Looking for Answers about Toro 22 in. Corded Hedge Trimmer?

Customer questions and answers for
Toro 22 in. Corded Hedge Trimmer

Toro's powerful 4 Amp corded hedge trimmer is designed to get the job done faster and easier. Ergonomic designs with durability features help get the results you are looking for with reduced hand and arm fatigue. The work grip handles help reduce hand fatigue and improve comfort while trimming. Our handy cord lock prevents disruptive unplugging for a smooth and easy trim.
Customer questions and answers:
13 Questions
 | 
53 Answers
Overall rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
out of
5

Customer questions and answers for Toro 22 in. Corded Hedge Trimmer

Question

How much does it weigh?

Asked by
enterested
about 22 in. Corded Hedge Trimmer on
March 24, 2012
+1point
3out of 5found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Toro
March 26, 2012
The weight of the 22 inch Corded Hedge Trimmer is 6.2 lbs.
+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Jaime
Vienna, VA, USA
October 30, 2012
I was shocked to look back at the product listing and see that the tool has a listed weight of 9.5 lbs. I would have guessed after using the trimmer that it didn't weigh more than a few pounds. I'm guessing the 9.5 lbs must be the shipping weight with box and packaging. The tool feels more like a couple of baseball bats worth of weight, however, unlike a baseball bat where the weight is out at its end, this tool carries its weight closer to your hands, which makes it easier to control.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Dean
Chilhowie Va.
June 12, 2013
I don't know the exact weight, but it is very light. I am surprised that it is this light and yet is still so powerful.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Preferred1
Wilton, CA, USA
July 30, 2013
light weight and long blade cut.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

How powerful is 4 amps? Enough to do medium size yard projects, e.g. Hedges, bougenvias?

Asked by
Ron
about 22 in. Corded Hedge Trimmer on
April 14, 2012
+1point
2out of 3found this question helpful.
Answer this question
7 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Toro
April 17, 2012
The 22" Corded Hedge Trimmer has the power to easily cut branches up to ½" thick and would be perfect for your application.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
imcharles
Sarasota, FL, USA
December 11, 2012
you should have no trouble with your yard work with this trimmer. it will cut up to 9/16" thick branches.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
yardworker
January 2, 2013
The 4 amp Toro trimmer I just purchased seems plenty powerful for my medium yard trimming. I haven't looked at bougainvilleas lately so I don't know how thick they can be. I forget the size rating for the Toro, 9/16 or so. I have only used it twice but haven't jammed it yet..
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
MemphisTn
May 29, 2012
yes.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Jaime
Vienna, VA, USA
October 30, 2012
Can't really compare this product to other amperage products, however, I have never had a problem with doing hedge edges and cutting through things smaller than 1/2 inch. In order for this product to perform well you will need to make sure that you are using an extension cord that is rated (gauge) for the distance you plan on using the tool from the outlet you are plugging it into.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Dean
Chilhowie Va.
June 12, 2013
I feel it would handle that easily.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
Woodie
Lake Elsinore, CA, USA
November 13, 2012
That should be enough to do the jobs you said. I would say it should go through a 3/8 branch max with just a little effort.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Since the Toro Hedge Trimmer has a 4.0 amp motor, does that make it perform better than the Black & Decker with a 3.8 amp motor?

Asked by
Barbara
Macon, GA
about 22 in. Corded Hedge Trimmer on
March 5, 2013
Which Hedge Trimmer would perform better? The Toro with a 4.0 amp motor, or the Black & Decker with a 3.8 amp motor?
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
7 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Jaime
Vienna, VA, USA
March 6, 2013
Depends on what you mean by performance. The amp rating tells you how much current the tool's motor can pull before it starts to overheat, or bog down. The more you overheat a tool, the shorter its life. Amps do not always tell you that one tool is more powerful than another, as it can depend on the tool's design. One thing that amps do influence is the type of extension cord you should use, also taking into consideration the length of cord. Home Depot has a good Extension Cord Buying Guide that illustrates this concept as it applies to a tool's maximum rated amps. http://www.homedepot.com/webapp/catalog/servlet/ContentView?pn=Extension_Cords_Reels&storeId=10051&langId=-1&catalogId=10053

I own the Toro 4.0 amp and have been very happy with it in cutting your average bush or hedge. Neither of these tools are designed to cut anything too big. Follow the manufacturers recommendations.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
imcharles
Sarasota, FL, USA
March 6, 2013
Basically, you are talking about such a small amount of amperage difference that you probably won't notice it. Actually, both are well balanced trimmers, will do the job for a medium sized yard and are easy to handle. Both are rated to handle branches up to around 1/2" diameter.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
John
Concord, CA, USA
March 6, 2013
I'm hardly a pro on the subject but, as a typical male, mo power is mo better. :-) 2/10 of an amp, however, seems negligible.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Toro
March 14, 2013
You will not notice any difference between the motor performance between a 3.8 amp motor and a 4 amp motor. Consider other features that could be important to you such as blade length, assembly requirements, etc.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Dean
Chilhowie Va.
June 12, 2013
It may be only .2 of an amp, but any gain in power has to be an improvement. This also was a factor in my decision to go with the Toro.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Preferred1
Wilton, CA, USA
July 30, 2013
Toro, no question about it.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
Preferred1
Wilton, CA, USA
July 30, 2013
Toro is a better product
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

what is the amps

Asked by
Nick
about 22 in. Corded Hedge Trimmer on
April 12, 2012
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Toro
April 12, 2012
The trimmer has a 4 amp motor.
+2points
3out of 4found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
imcharles
Sarasota, FL, USA
December 11, 2012
the amp rating is the amount of power the motor draws from the electrical circuit and is a measure of tool power. this one will do most medium sized jobs with ease.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Jaime
Vienna, VA, USA
October 30, 2012
It is marketed at 5amps.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Dean
Chilhowie Va.
June 12, 2013
4 amps. It is very powerful and smooth.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is the TORO model #51490 double sided.And is it a better unit than black&decker model#HT22

Asked by
Gene
frankfort.il
about 22 in. Corded Hedge Trimmer on
May 27, 2013
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Toro
May 28, 2013
Yes, it is a dual action blade. Feature to Feature the products are similar. We would suggest you read our product reviews at http://www.homedepot.com/p/t/202572126?productId=202572126&storeId=10051&langId=-1&catalogId=10053&expandQuestion=667857#customer_reviews to see how others rate our Hedge Trimmer.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Dean
Chilhowie Va.
June 12, 2013
It is double sided. As to the other question? I have never used the Black & Decker, however, I don't see how it could be better than the Toro. It is so powerful and smooth.
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
MaryAnnM
Clermont, FL, USA
November 19, 2013
Yes to both questions.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Samsal711
July 9, 2013
The Toro Hedger Mode l# 51490 is double-sided, and yes it cut better than the B&D I replaced it for.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Preferred1
Wilton, CA, USA
July 30, 2013
yes, Toro is better quality for sure.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Boris
Scranton Pa.
July 15, 2014
Yes, double sided and better than my old Black and Decker, which was short and the extention cord kept falling out of the plug.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

what is the largest branch this will cut

Asked by
merv
Kennewick, WA
about 22 in. Corded Hedge Trimmer on
March 1, 2012
+4points
4out of 4found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Toro
March 1, 2012
The 22 inch Corded Hedge Trimmer will cut up to 1/2 inch stems or twigs. For additional information, please view the Operating Tips section in the Operator's Manual. The Operator's Manual can be viewed at http://www.homedepot.com/catalog/pdfImages/18/18b66483-b3b8-4d64-b544-543cb9880b50.pdf.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
imcharles
Sarasota, FL, USA
December 11, 2012
nine sixteenths of an inch. a little over 1/2"
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Jaime
Vienna, VA, USA
October 30, 2012
It will cut up to 1/4" branches like butter, however, if you get into anything up to 1", or above, you have to grind a little in the same spot before your branch succumbs to this machine. This tool isn't really supposed to be used as a large branch cutter, but rather as a sculpting tool to help brush around the edges of your bushes.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Dean
Chilhowie Va.
June 12, 2013
I believe it is 9/16".
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Woodie
Lake Elsinore, CA, USA
November 13, 2012
I went through some 3/8 inch today with mine. I wouldn't try any bigger than that
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Advise warranty and weight

Asked by
Enterested
about 22 in. Corded Hedge Trimmer on
March 24, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Toro
March 26, 2012
The weight of the 22 inch Corded Hedge Trimmer is 6.2 lbs. and the warranty is 2 years from date of purchase. You can view addtional warranty information at http://www.homedepot.com/catalog/pdfImages/b6/b62c6f7e-ed29-4389-8d8e-05347e60e590.pdf.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Dean
Chilhowie Va.
June 12, 2013
It has a two yr. warranty. That is another reason I choose the Toro. The others only had a one yr. warranty. The weight to me is another great feature. It is very light, and does not cause you to get tired easily.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

I just returned a B&D 24" hedge trimmer that had a defective (to me) auxillary handle. It was "keyed" into the body with plastic and held in place

Asked by
Hoz
Indiana
about 22 in. Corded Hedge Trimmer on
August 14, 2012
held in place with two small screws. On first use the placric stripped and the screws let go. The handle was worthless. How is the auxillary handle of the Toro 22" trimmer attached to the body? Does it have a bolt going through from one side to the other?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Toro
August 14, 2012
The handle engages a mounting boss (plastic) on the side of the trimmer housing. A small bolt is installed on each side to retain the handle. The bolt is engaging a nut that is captured on the inside of the boss on the trimmer housing.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
imcharles
Sarasota, FL, USA
December 11, 2012
The Toro 22" trimmer handle is two piece and held together firmly with 10 through bolts. This one won't, in my opinion, fall apart.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Dean
Chilhowie Va.
June 12, 2013
The Toro has a screw on each side of the handle that appears go fairly deep on each side. I can tell you that it is very sturdy and I have no concerns about it.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is this product made in China?

Asked by
ptgirl02
Redding CA
about 22 in. Corded Hedge Trimmer on
May 12, 2013
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Toro
May 13, 2013
They are manufactured overseas but are qualified to Toro’s quality standards.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
spcschultz
July 2, 2013
yes, it is.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Dean
Chilhowie Va.
June 12, 2013
As it turns out,it is.However, I must admit, this tool is exceptional just the same.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Does the trigger lock in place?

Asked by
bobb
about 22 in. Corded Hedge Trimmer on
June 8, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Toro
June 9, 2014
The trimmer has a lock switch. To start the trimmer, slide the lock switch backwards, towards you, then squeeze the
trigger switch to turn on the hedge trimmer. The trimmer will stay on as long as the trigger switch is squeezed. The lock-off switch may be released once hedge trimmer is running.

View the Owner's Manual for additional details online at http://www.homedepot.com/catalog/pdfImages/18/18b66483-b3b8-4d64-b544-543cb9880b50.pdf.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
lawnboy
Chicago, IL, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
June 9, 2014
No, it does not. After about 30 minutes of use my hand is pretty tired.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Boris
Scranton Pa.
July 15, 2014
No there is a safety switch which you must hold in when cutting, good idea.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Turboshine
Newnan, GA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 24, 2014
No you have to keep your finger on the trigger as is the case with all newer trimmers. This an important safety feature.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

In the San Francisco Bay Area which stores carry it?

Asked by
Maggie
Novato CA
about 22 in. Corded Hedge Trimmer on
July 13, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
MaryAnnM
Clermont, Fl
November 19, 2013
Home Depot
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
THD Customer Support
Kennesaw, Ga
July 16, 2013
Thank you for asking! This item is an online exclusive and is not available in your local Home Depot store. It can be ordered online and shipped directly to your home or business. Unfortunately, this item is currently out of stock with a timeframe of late August. For any other questions, please call us at HomeDepot.com Customer Service 800-430-3376.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Preferred1
Wilton, CA, USA
July 30, 2013
I purchase from home depot web and shipped to store for pick up.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is machine oil the same as WD40 ?

Asked by
PamelaJean
Canton, Ohio
about 22 in. Corded Hedge Trimmer on
May 31, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Felix
New Holland, PA 17557, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
June 1, 2014
WD-40, everyone's favorite multi-purpose problem solver for over 50 years, lubricates and protects against corrosion. It also removes grease, gum, dirt, & scuff marks. Enjoy the popular, newly expanded Official List of 2000+ Uses for WD-40.

Want to lubricate sticky drawers? Remove gum and crayon from walls? Prevent rust and corrosion? Look no further––WD-40 is the Answer. Learn thousands of new uses, from protecting ski bindings from corrosion to removing gum from hair and carpet, by browsing WD-40's 2000+ Uses List.
Your answer is .... YES!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Toro
June 2, 2014
Yes, however WD40 is a lighter oil and you may need to oil the blades more often.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Turboshine
Newnan, GA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 24, 2014
No it is not. I use the 3 in 1 household oil to lubricate this trimmer. It is also available at Home Depot and can be used for other things around your house.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Does this trimmer have pole extension accessory?

Asked by
ladyastor
about 22 in. Corded Hedge Trimmer on
June 5, 2014
If pole extension available for this unit, where found?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Toro
June 5, 2014
There is no pole extension for this product.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Boris
Scranton Pa.
July 15, 2014
No
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
1 of 1