Looking for Answers about John Deere D140 48 in. 22 HP Hydrostatic Front-Engine Riding Mower?

Customer questions and answers for
John Deere D140 48 in. 22 HP Hydrostatic Front-Engine Riding Mower

Delivery within 7-10 days by a local John Deere representative. At Delivery the customer will be taught by John Deere how to operate and maintain the mower. The John Deere 48 in. 22 HP Hydrostatic Front-Engine Riding Mower features a V-twin engine with overhead valve design for powerful performance and yet efficient fuel economy. Hydrostatic automatic transmission and 2 foot control pedals allow you to set your own pace while moving forward and reverse. The Edge Cutting System (deck) offers a smooth underside to prevent grass buildup, and the deep deck design lifts grass for a better cut.
Customer questions and answers:
36 Questions
 | 
111 Answers
Overall rating:
4.4 out of 5
4.4
out of
5

Customer questions and answers for John Deere D140 48 in. 22 HP Hydrostatic Front-Engine Riding Mower

Question

Can you get a grass catcher {rear bagger} with this J.D. mower? {48 in. 22 hp. model D140 BG20544340899}

Asked by
daddyskot
Dexter Oregon
about D140 48 in. 22 HP Hydrostatic Front-Engine Riding Mower on
November 18, 2011
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
JohnDeere
November 21, 2011
Yes, the bagger for the D140 is a 2-bag 6.5 bushel capacity, model no. BM21889.
+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
jw84
April 16, 2013
Yes
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

I understand that the D140 JD tractors use Briggs & Stratton engines. Could you tell me if these are the Intec XRD B&S engines?

Asked by
Don W.
about D140 48 in. 22 HP Hydrostatic Front-Engine Riding Mower on
March 29, 2012
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
JohnDeere
April 3, 2012
Thanks for your question. The D140 Lawn tractors are not equipped with the Briggs & Stratton Intec XRD engine.
+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Karl
Armstrong Creek, WI 54103, USA
May 29, 2012
Yes...they are.
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

Is this John Deere D140 sold by Home Depot the same as what is sold by the local JD Dealer or is this model made specifically for HD?

Asked by
markm828
CT
about D140 48 in. 22 HP Hydrostatic Front-Engine Riding Mower on
May 11, 2013
I have been told that HD has Deere make a lower end model for their stores and the price is the same as my local dealer. Is this the same tractor? Or a lesser tractor made for HD?
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
7 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
MtnBoy
Tiger, GA 30576, USA
May 28, 2013
My local JD dealer said it is the same tractor. A D140 is a D140. Same price at Home Depot as the JD dealer. They are prepped at the local JD dealer and delivered, in my case, to the local Home Depot. The retailer never touches them. Now, Home Depot only carries the smaller, less expensive mowers. Nothing larger than a D140 at my Home Depot. If you want a larger JD lawn tractor, the JD dealer is your choice.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Bill
May 14, 2013
It is the same model and exact same product.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Grumpy
Seabrook New Hampshire
June 4, 2013
I know for a fact there is only one version. My local JD dealer gets an order from Home Depot and he just grabs the next crate from his inventory. So this means they are all the same. Be aware this may not be the case for some other name brands sold at big box stores. Some products are specifically specified to contain less costly items such as unsealed bearings versus sealed, lesser amperage electrical components,, etc. But John Deere Corporation will not allow this in order to keep customer satisfaction consistant regardless of point of purchase. I am a life long JD consumer and will remain so despite the extra money paid up front. My latest transaction was selling my 1966 model lawn tractor this Spring and buying the D140 with free dump trailer from my local Seabrook Home Depot. Was not surprised when it arrived a week later on the back of the local John Deere dealer truck with his sticker on it from the pre-delivery prep. Again fully satisfied with all aspects of the purchase.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
backwoods
dequincy la.
May 12, 2013
home depot in lake charles ,la.is where i bought mine.welsh equipment ia a authorized dealer and they supply home depot with the john deere mowers.they test run them to be sure that it functions properly .the one i bought had .30 minutes on it.they said they make sure every thing works,and no oil leaks..30 minutes is 1 half minute. ihav mowed three times and no problems.i have 4 acres and it don't take long.well satisfied with it.
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Mubzee
CT
June 9, 2013
Mark, it is EXACTLY the same machine.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
oldfordmuscle
waynesboro, va
June 20, 2013
a D140 is a D140 regardless of where you buy it.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
Farmerintexas
Tyler Texas
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
May 31, 2014
I was told by the local JD Dealer near me that when it comes to service if I buy from them versus the big box stores they will service their customers first before the chain stores. He said they service them all.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

i just purchased new D140 , having difficulty startng and running at full throttle. Can you describe starting procedures please.

Asked by
Big T
Pittsburgh Pa
about D140 48 in. 22 HP Hydrostatic Front-Engine Riding Mower on
September 11, 2012
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
JohnDeere
September 13, 2012
Thanks for contacting the website. I have supplied a link to the operator's manual. http://www.homedepot.com/catalog/pdfImages/fd/fd904936-46bd-471e-9536-7c3ca3698e81.pdf
The manual provides step by step instructions on how to properly start the engine. You may want to view the troubleshooting section as well. If you are still experiencing difficulty starting the engine after trying the tips in the manual, please contact your local John Deere dealer for assistance.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Tangelo
Chicago
September 13, 2012
Hello this is Tangelo from the Home Depot Community!

I recommend you contact John Deere directly, and provide product serial number and model number.

Phone: 1-800-537-8233

March - September Hours:
8:00 a.m. - 7:00 p.m. (EST) Monday - Friday and 9:00 a.m. - 5:30 p.m. (EST) Saturday
Closed Sunday and Holidays

I hope this helps, if you have any more questions you can find me on our website at community.homedepot.com
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Grumpy
Seabrook New Hampshire
June 4, 2013
Start with yellow throttle fully pushed forward for choke on and tun key. Quickly pull back throttle lever once she starts to avoid flooding. This should work perfectly each time. If not, it needs to go to JD for adjustment of carbeurator.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Mubzee
CT
June 9, 2013
Big T,
Make sure you are not "choking" the machine. Move the throttle all the way to the top when starting, it should fire right up! Once started, drop it down to maximum engine speed...you can feel this spot when moving the throttle up and down.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Wayner99
Linwood
June 25, 2013
Call dealer that delivered while it is still under warranty. My D140 ran great right from delivery with easy starting and no problem running. Make sure choke is NOT on once you start.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
backwoods
dequincy la.
July 3, 2013
i purchased mine in febuary and have no problems wit starting or mowing.i have about 1 acre that i mow,and have enjoyed it.try some carb cleaner such as seafoam.thats what i use and it works well for me when i have trouble with any gas enjine.also i use premium gas which seems to help.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Does the model D140 come equipt capable of towing a 17 cu ft lightly loaded lawn cart.

Asked by
MM4cooking
Kendallvill, IN
about D140 48 in. 22 HP Hydrostatic Front-Engine Riding Mower on
August 5, 2013
Present cart I have is 17 cu ft and is used often with present lawn tractor. However I never load beyond half weight capacity so as not to put extra strain on tongue section nor the lawn tractor.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Mark
Dearborn Heights, MI, USA
August 8, 2013
The John Deere D140 will easily tow your 17Cu Ft. utility cart, even if fully loaded - - as long as the cart weight does not exceed the weight of the tractor and operator. (Don't load it with lead bricks!)

Home Depot features a nice 18 cu ft. tilt-cart capable of holding 1650 lbs. (#HDC-18JD) which I use and has been a blessing, as has this lawn tractor.

Hope this helps
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
MtnBoy
Tiger, GA 30576, USA
August 6, 2013
I pull a plug aerator filled with approximately 20gal of water. My wife pulls a garden wagon probably weighing 125 lbs with all her gear in it. Remember, it's a lawn mower, not a tractor.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
marshall
Del Norte, CO 81132, USA
September 2, 2013
should work
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
oldfordmuscle
waynesboro, va
August 5, 2013
yes
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Wayner99
Linwood
August 6, 2013
If you use the cart as described the 22 hp D140 will work great. I wouldn't put 17 cu ft of cement and try to use it though.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
backwoods
dequincy la.
August 6, 2013
yes it would not be a problem because i have pulled a 17 cu ft loaded with cement and soil several times . the only time you will have aproblem is if the ground is wet and soft.as long as the ground is not wet there is no problem.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Do the blades cut when tractor is in reverse?

Asked by
Frank
Manhattan,Kansas
about D140 48 in. 22 HP Hydrostatic Front-Engine Riding Mower on
July 20, 2012
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Jeff
Silverton, OR 97381, USA
August 19, 2012
Yes. The machine has a Reverse Implement On feature that enebles you to mow in reverse. However, there is a safety interlock that by default will kill the engine if you reverse the mower while the PTO is engaged UNLESS you press the interlock bypass button before you press the reverse pedal with your foot.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
JohnDeere
July 25, 2012
Thanks for contacting the website. The D140 lawn tractor is equipped with the Reverse Implement Option, which allows the unit to operate in reverse. However, we strongly discourage backing up when the mower is engaged. The Reverse Implement Option should be used only when operating another attachment or when the operator deems it necessary to reposition the machine with the mower engaged.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Grumpy
Seabrook New Hampshire
June 4, 2013
Yes but you need to just hold the yellow cut-off button momentarily before pressing the reverse pedal. No need to keep holding the button after it starts moving in reverse.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
ClassicStyle
Georgetown, TX, USA
July 30, 2013
They can, yes. Before moving in reverse, you depress a small button next to the steering wheel, begin moving in reverse, and then release the button once you have started moving. If you begin moving forward again, you will need to depress the small button again prior to going in reverse subsequent times.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Wayner99
Linwood
August 6, 2013
Yes, there is a button to push and it will mow in reverse. This is great as my old tractor did not do this and it was a hassle.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is it shaft drive or belt drive

Asked by
BJ
about D140 48 in. 22 HP Hydrostatic Front-Engine Riding Mower on
June 14, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Mark
Dearborn Hgts, MI
June 14, 2013
Neither....

The D140 hydrostatic transmission is a one that is operated by hydraulics. I have the 2009 LA145 belt-drive model, and at 200 hrs., I had to replace the drive belt.

I think my next purchase will be a model with a hydrostatic transmission-VERY easy maintenance
Hope this helps!
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
MtnBoy
Tiger, GA 30576, USA
June 17, 2013
Belt drive
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
MtnBoy
Tiger, GA 30576, USA
June 17, 2013
With a vertical shaft engine, it pretty much has to be belt drive
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Wayner99
Linwood
June 25, 2013
Everything is shaft driven but the blades are belt driven.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
oldfordmuscle
waynesboro, va
August 5, 2013
belt
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

how many blades and the sizes and types?

Asked by
Dee
Salmon Id
about D140 48 in. 22 HP Hydrostatic Front-Engine Riding Mower on
July 21, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Jeff
Silverton, OR 97381, USA
August 19, 2012
Three blades with overlaping cutting paths to give you a 48" cut. Comes standard with what Deere calls a "combination blade". Gives the finish of a non-mulching blade but does mulch the clippings.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
JohnDeere
July 27, 2012
Thanks for your question. The 48-in mower deck is equipped with 3 mower blades. The original equipment blades that come with the tractor are fine for side discharging, mulching or bagging in most conditions. This three-in-one blade design allows you to easily convert the mower without the hassle of changing blades.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
NewTexan
Driftwood, TX 78619, USA
July 9, 2013
The D140 has three blades.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

I have a Home Depot credit card. Does a purchase of a D140 qualifies for 12-month financing?

Asked by
mo_e_meen
about D140 48 in. 22 HP Hydrostatic Front-Engine Riding Mower on
April 12, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
April 16, 2012
Hello Valued Home Depot Customer,
Thanks for your interest in this item. Here is a list of our current credit promotions:
STOREWIDE OFFERS
NO INTEREST IF PAID IN FULL WITHIN 6 MONTHS*
on purchases of $299 or more. Minimum Payments Required. Interest will be charged to your account from the purchase date if the purchase balance (including premiums for optional credit insurance) is not paid in full within 6 months or if you make a late payment.
OUTDOORS OFFERS
NO INTEREST IF PAID IN FULL WITHIN 12 MONTHS*
on Installed Sheds, Garages, Sunrooms, Pergolas, Patio Covers and Fencing purchases of $899 or more. Minimum payments required. Valid 3/15/2012-5/23/2012. Interest will be charged to your account from the purchase date if the purchase balance (including premiums for optional credit insurance) is not paid in full within 12 months or if you make a late payment.
NO INTEREST IF PAID IN FULL WITHIN 12 MONTHS*
on Riding Mower purchases of $899 or more. Minimum payments required. Valid 3/15/2012-5/23/2012. Interest will be charged to your account from the purchase date if the purchase balance (including premiums for optional credit insurance) is not paid in full within 12 months or if you make a late payment.
HEATING AND AIR CONDITIONING OFFERS
NO INTEREST IF PAID IN FULL WITHIN 12 MONTHS*
on any Installed Heating or Air Conditioning purchases of $299 or more. Minimum Payments Required. Valid 2/1/2012-1/31/2013. Interest will be charged to your account from the purchase date if the purchase balance (including premiums for optional credit insurance) is not paid in full within 12 months or if you make a late payment.
BUILDING MATERIALS OFFERS
NO INTEREST IF PAID IN FULL WITHIN 12 MONTHS*
on any Installed Roofing, Siding, Windows, Insulation, Gutter, and Leaf Protection purchases of $5000 or more. Minimum payments required. Valid 2/1/2012-1/31/2013. Interest will be charged to your account from the purchase date if the purchase balance (including premiums for optional credit insurance) is not paid in full within 12 months or if you make a late payment.
NO INTEREST IF PAID IN FULL WITHIN 18 MONTHS*
on any Installed Roofing, Siding, Windows, Insulation, Gutter, and Leaf Protection purchases of $799 or more. Minimum payments required. Valid 4/12/2012-4/18/2012. Interest will be charged to your account from the purchase date if the purchase balance (including premiums for optional credit insurance) is not paid in full within 18 months or if you make a late payment.

The Home Depot Consumer Credit Card Benefits
The Home Depot Consumer Credit Card provides convenient buying power at all U.S. The Home Depot stores. We offer great deferred billing promotions. You can even view and pay your account online!
For Your Protection
If you submit your application online, you will receive an online reply in as little as 45 seconds. Your card is automatically activated when you make your first purchase online or in the store.
If you have any further questions, please contact our Online Customer Service Department at 800-430-3376 between 6:00 a.m. and 2:00 a.m. Eastern Time daily.
Thanks.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Rfore1
Wisconsin
April 30, 2012
Call the credit card company, there is an offer for 24 months interest free financing. We just had a card in the mail it just depends on how much you spend and the D140 should qualify you!
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Is this tractor good on hills

Asked by
pete
about D140 48 in. 22 HP Hydrostatic Front-Engine Riding Mower on
April 12, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
JohnDeere
April 16, 2012
Thanks for your question. The D140 lawn tractor is capable of mowing slight hills or slopes. We do encourage you to follow the manufacturer's recommendation for wheel weights or counterweights for added stability when operating on an incline. All slopes require extra caution and if you cannot back up the slope or hill, do not mow it.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Toby
April 28, 2012
Does good on hills as long as the grass isn't wet. Then the tires can't get enough traction.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can I check the fluid in the rear end and can I add fluid to the rear unit?

Asked by
Earnest
about D140 48 in. 22 HP Hydrostatic Front-Engine Riding Mower on
April 20, 2012
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Karl
Armstrong Creek, WI 54103, USA
May 29, 2012
Transmittion is a sealed componet, you can not service.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
HD 116
www.community.homedepot.com
April 24, 2012
Greetings,

My name is Tom, also known as HD116 at Home Depot's How to Community. I am here today addressing a few product questions and saw yours.

While the front end has lube points, the rear end is a sealed unit that is not accessible.

Sorry for the delay in response and thank you for your question.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Will any of the d-series mowers fit onto a trailer that has a 60" opening? I Need to haul down to lake property.

Asked by
Rickj
Flowery Branch, GA
about D140 48 in. 22 HP Hydrostatic Front-Engine Riding Mower on
March 6, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Mark
Dearborn Hgts, MI
May 6, 2013
The D140 has an assembled width of 61".

Might be kind of "tight" :-(
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Grumpy
Seabrook New Hampshire
June 4, 2013
My D140 with deflector chute pulled up fits.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Wayner99
Linwood
June 25, 2013
D140 and smaller will easily fit in 60" opening. The only one that might not is the D170 with it's big 54 inch cut.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
backwoods
dequincy la.
May 3, 2013
probably would be tight.i had no problem since i have a 20 ft. trailer with max legal width.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
oldfordmuscle
waynesboro, va
August 5, 2013
yes
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
JohnDeere
March 7, 2013
Thanks for contacting the website. Yes, the following models will fit a trailer with a 60" opening - D105, D110, D120, & D130. The overall width for each of these units is 52-in.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

If I purchase a Lawn Mower from Home Depot where do i take it under warranty for service if I need to?

Asked by
susan
about D140 48 in. 22 HP Hydrostatic Front-Engine Riding Mower on
May 3, 2013
+1point
2out of 3found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Mark
Dearborn Heights, MI, USA
May 6, 2013
Any authorized John Deere Service Center- There are plenty listed in the phone book
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Grumpy
Seabrook New Hampshire
June 4, 2013
Always goes to local JD dealer. Same for pre-delivery prep.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
OldFordMuscle
Waynesboro, VA, USA
May 22, 2013
You would take it to your local John Deere Tractor dealer.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Wayner99
Linwood
June 25, 2013
The local dealer that delivers it to you will handle all service and warranties. They will usually be great as they are picked by John Deere. They will even pick it up at your home while it is under warranty.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
backwoods
dequincy la.
May 3, 2013
welsh equipment in lake charles la at the old walmart location off 210.plus there is 5 welsh equipment locations in and around lake charles.i have had mine a few months and all i have had to do is put gas in it.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
ClassicStyle
Georgetown, TX, USA
July 30, 2013
When mine was delivered, a Deere authorized service provider was the one who dropped it off, not Home Depot, and he gave me his card to call if I ever have any problems under warranty or otherwise, so I assume it is the same for most orders.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

will; not start

Asked by
ronnie
about D140 48 in. 22 HP Hydrostatic Front-Engine Riding Mower on
June 27, 2012
battery is charged new filter & gas filter was running fine when parked in garage blade is not engaged fuse is good will not turn over ??? model 140
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Jeff
Silverton, OR 97381, USA
August 19, 2012
This machine has numerous electric safety interlocks. You must have the parking brake set in order to start the engine if you are not seated on the mower. If you are seated, you must hold the brake pedal down while you crank the engine.

If you've satisfied the above, and the engine won't crank, I suggest you check the connections at the seat interlock, and the brake interlock.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
JohnDeere
June 28, 2012
Thanks for contacting the website. We apologize for any inconvenience you may be experiencing with your D140 lawn tractor. To locate a facility for service, maintenance and/or repair, please call 888-669-7767.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Grumpy
Seabrook New Hampshire
June 4, 2013
Make sure brake pedal is fully depressed and you are weighting down the seat. Double check blade engagement knob is fully pushed down.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
OldFordMuscle
Waynesboro, VA, USA
May 22, 2013
Step on the brake.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
ClassicStyle
Georgetown, TX, USA
July 30, 2013
Is the brake fully engaged when you turn the key to start it? You also need to either be sitting on the seat or have the parking brake engaged to get it to start.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

does this mower really use much more gas than the smaller single cylinder mowers

Asked by
none
about D140 48 in. 22 HP Hydrostatic Front-Engine Riding Mower on
August 25, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
DeereD140AOK
Charlotte NC
September 6, 2012
Yes it is a powerfull two cylinder 22 hp engine that runs on a 2.5 gallon tank. It takes about half of the tank per acre of mowing residential.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Jeff
Silverton, OR 97381, USA
August 26, 2012
I use about 1.5 gallons of fuel per acre mowed.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Grumpy
Seabrook New Hampshire
June 4, 2013
Yes but it's worth it!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
backwoods
dequincy la.
June 20, 2013
i think it has a smaller gas tank.i have a 22 hp mtd with briggs and stratton and it takes almost 5 gallons where as my d140 does not hold but about 2 gallons max.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Wayner99
Linwood
August 6, 2013
Yes it really does. But it is SO WORTH it!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

CAN I GET A MILITARY DISCOUNT ON THIS ITEM?

Asked by
willy
about D140 48 in. 22 HP Hydrostatic Front-Engine Riding Mower on
May 13, 2012
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
May 17, 2012
Hello Valued Home Depot Customer,
Thanks for your interest in this item. Please contact our Online Customer Service Department at 800-430-3376 to get further assistance with your military discount. Our hours of operation are between 6:00 a.m. and 2:00 a.m. Eastern Time daily.
Thanks.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Karl
Armstrong Creek, WI 54103, USA
May 29, 2012
No suppose to talk about prices I think, But to answer you quiestion, no. Not on riding lawnmowers or lawn tractors. However, never hurts to ask. Just saying, you might get lucky!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
backwoods
dequincy la.
April 7, 2013
i bought mine at home depot in lake charles la and yes they did give a military discount (10%)
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

can I use the D140 Bagger system with this tractor (Model BG20654)?

Asked by
Dan
about D140 48 in. 22 HP Hydrostatic Front-Engine Riding Mower on
February 2, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Newf
Schaumburg, IL
February 3, 2012
Hello Dan, I’m Newf from the Home Depot’s how-to Community. Thank you for your question.

Yes, the “D140 bagger system” would work. John Deere tractor baggers for the 100 series come in 3 versions. Each varies by the deck size of the tractor. For 42" decks, use BM21888. For 54" decks, use BM21376. Home Depot sells the bagger system for a 48” 100 series tractor, which includes the D140. The model number is BM21889. You can find it here:
http://www.homedepot.com/buy/outdoo...

I hope this helps,
Newf.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
jw84
April 16, 2013
Yes you can use the bagger.

You also need to purchase "high lift" blades to toss the grass upward. Mow more slowly, much more slowly if the grass is tall, and only when the grass is completely dry. Mow more often so the grass pieces are smaller and fly into the bag easier. You must do all of this to prevent clogging.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

does the free cart come with the purchase of the lawn tractor

Asked by
buddy
about D140 48 in. 22 HP Hydrostatic Front-Engine Riding Mower on
March 29, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
JohnDeere
April 2, 2012
Thanks for your question. The Free John Deere 7P Cart promotional offer is for new D100 series tractors purchased between March 22, 2012 - April 4, 2012
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
DeereD140AOK
Charlotte NC
September 6, 2012
The Home Depot had the 10P cart in stock when I puchased mine. I was delighted and JD did a good marketing job. I use that cart all the time. but to answer your question more directly. If one store doesnt have one in stock is it not simple to go to another location and arrange to pick one up?
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Need to know how to get the cart.

Asked by
I want the free cart!
Janesville, Wi
about D140 48 in. 22 HP Hydrostatic Front-Engine Riding Mower on
March 29, 2012
Just bought the John Deere tractor from a local store. Less then two weeks ago. Paid $25 to rent your truck to haul it home. Now your giving free shipping and a free cart. I want to know how to get the free cart?
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
jb
michigan
March 31, 2012
walk into a store. bring your receipt. ask the service desk to return/rebill the tractor and give you the rebate for the cart. ... .... ?
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Bill
Rochester Hills, MI, USA
May 14, 2013
Go to your local store and have them refund and rering the rider so they can give u the free cart promo. It should be no big deal.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

In what country is this made?

Asked by
Andra
about D140 48 in. 22 HP Hydrostatic Front-Engine Riding Mower on
March 26, 2012
-2points
0out of 2found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
JohnDeere
March 28, 2012
Thank you for contacting the website. The D140 lawn tractors are manufactured in the United States.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
DeereD140AOK
Charlotte NC
September 6, 2012
ALL AMERICAN!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
1 2 »