Looking for Answers about RESTORE Deck Liquid Armor Resurfacer 4 Gal. Water Based Charleston Exterior Coating?

Customer questions and answers for
RESTORE Deck Liquid Armor Resurfacer 4 Gal. Water Based Charleston Exterior Coating

The Deck Restore 3.75-Gal. Acrylic Liquid Armor Resurfacer is formulated to beautify and protect exterior wood and composite decking, docks, stairs and more. The 1-part, acrylic formula is water based, and it is ready for application. It helps to lock down splinters to make surfaces more barefoot friendly.
Customer questions and answers:
20 Questions
 | 
69 Answers
Overall rating:
3.615 out of 5
3.6
out of
5

Customer questions and answers for RESTORE Deck Liquid Armor Resurfacer 4 Gal. Water Based Charleston Exterior Coating

Question

can I use Restore on my existing painted concrete pool deck? if so, what is the coverage per sq ft?

Asked by
Johnboy
fort myers fl
about Deck Liquid Armor Resurfacer 4 Gal. Water Based Charleston Exterior Coating on
October 18, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
AskMrJay
October 19, 2012
Hey there Johnboy,

You certainly can. While the product you asked about is technically for wood decking, you can use it for your concrete application as well. For covering previously painted surfaces, make sure to remove any peeling or flaking paint, as well as and gloss that may remain on the surface. If you have a water-proofer currently on the concrete and water beads, you will need to pressure wash and strip that first.

Coverage for a 4-gal. container is 100 sq.ft with (2) coats.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
steve
MI
October 19, 2012
I had no problem using this product on my wood deck, but the coverage is less than avertised and very rough when you use their brand of roller. I would not think you can use this product around a pool on the porouse cement because it would soak in alot and because once dry this product seals water out, so the deck will no longer absorb water.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Flamekindler
Montesano, WA 98563, USA
October 20, 2012
Your best instructions will be on the paint bucket. Yes, you can use it on concrete. I don't know the coverage, as we used it on old wood planks, and it will be different for concrete, which is less absorbent.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Jerry1152
Washington, USA
October 23, 2012
I would say yes. Pressure wash or scrape any loose paint or mold. Just like any paint product it needs a clean surface to bond to. Repair any bad cracks or missing concrete. I use Quikcrete or Sakcrete cement patch which dries fast and bonds well. It will cover some pretty large cracks though. It takes two coats and that is figured in to the companies estimates which is 100 sqft per 4 gallon bucket. There is 4 gallons in a 5 gallon bucket. It is very thick and heavy. It is much easier to use a 5 gallon bucket rather than a roller pan. It is too thick for a roller pan. Just dip the roller into the bucket and get as much product onto the roller as possible. Roll it out very slowly creating a wave in front of the roller which allows it to get into any cracks. Do not try to spread it out like paint. It is the consistency of joint compound. Use their roller which gives a stippled effect. It cleans up easier than paint. Be sure and mask off areas with tape and paper that it might splatter onto. It has sand in it which does splatter a little.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
NelsnG
Colorado, USA
April 14, 2013
I would NOT recommend the use of this product on concrete - especially in wet areas.
After sitting under a few inches of snow for a day or so, the application on my front concrete porch flaked off.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
rikster
Memphis, TN, USA
June 30, 2013
I would use the recommended cleanser and try it. I have a 14' x 14' (196 sq. ft.) concrete deck and took two five gallon buckets for two coats and was very close to the bottom of the can when completed.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Does the store mix in the tint that I pick ?

Asked by
Vayden
Riverside
about Deck Liquid Armor Resurfacer 4 Gal. Water Based Charleston Exterior Coating on
June 19, 2013
Restore Deck Liquid Armor Resurfacer 4 Gal. Water Based Charleston Exterior Coating
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
RestorePro
June 19, 2013
Yes, when purchasing in a retail store you will need to take the product to the paint counter and they will tint the product for you.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Bill
New York
June 25, 2013
Yes, absolutely! And with a smile on their face.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
rikster
Memphis, TN, USA
June 30, 2013
Yes, the Restore product is tinted at the store and with my purchase the color is spot on.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Mike
Maryland, USA
August 23, 2013
The Home Depot associate mixed 6 four gallon pails for me and they all matched great.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
moparjoe
Central PA
August 27, 2013
Yes, there are I believe 144 colors.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
steve
MI
June 19, 2013
Yes, you select the color from the Restore color chart and they will mix and shake it for you.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Question

we have a 25 year old deck and have applied oil based stain (Benjamin Moore) every few years. Can Restore be applied over the oil based stain?

Asked by
C. C.
Pennsylvania
about Deck Liquid Armor Resurfacer 4 Gal. Water Based Charleston Exterior Coating on
June 5, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
RestorePro
June 6, 2013
Restore will adhere to a previously painted surface if properly prepared. All peeling or flaking must be removed by stripping or sanding. Remove any algae, mold or embedded dirt. Glossy surfaces must be sanded. Surfaces that have been previously coated with a stain or water sealer that continue to bead water will require pressure washing or stripping to ensure good adhesion.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Flamekindler
Montesano, WA 98563, USA
June 6, 2013
We've only used it on one occasion, a large old deck with some new replacement pressure-treated boards, and a lot of old weather-worn boards. Restore filled in a lot of uneven places and made it all look uniform. I would guess that if you pressure-wash the deck and let it dry completely before applying Restore, it should work fine. But we're not experts.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
robinhood
Patchogue, NY, USA
June 9, 2013
CC,
I believe that it can be but, that it will require extra steps and Restore products to do so. Pick-up the pamphlet provided by the product, it contains further info.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Bill
New York
June 9, 2013
I believe latex can be used over oil. As long as the oil stain is not shiny, you probably could. If you scuff up the oil finish by sanding it, the Restore should stick. Not absolutely sure though.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Mike
Maryland, USA
August 23, 2013
My deck is at least 25 years old and over the years I have used oil based and latex based stains and sealers. I pressure washed my deck first and let it dry for a few days. When I applied my Restore it went down with no problem and is holding up very good so far.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can I use this product on a concrete garage floor?

Asked by
sundog
GA
about Deck Liquid Armor Resurfacer 4 Gal. Water Based Charleston Exterior Coating on
June 14, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
steve
MI
June 15, 2013
my understanding is it is for older wood surfaces. It is thick paint that will fill in cracks and splits in the wood. There are products out there made for cement floors that you can add grit and color flakes to do a nice job on the garage floor
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
RestorePro
June 17, 2013
Deck & Concrete Restore is not recommended for slick surfaces such as "floated", smooth concrete. Any slick surface will not promote good adhesion. Additionally Deck & Concrete Restore is not intended for vehicular traffic so this product is NOT recommended for driveways, garages, or carports. For driveways, we recommend Extreme Concrete Restore which is formulated to withstand tire traffic.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
rikster
Memphis, TN, USA
June 30, 2013
I would recommend the Restore Garage floor resurface product with an epoxy base rather than the water base for the patio product
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
wayne
Atlanta, GA, USA
September 8, 2013
Extreme Restore for concrete, but an alternative would be H & C concrete stain the petroleum based type. H & C is currently owned by Sherwin Williams
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
BellesBuildings
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
April 10, 2014
You would do better to get textured garage floor paint or add your own texture to masonry paint. It will probably last better. The heat from your car tires could pull this up.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

what about putting it on side rim boards

Asked by
gene
alpha nj
about Deck Liquid Armor Resurfacer 4 Gal. Water Based Charleston Exterior Coating on
April 30, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
steve
MI
April 30, 2013
I did not put it on the side boards, I used a sprayer and redwood stain for the side boards. I do not see an advantage using this product on the side boards. There is no standing water on the side boards.
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
RestorePro
April 30, 2013
Deck & Concrete Restore is not recommended for use on vertical surfaces, therefore I do not recommend using it on your side boards. Instead I suggest checking out our Restore Solid Acrylic Stain.
 
Products related to my answer
 
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
psychobill57
Olathe, KS, USA
May 11, 2013
Not an issue, I've put it on the side boards on my dock and it works great and looks great.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Bill
New York
May 13, 2013
No problem. Just follow the directions on the can.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is there a color chart on line that I can view that this product is available in?

Asked by
jakey
about Deck Liquid Armor Resurfacer 4 Gal. Water Based Charleston Exterior Coating on
May 7, 2013
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
RestorePro
May 7, 2013
You can view the full color offering on the manufacturer's website. If your preferred shade is not offered you also have the option of doing a custom color match in store.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
rikster
Memphis, TN, USA
June 30, 2013
I have not looked online for Restore color charts, but found samples at the store
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
moparjoe
Central PA
August 27, 2013
Yes. Go to the web site to see colors offered.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
chadwelt
Thompsonville, IL, USA
October 26, 2013
Home Depot has a color chart or you can go online to Rustoleum. They have a video and all the information you could use.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What is the recommended temperature to apply restore?

Asked by
Olivia
Michigan
about Deck Liquid Armor Resurfacer 4 Gal. Water Based Charleston Exterior Coating on
May 10, 2013
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
jmend56
Chattanooga, TN, USA
May 11, 2013
I applied it in the early fall and it has worked well.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
psychobill57
Olathe, KS, USA
May 11, 2013
I have applied it at many different temps and have had no issues. Lowest temp I've installed was propally in the 40's, highest temp was in the high 80's. Most paint type products recommend 55-90 but I did some research on this when I wanted to put on a deck in the winter months and found that they said it could go in much cooler temps but I don't remember the exact numbers I found. Hope this helps, good luck it's a great product. I use it on all my Flip Houses, makes my house much more valuable.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
RestorePro
May 13, 2013
Deck & Concrete Restore should not be applied if temperatures are below 50 degrees and above 90 degrees either day or night.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Bill
New York
May 13, 2013
If your deck will be in direct sunlight most of the day, begin the process early, say 8 am or earlier. The deck should not be very hot, around 60 degrees. Adhesion problems could arise if the deck gets too hot. Try to finish the job before the heat of the day. It's a great product, but it can chip off, especially at the edge of step boards. Some reports of chipping has happened on the deck itself. Prep is all important. Tape all walls, doors, etc- any vertical surfaces. The product flies everywhere! Don't wear any clothing or shoes that you won't mind ruining. Depending on your choice of color, it will show dirt.
If you take proper precautions, your deck will look terrific and be a nice abrasive surface during the winter to prevent slips. Well worth the money.
Good luck!
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

do you have to apply sealer or waterproofer to the finished deck?

Asked by
wangotango
Marion, North Carolina
about Deck Liquid Armor Resurfacer 4 Gal. Water Based Charleston Exterior Coating on
June 15, 2013
I noticed in the specifications that Restore Deck contains no sealer or waterproof, so will it repel water or do I have to do something more?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
VUCommodoes
Grove City, OH, USA
June 17, 2013
No. BUT you need to clean it thoroughly. I used a small pressure washer. Anything caught under the application will stay there.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
RestorePro
June 17, 2013
No, Restore is a water permeable coating. This allows moisture to pass through Restore and keeps the surface underneath dry through evaporation. Water sealants can trap moisture underneath, causing cracking and rot.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Friday
Kansas City, MO, USA
June 17, 2013
I did not apply any sealer, only time will tell. I think the product will be OK .
Several drips below to the concrete. Power washer did not budge the drips, hard scraping works.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Wayner
St. Louis, MO, USA
September 5, 2013
No
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can I use Restore on a boat dock which is over water?

Asked by
Chasz
Lake Winola, Pa.
about Deck Liquid Armor Resurfacer 4 Gal. Water Based Charleston Exterior Coating on
June 20, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
RestorePro
June 20, 2013
Yes. The original application of Restore was actually on a boat dock in Georgia around 12 years ago. It is still going strong and looks as good as new!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
VUCommodoes
Grove City, OH, USA
June 20, 2013
I would confirm this with the manufacturer, but my opinion is "yes". It has protected my deck from rain and snow beautifully. I also used the "course" roller for both coats and it created a non-slip deck. I do have a large hot tub and it is very safe as far as I can tell.
Again, I'm not sure what the manufacturer would say but on my deck with a hot tub, it seems to work well for me.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
rikster
Memphis, TN, USA
June 30, 2013
You did not state what kind of water, I'm assuming fresh water and if so...I don't see why not, my patio is open to the elements and is holding up well.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
BellesBuildings
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
April 10, 2014
I sure wouldn't. This product is failing as a deck coating. Read the reviews on homedepot.com to learn more about it. It has been very disappointing.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

i need amsds for restore liquid armor resurface

Asked by
mantech
ft hood tx 76544
about Deck Liquid Armor Resurfacer 4 Gal. Water Based Charleston Exterior Coating on
September 10, 2013
need msds for this prduct
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
RestorePro
September 10, 2013
The MSDS for all Restore products is located on the website.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Mike
Maryland, USA
September 10, 2013
You don't need an msds sheet for this product as far as I can tell, I've used a lot of this product with no I'll results. I'm in my 60's and if something was going to happen it would have by now.
If you want an msds sheet on this product you can go online and you will find it easily.
Hope this will help.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
chadwelt
Thompsonville, IL, USA
October 26, 2013
I would go to the Rustoleum website. I'm sure it is provided there or you could request it there.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
BellesBuildings
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
April 10, 2014
Homedepot.com provides msds on all products they sell. Go to the product page and click on the msds tab.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is the coverage area listed the area it will cover with two coats (that is says is required) or one coat?

Asked by
Sam
Maine
about Deck Liquid Armor Resurfacer 4 Gal. Water Based Charleston Exterior Coating on
April 23, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
RestorePro
April 23, 2013
The coverage listed on the packaging is for the required 2 coats. When applied properly, the film thickness of Restore will be ten times thicker than regular paint. One 1-gallon can of Deck & Concrete Restore will cover approximately 25 square feet with two coats. One 2-gallon kit of Deck & Concrete Restore will cover approximately 50 square feet with two coats. One 4-gallon pail of Deck & Concrete Restore will cover approximately 100 square feet with two coats.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
LakeLady
Lake of the Ozarks, Missouri, USA
May 7, 2013
Two coats - a large can will cover a 10' x 10' area with 2 coats. It may go a bit further if it is brushed (rather than rolled) on, but there would not be any texture.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Bill
New York
May 13, 2013
Two coats- definately. After the first coat dries, you will see places where the coverage was thin and you can see the wood. The second coat gives the deck uniform coverage and the abrasive surface that is desireable.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

will it work on a sealed deck thats sheeted with 3/4'' plywood or osb t and g over a living space

Asked by
wesley1
Granite Falls WA
about Deck Liquid Armor Resurfacer 4 Gal. Water Based Charleston Exterior Coating on
May 18, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
RestorePro
May 20, 2013
Yes, Deck & Concrete Restore will work on both plywood and OSB tongue and groove flooring. Be sure to properly prepare the surface before application. Surface must be clean, dry and free of dirt, grease, mildew, organic growth, and other contaminants to ensure proper bonding and adhesion. Smooth and/or glossy surfaces should be sanded or roughed up to aid in adhesion. For best results use a pressure washer to remove embedded dirt and grime. For grease and oil spots use tri-sodium phosphate (TSP) according to manufacturer’s directions to remove stains. For mildew and other organic growth use a diluted solution of household bleach (3 parts water to 1 part bleach) applied to the surface before cleaning.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
steve
MI
May 22, 2013
it should work on a wooden floor. If you have a good seal on the deck you have to rough it up by sanding or scraping to allow this product to adhere properly. It is not designed to work on walls (vertical surfaces).
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
rikster
Memphis, TN, USA
June 30, 2013
I would use non-corrosive screws to attach the decking material to the joists, seal all joints with an approved crack isolation joint material (similar to subfloor products for tile); a waterproof membrane which turns up and onto the side walls (if you have this profile, if not use a metal drip edge) and finally a roofing membrane product adhered to that. You may want to turn to a pro that does commercial roofing to help you with this.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can paint be used on a metal surface?

Asked by
Red
Borden, In 47106
about Deck Liquid Armor Resurfacer 4 Gal. Water Based Charleston Exterior Coating on
September 21, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
steve
MI
September 22, 2013
it is made to be applied to wood or concrete. surface has to be able to absorb paint.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
RestorePro
September 23, 2013
No, Restore will not adhere to a metal surface.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
BellesBuildings
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
April 10, 2014
Yes. Get paint that is made for metal applications.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Will it adhere to flooring such as concrete or laminate?

Asked by
Derrick
Anchorage AK
about Deck Liquid Armor Resurfacer 4 Gal. Water Based Charleston Exterior Coating on
April 10, 2014
Will Deck Liquid stick to any type of surface?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Rob56
Ogden, Utah
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
April 10, 2014
Only if you want to do it over next year. This stuff needs to be covered if it gets wet it comes right off. I put it on two decks over 300 sq ft just before fall last year. This year I am replacing both decks. With fresh wood. As it comes off in areas and sticks to others. Laminate I would say no. cement maybe if it stays covered like a basement.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
BellesBuildings
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
April 10, 2014
I am sorry, Derrick, but I have had problems with this product. It is supposed to stick to wood decks, but it does not last through a snowy winter. Though I have not tried it on concrete or laminate, I would not expect it to do better there than on the wood.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
RestorePro
April 11, 2014
Restore will not adhere to laminate surfaces however it will adhere to concrete. Additionally please note that Restore is intended for exterior use only.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

can Restore be used indoors for high traffic areas?

Asked by
Karen
Douglas AZ
about Deck Liquid Armor Resurfacer 4 Gal. Water Based Charleston Exterior Coating on
April 8, 2013
At work they are wanting to redo the hallways with this products. The areas are high traffic areas. Will the product withstand this?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
RestorePro
April 8, 2013
Restore is an exterior product and is not recommended for indoor use.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
rikster
Memphis, TN, USA
June 30, 2013
I recommend Restore Garage floor product for high traffic areas
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Will Restore work with cedar decking that has previously been treated with an oil based paint?

Asked by
Lawscs
Roscoe
about Deck Liquid Armor Resurfacer 4 Gal. Water Based Charleston Exterior Coating on
April 14, 2013
I have a 16 year old cedar deck. We stained it twice in the 2nd and fifth year after we built it. not happy with the longevity. Then painted it with an oil based Sikkens paint that only lasted two summers before starting to peel. Scraped then reapplied with the same results. Then we scraped then sanded the entire deck and painted it with a Sherwin Williams "marine paint" two years ago, two coats. We are scraping it off now. Came across Restore and I am intrigued by it. Will we have any issues with Restore if we scrape and clean the deck before we apply it? Any additional prep we should do since we have had both oil and water based products applied? Also, have recently heard that we should have sealed the underside of the boards, because cedar is more porous and moisture will work its way from the underside and cause issues with paint on top. Thanks in advance for your help.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
RestorePro
April 15, 2013
Yes, Restore is a great option for your deck. Clean the surface with Restore Deck & Concrete Cleaner or a mild household cleaner and water. If necessary use a brush to remove any embedded dirt and grime. A pressure washer may provide best results. The surface should be dry before application however, if applying in extreme warm and dry conditions it is recommended to routinely mist the surface area just before application to prevent premature drying. Previously painted surfaces should be de-glossed and any flaking or chipping paint should be removed.
 
Products related to my answer
 
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Bill
New York
May 13, 2013
Oil based paint will seal the wood, so it's possible the peeling you encountered was from moisture absorbed by the underside of the deck wood. Oil paint has worked well on cedar siding so moisture could be the cause. I can't explain the cause of the latex paint. Stain will allow the wood to "breathe." I applied Restore on a pressure treated deck that was several years old and had never had any kind of protective coating previously, that I was aware of (this after six years of living in the house). My Restore coating is one year old now, and still looks great, except for some chipping on the ends of the stair treads. I am very happy with the product. I believe it was well worth the time, effort and money.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

can i put product on already painted wood deck

Asked by
ford
about Deck Liquid Armor Resurfacer 4 Gal. Water Based Charleston Exterior Coating on
April 28, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
RestorePro
April 29, 2013
Yes. Restore will adhere to a previously painted surface if properly prepared. All peeling or flaking must be removed by stripping or sanding. Remove any algae, mold or embedded dirt. Glossy surfaces must be sanded. Surfaces that have been previously coated with a stain or water sealer that continue to bead water will require pressure washing or stripping to ensure good adhesion.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Bill
New York
June 9, 2013
Paint on pressure treated wood? not good. Paint seals the wood, not allowing moisture in wood to escape. To be sure, sand down to bare wood (wearing a mask and eye protection). That should take care of any adhesion problem.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Who would I contact with a major complaint about Restore? Our HOA spent $1500.00 and it is peeling off in sheets.

Asked by
Condo
Jeffersonville, IN
about Deck Liquid Armor Resurfacer 4 Gal. Water Based Charleston Exterior Coating on
April 1, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
BellesBuildings
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
April 10, 2014
Restore is a Rust-O-Leum Product.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
RestorePro
April 1, 2014
Sorry to hear that you are displeased with the product. Please contact our Tech Support team at 800.373.6333 to discuss.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Does Restore on deck withstand salt from pool when walked on

Asked by
puzzled
charlotte, nc
about Deck Liquid Armor Resurfacer 4 Gal. Water Based Charleston Exterior Coating on
January 11, 2014
We have a salt water pool and have tried multiple sealers on deck but nothing stays on
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
RestorePro
January 13, 2014
Yes, Restore stands up well to saltwater on a pool deck.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Anonymous
Amherst
April 24, 2014
I'd try this
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What can you do about chipping?

Asked by
Treck
Tigard, OR
about Deck Liquid Armor Resurfacer 4 Gal. Water Based Charleston Exterior Coating on
April 4, 2013
Hired a contractor to apply Restore Liquid Armor Resurfacer to a new deck he built for me last June. Love it but I noticed last week a few chips the size of approximately a quarter. The product was applied on new wood thinking it would be better and last longer than regular deck stain/protection. But now, I'm concerned about the chipping. It's not quite been a year and if it keep up the deck will look terrible within two or three years. Sure hope there is a remedy or some kind of sealer to put on the chips so they do not get worse. Hope to hear from you soon before it gets worse. Thank you
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
RestorePro
April 5, 2013
I'm sorry to hear about your issue. It sounds like this may have happened due to the wood not being completely dry before application of Restore. We typically recommend allowing new wood to age for a minimum of 6 months (preferably at least 1 year) for proper adhesion and to prevent lifting of the coating. You can use Restore to touch up the affected areas.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
1 of 1