Looking for Answers about GE 13,000-Watt Air Cooled Standby Generator System with Symphony II Whole House 200-Amp Automatic Transfer Switch?

Customer questions and answers for
GE 13,000-Watt Air Cooled Standby Generator System with Symphony II Whole House 200-Amp Automatic Transfer Switch

The patented Symphony II power controls provide a managed power solution that gives you access to every powered item in your home, just not at the same time by using power management modules, appliances are prioritized and turn on and off based on need and the electrical load placed on your generator
Customer questions and answers:
63 Questions
 | 
91 Answers
Overall rating:
4.267 out of 5
4.3
out of
5

Customer questions and answers for GE 13,000-Watt Air Cooled Standby Generator System with Symphony II Whole House 200-Amp Automatic Transfer Switch

Question

What gauge wire and size of under ground conduit needed if the GE 13K is 25 feet away from the transfer switch

Asked by
Nick
about 13,000-Watt Air Cooled Standby Generator System with Symphony II Whole House 200-Amp Automatic Transfer Switch on
November 4, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
aboveaveragejoe
November 5, 2012
hello Nick,

There is more than one answer to this because as it states on the item description:

"803 cc Briggs and Stratton engine produces 13,000-watts running on liquid propane and 11,500-watts running on natural gas"

Depending on what you will be using for your source fuel will depend on what wire to use. For example, the 13K LP would be a little over 55 amps, so a 4 gauge copper wire would be used. For the 11,500 Natural Gas, a 6 gauge wire would be sufficient.

To determine gauge/amps you simply divide your watts by volts to get the final amperage. This will give you the AWG size for your switch.

As for the conduit, using at least 1-1/4" conduit is fine, but I advise to consult a local electrician or someone who knows local codes to ensure the conduit as well as the wire is sufficient and safe.

I hope this helps you out,
aboveaveragejoe
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
KenB
Hopatcong, NJ, USA
November 11, 2012
# 6 THHN wire in 1 inch conduit.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
E1188296
N.E. Conn
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
December 9, 2013
The wire gauge required for the distance you stated DOES NOT NEED to be #4 That would carry 60 amps 200 ft with a 2.8% voltage drop ! The second answer is an acceptable conductor size . This unit comes with a 50 amp breaker in the unit. Regardless of the 13000 watt rating being capable of producing 54.1 amps it can not deliver more than 50 . Don't forget to carry a 4th wire for isolated grounding . You may want to increase pipe size to 1 1/2 to accomodate for signal wires . This unit needs 3 voltage recognition lines ( 2 hot and 1 neutral ) as well as 2 to signal engine start. You can find a 300 volt rated 16 gauge multi conductor cable at an electrical supply house. I will get back to you with actual code requirements as to installing the signal wires in the same conduit as the power legs. This is a very nice unit and does a great job! I am an Electrical contractor in Ct and have installed 4 of these exact units and 6 of the smaller ones .
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Do I need a low voltage module for my 4 ton Air Conditioner.

Asked by
cyrus
about 13,000-Watt Air Cooled Standby Generator System with Symphony II Whole House 200-Amp Automatic Transfer Switch on
January 15, 2013
I have the 13kw ge and was wondering if i need a low voltage module to run my ac.I do not have this installed as of yet.The unit came with two high voltage modules for stove and clothes dryer.Any Help Appreciated.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Scanner
Lowell, MA, USA
January 17, 2013
Hi Cyrus,
Yes, I would recommend installing the low voltage module. A/C. units are an automatic appliance and should be set on the least important setting. You have about 55 amps to run your house and the A/C unit draws about 40 amps.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
sammy
June 11, 2013
Yes, if you're already using both of the modules that were included you will need a 3rd.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Adam
New Jersey
June 11, 2013
You can either purchase another high voltage unit or a low voltage unit for the a/c...it's your choice...I used a high voltage unit...however you must remember that the high voltage units are limited to 50amps...so a large compressor may need the LV unit...
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

My 13 kw generator keeps flashing FC-8 but the fuses in the transfer case are fine. What could be another cause?

Asked by
crimdog 3
upstate NY
about 13,000-Watt Air Cooled Standby Generator System with Symphony II Whole House 200-Amp Automatic Transfer Switch on
January 18, 2013
Generator does not start automatically. When I press manual start it runs for 20 seconds then stops. Electrician can't find anything wrong.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
crimdog3
opstate NY
January 20, 2013
I answered my own question! I forgot to input the correct kw of my generator into the transfer case. After I did that, I turned on the generator, cut the power and the generator started right up!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Scanner
Lowell, MA, USA
January 21, 2013
Hi Crimdog 3,
I looked over the code for FC-8 and what it is telling you is communication between the Symphony II
and the generator isn't working properly. I would check the connections between the transfer switch and the generator. There is a removable terminal strip in the generator, make sure that all the wires are in place and tight in the terminal and that the terminal strip itself is tight to the pc board.
Was the generator set up working fine and then the FC-8 signal showed up or has it never worked since it was installed?
After reading the rest of your question it sounds like this has never worked since install. If that is the case I would check that the wires were put under the correct terminals as well.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Scanner
Lowell, MA, USA
January 21, 2013
The Dip switches on the Symphony II have to be set for your generator, 1 switch has to be set at 10 and the other gas to be set at 3. When you don't set the dip switches the transfer switch doesn't know what size generator it is controlling and will show an FC- 8. code.
This is all in the Symphony II manual.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

is the automatic transfer switch included in the price of the 13000 watt syphony II generator

Asked by
buck
about 13,000-Watt Air Cooled Standby Generator System with Symphony II Whole House 200-Amp Automatic Transfer Switch on
June 10, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
sammy
June 11, 2013
Yes. It comes with everything needed minus wiring.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Adam
New Jersey
June 11, 2013
Yes it is included as well as two high voltage 50amp load shedding modules...
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
GeGenerators Support
July 15, 2013
Yes the automatic transfer switch is included in the price.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

what type of battery is required for the GE 13kw generator and is it included with the generator?

Asked by
ajl
des plaines
about 13,000-Watt Air Cooled Standby Generator System with Symphony II Whole House 200-Amp Automatic Transfer Switch on
July 9, 2011
-2points
0out of 2found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Bruins
Florida
July 11, 2011
12 Volt rechargable battery at BatteriesPlus. Call GE and they will provide you the part #. It will set you back $140.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
reidsgrampa
Michigan
July 19, 2011
I had the same qusetion. It is not included. I called customer service they derected me to batteries-plus for the battery (SLAA12-55C/FR) runs a bit over $150.00 in my area.
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Question

cold weather kit for ge 13000kw which one is needed

Asked by
fixmanone
Sag Harbor, NY
about 13,000-Watt Air Cooled Standby Generator System with Symphony II Whole House 200-Amp Automatic Transfer Switch on
September 3, 2011
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
THDCustomerService
Atlanta, GA
September 7, 2011
Hi Fixmanone,

Thank you for the question.

We recommend the cold weather kit for areas where the temperature gets below 40 degrees for extended periods of time.
+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
jgilliam1955
Williamsburg, VA
November 23, 2011
Depends where you live.. Check your local Generator people.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Transfer Switch Synphony II Model 40324 getting different answers

Asked by
Tobi
Michigan
about 13,000-Watt Air Cooled Standby Generator System with Symphony II Whole House 200-Amp Automatic Transfer Switch on
September 29, 2011
Is this the switch that when power from utilty service is out this will cut off back feed to utilty service and start standby generator to direct eletricity to the home?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Designing Woman
Atlanta, GA
September 30, 2011
Hello Tobi and thank you for your question.

You are correct. When the electricity is cut off during a power failure, the transfer switch has no power from the utility line. After 20 seconds (the time is preset at the factory), the generator will supply power to your home.

When the external power (from the utility company) is restored for more than 5 minutes, the transfer switch senses that power has been restored. The generator will cool down and shut off. The power company then provides the power to your home.

The manual has more detailed information and can be found here: http://bsintek.basco.com/BriggsDocu...

Best wishes on your project!
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
justpar
Connecticut, USA
October 29, 2011
Yes. The GE transfer switch appears to be of high quality and is an integral part of the system.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

what is the max run time

Asked by
rwwsr
about 13,000-Watt Air Cooled Standby Generator System with Symphony II Whole House 200-Amp Automatic Transfer Switch on
September 29, 2011
0points
1out of 2found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
THDCustomerService
Atlanta, GA
October 3, 2011
Hi Rwwsr,

Thank you for your question.

On natural gas, it will run continuously, just need to check the oil every couple of days, on Propane it depends on the size of the tank but it will burn 1.35 gal\hr

Hope this helps..
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
justpar
Connecticut, USA
October 29, 2011
It runs as long as fuel is supplied. I am using a two hundred gallon propane tank.
+2points
3out of 4found this answer helpful.
Question

is this transfer switch also rated as a service entrance disconnect? or SE

Asked by
bo
mi
about 13,000-Watt Air Cooled Standby Generator System with Symphony II Whole House 200-Amp Automatic Transfer Switch on
October 9, 2011
-1point
2out of 5found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
THDCustomerService
Atlanta, GA
October 17, 2011
Hi Bo,

Thank you for your question.

The transfer switch is both service entrance and service disconnect rated.

Hope this helps.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Roushguy
FLorida
October 24, 2011
Yes it becomes the service entrance and your existing AC panel becomes a sub panel.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

what size propane line do i need to insall for the model 4032 symphony 2

Asked by
john
west gardiner M.E.
about 13,000-Watt Air Cooled Standby Generator System with Symphony II Whole House 200-Amp Automatic Transfer Switch on
October 17, 2011
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
HD 116
www.community.homedepot.com
October 19, 2011
Greetings John,

My name is Tom also known as HD116 both here and at Home Depot's How to Community. I am answering a few product questions here today and saw yours. The size line actually is determined by the code requirements of the city, county, or municipality where the generator is being installed. The installer that services your area may know what the requirements are for West Gardiner. You can find an authorized installer by calling GE Generators help line at 1-888-575-8226 if you do not have an installer.

Hope that helps.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Roushguy
FLorida
October 24, 2011
I have two propane tanks. One 125 gallon primary with a backup 60 gallon. However, these tanks are only filled to 80% because of expansion so my usable fuel is about 100 and 48 gallons. My 13KVA GE unit uses a little more then a gallon per hour at a fairly heavy load which provides me about 130 hours or about 5.5 days continuous
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

Other than the battery and cold weather kit, what else would I need for a typical home w/AC & Dryer? Is it good enough out the box

Asked by
stefon
bloomfield, ct
about 13,000-Watt Air Cooled Standby Generator System with Symphony II Whole House 200-Amp Automatic Transfer Switch on
October 31, 2011
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Newf
Schaumburg, IL
November 4, 2011
Hello Stefon, I’m Newf from the Home Depot’s how-to Community. Thank you for your question.

High voltage modules are needed for large current draw appliances such as electric dryers and electric stoves. Whether you will need one depends on an assessment of the total current draw of your home. In addition, natural gas plumbing will be needed to power the generator.

These generators need to be professionally installed in order to ensure warranty coverage. For details on installation cost/options available in your area, visit The Home Depot store near you, where a knowledgeable associate will help you review our installation services. They will also provide an overview of your generator project and the installation options available in your area.

Then we'll arrange for one of our licensed*, authorized installation professionals to call you within 48 hours to schedule an in-home survey. (A nominal survey fee will be applied toward the purchase price of the installation). To locate a store near you, please click on the “store locator” found on the top of each page. If you have any additional questions, please contact our Online Customer Service department at 800-430-3376.

I hope this helps,
Newf.
+1point
3out of 5found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Pablo
Chicagoland area
November 9, 2011
Unit is ready to go out of the box, high voltage controllers are included.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

Do you have a maintenance kit for this 13000 watt GE generator?

Asked by
George
Franklin, CT
about 13,000-Watt Air Cooled Standby Generator System with Symphony II Whole House 200-Amp Automatic Transfer Switch on
November 9, 2011
will this product work for this generator:?
http://www.homedepot.com/buy/electrical/alternative-energy-solutions/briggs-stratton/10-12kw-maintenance-kit-91708.html
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Designing Woman
Atlanta, GA
November 15, 2011
Hello George and thank you for your question.

The maintenance kit that you selected is not the correct one for the GE Symphony II 13,000-Watt Whole House Generator System. I spoke to GE Technical Support to confirm that the Briggs and Stratton Engine on the 11,000 and 13,000 watt systems requires the Maintenance Kit Model 6179. Since the generator is still new to the line-up, the maintenance kit is currently available through your local dealer. Click here to find in your area: http://www.homestandbygeneratorsyst....

Best wishes on your project.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
jgilliam1955
Williamsburg, VA
November 23, 2011
No not yet
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

My house that has an existing power transfer switch but never had a generator. Can I use this switch or must I replace it with the GE switch?

Asked by
Rick
Hansville, WA
about 13,000-Watt Air Cooled Standby Generator System with Symphony II Whole House 200-Amp Automatic Transfer Switch on
November 10, 2011
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
THDCustomerService
Atlanta, GA
November 15, 2011
Hi Rick,

Thank you for your question.

I did reach out to the manufacturer on this question and here is their response to you.

"You must replace your existing switch with the GE transfer switch that come with the generator"

Hope this helps.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
jgilliam1955
Williamsburg, VA
November 23, 2011
No. It has to use the panel that comes with it.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

how long can the 13kW GE home generator provide power to home during power outage

Asked by
kenney
jefersonville, IN 47130
about 13,000-Watt Air Cooled Standby Generator System with Symphony II Whole House 200-Amp Automatic Transfer Switch on
November 18, 2011
+4points
4out of 4found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
THDCustomerService
Atlanta, GA
November 22, 2011
Hi Kenney,

Thank you for your question.

The run time for this generator is as below:

On natural gas, it will run continuously, just need to check the oil every couple of days, on Propane it depends on the size of the tank but it will burn 1.35 gal\hr

Hope this information is helpful.
+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
jgilliam1955
Williamsburg, VA
November 23, 2011
Change the oil every 50 hours. It will run until you run out of fuel.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Question

is the 13kw a true 200 amp whole house generator so one can assume that it will take the full load

Asked by
vermont
vermont
about 13,000-Watt Air Cooled Standby Generator System with Symphony II Whole House 200-Amp Automatic Transfer Switch on
November 30, 2011
0points
1out of 2found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
THDCustomerService
Atlanta, GA
December 6, 2011
Hi Vermont,

Thank you for your question.

-The generator will produce 13kw , will start to manage loads at 80 % but unmanaged loads will get full power.

Hope this information helps.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Matt
Kansas City, MO, USA
December 31, 2011
That depends on how big your house is. It should be able to handle most small to mid size homes. Our house has total living area of around 2400 sf, and we have one 3.5 ton AC. This unit can handle it.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

How do I know what size generator I need for my house?

Asked by
Fred
Pasadena, CA
about 13,000-Watt Air Cooled Standby Generator System with Symphony II Whole House 200-Amp Automatic Transfer Switch on
December 5, 2011
Can a portable generator be connected to your house so you don't have to run extension cords to individual items you want to power.
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Designing Woman
Atlanta, GA
December 6, 2011
Hello Fred and thank you for your question.

A portable generator is a great solution for powering a few appliances or circuits for a short period of time when the power goes out. Many units are powered by gasoline and must be kept away from the home (running extension cords) because of the danger of carbon monoxide.

If you need your appliances and circuits to stay on when the power goes out, consider a whole house solution. The automatic standby generator will come on quickly (less than 30 seconds) after the power is disconnected. Your home is powered from the generator which operates on liquid propane or natural gas power until the electricity is restored.

Check out the GE Generator Buying Guide (http://www.homestandbygeneratorsyst... ). You can select your home size and needs in the event of a power outage. The GE 13,000-Watt Generator System with Symphony II Whole House 200A Transfer Switch is an excellent choice for smaller to medium-sized homes.

We recommend professional installation by a licensed GE Generator Systems professional. To see if our Home Services division offers installation in your area, contact 1-800-HOME-DEPOT or go to http://www.homedepot.com/webapp/wcs....

Best wishes with your project.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Newf
Schaumburg, IL
December 6, 2011
Hello Fred, I’m Newf from the Home Depot’s how-to Community. Thank you for your question.

While DesigningWoman did a great job on how to size an automatic standby generator, I’d like to tackle your second question.

You can have a manual transfer switch installed into a home’s electrical system which will have a single outside outlet that a portable generator plugs in to. You must be home to manually switch the mains off and connect the outlet, but since you must be home to set up and start a portable generator this system works together well. You won't have to run individual cords to each item.

You do lose the advantage of having automatic power start-up and power transfer though. You will also be limited to running just a few home circuits off the generator. In some cases this may be sufficient, and worth the cost savings despite the extra effort that comes with running a portable generator.

Here are 2 examples of these switches:
http://www.homedepot.com/buy/electr...

http://www.homedepot.com/buy/electr...

Professional installation is highly recommended. It should now be clear how advantageous it is to have an automatic stand-by generator in comparison to a portable one whenever possible.

I hope this helps,
Newf.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

What are the dimensions of the base pad

Asked by
Peter in NH
about 13,000-Watt Air Cooled Standby Generator System with Symphony II Whole House 200-Amp Automatic Transfer Switch on
December 7, 2011
I need to prep the site, what are the dimensions of the pad that the generator comes with?
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
THDCustomerService
Atlanta, GA
December 13, 2011
Hi Peter,

Thank you for your question.

Here are the 040324HD Pad Dimensions (L x W x H)=34.6" x 39.4" x 2"

Hope this helps.
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Matt
Kansas City, MO, USA
December 31, 2011
Roughly 38"W x 34"D x 3"H
+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Question

Can the unit be started manually instead of automatically?

Asked by
Adventurer
about 13,000-Watt Air Cooled Standby Generator System with Symphony II Whole House 200-Amp Automatic Transfer Switch on
December 19, 2011
If I do not want the unit to start on the loss of utility-supplied power, can it be set to start manually?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Designing Woman
Atlanta, GA
December 20, 2011
Hello Adventurer and thank you for your question.

There is a Manual Over-Ride Control that is used to start and stop the generator. This control is located on the System Control Panel and is described on page 24 of the Installation and Start-Up Manual: http://bsintek.basco.com/BriggsDocu....

The unit is designed to operate when power is lost – not on “as needed” basis. The generator is not designed to serve as a primary power source; it is back-up power in the event of a loss of power. There is no “starting” the unit on a manual override. Using the generator in a manner other than it was intended may void the warranty.

For “on-demand” power and manually-controlled power, a portable generator may be a better solution

Best wishes on your project.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Matt
Kansas City, MO, USA
December 31, 2011
Yes, I believe you can. There is a switch on the control panel to turn the system "off", which should prevent it from starting on power loss. Note, however, that your power has to be off for a minute or so before it would switch over. If your power only cuts out for a few seconds, up to about a minute, the generator won't kick in.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Question

I have a new Model #40324HD installed in my home. I notice the specifications state Remote Monitoring : included. However mine doesn't have one.

Asked by
Roscoe
Springfield, MO
about 13,000-Watt Air Cooled Standby Generator System with Symphony II Whole House 200-Amp Automatic Transfer Switch on
December 28, 2011
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Matt
Kansas City, MO, USA
December 31, 2011
Roscoe,

I see this too, and I think it's a tad misleading. I think they mean that the *capability* for remote monitoring is included. I just installed mine, and it did not come with remote monitoring either.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Sanjay
Glenview, IL, USA
January 17, 2012
my electrician told me that was an option and not included. You can of course contact GE directly and ask.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

HOW MUCH DOES IT COST TO RUN THIS UNIT ON NATURAL GAS

Asked by
TAL
RICHMOND
about 13,000-Watt Air Cooled Standby Generator System with Symphony II Whole House 200-Amp Automatic Transfer Switch on
January 4, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Roscoe
Springfield, MO
January 7, 2012
This unit uses 211.08 cubic feet/hr under full load. Your supplier of NG can tell you your cost per cubic ft. You will not be running under full load most ot the time. In Springfield, MO the hourly cost would be about $2.00 under full load.

Roscoe
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Handyman
Lacey, WA, USA
February 27, 2012
It gives you the gas consumption for LP and NG. Figure a 50% load, and calculate your price per cubic Ft of gas.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
1 2 3 4 »