Looking for Answers about GE 18,000 BTU Window Air Conditioner with Remote?

Customer questions and answers for
GE 18,000 BTU Window Air Conditioner with Remote

This Energy Star certified GE 18,000 BTU Window Air Conditioner with Remote is ideal for cooling larger rooms in your home, such as living rooms and family rooms without expending a lot of energy. With the remote you can adjust the setting of the 3-speed fan from across the room for an optimal cooling experience. The 4-way air direction helps to circulate the air more evenly to reduce uncomfortable warm spots in the room. The digital thermostat features a timer to help customize a cooling schedule for optimum use and a sleep setting for night-time cooling.
Customer questions and answers:
14 Questions
 | 
28 Answers
Overall rating:
4.391 out of 5
4.4
out of
5

Customer questions and answers for GE 18,000 BTU Window Air Conditioner with Remote

Question

What kind of plug does it have? What outlet is needed?

Asked by
Vicki
Orange City FL
about 18,000 BTU Window Air Conditioner with Remote on
July 22, 2011
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
July 23, 2011
Hello,
This is Alison from GE.

The plug type on model # AEL18DP is Tandem/NEMA 6-15.

Please let me know if you have any further questions.

Have a nice day.

Alison
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
GaryWasher
Florida
September 6, 2011
Standard 220/240v A/C plug and outlet.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Can I install this unit through the wall, to replace my exhisting unit?

Asked by
JR
Nanuet, NY
about 18,000 BTU Window Air Conditioner with Remote on
July 29, 2011
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
August 1, 2011
Hello JR,

This is Sheree from GE and I will be glad to assist you with GE 18,000 BTU Window Air Conditioner with Remote Model # AEL18DP. The GE window units can be installed through the wall with some extra effort. Through the wall installation is not appropriate if any of the side or top louvers in the case will be obstructed by the wall.

RAC window model info for wall installation:

Determine the size of the hole for the case and cut it about 1/8" larger (excluding ez-mount side retainers). Be sure the proper voltage wall plug is near the opening.
Frame the opening to support the air conditioner. Add flashing (a metal covering) over the bottom of frame opening and 1" up the sides to prevent any water dripping between inner and outer walls if the case should leak.

Remove chassis and ez-mount side panels from case.

Seal the holes in the case left by the ez-mount screws with duct tape. note: the only 4-sided case currently made are "J" cases, the rest are 3 sided.

Slide empty case into opening and secure to wood frame with 1" wood screws obtained locally. Holes may have to be drilled in the sides of the case to secure the unit. Do not drill through the floor, it may cause leaks.

Caulk all 4 sides of outside case to prevent moisture leaking to interior.
Re-install chassis and grill in the case.

All materials for thru-the-wall installation must be acquired locally. GE does not supply a thru-the-wall kit.
NOTE: Warranty will not be voided, but leaks through the opening will not be covered.

Thanks for our interest in GE!

Sheree
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Sean
August 9, 2011
This unit can be installed in a window or through the wall. The wall would need to be (roughly) less than 10" thick to miss the side vents. Pull the manual from online to get a better idea.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
BVPE
San Diego, CA
September 27, 2011
Yes, we did, but unless you have construction experience, have a contractor do it. My husband cut the hole in the wall (he had to cut a large hole inside to view the stud structure for placement) & had to repair the sheet rock & paint & calk afterwards. On the outside, he cut through the stucco. He had a sheet metal insert made that he fastened to the wall to slip the unit in to prevent leaking & heavy duty powder coated brackets to brace the unit on the outside. You can buy both of these. We love it in the wall, as it's up high & out of the way. The remote works great, so we don't have to reach up to do any settings.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
GaryWasher
Florida
September 6, 2011
Yes, the expanding side panels and botttom track can be omitted. You may have to drill mounting holes in the case.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Why are the plug sizes not in the specs?

Asked by
Cindy
Oklahoma
about 18,000 BTU Window Air Conditioner with Remote on
July 23, 2011
I do ot understand why the manufacturer and/or Home Depot does not put the plug size in the specs? It would be so easy for a layman to be able to look at the plug size such as 110v or 220v! That way they could easily look at the plug size and know if they can plug into the wall where the unit is installed, or if they are going to have to wire a 220v plug. I know you can call an electrician, but why make it so hard to just be able to look at the plug size? That is the FIRST thing I want to know.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Sean
August 9, 2011
I thought the specs had that info, but you can get the manual online. Its a 220v. Looks like this:

..o
_.._

(periods 'cause I can't put lots of spaces in the picture)
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
GE Answers
July 24, 2011
Hi, This is Kim with GE. Thank you for your interest in our GE ENERGY STAR 230 Volt Electronic Room Air Conditioner, Model Number AEL18DP. The plug type required is Tandem/NEMA 6-15. The "Specifications" tab on the Home Depot site for this model provides this information as well, but if other questions come up, please let us know. Thank you for buying GE.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
GaryWasher
Florida
September 6, 2011
It uses a standard 220/240v a/c plug and socket.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

what is the withe of that airconditioner

Asked by
itchy
philadelphia.pa.19131
about 18,000 BTU Window Air Conditioner with Remote on
June 14, 2011
how wide is this product
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
RichV
Whiting, IN
June 26, 2011
23 1/2 inches wide.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
THDCustomerService
Atlanta, GA
June 15, 2011
Hi itchy - here are the dimensions for this air conditioner:

Assembled Depth (in.) : 25.438 in
Assembled Height (in.) : 17.782 in
Assembled Width (in.) : 23.625 in
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
GaryWasher
Florida
September 6, 2011
23.75" for the case without the included sliding side panels.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

if i purched a ge-17600 btu air conditioner on line could i pick it up at the airport hy=ohio storeinstead of shipping to my house

Asked by
budrow
ohio
about 18,000 BTU Window Air Conditioner with Remote on
May 13, 2011
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Meano
October 4, 2011
with free shipping over 299 its worth it to have it delivered...
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
THDCustomerService
Atlanta, GA
May 25, 2011
Hi budrow, thank you for your question. This product is not currently available for pick up in the Airport Highway store - however, it currently has free shipping and you are able to schedule the delivery date during the checkout process based on your convenience and schedule.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

is there side panels to keep outside air out?

Asked by
Geri
Pittsburgh
about 18,000 BTU Window Air Conditioner with Remote on
July 25, 2011
How is this unit secured into a window
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
July 25, 2011
Hello Geri,

This is Donna from GE and I will be happy to assist you with your question on the air conditioner model AEL18DP.

Yes, there are side accordion panels. Following are the Min./Max. window opening in width.
Minimum: 26
Maximum: 41

The complete installation instructions are available to view on the Home Depot website under (More Info)

I hope this helps.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
GaryWasher
Florida
September 6, 2011
There are expanding side panels. A track for the bottom of those panels is screwed to the sill. There are angle supports for the underside of the case to keep it level.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

How do I get the temperature to lower and blow cool air?

Asked by
Hotnoair
Maryland
about 18,000 BTU Window Air Conditioner with Remote on
July 5, 2011
My unit is not blowing cold air and it seems like it is not on.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
July 12, 2011
Hello. Thank you for your inquiry. I would like to apologize for any inconvenience you are experiencing as a result of your air conditioner. I am happy to help you. If your display is blank, there may not be power to the unit. First, check the cord to make sure it is securely plugged in. Check your house circuit breaker to ensure that it has not tripped off. If your outlet has a GFI circuit, press the "reset" button to ensure it is engaged. If you are still not receiving power, try turning off the circuit breaker for 10-15 minutes, and then restore power. This may reset the internal circuitry. I hope this helps. Please let us know if further attention is needed. We are glad to assist.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
2r9gjq51
July 20, 2011
When you first turn the unit on, make sure it's on auto and energy saver. The unit will adjust based on the room temp.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can this air conditioner be plugged into the the electrical socket in the wall of the room where the air conditioner will be?

Asked by
student
Michigan
about 18,000 BTU Window Air Conditioner with Remote on
July 21, 2011
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
July 21, 2011
Hi, I'm Brenda with GE.

Thanks for your interest in this GE air conditioner.

Yes, it can be installed and plugged into the same room, and it should be plugged into a dedicated circuit.

Please let us know if you have other questions, we're always happy to help.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
GaryWasher
Florida
September 6, 2011
Yes, if the socket will fit and is for 220/240 volts.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Doesn't this require a 230v outlet and not a conventional household 110/115 outlet?

Asked by
vince
08035 NJ
about 18,000 BTU Window Air Conditioner with Remote on
July 22, 2011
I have a dedicated 220 outlet, can this be used? If not, which AC products utilize the 220/230 outlet? Thank you.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
July 23, 2011
Hello,
This is Alison from GE.

Yes, the model # AEL18DP is a 230 volt unit. This is not the conventional household 110/115 outlet. This does require the 220 outlet. The plug is type Tandem/NEMA 6-15.

I hope this information is helpful.

Please let me know if you have any further questions.

Alison
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
GaryWasher
Florida
September 6, 2011
Yes it can be used if it is the same style outlet. If not, you will have to install a new outlet/socket.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

My window is only 24" wide. Will this unit fit into it?

Asked by
Lin
Ft. Wayne, In.
about 18,000 BTU Window Air Conditioner with Remote on
August 3, 2011
0points
1out of 2found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
August 4, 2011
Hello Lin,

This is Donna from GE and I will be happy to help you.

Model AEL18DP has the following minimum and maximum window openings. Unfortunately, it will not fit a window 24" in width.

Min. window opening width: 26"
Max. window opening width: 41"

Min. window opening height: 18-1/2"
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
GaryWasher
Florida
September 6, 2011
Yes, if you do not use the sliding side fillers that are included. My window opening is 24" also and I have about 1/8 space for weatherstriping on each side of the case. I had to drill small holes in the case for mounting screws.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

is this energy efficient product.

Asked by
eboy
las vegas nevada
about 18,000 BTU Window Air Conditioner with Remote on
November 25, 2011
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
November 27, 2011
Hello Eboy,

This is Donna with GE and I will he happy to help you with your question on the air conditioner model AEL18DP.

This model was not listed as an Energy Star model. The Energy Efficiency Ratio (EER) of a room air conditioner is a measure of its operating efficiency. The EER is derived by dividing the capacity (BTU/Hr) by the electric power consumed
(watts). A model with a higher EER will provide more efficient use of energy, lower operating costs.

Model AEL18DP has the following cooling EER (BTUH / Watt), 10.7 .

I hope this helps. Thank you for considering GE!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What is the rebate?

Asked by
Annette
about 18,000 BTU Window Air Conditioner with Remote on
October 16, 2011
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
October 16, 2011
Hello Annette,

This is Donna with GE and i will be happy to help you with your question on the GE 18,000 BTU Window Air Conditioner model # AEL18DP.

GE does not offer a rebate on air conditioners. This is an Energy Star model so I would recommend to check with your local state or Energy company for details on special rebates or incentives that you may qualify for. Each state will have their own plan. The federal program offers rebates to consumers who purchase Energy Star-qualified appliances and will provide consumers a unique opportunity to save money on energy-efficient appliances and help reduce their annual energy costs.

I hope this helps.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Are the exhaust vents adjustable for direction when the unit is running?

Asked by
Butch
Eastern Wa
about 18,000 BTU Window Air Conditioner with Remote on
October 23, 2011
I'm replacing a existing old AC unit, which on the outside of the wall, it is located approx chest level on our deck. So, when the unit is running, the exhaust comes straight out, making that section of the deck unusable. I want to deflect or change the direction to go upwards. Is this possible? or advisable?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
October 24, 2011
Hello Butch,

This is Donna with GE and I will be happy to help you with your question on the GE air conditioning
model AEL18DP.

Unfortunately, there is not any adjustment to change direction of the air from the exhaust vents on the outside.

Should you have further questions, please let us know.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

My brand new GE Model AEL18DP AC Unit makes loud clanking noise.

Asked by
ShellyGB
Seal Beach, CA
about 18,000 BTU Window Air Conditioner with Remote on
September 6, 2013
This is my second one in 4 months and both units make a loud clanking noise like metal against metal or like a screw flying around inside. Is this normal? None of my neighbors have this sound coming from their window units. My neighbor actually knocked on my door at 9:30 at night worried about the clanking noise. The unit also does not drip water out, all the water stays in the tray. I returned the unit afraid it was defective. I purchased the exact same model (unknowingly) and it makes the same exact clanking noise and does not drip out? This can't be normal. I live in an apartment and can't have my a/c unit keeping the neighbors up! Help!
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
September 6, 2013
Hello Shelly,
This is Joyce from GE. I will be happy to help. Your air-conditioner should be tilted slightly to the outside (about 1/4"). Please see the installation instructions in the link below on page 7.

http://products.geappliances.com/MarketingObjectRetrieval/Dispatcher?RequestType=PDF&Name=49-7682.pdf

If you know that the unit is installed properly, I recommend taking advantage of your warranty and contacting GE Consumer Service. They can be reached by calling 1-800-432-2737.

Thanks so much for checking with us. Have a good day!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
1 of 1