Looking for Answers about TrafficMaster Allure Ultra 7.5 in. x 47.6 in. Fairfield Oak Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (19.8 sq. ft. / case)?

Customer questions and answers for
TrafficMaster Allure Ultra 7.5 in. x 47.6 in. Fairfield Oak Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (19.8 sq. ft. / case)

TrafficMASTER Allure Ultra gives you the richness and deep texture of hardwood flooring with luxurious embossing for a beautiful look and feel. Dramatic 7.5 in. x 47.6 in. planks are quiet underfoot and offer state of the art click-lock installation technology. Allure Ultra’s simple angle-slide-lock installation system allows for easy, no-glue installation, saving time, effort and money. The floating floor installs over most existing surfaces including concrete, wood and vinyl. With Allure Ultra, you can transform any room in your home quickly and easily.
Customer questions and answers:
435 Questions
 | 
885 Answers
Overall rating:
4.227 out of 5
4.2
out of
5

Customer questions and answers for TrafficMaster Allure Ultra 7.5 in. x 47.6 in. Fairfield Oak Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (19.8 sq. ft. / case)

Question

Can this product be used in bathroom? Any special install for such?

Asked by
don
Richardson,Tx
about 7.5 in. x 47.6 in. Fairfield Oak Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (19.8 sq. ft. / case) on
March 13, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Jay_HD_CHI
March 14, 2013
Hey there don,

This product is able to be installed within your bathroom just fine. No particular installation concerns necessary past ensuring that you lightly lock all seams together to ensure protection from moisture above the flooring. Also be sure to caulk the perimeter, especially around the tub so as to protect yourself from water there as well.
+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Suz4paws
Glen Allen, Virginia
April 7, 2013
Yes, TrafficMaster's Allure Ultra Sawcut Arizona is ideal for bathrooms, kitchens, dining rooms, foyers, family rooms, great rooms, living rooms, bonus rooms, playrooms, woman caves, man caves, garages, basements, laundry rooms...because the product is commercial grade, high quality, durable vinyl planking.
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
cpcraftsman
May 21, 2013
I have put this product in a bathroom. The floor underneath would have to be flat. Not always level for the fact older houses may have settled.Remember that this is a floating floor so your base or shoe moulding should not be nailed or glued to it. The bathroom I remodeled I was able to use a vinyl base which worked out. If using the base or shoe in a kitchen or bath I use PVC mouldings. that way they can get wet and not rot. It can still be painted. unless your staining the base.then you would stain all sides and urathene it as well. hope I could help.
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
HalsteadExpert
March 15, 2013
Yes, this is the perfect product for a bathroom as it is moisture resistant
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
mike
Oregon, USA
May 1, 2013
we used it in our bathroom because it is vinyl It did not need any special installation
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
fishwings
Essex, MD, USA
June 4, 2013
it's perfect for bathrooms and kitchens and other wet areas.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

Why are some vinyl planks !.79/sq.ft. abd others $3.27? Please give details. Don't say just quality.

Asked by
catjean
about 7.5 in. x 47.6 in. Fairfield Oak Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (19.8 sq. ft. / case) on
July 5, 2012
0points
1out of 2found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
HalsteadExpert
July 31, 2012
The $1.79 a square foot product is a grip strip only residential product and the $3.27 per square foot product is ULTRA which is a click system and has a Ceramic Bead finish which gives it a 20 mil wear layer and warrantied for a light commercial use. The grip strip product has a 4 mill wear layer. The ULTRA product is completely glueless and grip strip has some adhesive. The ULTRA product has a lifetime Residential warranty and a 10 year commercial and grip strip only has a 25 year residential warranty. I hope that helps
+13points
13out of 13found this answer helpful.
answer 2
July 8, 2012
Hello Valued Home Depot Customer,
Thanks for your question and interest in this item. Each item is priced differently based on many factors decided upon by the manufacturer and the industry. If you have any further questions, please contact our Online Customer Service Department at 800-430-3376 between 6:00 a.m. and 2:00 a.m. Eastern Time daily.
Thanks.
-6points
0out of 6found this answer helpful.
Question

can you use rolling office chairs on this floor without worrying about scraping and scuffing and ruining the floor?

Asked by
KD
Garfield, Minnesota
about 7.5 in. x 47.6 in. Fairfield Oak Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (19.8 sq. ft. / case) on
September 5, 2012
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Suz4paws
Glen Allen, Virginia
April 7, 2013
Yes, but before you start moving furniture across TrafficMaster's Allure Ultra Sawcut Arizona flooring be sure to apply at least one coat of Allure's Single Step Cleaner Polish on your new floors. We applied two coats right after the floors were installed to protect them from getting scratched and scuffed. The Cleaner/Polish also gives the floors a nice shine and they look magnificent.
+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
HalsteadExpert
September 10, 2012
This product has a ceramic bead coating that gives it a commercial warranty, so the answer is yes!
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Tangelo
Chicago
September 7, 2012
Hello this is Tangelo from the Home Depot Community!

Yes you can, the TrafficMaster Allure Ultra Sawcut Arizona Resilient Vinyl Plank has an added commercial grade wear layer for extra protection.

I hope this helps, if you have any more questions you can find me on our website at community.homedepot.com
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Question

Should Allure Ultra be applied directly over cement floor which has some staining & glue residue or should some sort of vapor barrier be put down?

Asked by
bob
syracuse, NY
about 7.5 in. x 47.6 in. Fairfield Oak Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (19.8 sq. ft. / case) on
January 26, 2013
Cement floor has been scraped and leveled
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
7 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
chrissiejo
Oklahoma, USA
April 2, 2013
I installed my allure ultra over cement floor that had some glue residue with no problems.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
HalsteadExpert
January 30, 2013
If you are installing over a high moisture prone area like in a basement I would recommend doing a moisture test and using a 6 mill poly. If the moisture test reading is above 6% use a moisture proofer first. Do you best to remove any lumps or uneven areas as you will feel that through the floor and it could cause the flooring to lift.

Thank you for your question....allure
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Terri
Soddy-Daisy, TN, USA
March 12, 2013
No need to put anything under it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
cky457
January 28, 2013
I put my allure floor in yesterday in my bathroom, and I just laid down concrete board underneath. I had to make sure that there wasn't dry mud clumps, but other than that, as long as the floor is smooth and level, the rubber matting will take place as the under layment. Once you get to about the third row, the floor really doesn't move anymore.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Willy
North Florida
February 5, 2013
As long as floor is smooth I think it would work great.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
mmeyer
Soldotna, Alaska
April 8, 2015
I am not an expert, but I will say that I don't think the staining and glue will hurt anything except if it has made the floor uneven. We accidentally got something small trapped under our floor when laying it out and later we noticed you can see it under there when the light shines on that area. Make sure the floor is very smooth before the installation and VERY CLEAN. Other than that the product is pretty thick and I don't see the glue reacting chemically in a way that would hurt the top layer.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
Chowguy
Florida
August 26, 2015
This product can be applied directlyt to a cement floor BUT you need to provide a vapor barrier and clean the floor as best you can to keep the floor level. Remember, the floor is only as good as the base upon which it is installed.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is there a lot of light white/gray mixed in with the dark stain?

Asked by
nestaway
Louisiana
about 7.5 in. x 47.6 in. Fairfield Oak Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (19.8 sq. ft. / case) on
December 13, 2012
I love dark flooring but need something that also has a fair amount of light area. My local HD doesn't have a sample of this one on display. Can someone describe the color? Thanks!
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
rpsmith
Lumberton, NJ, USA
December 14, 2012
Hello, we bought this floor for our kids bathroom and since there's no window in this bathroom, we didn't want a dark color for the room, the floor has a fair amount of light area, it has a rustic look though, I'm attaching a picture of the bathroom where you can appreciate the final result and I hope it helps you make the right decision for what you're looking for.
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
JENNY
WESTVIRGINIA,USA
March 30, 2013
I LOVE THIS FLOORING, LOOKS RUSTIC, NOT SHINNY. GOES WITH ANY THING, ILL TRY TO SEND PIC I POSTED 6 ON SITE, DONT KNOW IF THEY WENT THRU OR NOT YET.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
JENNY
March 31, 2013
IT IS NOT A LIGHT COLORED, FLOORING, HAS GREYS, BROWNS, OAK, ALL MED TO DARK COLORS BUT ITS SO PRETTY I HAVE IN WHOLE HOUSE
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
JENNY
W.V
March 31, 2013
THERE IS MANY SHADES OF THIS FLOORING, SAMPLES COST TO MUCH BUT THE PICS ON HERE ARE VERY CLOSE TO BEING SAME COLOR AS THE REAL THING
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
trekirwin
Lake Waynoka, Ohio 45171, USA
October 4, 2013
This is not dark flooring. It falls more in the grey area with variations in color.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
HalsteadExpert
January 4, 2013
The Rustic Maple and 2-strip cherry has more light and dark contrast.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

How does wood pattern look in person? Is it more realistic than photos?

Asked by
Jenn
Florida
about 7.5 in. x 47.6 in. Fairfield Oak Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (19.8 sq. ft. / case) on
May 3, 2013
I love the color, but I'm not wild about the way the pictures show the pattern once installed. It looks too regimented and "fake-y". I'm figuring too that there is no way to help vary the look because the planks are one directional. (not able to be changed up for visual variety). Just curious if anyone who has it installed feels it looks more realistic and natural in person than in the photos shown. Thanks.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
RescuedPupLover
Fallbrook, CA 92028, USA
May 4, 2013
I'm happy with the looks of it installed. It's not going to look exactly like real wood on close inspection, but it looks close enough to wood to suit my needs. The small indentations in the flooring helps to give the illusion of wood.

My main concern was flooring that could stand up to puddles from my four little rescue pups and all the frequent clean-ups -- yet look good enough for formal rooms like my front entry piano room, dining room as well as my bedroom. I recommend prioritizing your main needs and lifestyle. At this stage in my life, my dogs are more important to me than real wood. If you use real wood transition/reducer strips stained to match and throw in some throw rugs, I think that also helps to add to the illusion of real wood.

Here are some photos of my installation that might help you decide. The photos are a pretty accurate depiction of what it looks like in person.

Hope this helps ...
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Miketools
Washington, DC, USA
May 3, 2013
We put this in a relative's house so my memory of it is limited. It was a bit harder to install than we expected but I thought it looked very nice. Good quality and very good for damp areas like a bathroom.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
DonF
Finlayson,Mn.
June 25, 2013
Yes, Lots of compliments on the looks and feel of real wood. Plan on using the product down in Florida where the humidity is high and care is minimal.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Xanadu
Woodbridge Virginia
October 7, 2014
Wood pattern looks good and appears realistic. The big task, however, is getting planks to click together so that seams do not show.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
HalsteadExpert
May 22, 2013
Vintage oak is somewhat consistant in pattern so it might be hard to show more variety.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

can i see a sample of the gray flooring at the store

Asked by
nancy
laurence harbor
about 7.5 in. x 47.6 in. Fairfield Oak Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (19.8 sq. ft. / case) on
July 9, 2012
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
HalsteadExpert
July 10, 2012
Thank you for your question...yes you can see our Allure ULTRA samples in the Special Order area in your local Home Depot or you can order a sample on line Model # 10051715
+5points
6out of 7found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Linda
Montana, USA
April 2, 2013
Yes, you can depending on the size of your store. the company will send free samples too.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

When will it be back in stock?

Asked by
diygirl
about 7.5 in. x 47.6 in. Fairfield Oak Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (19.8 sq. ft. / case) on
April 12, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
HalsteadExpert
April 15, 2014
Yes it will be back in stock by 4/29
+2points
3out of 4found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
HalsteadExpert
April 15, 2014
We will be back in stock by 4/29
+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
HalsteadExpert
April 15, 2014
Thank you for your question .. Sawcut Colorado will be back in stock by 4/29
+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
Question

How easy is this floor to clean? Are dark floors harder to keep clean? I love the look but have 3 kids and a dog, need durable and easy to clean.

Asked by
KW30
Illinois
about 7.5 in. x 47.6 in. Fairfield Oak Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (19.8 sq. ft. / case) on
April 15, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
KnowledgeHunter
Lewis Center, OH
April 20, 2014
This particular floor is horrible. I will be submitting a complaint to Home Depot. In general, dark flooring will show more dirt than lighter flooring so you do have to clean it more often; however, this floor has fine grooves all over it and the dirt gets in the grooves. I have tried every kind of mop and cleaner and nothing gets the dirt out of the grooves other than getting on my hands and knees and literally SCRUBBING the entire floor. I hate this floor.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
HalsteadExpert
April 15, 2014
Thank you for your question .. overall, our product is very easy to keep clean but my bigger concern with three kids and a dog would be scuffing and or scratching. The Allure ULTRA product does have a Ceramic Bead Coating that helps to prevent this from happening but certainly a lighter color would even help more.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
michelle
Clarksville Tn
June 18, 2014
It is very easy to clean, we have a great dane and two toddlers, however it scratches way too easy .
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

What underlayment materials do you recommend and what transition/threshold materials are available to match this product?

Asked by
Chuck
about 7.5 in. x 47.6 in. Fairfield Oak Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (19.8 sq. ft. / case) on
August 26, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
HalsteadExpert
August 27, 2012
We do not recommend using any type of underlayment with our product. Any soft or spongy material will cause the product to lift. You can use a 6 mill poly under the product when installing over cement. We do not currently carry any thresholds or transitions. You could use a laminate or a wood material to match.
+4points
5out of 6found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
teddy1mak
January 23, 2013
You need a hard, flat sub-surface. Absolutely do not put a pad down. I didn't put down a vapor barrier. The material is waterproof and locks together pretty tight.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

How does this hold up to pet accidents, scratches and paw prints

Asked by
SweetBu
Lexington, SC
about 7.5 in. x 47.6 in. Fairfield Oak Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (19.8 sq. ft. / case) on
April 23, 2015
I have 2 dogs. One is about 25 lbs and the other about 15lbs. One is a Rat Terrier and whose claws grow very quickly. 1) Will this floor show scratches from the dogs moving about?

Every now and then my dogs may do #1 and #2 in the house. 2) How does this hold up to urine stains? 3) Would the urine discolor the floor if I did not find it for a while?

I had some laminate wood flooring in another house and we could see every footprint and paw print that came across it. 4) Does this flooring color/design do a great job at NOT showing foot and paw prints? 5) If not, is there another Allure color/style that may work?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
TechEditor
Lafargeville, NY
April 25, 2015
I can't address the scratch issue. Haven't got any yet! The pattern and color shouldn't show footprints. It even hides a fair amount of dirt in our Mudroom. Not sure about the urine but I suspect it won't hurt it.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
DavidinTX
Lubbock, TX
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
August 2, 2015
I know this question was posted a while back but I'll answer for future readers. We have 7 dogs, tiny to medium size. They spend about half their time inside, and don't always get their nails clipped as short as they should. Looking at the floors, you'd never know we had dogs. They still look as good as they did new. Be more concerned about getting some felt padding under your furniture. Nothing else is suitable, even those little plastic feet they put on some furniture these days. I had one of those chairs scratch up the bedroom floor pretty good. Another plus with the Ultra floor is if you dog has an accident in the house, it's super easy to clean up and doesn't go through to the subfloor underneath. If they had a potty accident after you went to bed, there will still be an easy to clean puddle there for you in the morning. One of the main reason we chose this flooring and in the process of putting it through the whole house was the dogs. No regrets AT ALL! The worst part of these floors with dogs is you'll be cleaning them more often, especially the darker colors, because you WILL see every hair they drop. If you're a pet lover, you're already used to the hair anyway.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
HalsteadExpert
April 27, 2015
Thank you for your interest in the TrafficMaster Allure Ultra resilient vinyl plank flooring in Sawcut Arizona. Vinyl flooring by nature is a soft floor so if pets nails are not clipped and maintained, they do have the potential to scratch the floor. TrafficMaster Allure Ultra features a 20 mil wear layer with a ceramic bead protection coating and it also waterproof. Pet urine should be cleaned up in a reasonable amount of time to prevent an damage to the wear layer. This flooring should not have an issue with footprints.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

WHAT ELSE DO I NEED FOR INSTALLATION OF THIS FLOORING SUCH AS BASEBOARD, TRIM ETC?

Asked by
JENNY
about 7.5 in. x 47.6 in. Fairfield Oak Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (19.8 sq. ft. / case) on
March 6, 2013
IS THERE A TRIM LIKE BASE BOARD, ETC I USE FOR THIS?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
HalsteadExpert
March 15, 2013
You don't have to use a trim if you don't want to but if you choose a company named Zamma makes coordinating trims to match Allure. You can search for it on Home Depots web site
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Jay_HD_CHI
March 7, 2013
Hey there JENNY,

While there isn't a dedicated baseboard moulding that is specifically meant for Allure flooring, there are trim pieces that can be ordered through your local store depending on your rooms need. These trim pieces include quarter-round, reducers and t-mouldings.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
RAS60
Central, Ohio
October 28, 2013
Use trim that matches the rest of your home to maintain continuity. You may have to finish it yourself, but that is not that difficult and puts you in control of the final look..
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
rpsmith
Lumberton, NJ, USA
March 7, 2013
Hi we didn't need to change the baseboard trim in this project just to replace the shoe trim (quarter round if something like ghat :) since we had to take it off to put the new floor
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
trekirwin
Lake Waynoka, Ohio 45171, USA
October 4, 2013
No, you can use quarter round by the baseboard. You can buy quarter round the same color as the floor. However it is more expensive than regular quarter round painted the same color as your baseboard.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What do you put under the TrafficMaster Allure resilient vinly plank flooring? Can the vinyl plank be installed directly over particle board?

Asked by
keith
about 7.5 in. x 47.6 in. Fairfield Oak Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (19.8 sq. ft. / case) on
July 15, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
HalsteadExpert
July 17, 2012
Thank you for your question...yes you can install directly over particle board and we do not recommend any type of underlayment. Any soft or spongy underlayment with cause the flooring to lift and void the warranty.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
cpcraftsman
May 21, 2013
It can be but I recommend using lauan board as a underlayment. Any moisture will weaken the particle board tremendously. It also would depend on the space your putting the floor down. For instantance, if your installing your flooring in an area where it will be wet or exposed to water having a particle board floor directly underneath would not be the way to go. If it's being installed in an area where that's not the case then you could lay it directly on the particle board.(I just don't recommend it).
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
SuZ4paws
Glen Allen, VA, USA
April 7, 2013
TrafficMaster's Allure Ultra vinyl plank flooring is a floating floor. No underlayment is necessary. I believe particle board is a hard surface and Allure Ultra vinyl plank flooring can be installed on top of it. We installed 1,200 SF of Allure Ultra vinyl plank flooring on top of our sub floor which is what is referred to as "OSB". However, I suggest that for warranty information on this product, contact the Internet Customer Service Center at 1-800-435-4654
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
mike
Oregon, USA
May 1, 2013
we did not put any thing under the vinyl plank flooring we put it directly over particle board
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

what if flooring gets wet in basement

Asked by
amy
ohio
about 7.5 in. x 47.6 in. Fairfield Oak Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (19.8 sq. ft. / case) on
October 31, 2012
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
HalsteadExpert
November 29, 2012
the product is water resistant and not water proof. If it gets wet from the top down and its not standing water than you can mop it up. If its a complete flood then the product is not coverred under warranty and you would need to call your insurance company
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Molly
November 1, 2012
NOT SURE, DON'T THINK THEY RECOMMEND IT FOR BASEMENT FLOOR IF IT GETS WATER . WE PUT IT IN THE KITCHEN AND THEY SAY IT IS GOOD IF YOU SPILL SOMETHING ON IT, BUT DOUBTFUL IF IT GETS SOAKED. HOPE THIS HELPS!
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
TechEditor
Lafargeville, NY
April 5, 2015
It is waterproof. Mo[p up the excess, assuming you applied a waterproof caulk around the edges, creating a totally waterproof floor, wall to wall.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

is it required to put a moisture barrier under allure ultra on concrete

Asked by
brown
tulsa,ok
about 7.5 in. x 47.6 in. Fairfield Oak Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (19.8 sq. ft. / case) on
July 21, 2012
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
HalsteadExpert
July 24, 2012
it is not required but we do recommend using a 6 mill poly over concrete
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
kims
August 23, 2012
i was told you dont need a moister barrier.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
HusbandWifeTeam
East Texas
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 11, 2014
It is not required but suggested. If moisture ever gets under the flooring it helps prevent molding.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Is any underpayment or vapor barrier necessary for allure ultra on cement floor?

Asked by
Bob
Nys
about 7.5 in. x 47.6 in. Fairfield Oak Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (19.8 sq. ft. / case) on
November 13, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
HalsteadExpert
November 25, 2012
We recommend either using a water proofer or a 6 mill poly prior to installing.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Randy
November 26, 2012
No. Allure Ultra requires no vapor barrier and is 100% waterproof. It cannot be immersed indefinitely, but the hygroscopic properties of concrete will not harm it. You only have to make sure your concrete meets crack/gap type limitations.
You can find all this info in the Allure owners manual [available on the HD website] if you wish.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
AskMrJay
November 15, 2012
Hi there Bob,

This type of flooring does not require any type of underlayment underneath it, but it can be used in conjunction with a vapor barrier for instances like you're mentioning. However nothing beyond a 6-mil vapor barrier is approved for being used underneath there, so that's all you'd be needing to add to the floor.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Dave
Washington, DC, USA
November 20, 2012
No underlayment needed.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
DonF
Finlayson, MN 55735, USA
June 25, 2013
No, not at all.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
RescuedPupLover
Fallbrook, CA 92028, USA
May 4, 2013
No. In face, I was told NOT to put anything between the cement and the flooring. If cement is severely cracked, the cracks need to be smoothed down though.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can you use this product on stairs

Asked by
Curious
Houghton Lake Michigan
about 7.5 in. x 47.6 in. Fairfield Oak Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (19.8 sq. ft. / case) on
March 3, 2013
Do they make a stair nose for this product line and color?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
HalsteadExpert
March 15, 2013
There are two answers to this question. If you use it on stairs the product would have to be glued and that would void the warranty only on the stair area. Zamma makes a stair bullnose that coordinates with our product, you can find it on Home Depots website.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
DesigningWoman
March 5, 2013
Hello Curious and thank you for your question.

There is no stair nose available for the TrafficMaster Allure Ultra Aspen Oak Black Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring. The manufacturer does not recommend installing the floating floor on vertical surfaces or on stair cases.

Best wishes on your project.
+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
myklrex
Indy
April 2, 2013
To my knowledge, the only trim pieces available are 1/4 round and a transition (vinyl floor/carpet) piece.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
missyagogo
Lombard, IL, USA
June 11, 2013
Unfortunately they do not make a stair nose for these planks, however you may be able to use other stair noses and trim in order to make these planks work. If you are going to attach these to stairs, I would highly recommend either nailing or gluing these down so they don't slip around.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
office
Alabama, USA
December 20, 2013
Don't buy this product for stairs, you'll be making 100's of cuts and they will slide off of the stairs because there is no glue. I am pretty sure they sell a separate product for stairs.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Pericles
Chicago
October 24, 2014
If you do you will have to glue it down and use some sort of edging on step lips
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Installing under a toilet and cabinets

Asked by
KenR
Michigan
about 7.5 in. x 47.6 in. Fairfield Oak Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (19.8 sq. ft. / case) on
January 25, 2015
We were considering Pergo but decided on this product because it is 100% waterproof. Our research on floating floors is to "not" install them under islands and cabinets but yet under a stove and refrigerator is fine. I read that some people have installed this product under cabinets but what about toilets? I cannot find anything in the instructions as to what the manufacturer recommends. Thoughts?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
14jnm
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 26, 2015
We installed this floor in August 2014 including installation in a bathroom and under a toilet - no
problems at all. The floor looks great and we like it a lot.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
HalsteadExpert
January 29, 2015
Thank you for your interest in the Allure Ultra 2-strip Cherry Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring. We do not recommend installing a vanity cabinet on top of the product. For the toilet, you can install on top or cut around depending on your preference.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Sheesh
OKC OK
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 27, 2015
I can't speak to using this product in the kitchen or bath, however….we are installing the travertine tiles in our foyer and powder room this spring. (We purchased the travertine when we purchased the clear cherry.) So far, we LOVE this product. We are thinking about buying more for the upstairs area. If we ever build our dream home, you can bet this product will be front and center, including the kitchen. It's so resilient it is recommended for use in public buildings!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
shortnickname
Vancouver, WA
February 1, 2015
That is a good question and one I haven't thought of. I just finished installing Allure 7.5 inch plank floating vinyl flooring in my bathroom. I haven't reinstalled my toilet yet, but I plan on having the planks under it. I hope this works. Vinyl expands and contracts with temperature changes. I believe that is why you should not install in under long runs of cabinet where it won't be allowed to expand and contract along the length.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Diana8607
Interlachen, Florida
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 26, 2015
I honestly would not put this in a Bathroom! I just can not see the look. Either put down tile, laminate or even carpet to separate look from other room.
-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

can I get transition strips or any floor molding to match this product?

Asked by
Jason
Glen Ellen Ca
about 7.5 in. x 47.6 in. Fairfield Oak Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (19.8 sq. ft. / case) on
July 5, 2012
Product is allure ultra vintage oak natural
0points
1out of 2found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
RescuedPupLover
Fallbrook, CA 92028, USA
May 4, 2013
I don't believe the company offers matching trim .... but even if they do, I recommend using white vinyl 3/4 round trim around baseboard if you're installing it in an area that already has white baseboard and purchasing "reducer" trim in real oak and staining it to match the flooring. The real oak reducer trim (between existing tile and the new flooring) will add to the illusion of real wood floor and the 3/4 round white vinyl trim will look like an extension of the existing white baseboard.
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Dave
Washington, DC, USA
November 20, 2012
I was unable to find any, but the vintage oak is reasonably close to std oak shoe molding etc.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
HalsteadExpert
July 10, 2012
Thank you for your question...we do not offer matching molding for Allure at this time. You can either use a laminate that matches close or stain a wood piece to match.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
DonF
Finlayson, MN 55735, USA
June 25, 2013
Yes when in stock!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Do I need transition pieces for hallways or bathroom?

Asked by
JDR2
about 7.5 in. x 47.6 in. Fairfield Oak Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (19.8 sq. ft. / case) on
February 17, 2014
We are looking at going with vinyl plank flooring over laminate floors. We decided this based on the fact we are reflooring a kitchen and a bathroom along with our dining room all on our main floor totaling 650 sq ft. I read the guides on laminate and discovered when going from areas of less than 3' wide that you were to install transition pieces say in the hallway or going into the bathroom. I am just wondering if you have to do the transition with vinyl planks in these same areas. I know I will need transition pieces where this new floor will meet the stairs and our carpet in our living room. Any help would be appreciated as I can't find the answer to this and I am assuming you don't since it doesn't say to.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
weilkid
Milwaukee, WI, USA
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
February 18, 2014
Yes, depending on the height of the floor you are transiting to you will have to get the correct step-up or step down molding. Home Depot did not have what I needed for color I wanted so I purchased them elsewhere. The transiting pieces I used were made of wood that matched the vinyl color.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Sethrobodine
Bremen, GA
Home Improvement Profile: Other
February 18, 2014
Depending on your skill level, I don't see why you would have to have transitions if you are staying with the same material. Going under and around door trim is very tough with this product though--keeping it all continuous. You may also want to turn your planks in a different room, dependent of course to your personal liking asthetically. Hope this helps.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
stereo
southern maryland
April 7, 2014
yes
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Tuggy
Arizona
June 14, 2014
Yes, you can buy them online from Home Depot in the same color.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 22 »