Looking for Answers about GE Adora 28.5 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Stainless Steel?

Customer questions and answers for
28.5 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Stainless Steel

The ClimateKeeper system of the GE Adora 28.5 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator uses dual evaporators to help create ideal environments for fresh and frozen foods. The refrigerator's adjustable, spill-proof glass shelves feature raised edges that help keep small spills from becoming big messes. Enjoy your ice cubed or crushed, along with chilled, filtered water from the refrigerator's trimless, color-matched dispenser.
Customer questions and answers:
42 Questions
 | 
55 Answers
Overall rating:
5 out of 5
5
out of
5
(8 Reviews)8

Customer questions and answers for GE Adora 28.5 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Stainless Steel

Question

SIXE SPECS PLEASE

Asked by
LOLA
about 28.5 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Stainless Steel on
September 13, 2011
+5points
5out of 5found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
September 13, 2011
Hello Lola,

This is Donna from GE and I will be happy to assist you with your question on the GE Adora 28.5 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator model DFSS9VKBSS.

Following are the specifications on the refrigerator.

Fresh Food Capacity: 19.7
Freezer Capacity: 8.8

Overall Depth: 35.625"
Depth Without Handle: 32.875"

Overall Height: 70.0"
Height to Top of Case: 68.5"

Overall Width: 35.75"

Back Air Clearances: 1.0 "
Side Air Clearances: 0.125"
Top Air Clearances: 1.0 "

I hope this helps. Thank you for considering the GE Adora refrigerator!
+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
thementalist
Pasadena, CA, USA
November 21, 2011
Sixe? What does this mean? All the specs are the on the website.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
iceless
taylor
April 30, 2013
hello I have a ge gfe29hsdss for 4 days now,i empted the ice tray from the freezer to start a new batch of ice .and now the ice maker wont work .the ice maker in the fridge works fine. both of the ice makers are turned on .I also thawed the freezer out and it stil wil not work
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What is difference between GE Adora and GE Profiles French door fridges?

Asked by
roseangels
Los Angeles
about 28.5 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Stainless Steel on
October 16, 2011
They don't seem to explain how the Adora varies from the GE Profile fridges. Is the profile line more upscale? They seem to be in similar price range, however.
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
October 17, 2011
Hello,

This is Donna from GE and I will be happy to assist you with your question on the GE Adora French Door Refrigerator model # DFSS9VKBSS.

Profile brand are the GE Top of the Line models. The GE Adora series of appliances offers up-to-date technology and great quality while providing you with exceptional value. This complete suite of appliances offers the best features from GE Profile™, at values you can only get in the GE line.

The Adora line is only available at The Home Depot. There may be some cosmetic differences.

I hope this helps!
+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
thementalist
Pasadena, CA, USA
November 21, 2011
I asked a Home Depot rep this question. She said Profile is their higher end model but said she personally preferred the Adora. The both look great!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Does this fridge have a coating on the stainless to keep it fingerprint resistant?

Asked by
caladesigirl
about 28.5 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Stainless Steel on
November 13, 2011
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
November 13, 2011
Hello,

This is Donna with ith GE and I will be happy to help you with your question on the GE Adora French Door Refrigerator in Stainless Steel model # DFSS9VKBSS.

This is is beautiful refrigerator. Stainless steel is not smudge or finderprint proof. It does involve more maintenance. There is not a special coating on it.

You may want to consider a model with the CleanSteel finish. CleanSteelTM is a laminate vinyl with the look of stainless, but without the fingerprints. Magnets stick to CleanSteel.

I hope this helps. Thank you for considering GE!
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
thementalist
Pasadena, CA, USA
November 21, 2011
No.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

is dfss9vkbss an energy star appliance?

Asked by
liz
about 28.5 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Stainless Steel on
December 15, 2011
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
December 15, 2011
Hello Liz,

This is Donna with GE and I will be happy to help you with your question ont he GE Adora 28.5 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Stainless Steel Model # DFSS9VKBSS.

This is a beautiful refrigerator. Yes, this refrigerator is Energy Star qualified.

It offers some wonderful features such as the following.

* Two-level SlideN Store system - Get instant access to frozen foods in large and extra-large drawers. Freezer drawers slide easily for quick loading and unloading.

* ClimateKeeper system with dual evaporators - Separate evaporators create the ideal environments to maintain fresh and frozen foods.

* LED Lighting - Find exactly what you’ve been looking for under crisp, clear lighting

I hope this helps. Thank you for considering GE!
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Savannahnj
Elizabeth, NJ, USA
January 14, 2012
Yes. If you have any doubts. You can go to energy star website and see ratings codes and what items meet energy star codes
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

I purchased Adora refrigerator and am not sure it will fit through the doorway, which is 32 inches. Is there any way?

Asked by
Jeff
Long Island
about 28.5 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Stainless Steel on
December 21, 2011
I purchased the Adora refrigerator and am not sure it will fit through the doorway, which is 32 inches. Is there any way?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
December 21, 2011
Hello,
This is Alison from GE. I am happy to assist you.

Unfortunately, model number DFSS9VKBSS will not fit through an opening that is 32 inches and the delivery agents will not disassemble or remove the door on the product for delivery.

Please let us know if you have any further questions or concerns.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Savannahnj
Elizabeth, NJ, USA
January 14, 2012
We were worried about same thing. Our door width is32.2. The delivery guys removed the handles. And it fit without any nicks
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Does this model have both filtered ice and water or just water?

Asked by
Cliff
about 28.5 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Stainless Steel on
September 19, 2011
+6points
6out of 6found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
September 19, 2011
Hi, Cliff. This is Cindy from GE and I'll be happy to help you with this. The water for both the ice cubes and the water dispenser is filtered, so no need to be concerned about that. Thanks for your inquiry - we appreciate your interest in our appliances!
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
thementalist
Pasadena, CA, USA
November 21, 2011
I don't think the ice is filtered but I could be wrong. From what I know usually just the water is filtered. I have seen someone add an external filter. You can run a filter through the water line before it hits the refrigerator.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

where is DFSS9VKBSS manufactured?

Asked by
Ann
OH
about 28.5 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Stainless Steel on
October 25, 2011
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
October 25, 2011
Hello Ann,

Thank you for your inquiry on the GE refrigerator model DFSS9VKSS. I will be happy to help!

This French Door model is made Internationally. Manufacturing facilities can and do change from time to time because GE continues to seek the most efficient manufacturing processes available. We make products all over the world for a world marketplace."

The rating plate on the refrigeator will provide the actually country of origin.

Thank you for considering GE!
0points
2out of 4found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
thementalist
Pasadena, CA, USA
November 21, 2011
Mine says made in Korea
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

i heard the ice maker is noisy any truth to that

Asked by
joe b
poland ohio
about 28.5 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Stainless Steel on
November 27, 2011
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
November 29, 2011
Hello Joe,

This is Donna with GE and I will be happy to help you with your question ont he GE Adora 28.5 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator model # DFSS9VKBSS.

GE has not had complaints on noise from the icemaker but everyone will hear soun differently.
Do to the location of the icemaker, it may possibly be more noticable.

Please be assured that GE has established high standards in appliance quality.

Should you have additonal questions, please let us know.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Janis
Lenexa KS
January 30, 2012
We feel that when the ice tray dumps into the bucket, it is a little loud but we love the fridge so much, the noise isn't bothering us too much.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

We just bought the GE Adora French Door refrigerator Model DFSS9VKBSS. Will it physically fit in our space of 68 3/4" height, floor to cabinet?

Asked by
Taffy
Indiana
about 28.5 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Stainless Steel on
November 27, 2011
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
November 27, 2011
Hello Taffy,

This is Donna with GE and I will be happy to help you with your quesiton on the GE Adora 28.5 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator model # DFSS9VKBSS.

No, this will not fit. The overall height of the refrigerator is 70.0". There is an additional 1.0" needed for air clearance and leveling.

Should you have additional questions, please let us know.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Savannahnj
Elizabeth, NJ, USA
January 14, 2012
It will probably just make it
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

HOW IMPORTANT TO HAVE DUAL COOLING SISTEM VERSES NO DUAL SISTEM

Asked by
HANA
HONOLULU, HI
about 28.5 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Stainless Steel on
November 28, 2011
I bought GE Adora DFSS9VKBSS. SPECIFICATIONS SAYS NO DUAL COOLING SISTEM AND NO EGG CONTAINER . WHY THIS MODEL DON'T HAVE THIS FEATURE?
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
November 29, 2011
Hello Hana,

This is Donna with GE and I will be happy to help you with the GE Adora 28.5 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator model # DFSS9VKBSS

Egg bins have not been supplied for some time in GE refrigerators. They are available as an option. These bins can be placed on a refrigerator shelf, on a door shelf or in the freezer. There are currently two types of bins.
* A 14 1/2" x 4 1/4" rectangular bin. This type does not have individual cups for each egg, so it can be used to store other items. When storing eggs, place the egg carton in the bin with the eggs still inside. This will allow you to stack 2 cartons in the bin. The part number for this item is WR32X1560.
* A 14 1/2" x 4 1/4" rectangular bin models. It will also hold two dozen eggs, but it has twelve individual cups to hold eggs. The second dozen may be placed directly on the first. The part number for this item is WR32X1435.

Refrigerators with the dual overhead evaporator systems function differently than conventional refrigerators:
* The evaporator in a conventional refrigerator cools the freezer, then vents the freezer air into the fresh food compartment. Cold fresh food air comes directly from the freezer.

* With the overhead evaporator system, the cold air is generated by the evaporator located above the freezer and fresh food compartments. This allows the air to be vented into the freezer and fresh food compartments separately eliminating shared air.

Benefits the overhead evaporator system:
* Eliminating shared air protects food from odor/flavor transference.
* Air in the fresh food compartment retains necessary moisture.
* Fewer defrost cycles are needed- the freezer operates more efficiently and frozen foods retain their quality longer.
* The overhead evaporator frees up additional freezer space.

I hope this helps!
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Savannahnj
Elizabeth, NJ, USA
January 14, 2012
I wondered the same thing about the egg container. But it is so roomy. That container is not needed
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

what color is the side of the unit?

Asked by
Joe
Chicago
about 28.5 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Stainless Steel on
December 21, 2011
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
December 22, 2011
Hello,
This is Alison from GE. I am happy to assist you.

Model number DFSS9VKBSS has a gray case. The sides on this unit will be gray.

Please let us know if you have any further questions or concerns. We are always glad to be of assistance.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Savannahnj
Elizabeth, NJ, USA
January 14, 2012
Exterior is stainless steel. Interior is creamy white
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

what is the difference between the adora model and the profile?

Asked by
Cindy
Al.
about 28.5 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Stainless Steel on
January 11, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
January 11, 2012
Hello Cindy,

Thank you for you interest in GE refrigerators.

Adora: The GE Adora series of appliances offers up-to-date technology and great quality while providing you with exceptional value. Adora models are only available at The Home Depot. This complete suite of appliances offers the best features from GE Profile™, at values you can only get in the GE line. This exclusive series of appliances offers a complete suite that meets all of your kitchen needs.

Profile: GE Profile appliances offer the best in contemporary design matched with the latest kitchen technologies. Every appliance displays a sleek, cosmopolitan and modern look that matches your every last taste in the kitchen and home. Profile are the top of the line models and sold through all GE retailers.

Thank you for choosing GE!

Donna
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Savannahnj
Elizabeth, NJ, USA
January 14, 2012
Adora is the special built design profile for home depot
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

can the handles can be removed to fit it in entry door and how?

Asked by
mike
about 28.5 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Stainless Steel on
March 4, 2013
We just purchase a new refrigerator ge adora but the dimensions on wide are 36 and my door 35"
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
March 5, 2013
Hello Mike,

Thank you for choosing the GE French door refrigerator!

Yes, the fresh food and freezer door handles are removeable. The doors are also removeable if need to get it through an opening. This information is provided in the use and care manual.
this can also be arranged to be done during delivery.

Should you have additional questions, please let us know.

Donna with GE
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

we can not get the drawers back in their places. How do you get them back in?

Asked by
confused
about 28.5 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Stainless Steel on
May 18, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
May 19, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for your question on your GE refrigerator.

Crispers can be easily removed by pulling the drawer straight out and lifting the drawer up and over the stop location. When reinstalling, the drawer must be lifted over the stop location again.

You will need the proper clearance to remove and reinstall the crispers. If the door cannot be opened wide enough, I would suggest to roll the refrigerator forward until the door opens wide enough to slide the crispers back in place.

Please see the use and care manual for a picture or assistance. If you continue to have difficulty, please see the link below for scheduling service.

http://genet.geappliances.com/ServiceNet/Dispatcher?REQUEST=CONSUMERFIRSTREQUEST&JSPID=SCHEDULE

I hope this helps!

Donna with GE
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

We can not get the bottom crisper draw back in our GE Adora model DSS25KS

Asked by
confused
Southern shores NC
about 28.5 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Stainless Steel on
May 18, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
May 19, 2013
Hello Jon,

Thank you for your question on your Adora refrigerator model DSS25KS.

Crispers can be easily removed by pulling the drawer straight out and lifting the drawer up and over the stop location. When reinstalling, the drawer must be lifted over the stop location again.

You will need the proper clearance to remove and reinstall the crispers. If the door cannot be opened wide enough, I would suggest to roll the refrigerator forward until the door opens wide enough to slide the crispers back in place.

Please see the use and care manual for a picture or assistance. If you continue to have difficulty, please see the link below for scheduling service.

http://genet.geappliances.com/ServiceNet/Dispatcher?REQUEST=CONSUMERFIRSTREQUEST&JSPID=SCHEDULE

I hope this helps!

Donna with GE
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

There is frost on the freezer doors and they are closed properly how can we prevent this from happening?

Asked by
Sabrina
about 28.5 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Stainless Steel on
September 17, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
September 17, 2013
Hi Sabrina. This is Dawn with GE. If frost is building up on the outside of your freezer door, service should check it. You can give us a call at 1-800-432-2737 to schedule an appointment. Frost can build up inside the freezer. If this is the case, you can remove any visible frost build up with a dry towel and turn the temperature control to a slightly warmer setting. Proper door closure is important, which you mention is ok on your model. Thanks for checking!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Why won't my 1day old adora cool down past 54 degrees?

Asked by
Modmom
Greenville SC
about 28.5 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Stainless Steel on
September 18, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
September 19, 2013
Hi Modmom-this is Sue from GE. I can understand your concern regarding your new Adora refrigerator.

On average, it takes the refrigerator 24 hours to reach a stable temperature. If the refrigerator or the freezer is less than 3/4 full or if the doors are opened frequently, it may take longer than 24 hours for the refrigerator's temperature to stabilize. To ensure that the refrigerator reaches a stable temperature within 24 hours, fill it 3/4 full with food or anything else that will take up space in the refrigerator, such as containers or pitchers of water, canned goods, or boxed goods. Limit door openings during the initial 24 hour period.

The best way to measure temperature is to place a bulb type or candy thermometer that is capable of reading below zero temperatures directly into a container of food or liquid that has been in the refrigerator or freezer compartment for at least 24 hours. When checked first thing in the morning the temperature reading should be between 34-42 degrees Fahrenheit in the refrigerator section and between -5 and +8 degrees Fahrenheit in the freezer section. Temperature measurements in either the fresh food or freezer compartment should never be made of the air. Air temperature fluctuates during defrost and during door openings.

If you still need assistance, we suggest to take advantage of your warranty and contact GE Consumer Service at 1-800-432-2737 to schedule a service appointment.

Thanks for reaching out to us!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Bottom ice maker stopped making ice

Asked by
RDJ2
Plano, Il.
about 28.5 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Stainless Steel on
January 1, 2014
My bottom ice maker recently stopped making ice. It was working fine until then. It appears to be stuck or maybe froze up. It there a reset or something I can do to get it working again?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
January 2, 2014
Hello- this is Lisa from GE. I am sorry for your inconvenience. Check that the feeler arm on the icemaker is in the down position and is not blocked.

If the icemaker does not have a feeler arm make sure the icemaker paddle is not blocked under the icemaker.

Be sure that the icemaker is turned on and plugged in. The power cord for your icemaker is plugged into the left or back wall of the freezer.
Check to make sure that the water supply line valve is turned on. This valve is usually found under the sink or in the basement. This is the only water supply line needed for the refrigerator.

Make sure the plastic fill line on the icemaker has not come out of the back of the icemaker.
If you continue to experience an issue, please contact GE Factory Service at 800.432.2737.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

I have a GE Adora French door refrigerator model DFE29JSDASS with dual ice makers.

Asked by
Barb
Parker, CO
about 28.5 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Stainless Steel on
March 12, 2014
The bottom ice maker is not working. It is turned on. The paddle arm is not blocked. I checked yesterday and found a batch of ice setting on top of the molded ice tray but it had not fallen into the bin and was frozen in place. After removing that ice and removing the bin, I reached back into the area where the ice is formed and I can feel chunks of ice that I can't remove. I can hear little squeaks that sound like it's trying to work but nothing happens. The top ice maker (the one in the door) IS working.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
March 13, 2014
Hello- This is Lisa from GE. I apologize for your inconvenience. If you are unable to remove the blocked ice, I suggest contacting service at 800.432.2737. Thanks for checking!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Ice/Frost buildup in bottom freezer drawer

Asked by
laeee
about 28.5 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Stainless Steel on
June 13, 2014
I have an Adora DFSF9VKBAWW French Door fridge purchased in 2012. It has started getting a significant buildup of ice under the freezer drawer. About once a day, there will be a puddle of water on the floor under the front left corner. We went out of town for a few days, and when we returned, we could barely open the drawer. The entire left side of the drawer was very heavily covered in frost – looked like winter! The right side is OK. I suspect that something is leaking, overwhelming the small drain which then freezes up, and now the troubles begin. All seals are in good shape and making contact. Pictures are attached. Any thoughts?
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
June 16, 2014
Hi Laeee-this is Sue from GE. We apologize for any inconvenience. If you have a clogged drain tube, you might see ice on the floor of the freezer of a bottom mount model. If this is the case, we recommend you contact service for diagnosis. If you would like to schedule a service appointment, please contact GE Consumer Service at 1-800-432-2737.

Thanks for checking with us!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
1 2 3 »