Looking for Answers about Scotts Earthgro 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch?

Customer questions and answers for
Scotts Earthgro 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch

Tackle your next outdoor project with the Scotts Earthgro 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch. Made from pine, this mulch helps deter weed growth while conserving soil moisture and moderating soil temperature. Color Advantage helps preserve color throughout the year to keep your yard or garden looking great.
Customer questions and answers:
21 Questions
 | 
92 Answers
Overall rating:
4.188 out of 5
4.2
out of
5

Customer questions and answers for Scotts Earthgro 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch

Question

Does the mulch attract bugs?

Asked by
jan
florida
about 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch on
May 20, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
7 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Warmfun4u
Fox Lake, IL, USA
May 20, 2013
Ive used this brand as well as other all around my home for years and no bugs, but seeing how u live in Florida might be a whole different ball of wax
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
kathydu
suttoh, nebraska
May 20, 2013
No. Prior to using mulch, I had a lot of bugs, and ant beds. Don't have any of that now.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
MSARB
Toledo, OH, USA
May 20, 2013
Not with me it does not attract bugs. I do put down preen week control on top. I just sprinkle preen on top. No Weeds coming through.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
JackBack
Boston, MA, USA
May 20, 2013
I would use the product without the worry of attracting bugs
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
James
May 21, 2013
Yes, large ants which contaminated my garage for days after I got rid of the mulch. Would have returned to Home Depot, but didn't want it in my car.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Janice
Atlanta GA
May 22, 2013
No it does not. I do spray for bugs during the summer months and I live in GA.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
ScottsCustomerCare
Marysville, Ohio
May 29, 2013
Most insects are not attracted by mulch, but some could be. Our mulches are not treated to deter insects. Insects are natural to the environment, and some insects could find a mulch a suitable place to live. As a general precaution to discourage subterranean termites and other wood damaging insects we suggest keeping mulch a couple inches away from home foundations.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

R there weed seeds in Scott's Earthgro red mulch? I have enuf problems w/ weeds w/out adding to it. Thank you

Asked by
ddmcconn
Houston, TX
about 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch on
September 10, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
7 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
DB21305
Texas, USA
September 11, 2013
I HAVE NEVER SEEN THIS BEFORE. WRITE TO SCOTTS VIA WEB AND ASK THEM IF THEY RECEIVED ANY COMPLAINTS.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
neka66
Coventry, RI, USA
September 18, 2013
i have never had issues with weed seeds in this mulch
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
GeorgioP
North Canton, Ohio USA
October 3, 2013
This mulch was on sale on Memorial Day and Labor Day for pretty cheap. When I spread it on a weedless flowerbed, all of these Canadian Thistles popped up, like 100's of them . The seeds must have been in the mulch. It took a lot of RoundUp ounces to finally remove the Thistles from my flowerbeds. Other than that for the price the color was fair.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
MarkL
Chicagoland
June 10, 2014
I have had no problem with weed seeds. Been using Scotts mulch for years now. Make sure to put down a weed block fabric first.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
ScottsCustomerCare
Marysville, Ohio
September 11, 2013
Our mulch products may undergo composting that kills most weed seeds. However, some may remain.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Joe78039
LaCoste, TX
September 11, 2013
None that I am aware of. I have spread 63 bags and each bag was very clean.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
Cebb
Holly Springs, GA
September 24, 2013
I purchased over 24 bags and didn't find any weeds or other unwanted materials....
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

I used Primm Plus around my roses and I think it hurt their growth. Is this Scott's product recommended for use around roses?

Asked by
TheLittleCoach
Ventura, CA
about 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch on
May 10, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
ScottsCustomerCare
May 11, 2012
This product is great for use around all flower, shrubs and trees. Make sure you are not applying too deep of a layer, and no mulch should be used directly against the plant stem.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Snowbird71
Salem, CT USA
July 11, 2012
I used this mulch around my rose bush too. It's a newly planted bush, so I am not sure if it stunted the growth at all, but my other (christmas tree like) bushes seem to come back from the dead.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
neka66
Coventry, RI, USA
September 18, 2013
you should not mulch around roses, mulching around them can lead to the roses getting a mildew disease, keep the mulch at least 6 inches away from the rose plant
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
DBrent
October 8, 2013
I had a bad season with my roses too since using this product.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
MSARB
Toledo, OH, USA
May 1, 2013
Yes you can use around roses.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
DoItPete
Chicago, IL, USA
April 8, 2014
I can't say it is recommended for roses but I can say I've been using it for two years around my roses and have seen NO negative effects. I have about 2 dozen bushes and climbers plus carpet roses.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

what is the white material found mixed in with the mulch?

Asked by
jimbo6.7
brooklyn
about 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch on
May 20, 2012
it looks like mold throughout the bag
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Snowbird71
Salem, CT USA
July 11, 2012
I didn't have white material in the 20+ bags I bought.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
neka66
Coventry, RI, USA
September 18, 2013
it probably is a mold or mildew, but to be expected in mostly sealed plastic bags with absorbant wood products inside, just put it out in the yard where you want it, the white stuff goes away
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
ScottsCustomerCare
May 22, 2012
It sounds like moisture has entered the bag, and now can not get out, which may be providing a suitable environment for mold or fungus to grow. Our mulches are not sterilized and may contain microorganisms like this. Once the mulch is applied and has a chance to dry out some, this should go away.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
MSARB
Toledo, OH, USA
May 1, 2013
That is mold starting to grow. Your bag may have stayed wet in the bag.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Bruce
Fontana, CA, USA
July 7, 2013
I purchased 20 plus bags of this over a one month period and had nothing but pure wood chips. I do not know what you are seeing, but I would be concerned and probably would return that product. Hope this helps.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
mitsy
Spokane, WA, USA
October 8, 2013
I hate mold but happily I did not discover any in any of the bags I purchased!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

How much does one bag weigh?

Asked by
Alana
Fair Haven, NJ
about 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch on
May 29, 2012
+1point
2out of 3found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
ScottsCustomerCare
May 30, 2012
Mulch is sold by volume rather than by weight. This allows for accurate estimates of coverage. The bag weight will vary depending on the types of wood used in the mulch and the moisture content. If you are in need of a weight estimate for delivery or customer pickup we would suggest asking your local Home Depot.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
lancereq
June 19, 2012
Probably 15-20 lbs
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Warmfun4u
Fox Lake, IL, USA
May 3, 2013
appx 20 pounds but weight will vary greatly depending on moisture content, dryer is always lighter
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Doris
Norwood
May 14, 2013
Varies - wet or dry.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
MSARB
Toledo, OH, USA
May 1, 2013
About 31.2 pounds. That what the scale reads.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
ruralnebraska1
May 21, 2013
Approximately 40 lbs.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Does it attack bugs or wil I find bugs in it?

Asked by
Sue
about 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch on
March 14, 2013
The answers to the stated questions do not come up.
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Janice
Atlanta GA
April 30, 2013
No bugs in mine and I don't think it attacks bugs but you can use bug spray on it if you need to kill roaches ... they do like to hide in mulch too.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Cheesy
Shakopee, Mn
May 2, 2013
I don't believe anything about it will actually attack bugs. But, it does prevent weeds and plant life from growing....and that, in general, will keep bugs away. If they have nothing to eat they will not hang out.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
dill1319
Marlton, Evesham Township, NJ, USA
May 14, 2013
Mulch is scrap tree bark & wood scraps. Bugs are a natural part of landscaping, but I personally have not had a problem using this product on my own landscape. Just replaced my first 2-shrubs since 1990, and his was because of heavy snow we had the last 2-years. To much water from the snow did them in.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
ScottsCustomerCare
Marysville, Ohio
March 14, 2013
The Earthgro Red Mulch is a natural wood product and is not treated to deter insect or animal activity.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
MSARB
Toledo, OH, USA
May 1, 2013
In this product NO but some other do have bugs. If it is wet in the bag for a long time and some times mold may grow in bags. I do know other cheaper products will have mold and bugs due to the chemicals they do not use. I try to use Scotts.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Bruce
Fontana, CA, USA
July 7, 2013
I didn't find any bugs in it when I purchased it. They are just wood chips and the bugs I see in my garden now were the usual ants, pill bugs etc. They have neither decreased nor increased since I installed these chips. They do however have an effect on weeds. The weeds are now few and far between and easy to deal with.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

I was told I need 19-20 yards of Mulch? How many cubic feet does a yard of mulch equal?

Asked by
Eddie
Lexington
about 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch on
March 26, 2013
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
ScottsCustomerCare
Marysville, Ohio
March 27, 2013
One cubic yard is equal to 27 cubic feet.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Warmfun4u
Fox Lake, IL, USA
May 3, 2013
9 cubic feet is = to 1 yard( generally they mean a cubic yard)
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
dill1319
Marlton, Evesham Township, NJ, USA
May 14, 2013
Usually a bag of mulch covers 2-cubic feet of area. 19-20 yards of mulch is a lot of mulch, hope you are doing a big area.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
JackBack
Boston, MA, USA
April 24, 2013
Eddie you are on the computer take your question and just plug into the search engine like google.
Your answer will come in milliseconds. We all know what doubling is so just multiply that doubled number one more time and it is cubed. A yard is 3 feet high x 3 feet long x 3 feet in length.
One yard cubic is 3x3x3 =27 cubic feet
Your need for 20 yards of mulch is one enourmous area, it is 540 cubic feet or 270 bags of commerical packaged mulch or 8 level pick up truckloads or better part of a dump trailer
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
MSARB
Toledo, OH, USA
May 1, 2013
Square feet are calculated by multiplying the length of an area by its width, So for example, for a 3 foot long by 5 foot wide area, you multiply 3 x 5 = 15 square feet.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Joe78039
LaCoste, TX
June 19, 2013
A cubic yard is a volume that is 3 feet long, 3 feet wide and 3 feet deep. So to convert this to cubic feet multiply Length x Width x Height. 3 x 3 x 3 = 27 cubic feet.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is it biodegradable?

Asked by
ginny
montgomery,ohio
about 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch on
April 4, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
ScottsCustomerCare
Marysville, Ohio
April 5, 2013
This mulch is composed of natural forest products that are by products of the timber industry. It will slowly decompose over time.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Cheesy
May 2, 2013
It is Mulch; It is the very essence of biodegradable.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
dill1319
Marlton, Evesham Township, NJ, USA
May 14, 2013
Most mulch is chipped up tree bark & recycled wood scraps that are dyed a color.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
JackBack
Boston, MA, USA
April 24, 2013
eventually everything is biodegradeable that was once alive. This product would be slow to degrade with the large sticks that pose as mulch
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
MSARB
Toledo, OH, USA
May 1, 2013
NO
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
41Buick
Lakemont, GA, USA
June 4, 2013
Absolutely!! All natural bark, color induced.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

ON THE BAG IT SAYS TO KEEP THE MULCH A FEW INCHES AWAY FROM THE FOUNDATION. WHY IS THAT.

Asked by
CD
about 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch on
May 20, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
dill1319
Marlton, Evesham Township, NJ, USA
May 20, 2013
The only reason I can think it says that is because the mulch was dyed & it may stain the foundation.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
MSARB
Toledo, OH, USA
May 20, 2013
Because the mulch tends to hold in moisture and water may leak into the foundation. I personally put my mulch up against the foundation and I never had any problems. Plus it looks better that way. Another reason I put my mulch against my foundation is to soak up the extra water after it rains.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
ScottsCustomerCare
Marysville, Ohio
May 29, 2013
This helps prevent moisture issues close to the home foundation, and around tree and shrub crowns. Keeping the mulch a couple inches from the foundation will also discourage subterranean termites.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
ruralnebraska1
May 21, 2013
Not sure on that other than maybe color seepage or as with any wood product, firewood etc., you don't want to have wood butt up against any foundation that could invite termites to nest up along your foundation. Termites would not come from the mulch, but love wood. It could also be that the mulch is good at retaining moisture and that might not be good for foundations.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
41Buick
Lakemont, GA, USA
June 4, 2013
Because of the moisture retention. Moisture is not a friend to foundations. HOWEVER it is "Great" for the plants.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Joe78039
LaCoste, TX
June 19, 2013
Most likely because of color bleed. The color of the mulch does come off and could stain the concrete of your foundation.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Splinters

Asked by
Tinbender
Redmond Or
about 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch on
April 6, 2014
Does this pine mulch have nasty splinters like fir mulch?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
justcrafty
Denver
May 20, 2014
Not as bad as fir, however any wood mulch if very dry has splinters. Although I walk through my flower bed without shoes on and haven't had an issue with splinters.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
MarkL
Chicagoland
June 10, 2014
No it does not have splinters.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
JimTN
Tennessee, USA
April 6, 2014
No nasty splinters. But has a lot of sawdust or dirt. Would not recommend purchasing this brand.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
DoItPete
Chicago, IL, USA
April 8, 2014
I have not noticed any problem with splinters. I have used this brand for more than 2 years. I do wear gloves when working with mulch.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
mamayo
May 16, 2014
I have never received a splinter from this mulch. Of course, there may always be a stray piece of larger wood that might cause a splinter. I think it's probably wise to wear gloves anyway.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Pamj
Akron, Ohio USA
May 20, 2014
no splinters
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is it safe around vegitable gardens

Asked by
Sarah
Los Angeles
about 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch on
March 25, 2012
+1point
3out of 5found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Snowbird71
Salem, CT USA
July 11, 2012
I used this mulch around my vegetable garden as well and so far; no problems.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Doris
Norwood
May 14, 2013
Around? Yes. In? Probably not since it is, minimally, full of dye.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Designing Woman
Atlanta, GA
March 27, 2012
Hello Sarah and thank you for your question.

The Scotts Earthgro Red Mulch is beautiful and the Color Advantage helps retain the red color throughout the year.

Scotts recommends wearing gardening gloves when handling the mulch and apply a three (3) inch layer around trees, shrubs, flowers, or vegetables AFTER seeds have germinated and plants have developed (are established).

AVOID using the mulch before the seeds have germinated, around underdeveloped plants, and within several inches of house foundations, or other wood surfaces.

Best wishes with your project.
+4points
5out of 6found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
MSARB
Toledo, OH, USA
May 1, 2013
No do not use around food productions.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is it save for my dogs if I pour the earth grow red mulch around my dog house?

Asked by
Landscape14
Rancho Cucamonga, Ca
about 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch on
April 17, 2014
I would like to know if this mulch are save for my dogs if they play, chew and lay down on it ? I have golden retrievers, yorkie and a dachshund? Should I cover the ground before I pour it or I can pour it directly since the grounds are dirts?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
JimTN
Tennessee, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
April 19, 2014
I wouldn't. Who knows whats in the red dye. I would not recommend this mulch. It's to fine. kind of dirty.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
justcrafty
Denver
May 20, 2014
When I had dogs they didn't chew the mulch so i used it around the back yard where they played. However I'm not certain I would use any wood mulch around dogs that would chew it. I would be afraid it would splinter in their stomachs. This being said I have a friend who has a dog that thinks the wood pile is for her to chew up and doesn't or hasn't had problems. The smaller rubber mulch would pass through without splinters would be my thought or choice.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
nate
west vergina
April 18, 2014
Yes I bought 90 bags its just wood chips with dye
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
RoseGardens
Colorado Springs
June 10, 2014
Depends upon if you dog likes to chew/eat mulch. If they do, then you will want the dye free much. Though the dye is non-toxic, it does not mean it can be freely digested. For walking on and licking of feet, I have seen no issues our dogs. It will stain white feet for about a half a week if kept wet, then the dyes seem to set being out in the sun. (The same as you see on your hands/gloves when first spreading) We have 5 dachshunds, and have never had any issues. Some do have skin allergies, and have not seen any reaction as they walk around and lay on it. For underlayment, I would put down weed barrier. This will keep the mix of mulch with dirt down, which translates to less surface dirt and mud tracked around on pawns. The other thing is that if you you a nice smooth barrier, your dogs are able to move the mulch out of place to lay down and soak in the sun. Our dachshunds like to make little bed spots on the barrier, and let the sun heat it up a bit and then lay there, so it works well to keep everyone clean having the barrier.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

If I want to mulch an area which measure approx. 62' Long by 4' wide how many 2 CU Ft. bags of mulch do I need to purchase???

Asked by
Triple R
Arlington VA
about 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch on
March 9, 2012
+4points
7out of 10found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
ScottsCustomerCare
March 12, 2012
You have around 248 square feet

A 2 cu ft bag will cover the following:
--At a depth of 2 inches, 12 sq. ft of bedding area;
--At a depth of 3 inches, 8 sq. ft. of bedding area;
--At a depth of 4 inches, 6 sq. ft. of bedding

You need 21 bags at 2" depth
31 bags at 3" depth
42 bags at 4" depth
+8points
8out of 8found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
MSARB
Toledo, OH, USA
May 1, 2013
To answer your question 24 square feet equal to using 3 bags, 48 square feet equal to using 6 bags. 62' x 4'= 248 square feet. If a 120 square foot equal to 15 bags then you will need 30 bags at least.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Joe78039
LaCoste, TX
June 19, 2013
You gave dimensions for area but not volume. 62 ft. x 4 ft. is 248 square feet. You also need a height measurement to calculate volume. So here is a table:

248 square feet and 1 foot high = 248 cubic feet which equals 124 bags
248 square feet and 6 inches high = 124 cubic feet which equals 62 bags
248 square feet and 3 inches high = 62 cubic feet which equals 31 bags
248 square feet and 1 inch high = almost 21 cubic feet which equals 11 bags
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

I have a pomeranian that chews everything. Is it safe for him if he chews on it?

Asked by
worried
Carnegie PA
about 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch on
April 25, 2012
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
ScottsCustomerCare
Marysville Ohio
April 27, 2012
We wouldn't recommend that the mulch be chewed on, it is not intended for that, and the smaller pieces may pose a choking hazard. There are no ingredients in the mulch that should pose a risk. The raw materials used to make mulch colorants are made from naturally occurring colors found on the earth's surface. These colorants, as well as the other ingredients in mulch, are specially formulated to be nontoxic to plants and animals, when used as directed.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Doris
Norwood
May 14, 2013
I wouldn't recommend it. Minimally, it is full of dye. You might want to redirect the dog and provide clean wood or bully sticks while he/she is outside.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
MSARB
Toledo, OH, USA
May 1, 2013
This product is organic but you should not use in crops or for food productions. As for your dog this is a wood product and it will stain his teeth. I could not tell you if it will make him sick.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

organic

Asked by
robininfresno
fresno ca
about 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch on
April 26, 2012
I try to keep all chemicals out of my vegetable garden. Is this product considered organic. I am concerned with the red coloring.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
ScottsCustomerCare
Marysville Ohio
April 27, 2012
This is a natural product and can be used around edibles to suppress weeds. However it is not a certified organic product. The raw materials used to make mulch colorants are made from naturally occurring colors found on the earth's surface. These colorants, as well as the other ingredients in mulch, are specially formulated to be nontoxic to plants and animals.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Doris
Norwood
May 14, 2013
This product is definitely full of dye. I do not use in my vegetable garden nor would I recommend it.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
MSARB
Toledo, OH, USA
May 1, 2013
You should NOT use this in organic crops or food production. The bag do states this.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

is this product made in the USA?

Asked by
ct gardener
branford ct
about 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch on
May 12, 2012
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Mike
Abilene,tx
April 12, 2014
i believe so because its by Scotts
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
ScottsCustomerCare
May 12, 2012
Yes, this product is made in the USA. The mulch is made of forest materials found in your region.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
MrScott
June 13, 2012
The overall quality suggests that it was made in China. Buy local and you will save money and have better results.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Does the Scotts Color Advantage red mulch contain CCA-treated wood?

Asked by
Vicki
Portland, OR
about 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch on
March 24, 2013
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
nyusa2
New York Mills, NY, USA
April 25, 2013
no..
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
ScottsCustomerCare
Marysville, Ohio
March 26, 2013
No, the Scotts Earthgro Color Advantage Red Mulch does not contain CCA-treated wood.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
MSARB
Toledo, OH, USA
May 1, 2013
The bag do not states it contain CCA-treated wood. It do has a dye in its wood and it will stain hands and clothes.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

How long on sale unto??

Asked by
Tom
Toms River NJ
about 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch on
March 21, 2012
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
ScottsCustomerCare
Marysville Ohio
March 23, 2012
Tom, check with your local Home Depot store for specific sale information.
-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
MSARB
Toledo, OH, USA
May 1, 2013
The $2.00 a bag sale is over. It only last 10 days. Watch current ads for future sales.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

how many bags on a pallet

Asked by
unca dicky
bradenton fl.
about 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch on
March 21, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
ScottsCustomerCare
Marysville Ohio
March 23, 2012
unca dicky, please contact your local store directly for more information.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
MSARB
Toledo, OH, USA
May 1, 2013
one pallet is 30 bags.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

is the eco red mulch dog save?

Asked by
chihuahuamama
No. Va.
about 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch on
March 8, 2014
I have 2 chihuahuas
I read red mulch is non toxic and non hazardous
Is it true with this brand of scotts?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
ChrisFixit
April 7, 2014
Hello chihuahuamama,

According to Scotts the mulch is in fact non-toxic. Both the mulch and the colorant are formulated to be non-toxic to plants and animals. I hope this information is helpful.

Cheers,
Chris
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
OldTownGal
Foxboro, MA
May 6, 2014
Most colored mulches are colored with either vegetable dye or 'rust'... which should not be toxic to dogs. Obviously it's not a good idea for any animal to chew/swallow anything that is not 'natural'... although even some natural growing plants can be very hazardous.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
1 2 »