Looking for Answers about GE Profile 1.7 cu. ft. Over the Range Convection Microwave in Stainless Steel?

Customer questions and answers for
Profile 1.7 cu. ft. Over the Range Convection Microwave in Stainless Steel

The GE Profile 1.7 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave combines convection oven cooking with microwave power to deliver beautifully baked and roasted foods in a flash. Mounted on the right side of the oven, the convection fan is surrounded by a 1,550-watt heating element to provide great convection baking performance between 225 and 450 degrees. The microwave's 3-speed, 300 CFM Vortex venting system quickly removes smoke, steam and odors from the cooktop area with just a touch.
Customer questions and answers:
75 Questions
 | 
113 Answers
Overall rating:
4.022 out of 5
4
out of
5

Customer questions and answers for GE Profile 1.7 cu. ft. Over the Range Convection Microwave in Stainless Steel

Question

Is there an external duct system kit or where can I get parts to install the external vent for this micowave?

Asked by
KitchenRemodel
Lowell
about Profile 1.7 cu. ft. Over the Range Convection Microwave in Stainless Steel on
January 13, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
January 13, 2012
Hello,

Thank you for your GE Profile 1.7 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Convection Microwave in Stainless Steel Model # PVM1790SRS. My name is Donna and I will be happy to help.

This is a beautiful microwave. All over-the-range SpacemakerTM microwave ovens may be vented using an equivalent total of 140 feet of rigid 3 1/4" x 10" rectangular or rigid 6" round ducting. (If round ducting is to be used, see the bottom of this text.) The microwaves can be vented vertically or horizontally. The units are shipped to vent out the top. The materials needed to vent the microwave can be purchased at Home Depot, plumbing supply houses, hardware stores, heating and air conditioning companies, etc.

Complete installation information is provided in the Installation Instructions.

I hope this helps. Thank you for choosing GE!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Do the racks have to be removed when microwaving?

Asked by
Gennesis
Buford, GA
about Profile 1.7 cu. ft. Over the Range Convection Microwave in Stainless Steel on
January 2, 2012
+4points
4out of 4found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
January 3, 2012
Hello,

This is Donna with GE and I will be happy to answer your question on the microwave.

The double-duty shelf should be removed when cooking single items where the shelf is not used. The shelf could reflect the microwave energy away from the food being cooked causing longer cooking time if it is not removed. This shelf is "reversible" because there is not a front or back. It can be placed into the microwave either way and will fit.

I hope this helps.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
onesweetteach
January 13, 2012
Yes. You will ruin your unit if you use the micro with the racks.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

This unit is not a deal, if we need to buy an installation kit. Can it be installed without the extra kit or are installation parts with the unit?

Asked by
Jeri
Banning, ca
about Profile 1.7 cu. ft. Over the Range Convection Microwave in Stainless Steel on
December 21, 2011
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
December 22, 2011
Hello,
This is Alison from GE. I am happy to assist you.

What extra kit are you referring to? The mounting hardware is included with the purchase. Are you referring to the recirculating charcoal filter kit, part number JX81D? If so, this kit is only needed if you are unable to vent to the outside.

If you are referring to, M922 OTR INSTALL 99.99. This is not a kit, but a service code to have the delivery agent install your microwave. If you do not want your unit installed, then you do not have to select this service. The website gives you the option to select, "No thanks, I don't need this item.

I hope this information is helpful.

Please contact us again if you have any further questions or concerns.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
onesweetteach
January 13, 2012
We called GE and you don't need to buy an install kit. The unit comes with a bracket and other nuts, bolts, and screws to hold up the micro. The install kit may be the installation fee. Call Home Depot for verification.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

On the GE Profile Microwave Model # PVM 1790SRSS ventilation system. What is the cost to covert to interanl ventilation?

Asked by
Cheryl
Nashua NH
about Profile 1.7 cu. ft. Over the Range Convection Microwave in Stainless Steel on
January 15, 2012
How much time does it take?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
January 24, 2012
Hello Valued Customer,
Thanks for your question and interest in this item. To convert model PVM1790SRSS
Internet 202508203 to an external ventilation type you would simply purchase model WB02X10943, Internet # 100659866- Charcoal Filter. This item absorbs old odors and prevents them from recirculating into future meals. If installation is selected from the parts and services menu, our installers will install this item free of charge upon delivery and installation. I hope this helps!
If you have you have any additional questions for us or need assistance placing an online order, please feel free to contact our Appliance Hotline at 800-455-3869.
Thanks!
 
Products related to my answer
 
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

PLS PROVIDE SIZE OF THE OVER RANGE MICROWAVE

Asked by
GRACE
NEW YORK
about Profile 1.7 cu. ft. Over the Range Convection Microwave in Stainless Steel on
February 24, 2012
WHAT IS ARE THE DEMENSIONS OF THE OVER RANGE MICROWAVE
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
February 26, 2012
Hello Grace,

Thank you for your interest in the GE Profile 1.7 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Convection Microwave in Stainless Steel Model # PVM1790SRSS. This is a beautiful microwave.

Following are the external dimensions.

Overall Depth: 15.375"
Overall Height: 16.4375"
Overall Width: 29.9375"

I hope this helps!

Donna iwth GE
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

I'm interested in GE Profile Convection Oven Model #PVM1790SRSS. How is it mounted specifically since it weighs over 70#.

Asked by
Buckeye
Ohio
about Profile 1.7 cu. ft. Over the Range Convection Microwave in Stainless Steel on
February 20, 2012
Are there instructions I can read for DIY installation of a convection oven over my gas cooktop. Are there height requirements to be concerned about?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
February 21, 2012
Hello Buckeye,

Thank you for your inquiry on the GE Profile 1.7 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Convection Microwave in Stainless Steel Model # PVM1790SRSS. This is Donna with GE and I am happy to help.

The main support for installation comes from the back wall and the mounting plate. It is also secured to the cabinet above. The microwave oven must be connected to at least one wall stud.

The microwave must be mounted a minimum of 66" from the top of the microwave to the floor.

Please view the complete Installation Instructions on the GE Appliance website for this model.

I hope this helps. This is a beautiful microwave. Thank you for considering GE!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
trails
Denver, CO, USA
March 6, 2012
This unit is mounted similar to most other microwaves with a bracket that installs on the wall in back and bolts that go into the cabinet overhead. The back bracket is quite large and supports the majority of the weight. There are instructions included in the box.

The height is 15 3/4" from top to bottom.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

I have a 36" space above the range to fill. Is there a filler kit available?

Asked by
annie
about Profile 1.7 cu. ft. Over the Range Convection Microwave in Stainless Steel on
January 16, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
January 17, 2012
Hello Annie,

Thank you for you inquiry on the GE Profile 1.7 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Convection Microwave model # PVM1790SRSS. This is a beautiful microwave.

Yes, there is an optional side filler panel kit: JX40: white bisque or almond JX41: black
When installing a 30" over-the-range microwave in a 36" or 42" opening, this kit fills in the additional width to provide a custom built-in appearance. The kit contains two metal 3" wide "L" shaped panels, installed with closed ends forward. Two kits are used side by side for 42" openings.

I hope this helps.

Donna with GE
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Ruso
Jackson Heights, Queens, NY, USA
March 13, 2012
I had to order the filter kit independently from the microwave.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is there a vent to turn on/offon the bottom of the microwave? My Advantium has one that is useful when cooking pasta or other steamy stuff.

Asked by
toni
Placerville, CA
about Profile 1.7 cu. ft. Over the Range Convection Microwave in Stainless Steel on
April 8, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
April 9, 2012
Hello Toni,

Thank you for your interest in the GE Profile 1.7 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Convection Microwave in Stainless Steel Model # PVM1790SRSS.

This is a beautiful microwave. Yes, there is a 3 speed Exhaust Fan underneath. It does offer an on/off switch but all spacemaker microwave ovens have a built-in theromastat which causes the exaust fan to turn on automatically if the temperature around the the control panel rises to approximately 150 degrees F.

I hope this helps.

Donna with GE
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What are the physical dimensions of the PSA1201RSS????????????

Asked by
wally
brantford
about Profile 1.7 cu. ft. Over the Range Convection Microwave in Stainless Steel on
May 27, 2012
I have a GE Spacemaker XL1400 that is dead.
Will this PSA1201 fit in the space?????
Pls send details
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
May 27, 2012
Hello Wally,

This is Donna with GE and I will be happy to help you with your question on the PSA1201RSS.

Yes, model PSA1201RSS will fit into a 30" cabinet space just like a Spacemaker XL1400. Following are the dimensions.

Cabinet Width: 30.0"
Overall Width: 29.9375"
Overall Depth: 15.375"
Overall Height: 16.4375"

There are many current model microwaves that will fit into a 30" wide installation space. The model numbers will begin with the letters CVM, PVM, PNM, JVM1, JVM2 , or JNM.

None of the installation kits are totally interchangeable. You must use the new mounting system and hardware that comes with the specific microwave. There are vent duct, cord cut-out location and mounting screw location changes for these models.

Thank you for considering GE!
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

My GE Profile PVM 1790 is a year old, but has never vented properly with an external vent.

Asked by
Liz
Virginia
about Profile 1.7 cu. ft. Over the Range Convection Microwave in Stainless Steel on
June 4, 2012
The fan seems to run properly with all 3 levels but does not draw steam through the available vents underneath the microwave. This is my 3rd GE Profile combination micro/oven (3rd house) and this is the first time I have had this problem. This microwave was bought to go into my newly remodeled kitchen and I do not believe there is anything wrong with our vent. Would changing it to an internal venting system work better. I am very concerned that steam will become trapped in inside the microwave door and leave ugly water marks. I am constantly having to wipe the face of the door as I cook. Very frustrating.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
June 4, 2012
Hello Liz,

This is Donna with GE and I am sorry to hear you are having a problem with your Profile microwave model # PVM1790SRSS.

The grease filters are located underneath the microwave, they are not vents. The vent is located up at the top behind the grill. If the microwave mounted higher than 69" from the top of the microwave to the floor, then this will make the vent draw less effective.

I would recommend to have this evaluated and properly diagnosed by a GE service technician under the warranty. Please see the following link for scheduling service.

http://genet.geappliances.com/ServiceNet/Dispatcher?REQUEST=CONSUMERFIRSTREQUEST&JSPID=SCHEDULE

Changing the venting to recirculating will not correct this issue.

Should you have any additional questions, please let us know.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

is the handle on this microwave plastic or metal? my pastic handled microwaves in the past break and i want a metal one. i know samsung makes metal

Asked by
lisa
about Profile 1.7 cu. ft. Over the Range Convection Microwave in Stainless Steel on
August 25, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
August 26, 2012
Hello Lisa,

Thank you for your inquiry on the GE microwave.

The stainless steel handle is made a durable plastic. It is not metal.

Please be assured that GE has established high standards in appliance quality. We want our consumers to be satisfied with our products and any service needs that may arise.

Donna with GE
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

I have a GE Spacemaker XL1800 that is dead, can Model # PVM1790SRSS will fit the cabinet

Asked by
Mariam
Lorton, VA
about Profile 1.7 cu. ft. Over the Range Convection Microwave in Stainless Steel on
September 4, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
September 4, 2012
Hello Mariam,

Thank you for your interest in the GE Profile 1.7 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Convection Microwave model # PVM1790SRSS.

Yes, this will make a great replacement. There are many current model microwaves that will fit into a 30" wide installation space. The model numbers will begin with the letters CVM, PVM, PNM, JVM1, JVM2 , or JNM.

None of the installation kits are totally interchangeable. You must use the new mounting system and hardware that comes with the specific microwave. There are vent duct, cord cut-out location and mounting screw location changes for these models.

Thank you for considering GE!

Donna with GE
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Pvm1790srss would replace existing Panasonic which has no venting?

Asked by
Roger
Toronto
about Profile 1.7 cu. ft. Over the Range Convection Microwave in Stainless Steel on
September 30, 2012
Would need to fit into a cabinet and have trim kit and charcoal filter. What is the cut out size needed?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
October 1, 2012
Hello Roger,

Thank you for your inquiry on the GE Profile Over-the-Range Convection Microwave model # PVM1790SRSS.

This microwave is designed to go over a range and not be built into a cabinet with a trim kit.

It comes from the factory ready to vent out the top to the outside but can be installed as a non-vented model by reversing the blow an adding the charcoal filter.

Recirculating Charcoal Filter Kit: JX81D (Optional)

Please see the installation instructions on the Home Depot Website for this model under "More Info".

I hope this helps!

Donna with GE
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Do you have a model equivalent to the GE PVM1790SRSS which is designed to be fitted into a cabinet using a trim kit?

Asked by
Roger
Toronto
about Profile 1.7 cu. ft. Over the Range Convection Microwave in Stainless Steel on
October 1, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
October 1, 2012
Hello Roger,

The current model today is JEB1860DM and requires trim kit JX2027DM. The new trim kit would need to be used as screw hole locations have changed and cosmetics. The cutout needed is larger in width and the sides may need to be shimmed out or altered slightly.

Height: 16-3/4 ± 1/16
Width: 25-1/2 ± 1/8
Depth: 22" MIN. receptacle in cabinet 19-1/2" MIN. receptacle outside cabinet

Donna with GE
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

When using the warming feature in PVM1790SRSS Confection microwave, does it sound the same as when the microwave is in use?

Asked by
Mary
Lexington, Ky.
about Profile 1.7 cu. ft. Over the Range Convection Microwave in Stainless Steel on
October 12, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
October 12, 2012
Hello Mary,

Thank you for your inquiry on the GE Profile Over-the-Range Convection Microwave model # PVM1790SRSS.

No, the operating sound is not the same as the microwave fan sound.

The Warming feature will keep hot cooked foosds at serviing temperature. The heat source is circulating heated air (Convection). Always start with hot food. Use cookware and utensils that can withstand temperatures up to 230 degrees F.

Should you have any additional questions, please let us know.

This is a great model!

Donna with GE
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

I am looking for a microwave/convection spacesaver oven that can sit on a counter. Does GE make one?

Asked by
Linda
Wheaton, IL
about Profile 1.7 cu. ft. Over the Range Convection Microwave in Stainless Steel on
November 10, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
November 11, 2012
Hello Linda,

Thank you for your inquiry on the GE Convection microwaves.

The GE Profile 1.7 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Convection Microwave imodel # PVM1790SRSS is not designed to sit on a coutner top. It is designed to be mounted over a range or cooktop.

Installing a Spacemaker model on a countertop is not recommended for any length of time.
JVM models have built in hoods underneath which would not allow the model to be stable which could present a safety issue. Also, since air vents underneath unit may be blocked, the microwave could overheat & fail. The product is designed, tested and approved by UL for use over a range. It is not designed, tested or approved by UL for any other use.

If you are wanting a countertop Convection model, take a look at model PEB1590.

Donna with GE
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Keypad malfunction and ventalation issue GE Profile psa1201rss Advanitum

Asked by
GCPO
about Profile 1.7 cu. ft. Over the Range Convection Microwave in Stainless Steel on
November 9, 2012
When I boil water the steam does not seem to vent properly and stays around the front of the microwave then the keypad beeps and says service needed. The microwave is installed at the correct height and vented with the proper duct and installation, so this is not the problem. What would cause the keypad to need service and does the steam effect the function of the keypad and why does the steam seem to not vent out enough
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
November 12, 2012
Hello,

This is Donna with GE and I am sorry to hear you are having this issue with your new GE Profile Advantium Over-the-Range Convection Microwave.

I would recommend to have a GE service technician come out under the warranty to evalaute and diagnose the problem.

Please see the following link for scheduling service.

http://genet.geappliances.com/ServiceNet/Dispatcher?REQUEST=CONSUMERFIRSTREQUEST&JSPID=SCHEDULE

Donna with GE
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

I lost my cookbook for my ge pvm1790dr ww purchased 9/2011 from homedepot can you help ?

Asked by
reggie
about Profile 1.7 cu. ft. Over the Range Convection Microwave in Stainless Steel on
December 13, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
December 14, 2012
Hello Reggie,

Yes, please contact the GE Parts department through the GE Appliance website for information on replacement cookbooks for convection microwaves.

Donna with GE
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Does this unit have to be vented to the outside or require a vent hole? Also, can you use plastic containers in this microwave?

Asked by
Becky
Indiana
about Profile 1.7 cu. ft. Over the Range Convection Microwave in Stainless Steel on
November 22, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
November 27, 2012
Hello Becky,

Thank you for your interest in the GE Profile 1.7 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Convection Microwave in Stainless Steel Model # PVM1790SRSS.

The microwave comes from the factory ready to vent out the top to the outside. If needed, it can be installed as a non-vented or recirculating model. The blower would need to be turned before installed and the charcoal filter added. The charcoal filter is JX81D. Please see the installation instructions available on the GE Appliance website.

Use only microwave safe plastic utensils in the microwave oven. If they are not microwave safe the plastic can melt. This is particularity true with food high in fat or sugar content. With extended periods of cooking, the plastic can weaken or melt from the heat of the food in the container.

I hope this helps!

Donna with GE
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Mark
Flower Mound, TX
December 29, 2012
No. The air exits above the forward edge of the oven. When microwaving, you should use a microwave safe vessel.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Will this product be coming out in the bisque color?

Asked by
Rodger
about Profile 1.7 cu. ft. Over the Range Convection Microwave in Stainless Steel on
February 3, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
February 4, 2013
Hello Rodger,

Thank you for your interest in the GE Profile Over-the-Range Convection Microwave model # PVM1790SRSS.

Yes, this model is available in Bisque. The model number is PVM1790DRCC.

This microwave has great features!

Donna with GE
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
« 1 2 3 4 »