Looking for Answers about GE 3.6 cu. ft. DOE Capacity Top Load Washer in White on White?

Customer questions and answers for
GE 3.6 cu. ft. DOE Capacity Top Load Washer in White on White

The latest line of GE washers offers the ultimate in laundry performance and convenience. With energy-efficiency and water-savings at the top of the list, GE has created large-capacity washers that not only clean your clothes with a gentle touch, but also give you more space for big (and therefore fewer!) loads. Traditional top load washers use a post agitator to achieve good cleaning performance by moving clothes against each other creating "turnover".
Customer questions and answers:
35 Questions
 | 
50 Answers
Overall rating:
4.577 out of 5
4.6
out of
5

Customer questions and answers for GE 3.6 cu. ft. DOE Capacity Top Load Washer in White on White

Question

GTWN4250D1WS Top Loading 3.9 machine

Asked by
catandfiddle
Eugene, Oregon
about 3.6 cu. ft. DOE Capacity Top Load Washer in White on White on
October 12, 2014
Brand new machine was delivered yesterday. We tried to run a short cycle, but the machine stops after the tub fills and agitates (won't go to drain/rinse/spin). We have to do it manually. Do we need to return the machine?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
October 14, 2014
Hello - this is Nancy at GE and I'm happy to help you. I am sorry to hear that your washing machine is stopping after the agitation and will not progress to the next cycle. Please contact GE Factory Service at 1-800-GECares (1-800-432-2737) Monday – Friday: 7 a.m. – 10 p.m. ET; Saturday – Sunday: 8 a.m. – 6 p.m. ET to schedule a service appointment. I hope this helps!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Once my washer filled with water it would not operate. The lights are still on but the washer will not operate on any setting.

Asked by
Jeronmar
Georgia
about 3.6 cu. ft. DOE Capacity Top Load Washer in White on White on
September 3, 2014
If I turn the knob to different settings the lights will change as well but I cannot get the machine to operate. I have reset the washer by unplugging for a few hours and by resetting the breaker switch. Could this be an issue with the lid switch?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
September 4, 2014
Hello- This is Lisa from GE. I am happy to assist you.

If your washer fills with water but does not agitate or spin, you may need to reset your washer motor. The Hydrowave washer is equipped with a direct-drive system. This system does not require a transmission to agitate or spin. The motor takes on a larger role in the drive system.

If your washer senses something unusual such as:
a power spike
an unbalanced load
a disruption in power
The washer may send a fault code to your motor. This fault code could shut down the drive system. The drive system may simply need to be reset. Follow these steps to do so:
1.Unplug the washer for 1 minute from the electrical outlet
2.After 1 minute plug the washer back in
3.You now have 30 seconds to begin lifting and lowering the lid. Once you begin lifting and lowering the lid you must do this 6 times within a 12 second period.
Note: You must raise the lid a minimum of 2 inches to ensure the magnetic connection on the lid is interrupted. Also, make sure you close the lid completely each time.

Your motor has been reset.

To test, run a small load without placing clothes in the unit. If the washer fills and begins to agitate you may go ahead and add clothing and complete the wash cycle. If the unit does not agitate, or if after several loads of clothing your washer stops again, please call for service at 1-800-432-2737.
Thank you for checking with us.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Machine leaks with small loads

Asked by
Andreac62
Minneapolis, MN
about 3.6 cu. ft. DOE Capacity Top Load Washer in White on White on
May 27, 2014
I purchased this machine less than 3 years ago and now it started leaking when I do small loads.
What should I check first before I call I repair man?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
May 28, 2014
Hello Andreac62,
This is Joyce from GE. I will be happy to help. Your washer may be leaking due to too much detergent being used. I recommend reducing the amount of detergent that you are using, which in turn should eliminate any leaks.

In addition, some fabrics (towels, sweaters, blankets, etc.) will retain soap over time, which could cause over-sudsing. We recommend occasionally washing these items without detergent to reduce build-up.

I hope this helps!

Thanks so much for checking with us. Have a great day!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

I have the GTWN4250D1WS and was double checking whether or not I needed to use high efficiency detergent?

Asked by
sjahn
houston
about 3.6 cu. ft. DOE Capacity Top Load Washer in White on White on
May 3, 2014
There is a "note" on page 4 of my owners manual that states it is a high efficiency machine so there is some confusion.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
May 5, 2014
Hello sjahn,

This is Michelle with GE and I am happy to help.

Your washer model GTWN4250D1WS is a Energy Star-rated washer (see label on washer control panel). While you can use other detergents, we recommend the use of High Efficiency detergents in all Energy Star-rated washers. HE detergents are specially formulated for high efficiency washers to provide excellent whitening, stain removal and clothes care. The low-sudsing formula allows you to use a full scoop of detergent to get your clothes clean without creating suds you don't need.

Thank you for checking!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Varying water level

Asked by
Dennis
Florida
about 3.6 cu. ft. DOE Capacity Top Load Washer in White on White on
March 9, 2014
When I first bought our gtwn4250d1ws the water level would come up pretty high in the tub. Now after a month or so of having the unit, I notice it fills significantly lower on super (about 2-3 inches less). What could be causing this? How high should the water be in the tub on a super load? My estimate is that it's only about half full on the super load setting.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
March 10, 2014
Hello,

Unfortunately this repair is beyond the level of assistance that we can offer over the web. We do not have any service technicians at this website to help with diagnosis and do-it-yourself repair recommendations.

I recommend to have this evaluated by a service technician under the warranty.

Donna with GE
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Machine will not fill with water although the fill light is on. It only makes a humming noise. Water supply is on.

Asked by
Leed
Blue Ash, OH
about 3.6 cu. ft. DOE Capacity Top Load Washer in White on White on
January 10, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
January 10, 2014
Hello,
This is Joyce from GE. I will be happy to help. Check the fuses, breakers and the plug. The washer should be on a separate outlet. Check to ensure the water is turned on to washer. Ex: The temperature selector is on hot but the hot water is turned off or vice-versa.

It is possible for 1/2 of the water valve on the washer to fail and you will only get hot or cold. To check, try changing water temperature switch to different selections. You should get hot or cold but not warm.

Slow fill can result when the water pressure is too low. To check your water pressure call your water company.

Slow fill can also result from stopped up screens in the washer water valve. To check your screens:

Unplug the washer from the wall outlet.
Turn off the water at inlet faucets.
Pull the washer away from the wall to allow enough room to get behind.
Locate the hose connections on your washer, take a pair of slip-joint pliers and turn the metal hose connections counter clockwise to remove.
Allow the hoses to hang into a bucket to catch water. Inside the fitting on the washer are the screens.
Clean the screens.
Metal screens need to be gently pried out with a small pocket screwdriver.
Plastic screens can be pulled using a pair of long nosed pliers.
In some instances, you may have to replace the screens, re-attach the hoses, turn the water on and check for leaks.
Plug the washer into wall outlet. Slide the washer back into place.

If the above information doesn't help, I recommend contacting GE Consumer Service. They can be reached by calling 1-800-432-2737.

Thanks so much for checking with us. Have a good day!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Options Setting on GE GTWN4250D1WS

Asked by
3X
about 3.6 cu. ft. DOE Capacity Top Load Washer in White on White on
September 28, 2013
On the GE GTWN4250D1WS, is the "2nd rinse and extended spin" selection a subset of "Power Rinse" on the "Options" control? I assume it is because it's included in the pink colored section of the "Options" control, but I want to be certain that it's OK to use this when using fabric softener.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
September 30, 2013
Hello - this is Nancy at GE and I am happy to help you.

Yes, the "2nd Rinse and Extended Spin" selection is part of the "Power Rinse" option. Therefore, it will do the deep fill rinse so it is okay to select this when using fabric softener.

Thank you for contacting GE!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What is the difference between the GE GTWN4250DWS and the GTWN4250D1WS ?

Asked by
gagirl
Atlanta GA
about 3.6 cu. ft. DOE Capacity Top Load Washer in White on White on
September 8, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
September 9, 2013
Hi-this is Sue from GE. I am happy to assist you.

Models GTWN4250DWS and GTWN4250D1WS are the same. When the model is manufactured, the extra number (1) is placed on the washer rating plate and product registration card. This number is used to identify manufacturing specific data when the washer is made. Should service or parts be needed, this is used as an identifier for the specific washer.

Thanks for checking with us!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

my agitator does not work or spin for wash or spin dry on GE4000mws

Asked by
Murphy
about 3.6 cu. ft. DOE Capacity Top Load Washer in White on White on
August 13, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
August 14, 2013
Hello Murphy,
I will be happy to assist you. I suggest checking the following:
Check to see if the lid switch probe/magnet is still in place. Some models have a small plastic piece that fits into a hole in the bottom right side of the open lid, which activates the lid switch when the lid is closed. Other models have a plastic coated magnet, that's fastened with two screws, in the top right side of the open lid. Depending on the model, if probe or the magnet is missing, the washer will not agitate or spin even if the lid is closed.

Is the washer lid down? GE and Hotpoint washers will not operate (agitate or spin) with the lid up. When the lid is left up after starting the machine, it is possible on some newer models, for the washer to fill with water, the timer advance, and then drain the water.

Make sure the standpipe is 30" high. Any less will cause water to siphon back out of tub and never agitate. To correct, the drain hose must be 30" high.
I hope this helps.
Lisa from GE.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

I own a gtwn4250. Sometimes after a load of wash is done am finding the clothes soaked! Is this washer defective? what can be done to correct this?

Asked by
Tom
about 3.6 cu. ft. DOE Capacity Top Load Washer in White on White on
December 21, 2012
It seems to happen with large loads. The knob to select extra rinse cycle is so confusing! There is a range between selections. The manual has nothing on it! what is range between selections marks?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Tom
December 21, 2012
to clarify the rotary Settings knob extra spin and 2nd rinse has a range in between the beginning and ending lines you move knob to. There is no information i can find to explain this or its usage. Also, to be clear the soaked clothes at the end of entire wash cycle happens whether the settings knob is used or not.

Tom
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Does this model have the Advanced Temperature Control function that lowers the temperature of the hot water setting by adding in cold water?

Asked by
KP
about 3.6 cu. ft. DOE Capacity Top Load Washer in White on White on
January 12, 2012
I want a washing machine that will give me a hot wash setting where the water temperature is the same temperature that comes out of my faucet - i.e. does not add cooler water for energy efficiency reasons.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
CaliNative9
California, USA
January 24, 2012
this washer doesn't had cooler water. It comes out full hot water.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
IndianaGriller
Indiana
January 14, 2012
No. This machine does not cool down the hot water. The hot is HOT. However, the warm setting is not that warm. It has a cool setting too (in addition to cold), but you can tell the difference between warm and cool. Also, the hot water flows into the machine kind of slow..but at least it is HOT.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Does this washing machine mix cold water in with the hot wash cycle to reduce the temperature?

Asked by
mm
about 3.6 cu. ft. DOE Capacity Top Load Washer in White on White on
January 5, 2012
Also, what temperature is the warm wash? I noticed one reviewer said it is only luke warm/coldish.
Lastly, can you add more water to the tub manually by holding the water level switch on reset?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
IndianaGriller
Indiana
January 14, 2012
I can tell you it isn't very warm. It is warmer than the cool setting though (there is also COLD which is straight cold tap). You can add more water to the tub manually by using reset. We love this machine.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
GE Answers
January 5, 2012
Hello,
Thank you for your inquiry on the GE washer model # GTWN4000MWS. My name is Donna and I am happy to help.

This washer has a water level that you control. It has variable water levels, meaning that you can set it to fill from small up to super-size – you set it yourself, rather than it having an auto-sensor. Small, Medium, Large, Extra Large and Super. You cannot add extra water to a cycle.

There is not any sort of heating element used to control the water temperature. If hot wash selection is chosen, the hot water will not exceed the capability of the water heater supplied to the washer.

The target temperature for Hot water is 110 degrees +/- 4.5 degrees.

Warm – 90 degrees, temperature variation +/- 4.5 degrees.

Warm is the mix of hot and cold water coming into the washer and can change depending on the incoming water temperatures to the washer. The warm water temperature is slightly lower than in years past. This is due to a different mix of hot and cold water. This was done to meet federal energy guidelines.

I hope this helps. Should you have additional questions, please let us know.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

On the dial it does'nt show a rinse cycle... where is it?

Asked by
kacey
about 3.6 cu. ft. DOE Capacity Top Load Washer in White on White on
January 7, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
AntiWhrlpool
January 10, 2012
It's on the dial all the way over to the right. It's not labeled, but it comes on between the extra light cycle and the drain and spin cycle. There's also an option for an extra/2nd rinse, on the dial to the left of the wash cycle dial.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
GE Answers
January 8, 2012
Hello Kacey,

Thank you for your inquiry on the GE washer model GTWN4000MWS. My name is Donna and I am happy to help.

The Rinse is part of the complete cycle. This model does offer an optional 2Nd Rinse that you can set on the dial. There is not a Rinse Only cycle.

Should you have any additional questions, please let us know. Thank you for considering GE!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

what are the differences in the GTWN3000MWS and the GTWN4000MWS

Asked by
Janie in TX
Plano TX
about 3.6 cu. ft. DOE Capacity Top Load Washer in White on White on
January 6, 2012
Water levels, wash and rinse levels, speeds, times, everything.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
January 6, 2012
Hello,
This is Alison from GE. I am happy to assist you.

Model number GTWN3000MWS has 3 wash/rinse temperatures and GTWN4000MWS has 4.

Both models offer a 2nd rinse. However, it is called clean rinse on model GTWN3000MWS.

Model GTWN4000MWS offers a prewash and the 3000 does not.

Model GTWN4000MWS offers 4 wash and rinse temperatures and 4 wash/spin speed combinations. The 3000 offers 3 wash and rinse temperatures and has 2-pulsed wash/spin speed combinations. For example the casual pulsed cycle provides a gentler way to wash wrinkle-free and permanent press items and knits. Provides periods of agitation and soak to gently clean lightly soiled clothes followed by a fast spin speed.

Model GTWN4000MWS offers variable water levels and the 3000 offers 3 water levels.

The maximum spin speed for both models is 630 RPM.

Model GTWN4000MW has a variable speed motor and the 3000 has a one speed motor.

Washer cycle times are programmed into each model's timer. This varies with each style.

For more detailed information on the cycles and water temperatures you can access the use and care manuals for each model on the Home Depot website. Once you enter the model number in the search field, go to the orange tabs mid-way and click on “more info” you can review or download the use and care manual.

I hope this information helps.

Please let us know if you have any further questions. We are always glad to be of assistance.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Question

Will this machine still wash with the lid up?

Asked by
Kimberly
Dallas
about 3.6 cu. ft. DOE Capacity Top Load Washer in White on White on
December 25, 2011
Will this machine still wash with the lid up, or is it one of those that must have the lid closed for it to do anything? Asking because my former washer would wash with the lid up but not advance to spin/rinse unless it was closed, and I found this handy in many situations. Thx!
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Satisfied
December 28, 2011
It will fill up, but won't agitate. I still find it to be the most like washers from the good ole days and I did lots of research. :)
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
GE Answers
December 27, 2011
Hi, this is Sheree from GE and I will be glad to assist you with your question on our energy-efficient GE 3.6 cu. ft. DOE capacity top load washer in white on white model # GTWN4000MWS. None of the GE current washers, including this model, will agitate with the lid up for safety reasons. I hope this helps and thanks for your interest in our GE products!
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Does this washer vibrate when installed in a second floor laundry room?

Asked by
Marie
WISCONSIN
about 3.6 cu. ft. DOE Capacity Top Load Washer in White on White on
December 24, 2011
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
December 27, 2011
Hi, this is Sheree from GE and I will be glad to assist you with our energy-efficient GE 3.6 cu. ft. DOE capacity top load washer in white on white model # GTWN4000MWS. This unit can be installed on a second floor but it would have to be on a reinforced wood floor to meet proper installation requirements. On a reinforced floor there should be no vibration if the unit is level. I hope this helps and thanks for your interest in our GE products!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

I WOULD LIKE TO KNOW IF THIS MACHINE GE GTWN4000MWS HAS A DELICATE CYCLE OR HAND WASH CYCLE TO WASH DELICATE TURTLE NECK KNITS SWEATERS.

Asked by
POODLE DOG
BROOKLYN, NEW YORK
about 3.6 cu. ft. DOE Capacity Top Load Washer in White on White on
December 4, 2011
I WOULD LIKE TO KNOW IF THIS MACHINE GE GTWN4000MWS HAS A DELICATE CYCLE OR A HAND WASH CYCLE TO WASH DELICATE TURTLE NECK SWEATERS??? ALSO HOW LONG DOES EITHER ONE OF THE CYCLES WASH??? THREE, FOUR, FIVE MINUTES??? AND THEN RINSE.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
kubotaman
Pittsburgh, PA
December 25, 2011
yes it does with several settings see my photo included
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
GE Answers
December 5, 2011
Hello,

This is Donna with GE and I will be happy to help you with your question on the GE washer GTWN4000MWS.

Yes, this model washer offers a Delicate cycle. The Delicate cycle allow "special care" items to be washed delicately. For lingerie and fabrics requiring special care, this cycle has a gentle wash and a slow spin. The cycle sequence is: fill, gentle agitation, drain, slow spin, fill, gentle agitation to rinse, drain, and gentle spin.

The cycle time for Delicates is 40 minutes.

I hope this helps. Thank you for considering GE!
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

what is the RPM s on this machine?

Asked by
Thimbles
Brooklyn Park, Md.
about 3.6 cu. ft. DOE Capacity Top Load Washer in White on White on
November 27, 2011
Mod. # GTWN 4250 MWS
Top Load Mach.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Mike
Hartford, CT, USA
December 17, 2011
630 rpm spin speed
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
GE Answers
November 28, 2011
Hello,

Thank you for your inquiry on the GE washer model GTWN4250MWS. My name is Donna and I will be happy to help.

Maximum Spin Speed: 700 RPM

I hope this is helpful. Thank you for considering GE!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

does this model fill the tub with water like older washing machines and what is total wash time including filling for a large load

Asked by
pam
about 3.6 cu. ft. DOE Capacity Top Load Washer in White on White on
December 3, 2011
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Mike
Hartford, CT, USA
December 17, 2011
Yes. You control the water level, not the machine. Total wash time is about 30 minutes for a super load
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
GE Answers
December 5, 2011
Hello Pam,

This is Donna wtih GE and I will be happy to help. you with your question on the GE 3.6 cu. ft. DOE Capacity Top Load Washer model # GTWN4000MWS.

Yes, this model offers variable water levels like a traditional washer. The total wash time would depend on the cycle selected and what options may be selcted like extra rinse, extended spin etc.
An example is below but it does not include fill time.

Cottons Heavy: 50 min
Cottons Heavy with Extra Rinse: 64 min
Easy Care Medium: 46 min

I hope this helps. Thank you for considering GE!
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

What is the difference between a GE3000 model and a GE4000 model top loader washing machine?

Asked by
moosie
Wasilla Alaska
about 3.6 cu. ft. DOE Capacity Top Load Washer in White on White on
December 7, 2011
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
mowgliworf
NC
December 14, 2011
i think the 3000 does NOT have a delicate cycle
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
GE Answers
December 7, 2011
Hello Moosie,

This is Donna with GE and I will be happy to help you with your question on the GE Top Load Washer model # GTWN4000MWS.

Following are the differneces between models GTWN4000 and GTWN3000.

GTWN4000:
Wash/Rinse Temperatures - 4
Wash/Spin Speed Combinations - 4
RainShower™ System with Extra rinse
Auto Soak
PreWash
Motor Speeds - Variable

GTWN3000:
Wash/Rinse Temperatures - 3
Wash/Spin Speed Combinations 2-Pulsed
Water Levels - 3
Motor Speeds - 1 Speed

I hope this helps. Thank you for considering GE!
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
1 2 »