Looking for Answers about GE 3.6 cu. ft. DOE Top Load Washer in White?

Customer questions and answers for
GE 3.6 cu. ft. DOE Top Load Washer in White

The GE 3.6 cu. ft. Top Load Washer features a HydroWave wash system that provides a long, slow travel through the water, delivering improved cleaning performance that's gentle on your clothes. The washer's durable stainless-steel tub resists rust and won't chip, peel or snag clothes. Its 5 wash/spin speed combinations and 6 wash/rinse temperatures give you a greater degree of control over fabric cleaning and care.
Customer questions and answers:
28 Questions
 | 
44 Answers
Overall rating:
4.444 out of 5
4.4
out of
5

Customer questions and answers for GE 3.6 cu. ft. DOE Top Load Washer in White

Question

Is it possible to dye fabric (jeans) in this machine? Which agittion cycle is the longest? Thanks!

Asked by
Lynpin
Saint Louis
about 3.6 cu. ft. DOE Top Load Washer in White on
August 9, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
August 10, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for your interest in the 3.6 cubic foot GE top load washer. I am happy to help you.

We recommend following the package directions when using fabric dye in your washer. Be sure to clean the washer to avoid discoloration of the next load. Also, wipe exterior parts when finished. The White Cottons will be the longest cycle.

Even though this is not an energy star washer, you may wish to contact the dye manufacturer to see if they recommend using their dye products in the newer more energy efficient washers.

I hope this information is helpful.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What do the different Fabric Softener settings do?

Asked by
Wbyker
PA
about 3.6 cu. ft. DOE Top Load Washer in White on
April 3, 2012
For the "Settings" selector there are four choices for Fabric Softener. The forth setting adds "Plus 2nd Rinse." What is the difference between the other three choices?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
April 5, 2012
Hello,

Thank you for your inquiry on the GE washer. To answer your question accurately, I would need a model number.

On model GTWN4250 under the Settings or Options dial, there are 4 options.

* Fabric softener (when adding)
* Fabric softener with 2nd rinse
* Extended spin only (no fabric softener): Use this option to extract more water from clothes
* 2nd Rinse: Use this when using extra detergent or bleach to heavily soiled clothes

I hope this helps. Should you have addtional questions, please let us know.

Donna with GE
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What assures you that hot will be truly hot and warm will be warm? Is there a sensor that guarantees the temp? My old washer had a thermostat.

Asked by
Sandibeach
Tennessee
about 3.6 cu. ft. DOE Top Load Washer in White on
March 22, 2012
My old washer used cool water for cold because of the thermostat. It did not just pull cold water from the tap, though you could if you wanted to. Hot water was really hot. Just bought an LG. Though it says it has a hot cycle, it only allows the water to be 85 dgrees. All cold cycles are ice cold from the tap. I am returning it. Thank you Home Depot. The best customer service!
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
March 23, 2012
Hello,

Thank you for your inquiry on the GE 3.6 cu. ft. DOE Top Load Washer model # GTWN4450MWS.

This model offers the PerfecTemp™ Washer Water Temperature Management System.

It monitors and regulates cold, warm and hot water temperatures, and warm water rinse by a sensor. Ensures that all water temperatures meet garment manufacturers' recommendations. Temperature variation +/- 4.5 degrees.

PerfecTemp Target Wash Temperatures:
Hot - 110
Warm - 90
Colors - 75
Cool - 70
Cold - 62
Tap Cold - Tap Temp

I hope this helps.

Donna with GE
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Which country is this washing machine manufactured in?

Asked by
Dan
New Haven, MI
about 3.6 cu. ft. DOE Top Load Washer in White on
March 8, 2012
I have looked all over the internet. I have been unable to determine where this washing machine is produced?
I have heard that some G.E. products are produced in the U.S.A., BUT NOT ALL OF THEM.

Can anyone say definitively that this product is or is not manufactured in the U.S.A? (And though this might be asking for too much --- which state?)
Perhaps it's listed on the machine itself, and/or in the user's manual?

It would be MUCH appreciated, and I bet would convince 50/50 buyers such as myself, in a heartbeat!
-----

Please let me know where you got your information. Thanks!
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
March 9, 2012
Hello Dan,

Thank you for your interest in the GE 3.6 cu. ft. DOE Top Load Washer model # GTWN4450MWS.

This washer is manufactured in Louisville, Kentucky.

GE products are designed by GE engineers in the United States. Many are manufactured in the U.S. and others are made globally to our specifications. The country of origin is shown on the Model/Serial rating plate as well as the packaging.

Manufacturing facilities can and do change from time to time because GE continues to seek the most efficient manufacturing processes available. We make products all over the world for a Global marketplace. Therefore, your best source for manufacturing location is the packaging/product itself.

I hope this helps.

Donna with GE
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Question

Is this machine able to pump up as it will be used in the basement.

Asked by
Bob
Cc, mass
about 3.6 cu. ft. DOE Top Load Washer in White on
February 19, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
February 20, 2012
Hello Bob,

Thank you for your interest in the GE 3.6 cu. ft. Top Load Washer model # GTWN4450MWS.
This is Donna with GE and I am happy to help.

In order for the drain hose to function properly, the drain must be at least 30" from the floor and less than 8 feet high.

The flow rate of the pump is dependent upon the height of the drain pipe. For each 1 foot of additional drain pipe height, the flow rate will be reduced by approximately 1 gallon per minute.

The washer pump will pump water at a rate of 15 gallons per minute. The drain pipe should be a minimum of 1 1/2" I.D. (inside diameter) to assure proper draining. The washer drain hose is 1 1/4" O.D. (outside diameter). To be confident that no siphoning of water will take place, the drain plumbing should be a minimum of 30" high.

I hope this helps.

Thank you for considering GE!
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

does this model agitate during the rinse cycle? read reviews that the other ge models just soaked during rinse

Asked by
mcg
about 3.6 cu. ft. DOE Top Load Washer in White on
January 31, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
February 1, 2012
Hello MCG,

Thank you for your inquiry on the GE 3.6 cu. ft. DOE Top Load Washer Energy Star model # GTWN4450MW.

It will depend on the options selected how the rinse cycle works.

This model offers the RainShower Rinse System.
* With the fabric softener option off, there will be 3 spray rinses followed by a high speed spin and final spin.
* With the fabric softener dispenser option is on, the washer will add the selected load size of water for a deeper fill rinse. It will agitate for 3 mintues and then pump out and final spin.

You will be saving water with the RainShower rinse system. Rather than a wash tub full of water, every load of laundry gets three "showers", rinsing clothes clean while minimizing water usage. The RainShower rinse system uses less water, providing rinse performance similar to a high-efficiency washer. Save up to 15 gallons per load, or up to 35% of the water used by a typical load.

Fabric softeners used in the washer require a certain amount of water for proper dilution. The RainShower feature does not supply the needed amount of water therefore fabric softener should not be used unless one of the fabric softener options have been selected. Fabric Softener plus second rinse - set this option when adding fabric softener to the washer. The 2nd Rinse option provides a 2nd deep cold rinse.

I hope this helps.

Donna with GE
+2points
3out of 4found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
gdude55
Maryland
March 6, 2012
If you set the rinse option to fabric softener (you don't need to actually add softener), the washer will fill and swish (agitate) the same as it does in the wash cycle. If you don't use this setting, the washer will just repeatedly shower the clothes and spin them down. If you have light items in there (t shirts, socks, underwear, etc), this option rinses ok, but if you have heavy towels, jeans, sweats, etc, use the fabric softener mode to get a traditional agitated rinse cycle.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

IS THERE A DIFFERENT HOOKING UP WASHER THAN OLD ONES

Asked by
BLACKJACK
about 3.6 cu. ft. DOE Top Load Washer in White on
January 16, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
gdude55
Maryland
March 6, 2012
No, hooks up the same as all washers (drain hose, hot and cold inlet hoses)
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
GE Answers
January 16, 2012
Hello Blackjack,

This is Donna with GE and I will be happy to help you with your question on the GE 3.6 cu. ft. DOE Top Load Washer Energy Star model # GTWN4450MWS.

There should not be any differences in the installation or hook up of the washer. The installation instructions are available to view on the GE Appliance website if needed.

Should you have any additional question, please let us know. Thank you for considering GE!
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

Does it come with hoses?

Asked by
Popeyecpo
about 3.6 cu. ft. DOE Top Load Washer in White on
December 18, 2011
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
December 19, 2011
Hello,
Thanks for contacting us. This is Alison from GE. I am happy to assist you.

Model number GTWN4450MWS does not include water supply hoses.

GE strongly recommends the use of new water supply hoses. Hoses degrade over time and need
to be replaced every 5 years to reduce the risk of hose failures and water damage.

I hope this information is helpful.

Please let us know if you have any further questions or concerns.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
juke
New Mexico, USA
December 25, 2011
No hoses included. Those are purchased as extras. But that is true in most stores. I opted for the upgrade to stainless steel, only $20 extra.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

I would like an Energy Star dryer to go with this washer. What do you recommend, as the GE dryer, GTDP400EMWS, that it is paired with isnt?

Asked by
sas
texas
about 3.6 cu. ft. DOE Top Load Washer in White on
November 7, 2011
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Robert
San Antonio, TX, USA
November 17, 2011
I kept my existing Whirlpool Dryer as it continues to function adequately.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
GE Answers
November 8, 2011
Hello,

This is Donna with GE and I will be happy to help you with your question on the GE dryer model GTDP400EMWS.

Dryers do not require an Energy label and are not Energy Star rated. Dryers certainly can use alot of energy depending on the length of time they are running. Proper venting is critical to the operation and time the dryer runs. The following products lines can carry a Energy star rating.

Dehumidifiers
Dishwashers
Room Air Conditioners
Refrigerators & Freezers
Washers

I hope this helps! Should you have further questions, please let us know.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Does this washer have a lint trap that is removable after each load?

Asked by
mabelm
about 3.6 cu. ft. DOE Top Load Washer in White on
November 6, 2011
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
November 6, 2011
Hello,

This is Donna with GE and I will be happy to help you with your question on the GE 3.6 cu. ft. DOE Top Load Washer Energy Star model # GTWN4450MWS.

No, the current top load washers have a better pump and larger holes in the hub under the agitator did a better job of removing lint and preventing clogs in the drain system. The drain system allows water to flow through the basket and out the bottom of the tub pulling lint, hair, and small particles with the water. There is no maintenance required on this system.

I hope this helps!
+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Robert
San Antonio, TX, USA
November 17, 2011
No, there is no lint trap, evidently the lint/solid residue is discharged qwith the rinse water. I have a cat, who seems to loose more hair than he has on his body, and much of that ends-up on clothing/bedding. I have had no issues what so ever with hair/lint remaining on clothes following the wash process.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Does this washer use a computer board for the controls like the front load HE washers

Asked by
jarthur
Hilo Hawaii
about 3.6 cu. ft. DOE Top Load Washer in White on
November 5, 2011
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
November 7, 2011
Hello Jarthur,

This is Donna with GE and I will be happy to help you with your question on the GE 3.6 cu. ft. DOE Top Load Washer model # GTWN4450MW.

There is a control board on the washer but it is not the same board as a frontload washer. If you would like to view the parts, I would recommend to go the the GE website for the models and get a parts breakdown where you can see an exploded view.

I hope this helps.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Robert
San Antonio, TX, USA
November 17, 2011
I don't think there is a computer board per se. It does determine (by some means) the appropriate amount of water to use and makes adjustments--purportedly by the weight of the load; but to say it is computerized I would have to question that.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Is it ok to use regular detergent one person said they used reg not he

Asked by
Angie
about 3.6 cu. ft. DOE Top Load Washer in White on
October 31, 2011
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
October 31, 2011
Hi, Angie - this is Cindy from GE and I'll be happy to help you with this. Because this is an Energy Star washer and uses less water than washers in the past, we recommend that you use an HE (high efficiency) detergent. HE detergents are specially formulated for high efficiency washers to provide excellent whitening, stain removal and clothes care.

A low-sudsing formula allows you to use a full scoop of detergent to get your clothes clean without creating suds you don’t need. Using less of a regular detergent may not be enough to get the job done and it may not rinse well from your clothing.

Tide HE has been optimized to work best in the low water levels of HE washers like this model. Outstanding whiteness maintenance provided by ingredients that suspend dirt away from clothes in the wash and help prevent dye transfer from one garment to another. This is very important in a low water wash. So we are going to recommend the use of an HE detergent in our new washers. Thanks for your question!
+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Robert
San Antonio, TX, USA
November 17, 2011
My understanding is that the HE is a bit more concentrated, and also "sudses" less. I would think it OK to use-up existing regular detergent, the worst loss being that perhaps clothes may not come as clean and or too much suds is produced.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Is this an electric dryer?

Asked by
Helen
Bloomingdale, Ohio
about 3.6 cu. ft. DOE Top Load Washer in White on
October 30, 2011
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
October 31, 2011
Hello Helen,

This is Michelle with GE and I am happy to answer your question.

This model # GTWN4450MWS is a washer. A suggested electric dryer that will match this washer is model # GTDP400EMWS.

Thank you for your interest in our GE laundry products. Please let us know if you have any other questions.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

machine arrived today, did three loads of wash. First two loads perfect, 3rd load was small

Asked by
Zan
about 3.6 cu. ft. DOE Top Load Washer in White on
October 21, 2011
machine will not spin.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
October 24, 2011
Hello Zan,

This is Donna with GE and I will be happy to address your concerns with your question on your new GE washer.

I am sorry to hear you have experienced this problem with the washer not spinning. I recommend taking advantage of your warranty since your washer is new and have a serivce technician evaluate and correct the problem. Please see the following link to schedule service.

http://genet.geappliances.com/ServiceNet/Dispatcher?REQUEST=CONSUMERFIRSTREQUEST&JSPID=SCHEDULE

Should you have further questions, please let us know.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Online states "rebate available" but the link does not work.

Asked by
Deidre
Pflugerville, TX
about 3.6 cu. ft. DOE Top Load Washer in White on
October 18, 2011
Placed my online order and have confirmation, but rebate info never came up. How much is the rebate?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
October 19, 2011
Hello Valued Customer,

Thanks for your question and interest in this washer. Model # GTWN4450MWS, Internet # 202511289 does qualify for a 10% rebate. The 10% rebate has been applied. The pricing shown reflects the current sale price including any discounts. Once you have added the appliance, required parts and services to your cart, you will be able to view the final purchase price. Please keep in mind we are currently offering free shipping on this item. I hope this helps!
If you have any additional questions or need assistance placing an online order, please feel free to contact our Appliance Hotline at 800-455-3869.
Thanks!
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Wash Times

Asked by
TP
Anthem, AZ
about 3.6 cu. ft. DOE Top Load Washer in White on
October 10, 2011
How long are the wash times for the different settings, Delicate, Casual, Cottons?

Our washer is taking over an hour for all of the different settings.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
October 11, 2011
Hello,
This is Alison from GE.

Washer cycle times are programmed into each model's timer. This varies with each style, and ranges from approximately 13 minutes for a delicate wash to 30 minutes for heavy wash cycles.
However, the above times do not include pauses, fill times and pump out times and could increase the cycle time.

I hope this information is helpful.

Please let us know if you have any further questions or concerns.

Alison
-2points
2out of 6found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Robert
San Antonio, TX, USA
October 11, 2011
The only settings I have used is the cottons/casuals and with either the "auto" fill and wash or to set it manually, it does take about 50 minutes to an hour....a bit longer than my old washer. I use a double rinse so that adds to the wash time.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Agitator speed does not change on different settings?

Asked by
Tom
Phoenix, AZ
about 3.6 cu. ft. DOE Top Load Washer in White on
October 9, 2011
Why is the agitator speed the same for delicate setting (extra gentle), casuals setting (gentle), and cottons setting (regular). There is no difference on our new washer?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
October 10, 2011
Hello Tom,

This is Michelle with GE and I am happy to help you.

On this washer model # GTWN4450MWS, the agitator speed should not be the same on all cycles. Therefore, we must recommend taking advantage of your warranty by scheduling service. For service contact information, please see the Consumer Support section of your owner's manual.

Thank you for contacting us. Please let us know if you have any other questions.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Robert
San Antonio, TX, USA
October 11, 2011
Having used only the cottons/casual setting, I can't comment on the agitator speed. Having observed the wash thru the glass lid, I did notice a MUCH MORE GENTLE agitator action than with previous washers I have owned. I guess that is the "wave wash" technology.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Does the hot water selection really add hot water (about 110*) for washing whites and diapers? Do you need to sanitize your machine with bleach?

Asked by
Holly
New Jersey
about 3.6 cu. ft. DOE Top Load Washer in White on
October 2, 2011
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
October 2, 2011
Dear Holly,

This is Donna from GE and I will be happy to assist you with your question on the GE Top Load Washer Energy Star model GTWN4450MWS.

This washer offers the PerfecTemp™ washer water temperature management system.

* Monitors and regulates cold, warm and hot water temperatures, and warm water rinse.
* Ensures that all water temperatures meet garment manufacturers' recommendations.
* Temperature variation +/- 4.5 degrees.

PerfecTemp Target Wash Temperatures:
Hot - 110
Warm - 90
Colors - 70
Cool - 70
Cold - 62
Tap Cold - Tap Temp

You can run through a bleach rinse if you want. GE recommends to use Tide Washing Machine Cleaner. Clean Laundry Starts With a Clean Washer. Tide Washing Machine Cleaner's oxygenated formula helps remove odor causing residues that build up on the surface of your washer over time--even from areas you can't see. Use Tide Washing Machine Cleaner once a month to clean and freshen you front-load or top-load washer.
Tide Washing Machine Cleaner is available through the parts department - part number wx10x10011 - 3 month supply. Follow the directions on the box for proper usage.

I hope this helps.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Question

does this washer run water in while lid is up and does it start and stop or just fill at one time

Asked by
debee
ky
about 3.6 cu. ft. DOE Top Load Washer in White on
September 25, 2011
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
September 28, 2011
Hello,
This is Alison from GE.
Model number GTWN4450MWS will not fill with water when automatic load sensing is selected if the lid is opened.
When the lid is closed the machine is able to begin filling with water in order to sense the load size.

The unit will fill all at once; it does not start and stop. (unless you raise the lid during an automatic load sensing cycle)

I hope this information is helpful.

Please let me know if you have any further questions or concerns.

Alison
+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
jayr
Seattle
October 19, 2011
if it's in auto-fill, it stops filling when you open the lid. But if it's in manual, it does not. I start the machine in manual, put in the detergent, put in the clothes, and then turn it to auto-fill when I put the lid down.
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Question

Can you really select the water level? Some reviews say you can and some say it doesn't work.

Asked by
confused washer shopper
about 3.6 cu. ft. DOE Top Load Washer in White on
September 5, 2011
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
September 5, 2011
Hello,

This is Donna with GE and I will be happy to help you with your question on the GE Top Load washer model GTWN4450MWS.

This model is an Energy Star Hydrowave electronic washer. You may manually select a load size or use the automatic PreciseFill option.

If you select Super load size you will get approimately 14" of water in the tub. If you select a Small load size you will get approxiamtely 7 inches of water.

I hope this helps. Should you have further questions, please let us know.
+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Homebody
Denver, CO
September 6, 2011
You definitely can select the water level. There is only one setting that does it for you - the rest of them are based on the size of the load you put in and it's totally up to you.
+2points
3out of 4found this answer helpful.
1 2 »