Looking for Answers about Klean-Strip 1 gal. Green Muriatic Acid?

Customer questions and answers for
Klean-Strip 1 gal. Green Muriatic Acid

Klean-Strip Green are products that are better for the environment. They are quality products but have a reduced impact on the world in which we live. Klean-Strip Green Muriatic Acid has 90% lower fumes than standard muriatic acid. It’s also easy to use and store.
Customer questions and answers:
28 Questions
 | 
52 Answers
Overall rating:
3.825 out of 5
3.8
out of
5

Customer questions and answers for Klean-Strip 1 gal. Green Muriatic Acid

Question

can I use this ro remove algae on an aluminum boat?

Asked by
reverend
rochester, new york
about 1 gal. Green Muriatic Acid on
September 4, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
0 answers
Answers
This question currently has no approved answers.
Question

Can I use it to remove Iron Rust stain that has been caused by Scotts Max lawn food

Asked by
Erika1
Margate, florida
about 1 gal. Green Muriatic Acid on
August 29, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
KleanStripExpert
August 31, 2015
This product may not take away all the stains left by fertilizer.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Bigt
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
September 1, 2015
yes it definitely can ease
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can the Green Muriatic Acid be used to remove excess concrete release from my patio before sealing?

Asked by
PatioFreak
Indiana
about 1 gal. Green Muriatic Acid on
August 27, 2015
I have tried simple green, I just don't want to damage the concrete.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
KleanStripExpert
August 31, 2015
Muriatic Acid is used to lighten, brighten and etch concrete as well as remove wet mortar.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

what is the baume of this acid?

Asked by
jeff
Dallas TX
about 1 gal. Green Muriatic Acid on
August 20, 2015
what strength is this acid ?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
KleanStripExpert
August 21, 2015
This is a 20% solution.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
avemaria
Brandon, FL
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
August 21, 2015
here's the review I posted.. Acid is acid but if you're looking at the reviews, chances are you're like me and are wondering how strong it really is. Nowhere on the label of this product does it list the percentage of acid, which is odd. I did some digging around and found an old label of the same product that had the information.. and judging by how much it took to lower the Ph in the pool.. it's accurate. This product is 20% hydrochloric acid, which is 13 degrees baume. Standard muriatic acid for about the same price is 31.45% and 20 degrees baume. So it comes down to preference in strength. It's lighter concentration for those like me who get a bit freaked out working with strong acid near the pool.. especially if you've ever been hit with the fumes of regular acid.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Clean rust of stone steps?

Asked by
Jeremy
about 1 gal. Green Muriatic Acid on
August 13, 2015
I have a 50 year old front porch. It looks concrete but I believe it's really stone. The railings have leeched rust onto the surface. I've not cleaned/primed/painted the railings but want to get the rust spots off. Will this work?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Bigt
August 15, 2015
Yes it will clean stone or concrete .Dilute it and keep it away from plants and grass . has soon as you put it down you will see it start work so wash it off don't make it sit for no time at all .
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
KleanStripExpert
August 18, 2015
No, you will need a rust stain remover, Try the Goof Off Brand.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

muriatic acid and swimming pools

Asked by
thumpercolt
oregon
about 1 gal. Green Muriatic Acid on
June 30, 2015
Would 1gal. Acid to 15,000gal. Water be harmful
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
KleanStripExpert
July 1, 2015
Our label recommendation for the Jasco Green Muriatic Acid is 1 quart per 10,000 gallons of pool water.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
avemaria
Florida
July 11, 2015
it depends on what your Ph is.. using the pool calculator at http://www.troublefreepool.com/calc.html and a calculator to figure this 20% acid, I calculated that a mere 37oz of this acid here would drop your Ph by 0.5.. I can't imagine you would ever want to drop it much more than that.. Using regular strength acid at 31.45%, in 15,000 gallons, a gallon of acid would drop the Ph from 7.8 to 6.6... so this weaker acid at 20% would still take you below 7.0.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can I use muriatic acid to clean outdoor bricks?

Asked by
Pepe
El Paso, Texas
about 1 gal. Green Muriatic Acid on
May 31, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
KleanStripExpert
June 1, 2015
This product is designed to brighten brick after it has been cleaned, it is not a cleaning product.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
CommunityAnswer
June 1, 2015
Yes, this removes and cleans excess mortar from bricks.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

How do I use it to clean an outdoor brick wall?

Asked by
CountryGirl
about 1 gal. Green Muriatic Acid on
May 31, 2015
Do I spray it on? Will it hurt the hand pumped sprayer? Do I have to scrub it? Do I have to neutralize afterwards with baking soda water or just plain water? I can't find instructions. There's no video.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
KleanStripExpert
June 1, 2015
No, this product is not designed to be used as a cleaner.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
gworrel
Detroit, MI
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 15, 2015
Spraying it on will work. Some sprayers have viton seals that are ideal for acid. When I used a cheap sprayer it seemed to not work very well, but I have seen sprayers designed for acid for under $15 so you don't have to spend a lot. Leave it on for at least 30 seconds then hose it off. A pressure washer might be helpful. Repeat as needed. Brushing is not always needed, but might help. For my pool surface, they recommend cleaning with TSP solution afterwards to neutralize the acid. Baking soda in water might work fine.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

a splash of muriatic acid in the eye, what should be done besides rinse with water?

Asked by
Nancy
Beaumont, TX
about 1 gal. Green Muriatic Acid on
April 19, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
KleanStripExpert
April 20, 2015
Please call this number for assistance. 1-800-451-8346. This number is the 3E Emergency number.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Disappointed
Hampton Twp,pa
May 19, 2015
Go to er
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Does this work safely on aquarium glass?

Asked by
AquaHelp
about 1 gal. Green Muriatic Acid on
March 24, 2015
I have a glass aquarium with white cloudy substance on it that only goes away when wet, will this product work on breaking that substance down and removing it?

I have tried just white vinegar which cleaned the rest of the glass not the white cloudy substance.
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
KleanStripExpert
March 25, 2015
No, we're sorry but the this product is designed to etch and brighten concrete.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Bigt
August 15, 2015
yes it dose .you must dilute it and make sure after use rinse properly
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

I have new construction concrete interior floors and plan to use some type of Muratic acid to clean the floors before they are sealed. Will this work

Asked by
JulesHouseRules
Missouri
about 1 gal. Green Muriatic Acid on
January 29, 2015
I have a crew coming to scrape and clean the floor and then plan to use this as a "final clean" before applying a water based acrylic sealer to my floor. Will this cause pitting in my concrete?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
KleanStripExpert
January 29, 2015
This product will etch the concrete; that's what it was designed for. It's not a concrete cleaner, and the vapors, even through they're far less than our regular Muriatic Acid puts off, could still be too dangerous to use indoors. If you need to clean the concrete use a concrete cleaner, not Muriatic Acid. If you need to etch the concrete so it will accept a sealer, use a less harsh acid like Klean Strip Phosphoric Prep & Etch.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Bigt
August 15, 2015
yes perfectly
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Will this product safely remove cement from bluestone pavers without damaging the bluestone?

Asked by
Orland
Westchester County, NY
about 1 gal. Green Muriatic Acid on
January 6, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
KleanStripExpert
January 7, 2015
No, it could bleach the bluestone.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Bigt
August 15, 2015
no i don't think so it will eat away the pavers
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is this muriatic acid a good choice for cleaning the mineral deposits/stains in a porcelain toilet bowl? If so, should it be diluted for that purpose?

Asked by
SDDev
about 1 gal. Green Muriatic Acid on
November 1, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
KleanStripExpert
November 3, 2014
No, we didn't design it for this purpose. We do have a product that will remove calcium and rust stains from porcelain. It's called Goof Off Rust Stain Remover for the Bathroom.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Bigt
August 15, 2015
yes it will work perfectly and yes you must dilute it
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
SDDev
August 15, 2015
Thanks to both sources for your answers. As it turns out I ended up using pumice stone. I can't remember now what I tried and what I didn't, but none of liquids I could purchase where I live made much of a dent. Our water is extremely hard. However pumice stone and elbow grease did a remarkable job. Hopefully I didn't damage the porcelain too much, but it looks 1000% better.

Thanks again.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Can this be used to remove limescale from a glass door?

Asked by
gsp22
Richmond, VA
about 1 gal. Green Muriatic Acid on
October 24, 2014
Glass has been removed from frame so no metal is in contact.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
KleanStripExpert
October 27, 2014
Yes, the KS Green Muriatic Acid is safe on glass, so it won't hurt anything to give it a try. It should break down limescale.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Bigt
August 15, 2015
yes it can perfect for that job
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is it 100% muriatic acid?

Asked by
Meme
West Salem, Ohio
about 1 gal. Green Muriatic Acid on
October 13, 2014
I need 100% muriatic acid for my school project and I don't know where to find it at a low price.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
KleanStripExpert
October 14, 2014
You won't be able to find 100%. The highest concentration available is typically around 38%. Anything higher is unstable. The Klean Strip Green Muriatic Acid is 20% Hydrochloric acid.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Bigt
August 15, 2015
Yes it is
-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

I have a stubborn, recurring clog in my master shower (2nd floor). Is this product safe and effective to use to remove this type of clog?

Asked by
Cavalier68
Winter Garden, FL
about 1 gal. Green Muriatic Acid on
September 26, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
KleanStripExpert
September 29, 2014
No, Muriatic Acid won't unclog a drain. I've actually tried this myself, and was disappointed. Try something like Drano. It's designed specifically for this type of application.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

does safe green muriatic acid remove black paint from painted windows

Asked by
irishbrian
jacksonville florida
about 1 gal. Green Muriatic Acid on
September 25, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
KleanStripExpert
September 26, 2014
No, it won't. It will most likely damage the black paint and the paint on the windows, but it's not designed to remove it. If the black paint is latex try using Mineral Spirits or Paint Thinner to remove it. Either of these are typically safe to use on painted surfaces temporarily.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can I use this to strip off old Acid Stain from my garage concrete floor?

Asked by
Ronny
New Jersey
about 1 gal. Green Muriatic Acid on
August 6, 2014
I stained it using Eagle Acid Stain. It didn't come out well. The floor is 2 years old and completely uneven patters are there. I want to remove the stain and put Epoxy. Will this do the work or I need to use Grinder?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
KleanStripExpert
August 6, 2014
You would need to use a grinder or a non-flammable paint remover that can also remove stains. Muriatic Acid won't be able to accomplish this.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

May I use Muriatic Acid to unclog the toilet? My 2 year old throw a plastic tube ( eye lotion cosmetic) inside and flushed it!

Asked by
Adri
SAvannah. GA
about 1 gal. Green Muriatic Acid on
May 24, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
KleanStripExpert
May 27, 2014
I'm afraid Muriatic Acid wouldn't do anything for it. I would try plunging it up. If this doesn't work your best bet would be to remove the toilet to the outdoors and try blasting it out with a garden hose or possibly use a strong solvent to dissolve and loosen up the plastic tube.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
jbagel2
American Fork, UT
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 29, 2014
it dilutes in water very quickly, and would probably not work very well. you would have to use a TON of muriatic acid especially at these low concentrations. would be better to just get some more specific unclogging solution, or a sewer snake.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Is this item Hydrochloric acid, 20° Baume (31.45%)?

Asked by
MinMN
Wisconsin
about 1 gal. Green Muriatic Acid on
April 3, 2014
IF not, what is the Baume and resulting percentage?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
jbagel2
American Fork, UT
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 29, 2014
no, its closer to 14%
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
KleanStripExpert
April 3, 2014
The KS Green Muriatic Acid is 20% hydrochloric acid, 13 degrees Baume.
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
1 2 »