Looking for Answers about Hotpoint 4.5 cu. ft. Electric Range with Self-Cleaning Oven in Silver Metallic?

Customer questions and answers for
Hotpoint 4.5 cu. ft. Electric Range with Self-Cleaning Oven in Silver Metallic

The super-large 5.0 cu. ft. oven capacity of the Hotpoint 30 in. Self-Cleaning Freestanding Electric Range helps you cook dishes for everyday family meals, dinner parties and almost anything in between. Self-cleaning to help you save time and effort, the range has a dual element that gives you a choice of 6 in. and 9 in. burner sizes. The range's removable full-width storage drawer provides additional storage space for cookware and kitchen accessories.
Customer questions and answers:
25 Questions
 | 
35 Answers
Overall rating:
4.488 out of 5
4.5
out of
5

Customer questions and answers for Hotpoint 4.5 cu. ft. Electric Range with Self-Cleaning Oven in Silver Metallic

Question

Does the depth measurement include the depth of the power cord? Is the back of the stove recessed to include the thickness of the plug?

Asked by
Julie
Arkansas
about 4.5 cu. ft. Electric Range with Self-Cleaning Oven in Silver Metallic on
August 24, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
August 25, 2013
Hello Julie,

This is Nancy from GE. I am happy to help you.

The depth does not include the power cord. As long as the receptacle and electrical outlet box are located within the area specified in the installation instructions, then this will allow the range to be installed directly against the rear wall.

I hope this helps. Thank you for checking with us!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

How can I get a another manual to describe an f2 error i continue to get when bakeing?

Asked by
mammasloves
Waxahachie.tx.
about 4.5 cu. ft. Electric Range with Self-Cleaning Oven in Silver Metallic on
April 8, 2013
When baking above 325 i consistently get a f2 error and lost my book due to a puppy and am unsure of why my stove displays this message and shuts off when doing so and was wondering how and if I could get another one?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
April 9, 2013
Hello,

This is Donna with GE and I am sorry to hear you are having an issue with your range.

Fault codes are programmed in all electronic range or oven controls. These codes help GE Factory Service technicians quickly diagnose issues with the range or oven.

F2 - For an unknown reason, the oven temperature has exceeded a preset threshold.

Sometimes shutting off the circuit breaker that the range or oven is connected to for 30 seconds will clear the fault, error or function code, however there are some cases when further service may be required.

Please see the following link for scheduling service.

http://genet.geappliances.com/ServiceNet/Dispatcher?REQUEST=CONSUMERFIRSTREQUEST&JSPID=SCHEDULE

The use and care manual can be downloaded off the Home Depot website on the specification page for this model under "More Info".

I hope this helps!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

how do you unlock the door

Asked by
kamakazi
home
about 4.5 cu. ft. Electric Range with Self-Cleaning Oven in Silver Metallic on
December 18, 2012
my stove say unlock door
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
December 19, 2012
Hello,

This is Donna with GE and I am sorry to hear you are experiencing this issue with your Hotpoint range.

* Disconnect power to range for 30 seconds.
* Reconnect power and see if door will unlatch.
* If door does not unlatch, and you do have food in the oven, wait for oven to cool completely and try again. If it still will not open you will need service.
* If door does not unlatch, and you do not have food in the oven, set the oven up to clean for 1-2 hours.
* Wait approximately 30 minutes and try to unlock the door.
* If the door unlocks, the control has reset itself and there should not be any other problems.
* If the door will not unlock or if you would like to schedule a service appointment.

Please see the link below for scheduling service.

http://genet.geappliances.com/ServiceNet/Dispatcher?REQUEST=CONSUMERFIRSTREQUEST&JSPID=SCHEDULE

Goodluck!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

If we have a 3 pronged 220 plug, do you have that available and will you install with same?

Asked by
susie
french settlement, la
about 4.5 cu. ft. Electric Range with Self-Cleaning Oven in Silver Metallic on
August 1, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
August 3, 2012
Hello Valued Customer,
Thanks for your question and interest in this appliance. The power cord for this appliance is compatible with a 3 prong outlet. The agents will connect the stove for you, but you will need to purchase the range cord item #M933 - RANGE POWER CORD 19.99. This added to your cart from the parts and services menu before your order is placed.
If you have you have any additional questions or need assistance placing an online order, please feel free to contact our Appliance Hotline at 800-455-3869.
Thanks!
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
MrsG
Chattanooga, TN
September 24, 2014
My husband informed me that most of the time, you just buy the cord you need to accomodate whatever plug you have mounted in your home. They're easily changed on the stove itself.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What is the height from floor to cooktop/countertop height?

Asked by
Rdavis
MO
about 4.5 cu. ft. Electric Range with Self-Cleaning Oven in Silver Metallic on
July 8, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
July 9, 2012
Hello,

Thank you for your inquiry on the Hotpoint Freestanding Electric Range model # RB790SRSA.

The height from the floor to the cooktop surface is 36 3/4" +/- 1/4" for leveling.

I hope this is helpful!

Donna with GE
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

what is the replacement cost of the glass cook top of the stove below

Asked by
teresa
about 4.5 cu. ft. Electric Range with Self-Cleaning Oven in Silver Metallic on
July 18, 2012
Model # RB790DRWW

Internet # 202515809

Store SO SKU# 306048
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
July 18, 2012
Hello Teresa,

This is Donna with GE and I am happy to assist you with your question on model # RB790DRWW.

The price of the range top and glass assembly will depend on where the part is purchased. It is not a conusmer replacable part and will require a GE authorized service technician to install. The part number is # WB57K10146.

I would suggest to check with the Home Depot Parts department. at 1-877-650-2121 for pricing or you can also contact GE Parts through the GE Appliance website. The price would not include labor to install.

I hope this helps!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

How long should it take to preheat the oven to 450 degrees? This one talkes about 20 minutes

Asked by
Don
Surprise, AZ
about 4.5 cu. ft. Electric Range with Self-Cleaning Oven in Silver Metallic on
May 31, 2012
This one takes about 20 minutes. It seems too long. And, if too long, how can I speed up the preheat action?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
June 1, 2012
Dear Don,

Hotpoint 30 in. Self-Cleaning Freestanding Electric Range in White Model # RB790DRWW

Yes, this is normal. Model RB790DR offers the Hidden Bake Element feature. Preheat time varies according to oven type. If the oven is installed at its proper voltage (120 volts for gas and 240 volts for electric). Electric Ovens with Hidden Bake Elements can take 15-20 minutes to preheat. Ovens with a visible bottom bake element can take 5-10 minutes to preheat.
This is a normal operation and the preheat time cannot be altered.

Factors that will affect the preheat time are:
* Selected temperature
* Starting temperature of the oven
* Room temperature

The Hidden Bake element places the bake element is concealed under a non-removable porcelain enameled oven floor. The hidden bake oven interior conceals the lower oven element to eliminate hard-to-reach areas that collect food and spills and is easy to clean.

I hope this helps!

Donna with GE
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Does this oven come with a way to bypass the 12 hour shutoff feature? In other words, I want to be able to leave it on for longer than 12 hours.

Asked by
Terri
about 4.5 cu. ft. Electric Range with Self-Cleaning Oven in Silver Metallic on
April 24, 2012
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
April 25, 2012
Hello Terri,

Thank you for your inquiry on the Hotpoint 30 in. Self-Cleaning Freestanding Electric Range model # RB790DRWW.

Yes, you can overide this feature. The benefit of the12 hour automatic oven shut off is the peace-of-mind and energy savings if oven is accidentally left on. The oven automatically shuts off after 12 hours.

This feature can be deactivated on ranges with touch pad clock controls to be left on for more than 12 hours.

I hope this helps!

Donna with GE
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

If the glass top breaks, how easy is it to repair? how costly?

Asked by
B&J
East Rochester, ny
about 4.5 cu. ft. Electric Range with Self-Cleaning Oven in Silver Metallic on
February 29, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
March 1, 2012
Hello,
This is Alison at GE. I am happy to assist you with this inquiry.

I own a GE freestanding range that has a glass smooth top surface and the surface is very durable.
GE cooktops are made of a tough glass ceramic material; I have teenagers that cook and my range has survived with them using it. My range will be 13 years this coming August and it still looks new. Cleaning after each use of the cooktop with cleaning cream will keep the cooktop looking new and easy to clean. Ceramic cooktop cleaning creams are the best.

With normal use, I just do not see the glass cracking, however if the glass breaks it will need to be serviced. Regarding replacement parts cost; please contact the Home Depot parts department at 1-877-650-2121.

I hope this information is helpful.

I wish you the best in choosing your range. Please let us know if you have any further questions or concerns.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Are power cords universal?

Asked by
Maria
Colorado
about 4.5 cu. ft. Electric Range with Self-Cleaning Oven in Silver Metallic on
February 1, 2012
Will the power cord from my Fridgedaire oven work with a GE oven?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
February 1, 2012
Hello Maria,

Thank you for your inquiry on the GE range.

Exisiting power cords cannot be used. New power cords are rquired for new instalaltions.

Please see the delivery and installation information on the Home Depot website at the following link.
http://www.homedepot.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/ContentView?pn=Appliance_Delivery_Installation&langId=-1&storeId=10051&catalogId=10053.

Should you have any further quesstions, please let us know.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
VenusV
Scottsdale, AZ, USA
August 26, 2012
Don't know about the fit, but will say the installer will tell you they are not allowed to install a new oven with an old cord.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is the storage drawer roomy ?

Asked by
Lodidoll
Imler,Pa
about 4.5 cu. ft. Electric Range with Self-Cleaning Oven in Silver Metallic on
January 23, 2012
Most new ones are very small. Is it the same size almost as the drawer front. I like everything I see about the stove otherwise, I do like my storage though.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
January 23, 2012
Hello,

Thank you for your inquiory on the Hotpoint 30 in. Self-Cleaning Freestanding Electric Range in Black Model # RB790DTBB.

The storage drawer on a range provides a convenient place to store baking and broiling pans. It is easy to remove and keep clean.

The approximate usable storage space of the storage drawer on 30" ranges is
20" wide x 18" deep x 8" height. GE has tested the storage drawer to hold up to 25 pounds.

I hope this helps!

Donna with GE
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

is this a smooth top range

Asked by
jyllybyyn48
about 4.5 cu. ft. Electric Range with Self-Cleaning Oven in Silver Metallic on
December 24, 2011
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
December 26, 2011
Hello,

This is Donna with GE and I will be happy to help you with your question on the Hotpoint 30 in. Self-Cleaning Freestanding Electric Range in Black Model # RB790DTBB.

Yes, this is a smooth top radiant black patterned on black glass range. It offers the following elements.
2 - 8" Heating ElementsL (2000w)
2 - 6" Heating Element (1200w)

I hope this helps.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Are special pots needed on the smooth top? Can we use cast iron?

Asked by
cooking fool
about 4.5 cu. ft. Electric Range with Self-Cleaning Oven in Silver Metallic on
December 17, 2011
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
dn105
Lynn, MA, USA
January 15, 2012
not recommended clad bottoms are prefered cast iron unless it's coated with porcelian coating can scratch the top
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
GE Answers
December 18, 2011
Hello,

This is Donna with GE and I will be happy to help you with your question on the Hotpoint 30 in. Self-Cleaning Freestanding Electric Range in White Model # RB790DRWW.

The ceramic glass top is great with easy clean up and maintenance. Flat Bottom pans are essential for good cooking performance since the bottom of the pan needs to touch the glass for the best heat transfer. Most current brands sold today have flat bottoms. Much older, used cookware and/or thinner cookware will show signs of no longer being flat. Non-flat pans may crack the glass.

* Use Medium or Heavy-Weight cookware.

* Stainless Steel is highly recommended. A sandwich clad bottom is especially good because it combines the durability and stability of stainless steel with the heat conduction and distribution of aluminum or copper.

* Heavy-Weight Aluminum cookware is also recommended. It conducts heat faster than other metals and cooks evenly. Aluminum residue sometimes appears as scratches on the cooktop, but these can be removed if cleaned immediately.

* Copper Bottom pans are also good, but they can leave residues on the cooktop that appear as scratches. These can be removed if cleaned immediately, but do not let a copper bottom pan boil dry. An overheated copper pot will leave a residue that will permanently stain the cooktop.

*Porcelain/Enamel pans give good performance only if they have a thick, flat bottom. Avoid boiling these pans dry, as porcelain can melt and fuse to the surface.

* Glass or Ceramic cookware is not recommended. These pans may scratch the surface. Glass is a poor conductor of heat so cooking times will be longer and they may require constant attention during cooking.

* Stoneware is not recommended. It may scratch the surface and will give poor performance.

* Cast Iron cookware is not recommended. If the cookware has a burr or rough spot, it will scratch the glass surface. Additionally, it is slow to absorb heat. Once this type of cookware heats up, especially on high heat, it holds an intense amount of heat which is transferred to the cooktop. This can cause the element to shut down as a response to the temperature limiters which indicate surface temperature is too high for cooktop components to handle.

* Porcelain Coated Cast Iron cookware is okay as long as the cookware is covered completely with porcelain enamel. Caution is recommended when using cast iron cookware that is not completely covered with smooth porcelain enamel, as it may scratch the glass ceramic cooktop. Additionally, if used at hi heat for a long period it will hold heat as described for plain cast iron and could shut down in response to the temperature limiters which indicate surface temperature is too high for cooktop components to handle.

I hope this helps. Should you have any furhter questions please let us know.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

how long should it take to pre heat to 350

Asked by
jess50
about 4.5 cu. ft. Electric Range with Self-Cleaning Oven in Silver Metallic on
October 17, 2011
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
October 18, 2011
Hello,

This is Donna from GE and I will be happy to help you with your question on the Hotpoint 30 in. Self-Cleaning Freestanding Electric Range model # RB790SRSA.

Preheat time varies according to oven type. If the oven is installed at its proper voltage (120 volts for gas and 240 volts for electric). Electric Ovens with Hidden Bake Elements and Gas Ovens can take 15-20 minutes to preheat. Ovens with a visible bottom bake element can take 5-10 minutes to preheat. This is a normal operation and the preheat time cannot be altered.

Model RB790SR has a hidden bake element feature.

Factors that will affect the preheat time are:
* Selected temperature
* Starting temperature of the oven
* Room temperature
* 208 volt installation will increase pre-heat time by 25% Below 105 volt gas installation.

I hope this helps!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Markie
West Branch, MI 48661, USA
January 11, 2012
Takes my unit about 10 minutes, then holds the temp. perfectly.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is there an indicator light to indicate if the top is still hot after it is turned off?

Asked by
roadie
about 4.5 cu. ft. Electric Range with Self-Cleaning Oven in Silver Metallic on
December 1, 2011
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
December 1, 2011
Hello,

Thank you for your inquiry on the Hotpoint 30 in. Self-Cleaning Freestanding electric range model # RB790DRWW. My name is Donna and I am happy to help.

Yes, free standing radiant ranges provide four hot surface lights in the center front of each cooktop. When the glass around each burner goes above 150 degrees Fahrenheit, the hot surface light will come on to remind you that the surface is hot. After the unit is turned off the light will remain on until the area around the burner has cooled to below 150 degrees Fahrenheit. This usually takes about twenty minutes.

I hope this helps!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
skeeter6198
Atascadero, CA, USA
January 24, 2012
Yes
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Does this model have a surface light for illumination (night light)? Are there any models that have the built-in surface light?

Asked by
KLKaricter
about 4.5 cu. ft. Electric Range with Self-Cleaning Oven in Silver Metallic on
November 5, 2011
Model # RB790DRWW
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
November 5, 2011
Hello,

This is Donna with GE and I will be happy to help you with your quesiton on the range model RB790DRWW .

This range does not offer a surface light for illumination. This feature was eliminated several years ago on all ranges.

I apologize for the inconvenience. Should you need any further questions, please don't hesitate to let us know.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Nicole
November 23, 2011
The clock is illuminated. There is a light inside the oven. There is no night light so to speak of.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What are the electrical requirements for this range?

Asked by
MW
about 4.5 cu. ft. Electric Range with Self-Cleaning Oven in Silver Metallic on
September 20, 2011
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
September 20, 2011
Hello,

This is Michelle with GE and I am happy to answer your questions.

Here is the electrical requirement for this range model # RB790SRSA:

40 amp circuit required
On a 208 volt connection, the kilowatt rating is 8.70
On a 240 volt connection, the kilowatt rating is 11.80

Thank you for your interest in this Hotpoint range. Please let us know if you have any other questions.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Does the range come with a power cord?

Asked by
tony
about 4.5 cu. ft. Electric Range with Self-Cleaning Oven in Silver Metallic on
October 30, 2011
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
October 31, 2011
Hello Tony,

This is Michelle with GE and I am happy to answer your question.

GE does not package the power cord with our ranges. Therefore, this range model # RB790DRWW does not come with a power cord. This practice exists because it is not possible to determine the type of facilities each consumer has available or what the local electrical codes require. To our knowledge none of the appliance manufacturers supply a cord set with ranges.

Thank you for your interest in our GE ranges. Please let us know if you have any other questions.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Nicole
November 23, 2011
I was going to use my old power cord from my old range, but the delivery men already had one attached to it.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

what is the overall opening sizehave to be

Asked by
wildbill
pittsburg.ks
about 4.5 cu. ft. Electric Range with Self-Cleaning Oven in Silver Metallic on
October 29, 2011
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
October 30, 2011
Hello Wildbill,

This is Donna with GE and I will be happy to help you with your question on the Hotpoint 30 in. Self-Cleaning Freestanding Electric Range in Black Model # RB790DTBB.

The cabinet opening required is 30 incehes.

Thank you for considering GE!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

how does the hidden coil in oven affect baking time

Asked by
BUCKEYE
about 4.5 cu. ft. Electric Range with Self-Cleaning Oven in Silver Metallic on
October 21, 2011
model RB790DTBB
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
October 24, 2011
Hello Buckeye,

This is Donna with GE and I will be happy to help you with your question on the Hotpoint 30 in. Self-Cleaning Freestanding Electric Range model # RB790DTBB.

Preheat time varies according to oven type. If the oven is installed at its proper voltage 120 volts for gas and 240 volts for electric. Electric Ovens with Hidden Bake Elements will take15-20 minutes to preheat . Ovens with a visible bottom bake element can take 5-10 minutes to preheat.

Once it is preheated, the baking time is not any different.

I hope this helps.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
1 2 »