RIDGID warranty coverage is non-transferrable and only applies to the original purchaser.

Regards,
RIDGID
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
joelav22
Agawam MA
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
July 3, 2015
No. It only applies to the original owner
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

what is the weight capacity of the wheel assembly?

Asked by
dave
vancouver wash
about 13-Amp 10 in. Professional Cast Iron Table Saw on
May 11, 2015
I would like to attach a router and an out table to this unit. What is the max weight the wheel assembly can hold and still roll smoothly?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
RIDGID
May 15, 2015
Thank you for your interest in RIDGID!

There is not a weight specification listed or available for the R4512’s caster system to advise of. The caster system is designed to support the table saw, and there is no information available concerning additional weight support capabilities of things that an owner may add, which RIDGID does not offer or make for use with the table saw.

Regards,
RIDGID
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Travis
La Crosse, WI
Home Improvement Profile: Other
July 7, 2015
I can't give you an accurate weight figure, but the casters under this thing allow it to roll around my uneven garage floor without much hassle. I'm sure it would support another 200-300 pounds on the table without an issue, but if you set up a router out to the side and a table off of the back, the center of mass of the whole assembly would rest on one corner rather than evenly spread through all 4 corners. I'd suggest the out-table be built separate from the saw. The router alone would probably not be a problem.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Does it have dual scales i.e. Inches and Metric?

Asked by
AusSteve
Australia
about 13-Amp 10 in. Professional Cast Iron Table Saw on
April 21, 2015
If not then are Metric scales available?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
RIDGID
April 23, 2015
Thank you for your interest in RIDGID!

The RIDGID R4512 table saws rails have standard measurement scale labels. There are no metric scale labels offered or produced for the saw by RIDGID.

Regards,
RIDGID
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Umpire20
Las Cruces, NM
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
April 22, 2015
No it has only Inches scale. However, a metric ruler can be purchased and glued in place of the Inches rule.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

How do I get a replacement yellow security key?

Asked by
none
Greensboro, nc
about 13-Amp 10 in. Professional Cast Iron Table Saw on
April 17, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
pkrevbro
Minden, LA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
June 11, 2015
I ordered one of the internet for a couple of bucks. In the interim, I was able to take the yellow tab off of my Craftsman Drill Press and sub it out on my Ridgid table saw with no fuss.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Umpire20
Las Cruces, NM
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
April 18, 2015
I searched Ridgid.com for r4512 Parts and found this item .........

089038003010 Switch Key...............................................Qty 1 it was part 19 in the list.

Here is a phone number and e-mail for Ridgid also.

Phone: 1-800-4-RIDGID (1-800-474-3443)
Email: rtccustomerservice@emerson.com

Hope this helps you.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Does ridgid make a reducer from 4" to 2" for the vacum for the professional saw

Asked by
Larry
houghton lake Mi
about 13-Amp 10 in. Professional Cast Iron Table Saw on
March 30, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
epiii
az
March 31, 2015
I don't think they do. but you can make one with parts in the pluming dept. I did. it works good. 4" to 2" rubber reducer into 2" pvc with angle and a coupler on the end to hold shopvac hose.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
RIDGID
April 1, 2015
Thank you for contacting RIDGID.

We regret to inform you that we don’t have a reducer adapter from 4” down to 2”.

If you have any further questions or concerns, feel free to call us at 1-800-4-RIDGID (1-800-474-3443) or you may send your email to info@ridgidvacs.com.

Regards,
RIDGID
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
joelav22
Agawam MA
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
July 3, 2015
No and it's not recommended. If you do not plan to hook this up to a proper dust collector, do not install the shroud. Due to the way it's positioned right at the bottom, small off cuts that would clog a 2" hose would fall right in
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
ablur
Vancouver, WA
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
July 3, 2015
I used a 4" heat pipe 90 and a plumbers boot. It works great.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

is this saw compatible with a freud sd608 dial a width dado tool ??

Asked by
lking
tennessee
about 13-Amp 10 in. Professional Cast Iron Table Saw on
March 5, 2015
assuming one has the correct throat cover and is aware of width of cut limitations related to arbor length --
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
pkrevbro
Minden, LA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
June 11, 2015
Yes. I use the Diablo Dado stack sold by Home Depot. Diablo is made by the same people who make Freud products. I love my Diablo Dado stack while my friend uses Freud products (He does this professionally) and we have put his blades on my table saw while working on projects.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Mike
Wilmington, DE
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
March 5, 2015
Not sure, but I would switch to a stacked dado you get a better cut. yes there is sufficient room on the R4512 for a stacked dado blade.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Dado insert availability

Asked by
dece
Raleigh, NC
about 13-Amp 10 in. Professional Cast Iron Table Saw on
March 2, 2015
Is there a dado blade insert for this saw as well as a thin kerf insert? I've looked on HD site and don't see any.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Umpire20
Las Cruces, NM
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
March 3, 2015
There is a dado insert. It is made by Leecraft and it is model RG6. Search Google or Amazon and you will surely locate it.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Mike
Tracy, CA, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
March 3, 2015
Yes. I don't believe HD sells them, but they can be found elsewhere online. Just do a google search. I got mine on Am-a-zon.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
joelav22
Agawam MA
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
March 2, 2015
Yes, but unfortunately not from home depot. Leecraft makes both zero clearance and dado zero clearance inserts. I have several of each. The quality is outstanding.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Mike
Wilmington, DE
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
March 5, 2015
there are two after market inserts for each. For the thin kerf you would have to purchase the zero clearance and raise your blade up through it.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

does this saw come with the stand?

Asked by
Stormy
Puyallup, Wa
about 13-Amp 10 in. Professional Cast Iron Table Saw on
February 15, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
8 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Doresoom
Harvest, AL
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
February 15, 2015
Yes, the saw comes with the stand pictured, which includes the caster lift mechanism for easy mobility around the garage or shop.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
EricG
New Mexico, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
February 16, 2015
Yes, the included legs provide a firm support. If your floor is uneven, there are adjusting screws to compensate. Four retractable wheels let you move the saw from one part of your shop to another. You wouldn't be able to transport the saw over soft ground however, because the saw is too heavy for the small wheels.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Umpire20
Las Cruces, NM
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
March 3, 2015
Yes it does. It comes as pictured on the Home Depot web site. By the way ....... the stand is VERY sturdy.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
SonyaD1967
Louisville, KY
April 21, 2015
Yes, but you will have to assemble it.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Bill6410
Durham, NC
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
February 17, 2015
Yes, a very good one
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Mike
Wilmington, DE
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
March 5, 2015
Yes
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
joelav22
Agawam MA
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
July 3, 2015
Yes, the casters a built in
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
Gfreddy
Salt Lake City Ut
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
February 23, 2015
The saw comes with a stand. It is in many pieces but not that hard to assemble
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

is this avalible in the uk.

Asked by
joey
essex uk
about 13-Amp 10 in. Professional Cast Iron Table Saw on
February 6, 2015
13 amp 10" cast iron table saw R4512
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
RIDGID
February 6, 2015
Thank you for your interest in RIDGID!

Unfortunately, these products are only available in USA.

Regards,
RIDGID
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
joelav22
MA
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
February 6, 2015
No, this saw does not meet the UK/European safety standards for tablesaws
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is this saw sold as pictured in the add for Home Depot?

Asked by
safish
Winder, GA
about 13-Amp 10 in. Professional Cast Iron Table Saw on
February 5, 2015
It talks about table extentions not included under specifications, but I don't know if they are showing the table extensions in the add or if the picture in the add is without the table extentions....
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
7 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Umpire20
Las Cruces, NM
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
March 3, 2015
It comes with 2 metal extension wings. They are pictured on the Home Depot site. I can't speak for the " ad " since I haven't actually seen such ad.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
SonyaD1967
Louisville, KY
April 21, 2015
Yes, but it does require assembly.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Mack
March 25, 2015
Mine was shipped by truck freight. I picked it up at the dock. It comes unassembled in a big heavy box ( 350Lbs). I took me about 3 hours to assemble, leveling the deck and fence rails was time consuming.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Doresoom
Harvest, AL
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
February 5, 2015
The extensions are installed in the picture. The main cast iron table is in the center, and the sheet metal extensions are shown on either side of it.
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Doresoom
Harvest, AL
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
February 5, 2015
The saw is sold as pictured. The table extensions shown in the image are included, but any auxiliary tables that will fit in the empty space between the rails are not.

So when the description states "The saw can be customized by adding an extension table or auxiliary tables (not included) for routers or other specialty tools (not included)," it's just referring to a drop in or bolt on router table that doesn't come with the saw.

The kit includes the main cast iron table and two sheet metal extension wings.
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
joelav22
MA
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
February 5, 2015
The saw comes exactly as pictured (once assembled of course) There is a space for another table extension to the right of the blade if so desired, and the manual gives detailed instructions on how to create one. Ridgid even includes the screws to secure it.

I added a router table to my saw
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
EricG
New Mexico, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
February 5, 2015
The picture shows the saw as it is delivered.. The instruction manual gives simple instructions for filling the the area to the right to add more table surface for small work that would otherwise fall through the frame. It is easy enough to do when you have a table saw! I chose to add an old router to my table extension, so I don't need a separate router table in my already crowded shop.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

How good accurate is the fence itself?

Asked by
Matt
Arkansas
about 13-Amp 10 in. Professional Cast Iron Table Saw on
January 22, 2015
I apologize if it's been asked already, but how accurate is the fence itself? I currently have a Bosch 4100-09 table saw and am wanting to get more of a stationary saw. The fence on it is fairly inaccurate so every time you move it you have to measure...every time.

Does this table saw have a better fence that's stiffer? I know it's a one-handed operation, but I want to be able to make quick cuts and not have to always measure front and back to the blade!

Thanks for your help.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
8 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Pops
Sprigfield, Ill
January 25, 2015
fence is very good and accurate
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Briggtime
South Jordan, Utah
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 23, 2015
I have only had my saw for a short time. After the initial setup, I have not seen any issue with the fence so far. I still check from time to time, just to make sure and it is spot on every time.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Umpire20
Las Cruces, NM
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
March 3, 2015
I found mine to be rather good. However, I switched to an aftermarket fence & rail because I wanted larger cross cut availability.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Hobbyist
Batesville, AR
January 24, 2015
I have had my table saw for over two years now. Everything is still working perfectly. Once I got the fence dialed in to the correct distance from the blade, I've not had to readjust it once. On occasion I have had to re-square the blade to the table. This usually happens after I've done something I shouldn't have, such as bind the blade. The fence is quite stiff for how light it is. An added bonus is that the fence has channels that will accept a 1/4" bolt, so that a sacrificial fence can be attached, or any other jigs that would be helpful.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
EricG
New Mexico, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 23, 2015
I've had this saw for two years. I lined everything up when I got it and I haven't had to readjust it since. The fence locks parallel to the blade to 'woodworking accuracy' every time - certainly within 1/64"

I'm sure there are better table saws but they will be much heavier and more expensive. I like that it can be easily moved on a smooth concrete floor, but it is far from being portable like your Bosch.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Doresoom
Harvest, AL
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 23, 2015
The fence is great. I went to HD and grabbed all the saws by the fence and shook them before deciding on this one. It was the only one that didn't move. I've never had to measure front and back of the fence before a cut. Just make sure you set up the clear measurement indicators right when you put the saw together, and that's it.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
owlafaye
starbuck wa.
March 25, 2015
Very very accurate...clamps tightly and needs absolutely no measuring...you will come to trust it.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
Mike
Wilmington, DE
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
March 5, 2015
Once I corrected the alignment issue yes very.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Riving Knife and Thin Kerf Blade

Asked by
Thomas
Milwaukee, WI
about 13-Amp 10 in. Professional Cast Iron Table Saw on
January 20, 2015
I wanted to purchase the Forrest Woodworker II Thin Kerf Blade for the Ridgid R4512 Table Saw and wanted to know if the included riving knife will work safely with this blade. The size of the blade 3/32" or .09375" #if I'm calculating this correctly#. It seems to be about the same size as the riving knife but want to make sure before I would purchase this thin kerf saw blade or one similar. I want to be able to use the riving knife safely.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
woodworksmd
Forney Texas
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
January 21, 2015
Thomas thanks fr the question, to answer the riving knife is what keeps the wood separated after the blade, its used to "try and protect you from kick back of the material your using. it keeps the wood from pinching blade. as long as the knife is at least the same thickness of blade. yes it will work.

As far as thin kerf blades go remember the thiner the blade the more deflection you will have, try to feed material slowly so not to over heat blade and cause it to warp. you can add oh about another 32nd for deflection depending on blade quality
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
kerryks1
S. Oregon
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 22, 2015
I checked the riving knife on mine with a digital caliper and it came out to around .088 inches. I don't know if there is a tolerance that needs to be maintained between the blade and riving knife so I can't answer your question about using the riving knife safely with that blade.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
RIDGID
January 21, 2015
Thank you for contacting RIDGID.

The riving knife is .090 or 2.3mm

Regards,
RIDGID
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Umpire20
Las Cruces, NM
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 21, 2015
I have the Woodworker II Thin Kerf blade on my R4512 and it is just fine. The riving knife has the "allowable" dimensions stamped into it. I don't recall what they are, but this blade will work A-OK.............
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
joelav22
Agawam MA
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
July 3, 2015
Yes. I have used this blade on my R4512 and I never use the saw without the riving knife installed (unless using a dado stack)
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What's the horsepower of the motor? Currently they don't list this

Asked by
Tommy
Little Elm, TX
about 13-Amp 10 in. Professional Cast Iron Table Saw on
January 4, 2015
What's the horsepower of the motor? I don't know why but it isn't listed in the saw specs. Seems pretty important. I can't speak for others, but at least I'd like to know.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
MrPhil
Ontario, California
January 6, 2015
Tommy..interesting question. I was looking thru the manual, and like your question said, the HP is not mentioned. The specs show 120v, 13 amp, 60 HZ, with a no load speed of 3450 RPM. Looked thru whole manual. Hope that helped. I can tell you that I've ripped maple, walnut, mahogany and oak, some of the harder woods most commonly used, and haven't had any probs. I assume min 1 HP if not more. Hopefully this helps...Mr Phil
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
woodworksmd
Forney Texas
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
January 21, 2015
Amps x volts =watts every 746 watts is 1 horse . so in your case 13 x 120 = 1560watts divided by 746 roughly 2 1/4 HP hope this helped. md
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Mike
Tracy, CA, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 5, 2015
13AMP from what I've read means "at least one" and "no more than 1.5". Someone please correct me if I'm wrong here. Thanks!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
RIDGID
January 7, 2015
Thank you for your interest in RIDGID!

There is not a listed horse power rating for the RIDGID R4512 table saw, due to an industry wide dispute on the proper means for determining horse power. The old standard formula used for years for determining horse power was: Volts X Amps divided by 746 = HP.

Regards,
RIDGID
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Bill6410
Durham, NC
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
February 17, 2015
Not sure, but I am disappointed with the 13 amp motor they used in this saw instead of the 15 amp they use in their other table saws. It is under powered
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
joelav22
MA
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
January 5, 2015
Horsepower is a little irrelevant because there is no standard way to measure it. Every brand advertises different ratings based on how they calculate it.

This saw has a 13.5 amp induction motor and produces the industry standard 1.75 HP. That is just about the maximum you can achieve on a 115v motor. If you need more you need to go to a full 240v cabinet saw
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 »