Looking for Answers about RIDGID 13-Amp 10 in. Professional Table Saw?

Customer questions and answers for
RIDGID 13-Amp 10 in. Professional Table Saw

The RIDGID 10 in. 13 Amp Professional Table Saw features a powerful, 13 Amp motor for speeds up to 3,450 RPM and a table with a polished and milled cast-iron core to provide a level, flat surface with low vibration. The saw can be customized by adding an extension table or auxiliary tables (not included) for routers or other specialty tools (not included).
Customer questions and answers:
75 Questions
 | 
559 Answers
Overall rating:
4.487 out of 5
4.5
out of
5

Customer questions and answers for RIDGID 13-Amp 10 in. Professional Table Saw

Question

Is this saw on display at any of the Metro Atlanta stores? I want to look at it out of the box before I buy it.

Asked by
LW55
Atlanta GA
about 13-Amp 10 in. Professional Table Saw on
December 16, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
RIDGID
December 17, 2014
Thank you for your interest in RIDGID!

Recently this product was on display in the Buckhead, Home Depot, store #6986. There is a chance the floor model recently sold, however feel free to call over there before you make the drive to view the display.

Phone – (404) 841-5608

Regards,
RIDGID
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Umpire20
Las Cruces, NM
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
December 17, 2014
I live in New Mexico so I can't really help with your question. I will attach a photo of my set-up here. Keep in mind that I have upgraded my fence and rail assembly. I've also added an extension table on the right of the saw.
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Does this saw ever go on sale?

Asked by
rfree190
about 13-Amp 10 in. Professional Table Saw on
December 14, 2014
I'd love to replace my Dewalt 10" saw with this one, but can't afford the $550 price tag. Does it ever go on sale? LIke maybe Dec 26th??? :-P
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
EricG
New Mexico, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
December 15, 2014
Make sure you are on the HD emailing list. I get special offers every day, though I haven't seen this saw on sale. This saw is a great value at list price. I got mine 2 years ago and never regretted it- nor have I seen a table saw that looked to be a better value.

If you don't have a HD credit card, check to see if they have a special offer for people who sign up, such as a percentage off your first purchase with it
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
MrPhil
Ontario, California
December 16, 2014
I doubt you will find on sale. I looked for 6 months at diff priced saws. My budget was $600. Craftsman for same price was junk. For the price this is a great saw. Only time I saw cheaper was a floor model at an HD. Good luck, Mr Phil Jackson
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Umpire20
Las Cruces, NM
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
December 16, 2014
I've owned mine since June 2011. I don't recall seeing it go on sale. If you are a Veteran (either active or non active) most Home Depot stores offer a 10% discount on purchases. I got the 10% when I purchased mine.
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
RIDGID
December 17, 2014
Thank you for your interest in RIDGID!

Thank you for your interest in the R4512. This saw will periodically go on sale but is determined by Home Depot and their product inventory. Once this particular unit goes on sales we’ll be certain to voice that to our customers on our social channels.

Regards,
RIDGID
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

can you get a dado insert for the saw to use dado Blade?

Asked by
chris
alton ,il
about 13-Amp 10 in. Professional Table Saw on
December 14, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
KenHDOC
Orange, Ca.
Home Improvement Profile: Other
December 15, 2014
Hi Chris, yes you can order a dado insert for this table saw, RIDGID has one.

The part number is AC31DP1. You can order this part at your local Home Depot.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
doresoom
Harvest, AL
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
December 15, 2014
I'm not sure if Home Depot carries them, but Leecraft makes a zero clearance dado insert for about $30-35. Or you could make your own by using the original insert as a template for an MDF insert.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
joelav22
MA
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
December 15, 2014
Yes you can, but not at home depot. Ridgid sells them, but I prefer the aftermarket zero clearance inserts. They are made by leecraft and about 25 dollars (exceptional quality)
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Umpire20
Las Cruces, NM
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
December 17, 2014
Sure can...... Search Amazon (or the web in general) for " Leecraft RG-6 ". That is the Dado zero clearance insert. Also there is the RG-5 which is for your regular blade including a slot for the riving knife.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Alexander
Minden, LA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
December 16, 2014
You can get Dado inserts for the Ridgid r4512 through woodworking supply websites. Home Depot currently does not offer the inserts at this time.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Where is this Saw made?

Asked by
Johnson
Oakdale, Louisiana
about 13-Amp 10 in. Professional Table Saw on
December 11, 2014
In past my experience with table saws, the arbor bearings are made in China or Japan which is a poor quality steel. The bearing wears over time/use allowing travel in the blade when under a load. I know that RIDGID is an American Co. but I am just curious as to where the saw is actually made?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
joelav22
MA
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
December 12, 2014
It's made in China by Dayton. I've never heard a report of the bearings failing on these. Also the Japanese make the best machine bearings in the industry ( Nippon Seikō Kabushiki-kaisha - NSK)
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
RIDGID
December 12, 2014
Thank you for your interest in RIDGID!

The RIDGID R4512 table saw is manufactured in China.

Regards,
RIDGID
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Rabbit
Baker City, Oregon
December 12, 2014
The table saw is made in China i have had mine about 6 months it is an excellent saw for the money. I can't give you an answer about the bearings have had no problems with the saw.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
MrPhil
Ontario, California
December 13, 2014
All I kept from the original box was the "Operators Manual". Nowhere in the manual states where the saw was built. At end of the English section shows "One World Technologies, Inc" in Pickens SC and a phone number. 866-539-1710. Nothing on the saw says where it was made. Sorry can't nr more helpful. So far I've had no problems..Mr Phil
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

HOW MANY HORSE POWER THE MOTOR

Asked by
DANIEL
about 13-Amp 10 in. Professional Table Saw on
December 8, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Mike
Tracy, CA, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
December 8, 2014
It's rated at 13-Amp which I believe is just over 1-HP. Back in the day I was told that my 15-Amp bandsaw was a 1.5-HP motor, so if it's anywhere close to that I'd imagine it's anywhere from 1-1.5 HP.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
RIDGID
December 9, 2014
Thank you for your interest in RIDGID!

There is not a listed horse power rating for the RIDGID R4512 table saw, due to an industry wide dispute on the proper means for determining horse power. The old standard formula used for years for determining horse power was: Volts X Amps divided by 746 = HP.

Regards,
RIDGID
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
EricG
New Mexico, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
December 9, 2014
There isn't a horsepower figure given in the manual or specifications. Judging by the amount my shop lights dim at start up this motor seems about the same as my '2 1/2 peak HP' compressor.

Realistically, when this saw is working hard, that is when the saw just starts to slow, I'd guess it is working at a bit over 1 HP. It can sustain this easily without overheating.

My previous table saw was a Ryobi BT 3000 which lasted 10 years, but the 13 amp table saw is more powerful and holds its adjustment better.

If you are a professional woodworker you may need a heavier and more powerful table saw, but it will need a dedicated 240 volt circuit and cost 4 times more.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
doresoom
Harvest, AL
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
December 15, 2014
Surprisingly, no horses actually power this motor. The cabinet is too small to fit them inside. Instead it runs on electricity.

If you're interested in calculating horsepower, then multiply 120V x 13A, which gives you 1560 Watts, or about 2 HP. However, you won't get this much power out of the saw, since no motor is 100% efficient. If you figure it's 75% efficient, you'll get 1.5 HP.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

has the manufacturer fixed some of the blade alignment issues on this saw?

Asked by
Manny
atlanta ga
about 13-Amp 10 in. Professional Table Saw on
December 6, 2014
j have read many review about alignment problems from other woodworking sites.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
7 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
joelav22
MA
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
December 8, 2014
Yes, but there is no way to tell until you assemble the saw. The updated trunions are stamped with a "II"

However I will add that the alignment issue is very overblown on line. This is the best selling contractor/hybrid saw on the market. While the defect exists, it's really a small percentage of the saws out there.

It's also extremely easy to check for, and you can do so without even fully assembling the saw. Just install the bade, clamp the short end of a ruler on the table perpendicular to the blade for a visual reference, and attempt to raise/lower it. As soon as you take up the slack in the screw and put pressure on it, a defective saw's blade will noticeably jump into or away from the edge of your ruler.

Don't get into precise measurements yet, those will likely fail until you perform the runout adjustment as detailed in the manual. The amount of movement in a defective saw is visible to the naked eye it's so extreme.

My first saw was defective. I simply exchanged it for a new one. Home Depot was very helpful.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Rabbit
Baker City, Oregon
December 8, 2014
I have not had any blade alignment issues with my saw, it give's me a true and accurate cut.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Steve
Marietta, GA, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
December 8, 2014
I can't vouch for every saw but mine was just about dead-on accurate from the beginning. I made no adjustments to the alignment and it cuts well with no binding all. I'm happy with mine. A great saw for the money.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Mike
Tracy, CA, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
December 8, 2014
I've had the saw about a year and haven't ever had any issues with the alignment. As far as I can tell you should always be able to square it up with the fence/table yourself using a reliable combination square. Hope this helps.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
RIDGID
December 9, 2014
Thank you for your interest in RIDGID!

There are no known blade alignment issues affecting RIDGID table saw model R4512 as a whole, for there to be some type of fix created for.

Regards,
RIDGID
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
EricG
New Mexico, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
December 10, 2014
Out of the box I only had to make minor adjustments. I haven't adjusted it since. I've had this saw for almost 2 years and it has seen a lot of use.

Out of interest, I just checked it. The blade is out of vertical by a hundredth of an inch, and the fence lines up with the blade as accurately as I can measure. Not bad for an inexpensive table saw!

I use the cast iron table top as a 'surface plate'. It is flat to better than 0.001 inch over 6 inches, and hasn't warped with age.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
MrPhil
Ontario, California
December 14, 2014
I didn't hear of this problem till I started getting questions about it. I do everything I learned in woodshop 40 years ago. Use a square to align blade and miter. I use a metal ruler to align rip fence and blade. I've been a DIYer for 40 years and had a decent Craftsman for 30 years. I've been impressed with everything about this saw. Do many rip cuts and all have been true..i love the riving knives. I assembled, which took 90 min with a few breaks. Plugged in and with any new toy I used it right away. Did nickel test. Used casters....IMPRESSED IMPRESSED IMPRESSED..Mr Phil
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

I was wondering if the rail for the rip fence has inches and millimeter increments? I need to have milimeters on a saw i purchase.

Asked by
Tomah4
Altamont NY
about 13-Amp 10 in. Professional Table Saw on
November 27, 2014
I haven't purchased this saw yet
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
7 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Rabbit
Baker City, Oregon
November 29, 2014
I don't know if it is available in millimeters my saw is in inches the home depot sales desk should be able to answer your question. It's a great saw you won't regret buying it.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Lucky99
St. Peters, MO
November 29, 2014
There are no millimeters on the fence guide rails. However the inch measurements are very accurate once you set up the fence. I dont recall any saw i looked at before buying the ridgid having millimeters. Hope this helps.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Westy
MAINE
November 29, 2014
It is inches only
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
diyguy
S. Oregon
December 1, 2014
It's in inches.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
MrPhil
Ontario, California
December 1, 2014
No sorry, only has in inches with up to 32nds of an inch..Mr Phil
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
JD34
Philly 'burbs
November 30, 2014
No, it's in inches only.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
Umpire20
Las Cruces, NM
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
December 17, 2014
Out of the box ........ NO it does not have a millimeter measure. Perhaps a call to Ridgid could help. They might have one available to order.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

can you run 3/4 " dado blades on this saw?

Asked by
Alex
Bainbridge Island Washington
about 13-Amp 10 in. Professional Table Saw on
October 11, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
9 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
KenHDOC
Orange, Ca.
Home Improvement Profile: Other
October 13, 2014
Hi Alex, the arbor on this saw is 5/8". If you're asking can you make a 3/4" wide dado cut, the answer is yes. You can make up to 13/16th of an inch.

You can use an 8" stacked dado. You can not use an adjustable dado blade on this saw. Take a look at page 43 of the instruction/assembly guide.

http://www.homedepot.com/catalog/pd...
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
joelav22
MA
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
October 13, 2014
The manual recommends 13/16" max, so you are in the clear. I would highly recommend going 6" instead of 8" unless you absolutely need to cut really deep dados. The 1.75HP motor really appreciates the lack of weight of a 6" compared to an 8" stack
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Mike
Tracy, CA, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
October 13, 2014
Are you referring to the width of your dado stack? If so, the answer is yes.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
DaveP
Southwestern, MI
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
October 23, 2014
Yes you most certainly can!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Doug
Cabot, AR, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
October 13, 2014
Although I have not myself used a dado stack, this saw has a dado capacity of up to 13/16 ".
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
RIDGID
October 14, 2014
Thank you for your interest in RIDGID!

The R4512 can use an 8” stack type dado blade set up, with up to 13/16” width of cut, and a maximum depth of cut of 1-1/2”. Adjustable dado blades are not recommended.

Regards,
RIDGID
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
larry78cj7
indiana
October 19, 2014
Yes, I do all the time. I use the frued dato set. It will go to 7/8.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
Lucky99
St. Peters, MO
November 9, 2014
Yes, I believe you can go up to 13/16". Saw however does not come with a dado insert. That has to be purchased separately.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Asked by
JD34
Philly 'burbs
November 30, 2014
Yes, i've been doing it for days with no complaints. Can probably hold up to an inch if you wanted to.

just a tip: If you're using the dust collection system, i'd advise you to cover the hose hole at the bottom while setting up stacked dado shims and the arbor plate and arbor nut. I dropped them down the vacuum hole a few times. Obviously without the vacuum running so I could just reach down the 4" hose, but it was still inconvenient.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

how does this unit perform with a dado blade

Asked by
1234
about 13-Amp 10 in. Professional Table Saw on
September 12, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Doug
Cabot, AR, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
September 14, 2014
I haven't had the opportunity to use dado blades, single or stacked, but the 13 amp motor, very well made table surface, and extensions on both ends suggest this would be a great saw for dado blades. Wish I could tell you more.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
MrPhil
Ontario, California
September 14, 2014
Unfortunately I haven't done anything yet that requires a dado cut. I have an adjustable wobble dado I used with my old Craftsman 10". I guess I should try it out to see if it fits arbor, since I do have a project requiring a dado. I've heard you should use a stack dado but don't have this. I'll try my wobble dado and see if it works. I guess you will have to check back. Ps so far saw has been awesome especially with hardwoods..Mr Phil
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Mike
Tracy, CA, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
September 18, 2014
It performs very well. Just make sure you use a good set of stacked Dado's. I use the 6" Freud's.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
RIDGID
September 16, 2014
Thank you for your interest in RIDGID!

There is not any type of performance description to provide for that. The R4512 is capable of using dado blades, and a good quality stack type dado blade set rated for the saws RPM range should be used. The performance can affected by a variety of factors from the quality of the dado set up being used, the material being used, to the rate of feed at which the operating is feeding the material through in the dado cut process.

Regards,
RIDGID
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Shaul
Fairport Harbor, Ohio
September 22, 2014
EXCELLENT! Nice straight, even cuts and it powers through with no problem. You will just have to either buy or make a throat plate for dado use.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Rabbit
Baker City, Oregon
September 15, 2014
I have not used one yet but i am sure it will do an excellent job, i have used several different types of saw blades and it does a great job on different types of wood.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is there an accessory fence and rail system that allows a half sheet (50") cut?

Asked by
GasMan
Ontario Canada
about 13-Amp 10 in. Professional Table Saw on
August 27, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GeoWright
USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
August 29, 2014
Yes. Incra makes such a rail and fence system and it is excellent. You can also make your own, or choose from the dozens of aftermarket rail & fence systems.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
joelav22
MA
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
August 28, 2014
Aftermarket sliding tables are available that fit this saw that are much safer and accurate when breaking down sheet goods. Also with a little modification to the rails, aftermarket 52" fence systems can be retrofit to this saw (I have one on mine). There is only one manufacturer I know that makes a direct bolt on - and that is the Incra LS-TS system.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Mike
Tracy, CA, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
September 18, 2014
I don't think so. You're probably better off cutting a sheet of that size with your circular saw.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Shaul
Fairport Harbor, Ohio
September 22, 2014
If Ridgid doesn't offer one, there are many aftermarket choices available.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Rabbit
Baker City, Oregon
September 15, 2014
I don't know on this if Home Depot does not have an accessory fence that will cut 50" there may be an after market fence that can be adapted to the saw.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Hobbyist
Batesville, AR
August 30, 2014
I've looked into the Vega U50 fence system. I believe it is capable of fitting this saw. I haven't gone so far as to purchase it yet, to know for sure.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Are the legs easily removed for a custom stand?

Asked by
Benjammin
Conifer CO
about 13-Amp 10 in. Professional Table Saw on
July 22, 2014
Aside from a dust port would there be anything that would make it difficult to build a custom stand to fit my bench height? I know that many saws have motors attached on the side or supported off the legs. I want to be able to remove the legs and mount on my own stand without a lot of effort.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
8 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GeoWright
USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
August 29, 2014
Yes. Three bolts per leg.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
RIDGID
July 23, 2014
Thank you for your interest in RIDGID!

The R4512 table saws dust port and stand are easily detached from the saws body by removing four bolts, and the saws body could be easily mounted to an optional stand that matches the saws body mounting pattern. If the saws dust port is not going to be used, the bottom of the saw body would need to be left open so that saw dust does not accumulate in the saws body cabinet, under use. The R4512’s motor is internal within the saws body cabinet.

Regards,
RIDGID
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
MrPhil
Ontario, California
July 24, 2014
If its a permanent switch, no it's not too difficult. What I think would be is just getting top half back on your custom table, but once done should be ok
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
joelav22
MA
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
August 28, 2014
The saw has to be flipped over, but it's just a few bolts and pretty easy. However the stand on this is REALLY nice. Integrated dust collection and the lift/mobility system is better than any other I have used - original equipment or aftermarket.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Mike
Tracy, CA, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
September 18, 2014
Depends on what you consider "easy". The saw is very heavy, and removing the legs would require you to flip it upside down. If flipping a 200lb saw upside down sounds easy to you, then yeah, it's easy. lol
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Rabbit
Baker City, Oregon
July 23, 2014
Yes they will be easy to remove the saw is heavy and you will need someone to help you to turn the saw on it's top. The legs that come with the saw are sturdy and the wheels are easy to push down to move the saw. The dust port should not give you any problem to mount the saw on a custom stand as it is centered on the saw, the motor is in the saw's cabinet and will not give you any problems.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
Hobbyist
Batesville, AR
July 23, 2014
Removing the legs, easy? Yes and No. If the saw is already put together, it poses a bit of a challenge because of the weight and could be a bit cumbersome. But out of the box would be no problem. The legs are completely independent from the rest of the saw. With some careful measuring a custom stand could even use the factory mounting holes that the legs attach to.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
Charlie
Fort Wayne, IN
July 24, 2014
Based on my experience with an R4512 purchased in June 2014, this should not be a problem. I don't believe that any earlier versions of this saw had any motor / trunions attached the the legs. My unit has all operational hardware (motor / trunions, etc.) attached to the cast iron top. If you purchase a new unit, you can skip the assembly steps associated with assembly of the legs and casters and attach your base. Note that a rather stout base will be required since this saw weighs on the order of 250 pounds. The legs are attached to the saw cabinet with four (metric) bolts. You may be able to use the provided bolts, depending on the thickness of your home made base materials. You should also be able to use the provided dust chute. I recommend assembling the legs and using them as a template for holes and dust chute opening of your custom base. Photos provided should help clarify. Note that it is pretty much a three person operation to stand the saw upright after assembly.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

With all the reported blade movement issues on elevation, will all new saws come with the new trunnion (labeled w roman numeral II on the trunnion)?

Asked by
Scott
about 13-Amp 10 in. Professional Table Saw on
June 15, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
diyguy
S. Oregon
September 2, 2014
I can't answer your question directly, but mine didn't have the issue you mentioned. I've noticed that those complaints seem to relate to earlier models and you don't see that complaint as much anymore. I did have some blade run out to adjust and was able to get it to .002". The blade height didn't seem to affect it much.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Mike
Tracy, CA, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
September 18, 2014
That's a question for the manufacturer (RIGID), not so much Home Depot. Note: I haven't had any issues with blade movement, nor have I heard of there being issues. Try calling RIGID and asking them directly.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Rabbit
Baker City, Oregon
September 15, 2014
I have had no issues with blade elevation movement when you turn the lock knobs every thing stays where you have set it.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
RIDGID
June 17, 2014
Hi Scott,

There are no known issues affecting the RIDGID R4512 table saw as a whole, for there to be different trunion’s with different manufacturing markings made or provided with saws.

Thanks,
RIDGID
-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

Dado Size 6 inch or 8 inch is the question

Asked by
Tinman
Plateau of Tennessee
about 13-Amp 10 in. Professional Table Saw on
May 11, 2014
I read one post states 6 inch next post it's 8 inch all over the internet on this saw.. The main concern is the dado insert not the dado size. My main concern is what size dado 6 inch or 8 inch 15/16.
I just read owners manual I see no information on what size dado. I can make my own insert or purchase a insert. It's really the proper size of dado for hp & amperage of the machine
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
7 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Charley
Southern Colorado
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
May 12, 2014
Tinman- I use an 8" Mibro Dado set. Any cuts over 3/8" and you'll need to make or find an insert. I'm cross cutting 1/2" dadoes in maple and walnut. - Charley
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
joelav22
MA
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
May 12, 2014
I use an 8" stack on mine. I wish I got a 6". Not only are they less expensive, I don't hink I will ever need the extra height an 8" stack affords for the type of work I do. Since this isn't a 3hp+ saw, the less weight it has to swing on the arbor, the better it will perform.

If you need to use the full height of an 8" stack, this saw will do it. If you don't I would definitely go with a 6" for the reasons mentioned above.

Also the insert on this saw is a little funky due to the way it locks and the height is adjusted with screws. They can be made, but there are aftermarket options (zero clearance) that are really inexpensive.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Ogre
Bradenton, FL
August 28, 2014
I run an 8 inch dado in mine. I have never had to cut a dado wider than 3/4 of an inch on it while building cabinets. There is room left over on the arbor to go wider than 3/4 of an inch, but I personally wouldn't go any wider because I want to make sure I have plenty of thread holding those spinning blades where they belong. I wouldn't recommend going 15/16's of an inch wide. That wide of a blade on the arbor would not leave very much thread for the arbor nut to thread to. As far as the insert is concerned I asked Home Depot and they did not have zero clearance inserts for this saw. I ended up going to Woodcraft and bought one from them. They had them in stock.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Mike
Tracy, CA, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
September 18, 2014
I'd go 6 inch. In fact I own a 6 inch dado. That said, I'm pretty sure I read in the instruction manual that this saw can handle up to an 8 inch dado. Go with the 6 inch though and save a couple bucks. I can't see too many people with the need to cut hugely deep dado's or rabbits. Just my two cent's. Note: The Freud 6 inch dado is a good one. A lot of bang for your buck there.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Boisewoodworker2014
Boise Idaho
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
May 12, 2014
You can only use a 6 inch dado, because an 8 inch runs into the riff knife lever.
+2points
3out of 4found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
RIDGID
May 13, 2014
Recommended dado blade use with the R4512 table saw is an 8” stack type dado blade set up, with a maximum 13/16” width of cut, a 1-1/2” maximum depth of cut, and rated for the saws RPM range. This information is provided on page #43 of the owner’s manual for the saw.

Thanks,
RIDGID
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
Nutsy
PA
June 5, 2014
All I can say is I run an 8" Freud stacking dado and have no issues with power, even on hardwoods.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Question

With the saw's weight, will the casters on the mobile base damage a hardwood floor?

Asked by
Goose
Michigan
about 13-Amp 10 in. Professional Table Saw on
May 3, 2014
My makeshift workshop has a maple hardwood floor. Thus far, I've place plywood underneath my other stationary power tools; none of them have mobile bases. With limited space though, this saw is only feasible if I can move it around. Will I need to lay a permanent layer of plywood to prevent damage to the floor or are the casters wide enough to prevent gouging?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
EricG
New Mexico, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
May 20, 2014
The wheels are hard rubber, so if the floor is clean, moving the saw should cause little or no damage. On the other hand if there are small stones or other sharp object that could embed in the wheels, there is a chance of damage.

My shop floor is painted with a 2 part epoxy paint and it is unmarked after 18 months, and my floor is far from clear of grit, stones and metal chips.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Charley
Southern Colorado
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
May 3, 2014
Hi Goose, The wheels are a hard rubber and I doubt they'll damage the maple floor. The saw legs come with plastic casters on the bottom so that when the wheels are retracted they should keep your floor from being scratched up.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
MrPhil
Ontario, California
July 24, 2014
The weight of the saw is around 250 lbs, but the casters are very hard rubber and roll nicely on my concrete floor in garage. I don"t think it would be a prob, since weight is distributed over four casters. MrPhil
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
HomePro
Chicago, Il
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
May 17, 2014
Box was marked at 246 pounds. To my surprise, the casters are soft! They are 1 1/8 inch wide and make contact with the floor on 1/2 inch of that based on the accumulated saw dust. When you drop off the casters it comes down hard. Although the legs have hard plastic caps, I would put a small plywood pad at each leg before dropping
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
joelav22
MA
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
August 28, 2014
Yes. They will mar hardwood floor. In addition when released, the saw sets with quite a thud that will definitely dent a hardwood floor.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Mike
Tracy, CA, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
September 18, 2014
Mine rolls pretty smoothly, however when you drop it down to get it stationary you may need to watch out. It's a coin flip. If the hardwood floors are nice and you don't want to scratch them up, I'd just leave the saw outside or in the garage. It's not a jobsite table saw. It's a stationary saw that's on casters. You can wheel it around it's permanent work area for storage, but it shouldn't be thought of as a lightweight jobsite table saw. It's really a hybrid/contractor's style table saw; so it's heavy.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can someone please recommend the best fitting precision miter guage for this table saw for a reasonable price?

Asked by
mack2058
Rochester, MN
about 13-Amp 10 in. Professional Table Saw on
April 6, 2014
Its a shame the Ridgid precision guage is so poorly reviewed. I want the feeling I can accurately cut any mitered edge I want with this great tool.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
8 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
deide
Wisconsin
April 7, 2014
I cannot suggest anything as I have not used my miter gauge to this day. I positively love every aspect of this table saw, but if you are indeed looking for precision miter cuts, I'd buy the Ridgid compound 12" sliding compound miter saw and put a finishing Diablo blade on it. The precision of this saw is exceptional as is the versatility. My Ridgid miter saw is more than a few years old now, and I'd be lost without it. I personally only make miter cuts with my miter saw dedicated to such cuts.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Rayme
Limerick, PA 19468, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
April 7, 2014
Look into "Rockler Woodworking and Hardware" (rockler.com) They sell a few different gauges.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
GeoWright
USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
August 29, 2014
I use the cheapest one Incra makes and it works fine.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
BlackVelvetCustoms
Idaho
April 15, 2014
Hey Mack, take a look at the precision miter gauge by Kreg. Well worth the money for the saw.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Scot
May 27, 2014
I use the base level Incra guage which has adjustable fitment on the slider bar, and quick easy indents for a variety of standard angles. It also is easy to set at custom angle between indents. This is just the bare angle part to which I attach my own wood extension so the cost is reasonable (under $75 as I recall ten years back). The full Incra sets with fancy aluminum extensions and micro adjustable stops look really nice, but are very pricey.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
joelav22
MA
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
May 12, 2014
The ridgid miter gauge isn't terrible and is probably the equivalent to anything that would come with a brand new (decent) saw. The aftermarket gauges are an upgrade on any saw, and thus can be pricey. The Kreg option is probably the best bang for the buck. The incra and osborne are the best gauges.

Also consider a crosscut sleds. The only expense is plywood, a little bit of hardwood and some labor. I don't think I have ever used a miter gauge since I made a few sleds.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
Mike
Tracy, CA, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
September 18, 2014
I like the General International 50-EB3 Osborne Excalibur Miter Gauge. It's about $120.00.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
Umpire20
Las Cruces, NM
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
December 16, 2014
I suppose the operative word here is "reasonable". That can only be determined by you.

I opted to add the Incra 1000HD to my saw and I highly recommend it. I also upgraded my fence to a Vega Pro 40 which gives 40" ripping capacity right of the blade.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is there a better description or video about how the blade guard properly fits on the saw? Mine seems more danderous with it on because it is flimsy.

Asked by
MACK2058
Rochester, MN
about 13-Amp 10 in. Professional Table Saw on
March 27, 2014
The manual does not explain it well. My previous table saw was a 50 year old craftsma!
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
RIDGID
March 28, 2014
Unfortunately no, there is not a video available on that subject from RIDGID, and the only detailed written directions on that procedure are provided in the operators manual. If you could call into the RIDGID technical service line through 1-866-539-1710, for an in-depth discussion on the matter, might help him.

Thank you
RIDGID
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Rayme
Limerick, PA 19468, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
March 27, 2014
To be honest, I didn't even assemble it to the saw. I have been using a table saw since I was a teen ager and found the best blade guard being the aware of where thing are and knowledge of what they can do. The blade can remove just about anything in its path so I keep it to the object I'm working on.
Looking at the instructions show it's simple enough to mount, but I agree holding it in my hand and feeling the sharpness of the dog teeth make it look like the bite is werse than the use.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
GeoWright
USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
August 29, 2014
Yes. Search youtube for ridgid + table saw. They have an informative video that shows that clearly. There are also many other videos.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Mike
Tracy, CA, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
September 18, 2014
I don't use it at all, however it's recommended for safety. Really the only thing to it is making the decision to either use it or not. To put it on you need to connect it to the riving knife. If you're having trouble installing it, 1st-make sure the riving knife is attached, 2nd-raise the blade up higher. Hope that helps.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
smarteboy
Northern Utah
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
December 8, 2014
When you attach the blade guard, you line it up with the middle slot on the riving knife, and pull the silver tab on the guard back. Doing this will sort of load the spring, and then hook it into the slot and push the unit down. That should make the two metal supports fairly parallel to your table top, and lock it in place on the top. The whole unit should sit rather sturdy.

Hope this helps.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can a dado blade be used and what is the max size. Usually 13/16"

Asked by
Jimmy
Harrisburg, PA
about 13-Amp 10 in. Professional Table Saw on
February 19, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
7 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
joelav22
Agawam, MA, USA
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
February 20, 2014
Yup. Obviously you'll need a throat plate (not included) but it will take an 8" dado stack with a 13/16 max width.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
airtoolguy
Illinois
March 27, 2014
I have a Freud Dial-a-Width dado and have not used it, but I could install the entire set.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
KenHDOC
Orange, Ca.
Home Improvement Profile: Other
February 20, 2014
Hi Jimmy, yes you're correct. You use an 8" inch stacked dado, the width is 13/16th and the max depth of cut is 1 1/2 " inches.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Rayme
Limerick, PA 19468, USA
March 11, 2014
It can but you need to obtain or make a throat guard.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Jake
Tampa, FL, USA
February 22, 2014
Yes. A full stackable set can be used. It was mentioned in a couple of reviews about the inside blade not fitting properly on shaft shoulder, which I also found to be true, so I found a thicker washer with proper inside diameter , or a couple of thinner ones would also work, and this corrected the problem. Cuts were precise.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
GeoWright
USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
August 29, 2014
According to RIDGID: "ALL RIDGID table-saws are designed to accept dado-blades up to 6" diameter and half-inch thick. "
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
Mike
Tracy, CA, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
September 18, 2014
Yes you can use dado blades on this saw, and I'm pretty sure you can use up to an 8". HOWEVER, I'd go with the 6" dado and save yourself the headache (and a few bucks). You likely won't need the 8" anyway.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Shipment to Europe

Asked by
Luboss
Czech republic Europe
about 13-Amp 10 in. Professional Table Saw on
January 31, 2014
Can You tell me if You can send the saw to Europe(Czech republic). Can You give me roughly price of shipment.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
joelav22
Agawam, MA, USA
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
February 20, 2014
This saw is not legal for sale in EU due to safety restrictions
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
THDCustomerSupport
Kennesaw, GA
January 31, 2014
Thank you for your recent inquiry with The Home Depot. We are unable to ship internationally at this time. We are able to ship to the 48 contiguous states and a limited selection of products can be shipped to Alaska and Hawaii. For any other questions, please call us at HomeDepot.com Customer Service 800-430-3376.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
EricG
New Mexico, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 31, 2014
My guess is that the complications and cost of shipping and handling customs duties would make it impractical.

You might want to look at Asian import saws in the Czech Republic and compare them feature by feature. If you find something similar, it will likely cost less than importing the saw from the USA. The HD saw is an excellent combination of features and price, I have owned mine for one year and am delighted with it.

Eric
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

How deep is tjhe front of thed table to the saw blade?

Asked by
docholaday1
texas
about 13-Amp 10 in. Professional Table Saw on
January 19, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
10 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
deide
Wisconsin
January 23, 2014
With a 10" blade installed, it is 12 inches even to the front of table from the front tip of the blade when it the fully raised position. It is 16-3/8 inches to the front of rip fence, not including the release/locking handle.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
FlyingEye
Santa Ana, CA
January 23, 2014
The Cast Iron Table measures 20 ¼" wide x 27" deep.
There are 2 auxillary panels--one on each side measuring 10" wide x 27" deep--made from stamped steel.
The left miter slot is 5 ⅝" from blade; the right miter slot is 4 ¾" from blade.
Blade arbor is approximately 16 ½" from front of table.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
SpeirHere
Michigan
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 24, 2014
Let's start with the good points: The saw rolls with a push of the foot to raise it. and one finger to move it. It has a big bed and can cut a full sheet or MDF, (4x8). I have inlaid a Rockler router insert in the right side bed, that you have to make, and use the very stable fence to both cut and router. The blade is 13" back from the bed front and 17.5 " back from the fence edge rest. It cuts straight and true and is as good as your going to get for a portable, not professional saw. Rocker has a rubber attachment to fit the dust port and match a 2" shop vac. Love the saw, but..... It was assembled wrong and had to go back to the shop twice.
Rigid will not replace the saw and spent $1,600 to fix it. This cost me four 150 mile trips. four dinners out for my wife and four times I had to borrow a trailer. It is now dead on. A bushing was not installed properly and blade was approx. 1/8" off the line up numbers. The second shop fixed everything and repaired the damage the first shop did. Now great saw.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
joelav22
Agawam, MA, USA
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
February 20, 2014
6" give or take a little depending on blade height
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
hrbmd22
Memphis, TN, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 25, 2014
The front of the table (excluding the rail) to the front of the blade measures 15 inches.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Seriously
Carol Stream , IL, USA
January 24, 2014
What do you mean?
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
chucktheviking
MT
January 23, 2014
With blade raised to full height; 12 inches to edge of acutal table top, 15 inches to very edge of table assembly.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
Paul
St. Paul, MN
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 23, 2014
The distance from the front edge of the table to the opening for the blade on the throat plate is 11.25." With the blade at its highest position the distance would be approximately 11.0" from the front edge of the table to the blade. With the height of the blade set to cut 3/4" stock the distance from the blade to the front of the table is approximately 13.5." Hope this helps.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Asked by
GNWS
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 23, 2014
With a 10" blade raised to full height, I measure 11 13/16" from the front of the table to the blade. (The closest side of the opening in the stock insert is 11 1/8" from the front of the table.)
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 10
Asked by
LWindy
Up state NY
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 24, 2014
from the front of the saw table to the blade forward edge it is 12 1/2 inches
L
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What is the dia. of arbor and what size dado blade will it handle and what width of cut?

Asked by
rayThiele
Summerfield FL
about 13-Amp 10 in. Professional Table Saw on
December 28, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
9 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
SpeirHere
Michigan
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 24, 2014
Standard 5/8" arbor and I have a 8" dado X 15/16" and it could handle another 1/4 blade and still screw on. You will need an dado insert, ( Amazon. com $ 23.00).
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
joelav22
Agawam, MA, USA
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
February 20, 2014
5/8" arbor. It will take an 8" dado stack. Max width dado is 13/16
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Umpire20
Las Cruces, NM
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 10, 2014
The arbor is 5/8". I am fairly certain the dado stack can be 13/16". The dado blade(s) are 8".
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Mike
Tracy, CA, USA
January 14, 2014
Arbor size is 5/8", and it's written in the manual that it can take up to an 8" dado blade stack. You really shouldn't need this much dado though, and a 6" should do most every cut to the depth you want (outside of the uncommonly deep ones). Oh, AND the 6" dado stack is a little bit less expensive. I'd go with the 6" stack unless you know you'll need the depth of the 8".
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
hrbmd22
Memphis, TN, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 25, 2014
The arbor is 5/8 inch. I've used both an 8 inch dado and a 10 inch dado blade. Obviously, you can achieve a deeper dado cut with the 10 inch blade, but they are much more expensive.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Mred
Henderson
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 24, 2014
The arbor is a standard 5/8" You will need a dado throat plate in order to use a dado wider than 1/4", otherwise the dado will hit the edges of the plate.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
TheToolMan
Chicago
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 25, 2014
Hi rayThiele,

The arbor is 5/8" (accepts standard 10" saw blades) and will handle a dado blade up to 13/16" thick.

Best of luck!

TTM
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
KenHDOC
Orange, Ca.
Home Improvement Profile: Other
December 30, 2013
Hi RayThiele, the arbor size on this saw is 5/8".

This saw uses a 8" inch stacked dado blade.

The width of the dado cut is 13/16".

Also the depth of cut is 1 1/2" inch maximum. Enjoy.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Asked by
Phred
January 23, 2014
5/8" diameter. It should handle up to 13/16" stack with the washer removed....just be sure the nut is fully seated.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
1 2 3 4 »