Looking for Answers about RIDGID 13-Amp 10 in. Professional Table Saw?

Customer questions and answers for
RIDGID 13-Amp 10 in. Professional Table Saw

The RIDGID 10 in. 13 Amp Professional Table Saw features a powerful, 13 Amp motor for speeds up to 3,450 RPM and a table with a polished and milled cast-iron core to provide a level, flat surface with low vibration. The saw can be customized by adding an extension table or auxiliary tables (not included) for routers or other specialty tools (not included).
Customer questions and answers:
66 Questions
 | 
484 Answers
Overall rating:
4.434 out of 5
4.4
out of
5

Customer questions and answers for RIDGID 13-Amp 10 in. Professional Table Saw

Question

Is there an accessory fence and rail system that allows a half sheet (50") cut?

Asked by
GasMan
Ontario Canada
about 13-Amp 10 in. Professional Table Saw on
August 27, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
joelav22
MA
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
August 28, 2014
Aftermarket sliding tables are available that fit this saw that are much safer and accurate when breaking down sheet goods. Also with a little modification to the rails, aftermarket 52" fence systems can be retrofit to this saw (I have one on mine). There is only one manufacturer I know that makes a direct bolt on - and that is the Incra LS-TS system.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Are the legs easily removed for a custom stand?

Asked by
Benjammin
Conifer CO
about 13-Amp 10 in. Professional Table Saw on
July 22, 2014
Aside from a dust port would there be anything that would make it difficult to build a custom stand to fit my bench height? I know that many saws have motors attached on the side or supported off the legs. I want to be able to remove the legs and mount on my own stand without a lot of effort.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
RIDGID
July 23, 2014
Thank you for your interest in RIDGID!

The R4512 table saws dust port and stand are easily detached from the saws body by removing four bolts, and the saws body could be easily mounted to an optional stand that matches the saws body mounting pattern. If the saws dust port is not going to be used, the bottom of the saw body would need to be left open so that saw dust does not accumulate in the saws body cabinet, under use. The R4512’s motor is internal within the saws body cabinet.

Regards,
RIDGID
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Rabbit
Baker City, Oregon
July 23, 2014
Yes they will be easy to remove the saw is heavy and you will need someone to help you to turn the saw on it's top. The legs that come with the saw are sturdy and the wheels are easy to push down to move the saw. The dust port should not give you any problem to mount the saw on a custom stand as it is centered on the saw, the motor is in the saw's cabinet and will not give you any problems.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Hobbyist
Batesville, AR
July 23, 2014
Removing the legs, easy? Yes and No. If the saw is already put together, it poses a bit of a challenge because of the weight and could be a bit cumbersome. But out of the box would be no problem. The legs are completely independent from the rest of the saw. With some careful measuring a custom stand could even use the factory mounting holes that the legs attach to.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Charlie
Fort Wayne, IN
July 24, 2014
Based on my experience with an R4512 purchased in June 2014, this should not be a problem. I don't believe that any earlier versions of this saw had any motor / trunions attached the the legs. My unit has all operational hardware (motor / trunions, etc.) attached to the cast iron top. If you purchase a new unit, you can skip the assembly steps associated with assembly of the legs and casters and attach your base. Note that a rather stout base will be required since this saw weighs on the order of 250 pounds. The legs are attached to the saw cabinet with four (metric) bolts. You may be able to use the provided bolts, depending on the thickness of your home made base materials. You should also be able to use the provided dust chute. I recommend assembling the legs and using them as a template for holes and dust chute opening of your custom base. Photos provided should help clarify. Note that it is pretty much a three person operation to stand the saw upright after assembly.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
MrPhil
Ontario, California
July 24, 2014
If its a permanent switch, no it's not too difficult. What I think would be is just getting top half back on your custom table, but once done should be ok
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
joelav22
MA
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
August 28, 2014
The saw has to be flipped over, but it's just a few bolts and pretty easy. However the stand on this is REALLY nice. Integrated dust collection and the lift/mobility system is better than any other I have used - original equipment or aftermarket.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

With all the reported blade movement issues on elevation, will all new saws come with the new trunnion (labeled w roman numeral II on the trunnion)?

Asked by
Scott
about 13-Amp 10 in. Professional Table Saw on
June 15, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
RIDGID
June 17, 2014
Hi Scott,

There are no known issues affecting the RIDGID R4512 table saw as a whole, for there to be different trunion’s with different manufacturing markings made or provided with saws.

Thanks,
RIDGID
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Dado Size 6 inch or 8 inch is the question

Asked by
Tinman
Plateau of Tennessee
about 13-Amp 10 in. Professional Table Saw on
May 11, 2014
I read one post states 6 inch next post it's 8 inch all over the internet on this saw.. The main concern is the dado insert not the dado size. My main concern is what size dado 6 inch or 8 inch 15/16.
I just read owners manual I see no information on what size dado. I can make my own insert or purchase a insert. It's really the proper size of dado for hp & amperage of the machine
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
RIDGID
May 13, 2014
Recommended dado blade use with the R4512 table saw is an 8” stack type dado blade set up, with a maximum 13/16” width of cut, a 1-1/2” maximum depth of cut, and rated for the saws RPM range. This information is provided on page #43 of the owner’s manual for the saw.

Thanks,
RIDGID
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Boisewoodworker2014
Boise Idaho
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
May 12, 2014
You can only use a 6 inch dado, because an 8 inch runs into the riff knife lever.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Charley
Southern Colorado
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
May 12, 2014
Tinman- I use an 8" Mibro Dado set. Any cuts over 3/8" and you'll need to make or find an insert. I'm cross cutting 1/2" dadoes in maple and walnut. - Charley
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Nutsy
PA
June 5, 2014
All I can say is I run an 8" Freud stacking dado and have no issues with power, even on hardwoods.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
joelav22
MA
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
May 12, 2014
I use an 8" stack on mine. I wish I got a 6". Not only are they less expensive, I don't hink I will ever need the extra height an 8" stack affords for the type of work I do. Since this isn't a 3hp+ saw, the less weight it has to swing on the arbor, the better it will perform.

If you need to use the full height of an 8" stack, this saw will do it. If you don't I would definitely go with a 6" for the reasons mentioned above.

Also the insert on this saw is a little funky due to the way it locks and the height is adjusted with screws. They can be made, but there are aftermarket options (zero clearance) that are really inexpensive.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Anonymous
Bradenton, FL
August 28, 2014
I run an 8 inch dado in mine. I have never had to cut a dado wider than 3/4 of an inch on it while building cabinets. There is room left over on the arbor to go wider than 3/4 of an inch, but I personally wouldn't go any wider because I want to make sure I have plenty of thread holding those spinning blades where they belong. I wouldn't recommend going 15/16's of an inch wide. That wide of a blade on the arbor would not leave very much thread for the arbor nut to thread to. As far as the insert is concerned I asked Home Depot and they did not have zero clearance inserts for this saw. I ended up going to Woodcraft and bought one from them. They had them in stock.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

With the saw's weight, will the casters on the mobile base damage a hardwood floor?

Asked by
Goose
Michigan
about 13-Amp 10 in. Professional Table Saw on
May 3, 2014
My makeshift workshop has a maple hardwood floor. Thus far, I've place plywood underneath my other stationary power tools; none of them have mobile bases. With limited space though, this saw is only feasible if I can move it around. Will I need to lay a permanent layer of plywood to prevent damage to the floor or are the casters wide enough to prevent gouging?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Charley
Southern Colorado
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
May 3, 2014
Hi Goose, The wheels are a hard rubber and I doubt they'll damage the maple floor. The saw legs come with plastic casters on the bottom so that when the wheels are retracted they should keep your floor from being scratched up.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
EricG
New Mexico, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
May 20, 2014
The wheels are hard rubber, so if the floor is clean, moving the saw should cause little or no damage. On the other hand if there are small stones or other sharp object that could embed in the wheels, there is a chance of damage.

My shop floor is painted with a 2 part epoxy paint and it is unmarked after 18 months, and my floor is far from clear of grit, stones and metal chips.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
MrPhil
Ontario, California
July 24, 2014
The weight of the saw is around 250 lbs, but the casters are very hard rubber and roll nicely on my concrete floor in garage. I don"t think it would be a prob, since weight is distributed over four casters. MrPhil
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
HomePro
Chicago, Il
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
May 17, 2014
Box was marked at 246 pounds. To my surprise, the casters are soft! They are 1 1/8 inch wide and make contact with the floor on 1/2 inch of that based on the accumulated saw dust. When you drop off the casters it comes down hard. Although the legs have hard plastic caps, I would put a small plywood pad at each leg before dropping
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
joelav22
MA
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
August 28, 2014
Yes. They will mar hardwood floor. In addition when released, the saw sets with quite a thud that will definitely dent a hardwood floor.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can someone please recommend the best fitting precision miter guage for this table saw for a reasonable price?

Asked by
mack2058
Rochester, MN
about 13-Amp 10 in. Professional Table Saw on
April 6, 2014
Its a shame the Ridgid precision guage is so poorly reviewed. I want the feeling I can accurately cut any mitered edge I want with this great tool.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Rayme
Limerick, PA 19468, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
April 7, 2014
Look into "Rockler Woodworking and Hardware" (rockler.com) They sell a few different gauges.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
BlackVelvetCustoms
Idaho
April 15, 2014
Hey Mack, take a look at the precision miter gauge by Kreg. Well worth the money for the saw.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Scot
May 27, 2014
I use the base level Incra guage which has adjustable fitment on the slider bar, and quick easy indents for a variety of standard angles. It also is easy to set at custom angle between indents. This is just the bare angle part to which I attach my own wood extension so the cost is reasonable (under $75 as I recall ten years back). The full Incra sets with fancy aluminum extensions and micro adjustable stops look really nice, but are very pricey.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
deide
Wisconsin
April 7, 2014
I cannot suggest anything as I have not used my miter gauge to this day. I positively love every aspect of this table saw, but if you are indeed looking for precision miter cuts, I'd buy the Ridgid compound 12" sliding compound miter saw and put a finishing Diablo blade on it. The precision of this saw is exceptional as is the versatility. My Ridgid miter saw is more than a few years old now, and I'd be lost without it. I personally only make miter cuts with my miter saw dedicated to such cuts.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
joelav22
MA
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
May 12, 2014
The ridgid miter gauge isn't terrible and is probably the equivalent to anything that would come with a brand new (decent) saw. The aftermarket gauges are an upgrade on any saw, and thus can be pricey. The Kreg option is probably the best bang for the buck. The incra and osborne are the best gauges.

Also consider a crosscut sleds. The only expense is plywood, a little bit of hardwood and some labor. I don't think I have ever used a miter gauge since I made a few sleds.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is there a better description or video about how the blade guard properly fits on the saw? Mine seems more danderous with it on because it is flimsy.

Asked by
MACK2058
Rochester, MN
about 13-Amp 10 in. Professional Table Saw on
March 27, 2014
The manual does not explain it well. My previous table saw was a 50 year old craftsma!
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
RIDGID
March 28, 2014
Unfortunately no, there is not a video available on that subject from RIDGID, and the only detailed written directions on that procedure are provided in the operators manual. If you could call into the RIDGID technical service line through 1-866-539-1710, for an in-depth discussion on the matter, might help him.

Thank you
RIDGID
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Rayme
Limerick, PA 19468, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
March 27, 2014
To be honest, I didn't even assemble it to the saw. I have been using a table saw since I was a teen ager and found the best blade guard being the aware of where thing are and knowledge of what they can do. The blade can remove just about anything in its path so I keep it to the object I'm working on.
Looking at the instructions show it's simple enough to mount, but I agree holding it in my hand and feeling the sharpness of the dog teeth make it look like the bite is werse than the use.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can a dado blade be used and what is the max size. Usually 13/16"

Asked by
Jimmy
Harrisburg, PA
about 13-Amp 10 in. Professional Table Saw on
February 19, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Jake
Tampa, FL, USA
February 22, 2014
Yes. A full stackable set can be used. It was mentioned in a couple of reviews about the inside blade not fitting properly on shaft shoulder, which I also found to be true, so I found a thicker washer with proper inside diameter , or a couple of thinner ones would also work, and this corrected the problem. Cuts were precise.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Rayme
Limerick, PA 19468, USA
March 11, 2014
It can but you need to obtain or make a throat guard.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
airtoolguy
Illinois
March 27, 2014
I have a Freud Dial-a-Width dado and have not used it, but I could install the entire set.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
KenHDOC
Orange, Ca.
Home Improvement Profile: Other
February 20, 2014
Hi Jimmy, yes you're correct. You use an 8" inch stacked dado, the width is 13/16th and the max depth of cut is 1 1/2 " inches.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
joelav22
Agawam, MA, USA
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
February 20, 2014
Yup. Obviously you'll need a throat plate (not included) but it will take an 8" dado stack with a 13/16 max width.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Shipment to Europe

Asked by
Luboss
Czech republic Europe
about 13-Amp 10 in. Professional Table Saw on
January 31, 2014
Can You tell me if You can send the saw to Europe(Czech republic). Can You give me roughly price of shipment.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
THDCustomerSupport
Kennesaw, GA
January 31, 2014
Thank you for your recent inquiry with The Home Depot. We are unable to ship internationally at this time. We are able to ship to the 48 contiguous states and a limited selection of products can be shipped to Alaska and Hawaii. For any other questions, please call us at HomeDepot.com Customer Service 800-430-3376.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
EricG
New Mexico, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 31, 2014
My guess is that the complications and cost of shipping and handling customs duties would make it impractical.

You might want to look at Asian import saws in the Czech Republic and compare them feature by feature. If you find something similar, it will likely cost less than importing the saw from the USA. The HD saw is an excellent combination of features and price, I have owned mine for one year and am delighted with it.

Eric
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
joelav22
Agawam, MA, USA
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
February 20, 2014
This saw is not legal for sale in EU due to safety restrictions
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

How deep is tjhe front of thed table to the saw blade?

Asked by
docholaday1
texas
about 13-Amp 10 in. Professional Table Saw on
January 19, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
10 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
deide
Wisconsin
January 23, 2014
With a 10" blade installed, it is 12 inches even to the front of table from the front tip of the blade when it the fully raised position. It is 16-3/8 inches to the front of rip fence, not including the release/locking handle.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
FlyingEye
Santa Ana, CA
January 23, 2014
The Cast Iron Table measures 20 ¼" wide x 27" deep.
There are 2 auxillary panels--one on each side measuring 10" wide x 27" deep--made from stamped steel.
The left miter slot is 5 ⅝" from blade; the right miter slot is 4 ¾" from blade.
Blade arbor is approximately 16 ½" from front of table.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
SpeirHere
Michigan
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 24, 2014
Let's start with the good points: The saw rolls with a push of the foot to raise it. and one finger to move it. It has a big bed and can cut a full sheet or MDF, (4x8). I have inlaid a Rockler router insert in the right side bed, that you have to make, and use the very stable fence to both cut and router. The blade is 13" back from the bed front and 17.5 " back from the fence edge rest. It cuts straight and true and is as good as your going to get for a portable, not professional saw. Rocker has a rubber attachment to fit the dust port and match a 2" shop vac. Love the saw, but..... It was assembled wrong and had to go back to the shop twice.
Rigid will not replace the saw and spent $1,600 to fix it. This cost me four 150 mile trips. four dinners out for my wife and four times I had to borrow a trailer. It is now dead on. A bushing was not installed properly and blade was approx. 1/8" off the line up numbers. The second shop fixed everything and repaired the damage the first shop did. Now great saw.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Seriously
Carol Stream , IL, USA
January 24, 2014
What do you mean?
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
chucktheviking
MT
January 23, 2014
With blade raised to full height; 12 inches to edge of acutal table top, 15 inches to very edge of table assembly.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Paul
St. Paul, MN
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 23, 2014
The distance from the front edge of the table to the opening for the blade on the throat plate is 11.25." With the blade at its highest position the distance would be approximately 11.0" from the front edge of the table to the blade. With the height of the blade set to cut 3/4" stock the distance from the blade to the front of the table is approximately 13.5." Hope this helps.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
GNWS
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 23, 2014
With a 10" blade raised to full height, I measure 11 13/16" from the front of the table to the blade. (The closest side of the opening in the stock insert is 11 1/8" from the front of the table.)
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
LWindy
Up state NY
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 24, 2014
from the front of the saw table to the blade forward edge it is 12 1/2 inches
L
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Asked by
hrbmd22
Memphis, TN, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 25, 2014
The front of the table (excluding the rail) to the front of the blade measures 15 inches.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 10
Asked by
joelav22
Agawam, MA, USA
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
February 20, 2014
6" give or take a little depending on blade height
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What is the dia. of arbor and what size dado blade will it handle and what width of cut?

Asked by
rayThiele
Summerfield FL
about 13-Amp 10 in. Professional Table Saw on
December 28, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
9 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
KenHDOC
Orange, Ca.
Home Improvement Profile: Other
December 30, 2013
Hi RayThiele, the arbor size on this saw is 5/8".

This saw uses a 8" inch stacked dado blade.

The width of the dado cut is 13/16".

Also the depth of cut is 1 1/2" inch maximum. Enjoy.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Phred
January 23, 2014
5/8" diameter. It should handle up to 13/16" stack with the washer removed....just be sure the nut is fully seated.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
SpeirHere
Michigan
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 24, 2014
Standard 5/8" arbor and I have a 8" dado X 15/16" and it could handle another 1/4 blade and still screw on. You will need an dado insert, ( Amazon. com $ 23.00).
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Mred
Henderson
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 24, 2014
The arbor is a standard 5/8" You will need a dado throat plate in order to use a dado wider than 1/4", otherwise the dado will hit the edges of the plate.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
TheToolMan
Chicago
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 25, 2014
Hi rayThiele,

The arbor is 5/8" (accepts standard 10" saw blades) and will handle a dado blade up to 13/16" thick.

Best of luck!

TTM
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Umpire20
Las Cruces, NM
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 10, 2014
The arbor is 5/8". I am fairly certain the dado stack can be 13/16". The dado blade(s) are 8".
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
hrbmd22
Memphis, TN, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 25, 2014
The arbor is 5/8 inch. I've used both an 8 inch dado and a 10 inch dado blade. Obviously, you can achieve a deeper dado cut with the 10 inch blade, but they are much more expensive.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
Mike
Tracy, CA, USA
January 14, 2014
Arbor size is 5/8", and it's written in the manual that it can take up to an 8" dado blade stack. You really shouldn't need this much dado though, and a 6" should do most every cut to the depth you want (outside of the uncommonly deep ones). Oh, AND the 6" dado stack is a little bit less expensive. I'd go with the 6" stack unless you know you'll need the depth of the 8".
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Asked by
joelav22
Agawam, MA, USA
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
February 20, 2014
5/8" arbor. It will take an 8" dado stack. Max width dado is 13/16
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What is the advantage to wiring the table saw for 240v rather then 120v?

Asked by
dapatch
Sudbury Ontario canada
about 13-Amp 10 in. Professional Table Saw on
December 27, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
14 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Phred
January 23, 2014
220v divides the amperage across two hot leads, vs one, which in turn balances out the load on your electrical box, reduces voltage loss and overload of the circuit, and allows for smaller gauge wire. Avoiding voltage loss also tends to keep the motor cooler. Many claim that not starving the saw for amperage makes it start and recover more quickly, but it depends a great deal on your particular circuit. Worth doing if you have 220 readily available.....
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Edwin
Henderson, NV, USA
January 24, 2014
None, really. The saw works quite well at 110.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Umpire20
Las Cruces, NM
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 10, 2014
I am about to have mine rewired for 240v. It is my understanding that by doing that there is less strain put on the motor which should increase power and lengthen the life of the motor.

If anyone knows that I am incorrect here, please post a comment & let me know what I have wrong.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Steve
Marietta, GA, USA
January 23, 2014
Supposedly the saw will run better at 240V than 110V but as long as you are not running multiple tools on the same circuit, or using a long extension cord, 110V should perform basically the same.
-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Steve
Marietta, GA, USA
January 23, 2014
NO real advantage. Supposedly it will make the saw run stronger and cooler but there is debate over this issue.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
RIDGID
December 30, 2013
Wiring the saws motor to run on 240V verses 120V allows the motor to run cooler. That is the only real advantage.
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
Mike
Tracy, CA, USA
January 14, 2014
The saw will run more efficiently and it will use less energy. If you run the saw enough you'll notice a difference in your PG&E bill if you run the saw on 240v rather than 120v, but you might not have a 240v outlet in your home/workplace. If you don't you'll have to get an electrician out there to put one in. It's better to run the saw on 240v, but you shouldn't see much of a difference in overall performance one way or the other.
-3points
0out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
SpeirHere
Michigan
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 24, 2014
I don't think this saw will convert to 220v and the motor is not accessible if is..
-6points
0out of 6found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Asked by
JimInAnnapolis
Annapolis, Md
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 4, 2014
I'm sure there is an electrical engineer out there that can give you a more technically accurate answer related to the power delivery and loss coefficient over wires as you switch from 120v to 240v. But I'll give it a shot.

A motor running at a twice the voltage will essentially use half the current (amps) to deliver the same power (Power=Volts x Amps). The decrease in amperage when using 240v causes less "loss' over the wires since the current is less by 1/2 even the though the total power is the same. Less current also cause less heat. Heat is generally bad for motors.

From a more practical perspective,,, when I switched my saw (not this model) from 120v to 240v, I immediately noticed a faster start-up and less "lugging" with thick hardwoods (especially in very cold weather as my saw in is the garage and I drag it outdoors for cuts).

Note that it will cost you some bucks to make the switch... unless you already have a 240v receptacle and a 240v plug/wire assembly for the saw. I'm guessing parts will cost you maybe $75-$125; and probably another $100-$250 for an electrician to put in the receptacle if you aren't comfortable working with 240v wiring.

Note that 240v receptacles and plugs are different based on the current delivery capability. Meaning a 20amp setup plugs/receptacles are different than a 30amp. So if you already have a receptacle be sure you either take a picture of the receptacle or looking carefully for the amp rating on the receptacle before you buy the necessary plug.

I'm sure others will have a different opinion but if practical for other reasons, I believe 240v will always perform "better" then 120v. Whether you need that additional "bang" is dependent on how you use your tool.
+8points
8out of 8found this answer helpful.
answer 10
Asked by
GNWS
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 23, 2014
I run this table saw at 120v, but I believe rewiring for 240v would draw less power (half the amps) and would be easier on the motor, leading to longer motor life.
+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 11
Asked by
Seriously
Carol Stream , IL, USA
January 23, 2014
Higher voltage means lower amperage. That saves you money.
-5points
1out of 7found this answer helpful.
answer 12
Asked by
Phred
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 24, 2014
The response above that states running on 240v will save money on electricity is incorrect. Power companies bill by killowatt/hours. The saw will consume nearly the same wattage whether it's run on 120v or 240v.

It's very possible to see an improvement in performance by switching to 240v if the 120v is not up to par, which is not uncommon. That improvement varies with each circuit. In theory, a good 120v circuit will provide the same results, but in the real world, voltage loss is pretty common, and is remedied by a 240v circuit or an adequate 120v circuit. 240v will nearly always handle the amperage peaks better because it's never as close to it's max capacity, and is actually less expensive to wire for. If you have 240v readily available, switching is feasible. If you don't have 240v, it may not be worth pursuing unless you have overload issues, or are going to run new wire anyway.
+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
answer 13
Asked by
182eskylane
Drummond Island, Michigan
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
January 24, 2014
It's cheaper to run at 220v then 120v.
-5points
0out of 5found this answer helpful.
answer 14
Asked by
TheToolMan
Chicago
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 25, 2014
Hi dapatch,

I'm glad you asked because there is often a lot of confusion around this topic. In short, there are probably only 2 advantages of converting to 240v that would ever apply to the average user.

1) If the table saw is located a far distance from the original breaker box (say, 150-200 ft+) a larger voltage will reduce the effects of something called voltage drop, a problem most common at start-up. If you trip a breaker and/or your saw if slow to get up to speed (in the first 2-5 seconds), then you might be experiencing this issue.

2) If you had an existing 120v circuit with 3 wires (+ ground) but the wires were too small to safely supply the power to the tool, you can convert it to 240v. It would then pull 50% less current through each wire thus allowing for safe use of the smaller wires. This can save you some install money, but only if you have the right number and type of wires to begin with.

Common misconceptions are that 240v will make your motor turn faster, generate more power, or consume less electricity and save money. These are all myths.

If you find you trip the breaker often, then 240v might be the answer for you. But a properly sized 120v circuit should rarely give you a problem.

Hope this helps and best of luck!

TTM
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Question

How does the lifetime service agreement work with this table saw?

Asked by
Gary
Homer, IL
about 13-Amp 10 in. Professional Table Saw on
December 21, 2013
I can't just pack this saw up and take it back to the store if something goes wrong after i purchase it. Anyone have experience with Rigids lifetime service agreement?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
8 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
FlyingEye
Santa Ana, CA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 23, 2014
I have been waiting nearly 4 months for Ridgid to qualify me for the LSA on my 10" Table Saw. I am quite concerned they will renege on their offer and I will be stuck with a beautiful boat anchor.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
SpeirHere
Michigan
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 24, 2014
You must take the saw to one of the rigid repair shops. I advise you to look up the location of the shop nearest you to see how convenient this is to you. Don't go to Howell, Michigan shop for what ever reason.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Mred
Henderson
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 24, 2014
It's a lengthy process, but it appears to work quite well, although I haven't had a need to use it yet.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Benv
Denver Colorado
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
February 4, 2014
Previously you had to take the saw back to a service center. Now you can take it back to any HD! Be sure to register your product which can now be done directly through HD website on the product page. My father-in-law accidently broke a part on his Rigid tablesaw and took it to a service center. He told them he would buy they part since it was his own fault that it was broken. Nope! Fixed free of charge.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
THDCustomerSupport
Kennesaw, GA
December 23, 2013
Thank you for your recent inquiry with The Home Depot. I believe it would be best to reach out to the manufacturer for assistance. The manufacturer is RIDGID and their customer service department can be reached at 1-800-4-RIDGID.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
chucktheviking
MT
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 23, 2014
In this case you have both Home Depot and Ridgid to work with. Try Home Depot first and if they recommend Ridgid as the next step then go there.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
Scrounger
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 24, 2014
Save the code on the box and register the saw. After that your have to deliver the saw to an authorized shop or call and ask for a part you can install your self.. If it is flawed take it back to Home Depot fast.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
hrbmd22
Memphis, TN, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 25, 2014
yes, it does come with a lifetime service agreement. Unfortunately, you have to return it or take it to an authorized service center. Nothing is done on site.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Does the Riving knife travel with the blade up and down?

Asked by
alonim12
portland
about 13-Amp 10 in. Professional Table Saw on
December 19, 2013
It mentioned a Riving knife! its useless unless is moving with the blade
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
11 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
RIDGID
December 20, 2013
Yes, the RIDGID R4512 table saws riving knife travels up and down with the blade as the blade is raised or lowered.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Phred
January 23, 2014
That's what separates a riving knife from a splitter....
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
deide
January 23, 2014
Yes, the riving knife moves in exact correspondence to the blade.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
SpeirHere
Michigan
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 24, 2014
Yes.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Benv
Denver Colorado
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
February 4, 2014
It does move up and down with the blade.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Umpire20
Las Cruces, NM
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 10, 2014
Yes. It absolutely travels with the blade.

It can be used in 1 of 2 methods also.
1 - for through cuts (high) and
2 - for non-through cuts (low).
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
scout706
January 10, 2014
It moves up and down with the blade. In addition it has 2 positions up for thru cuts and down for non-thru cuts. Works very well....
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
Steve
Marietta, GA, USA
January 23, 2014
Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Asked by
hrbmd22
Memphis, TN, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 25, 2014
Yes, the riving knife travels up and down with the blade.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 10
Asked by
Mike
Tracy, CA, USA
January 14, 2014
Yes, the riving knife moves up and down with the blade.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 11
Asked by
joelav22
Agawam, MA, USA
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
February 20, 2014
Yes. It's a true riving knife; not a splitter
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Do the screws hold the throat plate in place?

Asked by
Rook
about 13-Amp 10 in. Professional Table Saw on
December 14, 2013
Probably seems like a dumb question but I am a rookie with this stuff. It seems obvious that the screws would hold it in place but once I did it it did not look right. Did not make sense to me that the screws weren't flush with the plate. And the assembly instructions never mention screws so I am thinking that the screws stay in the holes underneath the throat plate and throat plat simply slides into its slot?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
11 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
RIDGID
December 16, 2013
The throat plate is supposed to rest in the table opening, and the screws are to be adjusted to raise, lower, level the throat plate with the table surface. The rear tab on the underside of the throat plate and the magnet in the front of the opening in the table, serve to secure and hold the throat plate in place.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Mred
Henderson
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 24, 2014
No, they simply are to adjust the plate so it will be flush with the table. The plate has a tab on the underside to prevent it from flipping out.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Benv
Denver Colorado
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
February 4, 2014
The throat plate sits on top of the adjustment screws. It is secured by small magnets and a single metal hook on the one end.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
TheToolMan
Chicago
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
December 29, 2013
Hi Rook,

On mine (purchased in 2005) there is a tab that slips under the rim and one countersunk screw on the opposite end that holds the plate down. The throat plate is rather thick and substantial and very flat. I have no fear of it warping or coming loose...though always make sure you have it secured to the table to the table.

Hope this helps! Happy woodworking!

TTM
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Umpire20
Las Cruces, NM
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 10, 2014
No, not exactly. The screws are raised and or lowered to level the plate. The plate would effectively sit on top of the screw heads. But the screws are adjustable through the plate or zero clearance insert.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
scout706
January 10, 2014
The screws go under the throat plate and act like set screws to adjust the height. The throat plate is held in place via a magnet and an extension.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
Steve
Marietta, GA, USA
January 23, 2014
The plate is held in place by magnets and gravity. The screws are meant to sit UNDER the plate and can be adjusted THROUGH the plate holes to level the top of the plate with the top of the table.

Do not remove the screws and put them through the top of the plate, this will only serve to create a potentially hazardous condition where your work piece could snag on an exposed screw head, or scratch your work piece as it passes over the screw head.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
hrbmd22
Memphis, TN, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 25, 2014
No. The throat plate is held in place by gravity and a small lip at the rear that fits under the table top. The screws go directly into the holes in the metal tabs under the throat plate and are adjusted from above after inserting the plate to properly level the plate.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Asked by
Mike
Tracy, CA, USA
January 14, 2014
You don't need to do anything with the screws. Just slip the throat plate into the slot. It should fit flush. I'd also recommend that you purchase an after market "zero tolerance" throat plate so that your work is well supported on each side of the blade. The stock throat plate is usable and will allow for all cuts at every bevel angle you need, but for straight 90 degree cuts (most of the cuts you'll make) a zero tolerance throat plate is best. They sell them on Amazon for $26.99.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 10
Asked by
SpeirHere
Michigan
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 24, 2014
The answer is yes; however the cheep screws were too proud and caught the wood sliding across the table or scratched the wood. I replaced them with a better screw and took a counter sink and made them flush. I got the screws as hardware and they are stainless steel and cannot be recovered with a magnet. p.s. Buy extra screws as they fall or are knocked into the slot
-3points
0out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 11
Asked by
joelav22
Agawam, MA, USA
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
February 20, 2014
The screws are to level the plate. The plate is held down with magnets and a latch in the rear
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What is motor horse power?

Asked by
jake
Illinois
about 13-Amp 10 in. Professional Table Saw on
December 2, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
8 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Phred
January 23, 2014
Roughly 1.5 usable horsepower. Mathematically it equates to the motor amperage (13) x voltage (120) = 1560 "watts". 746 watts is the numeric equivalent of 1hp, which equates to an inflated theoretical 2.09 hp for the R4512 if it ran at 100% efficiency (no motor does).....to get a realistic value, that number needs to be multiplied a couple of efficiency loss factors, which are an unknown to most of us, but a fair guess would be in the range of 65-70% efficiency for this type of motor, giving you and estimated hp rating of roughly 1.35 to 1.5hp.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
FlyingEye
Santa Ana, CA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 23, 2014
1. Multiply Amps x Volts to find Watts (13 x 120 = 1560 Watts)
2. Divide Watts by 746 to find Horsepower (1560 / 746 = 2.0911528 Horsepower
Simple Answer: The Ridgid 13 Amp Table Saw has 2.0911528 horsepower
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Mred
Henderson
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 24, 2014
The horse power is not listed in the specs, nor is it on the motor. However, since most table saws of this type have 1.5 HP, it's most likely what this one is. The next size up is 2.0 HP and it requires 220 V, where this one will operate on 110V. Hppes this helps.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
RIDGID
December 5, 2013
We do apologize but, We no longer quote horse power ratings on RIDGID AC power tools. If you have further questions please contact our Technical Support Division at 866-539-1710.

Thank you
RIDGID
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Paul
St. Paul, MN
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 23, 2014
According to the published specifications, the motor is rated at 1.5 hp. I cut mostly 3/4 " stock - usually oak and/or maple. I use a high quality thin-kerf blade from Freud. The saw has plenty of power - never seems to bog down.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
GNWS
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 23, 2014
I believe a 13-amp motor at perfect efficiency would deliver about 2 HP, so realistically the motor for this saw is probably in the range of 1 1/2 to 1 3/4 HP. I haven't had any difficulty cutting 4/4 hardwoods (oak, poplar, maple) with it. I've heard that saws in this power range can bog down when cutting 8/4 hardwood stock, though.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
hrbmd22
Memphis, TN, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 25, 2014
Not sure. The HP is not listed in the manual, but Ridgid says it's 0.9548. I've also seen 0.75.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
joelav22
MA
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
May 12, 2014
This saw has a 1.75hp induction motor
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Model # R4512

Asked by
crs7771
highland il
about 13-Amp 10 in. Professional Table Saw on
November 18, 2013
in the picture shown it looks like there is 2 table extensions where does a customer get the extensions from
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
7 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Jake
Tampa, FL, USA
February 22, 2014
This comes with two stamped steel extensions and the owners manual gives simple directions to make a third out of wood to fill in empty spot shown in picture. I am planning on utilizing space to instert a benchtop router table and numerous other insert possibilties.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
RIDGID
November 19, 2013
Those are the two stamped steel table extensions that come with the saw. They can be ordered as replacement parts, if needed, through the RIDGID master parts distributor at 1-877-544-9253.

Thank you
RIDGID
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Umpire20
Las Cruces, NM
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 10, 2014
The saw does come with 2 metal (stamped) extensions. They are included in the box when you purchase. If you are asking about "replacement" extensions I recommend contacting Ridgid directly.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
hrbmd22
Memphis, TN, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 25, 2014
If you are referring to the right side rail extensions in the picture, they come with the saw and are a part of the rail system. They are spaced 27 inches apart to accommodate a router table.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Sloth665
Walker, Louisiana
February 10, 2014
It comes with 2 extension tables in the box.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Mike
Tracy, CA, USA
January 14, 2014
You can probably get replacement extensions from RIGID, but if not you can buy some pretty nice after market ones. You can even get them in cast iron which is always preferable. That said, you can also just make your own out of wood! :)
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
joelav22
Agawam, MA, USA
February 20, 2014
The saw come with 2 stamped steel extensions. The manual has instructions on how to make a table to fill the space to the right if desired. I have a router table in mine
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

what is the size of the box it is shiped in

Asked by
Bama
Raleigh, NC
about 13-Amp 10 in. Professional Table Saw on
November 12, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
SpeirHere
Michigan
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 24, 2014
Very big and very heavy but it fit in my Ford Escape. I had to open the box in the car and pull the parts out one at a time. Luckily it was placed in the truck with the box right side up.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Charley
Southern Colorado
April 5, 2014
30" x 40" x 23"
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
RIDGID
November 14, 2013
RIDGID R4512 table saw packaging dimensions: 48” x 40” x 28.33”
RIDGID
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
TheToolMan
Chicago
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
December 29, 2013
Hi Bama,

I don't have the exact specs, but roughly it is about 3 ft x 4.5 ft x 2 ft.

Hope this helps.

TTM
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Steve
Marietta, GA, USA
January 23, 2014
Huge...it will take 2 strong people to move it. It will just fit in a minivan or truck bed. I took mine out of the box to move it into the basement and it was a supreme struggle. The box weighs about 265 pounds and even in pieces the main part of the saw is all one piece and consists of the motor, cast iron top and shell. This part by itself probably weighs over 150 pounds.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
hrbmd22
Memphis, TN, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 25, 2014
I don't recall the exact size, but it's about 3 feet wide x 3 feet tall by 3 feet deep, and weighs 267 pounds (without the pallet).
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

How do I get a replacment belt for my Ridgid table saw?

Asked by
James
Boynton Becah, FL
about 13-Amp 10 in. Professional Table Saw on
November 4, 2013
I have a Ridgid table saw and need a replacement belt.

I went to the local Home Depot in Boynton Beach, Florida (its located off Woolbright Rd) and asked about getting one. l was told by the service rep that Home Depot doesn't stock belts and that I had to order one from the Home Depot website.

I am at the web site now; unfortunately, I cannot find anything about ordering a new belt. How can I get one?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
RIDGID
November 5, 2013
Replacement RIDGID power tool parts can be ordered direct through the RIDGID master parts and accessory distributor at 1-877-544-9253
RIDGID
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
SpeirHere
Michigan
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 24, 2014
The belt is free and Rigid will replace it for you or send you a new one.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
BlackVelvetCustoms
Idaho
April 15, 2014
One of the best places for drive belts is at a local auto parts store. Take the original belt to them and they can match it up to a belt in stock. Much cheaper and they tend to last longer.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

I'm concerned that it is only a 13 amp motor and not a 15 amp. Does the belt driven vs direct drive boost the motor's actual performance?

Asked by
DB2020
Dallas, TX
about 13-Amp 10 in. Professional Table Saw on
October 4, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
11 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Umlify
Florida
October 10, 2013
I'm not sure about the differences between belt driven and direct drive but I definitely wouldn't worry about this motor being 13 amp. It's plenty powerful, I've cut through walnut, oak and mahogany effortlessly. I expected it to bog down, but not once did it flinch.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
FlyingEye
Santa Ana, CA
October 14, 2013
I just fired up my new R4512 today. Belt came off pulleys but motor seems plenty strong. Lack of belt tension on my saw causes blade to stop.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
SpeirHere
Michigan
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 24, 2014
I have no problem with the power and cut through 5/4 white oak, very heavy wood. This is about as good as it gets for a moveable non pro saw.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
RIDGID
October 8, 2013
The R4512’s motor provides sufficient power and RPM’s to perform all typical table saw application. There is no boost of the motors performance associated with a belt drive system verses a direct drive system.

Thank you
RIDGID Support
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
jgalloway79
Clemson SC Go Tigers!
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
October 14, 2013
Yes, the belt drive delivers more power at the blade. If you've been accustomed to a 15 amp direct drive motor, this saw will knock your socks off. Far more power, less noise, much smoother cut. There is simply no comparison.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
FlyingEye
Santa Ana, CA
October 15, 2013
I don't know scientifically if the difference is significant or if it is just a matter of cost. I just got my new R4512 put together and it works like a charm on 110 with the supplied blade. 13 amps is plenty of power.
I'm using the extra amps to run my shop vac and shop lights.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
TheToolMan
Chicago
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 25, 2014
DB2020,

IMO, you'll never notice the difference between 13amp and 15amp. The motor can easily handle current draws in excess of this for a short amount or time. As for belt v. direct drive, belt driven saws are much quieter and could (depending upon quality of manufacturer) produce a smoother, more consistent cut as the motor and the blade mount are two separate units.

Hope this helps!

TTM
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
Mike
Tracy, CA, USA
January 14, 2014
Don't worry too much about the amperage, it shouldn't effect the performance much. Belt driven is better than direct drive, and is more efficient, and is more reliable. The belt drive motor should also last longer. This is the best contractor style/hybrid table saw you can buy for the money. If you're unsure about buying it, don't be. I researched table saws in this class well over 6 months before I bought it, and there simply isn't anything better out there for the price. The Craftsman model (which is basically the same saw) is $100 more.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Asked by
MikeFirelands
Wakeman, OH
October 9, 2013
There isn't too much of a difference between the 13A & 15A table saw. You'll just have the feed the board in a little slower. Some of it has to do with the type of board stock you are feeding into the table saw and your blade type. For example: A sheet of plywood doesn't require anything more than 10 Amps but 3 inch hard maple would benefit from a saw with more amps. I prefer belt driven table saws because of the smoothness that it provides on the saw. Belt driven saws cost a little more but I'm not shielding my body when turning them on. I had a direct drive table saw and I thought the blade was going to spin off whenever I turned it on.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 10
Asked by
Phred
January 23, 2014
The belt doesn't increase power, but it doesn't help it run smoother and helps prevent motor overload. Induction motors in genera do have more torque than the universal motors, which are usually direct drive. A 13 amp motor is less likely to overtax a standard residential 120v circuit, but if all else is equal it won't have as much power as a 15 amp equivalent motor.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 11
Asked by
joelav22
MA
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
May 12, 2014
No, however you are not comparing apples and oranges. the 15amp saws are generally direct drive universal motors. The same that power a vacuum cleaner. They are externally loud, rough, and only make the most power at extreme RPM's (low torque). Since your tablesaw blade spins relatively slow at <5000 RPM, you are not going to get the max efficiency out of a direct drive motor meant to spin around 5 times that number.

This saw has an induction motor. While amperage is less, efficiency at lower RPM is a lot higher. Also it is very smooth (no vibration) and very quiet. You can really only hear the wirring of the blade during operation. No high end table saws, drill presses, jointers, planers, bandsaws, etc. use direct drive motors

So when comparing amperage ratings on saws, be sure to know if you are dealing with a direct drive motor, or an induction motor
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
1 2 3 4 »